User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1348 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JustinE.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. The campaign is relatively short, but if you have any sense at all, you'd know that this game is about multiplayer. The progression system keeps the game fun forever. I got this and Halo 3 at the same time, and I have to say that Halo is completely lacking in most areas compared to CoD4. The multiplayer is amazing and seldom gets old. Halo, on the other hand, This game is amazing. The campaign is relatively short, but if you have any sense at all, you'd know that this game is about multiplayer. The progression system keeps the game fun forever. I got this and Halo 3 at the same time, and I have to say that Halo is completely lacking in most areas compared to CoD4. The multiplayer is amazing and seldom gets old. Halo, on the other hand, gets old extremely quick, and it doesn't help that everyone that plays Halo is a complete A HOLE. Seriously. Everyone. CoD4 is also much more balanced. Overall way better. Expand
  2. KevinN.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    The best Online game that I've played yet. The Campaign is amazing and the action never stops.
  3. DavidG.
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    I never played a war game in my life until I play Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and it changed my perspective on first-person shooter games completely. This is a must have game for any gamer who owns a PlayStation 3, xbox 360, or PC. Online for call of duty 4 is the greatest. The game play is also incredibly realistic.
  4. DavidGagen
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    I never played a war game in my life until I played Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and let me tell you this game changed my perspective on First-Person Shooters completly. Its single player might be a little short but the online most certainly makes up for it. This game encouraged me to buy more First and Third-person shooters. Any gamer who owns a PS3, Xbox 360, or even a PC shouldI never played a war game in my life until I played Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and let me tell you this game changed my perspective on First-Person Shooters completly. Its single player might be a little short but the online most certainly makes up for it. This game encouraged me to buy more First and Third-person shooters. Any gamer who owns a PS3, Xbox 360, or even a PC should definatley purchase this award winning game. Expand
  5. JeremyA.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing between the campaign and the online play one of the greatest games of all time.
  6. BadHatHarry
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    (I would give this game a 9.5 but there is no 9.5 in the score rating database thing) This game is an amazing achievement in 360 history. Top-notch graphics, excellent campaign, awesome muliplayer! This game has it all.
  7. BenW.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    This is without a doubt the best FPS ever made, and I highly doubt that there will be anything that comes remotely close to surpassing COD4 in the genre for years to come.
  8. GilsT
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best shotters i have played in a long time even if the physics are not the best it is kind of funny that if you are in oldschool mode if you shoot someone with a pistol that they take a backfilp and they twist their waist in a circle
  9. SamM.
    Jul 4, 2008
    10
    This game gats a 10, Just for the online mode, with lots of modes available, Excellent maps. this game just keeps you coming back for more. Offline it is a solid shooter which will please all fps fans and would be an 8/10.but online this game rocks.
  10. TedB.
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    The online experience is ideal for a highly competitive superfreak like myself. Modern Combat is absolutely the best first person shooter ever made. Thank you Infinity Ward and please continue building more maps for us to enjoy!
  11. KhristianR.
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    COD4 is the best in the series so far. The solo story would be a 5* film if it got made into one. Not only does this improve on the previous titles, but the online mode is amazing and plays so great. Its hard to describe into detail with the amount of War Games on the market, but if I could recommended it in one setence it would be this. One of the best war games I've ever played, COD4 is the best in the series so far. The solo story would be a 5* film if it got made into one. Not only does this improve on the previous titles, but the online mode is amazing and plays so great. Its hard to describe into detail with the amount of War Games on the market, but if I could recommended it in one setence it would be this. One of the best war games I've ever played, with one of the best Multiplayer online modes ever. SCORE : 94% Expand
  12. J.S.
    Oct 11, 2009
    8
    A pretty decent FPS without a lot of unique single player features. The sniping mission and the AC-130 mission were the best points, but it did have some interesting combat throughout the story. I personally thought World at War was a much better game, especially multiplayer.
  13. JoshwaR.
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    A great game. The single player is short and the play is generic. But the plot line and the story behind it is as good as if not better than any other FPS out there. That makes up for the lapses in play and in the shortness of the story. Why add fluf to appease gamers who would in turn complain of a generic story. The multiplayer is fantastic. Albeit a little glitchy and kinda hard at the A great game. The single player is short and the play is generic. But the plot line and the story behind it is as good as if not better than any other FPS out there. That makes up for the lapses in play and in the shortness of the story. Why add fluf to appease gamers who would in turn complain of a generic story. The multiplayer is fantastic. Albeit a little glitchy and kinda hard at the start when you get good you will have fun. Most of the complaints about this game are minor bugs or just a bunch of whiners complaining about random crap they dont like. They need to get another game not turn off potential players. Expand
  14. AndyK
    Nov 29, 2009
    9
    The best 1st person shooter ever created. The single player campaign is too short but saved only by the great multiplayer. But as I said about Modern Warfare 2 it's alot of money still to fork out if you haven't got Xbox live.
  15. kriswalker
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    this game is by far the best first person shooter out. i am sort of confused by how gears of war 2 has a better score as its a shocking game.
    call of duty 4 on the other hand has 1 or 2 negative things about it, eerything else is brilliant
  16. MikeL
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    Wow... all the hate is amazing. The story mode was linear, but sometimes you need linearity to achieve a focused story. There are plenty of sandbox type games and 'freedom' games out there, yet most are only played through once anyways. The default mode is somewhat easy, but that's why there's a hard mode. The veteran challenge will definitely test your skills, as well Wow... all the hate is amazing. The story mode was linear, but sometimes you need linearity to achieve a focused story. There are plenty of sandbox type games and 'freedom' games out there, yet most are only played through once anyways. The default mode is somewhat easy, but that's why there's a hard mode. The veteran challenge will definitely test your skills, as well as having you throw the controller at some parts. (It's almost as cheap as the endless flying bat respawns from the old NES Ninja Gaiden series.) Anyone who rates this below 5 is, in my mind, just trolling. Expand
  17. Jon
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Definitely a must have. It might even be the single, greatest first person shooter to date. The campaign, while short, is nothing short of amazing. It never lets up on your journey from the beautiful deserts of the Middle East to the abandoned buildings of Pripyat, Ukraine and beyond. For people going at a leisure pace, it might clock in around 10 hours. The multiplayer is what sets it Definitely a must have. It might even be the single, greatest first person shooter to date. The campaign, while short, is nothing short of amazing. It never lets up on your journey from the beautiful deserts of the Middle East to the abandoned buildings of Pripyat, Ukraine and beyond. For people going at a leisure pace, it might clock in around 10 hours. The multiplayer is what sets it apart. As much as I do love Halo, CoD multiplayer is in my opinion better. I can only hope that Modern Warfare 2 can deliver, since there's massive hype on it. Expand
  18. NickO.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    The overall length of the single player was short but one of the more enjoyable campaigns I have ever played. Then theres the multiplayer, which takes all other shooter games, such as halo and battlefield 2. Combines them all plus more to make an amazing gaming experience.
