User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 196

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FraserD.
    Nov 5, 2006
    10
    Killer title. Cool touches in the single player gam,e - like the next gen grass and solid AI. Amazing mulitplay. You have to check out the new "War" mode in multiplay.!!
  2. TomG
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    THE best game ever. Lifelife graphics, realism, intense, other words i dont know. Not getting this should be a felony of the highest degree.
  3. gingerman
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    any person who gives this game a grade less than 10 is either blind, deaf or dumb or play viva pinata or something. how can you say anything bad about this game?...it is such a giant leap from COD2 that the idiotic reviews gave me a headache. how is this any similar to the past COD games if this is the only one that uses true physics?...rag doll effects?...dynamic lighting and weather any person who gives this game a grade less than 10 is either blind, deaf or dumb or play viva pinata or something. how can you say anything bad about this game?...it is such a giant leap from COD2 that the idiotic reviews gave me a headache. how is this any similar to the past COD games if this is the only one that uses true physics?...rag doll effects?...dynamic lighting and weather effects?...are you people insane?...you spoiled, squirel brained scruffy nerf hurters!!!!!...show me a better war game, ever...i dare you. just the graphics alone can beat any game in its path, so go home idiots and play pinata if you dont agree. Expand
  4. MarkT.
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    I am giving this a 10 because I really enjoyed the single player, which was truly intense (I will happily take cinematic over sandbox for a change) and the multiplayer is still in my xbox 3 months after getting it. New multiplayer maps are great; and the miltiplayer gameply is still very active and very fun. Much better than GoW mp in my book.
  5. LeroyH.
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    Graphics are off the freaking chain! Super intenese! Multiplayer is a blast!
  6. GeraldI.
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    Truly Spectacular! Best in the series!
  7. JeffA.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    I bought Gears of war and now have a hunger for truly next gen graphics. Call of Duty 3 fills that hunger for lifelike next gen graphics. Every blade of grass is rendered, the rain coming down actually will give you a chill, the weapons have amazing detail as do the characters. The soft environment is totally destructable. A German soldier threw a grenade which landed by a tire sending it I bought Gears of war and now have a hunger for truly next gen graphics. Call of Duty 3 fills that hunger for lifelike next gen graphics. Every blade of grass is rendered, the rain coming down actually will give you a chill, the weapons have amazing detail as do the characters. The soft environment is totally destructable. A German soldier threw a grenade which landed by a tire sending it flying and killing me instantly. This game is total chaos. Treyarch totally captured vthe brutality of war. Call of Duty 3 is the WWII shooter you have been waiting for. A chaotic, gripping, suspenseful look at the life and death of a soldier in WWII. Expand
  8. KeironG.
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    WAR! its fantastic. And so is this game, can't recommend this game more, ten times better than call of duty 2 in multiplayer anyway, only grumble i have about the game is the fact you cant skip the movies, when you reload checkpoints you have to go through the opening movie for that section whether you like it or not! Aside from that its fantastic, the classes add no end to WAR! its fantastic. And so is this game, can't recommend this game more, ten times better than call of duty 2 in multiplayer anyway, only grumble i have about the game is the fact you cant skip the movies, when you reload checkpoints you have to go through the opening movie for that section whether you like it or not! Aside from that its fantastic, the classes add no end to multiplayer, as does the fact the more you kill the more grenades/smoke grenades you get, not to mention the better your class based abilities become, try the air strike on 3 pips and watch your enemies fall lol. Expand
  9. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    Call of Duty 3 is probably the best COD game I have played, and still remains that way. MP was very well balanced, with some of the best maps in the series. Once COD 4 came out, the series seemed to take a dive for the worse. The class based system, and vehicular gameplay trumps the close quarter combat, run and gun style of the newer COD games.
  10. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    An OK game. Brings little new to the table. Has some very fun objectives and has some interesting characters, but they were largely forgettable. Graphics are OK, nothing special, but the game still hold very smooth and fun gameplay that can be enjoyed for long periods of time
  11. AlejandroR.
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    Call of Duty 3 is an excellent game. The single player mode with 14 levels is great, and the achievements to go along with it are entertaining to complete. This game probably has better graphics than any other XBOX 360 game. The reason why I did not give it a ten is because it doesnt have small levels for you and a friend to play split screen. I played my brother in this and it took about Call of Duty 3 is an excellent game. The single player mode with 14 levels is great, and the achievements to go along with it are entertaining to complete. This game probably has better graphics than any other XBOX 360 game. The reason why I did not give it a ten is because it doesnt have small levels for you and a friend to play split screen. I played my brother in this and it took about 10 minutes just to find him in the stage. But still, this game is one of the best XBOX 360 games yet. Expand
