BioShock Xbox 360

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2310 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RayH.
    Aug 20, 2007
    3
    Great graphics, implausible storyline...Hard to play (difficulty wise).. The reviewers may be enamored with this title, but if the first thing I do upon entering a strange facility I know nothing about, and I find a hypo needle on the ground...well, I would just shove this needle into my arm? Uh..realism...NOT! And the difficulty ramps up...casual players need not apply!
  2. Liam
    Aug 26, 2007
    6
    Firstly, dont believe all the hype this game is getting. Yeah sure its got a high average meta score, and raving reviews from most game magazines, but seriously...
    With my favourite games been half-life (both 1 and 2) i was sure i was going to enjoy bioshock. I did for the most part, but its simply more of the same. The graphics i grant are good but nothing breathtaking, the story at
    Firstly, dont believe all the hype this game is getting. Yeah sure its got a high average meta score, and raving reviews from most game magazines, but seriously...
    With my favourite games been half-life (both 1 and 2) i was sure i was going to enjoy bioshock. I did for the most part, but its simply more of the same. The graphics i grant are good but nothing breathtaking, the story at times can get a little predictable and for me the gameplay was lacking that real substance. I have given it a lower score of 6 mainly because i dont believe the game deserves the major reviews its been getting. Realisticley the game deserves an 8.8 - 9.0 (or 85-90 using the meta score)
    Expand
  3. AlexB.
    Aug 30, 2007
    3
    It has graphics. When you shoot someone they scream bloody murder like you're actually killing a real person. I found it a little too dark, too "evil" to play. What the hell is with the 7 year old little girls drinking and throwing up blood, that is just sick. This game would probably be fun if i could get past so much evil in it.
  4. PaulM.
    Sep 12, 2007
    6
    This game starts brilliantly! The atmosphere and visuals are impressive and the gameplay is good. Unforunately the beginning of the game is the best part about it. The more you play, the more repetative it gets. Shoot this, hack that, go here, go there... it gets very old, very quickly. Your human enemies are very limited (4 variations i think) and then you get 2 variations of the big This game starts brilliantly! The atmosphere and visuals are impressive and the gameplay is good. Unforunately the beginning of the game is the best part about it. The more you play, the more repetative it gets. Shoot this, hack that, go here, go there... it gets very old, very quickly. Your human enemies are very limited (4 variations i think) and then you get 2 variations of the big daddies. Once you work out a tactic for them (which wont take long) the gameplay is boring! I found this frustating as the game started so well. Even the environments later in the game don't have anywhere near the imagination of the earlier stages. Still a solid title but it has to many flaws to be a real classic in my eyes. Disappointing! Expand
  5. SteveM.
    Sep 13, 2007
    7
    Good effort but not the awesome experience every reviewer is claiming and definitely not a patch on System Shock! Very imaginative interior design but maiming splicers quickly gets dull. The game does start very well but quickly becomes quite ho-hum in terms of gameplay and puzzles. Plasmids are not innovative - they're just weapons!! Narrative techniques are ok but we saw all of Good effort but not the awesome experience every reviewer is claiming and definitely not a patch on System Shock! Very imaginative interior design but maiming splicers quickly gets dull. The game does start very well but quickly becomes quite ho-hum in terms of gameplay and puzzles. Plasmids are not innovative - they're just weapons!! Narrative techniques are ok but we saw all of this in HL years ago. To quote Public Enemy - Don't Believe the Hype. Expand
  6. RicardoC.
    Sep 2, 2007
    7
    Not so hot as they say. Story is a kind of a LSD bad trip. The places are extremely annoying and have repetitive compositions. Not scary at all. Predictive actions. DOOM 3 graphics and textures abuse from bump mapping and loss detail when you came near. The avatar's hand is extremely artificial and removes immersion form the game. A nice game for a weekend, but overhyped at it most. Not so hot as they say. Story is a kind of a LSD bad trip. The places are extremely annoying and have repetitive compositions. Not scary at all. Predictive actions. DOOM 3 graphics and textures abuse from bump mapping and loss detail when you came near. The avatar's hand is extremely artificial and removes immersion form the game. A nice game for a weekend, but overhyped at it most. Definetly a videogame game on a PC. Shoot, shoot, shoot, kill, kill, kill, blood, blood, blood, adam. Shoot, shoot, shoot, kill, kill, kill, blood, blood, blood, more adam. Expand
  7. MattR.
    Sep 24, 2007
    3
    Impressive visuals and a pretty good storyline, but the gameplay is repeditive, linear, and just pretty boring. At times, even with brightness at or above the recommended level, you just can't see anything. It hasn't done anything other games haven't. Although it is pretty satisfying to smack enemies with the wrench. 3 for the graphics and voices, -7 for the gameplay and sounds.
  8. VC
    Sep 3, 2007
    0
    This game is way overhyped. Too linear and too easy. Pretty, but not especially fun.
  9. TopherG.
    Sep 5, 2007
    7
    No doubt the graphics and music are stunning. The story, while predictable, is one of the best in video games right now as well. Unfortunately, the gameplay is not as diverse as the artwork or atmosphere. Due to a limited amount of enemies, puzzles involving your abilities, the game's linear level progression and the monotony of the hacking system, the game becomes repetitive very No doubt the graphics and music are stunning. The story, while predictable, is one of the best in video games right now as well. Unfortunately, the gameplay is not as diverse as the artwork or atmosphere. Due to a limited amount of enemies, puzzles involving your abilities, the game's linear level progression and the monotony of the hacking system, the game becomes repetitive very quickly. Additionally, this game is very easy, even on the hardest difficulty, due to you respawning with no reprocussions. Several times you can just fight off enemies with your wrench because when you die everything stays the same. This game's only true boss battle (the end boss) was such a let down. He was so uninspired and easy, just a real let down. More boss battles that were immersive (and if you die you have to start over with the boss at full health) could have made this game great. A decent installment, however, this may be the most overrated game of all time. Expand
  10. MatthewS.
    Sep 5, 2007
    4
    A lot of time went into the the polishing the environment (sound and visuals), not enough in all the other areas that make a game worth playing more than once.
  11. ThatGuy
    Nov 20, 2008
    4
    This was a terrible game for me, boring, repetative, difficult, strange, but not that normal for a game like this strange. This is over the top stupid and creepy strange. This is like, you expect a nice underwater land populated by at least ghosts or something, but no. Its disgusting rotten zombie people who can run and jump and shoot at the speed of light. Then these unexpected twistsThis was a terrible game for me, boring, repetative, difficult, strange, but not that normal for a game like this strange. This is over the top stupid and creepy strange. This is like, you expect a nice underwater land populated by at least ghosts or something, but no. Its disgusting rotten zombie people who can run and jump and shoot at the speed of light. Then these unexpected twists that just annoy you like big daddies and little sisters. This game was a failure, im going back to Nintendo 64 because of this. (The graphics are the same) Expand
  12. Wutung
    Jan 19, 2008
    7
    A good game but didn't really live up the hype.The graphics are great and so is the art design, the atmosphere and inhabitants are also top notch, but its all a very linear corridor affair, there aren't any outdoor or wideopen areas. I really expected an "anything goes" experience, but the use of plasmids and the havok engine driven environments turned out to be a bit shallow. A good game but didn't really live up the hype.The graphics are great and so is the art design, the atmosphere and inhabitants are also top notch, but its all a very linear corridor affair, there aren't any outdoor or wideopen areas. I really expected an "anything goes" experience, but the use of plasmids and the havok engine driven environments turned out to be a bit shallow. The morality angle in the game isn't very sophisticated or thought provoking, and the plot loses its tension mid way through. The end boss is a dissappointment too. A fun ride with an artistic twist, but nothing really new or innovative. Expand
  13. NicholasH.
    Dec 12, 2008
    5
    This game was mediocre, not good and especially not great. Problem is, the hype machine made the game to be much more than it is. If you expect a lot of this game, prepare for disappointment. If you expect little, you will have a "decent" experience.
  14. JoshuaB