  19. AnonymousMC
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Although short campaign, it is incredibly well done (especially the British SAS missions). Large variety of different match types for multilayer.
  20. lucas38
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Without question, Call of Duty 4 is the best FPS out there! I like Halo 3, but the sheer grittiness and realism of the MP battles in CoD4 make Halo 3 MP feel like a walk through the park. In fact, after a particularly gut wrenching battle in CoD4, I hopped into a MP battle in Halo 3 and it felt downright relaxing! Call of Duty 4 is a white knuckle ride of a game and being a Black male Without question, Call of Duty 4 is the best FPS out there! I like Halo 3, but the sheer grittiness and realism of the MP battles in CoD4 make Halo 3 MP feel like a walk through the park. In fact, after a particularly gut wrenching battle in CoD4, I hopped into a MP battle in Halo 3 and it felt downright relaxing! Call of Duty 4 is a white knuckle ride of a game and being a Black male that's saying a lot! LOL! Expand
  21. DaveH.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    This game is pure excellence. It is far worth the 50-60$ spent to buy it. Phenominal graphics, AI, and story make this for a great game. And I'm tired of everyone complaining about a "short single player" because it lasts much longer than 5 hours IF you dont play it on the Easiest difficulties. Buy it.
  22. JasonW.
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Excellent game. Very fun. Visually awesome. Definately worth playing.
  23. BillCleveland
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Single player is short, but to say it is a poor effort is asinine. The single player is as captivating as any i have played. And the fact that it only took about 9 hours to beat doesn't matter much to me, because i'm sure i will get 100 hours out of the multiplayer. Buy this game!
  24. MikeM.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Although the single player does feel short, the leveling up through multi player, and the over all level playing feel more than makes up for it.
  25. LiefS.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Amazing game, it makes halo look like a current gen game. and it took a way less time to make, it shows what game makers can do when they dont just rely on a name and online play, and the online play is realistic which i prefer reather than shooting, gun butting and then grenading to kill someone.
  26. MikeD.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    The single player action is short but very well done leaving wanting much more, But the real value is in the deep level up multiplayer that reawards you for playing well and often, but at the same time keeps the playing feild level that your rank doesnt matter its all about skill. Not to mention that leveling is just about how many kills or games you've won, but more about specific The single player action is short but very well done leaving wanting much more, But the real value is in the deep level up multiplayer that reawards you for playing well and often, but at the same time keeps the playing feild level that your rank doesnt matter its all about skill. Not to mention that leveling is just about how many kills or games you've won, but more about specific tasks and activities that you most accomplish. Multiplayer also has some many option of game play that all fps fans of any type will have something they love. Expand
  27. MarcS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    8
    This game is one smooth ride. I must admit that I only play this one online, so can't say anything about the offline experience. Anyway, I'm glad that FPShooters are finally getting almost up to par with BATTLEFIELD 1942 and BF2. Almost because there are no vehicles in this one whatsoever!!! inexcusable, especially when considering that COD3 did have them. Second point of This game is one smooth ride. I must admit that I only play this one online, so can't say anything about the offline experience. Anyway, I'm glad that FPShooters are finally getting almost up to par with BATTLEFIELD 1942 and BF2. Almost because there are no vehicles in this one whatsoever!!! inexcusable, especially when considering that COD3 did have them. Second point of complaint is the Shaky DOMINATION/WAR gametype. I hope that one day they'll make a decent copy of BF2's CONQUEST mode. So where does this leave us? This leaves us basically with good old boring DEATHMATCH and his buddy TEAM DEATHMATCH. Think of all the over-the-top mayhem and über fun were missing out on here without vehicles, and understand that I don't understand why everybody is handing out 10's here. Expand
  28. MikeHunt
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    This is an awesome game, the graphics, the movement, and the reality. They did a good job on the movement of the characters and surroundings. But not a perfect 10 because of a mission or two that was insanely challenging to beat, but in the end, that's what made it fun. Best Call of Duty
  29. AndrewJ.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    After all the hype for Halo 3, BioShock, Assassin's Creed, and Mass Effect, COD 4 comes out of nowhere and will probably be a multiple Game of the Year award winner, and rightfully so. I've played all of the above games (except Mass Effect, which isn't out yet) and COD 4 easily beats all of them. And I haven't even touched the multiplayer yet. No, seriously. All After all the hype for Halo 3, BioShock, Assassin's Creed, and Mass Effect, COD 4 comes out of nowhere and will probably be a multiple Game of the Year award winner, and rightfully so. I've played all of the above games (except Mass Effect, which isn't out yet) and COD 4 easily beats all of them. And I haven't even touched the multiplayer yet. No, seriously. All I've been playing is the campaign. The single player is that freakin' good. Maybe for everyone else it's short, but I'm having a grand old time with it in 20-30 minute spurts, which is all I can handle anyways, as it's so intense. The sniper mission, the camo mission, the Death From Above mission.....each level is like a work of art. Not BioShock-type art, mind you, but art nonetheless. Probably the greatest FPS I've ever played, although I'm not a huge shooter guy, so I haven't played them all. The fact that I'm not a big FPS fan and am still raving about this game should tell you something. If you don't play this game, you are missing out on one of the best video game experiences you'll ever have. Expand
  30. PaoloJ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    This game was undescribable, and could be found nowhere else. Its online gameplay was fantastic. Though the campaign was kind of short. Other than that everything was wonderful.
