Burnout Paradise Xbox 360

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 277
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobD.
    Feb 6, 2008
    3
    This game is just completely unfun for me. The city is large and the detail everywhere is excellent, but the game play is shallow and frustrating. There are only a couple of different type of mission, and once you've done them each once theres no reason to do them again, other than to get a new car which is marginally different. The "narrator" is also trying way too hard to sound This game is just completely unfun for me. The city is large and the detail everywhere is excellent, but the game play is shallow and frustrating. There are only a couple of different type of mission, and once you've done them each once theres no reason to do them again, other than to get a new car which is marginally different. The "narrator" is also trying way too hard to sound cool, I just want to punch him in the face. About the only reason to buy this game is if you really *REALLY* love crashing into cars over and over again for no reason whatsoever. Expand
  2. Brett
    Jan 27, 2008
    1
    I'm not sure what game the reviewers got to play but the Burnout Paradise I played is the WORST sequel since Devil May Cry 2. No crash mode?? No auto restart? And what the hell happened to the sense of speed? The previous games were blazing fast. This barely gets things going. The Burnout series was always about one thing...FUN. You could hop in, run a couple of races or just smash I'm not sure what game the reviewers got to play but the Burnout Paradise I played is the WORST sequel since Devil May Cry 2. No crash mode?? No auto restart? And what the hell happened to the sense of speed? The previous games were blazing fast. This barely gets things going. The Burnout series was always about one thing...FUN. You could hop in, run a couple of races or just smash around. Great times. But this game? All work. You've got to drive to every race, that you have to find yourself! No one's mentioned that you only see maybe 2 or 3 races when the game starts. You've got to drive around and discover where all the races start. Then you've got to drive back to the same spot if you lose. Oh and don't forget to drive one place to fix your car, another place to paint it (with so few options it's hardly worth it) and another place to fill up the turbo. This is annoying in real life. Why, oh why, would the designers think that that would be fun here? And did I mention that this game feels slow? Oh good I did. This used to be a great game for having your friends over and seeing who could finish a run the fastest or cause the biggest wreck. Now the only wreck here is the game itself. It is a real slap in the face to fans of the series. Just like DMC2. PLEASE rent before you buy if you must know how this is. You'll thank me later. Expand
  3. Mikey
    Apr 8, 2008
    4
    Not a total waste of money, but it ain't as much fun as Burnout 2:POI or even 3:Takedown for me. Heavily biased towards online multiplayer with little circuits and tracks hidden away in the city. NO FUN for offline players who instead have to slog up and down the same boring tracks playing samey race after race.
  4. MikeA.
    Aug 27, 2008
    2
    No, Chris C., we didn't want the same game we've played 4 times before. WE just didn't want to be duped inot buying a game with the "Burnout" label on that was a noticeably inferior playing experience to the previous versions. Noe the subtle difference. What good are the forthcoming new online game modes if you're not interested in multiplayer? Why go out of your way No, Chris C., we didn't want the same game we've played 4 times before. WE just didn't want to be duped inot buying a game with the "Burnout" label on that was a noticeably inferior playing experience to the previous versions. Noe the subtle difference. What good are the forthcoming new online game modes if you're not interested in multiplayer? Why go out of your way to alienate the people who enjoyed the game previously in order to chase a new market of GTA players. $$$ must be the answer. The developer's "get over it" response to dissatisfied customers speaks volumes. Expand
  5. JohnPifer
    Feb 22, 2009
    4
    This game really made me hurt inside. I love the Burnout series with a firey passion that has only been matched by the NFS series. But, this... this has sent me in a deep down depression that only a new Burnout with the return of the Crash Mode. How dare you, EA, how DARE you?
  6. Deckard
    Feb 2, 2008
    2
    No crash or restar.Where is the speed?of the previous games? Burnout series was always about fun. You could get in the car, race or just smash. This is a really confused premise. You've got to drive to every race and find it yourself. You have to drive around and discover where all the races start which is horrible. Then you've got to drive back to the same spot if you lose -No crash or restar.Where is the speed?of the previous games? Burnout series was always about fun. You could get in the car, race or just smash. This is a really confused premise. You've got to drive to every race and find it yourself. You have to drive around and discover where all the races start which is horrible. Then you've got to drive back to the same spot if you lose - even more horrible. There's one place to fix your car, another place to pointlessly paint it and another place to top- up the turbo. Rent before you buy is my advice. A pain. Expand
  7. SamF.
    Feb 7, 2008
    1
    Terrible Game. everything that was fun was taken out. No more crash mode, explosions or set races which you needed to complete in a series. now its an open world where you must drive to certain areas each time and find the races themselves. they added a lame Showtime mode which is nothing like crash mode...think magnetic cars that you keep bouncing off...stupid. Thank goodness for demos.
