User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1197 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2012
    6
    This game is probably the best modern war shooter game ive played, but still not that special to me.
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    6
    Ok this is old I know, but this game used to be amazing, this game has gone downhill ever since, now its just people hacking... this game used to be made of gold... now the only thing made of gold in this game is some of the cammo... and hackers, if your going to hack, dont boast about it... it makes you look like a ****
  3. May 22, 2011
    6
    It's really quite mediocre, as far as gameplay is concerned (and I'm only concerned with gameplay).

    The single player campaign's gameplay is entirely uninspired; it's mostly just shooting down hundreds of generic dumb-as-rocks terrorists or whatnot, which is made effortless and pointless by the autoaim feature, with an occasional minigame-like event. In any case, it's entirely scripted --
    It's really quite mediocre, as far as gameplay is concerned (and I'm only concerned with gameplay).

    The single player campaign's gameplay is entirely uninspired; it's mostly just shooting down hundreds of generic dumb-as-rocks terrorists or whatnot, which is made effortless and pointless by the autoaim feature, with an occasional minigame-like event. In any case, it's entirely scripted -- at no point does the SP require any skill but following directions (except pressing the right button at the right time, in the case of the dogs and grenades, which are both instant kills and can be hard to avoid). The whole SP campaign really ends up being a skeleton on which to hang a bad action movie on. 1/5.

    As for multiplayer, it's better than the PC version, if only for the ability to play split-screen. I actually had quite a bit of fun after disabling the horribly overpowered killstreak gimmicks and enabling Old-School mode for the item collection skill (the default MP has a spawn-with-items system). They give you the tools to remove much of the dumbed-down FPS gameplay that's so ridiculously popular nowadays, and so it earns a solid 4/5 in my book.
    Expand
  4. xbox360master
    Nov 30, 2007
    6
    As most people have said the single player is good fun but short and the online as plenty of depth, but for me i think the shooting lets this game down alot its not they relistic as you just aim and keep your finger on the trigger button and your gun just stays in the same place, so u dont need to tap the shoot button unlike most realistic shooters, this may seem minor but this alone lets As most people have said the single player is good fun but short and the online as plenty of depth, but for me i think the shooting lets this game down alot its not they relistic as you just aim and keep your finger on the trigger button and your gun just stays in the same place, so u dont need to tap the shoot button unlike most realistic shooters, this may seem minor but this alone lets the whole game down for me i would perfer to play Rainbow six or MOH Airbourne.Plus there is no co -op online or off unlike COD2 why?Oh and what makes this different from any other shooter, someone plz tell me. Expand
  5. George
    Sep 20, 2009
    6
    Uninspired, dull, and nothing new. Single-player is akin to having your hand held on a tour through an interesting locale, but one that is fret with boring and unimaginative pit stops. Each pit stop amounts to, more or less, a shooting gallery. Multiplayer is what I would call completely unoriginal with a twist. Deathmatch, the outdated stand-by, and Team Deathmatch (in essence, Uninspired, dull, and nothing new. Single-player is akin to having your hand held on a tour through an interesting locale, but one that is fret with boring and unimaginative pit stops. Each pit stop amounts to, more or less, a shooting gallery. Multiplayer is what I would call completely unoriginal with a twist. Deathmatch, the outdated stand-by, and Team Deathmatch (in essence, deathmatch without the ability to shoot certain people) are present, of course, as well as a multitude of other slight variations. The slight twist is two things. One, the ability to rank up, complete challenges, and unlock additional guns, equipment and perks. And, two, the ability to call in some form of support as a reward for killing sprees. Unfortunately, you unlock, at most, a handful of guns where one is a clear winner in each category. Equipment is mostly useless, and perks are unreliable, ineffective, useless, or all three. Calling in support during a match amounts to rewarding luck with an unfair advantage. Being harassed by an AI with the equivilent of autoaim and wallhacks defeats the purpose of multiplayer. Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2011