  31. DanyT.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    I've played many fps games, CoD 1, 2, bioshock, half-life 1, 2, Battlefield 1942, BF2, to name just a few, and none of them can compare to CoD 4 for the sensation of being right into the action in both, solo campaine and multi-players.
    It's the best of both world ;o)
  32. ChrisS.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    I have to laugh at the sony fanboy who keeps posting under a different name but using the same language. Get over it. PS3 is last in the console wars for now and this is a great game on the 360. I haven't played a combat shooter this good since the old Socom2 days. This is by far a better game than Halo3 and should be shooter of the year if not game of the year. You can't go I have to laugh at the sony fanboy who keeps posting under a different name but using the same language. Get over it. PS3 is last in the console wars for now and this is a great game on the 360. I haven't played a combat shooter this good since the old Socom2 days. This is by far a better game than Halo3 and should be shooter of the year if not game of the year. You can't go wrong with this one. Condolences PS3 fanboy. I'm sure sony will try harder next time. Expand
  33. FredB.
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    The story mode was to quike..... but the online play is amazing!
  34. Steve
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    This game redefines on-line multiplayer. Amazing graphics, depth, and gameplay makes this a top contender for game of the year. For those who complain about the enemy infinitely respawning (which I despise as well) you apparently never have played a COD before because that's what they all do. The game forces you to be good at it. And if you hear anyone complain about the single This game redefines on-line multiplayer. Amazing graphics, depth, and gameplay makes this a top contender for game of the year. For those who complain about the enemy infinitely respawning (which I despise as well) you apparently never have played a COD before because that's what they all do. The game forces you to be good at it. And if you hear anyone complain about the single player campaign's length, tell them to play on veteran like a real player ought to. Expand
  35. RossF.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Best Call of Duty to date. Even with the game built to run at 60 fps constantly, the game looks great. Animations are second to none (I'll never get tired of watching someone in a ghillie suit sprint) Single player has a very nice variety of missions that don't grow old. Besides some very very minor issues (most of which, no lean on the console) this game is perfect. The Best Call of Duty to date. Even with the game built to run at 60 fps constantly, the game looks great. Animations are second to none (I'll never get tired of watching someone in a ghillie suit sprint) Single player has a very nice variety of missions that don't grow old. Besides some very very minor issues (most of which, no lean on the console) this game is perfect. The multiplayer is the best on the 360 and contains a wealth of game types. Expand
  36. AlejandroR.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    This game is easily one of the top five games of the year. This game is awesome. The campaign has great missions. Online is great, and it has you playing frequently because the more experience you earn, the more weapons and "perks" you unlock. I loved the story and the ending to the campaign. It even includes a bonus mission after the game is beat. One of the reasons the user score is This game is easily one of the top five games of the year. This game is awesome. The campaign has great missions. Online is great, and it has you playing frequently because the more experience you earn, the more weapons and "perks" you unlock. I loved the story and the ending to the campaign. It even includes a bonus mission after the game is beat. One of the reasons the user score is currently an 8.4 is because three people gave this game a 0 because it is not as good as the PS3 version supposedly. You cannot give a game a 0 because it is not as good as the PS3 version. Anyways its a great game, especially since its in Modern times (Hence the name Modern Warfare), as opposed to early-mid 20th century like the other games in the Call of Duty series. Expand
  37. AnonymousMC
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    This is a solid game. The actual gameplay is very basic. Multiplayer feels shallow to me because it is all so basic. You run and point and shoot. Others feel it is amazingly deep because of the perks and customization options. Gameplay wise, this game is just another shooter imo.

    With that said, 16 multiplayer maps, great graphics, fairly smooth networking (on the 360 and PC
    This is a solid game. The actual gameplay is very basic. Multiplayer feels shallow to me because it is all so basic. You run and point and shoot. Others feel it is amazingly deep because of the perks and customization options. Gameplay wise, this game is just another shooter imo.

    With that said, 16 multiplayer maps, great graphics, fairly smooth networking (on the 360 and PC versions), and tons of maps and weapon combinations make this an easy buy and a must have in most game collections.

    But this is not GOTY material to me. I've done all this stuff before. Give that honor to something like Mass Effect or even Galaxy.
    Expand
  38. TJC.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable! Modern Warfare unreal.
  39. ShawnS.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Game of the year 2007 Guaranteed.
  40. frankdemor
    Nov 5, 2007
    8
    infinity ward has no idea (and this is just a guess) what ragdoll physics mean. they didnt have it in cod 1 and 2 and they dont have it in cod 4 (cod 3 had it...but it was made by another developer...thank god). what pisses me off even further, they SAY they have ragdoll effects. which is a total lie. they say, they "mo-capped ragdolls"...what?...how can you mo-cap a ragdoll?...and stillinfinity ward has no idea (and this is just a guess) what ragdoll physics mean. they didnt have it in cod 1 and 2 and they dont have it in cod 4 (cod 3 had it...but it was made by another developer...thank god). what pisses me off even further, they SAY they have ragdoll effects. which is a total lie. they say, they "mo-capped ragdolls"...what?...how can you mo-cap a ragdoll?...and still have it be a ragdoll? why cant they admit they just dont know how to implement it? a shooter game without ragdoll physics is like a driving game with no
    gas if you ask me. i mean come on, how fun is it to shoot an enemy and see him crumple into the ground "exactly" like the previous enemy. or, not having the enemy tumble down the stairs after you shoot him? they talk about these insane technologie they put in inside the game, yet...they skipped the most important of them all. even my syphon filter game for psp has rag-dolls for humanity sakes! how hard can it be???. the guy with the beard (producer) says...they mixed the ragdoll effects with animations so its more "real". excuse me?...hello?
    have you guys seen the footage of this game yet alone played it?...can you show me one single rag doll death? the bodies just fall animated and do a slight "glitch" a second before laying motionless...looks like a super nintendo death if you ask me.
    what is the satisfaction in this?...let me go around running with my pretty gun in my pretty war torn world with pretty sounds and visuals only to meet another enemy who curls-up and sits on the ground exactly like the 200 guys before him. cant anyone see this?...are you all hyped up and blind folded for the love of god? wow...power of denial this has to be man...or the power in advertising. whatever, we were all robbed.
