Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    80
    With the first story add-on for Bioshock Infinite we find ourselves back in Rapture and we absolutely loved it. Some parts are even scarier than Infinite, with the Splicers as the point of attention. However, with only two hours, it’s too short for a magnificent add-on.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    80
    A DLC for fans and only for fans of the lore of Bioshock saga in general. The chance to go back to Rapture is well used, and it´s nice seeing Elizabeth again in a more mature version. But the DLC does little to extend the gameplay of the original.
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    In many ways Irrational has combined the best elements of original BioShock and Infinite and returned us to a world we’ve been sorely missing.
  4. Dec 25, 2013
    75
    Beautifully presented and fantastic fun to play. [Jan 2014, p.80]
  5. 75
    It’s difficult to call Burial at Sea’s first episode especially satisfying — by its cliffhanger ending, the labyrinthine overworked plot teeters between collapsing in on itself and being a devilishly clever rug-puller. But even as it stumbles, this DLC installment remains a fascinating, complicated riddle to watch unfold.
  6. Dec 8, 2013
    74
    Shorter and less satisfying than what we've come to expect from a BioShock game.
  7. Nov 26, 2013
    70
    It’s definitely a compelling addition to the narrative, but most players will do better to wait and pick it up on sale.
  8. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    The first part of the Bioshock Infinite’s first single-player DLC takes us back to Rapture but it’s way too short to be truly enjoyable and engaging.
  9. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    With the Rapture's cameo at the end of Infinite, it wasn’t clear how Irrational could make the same trick work twice. The answer is simple; the return Rapture in Burial at Sea isn't a trick. It's a venue to express an original idea inside stylish and increasingly sophisticated framework. In that regard Burial at Sea gives its all the narrative - and unfortunately comes up short when it wants to be a game.
  10. Nov 13, 2013
    70
    Finally seeing Rapture before it’s fall is true fan-service as well as the high point of this DLC. It is a tad short though, and some more new features would have lifted the whole experience further.
  11. 70
    In terms of what you actually do, though, Burial at Sea is fairly tepid stuff - a fetch quest followed by shoot-outs that introduce Infinite's Tears and Skylines to Bioshock 1's Splicers and turrets, a puzzle that involves finding a new Plasmid, a puzzle that involves doing X of Y, and a boss encounter that's all about attrition.
  12. Nov 11, 2013
    70
    Just don’t expect the story to yank the rug out from under you quite so delightfully this time.
  13. Jan 3, 2014
    60
    Burial at Sea could have been one big salutation of the first Bioshock and in some moments, it is. But unfortunately the concept is wasted by not having a good enough story. Hopefully the second episode will make Burial at Sea worthwhile. Meanwhile, save your money.
  14. Nov 19, 2013
    60
    While Buried at Sea - Episode 1 is well-written, intriguing and presents new questions by the end to tantalisingly set up the last installment, it also doesn't feel like an essential piece of content that enhances BioShock Infinite from a narrative point of view.
  15. Nov 11, 2013
    60
    Burial at Sea is a game that struggles with Bioshock’s legacy and while, generally speaking, it’s unfair to judge a game for what it is not, when you have a game that borrows as heavily from its predecessor as Burial at Sea does, it’s impossible not to be disappointed by what is an inferior imitation.
  16. Nov 12, 2013
    50
    The return to Rapture is a self-indulgent and unnecessary one, that combines Irrational’s previous two games into an unsatisfying new whole.
  17. Nov 11, 2013
    50
    BioShock Infinite's floating city of Columbia was both a monument to manifest destiny and a tombstone marking the human empathy that perished when the city was born. Burial at Sea uncomfortably merges the two worlds, and diminishes Rapture's enduring legacy in doing so.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    you know a DLC i successful when it accomplishes to keep the player interested in the environment while exploring and following the storyline, and that's exactly what this DLC accomplishes. in my opinion this DLC is the best DLC of 2013 hell even since 2010 (Fallout 3 DLC), to me it is amazing to finally be exploring the secrets of Rapture with a catching story and of cause our "oh, so beloved" Elizabeth". Of cause there is the economic site of the matter, this DLC cost about Dollar 14,95 which isn't cheap BUT with no doubt worth it! i recommend buying the season pass for not many Dollars more that the single DLC. The season pass will include all of the already released DLC for Bioshock: Infinite, as well as Burial at sea part 1 AND Burial at sea part 2. SO if you are a fan of the original bioshock (or Bioshock 2) you will with no doubt have a very satisfying, joyful and nostalgic time playing this DLC. a lot of you guys might think 10 is a little too much for this DLC, but on thing is sure, 8,6 (current user score) is not even close to being enough for Burial at sea Full Review »
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Why is this getting bad reviews? Granted, it is short, but the narrative is very good and gives a surprising twist at the end. The combat is great. Definitely try this out if you are even liked BioShock a little. Full Review »
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The highly-anticipated Bioshock Infinite DLC is here! Burial At Sea Episode One! So the question on every Bioshock fan's mind is, is it good...or is it great? Well, in my opinion it is the latter! Burial at Sea presents us with a beautiful and awe-inspiringly lavish Rapture that sometimes may feel a little inconsistent with the continuity of the previous game but its extreme beauty makes up for it. This DLC also sports a cooler Elizabeth and nice, if not intriguing references to the previous instalments. The story is rather intriguing and raises some head-scratching questions to be answered in the next instalment. In my personal opinion, though the ending was great I would have liked the twist to maybe happen in the end of Episode 2, but then again players were always meant to play as Elizabeth in Episode 2. The DLC is rather short both because I enjoyed it a lot and because it IS short. I would have liked it to be a tad, or an hour, or maybe as a full game, longer but creator Ken Levine defends the game's run time so I respect that. I won't say all fans will enjoy this because since quite a few people didn't like the brilliant Bioshock Infinite, they will complain about how some of the Plasmids names have changed, how EVE is now available in bottle form, the lack of Vitachamber presence and other things. But from what I have heard, we will find out why those things have changed in Episode 2 (I want Episode 2 right now). Some fans may also not like, like I said the length and what not. In the end, Burial at Sea Episode 1 is fantastic and I am desperately wanting to play Episode 2, there are some issues that some fans may not like and will most likely lead them into giving this game a 1/10, but every other fan should probably really enjoy this. It is not on par of the amazing original Bioshock or the brilliant Infinite, but it is still a great, though short DLC. Full Review »