User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 404 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 3, 2015
    2
    This game was advertised to look like an awesome, super customisable free running game. Instead we got a little bit of limited customisation (but creative i must admit), and relatively boring free running as you can only jump a few centimetres off the ground. The guns get old quickly too. Also with a campaign that you could finish twice in a day and the online just being campaign withThis game was advertised to look like an awesome, super customisable free running game. Instead we got a little bit of limited customisation (but creative i must admit), and relatively boring free running as you can only jump a few centimetres off the ground. The guns get old quickly too. Also with a campaign that you could finish twice in a day and the online just being campaign with co-op and vs. players (that by the way the server were awful), there was nothing else to do. No replay value, and no variation of things to do. Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2012
    2
    Brink is load of crap. The campaign is horrible as hell and the story sucks balls.The multiplayer is just so so i can't explan how bad it is.And the challenges are just so stupid. Campaign 3/10 Multiplayer 2/10 Challenges 2/10 Brink 2.5/10
  3. Dec 6, 2014
    4
    Brink was massively previewed. The stage was set. It failed to deliver. It was sadly, over hyped. Brink is too difficult even on the easier difficulties, and the story is lacking depth and any genuine intrigue.
  4. May 27, 2011
    0
    this game is a massive let down for me the minute I played it I was disappointed one of the worst games for me in 2011 and will get a place in my top 50 worst games of all time overall: LAME looked at it upon release looked and sounded lame then bought it yesterday and my gut feeling was right the game is a massive let down getting my money back asap
  5. Sep 13, 2011
    4
    Brink is an "intresting" mix between awesome artstyle, bad design choices and countless technical issues. I liked the locations, background story, music, amount of various skills and character creation, but thats all about it. Lets get to the lacking aspects, which are plenty by the way. First of all, the whole reasons for the conflict seems to be forced, just for the sake of having twoBrink is an "intresting" mix between awesome artstyle, bad design choices and countless technical issues. I liked the locations, background story, music, amount of various skills and character creation, but thats all about it. Lets get to the lacking aspects, which are plenty by the way. First of all, the whole reasons for the conflict seems to be forced, just for the sake of having two hostile factions fighting each other, that are reason for this game to exist. In reality they could get along very easily, but i dont want to put spoilers here so lets skip that. The leveling system is unfair, it would be ok if all it gave you was cosmetic stuff like new costumes (which it does), but it also makes your character have more abilities or stronger abilities, which gives you an advantage over players with lower level. There are f***loads of bugs, ranging from the harmless ones, like text errors or wrong messages (says you have to defend, when you really have to attack etc) to those annoying and gamebreaking, like game suddenly losing sound, crashing or you cannot see other players. The netcode is really terrible too. You will lagg even with a decent internet connection, even if you wont, the game will still run so clunky that you will feel as you did. With slow internet, forget about multiplayer, the game will be unplayable, stick to playing with bots. But dont worry, you wont loose much, because even in the multi you will meet more AI bots than real players. And the AI in this game stand for Artifical Idiocy. Its as if they was purposedly coded to be so dumb, so that you can easily tell its a bot, and not a person with a brain. Talking about stupid, lets talk about the whole S.M.A.R.T. thing, which is basically climbing and jumping over fences. Sure thats cool, because it gives you more movement freedom than most games, but you wont use it that often anyway, except to gett from spawn point to the battlefield. First of all, you almost cant do any of this stuff with heavy body (which is the most efficient in combat), second, you cant shoot when doing all those tricks, making you an easy target, and thrid, the maps are not really designed for this, as you mostly fight indoors, but even on streetfights you wont be able to climp on a building and jump over roofs (like in the trailer). Also the weapons in the game are really boring, all you have are machineguns with diffirent skin and slightly diffirent stats. There are also few otherweapon types but they seem to be significantly weaker than the machineguns, so everyone just uses machineguns (which i personally hate). Overall, Brink is a game that looks good and promising, but has so many flaws that i just can't give it anything close to a positive rating, even if i wanted to. Expand
  6. May 12, 2011
    3
    What a complete and under waste of money time and effort. Time and time again, we are treated to the hype and possibility of something worth the wait, and yet we are presented with this complete and utter rubbish.

    It not only doesnt move the genre forward, it allows for countless other companies to just roll out the same old crap time and time again. It is no wonder that COD and
    What a complete and under waste of money time and effort. Time and time again, we are treated to the hype and possibility of something worth the wait, and yet we are presented with this complete and utter rubbish.

