Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 401 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bulletstorm's array of distinct skillshots produces unprecedented levels of frantic gameplay. The skillshot system rewards players for laying waste to enemies in the most imaginative way possible. The more insane the skillshot, the more points players collect to upgrade and unlock weapons,Bulletstorm's array of distinct skillshots produces unprecedented levels of frantic gameplay. The skillshot system rewards players for laying waste to enemies in the most imaginative way possible. The more insane the skillshot, the more points players collect to upgrade and unlock weapons, which in turn allows them to execute even more inventive moves and exaggerated skillshots. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    100
    Forget your preconceptions of Bulletstorm as a foul-mouthed big dumb action game. It's an intelligent, nuanced design with fathoms of depth, which marks a return to the importance of player creativity in shooters and simultaneously evolves the concept of interactivity in an FPS world. And with two cleverly complimentary secondary modes, it will have serious legs for a good long while to come.
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    90
    Epic and People Can Fly not only succeed at delivering the "bigger" and the "more," but bring with it a gameplay slant that makes it a one-of-a-kind experience. Yes, it may be brazenly outrageously and juvenile; be prepared to check your "Serious Business Adult" card at the door. But lurking underneath is a seriously fun, novel take on the first-person shooter genre that shouldn't be ignored. Just make sure you don't "play it wrong."
  3. Mar 6, 2011
    90
    It's a very fresh FPS in a genre that feels more stale every year. It's certainly one of the better new IPs that I've seen this year, and I'm very curious to see what People Can Fly do with the sequel.
  4. Feb 26, 2011
    85
    If the incessant swearing gets on your nerves, don't quit the game, just block your ears or turn the dialogue volume off, because this is a pretty solid game.
  5. Mar 8, 2011
    80
    With that being said, it's extremely difficult to complain too much about a game that is as pumped-up, gratifying and shameless as this and that features a skillshot-system with the potential to launch an entire franchise.
  6. Feb 24, 2011
    80
    It seems almost impossible to not have a special place in your heart for Bulletstorm. People Can Fly could have spent more energy in creating a more substantial multiplayer, but the singleplayer and Echoes-mode make up for a lot, if not all of it. The unique gameplay, ballsy humour and colourful environments make us take our minor griefs with the game for granted.
  7. Feb 23, 2011
    60
    Bulletstorm's best gag is that it'd be light years better if it didn't attempt to have any story at all. The story it does have is so clich├ęd they could almost credit Home Brand, and a large portion of the humour is written for 14 year olds. The skillshot system, the leash and the core game though - it's a fresh and interesting take on the FPS genre. There's genuinely more fun to be had playing through the Echo mode than there is putting up with the half-baked story in singleplayer.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 151
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    I could not expect less from Epic Games! As always, they did not disappoint me. This game is a masterpiece in a world where first personI could not expect less from Epic Games! As always, they did not disappoint me. This game is a masterpiece in a world where first person shooters are all the same. Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    This is a bold game that stands out from the litter of war shooters that are seemingly released in batches each year. It has a great story,This is a bold game that stands out from the litter of war shooters that are seemingly released in batches each year. It has a great story, and great gameplay. The environments are very varied, from beginning to end, and the voice acting and characters are great. However, that is not to say this game is perfect, as no game is. I feel that the story could've been slightly longer, as it took me around 6 hours to complete on normal difficulty. I also think that the game would've benefited from a better and more well thought out multiplayer mode, in order to keep crowds coming back after finishing the story. Never the less, Bulletstorm is a great game, however, it is not on par with what people may've come to expect from Epic Games after Gears Of War and Unreal Tournament. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Great game, the demo did not do it justice. A completely different feel then a traditional FPS, instead of racing through a level I take myGreat game, the demo did not do it justice. A completely different feel then a traditional FPS, instead of racing through a level I take my time with every enemy looking for options to kill them. The levels themselves are great, look, design, the whole works. Multi-player is fun too, though not what you'd usually expect with a FPS, I personally like the change from the standard FPS's out there, with weak single player and the same old Multi-Player. Don't get me wrong, I still enjoy COD and look forward to Homefront, but this game is unique and I highly recommend it, Expand
  4. Mar 18, 2011
    8
    When I first started playing Bulletstorm, I thought I had stumbled upon the reincarnation of Unreal Tournament. Turns out it's not quite thatWhen I first started playing Bulletstorm, I thought I had stumbled upon the reincarnation of Unreal Tournament. Turns out it's not quite that awesome, but it still has some pretty cool features. The graphics are astounding, especially on a big screen with 1080p - they really bring to life all the characters and the many wonderful ways in which you can mutilate them. The gameplay itself is both challenging and addicting, and each game mode gives you plenty of time to experiment with it. Storyline is downright corny, but it had enough humor to keep my attention. I spent 8 hours on single-player on Hardcore, and have barely scratched the surface of multiplayer or echoes. My only major complaint is that there is only one multiplayer mode, and it's co-op, so expect something more along the lines of Left4Dead as an online experience. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    8
    Wouldn't it be nice to get an idi0tfilter so Dbagz like Dantes777 went away?Bulletstorm is an fun game, and you're always trying to one up theWouldn't it be nice to get an idi0tfilter so Dbagz like Dantes777 went away?Bulletstorm is an fun game, and you're always trying to one up the next level. Echo is like Spec Ops in MW2 where you must rack up a certain amount of points to unlock more trials. MP is OK. The maps are very small and not many seem to be on. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2011
    6
    Mildly entertaining at best. Repetitive and drives to boredom fast. Nice over the top elements, but that's the entire game and it just fallsMildly entertaining at best. Repetitive and drives to boredom fast. Nice over the top elements, but that's the entire game and it just falls flat too soon. Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2011
    0
    Game is rubbish and generic,just cheesy as hell and very short,there is no multiplayer,just online co-op playing against computer AI,loads ofGame is rubbish and generic,just cheesy as hell and very short,there is no multiplayer,just online co-op playing against computer AI,loads of bugs n glitches in the 360 version so if your gonna buy this game get the ps3 version. Expand

See all 151 User Reviews