  12. MikkoP.
    Nov 21, 2006
    9
    Easily the best online 360 game right now. The 7 classes are in perfect balance, 9 maps are all great. In a game mode called "WAR" the action gets VERY intense compared to other online games around, and people are forced in teamwork. Single player, not so good. It has great moments and graphics, and really annoying moments and ugly graphics here and there. (The magically glowing Lee Easily the best online 360 game right now. The 7 classes are in perfect balance, 9 maps are all great. In a game mode called "WAR" the action gets VERY intense compared to other online games around, and people are forced in teamwork. Single player, not so good. It has great moments and graphics, and really annoying moments and ugly graphics here and there. (The magically glowing Lee Enfield, anyone) As a rule, civilian homes look like crap indoors, all outdoor locations look great. Also, it´s much more restricted than COD2, very corridor-like. Yes you can select routes occasionally: go via corridor 1 or corridor 2. Gameplay is not as polished as in COD2. You get sometimes stuck in small boxes on the floor, you cannot jump over fence, you try to shoot behind a tree, but hit a invisible tree and bulletholes float in the air. Sometimes it feels like the enemy can shoot you, even when they don´t see you. NPC´s animations and movements are twitchier than before. Plus, you cannot skip the long cutscenes, yes, you have to watch them every frickin time you get back to the game! For single player, I still prefer COD2, eventhough COD3 has some improved graphics. Online, it rocks and none of the crticism apply for online play. Expand
  13. CarcasGalactic
    Aug 27, 2006
    9
    HELLO. you cares if the game isn't out. I went and reserved it the other day at game stop and got the demo disk. As far as i can tell its going to be asome. YOU GET TO BE CANADIANS!!! Is there anything that could be more fun!!! GO ACTIVITION!!! Your rigfht on top next to bungie as far as im concerned
  14. BrettS.
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    Wow, finally a came worth buying. As I've mentioned in other reviews I've written, I only rent 360 games because the majority of them are a big dissapointment. But from the minute I turned on COD3 I was hooked and ran out the very next day and bought a copy. Online, this game is visually stunning with intense game play and for the player match option you are not strapped with Wow, finally a came worth buying. As I've mentioned in other reviews I've written, I only rent 360 games because the majority of them are a big dissapointment. But from the minute I turned on COD3 I was hooked and ran out the very next day and bought a copy. Online, this game is visually stunning with intense game play and for the player match option you are not strapped with having to wait in a lobby for some guy to stop chatting with his friends before you can play. Nothing is more aggrevating than listening to a buch of people yapping, when all you want to do is play. The online user interface is a lot like Battlefield 2, which is nice and easy. There are I think at least 10 maps to choose from and a huge variety of different types of games to play on each map. You also get 6 different characters to choose from. you also get to hear pre-recorderd comments from enemy players. I didn't find the game controls to be cumbersome. The campaign is fun, but keeping true to COD, it does get repetitive after awhile, but it is a first person shooter set in wwii. All in all I think Treyarch really out did themselves with the online games, and did a great job with the campagin. Expand
  15. McBain17
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    I love this game, it might be because I've always passed on the CoD games until now, but I'll admit I'm hooked. This game has great grahics, is intense, and delivers a realizim missing from most shooters. I think if you take into consideration that these battles took place it makes it that much more gripping. the game is deep in MP mode and has definite replay value. I I love this game, it might be because I've always passed on the CoD games until now, but I'll admit I'm hooked. This game has great grahics, is intense, and delivers a realizim missing from most shooters. I think if you take into consideration that these battles took place it makes it that much more gripping. the game is deep in MP mode and has definite replay value. I highly suggest this for any FPS fans. Expand
  16. WittleP.
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    Awesome graphics.....The guns on both sides are not even. Online play is fun!
  17. samjames
    Jun 22, 2008
    8
    a good solid shooter that delivers everything you'd expect. if you wanna test yourself BIGTIME, finish this game on vetran. i have finished just about every major fps on the market, including Halo 1,2,3 all Call of dutys (this one most recently) Half lifes, metroid primes, rainbow sixs, ghost recons, far crys, unreal tournement s and brothers in arms out there on the hardesta good solid shooter that delivers everything you'd expect. if you wanna test yourself BIGTIME, finish this game on vetran. i have finished just about every major fps on the market, including Halo 1,2,3 all Call of dutys (this one most recently) Half lifes, metroid primes, rainbow sixs, ghost recons, far crys, unreal tournement s and brothers in arms out there on the hardest difficulty, and THIS is the hardest of them all. impossibly hard. just try it and you will see. the game is really a 7, but i gave it and 8 cos i like the challenge Expand
  18. JG
    Nov 22, 2006
    8
    COD3 is a very magnificent game in the making. The graphics and multiplayer are even better than COD2, but doesn't have the same gameplay as COD2 which was disapointing
  19. JohnW.
    Jan 3, 2007
    8
    Great game, awesome graphics, gameplay is unbelievable....definitely worth the $59.99......The only thing is that there should have been a co-op mode and the multiplayer (local) has no AI's, so its pretty boring.
