User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1473 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 14, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutley flawless, and has above nd beyond visuals ...the gameplay is outstandimg...excellent vigors.
    Nd alot of weapons to use...this is the best bioshock of the series...the game is aboit 12-15hrs if your the type of gamer thaat searches everything....best 360 game of 2013
  2. May 18, 2013
    10
    Going to keep it short and simple, this is one of the best story driven games ever made. If you see comments about shooting and vigors not being perfect or that the story isn't great, ignore them. This is essentially a fantastically written book made into a video game. If you have more than 2 brain cells to rub together and like to think for yourself rather than being spoon-fed then youGoing to keep it short and simple, this is one of the best story driven games ever made. If you see comments about shooting and vigors not being perfect or that the story isn't great, ignore them. This is essentially a fantastically written book made into a video game. If you have more than 2 brain cells to rub together and like to think for yourself rather than being spoon-fed then you will love this! Brilliant game, emotionally engaging and damn fun, buy it now and be glad you did!! Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    this game is amazing it goes the extra mile for graphics and storytelling everything it does it accomplishes and from a developer who makes masterful games its only a cycle for irrational now just amazing.
  4. May 22, 2013
    10
    Infinite manages to blend so many themes, all of them pertinent to the central characters and story, that the game becomes a piece of artwork just as much as a video game by the end. From a disconcerting portrayal of American exceptionalism to an examination on the dangers of idolatry and jingoism, Infinite incessantly pushes the envelope of what a video game can, and is willing to,Infinite manages to blend so many themes, all of them pertinent to the central characters and story, that the game becomes a piece of artwork just as much as a video game by the end. From a disconcerting portrayal of American exceptionalism to an examination on the dangers of idolatry and jingoism, Infinite incessantly pushes the envelope of what a video game can, and is willing to, portray. Engaging and varied combat and an exceptionally smart partner in Elizabeth only add to the great experience this game provides. The absolutely mind-blowing ending doesn't hurt either. Expand
  5. May 25, 2013
    10
    The most outstanding video game of this generation! Bioshock Infinite is a game that should be played for years and deserves a GOTY award hands down! Truly AMAZING!!!
  6. May 25, 2013
    10
    This game while a little slow at first was great from beginning to end. Just to put it out of the way I am very impatient but strangely with this game I was ok with the slow intro. I have always loved the Bioshock series and I am happy they didn't stray to far from the series. The campaign confused me at first but the ending tied everything to get and I finally understood the whole idea ofThis game while a little slow at first was great from beginning to end. Just to put it out of the way I am very impatient but strangely with this game I was ok with the slow intro. I have always loved the Bioshock series and I am happy they didn't stray to far from the series. The campaign confused me at first but the ending tied everything to get and I finally understood the whole idea of Bioshock. Expand
  7. May 25, 2013
    9
    Creativity, sound, animation, and innovation are at a peak with Bioshock: Infinite. Everything, it seems, works as it was intended. The scope of the world and the design themselves are magnificent, and the small amount of detail in every space in Columbia immerses you in its Utopian and radically racist and religiously controlled world. However, I felt that the general story wasn'tCreativity, sound, animation, and innovation are at a peak with Bioshock: Infinite. Everything, it seems, works as it was intended. The scope of the world and the design themselves are magnificent, and the small amount of detail in every space in Columbia immerses you in its Utopian and radically racist and religiously controlled world. However, I felt that the general story wasn't anything too out there, all multiverse and other crazy theories considered. It was fun and exciting to finish the game and see the amazing touches and twists Irrational put into it. The controls were tight and Vigors were rewarding to use and watch, but the gun and melee combat, although intentional, was way too fast paced for how much time the world required. There is strategy with enemies' strengths and weaknesses and what Vigors to combine and use, but pace seemed constant and could've used more planning, all exploration aside. All together, one of the greatest and most fufilling games I've played in a long time. Expand
  8. Dec 7, 2014
    9
    2K Games have managed to engineer a fresh faced version of BioShock that perhaps surpasses those before it. The music is excellent and the graphics are stunning. The story is marvellous, it is challenging to follow yet still makes us feel spoiled. The characters within it also stand strong in their own right. We are still treated to explosive boss battles as well as some classic creepy2K Games have managed to engineer a fresh faced version of BioShock that perhaps surpasses those before it. The music is excellent and the graphics are stunning. The story is marvellous, it is challenging to follow yet still makes us feel spoiled. The characters within it also stand strong in their own right. We are still treated to explosive boss battles as well as some classic creepy BioShock moments. Infinite's setting is perhaps it's best element, floating Columbia is just waiting to be explored. I had never seen such beauty within a game until I played Infinite. BioShock Infinite is added to a small pile of games that have defined this generation. Expand
