BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea - Episode One Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Come back to Rapture in a story that finds Booker and Elizabeth on the eve of the underwater city's fall from grace. Developed by Irrational Games, the developer of the original BioShock and BioShock Infinite, this DLC features Rapture as you've never seen it before-a shining jewel at theCome back to Rapture in a story that finds Booker and Elizabeth on the eve of the underwater city's fall from grace. Developed by Irrational Games, the developer of the original BioShock and BioShock Infinite, this DLC features Rapture as you've never seen it before-a shining jewel at the bottom of the ocean, built almost entirely from scratch in the BioShock Infinite engine. Gameplay has been modified to give the player an original BioShock combat experience that merges the best parts of BioShock and BioShock Infinite: new weapons, new Plasmids/Vigors, Tears, Sky-Lines, and Big Daddies. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    80
    With the first story add-on for Bioshock Infinite we find ourselves back in Rapture and we absolutely loved it. Some parts are even scarier than Infinite, with the Splicers as the point of attention. However, with only two hours, it’s too short for a magnificent add-on.
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    In many ways Irrational has combined the best elements of original BioShock and Infinite and returned us to a world we’ve been sorely missing.
  3. 75
    It’s difficult to call Burial at Sea’s first episode especially satisfying — by its cliffhanger ending, the labyrinthine overworked plot teeters between collapsing in on itself and being a devilishly clever rug-puller. But even as it stumbles, this DLC installment remains a fascinating, complicated riddle to watch unfold.
  4. 70
    In terms of what you actually do, though, Burial at Sea is fairly tepid stuff - a fetch quest followed by shoot-outs that introduce Infinite's Tears and Skylines to Bioshock 1's Splicers and turrets, a puzzle that involves finding a new Plasmid, a puzzle that involves doing X of Y, and a boss encounter that's all about attrition.
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    With the Rapture's cameo at the end of Infinite, it wasn’t clear how Irrational could make the same trick work twice. The answer is simple; the return Rapture in Burial at Sea isn't a trick. It's a venue to express an original idea inside stylish and increasingly sophisticated framework. In that regard Burial at Sea gives its all the narrative - and unfortunately comes up short when it wants to be a game.
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    60
    Burial at Sea could have been one big salutation of the first Bioshock and in some moments, it is. But unfortunately the concept is wasted by not having a good enough story. Hopefully the second episode will make Burial at Sea worthwhile. Meanwhile, save your money.
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    50
    BioShock Infinite's floating city of Columbia was both a monument to manifest destiny and a tombstone marking the human empathy that perished when the city was born. Burial at Sea uncomfortably merges the two worlds, and diminishes Rapture's enduring legacy in doing so.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    Quite frankly, this DLC is exactly what I imagined/hoped for. Seeing Rapture in its prime (with Infinite's fantastic engine) as well as beingQuite frankly, this DLC is exactly what I imagined/hoped for. Seeing Rapture in its prime (with Infinite's fantastic engine) as well as being granted further insight into the endlessly tantalizing world/story of Bioshock is priceless. It is awesome to see both Elizabeth and Booker in a very different light and the most exciting thought I maintained upon reaching the end of this DLC was 'where will (can) it go next?'.