    Expand
  41. JeffA.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Think Rainbow Six on crack. Call of Duty 4 puts you right onto the action like no game has before. Infinity Ward totally nailed it. If you miss out on this game, you are missing out on one of the best shooters on any platform. You start off on a ship shooting and kicking in doors, the ship is swaying and breaking apart as you are running to flee the doomed vessel. The action intensifies Think Rainbow Six on crack. Call of Duty 4 puts you right onto the action like no game has before. Infinity Ward totally nailed it. If you miss out on this game, you are missing out on one of the best shooters on any platform. You start off on a ship shooting and kicking in doors, the ship is swaying and breaking apart as you are running to flee the doomed vessel. The action intensifies from there. Expand
  42. SidC.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This game is instantly replayable, and beats Halo 3 by a milestone.
  43. InigoM.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    AWESOME! Blows away Halo 3!
  44. MikeC.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Game of the year by a good margin. Halo 3 is now nothing more than a very expensive coaster after playing COD 4: MW. Purely spectacular and completely addicting, the Halo fanboys may hate to here it, but all facets of COD 4 not only surpass Halo 3, but do so by a healthy margin.
  45. MichaelS.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Wow. By far the best game I have played on the 360. This game is legendary. The amount of detail and care in crafting this masterpiece is dumbfounding. So what if the the single player is a little short. The true beauty of this game lies in it's multiplayer. 16 maps. Fun game types. Rewards out the wazoo. Halo isn't half of what this game is. Beg borrow or steal but get your Wow. By far the best game I have played on the 360. This game is legendary. The amount of detail and care in crafting this masterpiece is dumbfounding. So what if the the single player is a little short. The true beauty of this game lies in it's multiplayer. 16 maps. Fun game types. Rewards out the wazoo. Halo isn't half of what this game is. Beg borrow or steal but get your hands on this game asap. Any time spent playing another 360 game is wasted. Expand
  46. MikeP.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    "Halo 3"...what's that? This game is amazing, intense...and the multiplayer is insanely fun, as is the campaign. Graphics are jawdropping, and the physics spot on. The guy who voted 5 out of 10 doesn't deserve to share the same airspace as the rest of us. COD4 is at the top of the FPS heap, and never lets go of your senses.
  47. CodyM.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    This game was like going to every other game company and just telling them they suck strait to there face. Online is amazing while i will agree that single player is short but if you play it on veteran it is extremely difficult which is better but this game is a must have if you like First Person Shooters.
  48. PaulB.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Ok - so the single player is short but it is oh so sweet. It is absolutely stunning in every level. The chernobyl level in particular is probably one of the best in videogame history. Add to that a multiplayer experience that possibly even eclipses that of Halo 3 and you're onto a surefire winner.
  49. TimC.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    This game is awseome. Those who call this game mediocre or bad are completely wrong. This game is the perfect FPS. Single player is short and fun, but the multiplayer is ridiculous with an unmatched and incredible depth. I was not a huge fan of FPS or the COD franchise, but this game is perfection. Never have I played a game sooo intense and with 55 levels and prestige mode you could play This game is awseome. Those who call this game mediocre or bad are completely wrong. This game is the perfect FPS. Single player is short and fun, but the multiplayer is ridiculous with an unmatched and incredible depth. I was not a huge fan of FPS or the COD franchise, but this game is perfection. Never have I played a game sooo intense and with 55 levels and prestige mode you could play multiplayer forever. Expand
  50. NigelT.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    I don't think Max D. knows what he's talking about at all. The graphics are probably the most stunning I have seen on the system so far. Then as for people saying the campaign was too short. Maybe you don't get it. The campaign is basically just an introduction to get you ready for what the game is all about, which is the online multiplayer. To those of you out there I don't think Max D. knows what he's talking about at all. The graphics are probably the most stunning I have seen on the system so far. Then as for people saying the campaign was too short. Maybe you don't get it. The campaign is basically just an introduction to get you ready for what the game is all about, which is the online multiplayer. To those of you out there without Xbox Live, I truely feel sorry for you, because the online modes are what makes this game epic and something you will be playing long after you're done with the singleplayer mode. Expand
  51. SimonC.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Yo, xbox 360 "master". What kind of magical gun are you playing with that doesn't have recoil? I certainly can't just point and hold down the trigger for a kill unless I am two feet from the guy. Idiots aside, this is a great game that has to be the most photo realistic game on the 360. Strategy and skill come into play on every online match. Not to mention a little luck. This Yo, xbox 360 "master". What kind of magical gun are you playing with that doesn't have recoil? I certainly can't just point and hold down the trigger for a kill unless I am two feet from the guy. Idiots aside, this is a great game that has to be the most photo realistic game on the 360. Strategy and skill come into play on every online match. Not to mention a little luck. This IS the best shooter if not the best game to be released on the 360. Eat that Halo3. Expand
  52. CodyB.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    The single player is the most intense FPS ever. The gameplay and flow are not as good as Halo 3 but the real part that sucks you in is the multiplayer! It blows Halo 2 and 3 out of the water. PERIOD!
  53. JackD
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    This game is very overhyped. Its good and the multiplayer is very good aswell but the single player was alright for one play through but far to scripted for even a second play through. the story is your typical war story but its not terrible the single player is about as long as other games in the series and the multiplayer will last you a long time. there is no co-op mode. probably This game is very overhyped. Its good and the multiplayer is very good aswell but the single player was alright for one play through but far to scripted for even a second play through. the story is your typical war story but its not terrible the single player is about as long as other games in the series and the multiplayer will last you a long time. there is no co-op mode. probably because the levels in single player don;t really allow for any tactical situations so throwing even one more player in probably wouldn't help at all. That brings up my biggest problem with the games singleplayer its very scripted meaning the if you play through on the same act again your going to have the excact same expireince as the first. if you enjoy havin g two or more roots to an objective than call of duty is not a game for you there is only one way to complete the game. The enemy AI is also scripted, they will stay the same place the entire time and just shoot at you regardless of you shooting at them. also they throw grenades way to often. you will die way more from grenades then gunfire. another problem is that the gameplay is an excact replica of the prior games in the series, the only difference is that now your in modern day instead of WW2.Alot of people say that call of duty 4 looks like a movie thanks to its graphics but its also alot like playing a movie in that thou really don't feel like you have any freedom at all. The graphics are not quite as amazing as everybody is saying they are They are incredicle but the envirorments may seem big due to the enormous backdrops but the actuall amount of terrain that your aloud to travel across is very little which takes you out of the game when you can't hop over a road block 1 ft tall. Even with these issues going against the graphics its hard to deny that it does have those moments were you might actually think your watching a movie but what takes you out of the expireince somewhat is the sound. the gun sound are pretty good but what really sucks is that they don't cary theselves realistically across the battle field and sounds directly behind you get lost. it would have been great for multiplayer if the sound worked because then the silencer may be actually useful. speaking of the multiplayer its the only reason i bought the game. Its amazing but still not quite as good as Halo's It has a good ranking system byt the fact that you have to earn the game types by ranking up is retarted. the other issue is that the maps are ripped straight from single player locations which doesn't make alot of sences seeing as the game has a very linear progression. If you don't have online then stay away from this game but if you do have online then go ahead and buy this game just don't expect a single player that you will play twice because you will be lucky to play through it once. Expand