  9. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Bioshock infinite is by far the best game of the year so far and in my top ten favorite games of this generation. the graphics are amazing you'll stop and stare for tens of minuets. the story is the best i have seen in a game for a long time. Elizabeth is awesome and she can give ammo,health and money and can open tears in realty which give you cover guns and robotic allies. this game isBioshock infinite is by far the best game of the year so far and in my top ten favorite games of this generation. the graphics are amazing you'll stop and stare for tens of minuets. the story is the best i have seen in a game for a long time. Elizabeth is awesome and she can give ammo,health and money and can open tears in realty which give you cover guns and robotic allies. this game is worth every penny. 10/10 Expand
  10. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    it was hard to decide to give it 10 or a 9, when i think back im glad i gave it a 10. but anyway. its a game that is close to perfection if there is such a thing. the story and characters are the strongest i have seen in a long time. i highly recommend playing on hard mode for a challenge because lesser difficulty's you can walk through it with no need to change play style..hard isit was hard to decide to give it 10 or a 9, when i think back im glad i gave it a 10. but anyway. its a game that is close to perfection if there is such a thing. the story and characters are the strongest i have seen in a long time. i highly recommend playing on hard mode for a challenge because lesser difficulty's you can walk through it with no need to change play style..hard is different you will need to mix up ability's and guns. but still all you really need is a few upgraded guns and you will be fine.. but all the positives and negatives have already been said by other reviewers. just enjoy one of best ride's you will take this year. Expand
  11. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    Wonderful game and definitely my favorite in the Bioshock series. I thought the combat in this game was much better than 1. I played this back in March, and I think its my top game of the year and right up there in the top 3 for 360.
  12. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    FYI: I just want to point out before this review that I chose to review the Xbox 360 version because that was the platform I happened to play it on, I don't believe that the game is better nor worse on any other platform.

    I am honestly speechless. Bioshock Infinite is one of the best video games I have played in the last decade. It has the greatest video game storyline I have probably
    FYI: I just want to point out before this review that I chose to review the Xbox 360 version because that was the platform I happened to play it on, I don't believe that the game is better nor worse on any other platform.

    I am honestly speechless. Bioshock Infinite is one of the best video games I have played in the last decade. It has the greatest video game storyline I have probably ever played with complex twists and turns that will make your mind melt. I've been a part of the Bioshock since the first game back in 2007, and it was so revolutionary, I thought nothing could compete with it. Three years later, Bioshock 2 was released and I was disappointed with its short run through time and weak plot. Two years later Bioshock Infinite was shown at E3 and people were informed that it would take place in a different setting with a different storyline and usually in a series, whether it be movies, TV, or games, is usually not a great sign of the product being good. When Bioshock Infinite finally released this year, I was instantly blown away, the actions and gameplay mechanics were so great that I was almost in tears, it had so many cool aspects to it, it felt so good as if someone was throwing free money at you. My hands were shaking the entire playthrough with happiness. By the time I finished the game the storyline had already made my brain explode into 1,000 pieces and I was honestly crying that I had to finish such an amazing game that doesn't come around often. Bioshock Infinite isn't just a game, It's a living, breathing experience.
    Expand
  13. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinte is such a fantastic game, story wise it is full of twists, turns and great characters with great voice actors. Gameplay wise it is full of great combat with challenging enemy types keeping you on your toes. Bioshock is an amazing game, it is the full package. 10/10
  14. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    This game is hands down the best game I have played in the past year or more. It is amazing to look at. the Sound is brilliant (especially if you have 7.1 headphones). I can't recommend enough.
  15. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    Bioshock Infinite is an absolutely fantastic game. The original Bioshock definitely presented some original and good material such as the scenery and themes incorporated into that shooter. This new Bioshock makes great improvements and is one of my favorite Xbox 360 games.

