User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 395 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 395

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    7
    If you like FPS games then this is a nice change of pace from the regular military shooters out there. It a nice looking game and the guns all feel meaty and powerful. The story isn't great but the basic idea of being creative with your kills works well - the scoring system harks back to old-skool games and is very welcome. Although the campaign is very short, the game has a good amount of replayability to it, especially if you have friends for online co-op and challenging each others high scores. The Echoes mode is like a score attack mode and is argurably more fun than the campaign because theres no story to get in the way. For a sequel it would be nice to see more of a sandbox environment with a wider variety of environmental kill opportunities. Would also be great to see more weapon customisation ala Borderlands and if balanced right, online deathmatch.

    All in all a fun game but definite room for improvement.
    Expand
  2. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's here. One of 2011's most anticipated games... are you ready to Kill With Skill? Bulletstorm is a first-person action shooter filled with comedy, crudeness, blood and a damn load of swearing.

    Set in the 26th century, you meet Grayson Hunt, a space pirate, alongside his crew. He and his crew are on the run, as they have a huge bounty on their heads, all thanks to General Sarrano, who had them killing innocent civilians, whom they had thought were really murders, thieves etc. When Grayson spots Sarrano's ship in the distance, he decides to attack it, knowing he could put his whole crew under jeopardy. He goes for it anyway, and doing so, manages to wreck his ship and Sarrano's. Both ships crash land on Stygia, a baron wasteland where crazed people attack anything they see. Grayson's crew manages to survive, but Ishi is losing his life... fast. The only way he can live is to obtain a piece of machinery that he is to be plugged into, knowingly turning him into an android. Grayson obtains the part, but obtains something else too, known as "The Leash", a blue whip that combines with your DNA to allow you to creatively kill your opponents and be rewarded for it. Everyone of Graysonâ
    Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2011
    8
    i found that the game is a very different concept for the FPS genre, but felt that it lacked anything to drive it further. good overall story and brilliant voice acting but about half way through the game i found myself wanting it to be over rather than wishing it wouldn't end.
  4. Jun 30, 2011
    8
    A different style of shooter, kind of nice to see that someone changed the rules a bit. This game is a good game overall, it has a pretty descent campaign great graphics and sound. The story is unique and fun to play through, some very vulgar interesting choice of words the characters use for sure! Lots to do in this game if you want a different style of shooter here you go, chain killing, combo shots and kills and some pretty awesome ways to dispatch your enemies. Its a good solid game over all, it should be its an Epic studio game..that says enough. The skill shot system is pretty cool, fun to use and a lot of styled kills to achieve. Collapse
  5. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    I myself have not got this game but the revues i've been seeing cannot give it justice. I have seen many of the Gameplay videos and trailers on this game and it looks Very good. I mean to upgrade your guns and Powers you need to kill Creatively? I mean that's just genuis any game which rewards you for doing insane combo's and throwing people into the air and blowing their heads of with revolvers just wins in my book. Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2011
    9
    Serious fun, without taking itself too seriously. I have no idea what the critics are complaining about with regard to the language/vulgarity. You can turn it off in the settings. I haven't had this much fun since Atari tank battle,Galaga and the pin ball table Silver Ball Mania, when I was a kid ;). It reminds me of a video GAME. Again, really, REALLY fun.
  7. MJR
    Sep 12, 2011
    9
    I really enjoy the gore, the perverse, and the curses (some of which are incredibly inventive) that this game employs. Sure it's goofy and over the top but every once in a while it's fun to get creative with how you kill your multitude of enemies! Is it the best looking game I've ever seen? No. There are some texture issues on the character models up close that gives them a sort of blobby(?) look which sort of reminds me of the first Dragon Age. Other than that the game really does look good, just not completely amazing. Gameplay is great. Kicking, shooting, sliding, leashing, sometimes even drinking giving your character blurred vision, unsteady aim, and slower movement for the perk of added points for kills. The points system is really interesting and it certainly adds a new dimension as you need to get as many points as you can to buy upgrades and more importantly more ammo. It's fun trying to complete the various "kill with skill" objectives seeing if you have it in you to do it. Anyway this game is a lot of fun and I'd highly recommend it especially if you can find it for a cheaper price. Totally worth it. Expand