    It not only doesnt move the genre forward, it allows for countless other companies to just roll out the same old crap time and time again. It is no wonder that COD and Battlefield rule the market when no one looks at the opporunity to create greatness, but rather just uses the wave of FPS fame to produce nothing new, unique, or adventurous.

    You have played it all before, many many many times there is nothing good about the game, and any reviews that are favourable need to splap themselves into reality and get out of the house.

    YOU HAVE GONE BLIND.
    Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2011
    2
    Brink sounded great when it was about to be released a team based style fps with mirrors edge parkour type stuff sounded like a great and fun idea and whats really sad is they had a great idea for a game but when i started playing it first off your teammates AI and the enemy AI was HORRIBLE and the game was just boring my advise is to buy L.A noire or somthing this game is horrible stay away
  8. Jul 4, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom line up front, this game was just poorly designed. Unless you have friends that can play it too, you're at the mercy of playing with incapable AI teammates that are more interested in capturing and re-capturing command posts versus actually completing the main objective. And I swear to crap that constantly hearing "THEY"VE CAPTURED OUR COMMAND POST" just because comparable with hearing nails on a chalk board. I made the mistake of buying this, where it will remain on my shelf after possibly playing only about 10 hours of it. This game is also the reason I joined, and will be using Metacritic from now on before I buy any more games!!! Expand
  9. Apr 2, 2012
    4
    First of all, whats wrong with people playing this game? I have almost 1 bad report from every top score I get playing on multiplayer ...
    The game is not bad at all, but it's not good as they wanted to sold us. Poor character creation and poor visuals on Xbox compared to PC. For the character classes the only one who really is worth is the engineer, the others are useless.
  10. May 30, 2011
    3
    I was waiting for this title for a long time, thank the good lord I didn't pre order it. When I put this game in for the first time I was impressed creating my character, the customizations, the story line, and then onto playing it....I was completely let down. Nothing about this game feels right, its slow and the physics are just not there. The graphics don't render very good or fastI was waiting for this title for a long time, thank the good lord I didn't pre order it. When I put this game in for the first time I was impressed creating my character, the customizations, the story line, and then onto playing it....I was completely let down. Nothing about this game feels right, its slow and the physics are just not there. The graphics don't render very good or fast enough it doesn't really look all that great, but the actual game play was boring and crap. What a let down, this game looked like it had lots of potential until I actually got in there and started playing it, I can't even describe how I felt about it, I'm just happy I borrowed it from a friend and didn't buy it. I love shooters been playing them since 95' and if you a hardcore shooter fan like me, you most likely won't enjoy this garbage. I'll stick with my Battlefield. Expand
  11. Mar 16, 2014
    4
    This game had so much potential, but it was poorly executed. The textures are washed out, the gameplay is sub-par and the shooting isn't great. The A.I. is poor and the game-modes aren't intriguing enough to warrant more than one playthrough. If they end up making a sequel, I hope the ideas get executed properly.
  12. May 13, 2011
    2
    Brink is a great game until you try to play it... AI is terrible and makes offline mode little more then a good way to farm experience for your character and don't bother playing online until Bethesda/Splash Damage gets it's act together and fixes the lag. Its sad to see such a promising game crippled by terrible network support. So much potential but such terrible implementation. I regretBrink is a great game until you try to play it... AI is terrible and makes offline mode little more then a good way to farm experience for your character and don't bother playing online until Bethesda/Splash Damage gets it's act together and fixes the lag. Its sad to see such a promising game crippled by terrible network support. So much potential but such terrible implementation. I regret buying this game in its current state. Expand
  13. May 14, 2011
    3
    Simply over-hyped and does not deliver the fun you'd expect. Laggy, hardware issues that make you doubt it has been tested and too focused on online modes.
