Blades of Time Xbox 360

Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
Buy On
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    65
    Some solid combat dynamics can't make up for the fact that the plot and character development, or lack thereof, falls flat in every way.
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 19, 2012
    60
    Better than expected - but still not that great. [Aug 2012, p.81]
  3. Games Master UK
    Apr 27, 2012
    60
    Nearly half-decent, this is let down by messy visuals and a lack of polish. [June 2012, p.78]
  4. 60
    Blades isn't bad; it's just very average and uneven. For every innovative desert level (that forces you to stick to the shadows lest you be seared by the sun), there's a lot of jungle straight out of Avatar.
  5. Mar 24, 2012
    60
    Blades of Time offers a good combat system and a charismatic heroine, but it's undermined by a dull story and a mediocre technical production.
  6. Mar 22, 2012
    60
    It's sloppy, cheap, and the one central gimmick is exploited to weary degrees. Nevertheless, it still carries itself with a sense of sincerity that I find utterly charming, and its simplistic combat system is perfectly capable of providing some basic thrills.
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    60
    Blades of Time is a game that people will forget before they even know about it. However, for those that play it, you will find it has a certain charm that makes it worth seeing through to the end.
  8. Mar 20, 2012
    60
    A mediocre title with a good combat system ruined by a lot of technical issues.
  9. Mar 17, 2012
    60
    Blades of Time overcomes hurdles obstacles of its own creation with the strength of its novel time-twisting abilities.
  10. Mar 19, 2012
    59
    A standard action game with good customization options and funny cooperative mode.
  11. Mar 26, 2012
    58
    The second adventure of Ayumi is just a simply and stereotyped fantasy action game, with an interesting time feature and a combat system ruined by a bad camera and approximate controls.
  12. X-ONE Magazine UK
    May 3, 2012
    50
    It just isn't particularly good. [Issue#84, p.86]
  13. May 2, 2012
    50
    Blades of Time is boring and technically horrible. A bunch of good gameplay ideas and an interesting level design are not enough for you to buy this game. If you'ld like to experience a standard action-fantasy videogame, however, maybe you should rent this product for a couple of days.
  14. Apr 15, 2012
    50
    Blades of Time gives me an odd feeling. It wants to be a great game, throwing all sorts of elements at me. It's.....good, but after finishing the game, there's the sad realization that Gaijin Entertainment really couldn't do much more with it.
  15. Apr 11, 2012
    50
    Blades of Time is a lazy patchwork of already exhausted mechanics and ideas which Gajin has stolen from most of the hack and slash games seen this millenium. The result is a lot of uncreative, badly executed nonsense wrapped around some fairly decent fighting mechanics.
  16. Apr 9, 2012
    50
    Even at a budget price, I'm not sure that I'd recommend Blades of Time. It can be pretty to look at, and there are some decent concepts behind its combat system. It's also a better game than the middling experience provided by X-Blades, but not by much. As a whole, it feels like it could have used far more development time and play testing than it likely received. It's probably worth a rental if you're really curious, but I wouldn't suggest a purchase.
  17. Mar 29, 2012
    50
    Blades of Time offers plenty of variety but without much substance. Combat is fun, levels are enjoyable, and enemies are challenging, but nothing is significant enough to be memorable. It's fun for the moment, but easily forgotten by the weekend.
  18. Mar 16, 2012
    50
    There's something endearing about invulnerable enemies dropped into the action to create tense stealth bottlenecks, but whose AI is so bad they frequently end up falling off cliffs and killing themselves before they've laid a claw on you.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    Blades of Time is the spiritual sequel to the cult game xblades and provided you overlook the fact its a little rough around the edge its aBlades of Time is the spiritual sequel to the cult game xblades and provided you overlook the fact its a little rough around the edge its a excellent indie action game.

    At its core this is a Gods of War style game with a few nice addition. Most notably is the time mechanic that allows you to rewind time and thereby be in 2 places at once to solve puzzles. Its a nice mechanic that works well.

    The game as a whole is a little on the glitchy side but in my playthrough there was nothing game breaking just the odd clipping and animation error.

    graphics are good if not amazing and everything plays nicely. One thing I would say is the enemies do not react to you attacks enough so it seems like you are not really damaging them until they finally explode.

    All in all its a fun action game that may be a little bit too much for a full price game but if you can pick it up in a bargain bin or second hand (which probably is already an option) its a fun title to waste a weekend on.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    The game Blades of Time, is the "spiritual" sequence, as defined, to X-Blades, a semi-unknown game of 2009, which was far from good. TheThe game Blades of Time, is the "spiritual" sequence, as defined, to X-Blades, a semi-unknown game of 2009, which was far from good. The current version was reworked by Konami, the game is an action game in third person, in which you control a character (Lolita style), named Ayumi, which is a treasure hunter.

    As in the first game, the main character is a blonde girl with pigtails and several "attributes" (with little clothing), which uses a primary weapon, a special blade in the case of the first game, and a sword with a secondary weapon (a rifle), to address enemies, in a legendary mystical island that holds those who enter it (the evil magic that dopes this is called Chaos here), but which has various powers and riches hidden in it.

