User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 45
  2. Negative: 4 out of 45

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    Guns are one of the most important things at Pandora, and I've always been curious to know who's behind them. We've seen the greedy Dahl CEO, the evil Hyperion CEO and the - deceased- military Atlas CEO. But who was behind the Torgue corporation ? An enterprise known for its explosive guns ? Now we know, probably one of the funniest characters in Borderlands. This new DLC show us the story of Mr Torgue, the CEO of Torgue Corporation, a person that LOVES explosions and FAST PACED ACTION. He will create a tournament to find out who's the biggest badass of Pandora and give the new vault to the winner. This DLC is amazing, it's all about fetching new quests and pursuing new - awesome - guns. Everything here seems to be way more exciting than the last DLC, and it's as funny as only Gearbox could make it, yet I reckon that this game it's a bit short. At the end, Mr Torgue Campaign of Carnage it's like an explosion: Fast but AWESOME. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    If you are skeptical about this DLC, and wasted money with others, you know that Gearbox delivers with value for money. But I got just one question to ask you: EXPLOSIONS?
  3. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    Irreverent? Yes. Hilarious? Yes. New characters, new (large) environments, new weapons, new currency, new vending & slot machines, new enemy types, new bosses and near-endless arena slaughter makes this worth every penny. If you love Borderlands, you will love this great expansion.
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Mr. Torque's Campaign of Carnage was only released 1 month and 4 days after Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's Booty. That's a relatively short time for a new DLC. Some may think its an overload of content, what with the Mechromancer, Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's, and this in a matter of a few short months, but I think it's just right. This new DLC has a story that lasted me 5 hours, there are a lot of side quests, so I'd say the grand total of time spent playing this new DLC would be about 8 hours. DLC #1 lasted me about 2 hours less, the story lasted 4 hours, but only had about 2 hours of side quests, totaling to a mere 6 hours. I love the new hub, the bizarrely named "Badass Crater of Badassitude" the franchises' favorite swear is used a lot in this DLC. The Badass Crater of Badassitude is a welcome addition. It is far more interesting than Wurmwater and Oasis. It features a race track, ramps, and a huge slaughter dome in the middle. I hate the Forge, though. I had to many bad memories there. The new characters don't give much new to offer, but recurring characters, like Moxxi, Tiny Tina, and Patricia Tannis are all very well crafted in this DLC. The basic story of Mr. Torgue's Campaign of Carnage is that Patricia Tannis found a new vault that can be opened by "the tears of the ultimate coward". Torgue thinks that's "FREAKING AWESOME" as mister Torgue puts it. The make a tournament to find this #1 Badass. You are #50 on Pandora, but after a quick 5 waves of fighting brand new psychos, you are #5. You have to kill all 4 badasses in front of you in order: Pyro Pete, Motor Momma, Flyboy, and Piston. The Flyboy and Piston levels have an extra thing to make it harder, but I won't spoil it. The quests that you do throughout the DLC have more variety in them. For example, one of my favorite missions is the one in which Mr. Torgue says that these reviewers rated one of his favorite games with a 6. He wants you to kill them all, and while you're doing this he's sort of arguing about the score, like you would see on a video game website. The new psychos are loyal to certain Badasses, so they will fight each other, and have a variety of different looks. Let me warn you, before you try this out, train. Train like crazy. If you're doing True Vault Hunter Mode, at least. I was level 42 at one point, and I found a level 43 super badass maniac. I found these guys a lot more than you'd think. I was pleased, when I played it, that only 1 of the missions was a 5 wave round of guys. I don't enjoy slaughter domes that much. Mr. Torgues campaign of Carnage is worth the $10.00. It features 8 hours of nonsensical psycho murdering craziness. Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's booty was kind of tame and normal (for Borderlands that is) if you want more Pandora, and love craziness this is a must buy. NOTE: Every month Gearbox will release a new DLC for Borderlands 2, I have the season pass for it, o when I finish the DLC, I will release a review. Collapse
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This really is the real Borderlands experience. Great voice acting, great humour, and lots and lots of loot. Much better than the Pirate DLC, this one gives you plenty of non-stop action. The main campaign lasted me around 6-7 hours, which is really worth the $10. Arena battles are really fun, and they truly put just the right amount of it - not too much, but not too little. Especially with the repeatable Tier 3 arena battles, this is a DLC I will return to for loot, XP, and the new Torgue tokens to save up for a nice legendary weapon for future Borderlands fun! Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    The best Borderlands DLC since Claptraps Robot Revolution. Arena battles, racing, humongous explosions, hilarious cast, great yet simple story and a **** Dinosaur truck!!!