  20. Bobpants
    Jan 8, 2007
    8
    i pwn noobs in this game my gamer tag is brenbob
  21. Serge
    Jul 25, 2007
    8
    Single campaign was a drag. A.I. was pretty much retarded. The plot was gay. Well, I only buy games for multiplayer that's why I gave it an 8. Never played COD 2 and COD 1. So it's a new thing for me. Lots of players, lots of well balanced weapons. Large maps. Graphics could have been better. German heavy assault has too much recoil. I think this game deserved higher score than Single campaign was a drag. A.I. was pretty much retarded. The plot was gay. Well, I only buy games for multiplayer that's why I gave it an 8. Never played COD 2 and COD 1. So it's a new thing for me. Lots of players, lots of well balanced weapons. Large maps. Graphics could have been better. German heavy assault has too much recoil. I think this game deserved higher score than Gears of War. Expand
  22. RedXIII
    Nov 12, 2006
    8
    This game is nothing new in the Call of Duty series, sure the graphics are updated, but the only difference I see from COD2 is the online play (which is having major issues right now), I have played some of the online games and that is why this game is getting an 8. 24 people battling at the same time, high five! but the ranked matches are not working yet for some reason. But the single This game is nothing new in the Call of Duty series, sure the graphics are updated, but the only difference I see from COD2 is the online play (which is having major issues right now), I have played some of the online games and that is why this game is getting an 8. 24 people battling at the same time, high five! but the ranked matches are not working yet for some reason. But the single player campaign is easy if your put it on easy, I play it on veteran and it is anything but short and easy, sometimes frustratingly hard, but still a whole lot of fun even if it is a rehash of COD2, this game is really good if your a fan of the call of duty franchise or your first call of duty game, the online is definitly worth the purchase. Expand
  23. Millsy
    Nov 13, 2006
    8
    ok... 1. It's fantastic online provided you look for a non-ranked match - otherwaise you'll be looking for ages. 2. Yes, it can be slightly annoying that there'll be bits of ground that you think you'll be able to walk/jump over - only to find you can't.. 3. One good improvement. I couldn't stand COD2 - it was VERY linear. Not that complete "GTA style" free ok... 1. It's fantastic online provided you look for a non-ranked match - otherwaise you'll be looking for ages. 2. Yes, it can be slightly annoying that there'll be bits of ground that you think you'll be able to walk/jump over - only to find you can't.. 3. One good improvement. I couldn't stand COD2 - it was VERY linear. Not that complete "GTA style" free roaming is a must.. COD3 lets you try different ways to attack in the single player mode, so it gives the illusion that it's not just "corridoor, shoot, corridoor, shoot"! I'm giving it 8 because have had such a laugh on multiplayer - people actually talk to each other and have fun with this... not like Battlefieild 2 where you should be playing a "team" game but nobody talks.... You'll have a lot of fun with this! Expand
  24. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    Treyarch made big mistake in putting a number for a franchise that is not even of them, normally destroying the projects of Infinity Ward ( because IW never made a third installment if you've have seen). Usually when they announced World at War , that seemed to be their real CoD version . Apart from those mistakes, CoD3 plays nice enough , great intensity , good pace , and fine multiplayerTreyarch made big mistake in putting a number for a franchise that is not even of them, normally destroying the projects of Infinity Ward ( because IW never made a third installment if you've have seen). Usually when they announced World at War , that seemed to be their real CoD version . Apart from those mistakes, CoD3 plays nice enough , great intensity , good pace , and fine multiplayer awards the players satisfaction. I just don't want them to put their wrecking hands on another developers franchise. Take it or leave it. Expand
  25. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    It's gameplay and graphics may not be as revolutionary as Infinity Ward's predecessor, but Treyarch's "Call Of Duty" still represents a memorable WWII shooter that rings a high-note in the franchise's narrative track record.
  26. Jan 29, 2013
    8
    An overall decent FPS, that brings little more to the genre than more beautiful graphics and the grappling encounters. Worth getting if you like WWII shooters.
  27. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    its a good game
    it was fun to play it
    it has a good gameplay and still better
    than modern warfare. i think that the original trilogy
    is better than modern warfare
  28. Jun 23, 2014
    8
    The FPS in relation to Call of Duty 2 has a lot of similarities, bringing little changes in quality and gameplay, but it's still as it's predecessor a very enjoyable game.

    (please note that during this review i will be comparing COD 3 with COD 2 and NOT COD 2: Big Red One. COD 2: Big Red One is in my opinion one of the best I have ever played in the franchise and i strongly recommend to
    The FPS in relation to Call of Duty 2 has a lot of similarities, bringing little changes in quality and gameplay, but it's still as it's predecessor a very enjoyable game.

    (please note that during this review i will be comparing COD 3 with COD 2 and NOT COD 2: Big Red One. COD 2: Big Red One is in my opinion one of the best I have ever played in the franchise and i strongly recommend to at least try it once.In this case, think of COD 3 as a younger cousin to COD 2: Big Red One with less story, with regenerative health and harder enemies.)
    The singleplayer campaign is solid, containing some interesting stories of your fellow teammates even though you will mostly not pay attention because of the immersion.

    Through it you will be playing as either Private Nichols (American) or as Sergeant Doyle (British), each with their own set of weaponry, stages and obviously objectives.
    And the multiplayer was one of the first to include specific class selection instead of the ability to choose custom weaponry or abilities, balancing out the OP presets on the previous game, as well as making the return of vehicular combat in maps (like tanks and even in some cases motorcycles).

