User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1995 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Original and refreshing, has an amazing storyline aswell as an amazing atmosphere and setting. Enjoyable combat, maybe a little bit repetitive for some, the game paces well too.
  2. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    The most political game you will play on an Xbox, a great art direction, and simply brilliant. If you haven't played this yet its a must. Its not a game you can play for a couple of minutes then leave. Its a game that requires the user to be warped into its world
  3. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing game for those looking for a more ethical and idealistic challenge, This game has so many different intensity levels, for example walking around in awe at the architecture to fighting a Big Daddy, this game has it all!
  4. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    Damn, if only you could rate w/ decimals! This game is almost perfect, a game to be remembered for all eternity, rather than Bioshock 2- 5/10, damn! The storyline; Outstanding, yes, the plane crash is a little lazy, but once you enter the bathysphere, you're entering a world beyond your dreams, the mystery of who you are and who is really to trust, leaves you at the end of your game chair. The perfect combination of horror, violence, and mystery makes this game deserve all ratings between 9 and 10. Why not 10? Well, I'm hurt to say this, but some of the graphics aren't the best, like when you kill a splicer and they, sort of do that twitch on their way to the floor, and how the graphics and subtitles are supposed to meet with the sound, that isn't the best, nor the worst. In all other categories of what makes a game, a game, 10/10. Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    One of the best games of all time. It was touted as the spiritual successor to System Shock 2, and while it never quite achieved that, it did manage to become a fantastic game in its own right. I have to say Irrational Games have become my favourite developer due to the care and attention they put into their games. Every moment in BioShock has been polished to a high sheen, the graphics are awesome, the style is unique, the game-play is extremely well balanced and paced between shooting, narrative and other activities like exploration and growing your character. The A.I is some of the best I have ever seen. But most importantly of all for me, is the way you can play the game however you want to. If you like to get in people faces with the shotgun and melee weapon you can do that, or you can stick with rapid fire weapons and high explosives, set traps, go stealthy, use the myriad of plasmids etc. Its just a fantastic and game and so spooky to boot. Without a doubt it is one of my favourite all time video games. If you like intelligent shooters then this is a must play video game. Expand
  6. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Well. Bioshock is the one game that pushes the others out of the way and declares "Look at me, I'm only storyline." Damn straight. Bioshock is that rare game that you play and go "That was AMAZING." And then the game company's milk the series dry. Hopefully it will not end like Halo.
  7. May 21, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt my favorite game of all time. I knew it was one of the greats when I played it back in 2007 but reserved judgment for my favorite game of all time until it was a couple years old to make sure I wasn't just being blinded by the shiny new thing. Now I am certain. As much a philosophical journey as it is an entertainment ride, this does a better job at conveying its ideas than any novel I've ever read and its the only video game I quote in intellectual conversation regularly. What more can I say? It just has the feeling of something big for the video game industry. It reminds me of Citizen Kane in many aspects. And thats one of the highest compliments I can award. Expand
  8. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    The shooting mechanics and controls may not be anything special, but this game has one of the most unique settings in video games. Throw in the eerie atmosphere, quirky characters and one of the most memorable plot twists in video game history, and you have what makes BioShock one of the greatest games this generation, if not of all time.
  9. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    There's no denying it- Bioshock is the best XBOX 360 game to date. The first ten minutes of the game is all you need to demonstrate how elegant and mesmerising the game really is. Rapture is a dystopian city buried beneath sea level, where psychotic denizens have run amuck. Atmosphere is what creates Bioshock, and there are many moments where Bioshock breaks the fourth wall and puts out questions about the way our society functions. More than that though, the relationships you form with the little sisters once you've slayed the hulking Big Daddys, is one that brings to mind how corruption or humanity plays out. The choices you make in this game when deciding what to do with the little sisters really makes an impact on how your character has reacted to the situations that are at your disposal. So beyond artistic vision, tightly pitched and satisfying gameplay and beyond immersion, Bioshock is a game that speaks out in a way that no other videogame can even claim to approach. Expand
  10. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I started this game twice and couldn't really get into it. So I put it aside for about a year. Then I came back to it, and in the course of about 5 days I finished it to both game and achievement completion. I'm quite glad that I did - as BioShock turned out to be a truly fun game to play. While fairly linear there is just enough variation in the decision making tree for various items (weapons, plasmids, & tonics) to allow for some player creativity. And the story (mainly told by completing missions and finding a multitude of audio diaries) was above par for a video game plot line. The finale was a bit of a letdown, but it still didn't dispel my belief that this was a truly excellent game. Expand
  11. May 9, 2011
    10
    A really new generation game: use of the graphics in an inmersive way, great sound, great graphics and quite good playability. I really recommend it! Don't miss this jewel!!
  12. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing, no other word for it, the graphics are amazing and have something I like to call style, the plot is extremely amazing and the gameplay is also extremely awesome. It covers all it's bases and is extremely creative and original. This game is a must have.
  13. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    This game is definitely THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED Everything about it is perfect or near perfect . I can't stress enough how good this game is!
  14. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    I imagine it's the CoD and Halo fans that give this game a bad review. I'm currently on my 7th(yes, 7th) playthrough of this game, and it's still breathtaking. The story isn't new now that I've experienced it but the experience of playing this is unlike anything I've ever played before. Neither Call of Duty, Halo, or any other first person shooter, including Half Life 2, can match up to the power this game exudes. If you haven't played this, shame on you. Go get it now. It's readily available and quite cheap nowadays. Perfect 10/10 Expand
  15. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    A highly original title. "Bioshock" brings us a new world, with rememberable sights, characters, music, moments, and true beauty. There is no site quite like the beautiful, dead city of "Rapture".