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    When I first played the demo for this game, I was unsure when to start playing because the transfer from video to game was seamless. I was amazed and the graphics at first. Then I continued playing and by the end of the demo was so scared that half-way through, i turned my lights on, and so pissed that the demo ended, that i went out and bought it not even 20 minutes later. This is the When I first played the demo for this game, I was unsure when to start playing because the transfer from video to game was seamless. I was amazed and the graphics at first. Then I continued playing and by the end of the demo was so scared that half-way through, i turned my lights on, and so pissed that the demo ended, that i went out and bought it not even 20 minutes later. This is the only game to come close to my I-Know-It's-Cliche Favorite game ever, Final Fantasy VII. This game is by far going to be recognized in the future for its story, and for its overall creepy theme. Can't wait for Bioshock 2 and the Movie! Expand
  15. LegendiusM.
    Mar 5, 2008
    5
    Ok, my friend hated this game, I read the reviews here and thought he must be an idiot so I bought it. AND IT SUCKS! I don't get it, I really don't. The shooting is average at best, the enemies are boring, those stupid hacking puzzles are just plain retarded, and the story? Nothing great in my opinion. I will admit that I only played about 5 hours but how can a game that's Ok, my friend hated this game, I read the reviews here and thought he must be an idiot so I bought it. AND IT SUCKS! I don't get it, I really don't. The shooting is average at best, the enemies are boring, those stupid hacking puzzles are just plain retarded, and the story? Nothing great in my opinion. I will admit that I only played about 5 hours but how can a game that's so fundamentally flawed get such universal praise??? I cannot find a bad review for this game anywhere. Please flame me, please tell me I'm a retard, please tell me WHAT IS SO DAMN GOOD ABOUT THIS GAME! Expand
  16. terriblegame
    Jun 2, 2008
    0
    Couldn't stop hitting my head against the wall.
  17. EricB.
    Jul 22, 2008
    0
    Me no understand to complicated me want smash in halo no multiplayer to me want kill people for no reason.To many character and plot is hard me cant understand.
  18. AnonymousMC
    Jul 7, 2008
    1
    How can the reviewers give this such a good score?! It's got a ridiculous amount of bugs that, well, simply make the game unplayable. After a few hours, this game even gave my 360 a RRoD. Go figure -_-
    That is not the reason for the low score (though I did take a point or two more off), it's the fact this game is just average at best. Go play Halo instead. At least that game did
    How can the reviewers give this such a good score?! It's got a ridiculous amount of bugs that, well, simply make the game unplayable. After a few hours, this game even gave my 360 a RRoD. Go figure -_-
    That is not the reason for the low score (though I did take a point or two more off), it's the fact this game is just average at best. Go play Halo instead. At least that game did something original and it's mostly run-and-gun.
    PC version is probably a lot better, too bad my PC can't run it
    Expand
  19. PeterArmstrong
    Oct 5, 2009
    6
    cant understand the hype behind this game and found it disgraceful that it was given a 96. havent finished yet cos i find it very boring the action is not great. Gene tonic system isnt designed well. the idea of plasmids is very cool. With some tweaks this game could be much more enjoyable think.
  20. IleM
    Oct 9, 2009
    7
    Good visuals, nice story but .. it's boring and repetitive. The combats become boring. Your abilities do change, but the opposition is just so repetitive. A shame really when you consider the effort otherwise.
  21. CoreyN
    Jul 31, 2009
    5
    Gameplay was over complicated and repetitive. AI was very weak, they just rushed at me. Story was predictable, contrived, poorly delivered, and unsatisfying. The world was unbelievable. I could not get immersed in it because there was no way to understand it at all. Hacking was fun the first 3 times. Then it became a miserable grind. It was full of bugs, including at least 4 crashes. I Gameplay was over complicated and repetitive. AI was very weak, they just rushed at me. Story was predictable, contrived, poorly delivered, and unsatisfying. The world was unbelievable. I could not get immersed in it because there was no way to understand it at all. Hacking was fun the first 3 times. Then it became a miserable grind. It was full of bugs, including at least 4 crashes. I was really excited to play this game, given all the great reviews it got. Too bad it was a run of the mill FPS with nothing new to offer. Why is it considered so great? Is it just because its not "Aliens in Space" or WWII? A 96 game should offer more than just a different setting. Expand
  22. GazFlint
    Sep 1, 2009
    4
    I don't get why so many people like this game, its really repetitive, the crontrols are clunky and at times it's so stupidly hard, I died about five times in a minute once. It was just weird, it didn't know whether it wanted to be an RPG or a shooter, and didn't have the finesse of either. Most over rated game ever.
  23. TonyG.
    Oct 11, 2007
    2
    I'm shocked this game has received such acclaim. The graphics are nice and the story charming, but that's all. Gameplay is pathetically awful. Shoot, run out of ammo, & swing wrench. How this even got past playtesting is a mystery to me. Framerate begins to glitch and freeze when things get busy. Ammunition is stupidly scarce, requiring you to search every bit of garbage on the I'm shocked this game has received such acclaim. The graphics are nice and the story charming, but that's all. Gameplay is pathetically awful. Shoot, run out of ammo, & swing wrench. How this even got past playtesting is a mystery to me. Framerate begins to glitch and freeze when things get busy. Ammunition is stupidly scarce, requiring you to search every bit of garbage on the floor. Your primary weapons are zapping somebody with electricity and then clubbing them. You can't even access all the power menus from the standard game interface, these only unlock when you pick up an item. Skip this overhyped nonsense an d buy a real game like Halo 3. Expand
  24. JoshQ.
    Nov 22, 2007
    5
    Note that I love both RPG and FPS genres very much and that i was awaiting bioshock months before release. Bioshock is extremely overrated. There's too many false prelease features to even name. Overall, the game has little if any RPG aspect, its completely linear, the environment is static (which is completely what it was meant not to be), theres only 6 guns and 2 upgrades per which Note that I love both RPG and FPS genres very much and that i was awaiting bioshock months before release. Bioshock is extremely overrated. There's too many false prelease features to even name. Overall, the game has little if any RPG aspect, its completely linear, the environment is static (which is completely what it was meant not to be), theres only 6 guns and 2 upgrades per which dont rlly add much to the game, wen i was goin thru it i didnt really say much to myself but wen i completeled i realized i had no fun and beat it just to satisfy myself rather than leaving a purchased game incomplete, tehre's just too much I could say to make a small comment on it. Expand
  25. RyanM.
    Dec 10, 2007
    0
    I absolutley detest any game that wins the game of the year award when it not only has no multiplayer content but, cant even get the campaign single player mode to be the least bit Non-Linear... Probably the single most boring game I have ever Played, So much for taking the ratings to heart and dropping $60 on something I hated so badly I felt selling it was wrong because I would be I absolutley detest any game that wins the game of the year award when it not only has no multiplayer content but, cant even get the campaign single player mode to be the least bit Non-Linear... Probably the single most boring game I have ever Played, So much for taking the ratings to heart and dropping $60 on something I hated so badly I felt selling it was wrong because I would be putting it back into circulation. Expand
  26. KurtC.
    Dec 28, 2007
    3
    Boring and not very good. Amazing production values (graphics/sound) and an average story, although it was presented well. The problem is the gameplay. It is just so lacking, and it is very sad to hear this compared with the System Shock games. They are in a completely different league to this game. Also, anyone who gives a game 100 out of 100, should not be in the business of reviewing anything.
  27. JayA.
    Oct 23, 2007
    1
    Certainly not worth the scores it has received. The graphics and storytelling are about all that's good - or rather, medicre - in this water-clogged interactive story. Gameplay (shoot once, run out of ammo, then pull out the wrench).
  28. JeremyL.
    Dec 7, 2007
    2
    Great graphics, good storyline, pretty good thriller. Nothing like I expected, no RPG element. Basic horror FPS. Would have been much better on PC, Xbox 360 isn't for FPS', I bought it for the RPG element it was advertised as having, and was disappointed to find that it was nothing like that.
  29. mickeykan
    Oct 29, 2007
    0