    The scenery of Rapture in the first Bioshock was awesome. Columbia in this Bioshock is also awesome. It's a city in
    Bioshock Infinite is an absolutely fantastic game. The original Bioshock definitely presented some original and good material such as the scenery and themes incorporated into that shooter. This new Bioshock makes great improvements and is one of my favorite Xbox 360 games.

    The scenery of Rapture in the first Bioshock was awesome. Columbia in this Bioshock is also awesome. It's a city in the clouds and it is incredibly beautiful. There are very vibrant and vivid colors in this game that work very well. With the city you also get skyrails which are incredibly fun to ride on and attack enemies from.

    The characters in this game all have a distinct purpose and are all awesome. Booker DeWitt, Comstock, Fink, and Daisy Fitzroy are just a few of this great characters. With great characters, you also get a great story. The plot twist I didn't even see coming and it was incredibly shocking.

    I do have a couple of minor gripes with this game. While I did love the patriots at first, you grow to dislike them by the end of the game, because they are overused. The plot is fantastic, but it still could have flowed better. Still even with those complaints I enjoyed this game a whole lot.
    Expand
  16. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    I put off playing this game for along time because I never got into the series (was too scared of the Big Daddy's!). Recently I bought it and completed it in 2 days, and I have to say, I love to hate it. As a game, it's god damn awful. Tedious, repetitive and inspired gameplay. Yet, as a story, it is utterly captivating. Charming, rich and vivid, I was totally enthralled by Infitnite'sI put off playing this game for along time because I never got into the series (was too scared of the Big Daddy's!). Recently I bought it and completed it in 2 days, and I have to say, I love to hate it. As a game, it's god damn awful. Tedious, repetitive and inspired gameplay. Yet, as a story, it is utterly captivating. Charming, rich and vivid, I was totally enthralled by Infitnite's narrative. In the end, it was the only thing that made me slug through the hours of endless shooting and Motorised Patriots (god damn, I was scared of those too!). The game is also beautiful, both in the physical world and in its social background. As I've previously stated: it's rich, vivid and divulging. If this game had been released as book or a film, it'd be an instant hit. The score I've given for this review is based on the lasting impression Infinite gave me: "This has changed the way I look at video games". Expand
  17. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Great fps and really exciting combat. The thing that made the game,though, was the ending. Shocking and unpredictable! I had a huge problem with the screen tear, it really took away the from the beautiful sights and the smooth graphics.
  18. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Easily the best game so far this year. An incomparable story, great game-play, nice graphics. The story is mind blowing and the powers are brilliant (minus return to sender)This is one of those games that you will want to play over and over again and it will never get old
  19. Jul 12, 2014
    9
    This game is better than i thought. Although i thought it was way over rated at first i was wrong. Very very wrong in so many ways. Although i will still say that the gameplay isnt the greatest.
  20. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Bioshock is back and better than ever. Now not as good as the original genius dark and emotionally gripping Bioshock that released in 2007 it definitely overpowers the faults of Bioshock 2. Its social commentary and use of its own unique story and fun action-packed gameplay come together for this crazy ride of not just a GAME, but a work of ART. This is the type of game we want to showBioshock is back and better than ever. Now not as good as the original genius dark and emotionally gripping Bioshock that released in 2007 it definitely overpowers the faults of Bioshock 2. Its social commentary and use of its own unique story and fun action-packed gameplay come together for this crazy ride of not just a GAME, but a work of ART. This is the type of game we want to show people that these are more than just games, but beautiful crafts. Its unique art style and deep character development shows the genius that is Bioshock Infinte. This is one of the games that is worth to keep on the shelves for a while, worth the heart-wrenching 60$, and worth the replay to find a new adventure for you. 9/10 Excellent. Expand
  21. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games i have ever played in year when the first Bioshock came out) one of the best story art and just a all around Great game a must buy for any one who is looking for the game of the year of 2013 buy now!!!!!!!