  16. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    in my opinion anyone who gives this game a score lower than a 10 is a dumb ass. this game raises the bar for every game that has ever existed. seriously how can you play this game and not fall in love with the beautiful graphics, killer story line, and the biggest twist in history at the end? HM? HM??!!
    I thought so
    YOU CANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  17. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    Bioshock is the most original game to come out in the past decade and is indeed a masterpiece. Not only is it the most fun I have had with a game in years, it is also one that takes storytelling in the game medium to a whole new level. It is a deep and complex journey into the player's own mind and the world of rapture that has forever changed my views of "player choice" in video games. It is a game deserving of mulitple playthroughs (so far I have done 8) and will be remembered years from now as the classic it is. Expand
  18. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    Solid game. I liked it a lot. The unique setting and characters made it fun to play and to watch. Very close to giving it a "10", but some of the repetitiveness and pointless tasks cost it a point.
  19. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Bioshock is a fine example of the perfect FPS. Action is faced paced and balanced. The random spawn points for "splicers" mean that even if you die and have to back track a little, you never face the same enemies in the same locations twice. Oh, and I should probably mention that Bioshock has one of the greatest storylines in game history.
  20. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    Probably my favorite game of all time. Story:Breathtaking. Visuals:Beautiful. Gameplay:Indescribable (even when it's just the same thing that you just did ten minutes ago). It's something that you really just have to experience for yourself. The most important thing is to not let the time period get you down. Until it was combined with this game, I hated absolutely everything about this time in American and World history, and I'm still uninterested in it now, but it is just so perfect for this game. Expand
  21. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    This is one of those few games that comes along every once in a while that makes you question what can be done in gaming, in terms of environment, atmosphere, and writing. The combat isn't the best I have seen though, but it is competent enough to play through the game and enjoy it. It is very good looking, creepy, and the story has moments that may blow your mind. The big downside is the pacing, it doesn't get really good until the middle and the last third limps along. I'm not saying the middle is the only good part, but the middle is excellent and the rest is just really good. At least worth a rental. Expand
  22. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    Fantastic shooter, amazing story, stunning graphics, great replay value. Game of the year isn't good enough for this game it deserves GAME OF THE DECADE. If you do not enjoy this game you don't enjoy games period!
  23. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = If half-life 2 didn't exist than this would be the best First Person Shooter ever made. This game is truly jaw dropping in every way. Contender for best atmosphere in a game EVER as well.
  24. BoG
    Nov 8, 2010
    10
    There are those games that you know are nowhere near perfect, but you still love. There are games that are mechanically seamless, but fail to strike an emotional chord with you. And then there are those games that hit the mark on both counts. Bioshock is one of those, and it has carved out a place in this gamer's heart occupied by very few other games. I could talk about it all day, but the bottom line is that for most people, this will be one of the best games you've every played. Buy it and enjoy. Expand
  25. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    This is honestly my favorite game of all time. i can't believe how amazing this game is. it is like a movie in a game. from the story to the game play to the amazing graphics Bioshock is a definite game to buy. people may say that the scenery is repetitive,but it is only a small problem it doesnt matter. i did not notice it as i played. it is a whole new gaming experience. so many new concepts and gives the player a choice between good and evil. with a unexpected twist at the end. Bio shock amazed me to the point were i could not stop blaying 12 hours straight. i recomend this to all gamers. Expand
  26. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    I went into this game without too much in the way of expectations. I was immediately drawn into the story, scenery, and game play. I was sad when I reached the end, because I wanted to keep going with this game, it was brilliant.
  27. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    Bioshock is a game I found hard to review, part of me wanted to give it a perfect 10, but I couldn't bring myself to do it because there is one part in the game where for a little while your bored, granted it does get fun again shortly after that, but it still hinders the experience, the game immediately sucks you into it's creepy yet wonderful world, the graphics are unique and remind me a little of Fable just because there different from what others are doing, the sound is almost always perfect though there are times where you'll hear people screaming and talking at the same time which makes it disorienting at times, and the controls are great, granted it doesn't do anything new as far as gameplay than your basic FPS, but it does what most other games can't, it makes you feel, this is a truly unique game just shy of perfection, a must buy. Expand
  28. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    being a fan of Ayn Rand and her writing, I loved this game from start to finish and still play it.

    listening for the "enemies" you are about to face and their rantings became a game in itself with me.

    I still play it.
  29. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Utterly brilliant. This is hands down the best videogame of all time. The only games that even come close to it are Half -Life 2 and Zelda: Ocarina of Time. Gameplay, atmosphere, graphics, story, originality, controls. BioShock has them all. A true masterpiece, worthy of only a 10 out of 10.
  30. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I believe this to be the finest video game ever made.Easily the best story,audio and setting in gaming.
    The visuals are excellent, as well as the environments and enemies.Weapons,upgades,tonics and plasmids are all fantastic.
    But it's the narrative that stands far above any other game.As you move through Rapture piecing together its fall and your role in it through the radio and audio diaries,you are drawn into the world of Rapture itself,the characters and enemies that populate it ,until it all clicks together in the best **** in gaming history.
    Enough talk,would you kindly buy this now.
    Expand
  31. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    An incredibly atmospheric that shows more creativity and life that any other modern first person shooter. The world of Rapture is fully fleshed out and strangely believable with a cast of interesting and fantastically warped characters. Plasmids add a new dimension to gameplay and are used cleverly throughout. A masterpiece
  32. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    BioShock is a very important game,has great story,great visuals and fun gameplay.BioShock is a first-person shooter set in the fantastically unsettling city of Rapture,a metropolis built under the sea by the megalomaniacal Andrew Ryan.The story is one of the reasons that makes the game so awesome (I've never seen such an original story) .This game is definitely one of the best I've ever played!!!!! Expand
  33. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    The absolute perfect video game experience - I cannot find a single flaw in the entire package. Bioshock rivals only the best intellectual movies with its tremendous storytelling.