    bioshock is the worst game i ever played. I almost thought i was nes or probably superman 64. I even think superman 64 is a better game than bioshock. When i played it the person who got his plane crash and went in the lighthouse and said "there is only man no god". I say to myself why did the guy go in if he it is a dangerous place. it didn't have good because how can there robootsbioshock is the worst game i ever played. I almost thought i was nes or probably superman 64. I even think superman 64 is a better game than bioshock. When i played it the person who got his plane crash and went in the lighthouse and said "there is only man no god". I say to myself why did the guy go in if he it is a dangerous place. it didn't have good because how can there roboots and flying mini helicopter back in 1960 like what the hell they have video games that year well there is only few at the time but i bet those video game is better than bioshock for Nintendo 64 opps sorry (bad graphics, crappest storyline of all time, worse shooting game of all times.) It's only for pc and xbox 360. it shouldn't game of the year and it should take superman 64 spot as the worse game of all times. The control is good but the storyline ruins it. When i got to the ending i didn't know atlas the guy who guide you through while holding his radio is the last master. even if you rescue all the girls the game is still crap. when you stab yourself with the needle it really hurts your eye while in a dark place and i can see polygon all over the place as if i thought i was playing nes. shooting are worst games of all time and people who said this is really good game needs to go to hell!!!!!!!! when i beat the game i just throw it away because that game is trash. Expand
  30. TeodorIkonomov
    Aug 17, 2007
    0
    The Best Game Ever
  31. FPSMaster
    Aug 24, 2007
    7
    I'm not gonna jump on the bandwagon of gamers that claim this the best game ever made, although I started to just before release. But after playing, what comes to mind is a phrase like "if only they had done this a little differently or a little better". Don't get me wrong, it's a great game and all, but not the best game I've ever played. The game gives you tons of I'm not gonna jump on the bandwagon of gamers that claim this the best game ever made, although I started to just before release. But after playing, what comes to mind is a phrase like "if only they had done this a little differently or a little better". Don't get me wrong, it's a great game and all, but not the best game I've ever played. The game gives you tons of ways to kill enemies, but each one works about as well or the same as another. You can use your plasmids to mix things up just to see what happens, but just playing it like a shooter with just guns works just as well if not sometimes better and even easier. But the shooting sort of sucks and feels generic to be honest as the weapons don't feel that great to use anyway, but still easier than getting ridiculous with plasmids. The graphics are great other than the jaggies everywhere, especially the water, but not seeing your character model and not seeing your own shadow on a wall across from you when you're standing directly in front of a light with your back turned to it feels like going back to Doom 3 on Xbox. At the same time the enemies are chasting their own shadows down the hall from you making it look half finsihed since they do it but you don't. Character models of everything other than Big Daddies look generic and cartoony like Timesplitters character models though. Great looking game otherwise with easy controls, great story (although confusing sometimes since there are never any cutscenes), tons of weapons and great atmosphere with an upgrading system like an RPG. It just needs a few more graphical tweaks as talked about above to look as amazing as everyone claims. The story could have been fleshed out better too, as only listening to radios to know about the story doesn't always work as intended because half the time while you're trying to listen you have to fight making you not hear anything and having to stop and go back and listen again. It just feels like the biggest part of the game, the part that makes this game different, the combat, was hamstringed when they decided to give so many ways for you to deal with enemies but not making any of them seem to take skill or none of them really working better than another and none of them are that memorable. Makes it feel kinda pointless to upgrade your weapons and plasmids in that regard other than to see what they look like. And having to do the whole combo thing with plasmids then shoot gets old fast. It's like the GTA sydrome here. Instead of doing a couple of things really well like past games they did like Rockstar does with the GTA games and give you a ton of different things to do but all of them executed average or poorly. Rent. Expand
  32. BDub
    Aug 27, 2007
    7
    I have to say this game is WAY over hyped. I like FPS's, but no so much this one. Trying to take others into consideration I really think this game is probably a solid 8. Personally i'm giving it a 7. The game has amazing graphics. But from what i read before hand i was expecting what supposed to be amazing game play and story. The story is pretty good but the game play as a FPSI have to say this game is WAY over hyped. I like FPS's, but no so much this one. Trying to take others into consideration I really think this game is probably a solid 8. Personally i'm giving it a 7. The game has amazing graphics. But from what i read before hand i was expecting what supposed to be amazing game play and story. The story is pretty good but the game play as a FPS kind of sucks. It is different from most FPS's for sure but not "best game of the year different." There is no way this game is going to be game of the year with H2, and Assassins Creed due out. Expand
  33. Ryencoke
    Sep 25, 2007
    2
    Did I play the same game as the rest of you? I was expecting this game to blow me away. It didn't do that at all. It's basically 'Condemned: Criminal Origins', with a little magic & minor graphical updates. I'm still in awe at all these reviews. Seriously, this game was not good. You get to kill the same creatures over and over, in the same enviornments. All this Did I play the same game as the rest of you? I was expecting this game to blow me away. It didn't do that at all. It's basically 'Condemned: Criminal Origins', with a little magic & minor graphical updates. I'm still in awe at all these reviews. Seriously, this game was not good. You get to kill the same creatures over and over, in the same enviornments. All this game is, 'hack this', 'hack that'.. Kill this... Lame. Avoid it, and fix these reviews. Expand
  34. biohater
    Sep 28, 2007
    6
    I liked bioshock a lot when i played it first but after a while it got too old real fast. the water effects are breathtaking! but the gameplay is just too plain. (very over-rated!)
  35. Codename47
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    I felt that this was quite an average game to be honest. After the ridiculously high scores its been getting i've failed to see what the game's innovations are. Going from room to room killing the same looking monsters this is little more than an overhyped version of Doom. Bioshock's aving saving grace comes in the form of the Big Daddy, Arguble the best feature of the game I felt that this was quite an average game to be honest. After the ridiculously high scores its been getting i've failed to see what the game's innovations are. Going from room to room killing the same looking monsters this is little more than an overhyped version of Doom. Bioshock's aving saving grace comes in the form of the Big Daddy, Arguble the best feature of the game after another letdown of the so called morale decision involving the Little Sister. Expand
  36. EB
    Sep 7, 2007
    7
    Awesome graphics and sound, but the gameplay is gets old. The "hacking" mini-game is fun--once.
  37. Aeschylus
    Jan 1, 2008
    1
    Imagine DOOM 3 without the gut wrenching viscera and H.P. Lovecraft inspired enemies. Imagine (literally) a watered down version of the brilliant gothic designs of DOOM 3. Finally, imagine running through the same corridors without any environmental change whatsoever between the runs, about 5 times for each level. Repetition is tedious. Especially when there's nothing new to look at.
  38. KenanK.
    Feb 5, 2008
    6
    Bioshock was simply a disappointment after hearing about how perfect it is. The game is not open world at all, the plasmids aren't that innovative. The story is great and the city is breath-taking, but I wanted to explore the city, not view it through a window. I also didn't like how it is impossible to die. If your health reaches zero, there is no consequence, you go back to Bioshock was simply a disappointment after hearing about how perfect it is. The game is not open world at all, the plasmids aren't that innovative. The story is great and the city is breath-taking, but I wanted to explore the city, not view it through a window. I also didn't like how it is impossible to die. If your health reaches zero, there is no consequence, you go back to the revival chamber and everything is exactly how you left it, same health and everything. This removes the challenge from the game and ruined any tension, because I knew I could just zerg my enemies to victory. The "moral decisions" were also a bit of a letdown. Expand
  39. Wrathbone
    Mar 19, 2008
    6
    Overhyped? Absolutely. While this game sports some of the best graphics capable on the 360 or PC, it's ultimately a very pretty coating over an otherwise mediocre game. It's pretty much everything that's ever been done in a game from Doom to Half Life to Prey. There's really nothing new or fresh here.
  40. BopP.
    Mar 2, 2008
    8
    This is a very good game, I just don't think it is as good as it is hyped up to be. The constant shooting got very repetitve and boring, at least to me. I also don't think the plasmids were as good as they could of been.
  41. Gamertag:Uunster
    Apr 23, 2008
    8
    It's Good but the whole shooting and health. is weird (probably because halo gears of war a call of duty 4) it doesn't aim and health doesn't regain is just weird. But bad ass!
  42. DominicM.
    Jul 5, 2008
    6
    I simply cannot believe the amount of praise this game receives. After I read all the reviews, I figured this was an AAA title. I bought it, and completed it in two days. First playthrough was good, the second time I realized just how boring the game was. It was short, the powers were lacking, and ammo runs out so fast you use the wrench most of the time. Story was alright I guess. Overrated.