    It is worth noting that it is indeed not particularly long (taking my time to explore [who wouldn't?]) I finished it within the realm of 3 hours. That being said, it actually felt like the perfect length to me, for 2 reasons; 1) we know that this is only the first half of a 2 part story, & 2) IT"S A DLC FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!
    I seriously get the impression that many critics had it somewhere in their pipe-dream laden minds that it would equal a full-blown remake of the first Bioshock with Infinite's gameplay & engine.
    Either way, if you loved Bioshock Infinite anywhere near the same dogmatic devotion as I, the value held by Burial at Sea is an absolute no-brainer. Completely worth it.
    Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    you know a DLC i successful when it accomplishes to keep the player interested in the environment while exploring and following the storyline,you know a DLC i successful when it accomplishes to keep the player interested in the environment while exploring and following the storyline, and that's exactly what this DLC accomplishes. in my opinion this DLC is the best DLC of 2013 hell even since 2010 (Fallout 3 DLC), to me it is amazing to finally be exploring the secrets of Rapture with a catching story and of cause our "oh, so beloved" Elizabeth". Of cause there is the economic site of the matter, this DLC cost about Dollar 14,95 which isn't cheap BUT with no doubt worth it! i recommend buying the season pass for not many Dollars more that the single DLC. The season pass will include all of the already released DLC for Bioshock: Infinite, as well as Burial at sea part 1 AND Burial at sea part 2. SO if you are a fan of the original bioshock (or Bioshock 2) you will with no doubt have a very satisfying, joyful and nostalgic time playing this DLC. a lot of you guys might think 10 is a little too much for this DLC, but on thing is sure, 8,6 (current user score) is not even close to being enough for Burial at sea Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    Back in rapture and before the fall! What mire could you ask? More time in it, maybe, but overall it's an incredible feeling being back underBack in rapture and before the fall! What mire could you ask? More time in it, maybe, but overall it's an incredible feeling being back under the sea. If you have the season pass, go ahead and play it. It took me three hours to complete, but i did everything Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The highly-anticipated Bioshock Infinite DLC is here! Burial At Sea Episode One! So the question on every Bioshock fan's mind is, is it good...or is it great? Well, in my opinion it is the latter! Burial at Sea presents us with a beautiful and awe-inspiringly lavish Rapture that sometimes may feel a little inconsistent with the continuity of the previous game but its extreme beauty makes up for it. This DLC also sports a cooler Elizabeth and nice, if not intriguing references to the previous instalments. The story is rather intriguing and raises some head-scratching questions to be answered in the next instalment. In my personal opinion, though the ending was great I would have liked the twist to maybe happen in the end of Episode 2, but then again players were always meant to play as Elizabeth in Episode 2. The DLC is rather short both because I enjoyed it a lot and because it IS short. I would have liked it to be a tad, or an hour, or maybe as a full game, longer but creator Ken Levine defends the game's run time so I respect that. I won't say all fans will enjoy this because since quite a few people didn't like the brilliant Bioshock Infinite, they will complain about how some of the Plasmids names have changed, how EVE is now available in bottle form, the lack of Vitachamber presence and other things. But from what I have heard, we will find out why those things have changed in Episode 2 (I want Episode 2 right now). Some fans may also not like, like I said the length and what not. In the end, Burial at Sea Episode 1 is fantastic and I am desperately wanting to play Episode 2, there are some issues that some fans may not like and will most likely lead them into giving this game a 1/10, but every other fan should probably really enjoy this. It is not on par of the amazing original Bioshock or the brilliant Infinite, but it is still a great, though short DLC. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    It's certainly masterly crafted,that's for sure and I'm extremely happy that the weapon wheel is back.However,I've already had hundreds ofIt's certainly masterly crafted,that's for sure and I'm extremely happy that the weapon wheel is back.However,I've already had hundreds of hours in Rapture and even have the novel so while it was nice to see a bit of the city before the fall,I would've prefered to explore more of Columbia.In saying that,the brief (very brief) time I revisted Rapture was quite good and I really hope there wont be such a long wait for part 2. Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. [Condensed]

    Concept: The long-awaited triumphant return to Rapture- not as Jack or a Big Daddy, but as a newer version of Booker and Elizabeth- this time as a noir detective duo investigating the disappearance of a special little girl.

    Graphics: It's nice to finally see the underwater would-be utopia prospering, even if it is only a guise which it covers its flaws in, and it's nice to see some new areas that aren't simply the destroyed sections of the previous games made new. Sure, it's all the same and you eventually find yourself trudging through areas scarily similar to those of the first game, but it's nostalgic at least.

    Sound: Expect the same voice acting quality and caliber work of the main game to be found here, as the respective actors of Booker and Elizabeth reprise their roles with much gusto.

    Playability: It's nice to see a little hint of the old combine with the new in terms of the addition of the weapons wheel, however, nothing else has changed so much as been tweaked slightly in terms of combat and any other needed skills. Some things are new, but the core controls are all the same.

    Entertainment: The combat is more of the quality work depicted in the previous games and in Infinite's main story, and the narrative that is to be found in this brief downloadable content is well written thus far, although you'll have to wait until episode two to see how anything pans out and plays out. I'm interested to see what comes, and I hope it comes across as bigger than this beginning story rather than some cheap thrills and parlor tricks overall.

    Replay Value: Moderate.

    Overall Score: 8.5
    Expand
  7. Dec 9, 2013
    3
    I hated this dlc. Sure the shooter aspect of the game was improved in Bioshock Infinate but everything else was totally ruined. I hate howI hated this dlc. Sure the shooter aspect of the game was improved in Bioshock Infinate but everything else was totally ruined. I hate how Elizabeth does just about everything for you and how she never shuts up. She tells you where to go and how you are doing progress wise and she gets to do everything that you want to be doing. I was looking forward to being alone in Rapture again so the I could relive that haunting atmosphere but instead you just get a loud badly acted, badly written noisy shootfest. None of the magic and mystery of the first two games is here. The three points are for the new gun which was fun to use but other than that a huge disappointment. Collapse

See all 21 User Reviews