    In relation to platforms:
    X360 and PS3: The X360 and PS3 version like every single other version had multiplayer advantages in relation to COD 2, however the factors that would mostly differenciate them would be the quality and the max. aumount of players in 1 battle possible. And the X360 and PS3 version excelled at both of them in relation to other platforms, as it is able to allow triple the aumount of players COD 2 would be able to (COD 3 able up to 24 max. and COD 2 able up to 8 max), allowing a better experience.

    PS2 and old Xbox: The PS2 version would allow up to 16 players, however due to performance issues it would be achieved rarely, setting the bar at about 10-12 players max. and a minor quality difference in graphics.The Xbox had similar issues, yet the performance issues weren't as bad as in the PS2, setting the bar for an extra 1-2 players without severe problems.

    Wii: The Wii version had no multiplayer at all which is a bit of shame, so i can not say anything about it sadly.

    I gave this a 8/10 because even though it's not THE best FPS game it's still a fun and enjoyable game despite everything.
    However, due to the lack of nowadays anyone playing classic COD's on the new consoles multiplayer is extremely rare unless you have a couple of friends to play with, but if possible i suggest you try it.
    Expand
  29. Apr 1, 2015
    8
    The single player is great but not as great as cod or cod 2,however the multiplayer was awesome great maps,vehicles,spawns,guns ect
    I whish this would also be on pc
  30. JimmyJ.
    Dec 4, 2006
    7
    It
  31. JayDee
    Feb 24, 2007
    7
    This game makes me respect war veterans around the world. The action is so intense you wont ever want to put the controller down, the one bad thing about it which stopped me giving it a 10 is that they still haven't got the computer A.I quite right yet, but other than that this is a game you will keep playing until you get your own V.C!
  32. DanW.
    Mar 5, 2007
    7
    Ok! the graphics are pretty good, but the gameplay is shocking like the campaign which is far too repetitive! The non-ranked online play is top draw, but when is comes to ranked matches, is takes about ten years to set up! Complete joke! I'm looking forward to Brothers in Arms - Hells Highway! Looks immense!
  33. ACE5
    Nov 17, 2006
    7
    Not a bad game really, I was expecting more out of this game though. Call of duty 2 I didn't like at first, but once I got into it I was hooked. CoD 3 just didn't do that. It didn't really excite me the way 2 did. I remember playing CoD 2 for a couple hours, and trying to go to sleep afterwords, and still seeing and hearing someone yelling, "JERRY'S, ON THE SECOND Not a bad game really, I was expecting more out of this game though. Call of duty 2 I didn't like at first, but once I got into it I was hooked. CoD 3 just didn't do that. It didn't really excite me the way 2 did. I remember playing CoD 2 for a couple hours, and trying to go to sleep afterwords, and still seeing and hearing someone yelling, "JERRY'S, ON THE SECOND FLOOR!", I don't get that same experience here. They should have let infinity ward make this game. Expand
  34. Ben
    Nov 27, 2006
    7
    The one player campaign for COD3 is excellent, however I have a few complaints about multiplayer live games. I find myself spending up to twenty minutes just trying to join a player match, and cannot even enter ranked matches. I dont know if its the server or my internet connection, but it can get frustrating not being able to join ANY matches. Once i get into a game, however, i enjoy the The one player campaign for COD3 is excellent, however I have a few complaints about multiplayer live games. I find myself spending up to twenty minutes just trying to join a player match, and cannot even enter ranked matches. I dont know if its the server or my internet connection, but it can get frustrating not being able to join ANY matches. Once i get into a game, however, i enjoy the great graphics and extensive maps. I'v found a couple of glitches, but nothing to really complain about. The only thing that i find annoying in the gameplay is occasionally I get stuck pre-spawn when the host changes. Other than that, the multiplayer is great, offering seven classes and nine differing maps. Expand
  35. Oct 4, 2011
    7
    Story: 3
    Characters: 5
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 8
    Multiplayer: 6
    Soundtrack: 5
    Audio: 9
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 6
    Fun Factor: 8

    Score: 6.8/10 = C+
  36. Nov 26, 2011
    7
    average campaign but good multyplayer,quit fun with a full team playing capture the flag!with tanks and jeeps this the funnest call of duty i've played.