  22. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    If you like games with stunning atmosphere, amazing story, then this game if for you. If you compare it to other Bioshocks in terms of gameplay, then you will find the weapon selection underwhelming. I loved the art style of Rapture, and whenever I hear "somewhere beyond the see" it gives me goosebumps and I remember the first time I played Bioshock. Columbia is a very interesting city.If you like games with stunning atmosphere, amazing story, then this game if for you. If you compare it to other Bioshocks in terms of gameplay, then you will find the weapon selection underwhelming. I loved the art style of Rapture, and whenever I hear "somewhere beyond the see" it gives me goosebumps and I remember the first time I played Bioshock. Columbia is a very interesting city. Not quiet as interesting as Rapture, but overall, very interesting. The attention to detail is phenomenal. The city feels alive, and the art style is unique. Let me say this without spoiling too much the atmosphere and story is what makes this game, not any sort of innovation to gameplay. However, the skyrails are very very fun. I was suprised how fluid jumping to one skyrail to another was. I give this game a 7.3 on gameplay but a 10 for story. Overall, I give a 9. Play this game and get immersed by the atmosphere. Pick up every audio. Enjoy this game, and its story, because its video game storytelling at its finest right here. Expand
  23. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    I really liked this game it has a good plot, interesting story and the best graphics that I seen in a game it is a very fun game. I really had a really nice time playing it. There is zero flaws that I had when I playing BioShock and I played all the games I sort of enjoyed BioShock 1 but it looks like it had hard levels and BioShock 2 was a half descent game. This game was very fun II really liked this game it has a good plot, interesting story and the best graphics that I seen in a game it is a very fun game. I really had a really nice time playing it. There is zero flaws that I had when I playing BioShock and I played all the games I sort of enjoyed BioShock 1 but it looks like it had hard levels and BioShock 2 was a half descent game. This game was very fun I really recommend you buy this game. Expand
  24. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Buy this game! Do not listen to any negative reviews. Games like these come only once every few years. The story is quite spectacular and the FPS mechanics are very well polished.
  25. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    Bioshock Infinite is a great game and has great visuals, gameplay, sound, and story. Even though the textures might not be the best quality the creativeness of the world around will astound you at every turn. Every room in the game is set up to amaze you and it certainly does that with the vibrant colors that seem to have disappeared from recent games. The sound of the game is pretty good.Bioshock Infinite is a great game and has great visuals, gameplay, sound, and story. Even though the textures might not be the best quality the creativeness of the world around will astound you at every turn. Every room in the game is set up to amaze you and it certainly does that with the vibrant colors that seem to have disappeared from recent games. The sound of the game is pretty good. The guns sound a bit tinny, but that's ignorable. The soundtrack only has a couple of outstanding songs that will get on your iPod, but even if most of the songs are forgettable, they still fit the game really well and get you immersed into the action. The gameplay is also very good. Even though the game uses "burst control" as a means to make your shots more accurate instead of recoil patterns, it never feels cheap although you never feel like a skilled shot. The vigors are what spice up the gameplay along with the wonderful game-making sidekick Elizabeth. The vigors allow for more combat options than usually present in first person shooters and Elizabeth keeps you company and gives you ammo, health, salts, and she even can spawn in a couple of automatons. The story is what should make you want to buy the game though. Booker and Elizabeth go on an adventure through the sky city of Columbia that cannot be experienced by any other game. The game supplies you with some memorable characters and some plot twists that will leave you thinking a long time after you finish the game. If you haven't bought the game yet, buy it now. It's an amazing game and definitely fits in my top 10 favorite games of all time at number 3. Just below number 2, Ocarina of Time, and number 1, Wind Waker. Expand
  26. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    The setting, gameplay, enemies ai, character and level design was awesome! How can you not buy this game? It's like, when you make a decision when Booker save Elizabeth to elizabeth save Booker. The only question in this game, why it's changed to Elizabeth? Why not Little sister's? Why not in the year of 1960's? Why 1912? and the final question was; where the is Big Daddy/Mr. bubbels andThe setting, gameplay, enemies ai, character and level design was awesome! How can you not buy this game? It's like, when you make a decision when Booker save Elizabeth to elizabeth save Booker. The only question in this game, why it's changed to Elizabeth? Why not Little sister's? Why not in the year of 1960's? Why 1912? and the final question was; where the is Big Daddy/Mr. bubbels and what the happen to Big Daddy/Mr. Bubbels? Expand
  27. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I played the game before, and I just watched a playthrough of it. It has the most beautiful story ever. Everyone should play it. I like the gameplay too. Some people had problems with the combat, I didn't, I really liked it; I usually don't play first person shooters, I don't really like them, but in this game, I enjoyed it. Best ending ever, best game ever, 10/10.