  8. BrianD.
    May 30, 2008
    0
    What happenes when you mix Tony Hawks: Underground and Burnout? YOU GET THIS ABOMNATION! Who could possibly think that speeding 130 mph would mix with taking your eyes off the road to read a tiny map at the bottom of the screen? Not to mention oncoming traffic is no more, the best part of the game, gone. Sure you can vier into the other lane but 1 of 2 things will happen to you. 1) the What happenes when you mix Tony Hawks: Underground and Burnout? YOU GET THIS ABOMNATION! Who could possibly think that speeding 130 mph would mix with taking your eyes off the road to read a tiny map at the bottom of the screen? Not to mention oncoming traffic is no more, the best part of the game, gone. Sure you can vier into the other lane but 1 of 2 things will happen to you. 1) the opposing traffic will stear INTO you like a heat seeking missle or 2) the crash cam will enable well before you would have crashed. So you will be racing against oncoming, see a potential hazard and before you have time to steer out of the way, regardless of how easy it would be to miss the collision, the crash cam pops on and you must helplessly watch yourself slam into the obstruction. They have sucked all the fun out of a once thriving title, and I blame EA. I don't know how but they had to have done something, because I doubt Criterion would destroy their beautiful racer. Expand
  9. GerrardU.
    Jan 16, 2008
    4
    Wide open playing area is a nice try but the pros don
  10. GordonJones
    Feb 2, 2008
    0
    I have purchased every Burnout since the first one, the day they come out. Burnout 4 was a let-down, this is a disaster. No crash mode, drive all over to find a race, have the wrong car, have to watch a map when racing, get lost, then no restarting. Open world is just a terrible idea. I wonder if all the good developers at Criterion moved on a few years ago. This gets my vote for worstI have purchased every Burnout since the first one, the day they come out. Burnout 4 was a let-down, this is a disaster. No crash mode, drive all over to find a race, have the wrong car, have to watch a map when racing, get lost, then no restarting. Open world is just a terrible idea. I wonder if all the good developers at Criterion moved on a few years ago. This gets my vote for worst Burnout game ever. Expand
  11. CrisH.
    Feb 29, 2008
    4
    Paradise it ain't. Give me Takedown any day.
  12. SamR.
    Mar 31, 2008
    3
    I'm a veteran of the burnout games and sadly Criterion messed this one up. Many things wrong. There is no speedometer, can't restart races or quit them, the car has an infinite amount of gears, offline there is no CRASH MODE or 2 Player, how can you make a burnout game where you can't play your buddies on your own console, that GOD-AWFUL song that plays everytime you start I'm a veteran of the burnout games and sadly Criterion messed this one up. Many things wrong. There is no speedometer, can't restart races or quit them, the car has an infinite amount of gears, offline there is no CRASH MODE or 2 Player, how can you make a burnout game where you can't play your buddies on your own console, that GOD-AWFUL song that plays everytime you start up the game and finally the rest of the soundtrack is easy to cringe at. however they threw in some good old classic techno songs from previous games. Oh I almost forgot the on screen navigation of the city, during the race is impossible to follow. Your blinker turns on at unpredictable times compared to where your turn is and sometimes it completely forgets or turns on when there isn't a street change. Please rent this game or play the DEMO first. Expand
  13. hal2001
    Mar 4, 2008
    3
    Very sloppy decisions made here. I used to be a Burnout fan but the game design has been altered unforgivably.
  14. WalkerZ
    Sep 24, 2008
    1
    Point is, it sucks all around. When you race you are expected to navigate a poorly designed map or memorize the whole damn city or something. Everyone knows you need every precious second to watch what is coming up on the horizon. No time for "checking directions". Garbage. Gets old really quick. You know the music is ass, but you can't even play your own tracks anymore. Why even get Point is, it sucks all around. When you race you are expected to navigate a poorly designed map or memorize the whole damn city or something. Everyone knows you need every precious second to watch what is coming up on the horizon. No time for "checking directions". Garbage. Gets old really quick. You know the music is ass, but you can't even play your own tracks anymore. Why even get it if you can't race to your own shi+? How hard was it to add this feature? These questions remain unanswered. Plus the open gameplay is crapola, I don't want to drive around for hours straight. I want to get a snack, take a breather, blink my eyes, smoke somethin, then choose a race or crash mode(which is a mere shell of the fun it used to be). Criterion just pissed in the mouth of John Q. Gamer. Bottom line- Rent it. I'm gonna go play GTA. Expand