  43. JoeS.
    Jul 7, 2008
    1
    Wow, totally uninspired. Let's see here....Music: Sucks. Graphics: WOW! WTH? Really, really bad. I bet you though I was going to say good, right? Well, too bad, they really suck. These guys should take a hint from Doom 3 or Halo instead. THOSE are real graphics! Gameplay: Average, but boring overall. I just want to run in there and blow up some people! Is that too much to ask for?! I Wow, totally uninspired. Let's see here....Music: Sucks. Graphics: WOW! WTH? Really, really bad. I bet you though I was going to say good, right? Well, too bad, they really suck. These guys should take a hint from Doom 3 or Halo instead. THOSE are real graphics! Gameplay: Average, but boring overall. I just want to run in there and blow up some people! Is that too much to ask for?! I don't want to be able to shoot fire at somebody, watch him run into water, and THEN shoot elec. to kill him. Why can't I just kill him right then and there? -_- Story: *sigh* Boring as hell. I don't even understand it. Makes no sense. Expand
  44. StevenR
    Dec 1, 2009
    6
    The game had me sold in the first 20min. I was real into it. Then I came across "WELCOME TO THE CIRUS OF VALUE!! HAHAHA" and all of the immersion went right out the window. Enemies yelling crazed things such as "WHY DON'T YOU LOVE ME ANYMORE" seemed like it should feel creepy, but it just wasn't. Insanity doesn't work that way. Then I got an upclose look to a character The game had me sold in the first 20min. I was real into it. Then I came across "WELCOME TO THE CIRUS OF VALUE!! HAHAHA" and all of the immersion went right out the window. Enemies yelling crazed things such as "WHY DON'T YOU LOVE ME ANYMORE" seemed like it should feel creepy, but it just wasn't. Insanity doesn't work that way. Then I got an upclose look to a character model after "splicing up" for the first time. They put a mask on the character to draw attention, but I noticed it clearly -- none of the models in the game have mouth anitmations unless its in a video. From a visual standpoint the game is far and below expectations. If a character wasn't an invisible voice, then it was cut off by walls, windows, or fences, like it's an event on a stage. Model physics were terrible, they failed to add in the part where models stop calculating where they should be, and as a result you get twitching limbs and at times bodies like in Oblivion. Adding bloom effects to everything did not cover up the weak visuals. Half Life 1, played today, paints a more immersive and real-felling environment. When will companys learn that putting graphics through a presto-machine doesn't make them good? It's like trying to have a computer generate a painting--has no soul and feels like crap. Leave FPS's with immersive story up to Valve. For this game to get reviews better than Half Life 2 is a sin. Expand
  45. AceM
    Jun 28, 2009
    7
    This game was heavily lauded by every website and magazine and friend I
  46. KyleR
    Sep 26, 2009
    7
    It was enthralling. The story was brilliant. The characters were great, and the little sisters and big daddy's are the best "villains" (for lack of a better word), I have ever seen in a video game. But, what threw me off was the ending. And I got the good ending, which is apparently better than the bad one...
  47. MikeH.
    Jan 31, 2010
    0
    The online play for this game is constantly laggy, at best, this is nothing like the first halo which is what i was led to believe it was based on. I spent well over $500 on this game and expected much much much more!!! My daughter Matilda cant stop crying after she saw the graphic male on male sex scene which looked like it was shot in someones basement. Shame on you 2k games but, shame The online play for this game is constantly laggy, at best, this is nothing like the first halo which is what i was led to believe it was based on. I spent well over $500 on this game and expected much much much more!!! My daughter Matilda cant stop crying after she saw the graphic male on male sex scene which looked like it was shot in someones basement. Shame on you 2k games but, shame on you ebay user MikeHawk101 for selling me this trash. Expand
  48. Ray
    Nov 10, 2007
    6
    Bioshock, at first, was full of so much hope.. we consumers lead to believe from the previews a few months back. Then came one of those familiar days when a game is released on a Friday, in which many people rush out from Work or School to buy 'the most anticipated game of the year'. I have done this with many games, including Bioshock on release day. I payed £40 for this Bioshock, at first, was full of so much hope.. we consumers lead to believe from the previews a few months back. Then came one of those familiar days when a game is released on a Friday, in which many people rush out from Work or School to buy 'the most anticipated game of the year'. I have done this with many games, including Bioshock on release day. I payed £40 for this game and i kept telling myself it's going to be an amazing game based on final reviews of top end magazines and websites.. i didn't find one bad review out there. I played the game for 2 hours straight, and i thought to myself 'yeah, i'm slowly getting into this..it's great!'. Yet as i progressed further into the game i realised it's the same thing over and over. There's only 2 types of enemies really.. the pathetic, annoying, running splicers and the big daddy's. There is a limited choice of weapons and ammo throughout the game and you will find yourself on 90% of occasions just using your wrench and plasmids. You will neally always be lacking ammo for your selection of nice looking weapons. The environment always looks similar to where you just left no matter where you go, and the compass arrow is painfully sensitive to your movement that it can be easy to go around in circles in some places. Overall this could have been a great title had 2K added a handfull of more gameplay features such as loads more ammo, a bigger variety of AI to encounter, and a less linear envionment leaving the user with a feeling of DeJavu. The only thing that is near brilliant is the storyline. Also, where on earth is the multiplayer? It is essential these days to have a multiplayer mode packed with a 'big FPS game' like this (could have been). If you want to play a great FPS that has multiplayer get Gears of War, Call Of Duty 4, or perhaps Halo 3 (the 3 biggest titles on the 360 thus far). Expand
  49. davewinston
    Nov 13, 2007
    7
    When I first played the game i thought it was brilliant and completely compelling the atmosphere was imense and some parts scared me s***less. But after about an hour of playing time, the gameplay became a bit repetetive and the shocks and excitement had gone. It had turned from an atmospheric horror FPS to just a FPS. And then all it did was change enviornments, from a dock to a forestWhen I first played the game i thought it was brilliant and completely compelling the atmosphere was imense and some parts scared me s***less. But after about an hour of playing time, the gameplay became a bit repetetive and the shocks and excitement had gone. It had turned from an atmospheric horror FPS to just a FPS. And then all it did was change enviornments, from a dock to a forest etc. and you had to do something to get somewhere but before you did that you had to do this. The plot began to fade and i just started from the begginning because it was so good.
    There is not a great range of enemies, the big daddies are great but there are too many to make them fun, the alarms are extremely irritating and the rest of the enemies are amazing until later in the game where there are dozens running at you. Overall it leaves you feeling like your playing the very first DOOM game.
    On the other hand the weapons are a bonus even though you never have any ammo for them.. and the powers are quite nifty even though you always use weapons instead anyway. The graphics are amazing and the storyline is great and very original aswell as the well developed subplots. The game has strived to achieve amazing detail and realism but most especially atmosphere, of which there is plenty.
    Personnaly i believe that the game starts of brilliantly but it is then stretched out way too far.
    Expand
  50. Mrfairratex
    Nov 16, 2007
    6
    This game is over-rated. It was pretty fun but it took me five days to beat and when you play the story, you don't encounter any problems with flooding. OK so the city is underwater.... SO WHAT. The fact that the city is underwater has no effect in the game.
  51. Imawesomes
    Nov 16, 2007
    6
    The game was went by too fast and battling the last boss made me feel like I was playing some crappy Nintendo game. This game is worth a rent but definitely not worth a buy no matter how pretty the cover looks.
  52. JakeH.
    Nov 18, 2007
    2
    This game was great at 1st but after an hour the game gets repetative e.g there are only so many enemy types and most of the time the games objectives are go there collect that. The gameplay isnt that good either and enemies dont react the way you think they should when they are shot. For an FPS it is quite a long game but that just means more time wasted because it has to be one of the This game was great at 1st but after an hour the game gets repetative e.g there are only so many enemy types and most of the time the games objectives are go there collect that. The gameplay isnt that good either and enemies dont react the way you think they should when they are shot. For an FPS it is quite a long game but that just means more time wasted because it has to be one of the most dissapointing endings i have ever seen. Expand
  53. biosux
    Nov 19, 2007
    3
    3? Yes a 3 for the occasionally pretty graphics and an attempt at a different story from most drab shooters.