    6
    My 3rd Call of Duty after COD 5 and COD 3. The graphics are better than COD 3 but not 5 which is a let down. However the main selling point is that it's modern which it does well. However for me the campaign was too unrealistic with the linear progression. A major let down for all games like COD is the regenerating health. Though it helps in real life your health doesn't regenerate. ThatMy 3rd Call of Duty after COD 5 and COD 3. The graphics are better than COD 3 but not 5 which is a let down. However the main selling point is that it's modern which it does well. However for me the campaign was too unrealistic with the linear progression. A major let down for all games like COD is the regenerating health. Though it helps in real life your health doesn't regenerate. That aside the multiplayer fares better with the Old School mode especially. The amount of glitches exploited for the brilliant game Mike Myers is unreal yet fun. The campaign is the real let down for me and thats why it can't get a high mark. Expand
  7. jh
    Aug 9, 2009
    7
    Fortunately I'm unbiased enough to not mark off a huge load of points just because I don't like the overall userscore. I feel a 7 is representative of the game, unlike the kind of scores it's pulled elsewhere. CoD4, like the many CoDs before it, is extremely linear. Someone actually had taken the position on the Destructoid forums that linearity doesn't make a game Fortunately I'm unbiased enough to not mark off a huge load of points just because I don't like the overall userscore. I feel a 7 is representative of the game, unlike the kind of scores it's pulled elsewhere. CoD4, like the many CoDs before it, is extremely linear. Someone actually had taken the position on the Destructoid forums that linearity doesn't make a game bad. He's wrong and right; non-linearity extends the life a game by presenting the player with multi-faceted decisions, warranting extended playthroughs and evoking the emotion of 'freedom' that you don't get in linear games. Linearity only works if the game is really long, and that's exactly where CoD4 commits its greatest sin. It's short. On default difficulty I completed it in 4 hours, without even trying. Thankfully it was a rent. Haven't gone back to it since. Collapse
  8. Exosus
    Dec 2, 2007
    7
    A good game, all in all, but offline story and online map design hold it back from greatness.
  9. HagenM.
    Oct 7, 2008
    6
    COD4 has an amazing campaign mode with many jaw dropping moments. But it only lasts for a short while. The multiplayer is great for about a week when you realise that you're doing the same thing everygame. The skill level is not even here. 1 shot and the other guy is dead in most cases. The game needs better custom games to keep the longevity of Halo.
  10. GarrettL
    Sep 6, 2009
    6
    This game is so overrated and isn't even that fun to play online. The story in single player is the most generic story ever, terrorists with nukes. The regenerating health make it so easy to beat it this game could play itself. It is is fun but really just another generic fps on xbox 360 over hyped.
  11. PaulS.
    Oct 17, 2008
    5
    The game is fun...for a bit. I don't know what people are so mad over with this game, over all I feel it wasn't and still isn't worth the price you pay for it. While it seems like its a good SP game and a good MP game it falls on its face in terms of longevity. I know most CoD4 fans hate Halo, but the comparison is there in terms of replay value. I can find 10 reasons off The game is fun...for a bit. I don't know what people are so mad over with this game, over all I feel it wasn't and still isn't worth the price you pay for it. While it seems like its a good SP game and a good MP game it falls on its face in terms of longevity. I know most CoD4 fans hate Halo, but the comparison is there in terms of replay value. I can find 10 reasons off the top of my head to play halo again, Single and Multiplayer, I can think of maybe 2 for Call of Duty 4. Its good, but not as good as everyone says it is, thats why I voted so low. To much hype for not enough return. Expand
  12. JeanF.
    Mar 18, 2008
    5
    Very good on first play through but very scripted and frustrating to play for achievements.
  13. UncleDouglasB.
    Nov 16, 2007
    6
    This game is grossly overrated. There's really nothing special about it, it's just too linear to have depth and be enjoyable. The controls are wonky (holding down the left thumbstick for running gets annoying) and the graphics are inconsistent. An overall disappointment.
