Call of Duty 2 Xbox 360

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 313 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 313
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    The First great Shooter for the Xbox 360? You bet your whole 120 million dollar mansion it is. Not only that, but out of all the games in the Call Of Duty Franchise, this is the best. No, that's underestimating it. It is the ULTIMATE Call Of Duty Game to have. It is Infinity Ward's Masterpiece. Call of Duty 2, best played on the 360, is a testament to the modern day First Person Shooter.The First great Shooter for the Xbox 360? You bet your whole 120 million dollar mansion it is. Not only that, but out of all the games in the Call Of Duty Franchise, this is the best. No, that's underestimating it. It is the ULTIMATE Call Of Duty Game to have. It is Infinity Ward's Masterpiece. Call of Duty 2, best played on the 360, is a testament to the modern day First Person Shooter. Unlike the original Call Of Duty, Call Of Duty 2 takes us to places in the war more epic and diverse than the Original. Normandy, the greatest and most gruesome battle of the War, is portrayed in CoD2. North Africa is portrayed in CoD2. Moscow is portrayed in CoD2. Stalingrad is portrayed in CoD2. It is an amazing experience. Not only that, but multiplayer is kick-ass awesome aswell. Very rrare in the Call Of Duty series a GREAT CAMPAIGN and GREAT MULTIPLAYER. Only two other in the Call Of Duty titles achieve this. Well done, Infinity Ward! Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2015
    9
    We should never forget that at the roots, Call of Duty was one of (the ?) best FPS about World War 2, the second episode of the franchise is still a living proof of how great they recreated this awful, yet epic conflict in a remarkable game with three different campaign offering more than 10 hours of gameplay (if only the modern episodes could take it in example).

    Obviously aged hasn't
    We should never forget that at the roots, Call of Duty was one of (the ?) best FPS about World War 2, the second episode of the franchise is still a living proof of how great they recreated this awful, yet epic conflict in a remarkable game with three different campaign offering more than 10 hours of gameplay (if only the modern episodes could take it in example).

    Obviously aged hasn't be kind to the game and all the visual aspects feel outdated (which is pretty normal 10 years after) at the time they were great, but the audio of the game is still awesome and when playing in veteran (one false step and you're dead), you hear dozens of bullets, explosions, and germans shouting all around you, you're kind of afraid and make the game very engagin. We also have a great IA especially for your allies (it's not often in FPS than you don't feel like your teammates are just waiting for you to do all the job) and big scale combats with a lot of characters at the screen. Technically this game was fabulous for 2005.

    The only main default of the game is the abuse of infinite respawn enemies in certain areas, I'm strongly against this in FPS (except of course when you're objective is to hold a position for a certain amount of time), too bad because the rest of the level design is near perfection.