    After that there's nothing left to talk about in a positive light as it's all downhill, controls, widescreen, pacing, rewards, enemy variety, respawns, BUGS, BUGS, crashes, BUGS, 2k's attitude to customers... basically a very poor game masquerading as the best
    3? Yes a 3 for the occasionally pretty graphics and an attempt at a different story from most drab shooters.

    After that there's nothing left to talk about in a positive light as it's all downhill, controls, widescreen, pacing, rewards, enemy variety, respawns, BUGS, BUGS, crashes, BUGS, 2k's attitude to customers... basically a very poor game masquerading as the best thing since sliced bread.

    I'm sure on the 360 this game feels a lot better but on PC it's a pale imitation of it's spiritual predecessor (system shock 2). It doesn't even work ergonomically, it's got useless controls and when it's not crashing the gameplay is actually very poor. See edges or gamecritics review for the real skinny on this 'game'.

    Avoid like the plague or at least try on rental,.. oh hey that's exactly what you do when you BUY the PC version because the DRM means you get a few installs and that's it, even with it's revoke tool, it doesn't work so you basically won't get to install it much every time you reformat, which thankfully you won't want to anyway because the game is that dull.

    A damp squib in the firework box of PC gaming and one best killed off before it's legacy comes to represent the 'best' of what gaming has to offer.
    Expand
  54. AnthonyG.
    Nov 26, 2007
    1
    A triumph of marketing, bribed critics, and discussion boards flooded with paid advertisers. When the diction of most positive reviewers includes A triumph of marketing, bribed critics, and discussion boards flooded with paid advertisers. You'll love that the diction of most "user's" positive reviews includes words like "intriguing" and "a boon to gamers", definitely things that A triumph of marketing, bribed critics, and discussion boards flooded with paid advertisers. When the diction of most positive reviewers includes A triumph of marketing, bribed critics, and discussion boards flooded with paid advertisers. You'll love that the diction of most "user's" positive reviews includes words like "intriguing" and "a boon to gamers", definitely things that I say all the time. Right on gamers!!! The best part of this title by far, are the reviewers which criticize the game for being too evil and dark. I think I'll post some reviews which criticize it for being too super-duper-fun too! NEATO! Ok gamers, suit up and go buy the awesomest game ever. Wait...is that a glitchy, repetitive, clumsy, pile of un-playtested goodness on my screen? Without multiplayer? Yeah well BUY ANOTHER COPY it's definitely going to be even BETTER THE SECOND TIME AROUND! Expand
  55. MetalD.
    Nov 29, 2007
    1
    As Anthony said this game is an over marketed disasterpiece, a bit fun but not worth your 60 bucks. Better to rent this game since you will beat it in a night or two, it doesnt have multi-player so no reason to keep it. Don't buy into the hype guys the most anticipated games of the year are often times the worst.
  56. BryanBriceno
    Dec 10, 2007
    0
    wtf HORRIBLE GAME THEY SHOULD GET ALL THE GAMES BACK AND GIVE THE PEOPLE THERE MONEY SO THE CREATORS CAN SHOVE THE GAME UP THERE LOOSE BUT WHOLE.....DONT FUCK WITH HALO 3 FANS YOU GUYS WANNA GO TO WAR LETS GO TO WAR LETS START A BIG ASS HALO 3 VS BIO SHOCK RIOT WE WILL DEFINNATELY WIN BIO SHOCK JUST HAS A BUNCH OF FAGET LOVERS.
  57. Wackelpudding
    Dec 28, 2007
    4
    The hype for Bioshock only confuses me. Gets on my nerves actually. The only truly impressive element of the graphics compared to other new releases is the water (and blood), the weaponry and models remind me far too much of something like Time Splitters, cartoony and flimsy. The 'atmosphere' becomes dull, and the gameplay is repetitive. I found it a quickly tedious The hype for Bioshock only confuses me. Gets on my nerves actually. The only truly impressive element of the graphics compared to other new releases is the water (and blood), the weaponry and models remind me far too much of something like Time Splitters, cartoony and flimsy. The 'atmosphere' becomes dull, and the gameplay is repetitive. I found it a quickly tedious bodge-together of older ideas: not much more than Deus Ex plus timesplitters with backdrops like the rendered locations from point and click adventure games of Yore. The 'style' is uninspiring. I cannot understand it's popularity. On PC, I found this game Seriously Disappointing. Expand
  58. BabS.
    Dec 4, 2007
    4
    An ok shooter. The story is not catching at all, and the RPG elements are practically non existent. The big daddies are neither scary, and you meet them all the time. You can always predict what is to happen, and the enemies are neither variated. The "moral" choice is only to kill the evil small girls or let them go, big choice.
  59. SaudAlmoayed
    Aug 16, 2007
    0
    Actually, i prefer super mario than this fucking stupid ugly game.. its much fanfooneeta
    it must be Chekidom and WeeWeePoM like the HuN HuN PeeP PeeP.. but most of all and as DJ Meeki says: sex is so good!
    anyway am leaving now i have 2 shave my big hairy Ass..! and for my fans, I love u all and thanks for everything... and if Zaina is reading this.. (i really wanna fuck u baby..!! can
    Actually, i prefer super mario than this fucking stupid ugly game.. its much fanfooneeta
    it must be Chekidom and WeeWeePoM like the HuN HuN PeeP PeeP.. but most of all and as DJ Meeki says: sex is so good!
    anyway am leaving now i have 2 shave my big hairy Ass..!
    and for my fans, I love u all and thanks for everything...
    and if Zaina is reading this.. (i really wanna fuck u baby..!! can we do it in Mambo Cafe next time)