  14. Jul 10, 2011
    0
    I awaited this game for a full year, since I first saw a glimpse of the game back in April of 2010. So, of course I pre-ordered the game and picked up my game at midnight. From the time I put the game in I played for a solid 6-8 hours straight. Despite the common lag and shoddy graphics. I waited for this game for a year, I wanted to enjoy it. Well, it turns out even after the patch to fixI awaited this game for a full year, since I first saw a glimpse of the game back in April of 2010. So, of course I pre-ordered the game and picked up my game at midnight. From the time I put the game in I played for a solid 6-8 hours straight. Despite the common lag and shoddy graphics. I waited for this game for a year, I wanted to enjoy it. Well, it turns out even after the patch to fix the lag and other issues, the game is still "unplayable" by my standards. Even if you get into a game with a decent connection, you are most likely playing verse a team of bots with only bots to aid you as well. THIS IS NOT A MULTIPLAYER GAME by any means. They had a great idea and somehow managed to f*%k it up big. So if I were to give them 5 stars at all, it would be for biggest failure of all time. By far the worst game I've ever played. Sadly I had to accept $10 for it from Gamestop. Thank you Bethesda for stealing my money. Expand
  15. May 17, 2011
    3
    I, like many other's who have reviewed this game gave it an honest shot. Unfortunately all this game does right is initially impress us with the customized character menu - the character models look great. There is where the appeal stops for brink. My experience with the game was buggy, laggy, and helter skelter terms of what the heck was going on. Those who can forgive a game for shoddyI, like many other's who have reviewed this game gave it an honest shot. Unfortunately all this game does right is initially impress us with the customized character menu - the character models look great. There is where the appeal stops for brink. My experience with the game was buggy, laggy, and helter skelter terms of what the heck was going on. Those who can forgive a game for shoddy AI, ridiculous map designs that crowds teams into hallways, can have fun enjoying this game while they can - the community will die very quickly.

    I wish people would not feel obligated to give a game an amazing score because they paid 60-70 bucks for it. This game is not good, and wouldn't even be good as an XBLA title.
    Expand
  16. May 15, 2011
    4
    At first it looks good, if you've seen the trailers, watched the E3 gameplay, it looks solid. It looks like a decent shooter, team based game modes look fun but working together to complete objective is necessary to finish the game. But also look i died again after my AI friend failed to protect me as i plant whatever this is on whatever that is. At the very least for the first three hoursAt first it looks good, if you've seen the trailers, watched the E3 gameplay, it looks solid. It looks like a decent shooter, team based game modes look fun but working together to complete objective is necessary to finish the game. But also look i died again after my AI friend failed to protect me as i plant whatever this is on whatever that is. At the very least for the first three hours you'll find it fun and easy to complete missions and then you'll reach the final day of either the rebel faction or the security faction and the difficulty will grind up over noticably. I would have given this game an 8 or 9 if it weren't for the horrid graphics in gameplay and the retarded AI (no offence intended). I sat there watching a blur of a man trying to run through a wall when he had the something i needed planting somewhere sometime soon (3 mins to be exact) but no he couldnt move i stood there clearing out enemy after enemy as he didnt move and the timer did, so i turned off my console and i havent touched Brink since (its been about 2 days). I have no problems with the challenge system and i found it fun having to do it to unlock weaponry and not to metion how easy achievments were but the main problrms are the no lobby system and the awfull lag i had to endure even with the new virgin 50mb per sec it sucked basically and that people could join your game. Expand
  17. Oct 12, 2013
    4
    I thought that Brink would be awesome, and I would love the game, but I was wrong. It is all past now. This game is unfinished and nearly impossible, and I didn't finish, because of the game's roughness. It was difficult on some of the story missions, and the game-play was not too much to put a smile on my face. It was now all past, and was a waste of time spending money on this, and nowI thought that Brink would be awesome, and I would love the game, but I was wrong. It is all past now. This game is unfinished and nearly impossible, and I didn't finish, because of the game's roughness. It was difficult on some of the story missions, and the game-play was not too much to put a smile on my face. It was now all past, and was a waste of time spending money on this, and now putting shame on those who developed all these bad elements in this game. There was some great things in this game, but that didn't save Brink from falling apart. For those of you who wants to play Brink, follow my advice and look for another better shooter. Expand
  18. May 12, 2011
    4
    Simply put, this was a game that bragged it would bring back SP to FPS games, and that it would blur the line between MP and FPS. Unfortunately it was all hype! The game is unplayable in SP mode, as some tasks the AI bots should perform, simply are not done. The MP game works great with friends. The Problem is that Splash Damage, didn't really promote this as a MP game, they promotedSimply put, this was a game that bragged it would bring back SP to FPS games, and that it would blur the line between MP and FPS. Unfortunately it was all hype! The game is unplayable in SP mode, as some tasks the AI bots should perform, simply are not done. The MP game works great with friends. The Problem is that Splash Damage, didn't really promote this as a MP game, they promoted the "Lengthy, In-Depth Single Player, and how it would Blur the lines!" Well if In-Depth SP is 4 hours long and Blurs the line because you go blind from mad frustration, then they accomplished their goals. Simply put, buy this game for its multi-player component, and stay away from its single-player component. Expand
  19. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    This is a straight up multiplayer game, i'm wondering if they forgot the campaign mode or something. At first when i saw the trailer for this game I thought it was a xbox live arcade game like Monday night combat. It should have been. Its rental or a 5 dollar bin pick up if that.