    In conclusion even 10 years after the game is still a reference for the FPS genre, and if you like shooters and don't care too much about visuals I strongly advised this game (you'll find it for almost nothing in the market) you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  3. BlakeG.
    Jul 24, 2009
    10
    The best World War II game for console by far. I have played a lot of games since COD2 and none have even come close. Nothing was as fun as online play! Always has been, always will be, the BEST Xbox 360 game I have ever played
  4. EmoryD
    Aug 13, 2009
    9
    This was a great game, in my opinion i think it was better than call of duty 3. I say it has descent graphics for Xbox360. It is also pretty challenging on veteran.(well duh!!!) Good FPS game i recommend all fans of shooter games gets themselves a copy!
  5. OliverH
    Sep 18, 2009
    9
    Quite possibly the best WW2 game of all time. it excels in every way in the single player, but a lack of online player support lets it down and it just falls short of the 10 mark from me. Go online today and you will still find a few players on there. Graphically this game is ace, it has stood the test of time well and is still a visual treat in my opinion. A must buy!
  6. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    For a FPS that was made in 2005 this holds up extremely well, the campaign is epic and one of the best in the series, and the graphics look great for a game that came out in 2005, and the sound design is still top notch and fantastic, and if you've played a recent Call of Duty game you'll have no problem playing this as the controls are identical, the only thing different from this andFor a FPS that was made in 2005 this holds up extremely well, the campaign is epic and one of the best in the series, and the graphics look great for a game that came out in 2005, and the sound design is still top notch and fantastic, and if you've played a recent Call of Duty game you'll have no problem playing this as the controls are identical, the only thing different from this and newer Call of Duty games is that there isn't a sprint option and there isn't a knife but you do have a riffle butt so melee attacks aren't a one hit kill, and you will still be able to find a multiplayer match every now and then, and the multiplayer is still fun but flawed, I like the fact that you can change classes in the middle of a match which is cool, but the fact that you can change teams in the middle of a match so if your team is losing you can just jump on the others is a huge flaw, but obviously you'll just play a newer Call of Duty for your multiplayer fix, but it's still cool to play a match or two just to see how far it's come from then, the best part about this is the fantastic campaign which is action packed and will keep you coming back, honestly I have to say I loved this and that it's the best World War 2 FPS I've ever played, and this is a must play for Call of Duty, World War 2, or FPS fans, or just people who like to play fantastic games, I highly recommend. Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite shooter ever. Great play and feel. Perfects controls. Completely balanced. Good graphics for it's time. THIS is the game that started the COD franchise. Single player was definitely fun and made me feel like I was in a war. It was excitement and full of emotion. Multiplayer was the best multiplayer experience I've ever had on a game. No BS perks and killstreaks like theThis is my favorite shooter ever. Great play and feel. Perfects controls. Completely balanced. Good graphics for it's time. THIS is the game that started the COD franchise. Single player was definitely fun and made me feel like I was in a war. It was excitement and full of emotion. Multiplayer was the best multiplayer experience I've ever had on a game. No BS perks and killstreaks like the newer CODs. Just a man and his gun. (And a grenade or launcher or to). Expand
  8. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    For a game that is like six years old, this i what is Call of Duty in one hundred percent . Adrenaline and non stop action is what you expect. The single player is enough to satisfy every one, in fact even better than all the short campaigns of the latest entries. Have a problem with Multiplayer? don't complain because is as addictive as ever.
  9. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    I've wanted this game since 2007 but now that I've finally got round to playing 7 years after its release, I can confirm that it is a great game. It comes as no surprise that it was once the most played game on Xbox LIVE. Controls are solid, sensitivity options are good, iron sights have perfect balance between zoom and field of view. Guns are satisfying and have nice weighty recoil.I've wanted this game since 2007 but now that I've finally got round to playing 7 years after its release, I can confirm that it is a great game. It comes as no surprise that it was once the most played game on Xbox LIVE. Controls are solid, sensitivity options are good, iron sights have perfect balance between zoom and field of view. Guns are satisfying and have nice weighty recoil. Graphics are better than World at War in terms of facial detail and environments and lighting. Multiplayer is very simple because you just pick the weapons available to your team. Very balanced between bolt actions, rifles and SMGs. Headshots are insta-kill too. This game also has 4 player split-screen and system link for LAN parties. The campaign is long but fairly decent. It lacks the immersion and movie-like feel of CoD4 or MW2, but for the time I can imagine it was solid. The 13 achievements totalling 1000G can all be gotten by completing the campaign on Veteran difficulty, which again is not too hard but not easy like MW2 and MW3. Checkpoints are frequent enough to help you too. However, the game can save at awkward points leading to your death over and over so you have to bear that in mind before running in. Smoke often leads to frame rate drops, and is frequently used in the campaign, but given that it runs at a smooth 60 FPS it's not too much of an issue. Overall a great game which really set down the foundations for the most revolutionary shooter of this generation;- Call of Duty 4. Expand
  10. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    Cod 2 is one of the best Cod's ever made. Campaign is just fantastic. Multiplayer is good to. Just a great Cod. Campaign 9/10 Multiplayer 8/10 Cod 2 8.9/10
  11. Apr 22, 2012
    8
    As one of the early Xbox 360 games, Call of Duty 2 was alot of fun and had nice graphics. COD2 is probably one of my most favorite WW2 based games of all times and it is alot of fun, shooter fans def. check it out.
  12. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    The second greatest COD ever made the story was good the guns were good the maps were fun it was a great game but there was no sprinting and the game gets a tad clunky at times
  13. Aug 30, 2010
    8
    Apparently these people don't realize that this is a pretty early xbox 360 game. It is a very solid shooter with solid graphics and gameplay. The missions are fun and it keeps you busy after you beat the campaign with a solid multiplayer mode.
  14. TonyG.
    Dec 22, 2005
    5
    5/10: Not too impressed: GOOD POINT: 1. Fully immersive, convincing environment, possibly the best I've ever seen BAD POINTS: 1. Not a very polished FPS. It may simulate the chaos of battle, but your enemies are anonymous and all game progress is just helter skelter. You can advance through many parts by simply running forward, which will cause your friendly troops to move up and 5/10: Not too impressed: GOOD POINT: 1. Fully immersive, convincing environment, possibly the best I've ever seen BAD POINTS: 1. Not a very polished FPS. It may simulate the chaos of battle, but your enemies are anonymous and all game progress is just helter skelter. You can advance through many parts by simply running forward, which will cause your friendly troops to move up and kill everything in the area. 2. The interface is not playtested enough. It's hard to tell what weapon you're picking up. Several weapons do the same thing. OVERALL: Fun immersive experience that needs to forget about ambience and work on game mechanics. Stick to Halo 2. Expand
  15. Jan 21, 2015
    6
    This game was fun in all, but a little boring at times. Play all of the other Call Of Duty's before this