    see u all after BIOSHOCK 2's Review
    bye bye bye
    Expand
  60. AlessioP.
    Aug 23, 2007
    0
    WATCH OUT!!! Bioshock is a great game, sure, but has a orrible DRM system. Basically you can activate it online 2 times only; you "should" get an activation back when you uninstall it, but at the moment it does not work. You can check 2kgames forum... or give a look at pcgamer.com. Achtung!
  61. RayM.
    Aug 31, 2007
    6
    Beautiful game but it gets as dull as hell! The game play is just boring and repetitive. The final boss must have taken about 5 minutes to design! The most over rated game I've ever played. Story? What story about as deep as Doom 3.
  62. ArthurO.
    Aug 31, 2007
    0
    Let me start off by saying this: I am not a hater of xbox, 2k, shooters, or good games. I will be honest in saying that before I played the game for myself, I thought that was the type of people writing the negative reviews. The demo is certainly interesting and the stellar reviews made me buy it. For a game where the story is the main selling point, why is it that I am pitted against Let me start off by saying this: I am not a hater of xbox, 2k, shooters, or good games. I will be honest in saying that before I played the game for myself, I thought that was the type of people writing the negative reviews. The demo is certainly interesting and the stellar reviews made me buy it. For a game where the story is the main selling point, why is it that I am pitted against every person I come across? OK, the genetic mutation makes them hyper-aggressive, so that's why all of Rapture's residents only want to attack me even if I show no hostile movement towards them (or if I try to progress past them). Alex B. uses the best word to describe this game: "evil". That is why you see a facially mutilated corpse strapped to a chair as you enter one of the medical facility's rooms. That is why you enter another room to find a "doctor" mutilating the body of a screaming woman as two other mutilated bodies hang on the wall in front of him. And that is why the only way to advance through hoards of other humans is not through reason or logic but senseless genocide. It greatly pains me and troubles me to write this review because not only is this game so disgusting and so evil, but people are entertained by the evil done not only by others in this game, but by the evil that you are forced to do to advance. This is evidenced through the innumerable positive reviews this game is getting. The fundamentals of the game are also offensive. After the point where the demo leaves off, the controls show just how bad they are. The big daddies are too fast and run into you time and time again. What does that matter though when you just re-spawn ten times and kill him. Such mediocre shooting controls would be more forgivable if the plasmids were at all compelling. I've heard several uses of the phase "thinking-man's shooter". Then I guess I must be a genius to know to electrocute the water or set fire to oil to take out an enemy. I am a huge shooter fan and have played and enjoyed many and can lose myself in mindless violence because they are entertaining and I know that videogames are only a manipulation of electrical current and not real life. But for so many people to find enjoyment in the observation and participation of the evil that encompasses every aspect of this game that is not even technically well executed is greatly alarming to me. My sincere faith in the goodness of human nature compels me to believe that many people share my beliefs but will not post them in a public forum because of the countless of you supporting this appalling game. Expand
  63. giancarlobellino
    Feb 16, 2008
    6
    deff not the best game ever.......... deff not the best game for the 360....... story line is not original if ur a hardcore gamer its one of thos plot twist good guy is bad guy kinda game.... it really isnt anything special the whole idia for the game was amazying but everyone has hyped up this game WAAAAAAAAAAAAY MORE then its cut out to be
  64. EstebanF.
    Mar 16, 2008
    7
    BioShock is a very good game. However, it doesn't live up to its hype. Yes, the story is GREAT, its quite a realistic game (in terms of gaming physics, of course) and it has an outstanding graphical quality. However, all places look similar, the use of plasmids could have been much, much better and interesting, the life chambers take out a lot of challenge making you able to kill any BioShock is a very good game. However, it doesn't live up to its hype. Yes, the story is GREAT, its quite a realistic game (in terms of gaming physics, of course) and it has an outstanding graphical quality. However, all places look similar, the use of plasmids could have been much, much better and interesting, the life chambers take out a lot of challenge making you able to kill any enemy only by being persistant and the gameplay overall isn't anything as good as its believed to be. A good game, but nothing as great as it's told. Expand
  65. FredB.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  66. KentL
    Feb 14, 2009
    5
    BioShock is a first person shooter that doesn't offer the excitement of other games in the genre. Beyond that, it has uninteresting settings and boring enemies. The only good thing that the game offers is the story, but it is dragged down by the rest of the game.
  67. RickS
    Jun 12, 2009
    3
    96 my @ss, this game was boring, simple as that, why do we play countless hours of Cod 4 death match over and over? Cuz it's fun. BioShock was just tedious, do you like stupid mini games,searching in cabinets, or reloading your gun?. If yes this game is for you. For those who claim to love Bioshock, play it for an hour lets see how far you get, in that hour you would have walked 96 my @ss, this game was boring, simple as that, why do we play countless hours of Cod 4 death match over and over? Cuz it's fun. BioShock was just tedious, do you like stupid mini games,searching in cabinets, or reloading your gun?. If yes this game is for you. For those who claim to love Bioshock, play it for an hour lets see how far you get, in that hour you would have walked around and prob killed 4 enemies while hacking vending machines, AGAIN NOT FUN. What about the guns, ok why freeze a guy when i can just shoot him, the powers in this game is use less, because your guns do the exact amount of damage or more, switching from powers to guns was terrible, all while getting shot in your face over and over. After a while i just stopped dodging. Thats right you walk up to an enemy and just shoot, go to a vending machine and buy health. Repeat over and over. I believe the downfall of this game was the enemies, there just not engaging to kill, when i'm fighting locust(GOW) or gunning down marines(cod 4) its way more thrilling. By the time i finished the game i really didn't care, i just wanted to be done with it, this game was a huge let down. I'M NOT GONNA PLAY BIOSHOCK 2 LET ALONE BUY IT. Keiko C is moron, write a review idot, all you did was bash. Expand
  68. HunterDooley
    Nov 14, 2007
    2
    Bioshock is one of those games where the first couple of days you have it, u think its like the best game you've ever played.
    You get a little deeper into the story and you realize its nothing more than a polished up game thats extremely overrated.
    Game play is fun to begin with, but the sparkle fades away when you find yourself killing monsters the same way over and over again.
    Bioshock is one of those games where the first couple of days you have it, u think its like the best game you've ever played.
    You get a little deeper into the story and you realize its nothing more than a polished up game thats extremely overrated.
    Game play is fun to begin with, but the sparkle fades away when you find yourself killing monsters the same way over and over again. Graphics are mind-bendingly stunning but the luster fades off after awhile. If you want long lasting fun get COD4,Gears,Halo 3, or the Orange Box.
    Expand
  69. JamesB
    Dec 17, 2007
    1
    It's just dreadful - totally linear, plot irrelevant to the action, you can just keep dying and coming back to kill the Big Daddies who retain damage inflicted on them before you die so you need NO SKILL whatsoever to complete it. Boring, repetitious and utterly disappointing after the thrilling first couple of hours play when it promises so much, but delivers nothing from that point.It's just dreadful - totally linear, plot irrelevant to the action, you can just keep dying and coming back to kill the Big Daddies who retain damage inflicted on them before you die so you need NO SKILL whatsoever to complete it. Boring, repetitious and utterly disappointing after the thrilling first couple of hours play when it promises so much, but delivers nothing from that point. I have no idea how it has scored such fabulous reviews, no idea at all! An absolute shame considering the promise shown early on. I gave it 1 as it looks and sounds gorgeous. Expand
  70. Sep 2, 2010
    8
    Overall, a very good game. I'll start with the 'goods':
    the game has smooth controls, and decent combat. However, where this game really shines is in the entire enviorment. The world is just eerie, which is what it is trying to do. It's very mysterious, yet also gorgeous. The enemys are very creepy as well. Plus, there is an suberb plot. And, there is collection of individualist and
    Overall, a very good game. I'll start with the 'goods':
    the game has smooth controls, and decent combat. However, where this game really shines is in the entire enviorment. The world is just eerie, which is what it is trying to do. It's very mysterious, yet also gorgeous. The enemys are very creepy as well. Plus, there is an suberb plot. And, there is collection of individualist and objectivist philosophy, if your into that kind of thing.
    The only downside to this game is that it is a tad short, and some of the animation isn't the best. That;'s about the only bad thing.
    Overall, i would rent this game, but not buy. You could probably finish this game in 7-11 hours, so there really is no need to purchase. Defienetly try it, though.
    Expand
  71. Nov 25, 2010
    7
    This is a good game, but it's not one of the best games I've played. The atmosphere is pretty intense and the game looks great, but I just felt bored because there was so much repetition by the first hour. I struggled through it to see the story, which is compelling, but after I beat it, I haven't touched it since. It's good if you're looking for a quick single player game to play on aThis is a good game, but it's not one of the best games I've played. The atmosphere is pretty intense and the game looks great, but I just felt bored because there was so much repetition by the first hour. I struggled through it to see the story, which is compelling, but after I beat it, I haven't touched it since. It's good if you're looking for a quick single player game to play on a rainy weekend, and it's dirt cheap now, so I feel that it's a good purchase. Expand
  72. Mar 12, 2011
    6
    I have been meaning to do this review for a long time, to express my thoughts on what is being called the best video game of all time. I very strongly dsiagree, because we all know that title belongs to Zelda Ocarina of Time. As proof, take a look at their meat scores. You think Bioshocks 96 is really high? How about Ocarina of Time's 99? Last I checked, 99 is 3 points higher, BOOM! lol! II have been meaning to do this review for a long time, to express my thoughts on what is being called the best video game of all time. I very strongly dsiagree, because we all know that title belongs to Zelda Ocarina of Time. As proof, take a look at their meat scores. You think Bioshocks 96 is really high? How about Ocarina of Time's 99? Last I checked, 99 is 3 points higher, BOOM! lol! I will say this though, I don't think Bioshock is a bad game at all, in fact I think it's an OK game. But the best game of all time?? That is why Bioshock is the 3rd most overrated game of all time, followed by WOW at #2, and Black Ops at #1. I played Bioshock all the way through the main story, andf the story is pretty dull actually. The problem with the story is that it has been done to death. You get stuck in an underwater city, and the whole story is trying to get out, and trying to kill all the zombies that are coming after you. I bet the whole reason this story is so popular is because of the zombies. Well they're not technically zombies, but I call them that because there really is no difference between the enemies in this game, and actual zombies. But everyone seems to think that it doesn't matter what the story is, if it involves killing zombies with a shotgun, it's an automatic 10/10. Sorry guys, that's not how it works. I grow very tired of all these zombie killing games being the most popular games, zombie killing has been done, and done, and done, and done, AND DONE! How about something different, like what Resident Evil 4 did. They weren't zombies at all, they were parasites that actually had enough brains to pick up weapons instead of just randomly coming at you trying to eat your brains. In Bioshock, they are people changed from experiments, but they still act like zombies, so it's the same thing as zombie killing, again, done to death. So believe me when I say tat the story is nowhere near special and different, cause it's not. My main complaint about Bioshock, however, is that it's a shooter, WITH NO MULTIPLAYER! Really?! A shooter, without multiplayer?! That makes no sense. I mean, think about it. Why do people enjoy shooters so much? Simple, they love the multiplayer. Talk to anyone who likes playing shooters, they will always tell you that the main element required in any great shooter is fun multiplayer. Bioshock has non, NON, NADA, NO JACK. It's just the main story, that's it. The game deducted alot of points from me for not having multiplayer. I'm sure if it had multiplayer, I would give it like maybe an 8, but it's a 6 because it has no multiplayer, and the story is very unoriginal. Now I'm not saying the game isn't fun, it's good for one play through, but only one. The game literally has no replay value, so you probably do what I did, complete the main story, then trade it in. It is fun to fight the big daddies though, whenever I saw a big daddy ahead, I thougt "OH CRAP!" If a game makes you think that alot like this game, it's doing something good. Because it puts fear into playing the game, you never know when you'll come across a big daddy, and lemee tell you those things are a b**ch. They can also be pretty scary. The gameplay mechanics are well put together, mixing up using powers and a gun is very nice and fun. As far as the graphics go, they look very epic and realistic, graphics whores will really enjoy the graphics alot, lol. Of course the zombie killing can be fun too, but it's like I said, it's been done alot. One thing Bioshock failed to do is add some spice to make zombie killing different, and special. Using powers like lightening and flame is a nice add on for sure, but it needs more than that. The game is in desperate need of multiplayer, maybe a horde mode where you and your friends can fight these creatures together like you did in Gears of War 2, and end a round with a big daddy fight, that would've been awesome. I think one thing Bioshock was trying to do was trail back to the days of DOOM, where you didn't play shooters for multiplayer, but for killing monsters for fun. While this may apply to some people, multiplayer is a necessity in shooters of our generation. So if you're going to make a shooter, make sure it has multiplayer. I realize that Bioshock 2 has multiplayer now, but Bioshock 2 is said to be nowhere near as good as the first game. So although the game fixed itself by adding multiplayer to the sequal, the point is you should've had multiplayer to start with, instead of adding it to the inferior sequal. Overall, Bioshock is pretty decent, and is probably worth one playthrough. However, the game is too highly hyped, and so Bioshock, as good as it is, is still the 3rd most overrated game of all time. A 6/10. Expand
  73. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    Unique and addicting. Throughout my hours of playtime, I have never once been bored. This game brings a brand new feel into a vast open world. It's not your ordinary FPS, where shooting your way through is the best way. BioShock has countless ways to play. ..."No two players will ever play the same." - This quote could not be more correct.

