Bulletstorm Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 447 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bulletstorm's array of distinct skillshots produces unprecedented levels of frantic gameplay. The skillshot system rewards players for laying waste to enemies in the most imaginative way possible. The more insane the skillshot, the more points players collect to upgrade and unlock weapons,Bulletstorm's array of distinct skillshots produces unprecedented levels of frantic gameplay. The skillshot system rewards players for laying waste to enemies in the most imaginative way possible. The more insane the skillshot, the more points players collect to upgrade and unlock weapons, which in turn allows them to execute even more inventive moves and exaggerated skillshots. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Bulletstorm Video: Weapons + Echoes & Anarchy Mode
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    100
    Forget your preconceptions of Bulletstorm as a foul-mouthed big dumb action game. It's an intelligent, nuanced design with fathoms of depth, which marks a return to the importance of player creativity in shooters and simultaneously evolves the concept of interactivity in an FPS world. And with two cleverly complimentary secondary modes, it will have serious legs for a good long while to come.
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    90
    Epic and People Can Fly not only succeed at delivering the "bigger" and the "more," but bring with it a gameplay slant that makes it a one-of-a-kind experience. Yes, it may be brazenly outrageously and juvenile; be prepared to check your "Serious Business Adult" card at the door. But lurking underneath is a seriously fun, novel take on the first-person shooter genre that shouldn't be ignored. Just make sure you don't "play it wrong."
  3. Mar 6, 2011
    90
    It's a very fresh FPS in a genre that feels more stale every year. It's certainly one of the better new IPs that I've seen this year, and I'm very curious to see what People Can Fly do with the sequel.
  4. Feb 26, 2011
    85
    If the incessant swearing gets on your nerves, don't quit the game, just block your ears or turn the dialogue volume off, because this is a pretty solid game.
  5. Mar 8, 2011
    80
    With that being said, it's extremely difficult to complain too much about a game that is as pumped-up, gratifying and shameless as this and that features a skillshot-system with the potential to launch an entire franchise.
  6. Feb 24, 2011
    80
    It seems almost impossible to not have a special place in your heart for Bulletstorm. People Can Fly could have spent more energy in creating a more substantial multiplayer, but the singleplayer and Echoes-mode make up for a lot, if not all of it. The unique gameplay, ballsy humour and colourful environments make us take our minor griefs with the game for granted.
  7. Feb 23, 2011
    60
    Bulletstorm's best gag is that it'd be light years better if it didn't attempt to have any story at all. The story it does have is so clich├ęd they could almost credit Home Brand, and a large portion of the humour is written for 14 year olds. The skillshot system, the leash and the core game though - it's a fresh and interesting take on the FPS genre. There's genuinely more fun to be had playing through the Echo mode than there is putting up with the half-baked story in singleplayer.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 152
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    I could not expect less from Epic Games! As always, they did not disappoint me. This game is a masterpiece in a world where first personI could not expect less from Epic Games! As always, they did not disappoint me. This game is a masterpiece in a world where first person shooters are all the same. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    I myself have not got this game but the revues i've been seeing cannot give it justice. I have seen many of the Gameplay videos and trailersI myself have not got this game but the revues i've been seeing cannot give it justice. I have seen many of the Gameplay videos and trailers on this game and it looks Very good. I mean to upgrade your guns and Powers you need to kill Creatively? I mean that's just genuis any game which rewards you for doing insane combo's and throwing people into the air and blowing their heads of with revolvers just wins in my book. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    Pure Gaming Goodness! This is a Gamers Game and if you can not find enjoyment in this title you should really look into a new hobby. It is aPure Gaming Goodness! This is a Gamers Game and if you can not find enjoyment in this title you should really look into a new hobby. It is a breathe of fresh air and it has a original dynamic that offers up hours of entertainment. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    After looking screenshots from bulletstorm, it is very predictable that it is a rated "M" game. After renting this game, I was a littleAfter looking screenshots from bulletstorm, it is very predictable that it is a rated "M" game. After renting this game, I was a little worried that the way you kill an enemy will get a little repetitious. Surprisingly, it's not very repetitious at all. It's quite amusing to tell you the truth. If you have bulletstorm and you hate hearing people curse, then you should either return it or turn off the volume because there is a lot of cursing found in this game. The game has a fun story but it is very predictable once you start the game. The game does feature some humor but I felt the humor went off the line at some points (Very personal opinion on that). The game took me about two days to complete and I felt if it gone longer, than it would get a little repetitious. The graphics in the game reminds me a lot of "Enslaved". Let's get to the verdict. Overall, Bulletstorm is perfect for shooter and action fans. It is definitely worth it to check this game out.

    + Fun Story
    + Beautiful Graphics
    + Humor
    - Off the line humor
    - Predictable story line

    RATING: 8/10
    Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    8
    Wouldn't it be nice to get an idi0tfilter so Dbagz like Dantes777 went away?Bulletstorm is an fun game, and you're always trying to one up theWouldn't it be nice to get an idi0tfilter so Dbagz like Dantes777 went away?Bulletstorm is an fun game, and you're always trying to one up the next level. Echo is like Spec Ops in MW2 where you must rack up a certain amount of points to unlock more trials. MP is OK. The maps are very small and not many seem to be on. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2011
    6
    Mildly entertaining at best. Repetitive and drives to boredom fast. Nice over the top elements, but that's the entire game and it just fallsMildly entertaining at best. Repetitive and drives to boredom fast. Nice over the top elements, but that's the entire game and it just falls flat too soon. Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2011
    0
    Game is rubbish and generic,just cheesy as hell and very short,there is no multiplayer,just online co-op playing against computer AI,loads ofGame is rubbish and generic,just cheesy as hell and very short,there is no multiplayer,just online co-op playing against computer AI,loads of bugs n glitches in the 360 version so if your gonna buy this game get the ps3 version. Expand

See all 152 User Reviews