  34. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. oh boy, this game was simply wonderful... i love fps and bioshock managed to mix the shooting with a great plot and a submarine city filled with mysteries... just loved it! there were parts that were really intense, like when the main character finally met ryan, i don't think i will forget that anytime soon Expand
  35. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    The perfect mix between adventure, shooting, with also few RPG elements; add in a great setting, a good storyline with a great twist, with just a bit of exploration too, and we get THE single best shooter of this generation. It is the game that improves almost everything that games like Half Life, Doom and Deus Ex did, but also gives its own signrature. It's not easy to tell what's wrong here, because the flaws, if there are, are very few. Probably the lack of multiplayer, which "maybe" could have add more time into the game, but the game can last almost 20 hours if played with calm and by exploring properly every level, so I'm rather glad they didn't add it. Maybe the character could have used more screentime but instead we mostly see his hands and almost no dialogue from him (if there was any). Maybe we could have use a few more enemies, since you'll often fight one type and the others are usually used for special occasions. But even then, they hardly felt repetitive, and they could give you a challenge. The weapons aren't "that" many and you might use only a few during the game. But on the other hand, they are upgradeable and well balanced between them, and I enjoyed varying my arsenal. I remember also that a lot of the powers (both plasmids and tonics) weren't so useful, not because they were bad, but because you could use only a limited amount of them and youcouldn't predict which one to use in a certain moment (like the "big dady hypnotism" plasmid. For tonics, it depended too much on the situation and gamestyle, and eventually limiting the choices on tonics you need more). On the other hand, we get the evolution of the Gravity Gun from Half life: Telekinesis. And with that power alone, you have yourself a very strong weapon that consumes no ammo (since you can even use the corpses against them, and the cost in ADAM is really minimum, if non-existant). As you noticed, I am trying to find some big flaws, but if anything I'm just showing nitpicks. Probably there are some big problems in the game, but I cannot find anything but small issues, because the game does almost everything right. It has even variation, something that modern shooters don't even attempt to give us, and the graphics are both colorful but also very spooky, with a great "retro" theme for the pictures and images. There's almost nothing going wrong in this game but I don't believe in the perfect game, but in either case this is the shooter you must play in order to see what this generation was capable of with these new consoles. It's what all FPS should do in this generation. And that is "improving". Expand
  36. Apr 8, 2011
    9
    I just have three words, Story, BAD-ASS (compound words count as 1), Abilities. From the get go this game had my attention and didn't drop it. I liked all the narrative, from the treasure hunt finds to the subtle clues as to the depth of Rapture. This game broke so many barriers on so many fronts and yet I'm going to have to ding it for its controls. It's a compelling piece of art shrink wrapped in a clunky interface. Expand
  37. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    Smart, Atmospheric, Instantly recognisable, Iconic, just some of the words I'd use to describe this game, the story is actually for me, the best part of the game, it has a mature theme througout and it draws you in and throws in twists and rhetoric questions that question the very nature of gaming. The gameplay is a mix of First person shooter with a few RPG style elements in the powers you can access and upgrade. Bioshock is a great game with a great story that really involves the gamer, Highly recommended. Expand
  38. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    A disturbingly intelligent game which is a gem in a sea of uninspired shooters. Bioshock overwhelms the likes of Halo, Call of Duty and their various clones with its sheer mental concepts. It is not just a point and shoot game like others, it is a fully made movie in which you get an active part instead of watching. While you do shoot a lot of people, most likely it is the characters and not the weapons you will be remembering when you are done. The lack of a multiplayer was a bit of a put down, but not as much as what a horrible multiplayer would have been. Expand
  39. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    Bioshock is a good game but it does have flaw. I was also really hoping that they did more with the water coming into Rapture, but I guess Bioshock 2 made up for that.
  40. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the few games I hold up as art. Deep atmosphere a complex intriguing story-line, tense combat(which I admit can be a bit dull and repetitive on an easy difficulty), and a plot twist on par with Psycho and The Sixth Sense. This isn't like another game, the characters and plot elements actually symbolize things, and has messages that have commentate on issues in the modern world,like how Atlas/Fontaine symbolizes a politician, or adam symbolizes money. Expand
  41. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    Burger island FTW! It's so good! This game sucks! What a twisted intelligent masterpiece! This game is confusing! I am lost, I need help! What level am I on? This game is just wierd!
  42. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    Most likely the greatest video game of all time, (why would it have a higher rating than every game except GTA IV on here). Only Ken Levine could make a game based off of Ayn Rand's philosophy of Objectivism and make it work. The game tells a wonderful and compelling story filled with horror, action, philosophy, morality, romance, revenge, and redemption. Hands down my favorite game of all time. The atmosphere of the game is just beautiful, just beautiful and wonderful. Rapture is seriously one of the scariest damn places on the planet. Just walking around a corner is horrifying. The graphics were spectacular. The best of its time, at the time of its release, and still quite wonderful today. BioShock is truly the PERFECT game. "It was not impossible to build Rapture under the sea, it was impossible to build it anywhere else." -Andrew Ryan- Expand
  43. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    Bioshock is what I would call a masterpiece. The world created here is unlike anything else, the amount of detail put into the story, characters, and environment is simply outstanding. The gameplay is extremely immersive and can constantly be switched up to be new and refreshing. A must have and play for any true gamer.
  44. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Original and makes you think. Great art and graphics, great combat and great story. Makes the other FPS's be ashamed of theirselves. Only small bad thing is it's not that long, I beated it in 8 hours. But the rest - flawless. I love it. Altough I only played this, I'm gonna buy Bioshock 2 and Infinite is one of my most antecipated games for 2012. I would give this 9,5 but as Metacritic doesn't have 0,5 marks I'll give it a 10. Shame on you, CoD. Expand
  45. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Second favorite game behind gears 2 and 3. Phenomenal story. It is like a movie that really pulls the gamer in and is so much fun but at the same time eerie and dark.10/10.