  8. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    Fun game, great concept. I'm not into memorization of combos and such, so I probably missed out on some of the more fantastic kill shots. Having said that though, I had a lot of fun running up to guys or slide kicking them and then wiping them back towards me while scoring blood splattering head shoots. This is just sumer movie fun with very nice visuals and beautiful vistas.
  9. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    Gritty, immature, and down-and-dirty fun. When any other game tries to take itself seriously and ends up with this outcome, you know something is up. When a dirty space rebel, a cyborg comrade with wisdom and struggling rage, and a trash-talking commando chick is tossed up into a blender with mutants, killer plants, and cannibalistic freaks, you get the same outcome, but for a reason. If you want mindless fun, with dozens of epic and creative ways to bring a humiliating death to the average low-life, "Bulletstorm" is your game. Expand
  10. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    This is a bold game that stands out from the litter of war shooters that are seemingly released in batches each year. It has a great story, and great gameplay. The environments are very varied, from beginning to end, and the voice acting and characters are great. However, that is not to say this game is perfect, as no game is. I feel that the story could've been slightly longer, as it took me around 6 hours to complete on normal difficulty. I also think that the game would've benefited from a better and more well thought out multiplayer mode, in order to keep crowds coming back after finishing the story. Never the less, Bulletstorm is a great game, however, it is not on par with what people may've come to expect from Epic Games after Gears Of War and Unreal Tournament. Expand
  11. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    BULLETSTORM has ruined other shooters for me with its point based gameplay thhis is no pedestrain shooter if you want to enjoy game like black ops still i reccomend a more leashed game than this.i fear it has ruined gears of war 3 for me.its point based gameplay has you coming back more and more its like facebook its heroin its a drug it feels great the controls feel like they should challenging but easy to adapt to.the guns feel meaty and diffrent and come on making a man "breakdance"on the ground is brilliant. SKILLSHOT WON EPIC WIN +100000000000000000 Expand
  12. Apr 27, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bulletstorm is a non-conventional FPS, which has some memorable moments, but is just a short-termed pastime, that will be forgotten after an afternoon of maniacal killing, frenziedly slaughtering and listening to some juicy curses, i mean, a bit of swearing is OK, but after playing just one level of Bulletstorm, you get the idea that the game makers goal was to make the game as much repulsive to players. If you don't mind a lot of cursing, and a criminally idiotic story, this game might provide some stress release for you. Your goal is to kill your opponents in the most gruesome and imaginative ways known to man. You can cut, fry, electrocute, behead, snipe, kick, etc. your enemy, thus gaining points, which you spend on upgrades and ammo. All in all, if you beat the game, and see its stupid ending, you'll try to keep it a secret from your friends, because they'll think that you're either insane, or really bored, to have beaten such a horrible game... Expand
  13. Apr 27, 2011
    8
    With a meathead plot, raunchy dialogue, and over-the top gore, Bulletstorm is a fratboy's wet dream. The gameplay is the real star of the game, encouraging a 'Kill with Skill' ideal, forcing gamers to explore their creative sides. Even with minor glitches and a less-than-amazing ending, Bulletstorm is a solid outing.
  14. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Love the game but the level act 3 chapter 2 keeps glitching on the part when u go down the waterfall..... Plz help me if u know how to do it. now I have to type more cuz this has to be 150 characters long :D
  15. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    After a dull opening twenty minutes, most of which is filled with cut-scenes explaining the frankly unnecessary ‘plot’, BulletStorm kicks into first gear and remains there for virtually the entire playing time as the creators put the fun back into the FPS genre.