  20. May 24, 2011
    4
    Clunky controls, over-hyped, boring storyline, stolen ideas, and the "S.M.A.R.T" system makes you look like a retard attempting parkour.

    Meh, another shooter trying to act special.
  21. May 18, 2011
    1
    Brink was one of the most anticipated games of the mid 2011 quarter. Trailers accented the SMART system of movement and "endless" customization. Unfortunately those are the only things this game has to show off.
    Brink takes place in (and around) the Ark. Completing a campaign level unlocks an audiodiary that can be listened to in order to learn backhistory about the Ark. On the note of the
    Brink was one of the most anticipated games of the mid 2011 quarter. Trailers accented the SMART system of movement and "endless" customization. Unfortunately those are the only things this game has to show off.
    Brink takes place in (and around) the Ark. Completing a campaign level unlocks an audiodiary that can be listened to in order to learn backhistory about the Ark. On the note of the campaign... it hardly deserves the name. In fact, it doesn't. The "campaign" is nothing more than an offline multiplayer match with bad A.I. team mates and some of the most sophisticated A.I. for your enemies. For example, your team's medics seem to have earned there med-school degrees by watching episodes of E.R. and House. Your enemies medics appear to have not only attended John Hopkins Medical University, but seem to be trained by Navy S.E.A.L.S. as well.
    Enough about the retched excuse for an A.I... the graphics are very much like Borderlands Game of the Year . Which I, personally, loved! Their was some minor graphical glitches and some slowdown when extreme firefights happened, but nothing game breaking.
    Apparently sub-machine guns were one of the only guns developed in this Utopian society, because that's mostly what you're limited to as far as primary AND secondary weapons for a majority of your character's career.
    The "class based objectives" can be terribly difficult to complete at times. And sometimes nigh impossible if you're relying on a fellow team A.I. Alas, it seems that the only weapons and tactics training these guys got was from playing with little green army men as children.
    The online multiplayer is currently very lagged. But I expect this will be cleared up shortly.
    The SMART movement system is definitely stellar, but not "revolutionary" as I was lead to believe. As a parkourist myself, I can tell you that there is very little of that in this game. And only the Light Bodytype is capable of it.
    I would love to give this game three stars, but I cannot give a game a review on what it will or could have become, but only what it is. Overall, this game gets 1/5 stars. Avoid until a year or so later.
    Expand
  22. Jun 5, 2012
    0
    Although I appreciated the graphics and the slight innovation amongst other FPSes, this game feels like an alpha version in terms of gameplay, plot, and AI. Save your money on other games and not on this ****
  23. May 12, 2011
    0
    Garbage game. The graphics are blurry, slow loading and there are only 8 maps in total! If you are looking for a good team based game I would go with Team Fortress. Much better
  24. Jun 30, 2013
    1
    All I have to say is wow; Brink has had the honor of hitting the one of worst games I've ever played this year. It is incredibly frustrating (from a single-player point of view), in addition this game is just an incomplete mess as there are some graphic texture problems that are pretty noticeable as you go through the well designed maps. However, for all the things Brink gets right likeAll I have to say is wow; Brink has had the honor of hitting the one of worst games I've ever played this year. It is incredibly frustrating (from a single-player point of view), in addition this game is just an incomplete mess as there are some graphic texture problems that are pretty noticeable as you go through the well designed maps. However, for all the things Brink gets right like the objective-based combat and very nice graphics and well done maps, the frustrating dumb AI ruins everything. So for me, there were times when I wanted to come back to Brink to play but was quickly deterred from playing by the horrible AI alone. So for this reason, Brink gets a 1. Expand
  25. Sep 14, 2011
    3
    After seeing the trailers and screenshots of Brink, it became one of my most anticipated games. When I played it, it quickly became my biggest gaming disappointment. Guns are so weak it feels like you're firing paper bullets. Friendly AI is atrocious yet enemy AI is ridiculously intelligent, making the single player a grind to beat, even on the easier modes. Gun attachments are unlockedAfter seeing the trailers and screenshots of Brink, it became one of my most anticipated games. When I played it, it quickly became my biggest gaming disappointment. Guns are so weak it feels like you're firing paper bullets. Friendly AI is atrocious yet enemy AI is ridiculously intelligent, making the single player a grind to beat, even on the easier modes. Gun attachments are unlocked through completing challenges, but thanks to horrible friendly AI these become extremely hard to achieve. However, the parkour/free-running elements work pretty well, and the action wheels work great too. But those two things are where any praise ends, and where a torrent of criticism begins. Keyword: Unfinished. Expand
  26. Apr 29, 2013
    0
    Horrible game horrendously short campaign horrendous story you have to respawn ten-20 times a mission because of how quick you die just horrendous.....DO NOT BUY
  27. Jan 3, 2012
    3
    This game was a terrible disappointment all the way through. It had broken multiplayer, terrible in motion graphics, and no single player campaign even though the director of the game explicitly said in an interview that the reason it was being delayed was because they wanted to provide a deep single player experience. It had us all duped to the point that it was the number 2 seller theThis game was a terrible disappointment all the way through. It had broken multiplayer, terrible in motion graphics, and no single player campaign even though the director of the game explicitly said in an interview that the reason it was being delayed was because they wanted to provide a deep single player experience. It had us all duped to the point that it was the number 2 seller the month it came out. It was so broken that one of the devs had to go on to youtube to try and tell users how to navigate around the fact that his multiplayer-focused game had no lobbies and no way to enter into a game with friends. This and Rage have contributed to my decision to not buy a Bethesda published game that does not have the name Fallout or Elder Scrolls in the title. Expand
  28. May 10, 2011
    4
    WTF with textures in this game???