  46. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    My personal favorite game of all time, trumping even Super Mario 64. This game was unique in it's day and is still much more unique than most games out there. It revolutionized the concept of FPS as well as Survival horror. It kept me on the edge of my seat constantly, and will always hold a place in my heart!
  47. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Bioshock is an amazing game that will immersify you into the experience and not let you go till the end. The city of Rapture is beautiful with so much detail and so much to do that you will be constantly distracted. The graphics are great and the dialogue is just amazing too. The playability is great too as you get plasmids and being able to upgrade yourself is fun as you become king of the city, it's awesome. The plot is well-made and the twists are wow-inducing as well. Bioshock holds the tense atmosphere very well and delivers some high-octane scares. The big daddy enemies are the toughest in gaming history and you will feel thrilled fighting one. There is so much to do and so little that is wrong maybe except for a few graphics problem and some nitpicky yet very minor control issues but they don't damage the experience at all. Overall, Bioshock is a great and immersifying game that is fun to play and will stay in your mind as one of the greatest games ever. Breakdown for "Bioshock": Presentation: 10, Graphics: 9.6, Sound: 10, Playability: 9.8, Lasting Appeal: 9.5, Verdict: 9.7 out of 10, "Amazing". Expand
  48. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    There is nary a game as mesmerising, as emotionally powerful, or as artistically fascinating as 2007's Bioshock. From the moment the player stepped into the bathysphere and Andrew Ryan's voice came over the radio, they were plunged deep into the dark world of Rapture and the twisted tale of the city. Rapture is amazing from every angle. The art style is a stunning blend of old 50s-60s and science fiction underwater utopia. The tainted and tattered visage it gives stirs emotions and raises hairs. Manifesting in this rusty bucket is one of the best stories told in a videogame. The characters are unendingly fascinating and the events that drive the plot powerful. Given that Bioshock is a "slow shooter", discovering hidden secrets and old memories is a chilling and exciting experience. Combat is largely frantic here; enemies will be jumping and running about, and blots of fire and ice among the usual hail of bullets will fly in all directions. It is nothing precise and clinical, but it works well given the style of the game. Perhaps the only real fault is the ending part, which was less well executed and rather scrappy. The ending itself was disappointing and only managed to raise eyebrows in cynicism. Fortunately, it only manages to be a tiny speck on an otherwise magnificent experience. A true masterpiece. Expand
  49. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    BIOSHOCK is an atmospheric, creepy and awesome game with good graphics, high on originality and a great story line that gamers will surely love.
  50. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    After the announcement of Bioshock:Infinite I found myself craving a return to the world o Rapture. Even compared to modern games it is epic. A classic. This game drips atmosphere, and the whole experience is memorable. If you haven't plaed this game already, buy it now. Best £5 you will spend.
  51. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Simply, amazing. This game was what made me a gamer. The action, the game play, the presentation and the story! All were so good. This game still stands proud today as one of the best ever campaign games to appear on the Xbox 360.
  52. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The greatest game of the decade. It makes Halo 2 look amateur. This is coming from someone who went through 8 discs of Halo 2 because I played them all dry. BioShock changed the gaming landscape forever, and developers took notice. This game is perfect in all ways. One moment in particular will be talked about for years to come. If you haven't played this game yet, you are killing yourself. Whether you like shooters or not, the game needs to be played by all. Expand
  53. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. Most unique and innovative game of this generation. . You have to play this game at least one time through. Visuals are stunning, atmosphere is eerie to say the least, the sound effects and lighting are amazing.
  54. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Okay, This game is amazing. It hasw the best gameplay and storyline ever. It is very original in a good way and beating deformed psychos never gets old. I love the plasmids that allow you to light guys on fire and other stuff. Gret game.
  55. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game cannot even begin to be considered a game. This is more of a journey. A journey into the depths of a corrupt underwater city, where life once flourished, yet now is controlled by its own utter destruction. The workings of this game are phenomenal, the environment, extraordinary. What makes this game what it truly is, is the sense of sheer terror you get from defeating any enemy, whether it is a splicer or any in-game boss. The thrill you get from defeating a Big Daddy is like no other. The studio behind the game has never created anything more artistically incredible, nor anything as devastatingly pure as this. The conservation of ammo is a necessity, and every element leaves you feeling completely accomplished. Even putting the game into your console is enough to spark a gigantic sensation of pride. No matter how long this game has been out, the quality will never decrease, nor will the perfection it has created ever begin to age. I hope my review leads to the playing of this game for many generations, or assists others to appreciate the game for what it is. Thank you. Expand
  56. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    This game is brilliant! In 2007 it was underrated hit!!! If you missed this game you should play it now!!! Story is awesome! Graphics are amazing! Writing this review made me wanna play it again! Just play and see it for yourself.
  57. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    This game does two things well. Provide a solid FPS with great gameplay mechanics and vibrant visuals, but that's the least interesting one. The thing it does REALLY well, and that one that kept me enthralled from beginning to end is that it actually tells a story. A good one two. It also shows the values of ethics and morality through references to Ayn Rands philosophy, and has a great atmosphere to it! Expand
  58. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The most fun I have had in a game in a long time period. Bio shock does it for me this is why I play games. Shot my wife who is also a player would not let me finish the game until she was watching because she wanted to see how it ended. That is one good story if the people who are just watching you play do not want you the finish this title until they are there to see the end you know it is special. The graphics a great and the game controls are awsome. Just remember once you start you won't stop until you are done. THIS IS GAMING BUY IT. Expand
  59. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    The thing that most stands out about Bioshock, is that unlike other most other games it possesses an interesting and involving storyline and world. As a Politics student, I found the references to ideas of Ayn Rand's philosophy of a lawless, individual centric world realised here in the context of a previous period of history to be utterly captivating, and not overly ridiculous either.