    Having crashed onto an unknown planet the player finds that a once seemingly normal settlement has been taken over by a bunch
    of crazed psychopaths. As expected all manner of guns are available to dispatch your foes but the biggest aspect that separates BulletStorm from many of the more generic shooters is the energy leash, a sort of electronic whip that you can flick out a considerable distance and grab hold of bad guys with. They are then set hurtling towards you in slow motion allowing you time to put a few bullets in them if you wish. Alternatively, and more interestingly, you can manoeuvre them towards any number of death dealing implements such as explosive barrels, electric gates or even a cactus or two. The game actively encourages you to experiment with different methods of killing in the form of challenges called ‘skillshots’, each of which awards you experience to spend upgrading weapons etc. Although the gameplay doesn’t really evolve from start to finish trying to find new ways to defeat your enemies never gets old.

    In terms of multiplayer there isn’t really much to recommend. There is a four-player Horde co-op mode called Anarchy that’s as boring as Horde mode always is and that’s about it. Those interested in high school leaderboards can replay unlocked stages in a score attack mode named Echoes but this only really offers a short term distraction. Since BulletStorms gameplay doesn’t really lend itself to deathmatches or anything of that ilk it’s not really much of a loss though. It may not reinvent the wheel but I find it hard to believe that anyone who enjoys First Person Shooters could fail to enjoy BulletStorm.
    Expand
  16. May 10, 2011
    7
    Bulletstorm is as good as i expected. I wish it was better. since demo was good, but it was worth the price when i got it. I like the dialogue and the action and the arcady sounds when i pwn someone. Fan! But wish it was a little bit longer.
  17. May 12, 2011
    6
    I can see why the media machine was working overtime on this game, it was overcompensating for the overall lackluster experience. Squeeze what you can out of this "Not-Quite-Gears" FPS and wait for either the actual Gears 3 or a genuine FPS you can sink some time into to roll out.
  18. May 17, 2011
    10
    I 'd like to start off by saying that this game has something that many games are lacking these days, FUN. It brings a genuinely new and fresh vibe to the first person shooter,It feels great to control and has great graphics and art direction,many huge vistas to behold.Bulletstorm also has great setpieces,controlling a giant mechadinosaur is a great highlight.Coming from epic games and people can fly I wouldent expect any less,great job guys Expand
  19. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    this game is great i mean fantastic just superb when u combine ultimate gameplay with a great and hilarious campaign plus the replay ability and all the great and creative ways of killing your opponents u cant turn a cornor without seeing a creative way of killing ur opponents but they introduced all the guns way to quick so it deserves this grade
  20. Jun 26, 2011
    4
    Now that this game has been out for awhile I realize like many people already have that this game gets really boring and repetitive after awhile. Even though there are "so many ways to kill your enemies," I found it to all be the same. It's pretty much you either shoot him, kick him into something, or pull him towards you with a leash and then shoot or kick him. The campaign was good but I thought it was a little bit short, and the multiplayer is one of the most repetitive that I've played on an Xbox 360. This game is worth renting if you want to kill a few hours, but definitely not worth buying. Expand
  21. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    I have to say i really enjoyed this game. If you want to play an arcade style shooter, this is your best bet. Graphic, Audio, Music and environment are all well done and create an immersive atmosphere. Guns could have been done better, particularly the rifle feels a bit underpowered and the enemies are like bullet spongues when using it, but then again you dont play this shooter like any other. If you play it like its meant to be played, using the whip, boot as well as alternative fire and the environment, its a hell of a lot of fun!