  37. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    This game has an obvious difference from other call of duty games. The intensity in the campaign story and gameplay is not as good as the other call of duty games. The dialogue is so boring and does not hold my attention. The ragdoll physics are funny.. you'll go to melee a kraut and often times they will launch into the air like a 10 pound ragdoll. The gameplay overall is not bad, but IThis game has an obvious difference from other call of duty games. The intensity in the campaign story and gameplay is not as good as the other call of duty games. The dialogue is so boring and does not hold my attention. The ragdoll physics are funny.. you'll go to melee a kraut and often times they will launch into the air like a 10 pound ragdoll. The gameplay overall is not bad, but I liked call of duty 2 better overall even with the not as good graphics. Expand
  38. May 22, 2015
    7
    It may not have the create-a-class system, scorestreaks, or a co-op mode but it's still a fun World War II shooter. The campaign was one of the best for its time and is still fun to play and the multiplayer feels like a less refined version of Battlefeld's multiplayer with its larger maps and vehicles. It's not a game that keeps a bunch of records and lets you customize your appearance andIt may not have the create-a-class system, scorestreaks, or a co-op mode but it's still a fun World War II shooter. The campaign was one of the best for its time and is still fun to play and the multiplayer feels like a less refined version of Battlefeld's multiplayer with its larger maps and vehicles. It's not a game that keeps a bunch of records and lets you customize your appearance and your gun camos, etc. It's just a straighforward World War II shooter that lets you choose from a group of preset classes between death. It's fun, though, and that's what's important. How fun? 7/10 fun, so pretty fun but I don't like it as much as, say Black Ops. Expand
  39. PeterW.
    Nov 6, 2006
    6
    The long awaited sequel to a great Xbox 360 launch game is here. However, it wasn't exactly worth the wait. Game is too short (approx 10 hours of gameplay) and achievements are too easy (although there are a few multiplayer achievements I couldn't get because there aren't many people online yet). Graphics are just a tad better the COD2 which is a HUGE disappointment for me The long awaited sequel to a great Xbox 360 launch game is here. However, it wasn't exactly worth the wait. Game is too short (approx 10 hours of gameplay) and achievements are too easy (although there are a few multiplayer achievements I couldn't get because there aren't many people online yet). Graphics are just a tad better the COD2 which is a HUGE disappointment for me as this was to be believed 1 of the 2 second generation games that were bound to have great graphics... The best innovation is being able to drive vehicles and throw back enemy grenates! Expand
  40. MannyJ.
    Jan 1, 2007
    6
    I gave it a six because the missions are so fricking repetitive and the A.I. Sucks man! My guys block the way everwhere and I always die it gets very annoying. plus the online isnt very good either, too many people. CoD2 was way better treyarch didnt do such a good job if only infinity ward made this game would probably be way better but treyarch just ruined this game lets hope they do I gave it a six because the missions are so fricking repetitive and the A.I. Sucks man! My guys block the way everwhere and I always die it gets very annoying. plus the online isnt very good either, too many people. CoD2 was way better treyarch didnt do such a good job if only infinity ward made this game would probably be way better but treyarch just ruined this game lets hope they do better next time...... if there is one. Expand
  41. Aug 30, 2010
    6
    Decent game all and all but there are some major problems that hold this game back. For example, all of the quick time events are really repetitive never really that interesting. Once again, this shooter is good but brings nothing new to the table.
  42. Jan 29, 2012
    6
    I was originally going to give this a higher score, but before I could finish the campaign (I was on the last chapter/level) the game glitched on me and erased all my data, which sucks because the campaign was actually kind of awesome, granted it started off slow and suffered from awful cutscenes with horrible writing, crappy voice acting, and unlikeable characters, and some repetitiveI was originally going to give this a higher score, but before I could finish the campaign (I was on the last chapter/level) the game glitched on me and erased all my data, which sucks because the campaign was actually kind of awesome, granted it started off slow and suffered from awful cutscenes with horrible writing, crappy voice acting, and unlikeable characters, and some repetitive mini games, and you can still find multiplayer matches online, and the multiplayer is the most unique in the series featuring large open maps with emphasis on character classes and vehicles, and I would personally like to see the series try this style of multiplayer again, it may renew peoples faith in the series after MW3, so it's a great game, but receives this score because of all the glitches I encountered like my data being erased, it freezing up on me, and several others, so it's a good game hindered by bugs and glitches. Expand
  43. ECU
    Apr 21, 2014
    6
    A decent shooter at best. It has a long and fun single player camgain but there are really big problems. First of all the game is swarmed with bugs. Frame rate chops nearly ever level, you can't reload your guns, you can't throw a grenade you've cought, enemies don't die even you shot them several times. There is practically no story, all the maps and settings look the same, and there areA decent shooter at best. It has a long and fun single player camgain but there are really big problems. First of all the game is swarmed with bugs. Frame rate chops nearly ever level, you can't reload your guns, you can't throw a grenade you've cought, enemies don't die even you shot them several times. There is practically no story, all the maps and settings look the same, and there are like 3 QTEs which will repeat through the whole game dozens of times. CoD 3 adds nothing to the Call of Duty franchise and it is too obvious that it was rushed to make it to the (then) next-gen consoles. Expand
  44. Danny
    Aug 20, 2007
    5
    The campaign is a terrible experience with the the worst vehicle sessions I have ever seen. The mulitiplayer is okay but nothing great. My opinion... stick to Halo, Gears or Bioshock for shooters.
  45. JasonG.
    Nov 10, 2008
    5
    The gameplay is frustrating, and generally inferior compared to the previous COD games in the series. The only thing that saves this game is the online multiplayer - even with the little bugs and gliches its enjoyable.
    Not recommended to buy this game at full price, buy second-hand if you really want this game.