    A
    world in which every crazy and often unpleasant scientific experiment is permitted, where the strong feel no compunction to take advantage of the weak. A world in which the worst essences of humans is given scope and license to be explored. All of this is what so enthralled me about Rapture.
    The game itself is not perfect. Despite the very interesting notion of plasmids (power ups in essence), it quickly becomes clear that a few will be your primary choices for the majority of the game. And despite the menace and creepiness of the game's atmosphere, this can be sadly suspended a bit at times owing to what feels like stupid, unreactive AI behaviour.
    But despite this, the world drips with character and a decaying perverse charm to such an extent that you will regularly spend time just wandering around, dreading the thud thud thud that you often hear long before you lay eyes on one of the ferocious Big Daddies.
    I couldn't recommend Bioshock more. To an FPS fan of COD leanings, this is by no means as slick or polished, nor do the controls feel as exact and sharp. But the slightly clumsy interaction felt in keeping with the ethos of this world, dilapidated and creaking as Rapture is. You never feel overpowered, you always feel as though you could be overwhelmed and are forced to think as a result.
    If nothing else, if you're looking for a sense of place in a game, if you want a game with strong philosophical and political commentary, both overt and often more subtle. Then Bioshock will be a delight to experience, rough edges permitting.
    Expand
  60. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    The minute I put this in and my character was just thrown into this crazy world I knew I would love the hell out of this game. It's unlike any game you will play and has one of the best atmospheres ever in my opinion. The little sisters are crazy creepy!
  61. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    In my opinion, this game has the best narrative. The atmosphere this game creates is one that makes you feel like anything will happen. It's dark, creepy and ominous. Though I'm not very picky with graphics, playing this game 4 years after it's release had me amazed at how well the visuals had aged. This game is a masterpiece.
  62. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    One of, if not, the most unique game I have played. The story, setting, and types of characters are extremely compelling and unique, as is the visual style of the game. The game will take around 15 hours to complete, depending on what difficulty you play it on, and is definitely a game you will want to play multiple times. The thing that really makes the game stand out from any other shooter is that the setting and game play really bring you into the atmosphere. The controls feel great, and this is definitely recommended to anyone looking for a great game to spend your time on. Story-10/10
    Visuals-9/10
    Gameplay-10/10
    Expand
  63. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Totally origingal and amazing. Takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions, give you power unlike any other game, the many options you can get, power ups, weapons are great, the environment is just soo beautiful and brilliant. The shocks and jumpy moments keep you on your toes and the game is lon enough to keep you interested but not too long so you get bored. The storyline is one of the best i have come across and the twist at the end is just too much to put into words,. All in all i can highly recommend this game to one and all. Put down you COD or BF or Halo and get this on the go, it will test your mind, test your trigger fingers and put you in a proper story. Expand
  64. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Immersive atmosphere. Hands-down some of the best voice acting ever in a game. Interesting cast of characters. Solid graphics and sound schemes. Mysterious beginning to a story that's slowly explained to the player throughout, ending with a twist. That's Bioshock! From the player's visual perspective, this is a first-person shooter. However, I'd almost argue you need another genre of FPS for this type of game as it's by no means a run, shoot, and kill everything in sight type of deal. Expand
  65. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    When it came out, it gave me a refreshing break from online multiplayer. It definitely has the best story of any game out there. The game play is wonderful and so is the sound. If you have never played this game, PLAY IT! Bioshock Infinite should be releasing sometime this year and I cannot wait!
  66. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Best fps game I have ever played. Fantastic storyline, Amazing setting, Great graphics (For its time), Great gameplay in every way. Replay value is high. Also this game isn't boring like people say it is. Its not just a generic shooter like CoD, or Brink. I found this game fun as hell to play.
  67. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    A game with a inmersive setting, elegance and impressive art. In addition it is entertained, interesting and with many personality. The classic unforgettable one.
  68. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Breathtaking. Immersive. Gripping. Just a few words to describe one of the most innovative releases in the seventh generation. Best enjoyed with a good cigar, a glass of wine, and some good old 45's spinning on the record player. A pistol in arm's reach wouldn't hurt either.
  69. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    Bioshock is refreshing and original, even years past it's release. The atmosphere is creepy, but utilizes actual eerie moments than jump scares. The only complaint is that near the end of the game it opts to fall into samey corridor shooting, and sacrifices it's atmosphere for action, but this is a small flaw in what is otherwise a perfect game. A must-have for any shooter, puzzle, or horror fan.
  70. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    Bioshock has everything a game needs so far. A brilliant and intense story, an amazing athmosphere and a fresh and uncommon settting. Not to forget the technique, that was top notch at the moment, when it has been released.