  54. DominikJ.
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    This is one of my favourite games. When I got this game I couldn't stop playing it until it was done. Great simple controls, cool environments and a really interesting story (but too short). Multiplayer is also the only multiplayer I play because its SICK. I hope call of duty 6 will make enemy killing bloodier, missions more open-ended, make enemy and friendly AI smarter, This is one of my favourite games. When I got this game I couldn't stop playing it until it was done. Great simple controls, cool environments and a really interesting story (but too short). Multiplayer is also the only multiplayer I play because its SICK. I hope call of duty 6 will make enemy killing bloodier, missions more open-ended, make enemy and friendly AI smarter, environments more destructible and flammable and the story longer because call of duty must enter the generation of realistic AI and open ended mission design. Expand
  55. EddieE.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Story mode might be short, but it was well put together and i wouldnt change a thing! Multi-player is so much fun, you can get addicted very easily! best game there is!
  56. MikeJ.
    Feb 12, 2008
    9
    The single-player campaign is short but gripping. While it does not have the narrative depth of Bioshock, the story thrusts you into a global conflict while making it very personal. There is one moment, that I won't spoil, that was one of the most effective, gut-wrenching moments of any game I've played. The multi-player game is nothing short of a masterpiece. Combining elements The single-player campaign is short but gripping. While it does not have the narrative depth of Bioshock, the story thrusts you into a global conflict while making it very personal. There is one moment, that I won't spoil, that was one of the most effective, gut-wrenching moments of any game I've played. The multi-player game is nothing short of a masterpiece. Combining elements of a role playing game, you earn experience and equipment the more (and better) you play. It's highly addictive. Expand
  57. ShayP.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    I loved this game! When sniping, you have to have everything right or the shot will miss, such as if the wind is blowing! I say everyone will love this game from the first 10 minutes to the last 10 seconds.
  58. MLambrecht
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    Call of Duty 4 has the best online game play for the 360. Create your class is one of the greatest things put into a game. I hate having to shoot someone 50 times before they die (Halo3). This is a must have game.
  59. Maslab
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    This game has incredible graphics, except that everything is either really gray, really tan, or really green, and not much else. The suits are very well done, and even change depending on your main weapon in multiplayer and the map. Gameplay just feels right. The Controls are right, buttons are right, speed is right. It may either a bit clunky or a bit fast, but play with your sensitivity This game has incredible graphics, except that everything is either really gray, really tan, or really green, and not much else. The suits are very well done, and even change depending on your main weapon in multiplayer and the map. Gameplay just feels right. The Controls are right, buttons are right, speed is right. It may either a bit clunky or a bit fast, but play with your sensitivity setting until it feels right. Very in depth multiplayer. Higher levels are balanced so that they are any more powerful than lower levels, they just have more junk to play with. This is definitely right up there with Halo and Half-Life. Expand
  60. SamJ.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    even after all the hype, Boishock was crappy compared to this. only other games that even come close are halo 3, rainbow six and gears of war. and thats close, they don't manage to better. game of the year, hands down... except for maybe Crysis on pc. anyway... brilliant game.
  61. TommyF.
    Apr 14, 2008
    9
    Kick-ass and must-have game. This game beats Call of Duty 1-3, Halo series, and Bioshock. But so close with Half-Life.
  62. JG
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    Anywhere between 9 and 10 in my view, went with 10 because some are giving very low scores for a short (6 hour) single player campaign. If you only play single player with this game then you are missing the point. That being said, the single player is still enthralling and despite its length is very fun.

    This is one of the best if not the best multiplayer games for the 360. It is the
    Anywhere between 9 and 10 in my view, went with 10 because some are giving very low scores for a short (6 hour) single player campaign. If you only play single player with this game then you are missing the point. That being said, the single player is still enthralling and despite its length is very fun.

    This is one of the best if not the best multiplayer games for the 360. It is the best multiplayer game I have ever played. If you have a gold xbox live account, get this game. If not, get one, then get this game.
    Expand
  63. CameronS.
    Aug 12, 2008
    9
    One of the most intense and cinematic campaigns ever made, alongside with an incredibly deep multiplayer make this a must have for gamers.
  64. IbrahimD
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    Doesn't disappoint, Multi player and storyline(including game play) are all done in a superb manner.
  65. TS
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    One of the best shooters, and best games, ever. The singleplayer, while short, is just amazingly well-done. And the online is very addicting and well made. Also, it helps that it's a popular game, as people still play it to this day.
  66. AndrewM
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    "J.S." must be blind, deaf, and uncoordinated to think that World at War can even be compared to this game. CoD4 delivers a great narrative single player mode, disgustingly good multiplayer, and is filled with small details that make the game one of the best ever. If you haven't had the pleasure of trying it out, do so before the sequel comes out in November.
  67. Adam
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Although the campaign is short it is non-stop action all the way, and upon completion you unlock a few extra features that give it an even longer life span. Where the game really gets its legs is in its multi-player. I consider it the best an FPS can offer in terms of online play and has my vote for game of the year.
  68. JimmyH.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Very good. Only problems are that there is no offline co-op, and that theres only one C-130 map.
  69. MitchellC.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Graphic and sound is awesome...gameplay is intense and satisfying.