  46. Jt
    Nov 11, 2006
    5
    CoD3 just wasn't worth my $60. Recoil makes many of the weapons I enjoyed in CoD2 useless (Example, every single fully automatic weapon except the Thompson and the German sub-machine gun.) Buggy friendly AI and plenty of checkpoint glitches all around. More than once I've only gotten close to beating a battle to be blocked by friendlies while I'm trying to get into/out of a CoD3 just wasn't worth my $60. Recoil makes many of the weapons I enjoyed in CoD2 useless (Example, every single fully automatic weapon except the Thompson and the German sub-machine gun.) Buggy friendly AI and plenty of checkpoint glitches all around. More than once I've only gotten close to beating a battle to be blocked by friendlies while I'm trying to get into/out of a house to heal. If you even get close to a checkpoint, even if you don't clear out all of the enemies and die, you respawn with new friendly soldiers, and skip the area where you were fighting last. Driving was a BIG let-down. You might as well paint a bullseye on your chest, prime a grenade, and run around screaming. Graphics weren't an amazing improvement, and I'm sick and tired of playing through World War II three times in a single series. Expand
  47. AlejoR.
    Nov 27, 2006
    5
    In the past few years, there are good WW2 games, and there are bad WW2 games. Some bad games were WW2 paratroopers, MoH rising sun (although I do credit pushing the game into a location), and I include all WW2 stategy games. These games were unpopular because of bad gameplay, bad storytelling, and some of the worst AI (which is 50% of gameplay). Some WW2 games that are GOOD are: the In the past few years, there are good WW2 games, and there are bad WW2 games. Some bad games were WW2 paratroopers, MoH rising sun (although I do credit pushing the game into a location), and I include all WW2 stategy games. These games were unpopular because of bad gameplay, bad storytelling, and some of the worst AI (which is 50% of gameplay). Some WW2 games that are GOOD are: the Brothers in arms series, which puts strategy in a first point perspective and gives you a squad to command, Day of Defeat: source, a PC multiplayer game which consists of fast action and tons of people to play with, and the call of duty franchise, consisting of great single player, great multiplayer, and surprising cinematic playtrough. but I am not here to talk about all these games, I am here to talk about Call of Duty 3. FIrst of all, lets get to the graphics, which look stunning as half life 2 on it;s first release (which came out before "next gen"graphics) with HDR (High Dynamic Range). In the sound department, the music is beautiful; it totally matches the century, but they used new sounds for the cast and the weapons, which don't sound like weapons anymore; the only thing that has not changes is the german voices. two new sides were added to the campaign,the canadians and the polish. they totally forgot the Russian campaign which was a really important part into winning WW2. take for example when the germans unconditionally surrendered, all because the russians invaded the capital. Now, the gameplay; new additions like vehicle driving (back in Call of Duty 1), riding on a tank, beating the crap out of the wermacht, and exiting multiplayer. Remember earlier that AI was 50% of the gameplay experience, well..... The AI is some of the worst ever in the call ofduty franchise; it makes the wermacht look like elite soldiers (keyword: wermacht). Seriously, almost every single NPC on your side will probably rush into action without hesitance or just stay into one position and miss every shot ( the american and wermacht could be close together and the german would win). One more thing, THERE ARE TOO MANY MOVIE SEQUENCES, SERIOUSLY ID RATHER WATCH SAVING PRIVATE RYAN THAN POOR ACTING. I am very surprised about Treyarch and hope that next year will be a new start. Expand
  48. CarcasGalactic
    Nov 9, 2006
    5
    Wow i take back everything i have ever said about call of duty. You have reaqched a new all time low. WHY THEHELL did you hjave trayarch crap whole do this insteat of infinaty? DUMB DUMB DUMB. Shoppers although it is over rated, gears of war is a much better choice than this game. You have disopointed me. Hopefully halo 3 wont when it comes out.