  71. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Games produced by 2K are well known for delivering a haunting, intense and immersive atmosphere. "The Darkness" gave us a compelling character caught up in a war against himself and "Borderlands" put us in the seat of a post apocalyptic world where survival was the only priority. Despite having a different developer, The "Fallout" series was renowned for perfecting the "dead world" concept, but Bioshock requires no atomic bombs or weapons of mass destruction to offer such a depressing, haunting and immersive story. Welcome to rapture, a city at the very bottom of the Atlantic ocean. A plane crash in the game's beginning sees you seek this city for refuge, but refuge is the last thing you could ever hope to find. The city of Rapture has recently been completely devoured by its very own creator, Andrew Ryan. He has single-handedly torn the fine fabrics of civilisation and turned the citizens of this once great city against themselves. The question that constantly comes to your head whilst playing the game is "Why am I down here and what use am I in all of this?". It's quite simple really. Atlas, a man who's identification is never completely found out, has contacted you through a radio system and is basically telling you what to do in order to save his family and leave Rapture, but the task isn't quite that simple. Bioshock is not what most people would expect this "shooter" to be. Yes, it is a shooter, but heavy RPG elements, such as creating and collecting different types of gadgets from all sorts of places, strengthen the games concept and make it much more compelling from every point of view. The enemies are where the game really gets interesting. The main foes that you'll encounter are demon-like "Splicers". These creatures are the previous tenants of the city and have been transformed by some sort of substance which is unknown. Apart from these are the famed "Big Daddies", monstrous warriors whose sole task is to protect "Little Sisters". Little sisters are demonic little girls who may sound innocent, but will call for their big daddy's protection at first glance. If you manage to defeat one of these beasts, then you'll have either the choice of saving or "harvesting" the Little Sister. Harvesting will give you a large amount of ADAM, a genetic substance which can be used to buy upgrades at different outlets. Exploring the dark and gloomy world of Bioshock will suck you in and leave make you compelled to continue the epic journey at any available moment. The setting has been pulled off with the utmost perfection and the mood and atmosphere is executed with precision. Every vending, upgrade and enhancement machine is a stunning addition to the sea-water-soaked and rotting hell hole that is Rapture. The game can most certainly make you feel depressed at times, which is as much good as it is bad. Thankfully, the story develops into a more frantic and in-depth plot, so that the depressing times are perfectly balanced with the lighter sequences. This makes for a flurry of mixed emotions during play time. The vast depths of the sea would seem like a you could only be in one type of setting: dark, gloomy, hopeless and eerily creepy. This is true in some cases. The levels are always very dark and glum, but compensation for this came out of the dozens of variations of settings that are present in the game. A giant freezer, a decrepit theatre and hotel complex, a geothermal power plant and even a forest are just some of the settings that this game will deliver to the player. It's no lie, this game is full of twists. The main plot spirals into different disturbing and frantic scenarios and over time, the true enemy reveals itself. The story mode is also much more than adequate for a first person shooter. The only bad thing about this game is the lack of multiplayer. It would be a very nice concept to see players go at each other in a team deathmatch style mode or even team up for campaign co-op, because the game is just so amazing that its unlikely that finishing the campaign will satisfy your lust for the secrets of Rapture. This is definitely a recommendation for 2K's next game in the series. In summary, you'd be absolutely mad to miss one second of this game. The price of this game is getting lower and it is arguably the best game going for its price. Don't think that Bioshock isn't taking itself seriously, and forget all the criticism that you may have heard, this game is a must have and should be owned by any fan of the formula that makes games as good as this one. Expand
  72. Apr 20, 2012
    10
    One of my favourate games of the last ten years, and proof that you can make a fps with brains and a decent story line, rather than a series of flashblacks like so many games have been doing recently, COD and Battlefield 3 i'm looking at you. As with so many games the only downfall of this game is the rather lame final boss battle with Frank Fontane, but makes up for it with the frankly brillant final plot twists. "Would you kindly" buy this games, you won't regret it, at all. Expand
  73. May 12, 2012
    9
    BIOSHOCK is an artistic, breathtaking, frightening and highly original game that is ahead of it's time in both storyline and visuals. BIOSHOCK sets a high mark for video games.
  74. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    One of the best game I've ever played. It has very fun gameplay, a creepy atmosphere, good controls and good characters. The only down side is that you don't learn much about the person you play as but apart from that the game is excellent.
  75. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    coming back after so long, this game still looks good, its opening scene would have to be the most epic opening of any game ever, this game is Great!, stylish and storytelling simple Classic "Mr Bubbles"
  76. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Bioshock is from beginning to end, a modern day gaming masterpiece. Simply put, it's one of the greatest games of the current era and serves as a high watermark that may not be surpassed for years to come. From the compelling plot and completely convincing atmosphere to the fantastic graphics and attention to detail, Bioshock is the total package. It may have the occasional graphical problem, but in the grand scheme of things, they are all paled by the scope and grandeur of the rest of the game. Much like Atlas Shrugged was for Ayn Rand, who's writing so greatly influenced him, Bioshock is Ken Levine's magnum opus and I for one thank him and Irrational for this great experience. Now, would you kindly go out and buy it already? Expand
  77. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    One of the most perfect FPS. Atmospheric beyond most Hollywood films with one of the most unique narratives. Gene splicing, weapon and ammo creation, various vendors for equipment, bot hacking - this has everything that a single player FPS should have. It is horrid in sections, action packed, degrees of strategy and so overwhelming that once started must be finished. Pure awesome.
  78. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    The most beautiful, wondrous, and creepy place in video games... Rapture! Exploring this world is a ridiculous amount of fun. The game revolves around you, a nameless character running around this world and shooting down countless splicers and big daddies while the story progresses. Your goal in this game is essentially to escape rapture after your plane crashes and you get stranded there. The shooting is fun as hell but not the traditional accurate rambo fest that Halo and Call of duty players are used too. Its a lot of fun taking down big daddies, which are kind of like mini bosses and to take one down requires lots of ammo, which compared to games like Halo and Call of Duty, is pretty scarce. Running out of ammo is a constant problem and you can purchase it from little vending machines or just find it around. You will not be out of ammo for long, but in the midst of a fight with one of the big daddies this can be a problem. And dont for a second think that just because this is a First Person Shooter means this doesn't have an incredible story, because thats what I liked most about this game. The game has steller voice actors that create compelling and believable characters. There are very few cutscenes in the game and the story progresses over the radio while your still playing. If you doubt this system at all like I did, dont... Its awesome. This game is fantastic and ends with a steller boss fight that I wont ruin for you. Go buy this game now. Expand
  79. Jun 30, 2012
    9
    A breath of fresh air in a sea of mediocrity. Well done.........................shame Bioshock 2 is just really an add on, fingers crossed for Bioshock 3, please dont f### it up!!!!!! Please!!!!!