  7. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    Once again, Gearbox's consistency with the improvements of both the original game and the dlc's return in favor for this new installment. The Dialogue is still hilarious (especially with Mister Torgue), the areas are dynamic and unique, and the new Torgue Vending Machines, Currency, and Slot Machines add even more depth to this particular installment. Although I did wish you could use the bikes you had to fight through the Catch-A-Ride System, the new currency is a nice touch to player progression and towards loot whoring. All torgue vending machines only sell torgue weaponry (obviously), and every weapon of the day is a legendary torgue weapon. The vending machines also sell valuable customization items for your classes, whether it be head or color patterns. Also, the new Battle Tiers also provides plenty of motivation to rack up enough torgue points to grab a legendary weapon. However, where in Pirate's Booty it's weakness was the cleverness from BL2, Torgue suffers from the player uniqueness. They aren't too especial from the pirates, considering they all function just like any other generic bandit. The Bike Riders and Suicide Bikers are really the only new unique touch to the game, and all other different enemies (Torgue Engineers, Torgue Loaders) are just simply reskinned with no new bearing on voice acting. Still, Gearbox has chosen wisely to make sure that This campaign is just as substantial as the first dlc, which brings up to the best point from these dlc's. IN the First Borderlands, None of the DLC's actually had you focused on a Vault, which was practically the epitome for the Vault Hunter's quest. I just felt that these earlier Vault Hunters had been retired of their job because they were hidden upon the guise that that particular vault was the ONLY vault on Pandora, or the universe. Fortunately, BL2's DLC's manages to keep the Vault Hunter prowess alive, With Each DLC mainly focusing on finding another Vault for endless loot and swag, and Mister Torgue's Campaign of Carnage manages to take a different role on the method of opening their vault compared to Pirate's Booty and so on. I can see that Gearbox shall continue making each DLC relevant to the idea of the 4 (or 5) mercenaries vault hunting. But Gearbox BETTER put a Level cap on the next dlc! Expand
  8. Nov 26, 2012
    0
    Mr. Torque's Campaign of Carnage was only released 1 month and 4 days after Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's Booty. That's a relatively short time for a new DLC. Some may think its an overload of content, what with the Mechromancer, Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's, and this in a matter of a few short months, but I think it's just right. This new DLC has a story that lasted me 5 hours, there are a lot of side quests, so I'd say the grand total of time spent playing this new DLC would be about 8 hours. DLC #1 lasted me about 2 hours less, the story lasted 4 hours, but only had about 2 hours of side quests, totaling to a mere 6 hours. I love the new hub, the bizarrely named "Badass Crater of Badassitude" the franchises' favorite swear is used a lot in this DLC. The Badass Crater of Badassitude is a welcome addition. It is far more interesting than Wurmwater and Oasis. It features a race track, ramps, and a huge slaughter dome in the middle. I hate the Forge, though. I had to many bad memories there. The new characters don't give much new to offer, but recurring characters, like Moxxi, Tiny Tina, and Patricia Tannis are all very well crafted in this DLC. The basic story of Mr. Torgue's Campaign of Carnage is that Patricia Tannis found a new vault that can be opened by "the tears of the ultimate coward". Torgue thinks that's "FREAKING AWESOME" as mister Torgue puts it. The make a tournament to find this #1 Badass. You are #50 on Pandora, but after a quick 5 waves of fighting brand new psychos, you are #5. You have to kill all 4 badasses in front of you in order: Pyro Pete, Motor Momma, Flyboy, and Piston. The Flyboy and Piston levels have an extra thing to make it harder, but I won't spoil it. The quests that you do throughout the DLC have more variety in them. For example, one of my favorite missions is the one in which Mr. Torgue says that these reviewers rated one of his favorite games with a 6. He wants you to kill them all, and while you're doing this he's sort of arguing about the score, like you would see on a video game website. The new psychos are loyal to certain Badasses, so they will fight each other, and have a variety of different looks. Let me warn you, before you try this out, train. Train like crazy. If you're doing True Vault Hunter Mode, at least. I was level 42 at one point, and I found a level 43 super badass maniac. I found these guys a lot more than you'd think. I was pleased, when I played it, that only 1 of the missions was a 5 wave round of guys. I don't enjoy slaughter domes that much. Mr. Torgues campaign of Carnage is worth the $10.00. It features 8 hours of nonsensical psycho murdering craziness. Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's booty was kind of tame and normal (for Borderlands that is) if you want more Pandora, and love craziness this is a must buy. NOTE: Every month Gearbox will release a new DLC for Borderlands 2, I have the season pass for it, o when I finish the DLC, I will release a review. Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    Borderlands 2's second DLC offers a solid eight hour of entertainment filled with testosterone and crazy characters. The expansion might be slightly rushed, but is a lot of fun nonetheless.
  2. 80
    The jokes alone make flaming skags worth weathering.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    It's a little disappointing that, like the last DLC, this one doesn't raise the level cap for players, but if you enjoyed Borderlands 2 and you're looking for more of it, it's a great pickup.