  70. AndrewM.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    Remember all that talk about a "halo killer"? Well I had played Halo 3 for quite some time and recently beat this game and COD4 truly is that "halo killer." The single player is short, but has excellent quality and atomosphere. The online multiplayer keeps you hooked with unlockable weapons and perks that makes you feel like you fully customizing your game plan. The maps, as compared to Remember all that talk about a "halo killer"? Well I had played Halo 3 for quite some time and recently beat this game and COD4 truly is that "halo killer." The single player is short, but has excellent quality and atomosphere. The online multiplayer keeps you hooked with unlockable weapons and perks that makes you feel like you fully customizing your game plan. The maps, as compared to Halo, are more vast and provide for multiple types of play in headquarters and capture the flag. Now, don't get me wrong. Halo 3 is good, but every second of COD4 is simply a riot to play. Expand
  71. JR.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    This is truly the best FPS ever. The single player is not the best ive played (still awesome) but, the mutiplayer brings this FPS game to where none i have ever played have gone. Halo 3 really just got the boot as a GOTY contender now that this came out (thank god)....so it should be between COD4 and Mass Effect.
  72. MagnumPI
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    My jaw has dropped so many times when playing this game !!! The graphics are amazing !!!! The gameplay s amazing !!!! The is the best and most exciting FPS i have EVER played (and I have playe alot !!!). I cant understand why PS3 owners are even rating, let alone moaning. Surely you are being a hypocrite for playing a non-PS3 game in the first place ???? Anyway, this is the best game onMy jaw has dropped so many times when playing this game !!! The graphics are amazing !!!! The gameplay s amazing !!!! The is the best and most exciting FPS i have EVER played (and I have playe alot !!!). I cant understand why PS3 owners are even rating, let alone moaning. Surely you are being a hypocrite for playing a non-PS3 game in the first place ???? Anyway, this is the best game on the XBox 360 this year !!! Expand
  73. JasonT.
    Nov 29, 2007
    9
    This is an awesome XBOX LIVE game. The attention to detail has not been lost from single player to multi player. The explosions are heavy, the smoke is thick and the weather is spot on. The feeling of intense battle are as close as you can get it. Without actually knowing what this feels like in real life, in this virtual life you feel the adrenalin pump as you duck and cover as you hear This is an awesome XBOX LIVE game. The attention to detail has not been lost from single player to multi player. The explosions are heavy, the smoke is thick and the weather is spot on. The feeling of intense battle are as close as you can get it. Without actually knowing what this feels like in real life, in this virtual life you feel the adrenalin pump as you duck and cover as you hear the tink tink of a near by grenade landing at your feet. The dust settles and your on your toes again, firing your M16 or others wildly but with intent. A few men taken down by sure shots follows by the shock of being shot down from a sniper through a distant window draws his breath and squeezes the trigger. You know this as a clever kill camera reviews your last moments from your assassins movements are reviewed. its a sucker punch every time! Along with all that and much more including guns galore, clever perks add to your gameplay such as steady aim, ultra conditions so you can sprint longer and an AVU blocker to make you invisible to enemy radar, it makes it a MUST BUY. trade in your Halo 3s. Trade inyour GRAWS and gear's. This is the only FPS shooter you need. Could be even better with a few neat vehicles. Expand
  74. BowenL.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    To get to know this game, you need to play it for more then an hour. The campaign takes getting used to because of physics and effects not known to other game. One example is shooting through walls. Someone could be confused about this feature, but there is actrually a challenge in the online multiplayer that encourages you to shoots through walls to kill your enemy. The campaign had To get to know this game, you need to play it for more then an hour. The campaign takes getting used to because of physics and effects not known to other game. One example is shooting through walls. Someone could be confused about this feature, but there is actrually a challenge in the online multiplayer that encourages you to shoots through walls to kill your enemy. The campaign had amazing graphics and is great on hardened or veteran mode, while the multi-player addicts you to numbing visuals and a great sense of emergence. You would have to be a noob or a retard to skip this game. Amazing game, possibly better then Halo 3. Expand
  75. connorK
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    game is quite good very nice story line keeps you on your seat online simply put awesome countless houres spent on this game
  76. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    The campaign and multiplayer are exceptionally well done, even if the former is occasionally too linear. It's really too bad that Activision felt they had to release 3 more games following this one with almost the exact same formula. But still, COD4 is a stellar title.
  77. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Modern Warfare delivers on the hype. It's a great looking game, has a solid campaign, and great online multi-player. More importantly, it shows that Infinity Ward can break from what they are comfortable with and still deliver a great game. Hopefully this trend continues.
  78. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this game. I think the single player campaign could have been a bit longer, but altogether I did enjoy the story. This is definitely a neat look inside of the technology that our military uses to keep up safe. The graphics look great, and they are very smooth. The voice acting is stellar, and the missions are creative. Overall, I think Infinity Ward took their time andI thoroughly enjoyed this game. I think the single player campaign could have been a bit longer, but altogether I did enjoy the story. This is definitely a neat look inside of the technology that our military uses to keep up safe. The graphics look great, and they are very smooth. The voice acting is stellar, and the missions are creative. Overall, I think Infinity Ward took their time and really tired to make a great game, not necessarily a game that would make them an insane amount of money. The only places Modern Warfare is lacking are the length of the campaign and the multiplayer. Although it is a lot of fun to play this game with your buddies, there are very few options to make the multiplayer interesting. There are something like 10 multiplayer maps, 10 or so preset "classes" of warrior, and very few game types. I just wish it would've been upgraded with a few more options. All that said, this game is definitely worth the time, and the story alone is worth the money. Expand
  79. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Call of duty modern warfare is by far one of the best games i've ever played. It has the funnest campaign ever and an amazing story with it. 2007 was a great year for gaming with halo 3 and bioshock and super mario galazy, but this is by far the best of the best. Graphics are now 3 years old and they are still the best of the best. Multiplayer is something that people are still playingCall of duty modern warfare is by far one of the best games i've ever played. It has the funnest campaign ever and an amazing story with it. 2007 was a great year for gaming with halo 3 and bioshock and super mario galazy, but this is by far the best of the best. Graphics are now 3 years old and they are still the best of the best. Multiplayer is something that people are still playing today and will continue to for many years to come. With a crap load of weapons including some of the best snipers in COD history. Multiplayer maps were so good that they brought 4 of them into the sequel. Modern warfare gets a 10 out of 10.