  28. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    What is there to say I loved this bio shock just as much as the others awesome newish feel to the gameplay I think they did a all around amazing job on it
  29. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    Definitely a GOTY contender, so far my favorite game of 2013 (as of 7/7). The city of Columbia is a joy to go through, the combat is fairly simple but fun, great graphics and excellent story. Must play, must buy.
  30. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    From beginning to end, BioShock Infinite is one of the best experiences I've had with a game. It is easily a top 5 best game of this generation, and probably the last of it's kind. It is amazing how the BioShock creators took a video game series that was already among the greatest of all time, and made it even better which is what I was hoping for when I saw the trailer and gameplayFrom beginning to end, BioShock Infinite is one of the best experiences I've had with a game. It is easily a top 5 best game of this generation, and probably the last of it's kind. It is amazing how the BioShock creators took a video game series that was already among the greatest of all time, and made it even better which is what I was hoping for when I saw the trailer and gameplay preview. Almost anything that you want out of a FPS is here for the taking. The first thing you will notice when you start playing BioShock Infinite is the environment change. Instead of being in a dark, underwater city, it's actually quite the opposite. You are now sent to a very vibrant, beautiful floating city called Columbia as Booker DeWitt to find and bring back a mysterious girl that has been imprisoned in this city for years, in order to pay off your debt back home. Through this journey the environment begins to get darker and more familiar as all hell breaks loose once you are discovered. Once you find the girl, Elizabeth, you roam Columbia trying to find a way home. Throughout the game there are a number of plot twists that you have to get through with her. The graphics are great as always with BioShock games, but the color in this game has to be the best of the series. The gameplay, along with the presentation, is what really makes this game an all time great. What the BioShock creators did with the gameplay is take certain elements that they already had in the previous games, and if they didn't make them better, they at least made them different which is a good change for the series. An example of this is the health system and the "secondary hand powers" ("vigors" in BioShock Infinite). Instead of just finding health packs and "secondary hand power" viles or buying them from a vending machine and being able to keep up to a certain amount, you still get them from the same sources, but you can only fill up one meter which you can upgrade in order to hold more. The fact that you can't hold up to a certain amount of health packs or vigor viles is countered by Elizabeth giving you health, vigor, or ammunition with generation periods in between when she is looking for it when you need it. The hacking system is also incorporated into the vigors with the "Possession" vigor which allows you to possess enemy machines for only a short period of time or create salt machines (salt is what powers your vigors). Possession is 1 of 8 different types of vigors you will receive throughout the game which you can use any 1 at any time as long as you have the salt for it. The creators also added a couple of things to the gameplay. Aside from the new guns and enemies that you will encounter, Elizabeth eventually develops the ability to open "tears", creations from different worlds, of ammunition, friendly machines, and cover. The gameplay also hasn't lost it's decision making touch when it puts you in some situations where you only have 3-5 seconds to react with a game changing decision. So what the creators have done is replaced almost all old elements of gameplay in previous BioShock's with different and better elements, and added some other elements that make this game a great follow up and addition to the series. The one complaint i have with the game is the fact that some enemies just can't enter some rooms in some situations for no apparent reason. It should take about 10-12 hours to complete the story of BioShock Infinite. Overall BioShock Infinite is a game with great presentation, a good story line that won't disappoint, and new great gameplay. This is a game that you can't miss if you are a fan of the BioShock series or don't want to miss a potential game of the year/generation. Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. May 27, 2013
    98
    An instant classic that should be kept in a special place in every gamer's collection.
  2. May 11, 2013
    87
    BioShock Infinite is a sure-fire game-of-the-year candidate, and definitely one of the standout single-player games of this generation.
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    70
    Fuzzy-headed narrative and thematically irrelevant auxiliary mechanics make Infinite feel sloppy even when it's working. Combat increases in frequency and decreases in impact after the Hall of Heroes, so for most of its length the game sinks towards a deflated ending rather than rising towards a climax. However, that slow descent starts from a great height, so there is still much to value in Infinite even as it drowns in its own shortcomings.