    PROS
    -Nice Gameplay

    CONS
    -Poor Graphics
    -Hard gameplay
    -weak story
  16. Andrew
    Dec 5, 2005
    0
    ive got a copy of this on the PC and the 360 version is terrible. for a consol that is supposed to be the next gen in home entertainment this is just a rip of, yes the frame rate is smooth but it just looks so empty and bland and some of the effects like the heat haze are just embarrasing. i feel so ashamed. so far there has not been one decent game released on this hyped up consol. i ive got a copy of this on the PC and the 360 version is terrible. for a consol that is supposed to be the next gen in home entertainment this is just a rip of, yes the frame rate is smooth but it just looks so empty and bland and some of the effects like the heat haze are just embarrasing. i feel so ashamed. so far there has not been one decent game released on this hyped up consol. i will be selling my 360 on ebay in time for xmas so some mug can give me £700 for it ,at least i will be getting some enjoyment from selling it,more than ive got from its games. Expand
  17. Alex
    Apr 1, 2006
    5
    i don't really know about this one. its a good and well-done game, but its really not that fun once you consider its all been done a thousand times before. its just another look alike in a LONG line of WWII shooters. the only thing keeping me interested in this game is the 150 points that you get once you beat it. after that comes and goes, i'm done with this title.
  18. AlexD
    May 24, 2008
    1
    Perhaps good for it's time, CoD2 is now quite a tedious, repetitive and boring experience. The visuals are no longer appealing. The sound is dated as you'd expect. The AI is terrible, especially the friendly AI. The level design is boring and bland. On the 360 this game also suffers from horrendous framerate problems, even when there is little going on. All in all, a very Perhaps good for it's time, CoD2 is now quite a tedious, repetitive and boring experience. The visuals are no longer appealing. The sound is dated as you'd expect. The AI is terrible, especially the friendly AI. The level design is boring and bland. On the 360 this game also suffers from horrendous framerate problems, even when there is little going on. All in all, a very sub-mediocre and mindless experience. Undoubtedly one of the worst shooters on 360. Expand
  19. Peter
    Nov 21, 2005
    3
    Admittedly, I played this on a 360 demobooth in Game in the UK. However, since we often buy games based on demobooth action I feel that the following points are valid. MS UK or GAME UK have made a bbig mistake demoing the 360 with this game.. the graphics are very poor. Half-Life 2 has equally good if not better graphics. For example the textures are very poor. On items like crates insteadAdmittedly, I played this on a 360 demobooth in Game in the UK. However, since we often buy games based on demobooth action I feel that the following points are valid. MS UK or GAME UK have made a bbig mistake demoing the 360 with this game.. the graphics are very poor. Half-Life 2 has equally good if not better graphics. For example the textures are very poor. On items like crates instead of being able to see contents through the wooden slats, you get annoying white lines. On the level that was on the 360 I was playing (it looked like either Italian theatre or North African Theatre of war) there was a German Horch truck. When the avatar got within 1 foot of it, it was apparent how poor the textures were with no depth or definition. Considering that Halo 1 had fantastically detailed textures this is appalling. Additionally, when your squad are running through you and through sand bags one has to question the collision detection routines. This may be acceptable to the children and simple minded customers of the PS2, but since MS target market is supposedly a higher age and mentality segment it's not accpetable. If I want this poor quality of game I'mnot about to spend a total of £320 to play something that has moved consoles backwards. MS has made a big mistake by firstly not getting production levels sorted out for the obvious Christmas rush but they have released pathetic games for pathetic people. I'm glad I forgot to put my deposit down. I'm going to wait now instead of buying before Christmas and see what the PS3 does and I can guarantee that many customers will do the same. PS I have 4 kids and 4 Xboxes, so MS have missed out big time! Expand
  20. KONGBALLS
    Aug 11, 2006
    6