    The graphics are much better than the first one, and nicely worked, especially on the scenarios details, which environments are lush and fantastic; the protagonist and any characters that appear, this time have more realistic features than in the first game, but many enemies are "clones" of each other (especially humans), and reminded me in general graphic style and movement the game "Hunted: The Demon's Forge." The enemies have a abstract and strange look, as seen in the first game, or in a better comparison (a known game), such as "The Devil May Cry 4". The Bosses usually have a mechanic look much more detailed and crafted, and are always big enemies.

    The music is appropriate to the game, but not memorable, but the voiceovers of the "usual" characters (not mystical ones or Bosses, which are well made, with strange voices) is a bit cheesy.

    The action consist in fighting with the sword, and comes down to combos with two basic types of strikes with the sword, the strong (X) and the fast / jump (Y), and when the enemy is weak enough, you can deal a finishing blow with the RB (show in the screen).

    In addition with d-pad down, the character uses a compass that has two orientations, a green arrow to the main objective, and a red one for any hidden treasures in the stage. With the d-pad up, you cast a mystical field called Order, which allows you to see things hidden by magic, or face enemies that would normally unbeatable. Besides the red arrow, the control also pulsates, facilitating to know when you are close to a treasure chest.

    The equipment in the game consists of swords, fire-weapons, amulets and rings, all found in chests, and which have statistics and different properties (ie increased fire damage, etc.). Through a altar that is in the game, you can always upgrade your fighting abilities, choosing a power, whether magic or psychic that allow you to deal blows increasingly advanced and powerful, that are helpful in battle.

    Furthermore it can be worth various attacks, associated with spells of fire and ice, other strikes that use spells such as Earthquake, and more advanced physical attacks, which are always purchased at a choice on the altars mentioned (no need to collect points or anything for that).

    Two other controls that appear in the gameplay are the Dash (RT), to move very quickly to the direction given, whether in ground or air, and Rewind Time (LB), which makes the time go back, as in "Prince of Persia: Sands of Time ", while she remains in the current reality and the past simultaneously, thus having more than one Ayumi doing something on the screen: this is very useful in sequences of puzzles in which things must be pressed simultaneously, and strategic fights against bosses or special enemies.

    The game also features an Online mode, which I could not test, with several options, as it seems (unfortunately) is becoming fashionable in nowadays otherwise singleplayer titles, in the form of co-op or versus modes.

    Overall it is a good action game, that surprised me: not bug ou glitch-free, especially in some animations, but the concept of Time Rewind and numerous skills and magical combos, just hold my attention to the game. Who can get it cheaper, or rent it, it's worth checking out, because it is a good option for a action game. My score: 6.8.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    6
    I purchased this game from mythical land of Amazon. It arrived at my door in a legendary short amount of time. It was, as if, a fairy cameI purchased this game from mythical land of Amazon. It arrived at my door in a legendary short amount of time. It was, as if, a fairy came along and left the gift at my doorway. An ominous brown truck drove away as I picked it up. The must be the agents of Konami. They are always watching. Only watching. As I picked up this package, I felt it's power teeming through the beige, bubble-wrap envelope. I was hesitant to open the package and release it's power. I felt like a precocious Pandora opening the jar for the first time. I stared at the package for hours until finally I summoned all the willpower I had to pry the gem open. Upon opening, banshees screamed and the envelope vibrated. It was too late! I could not re-seal the package. It was unleashed unto the world. I looked inside and the damned left only a curious box behind. I cautiously picked up the box and read it's caution, "Blades of Time". Since the evil was abound, I tore through the invisible cloak that sheathed the box. A sticker held the box closed tightly. Was this a warning to turn back? I ignored the warning because the sticker hinted that it had passed some wizardry called "Quality Assurance". I broke the seal! Inside was a disc and a booklet of secrets.

    I took the disc to my hungry X-Box 360 machination. It had been weeks since it has been fed. I initially fed it the secret book, but it spit it out. I fed it the disc and it was sated. The television came to life! I ran in fear because it began quarrelling with me. It asked me for "a save device". It was the Devil's trick. I knew it, at once. After regaining my composure, I punched a bunch of buttons and started this game. I will outmaneuver the Devil and place the evil back in the package. It wasn't what the world wanted, but it's what the world needed.

    An enchanting, nubile woman appeared. I was apprehensive because this obviously Caucasian woman was named "Ayumi". Haha! Another of the Devil's trick! I will not be deterred. The Devil introduced me to a number of his powers and told me to "use them". I will not fooled, Devil!!! I strictly used the Japasian's gun and hid behind pillars. When the Devil sent his lieutenant's after me, I quickly dispatched him. Every few minutes, his Captains would appear. They were slightly more difficult than the lietenants. Finally, the Devil and I faced off. I know what you're saying, "Mr. Panda, if you're writing this, you MUST have won!" I tell you this, young virgin, no one won. The Devil changed me and I changed the Devil. Our game was over. Please do NOT tell anyone of this devil's incarnation. The Devil was abated this fine weekend but those damnable brown trucks are watching. They are waiting. To unleash the Devil upon each and every one of you. 6/10

    God has sent me a message and has told me that you may fight this Devil from something he called the "Bargain Bin". This covenant is between you and God. You may obey or you may ignore. Each soul is his own.
    Full Review »