    The levels are gorgeous, large and despite being linear, i never felt boxed in like this is the case with the CoD series. The skill-kill system makes sense and is particularly fun once you start playing the Echo time/score runs. I find myself playing them even now from time to time when i only have 10 or 20 min of game time - trying to beat the score of a friend or just beating my own. The story is a typical run of the mill revenge plot, but with a few nice (if expected) twists. Nothing to write home about, but its told in a fun way. Initially i was not too sure about the over the top and partially very coarse language, but Bulletstorm actually makes fun of itself at times and so it strangely works for me. Definitely a recommendation from me, it is a great fun shooter that should keep you entertained for some time thanks to Echo and MP modes on top of the SP campaign.
    Expand
  22. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    Finally, a game that brings new tools to the FPS table! If you can get through the vulgar language, you will find that Bulletstorm is a gem. I was expecting a soft-of first person Gears of War, but I think I actually like Bulletstorm better. It's uncommon to see this much variety in enemies and weapons anymore in shooters. The leash and kick abilities have to be the icing on the cake, though. Figuring out new ways to disembody your enemies never gets old, and this game certainly gives you plenty of options to keep you busy for many hours. It's beautiful, unique, and flat-out fun. I also loved the story! The only reason I took off a point is because it's a game that I would not feel comfortable playing in front of my parents - mature language is frequent with shooters, but Borderlands is on a level all its own. Expand
  23. Sep 21, 2011
    2
    In short: this game is failure, because is for 12 years old, but it has 18 rating...
    Also it seems painkillers guys wanted to make painkiller like game, but Epic said no, make it more like Gears of War... so for example, in game when main reason is you killing for points, you also get two AI sidekicks... wtf? Also BS is very scripted, almost like on rails, with no replayablity. Gameplay is
    boring, AI doesn't exist, monsters are scripted, there unnecessary cutscenes, with unnecessary foul language. Expand
  24. Sep 22, 2011
    9
    This game is so epic, It was developed by a company called epic! As of most of EPIC's games, i have enjoyed them, but that's it. With Bulletstorm, Its a different story. The humor, graphics, controls, amazing weapons and challenges are so awesome, its insane.
  25. Mar 2, 2014
    5
    Bulletstorm is (to me at least) another missed opportunity; akin to Brink but with more successes than failures. It is made by the developers of Gears of War, and features similar controls, visual style and gameplay. Being the creators of Unreal Engine, Epic Games have made one of the best looking games on 7th-generation consoles and been able to make it run smoothly and look stunning. The PC system requirements are also very low for a game that looks this vibrant, so credit goes to the flawless optimisation. The same could be said for the controls and gunplay. It's brutal, satisfying and fluent. Great button layout and has got the hip fire and ADS absolutely perfect for all weapons. The game is very easy and simple to pick up and play. Of course, what sets this game apart is its focus on creative kills and using stylish methods to kill your enemies. Furthermore, given the related Duty Calls parody game, one would expect that Bulletstorm would be a revolutionary shooter, bringing a new approach to the tried-and-tested saturation of shooters. However, that's where the good points end, because Bulletstorm fails to deliver and it is very disappointing. First of all, the campaign is horrendous. Not only does it have the most cliché story, characters and level design, but it actually takes itself seriously rather than trying to parody other generic shooters! Luckily however, there is Echoes mode, which allows you to jump straight into the action going for high scores on short levels. Each level adds more weapons, more creative environments, get longer, more enemies etc. so you start out with a basic toolset and work your way up. Unfortunately, the developers seem to have misunderstood the definition of "creativity". Instead of rewarding you for chaining lots of different moves together, there are no combos at all in this game. You cannot juggle enemies because the leash only keeps them up in the air for a few seconds, and the game doesn't encourage innovative combinations. Rather, it rewards simple, dumb and obviously basic attacks such as kicking enemies into prickle bushes and blowing up explosive barrels. The tools are definitely there, but the scoring system is completely broken in terms of rewarding style and creativity. In summary, Bulletstorm is a misleading game and a missed opportunity and being a fresh take on shooters. It nails the technical stuff, but fails to deliver on its promise of style. It doesn't parody other shooters, doesn't have any humour and is therefore a generic shooter with nothing more to show than a measly grapple hook. Expand
  26. Oct 7, 2011
    6
    When the best thing I can say for a game like this is that I found the dialogue entertaining, you know there was a misstep in development. I went into this one expecting a showy piece of shooter action, and that is what I got . . . for a short while. While I would be lying if I said the brainless action that this game flaunts isn't entertaining, I would also be lying if I said it doesn't wear itself out quickly. I went from loving the game, to just wanting it to be over, all in it's short five-hour campaign. It is the type of game that would be fun in short bursts, but it's samey gameplay does not lend itself to extended lengths of play. Rent, if interested. Other than that, I say stay away. Expand
  27. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    Dick **** I loved this game the moment I started playing the demo. The campaign turned out to have a decent engaging story, which surprised me a bit, and was worth the full play-through only to get a cliffhanger. The thing that kept me coming back for more was the Echoes mode. I just loved finding more creative ways to kill. Anyone who said this game has no re-playability just isn't creative. I'd usually find myself laughing my ass off after finding another fantastic way to kill someone. Shooting someone in the balls then kicking their head in for a Mercy kill? Hell yeah! Thumping a group of enemies into the air and launch one into another with a charged Penetrator for Wing Man? Count me in! This game simply brings a whole new meaning to doing it "for teh lulz". The only draw back was the lack of a real multiplayer experience. All we got was the Anarchy co-op mode. Would have been more fun to team-kill other players instead of A.I. Missed opportunity, IMO. Great graphics, great voice acting, great gameplay, awesome dialog, and the ability to control a mechazoid named Wally P. Tallylicker. What's not to love?! Expand
  28. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    If you are looking for a serious, tactical, realistic military simulation...this isn't it. However, this game is brilliant mainly because it isn't all the fore mentioned things. Not just that it isn't, but it goes overboard in celebrating that it isn't. The skill shots are a great feature to a genre that has over the years become rather formulaic in nature. Bulletstorm breaks the mold with a sledge hammer, then shoots it and finally blows it up. If you enjoy fast paced, crazy mayhem filled shooters, this game is for you. If you want to spend you time counting your bullets and working on coordinated attacks with a team of equally serious sims, go play Arma Expand