    Graphics are so lame.
    What's wrong wrong with explodes from grenades?
    it does not worth 50$ . Max 20$ in XBox LIVE.
  29. May 16, 2011
    4
    I was going to write a long involved review about Brink but read any of the sub 7/10 reviews here and they cover pretty much most of what I was going to write. Instead I'm going to point out my biggest annoyance with the game; the bot AI scales with you. Some will say "Great! It's a constant challenge!" whereas I will say that you can get to the point where you simply cannot win some ofI was going to write a long involved review about Brink but read any of the sub 7/10 reviews here and they cover pretty much most of what I was going to write. Instead I'm going to point out my biggest annoyance with the game; the bot AI scales with you. Some will say "Great! It's a constant challenge!" whereas I will say that you can get to the point where you simply cannot win some of the maps. Imagine the following scenario, you play a map and completely own it, on the next map in the campaign the game will play as hard as you did on the first map but also that little bit harder. Add in problem number two with the AI which is that 99% of the time bots will complete secondary objectives over primary objectives and you're left on your own, in a team game, trying to complete primary objectives against bots that can pretty much kill you with two bullets from rediculous distances down one of the many narrow corridors that populate the maps. The game turns into a trial of teeth grinding frustration. The solution? Create a new character and play less "hard" early on. No thanks, you're getting traded in whilst I can still get some decent money back. Expand
  30. Apr 10, 2013
    4
    Being an FPS junkie Brink disappointed me. It had so many unique ideas but they poorly executed. What thing that Brink does get right is character customization. It's very extensive with plenty of options to choose from. Parkour gameplay mechanics are cool but none maps take advantage of it. The campaign can be played cooperatively online which a cool feature. There are a lot of technicalBeing an FPS junkie Brink disappointed me. It had so many unique ideas but they poorly executed. What thing that Brink does get right is character customization. It's very extensive with plenty of options to choose from. Parkour gameplay mechanics are cool but none maps take advantage of it. The campaign can be played cooperatively online which a cool feature. There are a lot of technical issues in the game. Graphics look low-res and there is a lot of texture pop-in. Playing online is impossible due to LAG. The campaign is forgettable and theres practically no storytelling or character development. All you will get is a 10-20 second cutscene full of random people before each mission. And the game doesn't address who these people are. Missions lack variety and start feeling repetitive very quickly. I was bored after the second mission. Teammate A.I. is just terrible. They focus on anything besides the main objective. I had to do everything myself. This game is unfinished. If there is a sequel I hope Splash Damage solves these problems. This game had so much potential but couldn't live up to it. Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 85
  2. Negative: 7 out of 85
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    70
    Brink can be awesome and annoying, euphoric and inexplicable, all in the same breath. Unfortunately, fist pumps are followed by fits of controller throwing all too regularly to make this one score much higher.
  2. CD-Action
    Jul 1, 2011
    70
    Interesting but unpolished, ambitious but too weak to lift the weight of these ambitions. What bothered me most was that the brilliant idea of bringing other players into your single player mode was not realized properly. [June 2011, p.80]
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jun 28, 2011
    80
    It offers a new angle on the genre and one that will excite fans. [Issue#73, p.84]