  80. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    This was the last game I played all the way through - I found it immensely immersive: the art style was amazing and immediately sucked me into the deco deterioration of Rapture. I thought the pacing was good and loved the biotics aspect to the game. One of those games in which I grew sad toward the end as I didn't want to stop playing.
  81. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    I've been playing games a looonnngg time. I'm old. And that may skew my taste a little. But it's been years since a game has (in my opinion) been this enthralling, thought-provoking and engrossing. There are plenty of twitch games--and good ones. This isn't one of them. It's something different. A whole new animal, really. It's so good, I don't know how to praise it properly. But I've played it through twice and, believe me, as a married father of two young kids, I don't spend my precious little free time on something if ti's not really, really worth it. This is. Bravo. Bra-f&%*#ing-vo! Expand
  82. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This is perhaps my favorite game of all time. Now in no way is this game flawless. However, I personally believe that the vast amount of excellent components in this goes completely overshadow the flaws it has.

    First and foremost, the atmosphere and setting. Rapture is one of the, if not the most unique setting ever introduced in games. You can play the entire gam multiple times and
    always feel a sense of awe an curiosity about the city. The dark, creepy and mysterious atmosphere created by Irrational Games is also perfect. This makes the game consistently tense and truly makes it feel like you exist in a city under the sea that has gone to hell. It's also worth noting that the sound and music add a sense of time to this game, which truly makes it feel like the 1950s.

    The story is also nearly unmatched in video games. It has a remarkable way of telling so tires through the audio logs, and the entire backstory of the city is something worth learning. Even will all of the sci-fi put into the story, the history of the city is completely believable. Perhaps most notably is the incredible twist in the story. While I won't mention what it is, it's a game changer that really tops of this masterpiece. This was hugely unexpected, and carried out with perfection.

    The last aspect, which many consider to be a weakness, is the gameplay. This is definitely he area that has the most room for improvement. However, the gameplay was still fun, and didn't mimic the gameplay of other first person shooters. This definitely gave Bioshock a unique feel to it. Overall, by itself hat gameplay may have felt a tad repetitive. However, the incredible story and atmosphere made this obsolete as I never had to push myself to continue in the slightest. In fact I had to push myself to stop so I could get some sleep.

    Overall, this game is truly a masterpiece, that will represent this generation of games in the future. It stands as one of the most unique and atmospheric story-driven game that should be played by all people. This is truly an amazing game that will forever be remembered and deserves to be played by all gamer... and non gamers.
    Expand
  83. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    Unique and addicting. Throughout my hours of playtime, I have never once been bored. This game brings a brand new feel into a vast open world. It's not your ordinary FPS, where shooting your way through is the best way. BioShock has countless ways to play. ..."No two players will ever play the same." - This quote could not be more correct.

    Bioshock makes you use all resources given to you
    (although not always obvious) to allow you to survive. You must always be aware of your surroundings and stay on your toes, if you're not then it is impossible to survive. By far the best single player game I have ever played. Expand
  84. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Incredibly unique world with incredible lore, incredible art style, and the best gameplay of any shooter I have ever played since Half Life 2. Bioshock is a one of a kind treat, filled with mature themes and a dark story. This isn't a wishy washy, unpolished shooting gallery. It takes brainpower to get through the environments alive, and the combat allows for much experimentation and player driven action. An absolute classic. Played through it for a fourth time on Survivor difficulty, no vita chambers as well. This is how it is meant to be experienced. Expand
  85. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    This is one of those few games that gets the story and the play-style so well. It has originality and action that keeps you coming for more. I actually found the gameplay hard to be repetitive and the twist of the story was just jaw-dropping. This didn't get 10/10 for me just the RPG element is very low in this game. This is a definite must-play. You cannot afford to miss such an amazing adventure that this game has to offer. BTW, that guy in the cover is what also makes this game close to the 10/10;one of the best AI devised. Expand
  86. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    bought it the very first day it came out. The game is top notch, great atmosphere, graphics, sound, gameplay, plot, **** everything. I couldn't stop playing it. I had to gat 100% achievements on this baby.
  87. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    Can just appreciate the unique design and gaming experience this game delivered. Very well made and enjoyable to play. Just missing some features increasing replay value, thats all. Also a big thank you to 2k for not ruining the game by trying to press a mediocre coop mode into it. This current game generation a lot of potentially good singleplayer games got ruined this way.
  88. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    There are those who get Bioshock, and there are those who don't. If you're looking for a Call of Duty shooter experience you won't find it here but if you're looking for a rich narrative full of interesting combat, this game is for you. I think the best way to go into Bioshock is without any expectations. If you're just getting the game now it may feel a little dated in that it what was really original in the beginning is now heavily borrowed in many other games. Still, the game holds up very well.

    The setting is the star here. Rapture is an amazing enviroment full of details that will instantly have you asking questions and searching for answers. The best part is that the game rewards those who are asking those questions. Bioshock also has a rich narrative full of interesting characters like Little Sisters and Big Daddies, as well as the whole concept of plasmids. Bioshock also has some truly frightening moments, but has a lot of heart. The story itself, however, is extremely layered. It's really a creative way of giving Ayn Rand's Objectivism a slap in the face as well. The game also gives the player some interesting choices and the ending has an interesting twist. I think this game will always be remembered as a masterpiece, and it deserves it.