  29. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Now don't get me wrong, this is a great game. however, after the first few levels, the game lacked enough variety and creativity in its set pieces and levels. However, i do applaud the game for its tense conclusion, which led me to play on until the very end. Next time, Make it more interesting cliffy b?
  30. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    I bought this game just cause it had the voice actor Steve Blum in it. What I didn't expect was it to be "fun". This game was a huge refresher from all the first person shooters that we have today. Bulletstorm is a game where the developers and writes just didn't give a **** and had fun. It's hilariously stupid and all around just wacky. If you want a game that you can just mellow out with and have some fun bulletstorm is for you. Expand
  31. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Bulletstorm was the most underrated game of 2011. Many slated the game as a disappointment but I loved it. The graphics were great and fully took advantage of the Unreal Engine 3 (3.5 according to some sources) and adds colors that you don
  32. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    I loved this game, fast paced action, silly over-the-top action and one liners. the campaign itself is great and its really fun to pull of some stunning skillshots. the echo mode is also very entertaining, solid 8/10
  33. Apr 3, 2012
    2
    I was not at all impressed with it. There was practically no storyline, the characters did not interest me in the least, and I simply did not find the "humor" in it to be funny, at all. The skillshot system is an interesting concept, but I think it could have been done a whole lot better. If you are looking for something different with a bit of innovation, you may want to give it a rental, but do not go into the game with high hopes. I personally think that you are better off with just about any other first-person shooter on the market right now. Expand
  34. Apr 23, 2012
    8
    Bulletstorm is a very good game. It will keep you entertaned for hours on end. The campaign was very good and the best thing about it. Multiplayer was good but needs a bit more to it but very fun with friend. Campaign 9/10 Multiplayer 8/10 Bulletstorm 8.4/10
  35. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Few games are able to deliver an immersive, action-packed and original game concept and still be an excellent experience. Bulletstorm is one of the small selection of games that has managed to pull this off with flying colours. Make no mistake, first person shooters are rapidly reaching their use-by date and it takes a fresh and original concept to make gamers still want to enjoy them. Bulletstorm does this not by its spectacular graphic or sound design, but by the ability to make a serious game but at the same time, let the player have a ridiculous amount of fun in its world. You play as Grayson Hunt, the leader of a disbanded squad that has crash landed on a foreign planet. You've set yourself the task of killing the ignorant man who used you and your team to murder civilians. You'll have to fight a wide range of enemies through a constantly collapsing world in order to reach him. But don't worry, you'll get plenty of weapons to help you do just that. Though the weapons are far fetched, the amount of fun that they can bring far exceeds that of a current-time based firearm. There is something for everybody, including an accurate assault rifle, a quad-barrelled shotgun and even a remote controlled sniper rifle. There is also your leash, which will instantly become your best friend as its power to devastatingly melee enemies in slow motion possesses you. Combining the power of the leash, melee and weapons is the key to success and is where there is the most fun to be had. The sequences in the middle section of the game can get slightly repetitive but the gameplay quickly regains interest and leads up to a breathtaking climax. Whilst delivering big with fun and action, the storyline is memorable and has a very serious element to it. Aside from the hilarious quotes and humorous, colourful atmosphere, the story of the game remains strong and the acting from each of the characters is to be commended. It is difficult to pull off so much diversity in the average game these days, but Bulletstorm is none of the sort. As if the very lengthy single-player campaign wasn't enough, there is plenty to do elsewhere. There is a very robust "Echoes" challenge mode as well as a well-structured and addictive multiplayer mode. Also, with downloadable content on the way, you'll surely get your money's worth out of this game. Bulletstorm is destined for multiple sequels and serves as a reminder that Epic Games is one of the most powerful, ambitious and successful game developers around today. Expand
  36. May 27, 2012
    6
    I was looking forward to this game, but it wasn't that good.
  37. Oct 11, 2012
    5
    I was extremely underwhelmed by this game. After seeing it on so many of GAF's top 10 lists for 2011 GOTY's voting thread I really thought I was in for something cool. I'll start with what I liked first. The variety in weapons was actually pretty neat but I found half of them to be absolutely pointless. I really only used the pistol and the rifle and if I ran out of ammo I used whatever else was equipped. The point system for kills was entertaining but considering I was forced to kill 90% of the enemies the same way it seemed like a BS extra. The variety in AI was actually pretty good and I liked that I was fighting various factions and that there was interesting relationships that surrounded each of them. The level design wasn't all that bad either even if you were forced down corridors and limited to not be able to jump on things. The kicking and leashing mechanisms were cool but after a while I found them to be rather boring. I recall the graphics being praised by other but I did find myself feeling any sort of connection with them. The visuals were not as crisp as I had expected but I attribute that to the fact that it was on a 360 (which is where a majority of my gaming is done) and not a PC which I believe is the fan base from which most of the praise was coming from. The art style was certainly different but again it did not do much for me. The story line was unique and something I have never really experienced before so I appreciated the fresh take but at the time I found it to be devalued through the stupid interactions between characters. I know this was the intended direction and I'm sure there is an audience that really enjoys this but I felt it detracted from the game. I finished the game on hard and don't really plan on picking it back up for a replay or additional content/multiplayer. Interesting and unique feel, but just not for me. Expand
  38. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    I've played a lot of first person shooters (own just about every one of them). To me, this game was a new treat to play and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I think it has the following combinations of other first person shooters:

