User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 91
  2. Negative: 14 out of 91
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TheHat
    Jan 9, 2010
    5
    Bad story, bad dialogue, bad voice-acting and bad physics. I'm so close to liking this game, but the hurdles are too many.
  2. Feb 6, 2014
    5
    The arm was a cool and well designed mechanic but playing through a vast early section of the game being able to do little to nothing really killed the momentum for me.
    The swinging environment was cool but the levels too small, so essentially you are just swinging in a straight line or you die from radiation, whilst this was fun briefly people suggesting negative reviews are based on
    The arm was a cool and well designed mechanic but playing through a vast early section of the game being able to do little to nothing really killed the momentum for me.
    The swinging environment was cool but the levels too small, so essentially you are just swinging in a straight line or you die from radiation, whilst this was fun briefly people suggesting negative reviews are based on people being unable to play properly are wrong, the mechanics of it were simple and fairly easy, I just felt like the only reason to be swinging along was to get to the end of levels faster. Each new move took all of a minute to get the hang of then you were back in repetitive-ville.
    An ok game with a little to offer fans of the franchise or those looking for something a tad different. Personally found it very bland.
    Expand
  3. Michaelthelittleboot
    May 30, 2009
    5
    I'm absolutely in the middle on this one. Some really fun and different stuff combined with extremely frustrating design decisions makes for one of the most uneven experiences this year. If it didn't have so much pointless dying based on level design rather than player skill, my score would be higher. I'm close to the end and stuck in one battle I've literally played I'm absolutely in the middle on this one. Some really fun and different stuff combined with extremely frustrating design decisions makes for one of the most uneven experiences this year. If it didn't have so much pointless dying based on level design rather than player skill, my score would be higher. I'm close to the end and stuck in one battle I've literally played more than twenty times, to no avail. I'm definitely not a great gamer, and willing to admit when a game is too hard for my skills (e.g., Mega Man 9, Ninja Gaiden series). But underpowered weapons combined with overpowered and too-numerous enemies frustrate more than they create a fun experience. Plus, for a modern game, having no ability to duck or take cover in firefights is beyond frustrating - it's like taking a tree branch to an all-out AK battle. Recommended for fans of the original who are willing to slog through cheap deaths and chaotic (in a bad way) battles, or for people with a long fuse who are interested in trying something different but seriously flawed. Expand
  4. JohnM.
    Jul 17, 2009
    5
    wow, neither good nor bad, its..OKAY, the graphics are pretty ish. the sound is superb, but this isn't a music game, the phsyics are great, the achievement system is clever and original, the story predictable and uninspired and hard to follow. really poor level design, great controls, weak as hell multiplayer, and poor enemy design often leaving you feel a little in the deep end and wow, neither good nor bad, its..OKAY, the graphics are pretty ish. the sound is superb, but this isn't a music game, the phsyics are great, the achievement system is clever and original, the story predictable and uninspired and hard to follow. really poor level design, great controls, weak as hell multiplayer, and poor enemy design often leaving you feel a little in the deep end and your not sure how to get out. stupid hadoukening robots. cheap as hell... ahem, really the only saving grace of this is the main character, and the arm, everything else swills it round the toilot bowl, if it was any other franchise or shooter thisd be getting a 1, the arm stops an AWFULLY DIRE game from being awfully dire, buy it if its cheap. Expand
  5. MikeY
    Aug 25, 2009
    5
    Left a lot to be desired. Multiplayer was the only saving grace for the game. Check out our full review at : http://www.wiredzombie.com
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    6
    Bionic Commando gives you the role of an uglier and less awesome Nathan Spencer. The storyline is stupid and makes no sense, and Spencer is weak to everything. Water? You die. Radiation? You die. Fall off a cliff? You die. However, the graphics aren't bad and some of the weapons are pretty fun. If you want something that can compare to Gears of War, look somewhere else. However, if youBionic Commando gives you the role of an uglier and less awesome Nathan Spencer. The storyline is stupid and makes no sense, and Spencer is weak to everything. Water? You die. Radiation? You die. Fall off a cliff? You die. However, the graphics aren't bad and some of the weapons are pretty fun. If you want something that can compare to Gears of War, look somewhere else. However, if you want as game below $5, it's not a bad pick. Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2014
    7
    Well this game is tough to review because I like it and kind of hate it at the same time, likes are graphics are good and I like the story, but the bloody controls suck, to many times reloading it because you die to much trying to swing from place to place and dying in like 1inch of bloody water. I would never get rid of this game because it is good, but theres to many tricky partsWell this game is tough to review because I like it and kind of hate it at the same time, likes are graphics are good and I like the story, but the bloody controls suck, to many times reloading it because you die to much trying to swing from place to place and dying in like 1inch of bloody water. I would never get rid of this game because it is good, but theres to many tricky parts swinging around, its annoying,,, but would def buy it is good but prepare to load a few times... Expand
  8. Aug 17, 2016
    6
    Bionic Commando is a generic,but functional shooter that you can have fun with.

    The story is cliche,and the plot twist near the end is beyond stupid.The voice acting isn't too bad. Gameplay wise,Bionic Commando is a third-person shooter with a grappling hook mechanic.This leads to some fun,but precise platforming sections.The shooting is mediocre.The guns do so little damage.The
    Bionic Commando is a generic,but functional shooter that you can have fun with.

    The story is cliche,and the plot twist near the end is beyond stupid.The voice acting isn't too bad.

    Gameplay wise,Bionic Commando is a third-person shooter with a grappling hook mechanic.This leads to some fun,but precise platforming sections.The shooting is mediocre.The guns do so little damage.The bosses are great fun though.

    Graphically,the game looks a decent,but isn't very vibrant at all.The framerate drops occasionally,but isn't too bad,except during the platforming sections.

    Sound design is quite bad,but soundtrack is decent.

    Overall,Bionic Commando is a decent game,so if you see it cheap.don't pass up on it.You would be missing out on a pretty fun game.
    Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. The overriding impression is of a game that's physically too big for its action. [June 2009, p.88]
  2. It's hard to forget the unresponsive controls, ludicrous story, and questionable combat encounters. The game is uneven and inconsistent enough to scare away even eager fans who have patiently waited 20 years for another swing. [June 2009, p.83]
  3. Games Master UK
    77
    When a game is built around a single mechanic that is employed so well, so often and so entertainingly it's hard not to overlook its flaws and just enjoy yourself. [June 2009, p.70]