    Expand
  89. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    This game is one of the best games, and BEST xbox 360 game i've ever played. The gameplay is awesome, the storyline is amazing and the game length, structure, imagery and integrity all get you through to the end of the game with that awe-struck euphoric feeling never faltering. 10/10
  90. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    To me, BioShock represents all the what-could-have-been's and bust games. It was ambitious, different seemed to be a make or break type of game. In the end though, it succeeded. But not in the sense of, yes, it just what the trailers said. No, it was more than that. It boasts the best in quite possibly every single category of gaming. Plasmids and tonics integrate seemlessly into the gameplay to create quite the experience. The real beauty of such a game, however, is the fact that everything in terms of gameplay could be mediocre, and it would still be an outstanding game. The characters alone are enough to make this game of the year. But no, it managed to create gamings most intimidating yet awe-inspiring enviornment in a single game. From the level of detail to the serene sense of being underwater and the architecture to match, everything is stunning. There is just too many mentionable aspects not put this up for game of the year. This sets a new standard for games. 10/10 Expand
  91. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    This is a fantastic game. The gameplay is fun and the plasmids are fun to use. The story is original and entertaining. The setting is incredible, as well. I loved my journey through Rapture. Also, Sander Cohen is awesome.
  92. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Well-written, immersive narrative. Top notch dialogue and voice acting, and amazing atmosphere. Rapture is easily my favorite fictional failed utopia overrun by cosmetic steroid abusing half-mutants. I would never visit, but I think of it fondly. It has a lot of action/adventure and survival horror elements, but more importantly, a lot of violence. And you can never have too much violence in a game, can you? No, of course not silly! On top of letting you shoot stuff (which is reason enough to buy most things) you get to set things on fire with the flick of your wrist, freeze things, and throw people with your mind. Makes me feel like a jedi, but less Ewan McGregor-esque. Expand
  93. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Bioshock is an amazing first person shooter. The story, the variety of weapons and strategies, the interactive, immersive and darkly beautiful settings are all fantastic. The game world is littered with endless details, hidden secrets, and dangerous attackers. The background and premise are thematic, drawing on objectivism, and kinda sci-fi, but its all told through great voice acting and intriguing characters.
    The only major problem is the relatively easy and potentially repetitive gameplay. However, putting the game on hard, disabling vita-chambers and limiting your weapon/plasmid/tonic choices can fix that. The game doesn't force you to pick up most of the available weapons. in addition, switching strategies will keep gameplay fresh.
    Expand
  94. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Immersive storyline, appealing art direction, beautiful atmosphere, and enjoyable (albeit a bit tedious at times) combat. This game has everything I like to see in video games. When you get about an hour into the game, you're hooked. As the story unveils itself you get more and more immersed in the world of Rapture, and the game gets nearly impossible down. It manages to stay exciting throughout the entire game, which is a rarity these days, and even turns the suspense up a bit nearing the end. Memorable villains and magnificent writing makes Bioshock a fantastic game. Definitely one of the best I've played during my time, and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for something new and refreshing. Expand
  95. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    The game is absolutely electrifying. A solid story mode throughout, with a great plot twist, you will find yourself hurrying to the end just to see the ending. Great voice acting and graphics.
  96. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    The games is extremely orignal, and I absolutly dug the fiftys vibe, the storys is affectionatly odd and great, it delivers on all the scares, the graphics are amazing for the time, the soundtrack is average, the gun play is so F%^*#@g satisfying, and by the end of the game I felt like a god. I mean seriously, take a while off Bias a%$ CoD and paly this master piece
  97. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    "Bioshock" can easily be called a masterpiece. Developed by Ken Levine's Irrational Games, it simply is one of the greatest video games ever made. To describe it as a sci-fi first-person shooter is to immensely shortchange it. This is a work of astounding visual beauty and classic storytelling that transcends the boundaries set by the genre. "Bioshock" is set post World War II in an underwater utopian city known as Rapture. Founded by a radical idealist named Andrew Ryan, it is a place where people live free of "questionable" government rules and regulations. As the game opens, players are placed in the footsteps of Jack, an "everyman" who finds himself in Rapture after his plane goes down somewhere over the Atlantic Ocean. Unfortunately, Jack discovers that Rapture is no longer a paradise but a living hell. It is overrun by crazed "splicers", citizens of Rapture that had their DNA altered. Guided by Atlas, a mystery man who speaks through a speaker, Jack discovers the dark truth of Rapture. The game has first-person shooter mechanics but also incorporates mini-puzzle and adventure elements. It carries an art-deco look but the tone is pure Grand Guignol. At its center, "Bioshock" is a survival horror game. And it's an intelligent one since it presents ideologies that were first introduced by Ayn Rand, a popular Russian-American philosopher. In my mind, "Bioshock" is a true work of art. It's a great entertainment. Expand
  98. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    The game that made me want .... no NEED an xbox 360. A very unique style of gameplay with the telekinesis and such. The story line fit well with the whole atmosphere of the game, very creepy and eery. This was the very first game I purchased for my console and I wasn't left disappointed. The graphics were amazing at the time. Replay value is pretty slim, but still worth a purchase.
  99. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Game is a 10 out of ten. Nothing else really needs to be said. It is the best single player story in a FPS since Half-life, it has the best atmosphere in a game, the best boss character ever in a FPS, and the graphics are top notch. And boy those water effects!!!
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. In a nutshell, beyond any shadow of doubt, BioShock is an excellent single-player shooter experience. The undeniable quality of this title and its emphasis on true and not pseudo-mature storytelling and character development make it a must-have for every self-respecting gamer.
  2. Its weak link is its unsatisfying no-skill-required combat, which might aim this one just over the head of the average Halo fan. But if you want to get a little fancy, there's a lot of fun to be had with some of the game's more indirect fighting methods. It builds an amazing atmosphere by using terrific graphics and sound to set a creepy mood. But BioShock's real strengths are as a compelling work of interactive fiction, and as a unique ride through a warped world with some great payoff built into its mysterious plot. If that description has you even the least bit interested, you won't be disappointed one bit.
  3. 100
    The first-person shooter's great looking, has an engrossing storyline, a perfect balance of action and exploration and a totally customizable combat system that can be described as nothing less than video game rapture.