    Serious Sam 3 (for the insane # and variety of bad guys which constantly rush at you.)
    Bioshock (for the well thought out use of the "left hand" as a unique weapon
    and 'ugly' bad guys)
    Sniper (for the really cool sniper shots you can make, controlling the bullet all the way to the target - note: kudos for an AI which will try and dodge the bullet making it a nice challenge even on easy mode.)
    Singularity (for the 'specific' spots on certain enemies that you need to shoot)
    Half-Life (for the 'tiny' bit of puzzle solving you need to do on some levels)

    There's a unique challenge on setting up which weapons you should use for the next rush of bad guys. If you liked Serious Sam 3 and the other games mentioned above, I think you'll find this game a nice blend of new challenges. I especially like the part where you "kick" a bad guy into spikes or off cliffs (which give you more points to buy better weapons/ammo.) I haven't completed the game yet (been playing it for about a week now) but every time I think I've reached the final stage, it keeps going and going throwing more bad guys with new ways they need to be killed or how I need to strategically kill them. It isn't an epic game I'd put into the same level as something like Half-Life or the Call of Duty type games but it's one of the few games I think I may enjoy replaying again once I'm done just to see if I can do it on a more difficult level. Well worth the $ of the game in my opinion.
    Expand
  39. Mar 29, 2013
    5
    While I see the potential this game has, I just found it boring. It's just another generic FPS that is trying too hard to be different to the point that you stop caring. The creative ways to kill approach is a good idea, but the novelty does wear off after a few hours. In fact it gets downright tedious, especially for completionists like myself. The story is bland. The characters are nicely designed but rather flat and one dimensional aside from Trishka Novak, but I think that is perhaps because of Jennifer Hale, I really love her. xoxo Another good point about the game are the visuals. The game is beautiful and the character and enemy designs are fantastically detailed. Overall: Bulletstorm could have been so much better with a bit more time and effort, not trying to follow the norm. A real pity it turned out this way. Expand
  40. May 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The way Bulletstorm fits together results in something cool and memorable. Multiplayer failings notwithstanding, Bulletstorm shines as a single-player shooter. Despite its crass humor and wang-flinging bravado, it's got some real character and heart to it. Expand
  41. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    I gave this game a 10/10 for two reasons. One, it's far and away more original and satisfying than anything the folks at Treyarch and/or Infinity Ward, et. al. can come up with. And second, I had to do something to combat the overabundance of negative reviews on this site by armchair developers who think just because they have an XBOX 360 that automatically makes them an authority on all things video game related. If you haven't played Bulletstorm yet do yourself a favor and do so immediately. It's well worth your time. Oh, and and don't pay attention to the mouth breathers. It's people like them that are ruining this business by perpetuating games like Black Ops 2 and similar mindless Expand
  42. Sep 14, 2013
    4
    Bulletstorm was hype to the max and I was expecting an amazing game. After playing the first 30 minutes I soon discovered this was a below average shooter in which bored me to death. Graphics, voice acting, script and enemies were extremely rubbish, I didn't even get a laugh out of it. I wouldn't recommend this game to anybody and im glade the 2nd game was cancelled for everybody's sack. (DO NOT BUY/RENT) Expand
  43. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    I recently picked up this game because it had a huge pricedrop, and I decided to give this game a chance. With the expectations of a no-brain shooter withouth any emotion etc. I started up the game. The first hour of the story mode is a emotional action-packed hour. After that the unique killing mechanics come into play, and all the emotional parts are getting swept aside. The story mode also is rather short, but absolutely mental when it comes to action.