  49. Sep 21, 2010
    5
    Review9 10 I have not played this game for a while, and now that i've said that it makes me want to go and take a look at the game. But COD3 was overall a pretty fun game, the campaign was not that long but most COD games campaign only last 6 hours any way. The multiplayer was ok and i'm not a fan of vehichles in war games except for battlefield because the maps are so big and the gameReview9 10 I have not played this game for a while, and now that i've said that it makes me want to go and take a look at the game. But COD3 was overall a pretty fun game, the campaign was not that long but most COD games campaign only last 6 hours any way. The multiplayer was ok and i'm not a fan of vehichles in war games except for battlefield because the maps are so big and the game types require vehichles. Back to cod3, it didn't have a great multiplayer and that is one of the reasons that it brings it's score down, but the other reason is the graphics. THERE WAS NOT ANY GRAPHICS DIFFERENCE AT ALL BETWEEN COD2 AND COD3. Because of those two reasons i give the game a 5.5 Expand
  50. Jul 17, 2011
    5
    Don't Get Me Wrong, The Multiplayer is amazing in Call Of Duty 3, but it really bugs me how after Call Of Duty 2: Big Red One, the greatest campaign ever made by Treyarch, that the campaign in Call Of Duty 3 absolutely SUCKS. The script written for the whole thing is terrible, and the gameplay feels rushed. It's like they completely copied and pasted the Big Red One Engine and away you go.Don't Get Me Wrong, The Multiplayer is amazing in Call Of Duty 3, but it really bugs me how after Call Of Duty 2: Big Red One, the greatest campaign ever made by Treyarch, that the campaign in Call Of Duty 3 absolutely SUCKS. The script written for the whole thing is terrible, and the gameplay feels rushed. It's like they completely copied and pasted the Big Red One Engine and away you go. It also pisses me off how they bragged about how Call Of Duty 3 was the most historically accurate CoD game there is. Well, it is, but who gives a **** Did I also mention the famous "in your face" action? When the German puts his gun in your face and you have to wrestle? Yes, if you haven't mastered the art of tapping a button repeatedly, you are screwed. And You're not the only one. It probably takes about a whole minute before you win the fight. That "in your face" thing is crap and for a game where time is crutial, a waste of precious time. Expand
  51. Jul 13, 2013
    5
    My score is based on the single player campaign only. This COD slipped through the cracks and I have just played for the first time in 2013, but I would have scored a five in 2006 as well. Terrible A.I. with allies blocking my path forward, enemies spawning in front of me I crouched and watched this for minutes (fascinating, like a mass exodus in star trek) annoying save points, the listMy score is based on the single player campaign only. This COD slipped through the cracks and I have just played for the first time in 2013, but I would have scored a five in 2006 as well. Terrible A.I. with allies blocking my path forward, enemies spawning in front of me I crouched and watched this for minutes (fascinating, like a mass exodus in star trek) annoying save points, the list goes on. After COD 2 this is definitely a step in the wrong direction. I have been retro buying early shooters to keep, but this one is OUTA HERE Expand
  52. JamesLee
    Nov 10, 2006
    4
    COD 1 10 COD2 10 COD3 4 this game is awful its like a different game under the same name spoils everything infinity ward worked for apalling
  53. Daniel
    Jan 16, 2007
    4
    If it aint broke don't fix it! COD2 was probably my favorite game of all time; but this is a buggy, soulless version of it. A lot of the same guns are back but they just feel really different. It's hard to describe, but they're harder to use effectively (especially the snipers) and some are just plain stupidly annoying. Vehicles handle like crap and reek of gimmicky-ness. If it aint broke don't fix it! COD2 was probably my favorite game of all time; but this is a buggy, soulless version of it. A lot of the same guns are back but they just feel really different. It's hard to describe, but they're harder to use effectively (especially the snipers) and some are just plain stupidly annoying. Vehicles handle like crap and reek of gimmicky-ness. Multiplayer (which was insanely addictive in COD2) is a major disappointment. 24 player matches sound cool in theory, until you realize you get shot and killed about every three seconds and have to wait ages to get back in a game where you will probably get killed again really soon. Levels are too damn big and lifeless. Just a major disappointment. Expand
  54. Nov 16, 2011
    4
    Nickels? Really? Who would call their child Nickels? I'm come on! That name wrecked the game play for me and I couldn't focus to killing anything because that guy's name was Nickels. And how can you have a good arm if your name is Nickels? I don't like that name very much.
  55. Apr 14, 2012
    4
    It's horrible in my oppinon and I can tell you. The campaign's crap as hell and needed work. And the multiplayer was was even worse with messed up combat and broken guns. Campaign 4/10 Multiplayer 2/10 COD 3 4.2/10
  56. ArthurO.
    Dec 20, 2006
    3
    With the amount of quality games that recently came out, there truly is no reason for anyone to pick this up. My usual success in buying games failed the worst ever with this purchase. All starts out well as the game impresses with graphics that are the best I have seen on 360. Then the frantic firefight it drops you in the middle of in campaign is something out of a cinamatic With the amount of quality games that recently came out, there truly is no reason for anyone to pick this up. My usual success in buying games failed the worst ever with this purchase. All starts out well as the game impresses with graphics that are the best I have seen on 360. Then the frantic firefight it drops you in the middle of in campaign is something out of a cinamatic masterpiece. The problems start shortly thereafter. Once the pace starts to slow down, it is obvious just how bad the controls are. The control issues seem even worse after you boot up Live. It isn't that the controls are glitchy or unresponsive; it is just that with the way recent shooters have raised the level of detail in controls, you are left expecting so much more. I actually booted up a copy of Halo 2 after trying out the Live combat as realized that it even seemed watered down compared to that. I strongly urge anyone tempted in this title to not waste their money as I admittedly did; look towards other, far better shooters that have been recently released. I would strongly recommend Rainbow Six Vegas and Gears of War is very competent as well. Stay clear of this poorly controlling shooter. Expand
  57. JohanA.
    Feb 13, 2008
    3
    Unskippable cutscenes that you have to watch everytime you load, silly scripted close encounter sequences that doesn't add anything fun and AI buddies that offer no help at all. Very frustrating game.
  58. SeniorAwesome
    Nov 27, 2008
    3
    Overallm this game is pretty awful. The characters are stupid and no one cares about them, the campaign is boring and repetitive, and the multiplayer is really weak compared to Cod 2. There are a few cool scripted moments, but thats about it. and the close encounter things with germans are absolutley ridiculous.