    There are some positives & negatives in this game. Positives: beautiful graphics, intelligent NPCs, and great gameplay. Negatives: soldiers will follow you(even higher ranked soldiers), no squad based commands, because you'll be needing them when clearing out a house or bunker, enemies have unlimited numbers in houses & bunkers (unless you want suicide and clear it out yourself), There are some positives & negatives in this game. Positives: beautiful graphics, intelligent NPCs, and great gameplay. Negatives: soldiers will follow you(even higher ranked soldiers), no squad based commands, because you'll be needing them when clearing out a house or bunker, enemies have unlimited numbers in houses & bunkers (unless you want suicide and clear it out yourself), shooting enemies 3 times w/ a tommy or MP40 WILL NOT KILL THEM, enemies have no fear (even when a barrage of bullets are being fired at them, you move too slow, some cinematic scenes take away the realism of the game, frag grenades sometimes last to short or long, and last but not least, the enemies are mostley shooting at me andnot my comrades, they treat them very different. If you had the patience to read this, than I congradulate you for agreeing or not agreeing to my opinion, I just hope this changes your mind because it did for me. Expand
  21. FredB.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  22. KellyH
    Mar 12, 2009
    1
    Worst AI EVER!! Friendly AI is completely useless. Enemy AI is omniscient. So completely BS that I will never buy another game in the CoD series.
  23. PaulF.
    Dec 15, 2005
    0
    Call me fruity 2 this game is fantastic on the PC but this version is £30 more exspencive and is far less detailed, be warned microsoft have sold you a cheap consol knowing that you will pay an extra £20 for its games that are no more than old xbox games with new textures. i feel like a complete and utter plonka for queing up for my 360 at least i only waisted £210 on Call me fruity 2 this game is fantastic on the PC but this version is £30 more exspencive and is far less detailed, be warned microsoft have sold you a cheap consol knowing that you will pay an extra £20 for its games that are no more than old xbox games with new textures. i feel like a complete and utter plonka for queing up for my 360 at least i only waisted £210 on the damed thing. Expand
  24. Pete
    Dec 19, 2005
    2
    over priced for whats on offer, if your lucky to have a good pc then save your self $30 and get the pc version because its better in graphics sound and playability.
  25. xoboxgod
    Dec 21, 2005
    3
    just goes to show you that as there was not any other major launch title this game takes up the slack. i bet if halo 3 was the launch title then this game would have got a more relistic low score, this game is worth £24.99( same price as the PC version) not £49.99 smell the coffie people microsoft has sold you a cheap consol hoping that they can get away with chargingjust goes to show you that as there was not any other major launch title this game takes up the slack. i bet if halo 3 was the launch title then this game would have got a more relistic low score, this game is worth £24.99( same price as the PC version) not £49.99 smell the coffie people microsoft has sold you a cheap consol hoping that they can get away with charging £49.99 for all games regardless if they have put the developent in or not. Expand
  26. J.K.
    Nov 7, 2007
    1
    This game has horrible framerate, when the screen gets filled with enemies the screen becomes very jerky can't stand playing it.
  27. JeffB.
    Jan 2, 2006
    9
    I was pretty amazed at the grahpics and was equally impressed with the game play. I am very pleased with this game and definatly feel that it is a must have title for the XBOX 360.
  28. Carcas
    Jan 2, 2006
    8
    The game is above all great but the Explostion graphics and the horrible on line playbring it down from a ten game yo a eight. The campains are the best you will ever see.
  29. RobertS.
    Mar 20, 2006
    9
    I waited in a 5 hour line at 3 in the morning to purchase the 360, why? Simply so I could play call of duty 2. I have not been disapointed either. This is by far my favorite FPS. Before this game I played Rainbow Six 3 and Halo 2 just like every other FPS gamer and was satisfied. The single player in this game tops both of them by a mile in my opinion. The only thing keeping me from I waited in a 5 hour line at 3 in the morning to purchase the 360, why? Simply so I could play call of duty 2. I have not been disapointed either. This is by far my favorite FPS. Before this game I played Rainbow Six 3 and Halo 2 just like every other FPS gamer and was satisfied. The single player in this game tops both of them by a mile in my opinion. The only thing keeping me from giving this game a 10 is the lag on multiplayer. Expand
  30. DavidW.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    An amazing World War 2 game with so much care and detail. This is a must buy in my books!
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. The definitive, most universally appealing WWII title ever made. It's not that the game does anything more or less than its digital brothers in arms, far from it, but instead it strips the genre down to the bare essentials and this turns it into one of the most pure shooters we've seen for some time.
  2. 100
    A freakin' work of art. It is, without a doubt, the best-looking console game to date, and the most psychotically intense World War II shooter to boot.
  3. Almost everything that makes the PC version one of the year's best shooters remains intact on the Xbox 360 version of the game, which looks just as good and actually runs smoother than all but the most beastly of gaming PCs.