    The multiplayer was pretty awesome in my opinion. I've played it for a few hours with my friends, and for me, it really introduced something new to the multiplayer of FPS. The multiplayer is Co-op based, but there always is a lot of competition because you want to be that guy that makes the most points every round. It keeps the games competitive while it is co-op. I'd recommend to play this mode with at least one friend though, because it will be a lot easier to make it through the rounds and make some epic combos happen.

    This game definitely is worth giving a try and is a lot of fun to play, especially with a bunch of friends!
    Expand
  44. May 1, 2014
    8
    This game is ridiculously fun. Holy mother of God is it a blast. This may be the best first person shooter I've played on my Xbox 360. It's seriously that good. I love Epic Games, and this game just made my love for them grow deeper.

    The thing that makes Bulletstorm so great is that practically every firefight takes place during a huge set piece, be it a building falling down with you
    inside, to being trapped in a museum with a huge monster wreaking havoc, there is no part of this game that is boring.

    Seriously. I was awestruck when I saw what was happening on screen. When one set piece ends, another one is set to begin in less than 10 minutes. Every firefight in this game is equal to the climax of other lesser shooters. And the climax to this game is pretty darn good to boot.

    This game is ridiculous, mindless, macho fun. I love it. It gets an 8 out of 10 for some glitches and a little too short for my tastes. But my God, even though it's on the short side, it had enough action to fill 10 games. What a hell of a ride!
    Expand
  45. May 3, 2014
    10
    After playing and loving Gears Of War, i bought Bulletstorm. This game offers some nice fresh mechanics like kicking an enemy on to a cactus or blowing his brains out!!! I am reviewing this game in 2014, so the graphics are ok. the storyline was fairly decent, as well. The chain gun is insanely awesome, as it can obliterate anyone in your path! Before i played Bulletstorm, i was thinking about a game which lets you control your sniper bullets. Bulletstorm lets you do this!!!! Everything that i want in a game is here: a great shooting mechanic, crazy gun stunts, and insane enemies. I won't be reviewing multiplayer, as i don't have Xbox Live. And this 10/10 game cost me only £2.50! After buying an Xbox 360 in Christmas 2013, i have started to love Epic Games. I can't really think of any bad things to say about Bulletstorm, so that's my review. In short: GO BUY BULLETSTORM! Expand
  46. Jul 28, 2014
    8
    This is a good game. I think on the same level as Halo -- but different. Sure, the story isn't as good, but it's a lot of fun. It's pure action. If you like shooters, and mayhem, this is for you.
  47. May 12, 2014
    9
    bulletstorm is a very good game, it's only a bit underrated. the gameplay is fun and fluent. the humor is funny but sometimes a little bit forced. the action is over the top and there are a lot of ways to kill your enemies, although some of them are just too hard to accomplish. the story is good but not that special, and the ending might be a bit disapointing. i am hoping for a sequel, because bulletstorm is still after 3 years worth your time and money Expand
  48. Jun 30, 2011
    0
    A different style of shooter, kind of nice to see that someone changed the rules a bit. This game is a good game overall, it has a pretty descent campaign great graphics and sound. The story is unique and fun to play through, some very vulgar interesting choice of words the characters use for sure! Lots to do in this game if you want a different style of shooter here you go, chain killing, combo shots and kills and some pretty awesome ways to dispatch your enemies. Its a good solid game over all, it should be its an Epic studio game..that says enough. The skill shot system is pretty cool, fun to use and a lot of styled kills to achieve. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    75
    Not a bad game, but also not a great one that misses the mark on a few levels, most notably the dialog for this gamer. I am sure there's a target market out there who eats this type of language up, and will be mimicking what they hear for a while, but sadly I am not this market.
  2. May 24, 2011
    85
    Bulletstorm is not only offering a lot of enemies to shoot. We did not expect such good character development and such an entertaining story.
  3. May 10, 2011
    84
    I guess the question really comes down to whether Bulletstorm is worth your hard-earned gaming dollar. If you're a single-player campaign person, there is a fun and engaging story to be found. If you're into the multiplayer scene, I'd highly recommend getting the full version (you may want to calculate your new cost vs. used cost + 800 points). It is definately worth playing ... the question you need to answer for yourself is whether it's worth owning.