  15. MaxM.
    Sep 28, 2008
    4
    The biggest disappointment for the last couple of years! After the epic classic "Burnout Revenge" Criterion tried something new.... and messed it up seriously. This is rather a "midnight club" meets "need for speed" mesh but no "burnout" game anymore. Not a complete failure but a huge step-back in the series. Open-world gaming doesn't work, you can't restart races without The biggest disappointment for the last couple of years! After the epic classic "Burnout Revenge" Criterion tried something new.... and messed it up seriously. This is rather a "midnight club" meets "need for speed" mesh but no "burnout" game anymore. Not a complete failure but a huge step-back in the series. Open-world gaming doesn't work, you can't restart races without travelling to the starting point again, the guns n roses title track is annoying (and also a sign that the series went towards mainstream...). I didn't play it online, but the single player mode is just plain boring! I can't believe it. Terribly overrated game! Expand
  16. RakhamL
    Mar 2, 2009
    1
    Well... It's not the "Burnout" I used to like. I don't like driving for half an hour to find a race. I don't like trying to find my way while racing, looking at a tiny map. I don't like to spend so much time taking care of my car. I just want to drive and have fun. And this game is not fun. Period. Rent it, but don't buy it.
  17. PhilP.
    Jan 16, 2008
    4
    Don't like the open plan world system which is totally at odds in a Burnout game. Lousy nav too which is unforgiveable. Showtime is boring.
  18. R.S.
    Jan 24, 2008
    4
    No crash mode, new showtime mode not nearly as fun or engaging. No retry mode, have to drive back to the beginning of a race to retry. Wouldn't be a problem except for the fact its a game that revolves around crashing, and thus, you crash and lose, time to start driving. Open world seems like a great idea but its not, especially if you take a wrong turn during a race and end up on No crash mode, new showtime mode not nearly as fun or engaging. No retry mode, have to drive back to the beginning of a race to retry. Wouldn't be a problem except for the fact its a game that revolves around crashing, and thus, you crash and lose, time to start driving. Open world seems like a great idea but its not, especially if you take a wrong turn during a race and end up on another island, assuring you lose the race have to drive back to retry. Find a race only to realize its car specific and have to drive to a garage to get a specific car and then drive back. Basically they ruined Burnout for me, so no thanks I'll stick to Revenge. Expand
  19. NormV.
    Jan 25, 2008
    4
    Nowhere near good enough. Everything good from Burnout seems to have gone and it's now riddled with annoyances and stupid omissions.
  20. JezS
    Sep 28, 2008
    4
    Haha - just read the post from "Chris C"???? - now theres an EA insider trying a bit of marketing spin if ever I've heard it! Come on, who's gonna believe that 'review'? Nah, there lots wrong with this game for me. Obviously games need to move forward with each iteration, but changing everything at once and omitting the things that we fans were looking forward to Haha - just read the post from "Chris C"???? - now theres an EA insider trying a bit of marketing spin if ever I've heard it! Come on, who's gonna believe that 'review'? Nah, there lots wrong with this game for me. Obviously games need to move forward with each iteration, but changing everything at once and omitting the things that we fans were looking forward to playing more of, only better, is a pretty stupid move by the designers. There's some good stuff here, marred by some truly awful design descisions. Don't take my word for it, just read some of the user comments.. Not sure what Criterion can do now. Looks like Burnout is dead in the water and their other 'defining' game attempt 'Black' fell on its arse. Expand
  21. May 30, 2013
    0
    After playing the original games on Ps2, I was so excited to try the new generation Burnout game...and wow what a downgrade! And the problems aren't many...but those few are so gigantic I just have no idea how they could have let it slip. For starters, this game is more open ended...which is so and so. The original games were just challenges that weren't on a big map and you had to chooseAfter playing the original games on Ps2, I was so excited to try the new generation Burnout game...and wow what a downgrade! And the problems aren't many...but those few are so gigantic I just have no idea how they could have let it slip. For starters, this game is more open ended...which is so and so. The original games were just challenges that weren't on a big map and you had to choose them from a menu; in here, you have to go on parts on your own, which is both cool and frustrating since you have to go "physically" there. There are secrets and stuff, but this is "NOT" GTA and if they really wanted to put something like that, at least give us some more "teleports". Second, the cars now are splitted into categories, which means they'll gather more boost in different ways, and also means different type of cars for each categories (duh!), which was something also in the original...in a