    Review9
    Expand
  80. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    Call of duty 4 is truly the best shooter i have ever played. It set new standards gameplay wise and visual wise. The single player campaign has an intense storyline and excellent gameplay that will keep you hooked till the very end. Now that is just half of this amazing experience as this game also has a great multiplayer that you put hours after hours days after days of gameplay into andCall of duty 4 is truly the best shooter i have ever played. It set new standards gameplay wise and visual wise. The single player campaign has an intense storyline and excellent gameplay that will keep you hooked till the very end. Now that is just half of this amazing experience as this game also has a great multiplayer that you put hours after hours days after days of gameplay into and it will never get old. Expand
  81. Jul 6, 2012
    9
    Brilliant game, I wish they had simply just released more maps for this game than releasing it's sequels. Where did they go wrong from here to the next game?
  82. Jun 9, 2011
    8
    The game that ignited the massive (and annoying) success of the Call of Duty franchise and the last good Call of Duty game. Great graphics, engaging story, great shooting mechanics and addicting online multi-player. Though the story campaign is short, it is pretty much the best CoD campaign and had no **** moments compared to future installments. Multi-player is pretty much the seller andThe game that ignited the massive (and annoying) success of the Call of Duty franchise and the last good Call of Duty game. Great graphics, engaging story, great shooting mechanics and addicting online multi-player. Though the story campaign is short, it is pretty much the best CoD campaign and had no **** moments compared to future installments. Multi-player is pretty much the seller and it is as solid as Halo's multi-player. Good points aside, it never really innovates the FPS genre and the campaign is not good for replay value and I partly blame this game for the over-saturation of FPS games nowadays and also started many annoying trends that games (mainly FPS) follow. Expand
  83. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    New to the whole franchise COD_MW2 is my first shot at this franchise. Amazing, great game, good re- playability. The multi-player gives tons of things to do, im not a fan of certain maps one is to big the other is just annoying, i don't mind campers if thats how you play then go for it, I don't mind tubers do you. I do mind those that take advantage of glitches however. Overall probablyNew to the whole franchise COD_MW2 is my first shot at this franchise. Amazing, great game, good re- playability. The multi-player gives tons of things to do, im not a fan of certain maps one is to big the other is just annoying, i don't mind campers if thats how you play then go for it, I don't mind tubers do you. I do mind those that take advantage of glitches however. Overall probably the best online experience in an FPS i have had on the console. My suggestion if you haven't played it is rent it, something tells me after you do you'll buy it.Im not giving it a 10 because some of the things mentioned by John P about enemies coming out of a doorway until you reach the spawn point is true. The only thing for me is this is a game they have to program certain things in it. This game is ran off a disk which has limited space not everything can be down in the cloud... If you want to see real spawn points and real enemy movement create a game that does this in a cloud until then you will see weak spawn points like JOHN P mentioned. Expand
  84. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    It's probably the lasty good, or even great Call of Duty Game. From here on, it just got extremely repetitive. It's fun and engrossing. The campaign ain't that bad either.
  85. May 19, 2016
    10
    This game loosened my grip on Halo as my go-to FPS. CoD4 has one of the greatest campaign modes ever for an FPS and boasted a streamlined multiplayer experience that encouraged constant player engagement and some customization. While the series would expand with a great sequel, CoD4 is regarded as one of the most important games of the 2000-2009 decade and is still talked about withThis game loosened my grip on Halo as my go-to FPS. CoD4 has one of the greatest campaign modes ever for an FPS and boasted a streamlined multiplayer experience that encouraged constant player engagement and some customization. While the series would expand with a great sequel, CoD4 is regarded as one of the most important games of the 2000-2009 decade and is still talked about with great fondness to this day. So much so that Infinity Wars, creators of CoD4, are remastering it with a special release of Infinite Warfare in 2016. For me, Modern Warfare and Modern Warfare 2 hold some of my most memorable moments in campaign and multiplayer. If you haven't played them and you're a shooter fan, you owe it to yourself to give the Modern Warfare series a play-through.. Expand
  86. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = The standard for online shooters today. No one makes a game PERIOD in todays gaming age without borrowing something from this game. A really amazing fps experience.
  87. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is the best multiplayer online shooter ever made. The single player is there, and it's cool, but that's not the point of this game. The class system and unlockables make this the most engaging, interesting game in the series. There's not so much stuff that it's annoying like its current version (Black Ops), and it just feels right. The maps are paced correctly and there's more than aThis is the best multiplayer online shooter ever made. The single player is there, and it's cool, but that's not the point of this game. The class system and unlockables make this the most engaging, interesting game in the series. There's not so much stuff that it's annoying like its current version (Black Ops), and it just feels right. The maps are paced correctly and there's more than a few interesting choke points and mission modes that keep it varied. I'm not sure what the negative reviews for this game are going for -- this game was nothing short of a multiplayer revolution. Finally a game that mixes realism, twitch FPS gaming, and an engaging leveling system. Expand
  88. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    Smack Job here. To be honest I played MW2 but found it to be boring, with a bad campaign and an unbalanced multiplayer, with a crap SpecOps with recycled campaign level mad even more boring. I found this to be WAYYYY better. Fantastic campaign, much more balanced multiplayer. Not the best graphics I've seen and no Co-Op but they'll do and the solid gameplay more than makes up for it. GoodSmack Job here. To be honest I played MW2 but found it to be boring, with a bad campaign and an unbalanced multiplayer, with a crap SpecOps with recycled campaign level mad even more boring. I found this to be WAYYYY better. Fantastic campaign, much more balanced multiplayer. Not the best graphics I've seen and no Co-Op but they'll do and the solid gameplay more than makes up for it. Good game. Good game. Expand
  89. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Just a brilliant game.i don't remember playing better Multiplayer ever and Campaign is also EPIC
  90. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Second best game I have ever played on any xbox system...Original Halo. That said this game is by far the best war game ever made. The weapons are great, the killing is great. I love how you can bomb people from the sky with a remote. Very violent, great.