    Bioshock makes you use all resources given to you
    Unique and addicting. Throughout my hours of playtime, I have never once been bored. This game brings a brand new feel into a vast open world. It's not your ordinary FPS, where shooting your way through is the best way. BioShock has countless ways to play. ..."No two players will ever play the same." - This quote could not be more correct.

    Bioshock makes you use all resources given to you (although not always obvious) to allow you to survive. You must always be aware of your surroundings and stay on your toes, if you're not then it is impossible to survive. By far the best single player game I have ever played.
    Expand
  74. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    I don't even know. The stroy was kinda dumb, the gameplay was weird but cool and the graphics were sick. it wasn't main stream then now it is. People were like bro you've never play bioshock you gotta play it. So i beat it and was like that game was just whatever.
  75. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    Can just appreciate the unique design and gaming experience this game delivered. Very well made and enjoyable to play. Just missing some features increasing replay value, thats all. Also a big thank you to 2k for not ruining the game by trying to press a mediocre coop mode into it. This current game generation a lot of potentially good singleplayer games got ruined this way.
  76. Feb 17, 2013
    2
    I found the combat of Bioshock (and Bioshock 2) just really uninteresting and boring. I loved the atmosphere of this game and the story (when there were bits of it), but I could never find myself interested in it enough to finish the game. Repetitive enemies and having to scrounge through every single piece of debris to get small amounts of ammo and clunky combat design makes is a realI found the combat of Bioshock (and Bioshock 2) just really uninteresting and boring. I loved the atmosphere of this game and the story (when there were bits of it), but I could never find myself interested in it enough to finish the game. Repetitive enemies and having to scrounge through every single piece of debris to get small amounts of ammo and clunky combat design makes is a real turn off. Why did everyone love this game? Expand
  77. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    No Southpaw or analog/control stick mapping--there's not even d-pad configuration. This is a glaring and awful oversight that makes the game unplayable for some, not to mention those have disabilities and might require custom input devices. Functionality even through updates was never added and that's just offensive.
  78. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    Since I' am into a lot of fps games I buy ed this game and I' am really pleased with it the storyline is great and you get a lot of upgrades to use like telekinesis simple makes you grab anything and toss it at anything.

    The controls can be a really bother to you but when you learn the basics you find it as easy as any other game you play. They is a lot of healing item you can carry
    Since I' am into a lot of fps games I buy ed this game and I' am really pleased with it the storyline is great and you get a lot of upgrades to use like telekinesis simple makes you grab anything and toss it at anything.

    The controls can be a really bother to you but when you learn the basics you find it as easy as any other game you play.

    They is a lot of healing item you can carry on you by 9 which to me seems to be a lot.

    You also which I hate in this game is the thing of hacking a machine it's like a jigsaw you move the pieces around to fit the other parts in order to complete the stage and you get rewards for them too.

    This is a awesome game right back at the start up til the end, try you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  79. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    This game is truly one of a kind. I was skeptical at first but the more I played Bioshock, the more enamored I became with it. Being able to use different plasmids (genetic modifiers that allow you to shoot fire, electricity, ice, bees, etc.. from your hands) in combination with different weapons was a treat. Using those same aspects to get through different parts of different levelsThis game is truly one of a kind. I was skeptical at first but the more I played Bioshock, the more enamored I became with it. Being able to use different plasmids (genetic modifiers that allow you to shoot fire, electricity, ice, bees, etc.. from your hands) in combination with different weapons was a treat. Using those same aspects to get through different parts of different levels made playing this game even more fun. Be careful though, I don't recommend playing this game for the first time late at night, with the lights out, when no one else is home. It is very spooky and creepy. The people (enemies) in the game are all crazy because of the overuse of the plasmids. But that is all I'll say. Go play it for yourself. Expand
  80. KyrpäK.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    This is the one of the greatest game of all time. Bioshock deserver full 10 points.
  81. DylanL.
    Feb 1, 2008
    8
    Great game but the story is just plane unintersting and no multiplayer wtf?
  82. TARGET1058
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    One of the best games on the 360! There are not many games that have this style and so many ways to defeat your enemies. Once you play it you will understand why it won so many game of the year awards.
  83. AndrewRyab
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    Possibley the best game of the last decade! It has it all to the classic 60's music, to one of the best stories in a video game with plot twists galore. This game is the complete package, no other game has produced what Bioshock has achieved and could be considerd one of the best FPS ever created. To me this is not only the best FPS of the decade but it's also the best game IPossibley the best game of the last decade! It has it all to the classic 60's music, to one of the best stories in a video game with plot twists galore. This game is the complete package, no other game has produced what Bioshock has achieved and could be considerd one of the best FPS ever created. To me this is not only the best FPS of the decade but it's also the best game I have ever played!