way, because cars were restricted to the challenge. I don't think you'd wanna choose a truck into a speed race, and use a Formula 1 car in a crash challenge, so in the end the "freedom" of choosing is rather limited. But in reality, I could have passed all of this if it wasn't for the biggest flaw of all...the race itself. Burnout is basically an arcade racing game with basically a lot of speed and crash...but they completely destroyed this by removing the holographic rails, which means you'll OFTEN, if not ALWAYS, lose position because of a bad way!!! That means you HAVE to actually look at the street and actually "slow down" in order to win a race (or do it all over again a thousands time, so you know the way). In a Burnout game, "look at the street" and "slow down" weren't ever a big deal because it was always about speed and avoiding/destroying cars, and possibly check the roads if you could. Evolution is unavoidable, but this is a flatout downgrade since it basically removes all of the arcade elements of Burnout. And I have no idea if they can be added somehow or not, but I literally ragequitted before then, because I just couldn't win any race! Probably I suck at this game, but I definitely didn't back on the PS2 Burnout (especially Revenge). And so, I suggest to pick any of the older Burnout Franchise instead of this and enjoy maybe I'm not exactly clear on this game since I literally hate most of racing games and only Burnout managed to keep me interesting. But, considering that Burnout was my most favourite because of how fun it is, it was so sad to see the new generation Burnout being such a downgrade from a full arcade racing game based on accidents, to a semi-simulation and free roaming hybrid. At least for me. Expand
  22. Oct 14, 2011
    3
    I loved the old burnout series but then Criterion decided to go and make a need for speed clone instead of create another burnout 3 style game. The game in itself is not a bad game but they ruined the series for me taking it in this direction, hence the score from a disappointed former fan of the series.
  23. Dec 10, 2011
    1
    This is how i will point flaws:

    The good: Graphics. The bad: Everything else. Why: Ok first, this game is nothing like what the past games where. This one went all "racing" on us, instead of burnouts trademark crashes and takedowns. Second, while your driving, the game freezes at random spots so an imbred narrator can talk to you about the obvious. such as: "jump the ramps for points!".
    This is how i will point flaws:

    The good: Graphics.

    The bad: Everything else.

    Why: Ok first, this game is nothing like what the past games where. This one went all "racing" on us, instead of burnouts trademark crashes and takedowns. Second, while your driving, the game freezes at random spots so an imbred narrator can talk to you about the obvious. such as: "jump the ramps for points!". OK CAPTAIN OBVIOUS. This game is junk. I want my money back. Burnout 1-3 was good. The rest, nope. Did i mention the game is lifeless? Its so unreal its not even funny! So, you look into your car or others, and noone is there. Ghost car? And nobody walks on the street. This game is horrible.
    Expand
  24. Dec 20, 2011
    0
    This used to be a good game, i liked all of the previous series but after paradise i said goodbye to the series. Probably everyone did, considered the fact they're now doing Need for speed.. If you like burnout, you might not like paradise.
  25. Nov 28, 2012
    3
    This game isnt even burnout its just some stupid sh1t that tries to be a game but isn't there arent many things good about this game and its too different then the other burnouts
  26. Apr 21, 2014
    0
    It would have been a good game if they took the irritating crash cams out. They're not pretty, nobody likes them, they just stop me from playing the game. It doesn't handle jumps good, how the hell can my car be perfectly straight, when two of my wheels definetly went on the higher part of the ramp, and 4 of my wheels don't fit on it? You can't retry events easily, would it have been thatIt would have been a good game if they took the irritating crash cams out. They're not pretty, nobody likes them, they just stop me from playing the game. It doesn't handle jumps good, how the hell can my car be perfectly straight, when two of my wheels definetly went on the higher part of the ramp, and 4 of my wheels don't fit on it? You can't retry events easily, would it have been that hard to put a retry button in there. Annyoing piece of **** Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    85
    With its new and open structure, it can be a shock at the beginning. But the gameplay is as addictive as ever and with its vertiginous speed, excellent framerate and, mainly, the new online multiplayer, the new Burnout is still a great game for any arcade racing fan. [Jan 2008]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    90
    As someone who's closely followed Criterion's racing series for the last seven years, it warms my heart to see it evolve into something as innovative, satisfying, and polished as Paradise. [Feb 2008, p.74]
  3. What's here is nothing short of amazing, but I can't help but wonder what could have been. [Feb 2008, p.94]