  59. Nov 28, 2012
    3
    This game sucked the tanks are too overpowered the maps sucked ppl can drop shot with their eyes closed this game sucked it was aweful it sucked dont get it
  60. Jan 16, 2014
    2
    I know I have played and completed this game I cannot remember a thing about it, it only earns a 2 because It must have been engaging enough to play through to the end. Overall the only thing I can say is that it's not as memorable as COD 2 or Modern Warfare, the gameplay is same old just without anything that stands out like in the previously mentioned COD titles.
  61. Devin
    Nov 8, 2006
    1
    Fatally flawed and infuriating. Treyarch has, for some reason, found it fit to handicap every weapon in Call of Duty to the point where every single one of them is rendered nearly completely impotent and useless. Kickback and reload times have been increased to maddening levels, rendering competative splitscreen play almost devoid of fun. Small objects in the terrain now hold soldiers Fatally flawed and infuriating. Treyarch has, for some reason, found it fit to handicap every weapon in Call of Duty to the point where every single one of them is rendered nearly completely impotent and useless. Kickback and reload times have been increased to maddening levels, rendering competative splitscreen play almost devoid of fun. Small objects in the terrain now hold soldiers back to a ridiculous degree: getting out of trenches that are dug less than a foot deep can become very difficult. Additionally, the levels have been made insanely large, leaving no skirmish boards ideal for splitscreen play with one's friends. Lack of variety in the levels leads to boredom, and lack of functionality in the guns (though it may have been for the sake of "realism") makes the task of hunting down an enemy an arduous task. Vehicles are also almost completely worthless in splitscreen competative play. The controls are awkward and clunky to an extent that even stepping behind the wheel is tantamount to suicide. In short, Treyarch has taken my favorite multiplayer party game and systematically destroyed nearly every element that made the game fun. Avoid like the plague if you enjoy playing with your friends. Expand
  62. Buddy
    May 22, 2009
    1
    Could have been a good game. But things like: 1. Having the cutscenes start up - no matter where you are in the level - when you first load the game is retarded. 2. Having to watch the cutscenes (no way to click out of them) is retarded. 3. The friendly AI is retarded. 4. Allowing the enemy AI to lean, but not giving the player that option is retarded. 5. Having to completely expose Could have been a good game. But things like: 1. Having the cutscenes start up - no matter where you are in the level - when you first load the game is retarded. 2. Having to watch the cutscenes (no way to click out of them) is retarded. 3. The friendly AI is retarded. 4. Allowing the enemy AI to lean, but not giving the player that option is retarded. 5. Having to completely expose yourself in order to throw a nade is retarded. 6. The friendly AI is REALLY retarded. and finally, 7. The most completely asinine, retarded spacing of checkpoints EVER is completely friggin' retarded. I won't ever buy another Call of Duty game. Expand
  63. BrandonP.
    Dec 1, 2006
    1
    My real rating would have been a 6 but have to balance out the equation simply because people do not know how to correctly score a game that they gave so many negative remarks about. The graphics improved WOW Everything else is shit.
  64. Matthewohlsheskie
    Jan 27, 2007
    0
    its unbelivealbe how a game like this causes damage in life....My cousin came ot my house for my dads b-day...my cousin is 8 years old and likes video games....so anyways i went to rent a game with him and he pointed out call of duty 3...we went back to my house and played it and then the party started (i got a blow job) and my cousin came in the room my dad was in and scremed awww thoeseits unbelivealbe how a game like this causes damage in life....My cousin came ot my house for my dads b-day...my cousin is 8 years old and likes video games....so anyways i went to rent a game with him and he pointed out call of duty 3...we went back to my house and played it and then the party started (i got a blow job) and my cousin came in the room my dad was in and scremed awww thoese f***ing natzys...fire in the hole b****s...anyways great gamplay and great graphics Expand
  65. KalleP.
    May 9, 2007
    0
    The most fustrating game EVER!!!! the way it's made hard is just stupid!!!
  66. RamiK.
    May 15, 2007
    0
    Scripted sh.t with some many stupid bugs!
  67. WarEagle
    Mar 12, 2009
    0
    Horrible AI. Friendly AI stands in your way and fire in the air. Enemy AI can track you through smoke, brick walls, and can kill you even when you are completely prone hiding behind three walls and completely out of line of sight. Won't ever buy a Call of Duty game again.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. While the [single-player] combat is still brilliant and it looks a lot better, the unskippable cutscenes, unvaried locations, irritating characters and mini-games all really grate. However, adding in the much improved multiplayer with a variety of cool vehicles, Treyarch has really rounded off Infinity Ward's vision. [Dec 2006, p.90]
  2. The scope for large online battles and some great fun action in the single-player mode make this a worthwhile purchase. Fans of "Call of Duty 2" will really have a lot of fun with it. But Call of Duty 3 could have and should have, been better than this.
  3. 85
    Treyarch and Activision have done an great job with COD3 and created an experience that is at once much the same, but also better, than its predecessor.