    Bioshock puts games like Halo to shame and proves what true greatness really is. But unfortantley this game will be forgotten and generic games like Halo and Gears of War will still reighn suprieme.
    Expand
  84. ChrisL
    Mar 21, 2008
    9
    This is a fun game. It wasn't the best game of the year in my opinion but was close. Multiplayer could put Bioshock over the top. In comparison I rated Halo 3 a 9, COD4 an 8, Assassins Creed a 7, Forza2 an 8..... You can pick it up cheap used, do it.
  85. SamJ.
    Mar 3, 2008
    8
    Really, really good, but the controls just didn't feel good for me. Firing a gun just felt weird.
  86. JacobM
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome, none come close to its brilliance and uniqueness THIS IS A MUST HAVE
  87. MattK
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    Anyone who down talks this game for being slow is obviously not playing this right. I don't play pc shooters so from a pure console perspective this may be the best FPS I have ever played. If you don't understand the story please go find a nice cliff to jump off because the story is brilliant and very well explained. If your looking for a retarded game where you can run in and Anyone who down talks this game for being slow is obviously not playing this right. I don't play pc shooters so from a pure console perspective this may be the best FPS I have ever played. If you don't understand the story please go find a nice cliff to jump off because the story is brilliant and very well explained. If your looking for a retarded game where you can run in and shoot all the enemies and not really be harmed please by all means go jump back on halo, not saying halo is bad, but this game is much more of a rewarding experience. Also to say that the game isn't original is sort of true compared to system shock (as i've been told) but to be honest the game experience for the console generation simply can not be beat and shouldn't be missed by anyone. The only beef I could really have with this game is that it really isn't that long, if you really felt like gaming out you could probably beat it in about 2-3 days. Expand
  88. AustinK.
    Aug 11, 2008
    9
    truly an epic win. there has been alot of prejudice thrown towards this game for many reasons but in almost all ways this game is amazing. been with ss since the first one came out and seen the improvements that Ken Levine brought in ss2. bioshock has it all, visuals, gameplay, originality ect. don't second guess this game because of the mass prejudice that surrounds it, demo is truly an epic win. there has been alot of prejudice thrown towards this game for many reasons but in almost all ways this game is amazing. been with ss since the first one came out and seen the improvements that Ken Levine brought in ss2. bioshock has it all, visuals, gameplay, originality ect. don't second guess this game because of the mass prejudice that surrounds it, demo is available don't trust the immature and un-professional dim witted "gamer critics" Expand
  89. EliF.
    Aug 17, 2008
    9
    It's not what K.Levine claimed, but it's beautiful and compelling. If this game resonated with people despite having only minimal emergent qualities, will Ken change his focus next time? (Somehow I doubt it...).
  90. KyleB.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    This game screams epic. The Smart AI and the interesting twists and turns just make it so demented and fun! I highly suggest that you get this game. The world down there is fun, and you will be grinding your teeth as you go down dark corridors waiting for something to pop out at you!
  91. SamiL.
    Sep 25, 2008
    9
    Great graphics, great sounds, great feeling and in general great game. Only the endings were a bit disappointing.
  92. KhristianR.
    Sep 29, 2008
    9
    A truly unique and amazing game. The best way to describe Bioshock is a blend of ideas by Terry Gilliam's Juenet and Caro and Philip K Dick intertwined. Say Brazil and Twelve Monkeys meets the 50s, with slight Horror overtones, a film-noir look and a sort of underwater Blade Runner if you like. The true madness of some of the characters can be found as you go along...especially half A truly unique and amazing game. The best way to describe Bioshock is a blend of ideas by Terry Gilliam's Juenet and Caro and Philip K Dick intertwined. Say Brazil and Twelve Monkeys meets the 50s, with slight Horror overtones, a film-noir look and a sort of underwater Blade Runner if you like. The true madness of some of the characters can be found as you go along...especially half way when you met the nutcase walking down the stairs. I won't say more incase anyone reading hasn't got this far. But if you have, you'll know what I mean. I just hope Gore Verbinski does the game a great service when he makes it into a film. SCORE : 93% Expand
  93. DomS
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    this game is easily one of the best games on the 360. The story line is epic keeping you hooked right to the end aswell as the actuall gameplay and twisted characters. Although the actual horror element of the game wears off after a while it is still a fantastic game to play even if you are a hardcore horror fan who wants the scariest game possible.
  94. NickB
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing the visuals, the weapons, the PLASMIDS which is also a cool addition to this game. Bioshock is definitely on my top 3 list
  95. ChrisR.
    Jan 5, 2009
    10
    Ill sum up for starters, this game is my favourate game of all time. Sooooo much atmosphere, so much effort and so much variety in how you can handle a combat scenario. The story I absolutly love! and the characters and immersive and sympathetic. Call me biased but FPS are by far the most superior of camera modeling when it comes to atmosphere, the limit of vision immerses you into the Ill sum up for starters, this game is my favourate game of all time. Sooooo much atmosphere, so much effort and so much variety in how you can handle a combat scenario. The story I absolutly love! and the characters and immersive and sympathetic. Call me biased but FPS are by far the most superior of camera modeling when it comes to atmosphere, the limit of vision immerses you into the feeling that your actually there. The upgrades are cool and the weapons themselves.....actually this is the only downfall, he 1st set of weapons i.e. Pistol and Machine Gun are quite frankly nonsence for the start of the game, if your playing it for the 1st time you realise your actually better off with the wrench, or if your me, you realise the wrench is THE best weapon in the game. It feels unbalanced in other ways. All I hope is the next one is equally as good, even if its not I will still appretiate it. Expand
  96. DanL
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    Sigh...everyone just wants another Halo. This game was fantastic. The environment was tense, the enemies were creepy and on normal and hard, NOT EASY, are very difficult to overcome. The healing stations can be used by enemies, not just the player which also makes them difficult. As the difficulty goes up, the more energy your plasmids consume, and the less damage your weapons do. There Sigh...everyone just wants another Halo. This game was fantastic. The environment was tense, the enemies were creepy and on normal and hard, NOT EASY, are very difficult to overcome. The healing stations can be used by enemies, not just the player which also makes them difficult. As the difficulty goes up, the more energy your plasmids consume, and the less damage your weapons do. There were times in the game I was fighting off 3 or 4 enemies with a wrench. The plasmids are an interesting way to deal with enemies such as freezing them and shattering them, stunning turrets and spy cameras with electricity, distracting them with a decoy of yourself, slowing them down with a swarm of hornets, or bursting them into flames and shooting them in the face, they are all options you may take. The tonics you get to upgrade your character range from gaining health everytime you hack to having the ability to find more items. They also provide a different style of combat and playing for every person's preference. The story is very gripping because you have no idea where you are, what happened to the place, or how to get out and as you play, more and more things are learned, but some are from your own assumptions. If you want a shooter where all you gotta do is blast things, this isn't for you. This game and CoD 4 that people keep mentioning are undeniably and completely incomparable. Expand
  97. calmc
    Aug 2, 2009
    8
    Fun and addictive, despite being somewhat overhyped. It's as if some major reviewers need some sort of spiritual significance or validation in their lives, so they seriously look to friggin video games for deeper experiences. Bioshock has been propped up like that, so consequently gamers are expecting some Godlike experience. It's a great and interesting gaming experience.
  98. MichaelK.
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    Great game all around. When it came out, it had the most unbelievable graphic technology seen on a console gaming system to date. The water effects were amazing and the rest wasn't too far behind. Beyond all that, it had an incredibly engrossing narrative. It threw you into chaos and the story unfolded a piece at a time to finally reveal one of the crowning achievements in all of Great game all around. When it came out, it had the most unbelievable graphic technology seen on a console gaming system to date. The water effects were amazing and the rest wasn't too far behind. Beyond all that, it had an incredibly engrossing narrative. It threw you into chaos and the story unfolded a piece at a time to finally reveal one of the crowning achievements in all of gaming in my mind. Expand
  99. PeterG.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Artistically deep and emotionally engaging. Superb graphics, fun and excellent gameplay, amazing and ambient sound to boot. Pretty much perfect.
  100. DavidG.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Even though I recently bought Halo 3, I still find myself coming back to this game. I think it's the game's overall uniqueness. The story is captivating, the visuals are breathtaking, the AI is challenging, and the combat itself is rewarding. The game had me hooked from the very first moment when the plane crashed and you find yourself/your character desperately swimming in the Even though I recently bought Halo 3, I still find myself coming back to this game. I think it's the game's overall uniqueness. The story is captivating, the visuals are breathtaking, the AI is challenging, and the combat itself is rewarding. The game had me hooked from the very first moment when the plane crashed and you find yourself/your character desperately swimming in the ocean. I have played other titles that have allowed you to choose between right and wrong, but about midway through this game I felt an uncommon "gaming" emotion: guilt. Right then and there I decided to amend my evil ways and do the righteous thing. Basically, this is an extremely polished game, and I would recommend it to anybody of the appropriate age. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. In a nutshell, beyond any shadow of doubt, BioShock is an excellent single-player shooter experience. The undeniable quality of this title and its emphasis on true and not pseudo-mature storytelling and character development make it a must-have for every self-respecting gamer.
  2. Its weak link is its unsatisfying no-skill-required combat, which might aim this one just over the head of the average Halo fan. But if you want to get a little fancy, there's a lot of fun to be had with some of the game's more indirect fighting methods. It builds an amazing atmosphere by using terrific graphics and sound to set a creepy mood. But BioShock's real strengths are as a compelling work of interactive fiction, and as a unique ride through a warped world with some great payoff built into its mysterious plot. If that description has you even the least bit interested, you won't be disappointed one bit.
  3. 100
    The first-person shooter's great looking, has an engrossing storyline, a perfect balance of action and exploration and a totally customizable combat system that can be described as nothing less than video game rapture.