  91. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    FPS perfection!! Theres very few games I would give a 10 too but the Call of Duty Series, (especially Infinity Ward) is definitely an exception to the rule. There is no Game out there that has the intensity in single player mode and game play and frame rate in multi-player. There is no substitution for the Whole Call of Duty Series!!
  92. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    This is my second favorite game of the Call of Duty series. The story is pretty good and this game handles and feels better than any game before. It came out in 2007 and it's still among the most played XBOX Live games. Multiplayer is extremely balanced, except for juggernaut, but it's easily reversed with stopping power. The graphics are good for it's time and the IW engine was at it'sThis is my second favorite game of the Call of Duty series. The story is pretty good and this game handles and feels better than any game before. It came out in 2007 and it's still among the most played XBOX Live games. Multiplayer is extremely balanced, except for juggernaut, but it's easily reversed with stopping power. The graphics are good for it's time and the IW engine was at it's best for this game. It's extremely fun. Expand
  93. May 24, 2011
    10
    Ah. I bought this game after trading in Black Ops, which I didn't overly enjoy, and I was impressed. This is where Call of Duty turned into what it is today. And it's never been done better. The campaign had a good story, good set-pieces, and interesting little tid-bits for the pro-player. The multiplayer is simply, in my view, perfection. I can't see any other game ever beating what CoD 4Ah. I bought this game after trading in Black Ops, which I didn't overly enjoy, and I was impressed. This is where Call of Duty turned into what it is today. And it's never been done better. The campaign had a good story, good set-pieces, and interesting little tid-bits for the pro-player. The multiplayer is simply, in my view, perfection. I can't see any other game ever beating what CoD 4 accomplished with it's online mode. Pick up the GOTY if you've somehow missed this. Expand
  94. Apr 24, 2011
    9
    Very good game. Pretty much the role-model for the rest of the online shooters that came out after it. The multiplayer at the time was like no other and was really fun. I believe this game is the one that got everyone into FPS. I have played all of the call of duties in the series and this one is by far the best for it's time. I had a lot of memories playing this game, and when I play itVery good game. Pretty much the role-model for the rest of the online shooters that came out after it. The multiplayer at the time was like no other and was really fun. I believe this game is the one that got everyone into FPS. I have played all of the call of duties in the series and this one is by far the best for it's time. I had a lot of memories playing this game, and when I play it again I always have fun. Easy 9 in my book. Expand
  95. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    This is the only game FPS game that I can honestly say I loved. The fact that many people still play the multiplayer mode of this game to date shows you how amazingly addictive it is. The graphics and the wide variety of missions keep you wanting to play on. However, what really makes this game stand out for me is its brilliant story and powerful characters, which is rare among modernThis is the only game FPS game that I can honestly say I loved. The fact that many people still play the multiplayer mode of this game to date shows you how amazingly addictive it is. The graphics and the wide variety of missions keep you wanting to play on. However, what really makes this game stand out for me is its brilliant story and powerful characters, which is rare among modern first person shooters. A very good game. Expand
  96. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    It seems to have become very popular to criticize the Call of Duty franchise recently but it is easy to forget how influential Call of Duty 4, the first of the Modern Warfare games has been. The single player mode took in a huge variety of locations putting the player in control of both a U.S Marine and British S.A.S. soldier fighting through an unfolding story, that while still lightIt seems to have become very popular to criticize the Call of Duty franchise recently but it is easy to forget how influential Call of Duty 4, the first of the Modern Warfare games has been. The single player mode took in a huge variety of locations putting the player in control of both a U.S Marine and British S.A.S. soldier fighting through an unfolding story, that while still light years behind the best movies, was full of twists and turns that kept the player guessing. At the time the game play was a huge leap forward for console shooters coupling rock solid controls with fantastic set pieces in which too test your skills. For me, although each of the sequels other than World at War were also very good, this first Modern Warfare title remains the pinnacle of the franchise in this regard.

    It was of course the multi-player however that truly made Modern Warfare stand out from the crowd. I had never been interested in any on-line shooter before but spent weeks playing on this. The fantastic gunplay from the single-player was coupled with an excellent selection of maps and the all important perk system, now a standard for any on-line FPS. Allowing players the chance to customise their characters weapon set, special ability and appearance was a masterstroke and has helped make Call of Duty the most valuable franchise in gaming today.
    Expand
  97. May 12, 2011
    10
    The best game of 2007, hands down. Infinity Ward has revived the franchise to it's true potential. With an interesting story with memorable environments and locations, and extremely fun, intense, and addicting mulitplayer, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, is the reason why Call of Duty, is where it is at today.
  98. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Intriguing story, actually fun multiplayer (and I don't like very many multiplayer games), and great visuals for its time, this is a game that is not to be missed. One of the best of the generation.
  99. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Modern Warfare is a great game. Probably the best story mode for a FPS that I've played in a long time, but you play COD for the multiplayer. If you just bought any COD game for the story mode then you're not utilizing the full potential or the maxium level of enjoyment the game has to offer. The only complaint I have about the game is something that I will continue to see in the CODModern Warfare is a great game. Probably the best story mode for a FPS that I've played in a long time, but you play COD for the multiplayer. If you just bought any COD game for the story mode then you're not utilizing the full potential or the maxium level of enjoyment the game has to offer. The only complaint I have about the game is something that I will continue to see in the COD franchise I'm sure; maps feel way to restricted. I understand the game was meant to be more close quarter combat VS a more open map like Battlefield, but even Counter Strike feels like you have more room than the best COD map. MW and MW2 are in my opinion, the best the COD franchise has to offer at this point. Expand
  100. May 28, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite FPS, I find it funny how all the negative reviews are coming from PS3 fanboys and Halo fanboys...lulz
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Simply put, Call of Duty 4 does everything right and nearly nothing wrong. But where it elevates itself above even the best 360 shooters is how all of the good stuff is ludicrously good. The campaign never lets up, while multiplayer is a triple-A affair in itself. [Dec 2007, p.36]
  2. COD4 is cutting-edge entertainment, but the downside to this dense and gripping delivery is that it's over far too quickly: five to six hours on Normal difficulty...COD4 is short but immensely satisfying and we can't wait for a post-modern revival. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  3. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.