  14. JeffS
    Nov 11, 2009
    5
    It's pretty cool, I'll admit, but I think it's total B.S. that there's no indicator of when you're going to lose the hammer. I smash like 6 barrels and then just as I'm about to smash the 7th, the hammer disappears. And who builds a ladder that doesn't go all the way up? Gorilla graphics are pretty cool and the bump mapping on rolling barrels is It's pretty cool, I'll admit, but I think it's total B.S. that there's no indicator of when you're going to lose the hammer. I smash like 6 barrels and then just as I'm about to smash the 7th, the hammer disappears. And who builds a ladder that doesn't go all the way up? Gorilla graphics are pretty cool and the bump mapping on rolling barrels is photorealistic. I hope that eventually you actually get to rescue the girl. Expand
  15. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    Call of Duty 4 was one of the first games of this generation that I played, and I enjoyed the campaign. It is an action-packed, explosion-filled thrill ride from start to finish. The missions are varied and I didn't get bored. The way the game makes you sympathise for the characters is amicable, and there are twists along the way. The multiplayer is where this game rules; it kickstartedCall of Duty 4 was one of the first games of this generation that I played, and I enjoyed the campaign. It is an action-packed, explosion-filled thrill ride from start to finish. The missions are varied and I didn't get bored. The way the game makes you sympathise for the characters is amicable, and there are twists along the way. The multiplayer is where this game rules; it kickstarted the franchise into what it is now, and if you go back and play this game you'll notice few differences between it and Black Ops, bar killed streaks, guns, perks and maps. If you haven't played Call of Duty 4, it's worth a rent at least, but you can get it quite cheap now and there are still thousands playing it online every day. 3/5. Expand
  16. Jan 4, 2011
    6
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is only good for it's multiplayer, the campaign is short, people say it has an " amazing campaign filled with draw jumping moments and epic set pieces and memorable characters" it does nothing new and a predictable boring plot with no jaw dropping moments or epic set pieces, graphics aren't good, they didn't even try with the environments just a bunch ofCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is only good for it's multiplayer, the campaign is short, people say it has an " amazing campaign filled with draw jumping moments and epic set pieces and memorable characters" it does nothing new and a predictable boring plot with no jaw dropping moments or epic set pieces, graphics aren't good, they didn't even try with the environments just a bunch of rooms of houses cluttered with boxes and junk, voice acting is great and the music is pretty good and gunfire is good, the controls are AMAZING some of the best out there, multiplayer is what you should buy this game for, it's deep fun and amazing, just buy this game for the multiplayer Expand
  17. Jan 27, 2014
    7
    A solid and entertaining experience, I came to the game too late to get anything from the multiplayer experience but the campaign itself was very entertaining and the story arc plays well across the three MW games. Graphics, gunplay and immersion still hold strong even today whilst many games of this period have quickly aged and flagged.
  18. JamesB.
    Feb 16, 2008
    5
    The Game essentially consists of 2 different Parts: The Campaign and the Multiplayer Mode. Both parts look awesome at first glance. But a while of testing lets an experienced player look under the hood and what you see there is overly mediocre and obsolete gameplay. First Things first, the Campaign: The presentation of the campaign is top notch. That is of course the reason why this game The Game essentially consists of 2 different Parts: The Campaign and the Multiplayer Mode. Both parts look awesome at first glance. But a while of testing lets an experienced player look under the hood and what you see there is overly mediocre and obsolete gameplay. First Things first, the Campaign: The presentation of the campaign is top notch. That is of course the reason why this game succeeds in most players ratings. The gameplay on the other hand falls off against that beautiful presentation very harsh. You are confronted with the worst thing of modern FPS games: a linear awefully scripted rebirth of COD2. If one can learn from doom3 debacle ist that no one likes scripted shooters. Especially if the are illogical. Just to name one of such an annoyance: One can shoot out of the enemy helicopters that are the most often the most dangerous thread in the campaign the MG gunner. But in the moment you shot him he is replaced by a new one (unlimited times). The multiplayer has a slightly different presentation that does not look so well like the campaign, but the field of depth effect looks in online mode great as well. The problem with online mode is the fact that your success mostly depends on how often you have played multiplayer and how good your connection is to the XBOX that hosts the game. The more often you play the game the better is your weapons arsenal that by default makes you superior to newcomers. That is not a great idea but it is one you can accept. But if you loose your duels against other players although you sawe and shot the first then you get really mad. Even worse is that the engine looses your kills during game. I witnessed with my friends who sat besides me more than once that the in game statistic showed 2 kills on my list and five seconds later my 2 kills were gone and I was again at zero. This happens very frequently and has nothing to do with the score-penalty one gets for killing friendly players. In the end result both parts look really great at first but fall of short very fast if one gets a deeper look at them. Expand
  19. PaulH.
    Feb 8, 2008
    7
    This may be one of the most over-rated games of all time. While the presentation is outstanding the actually gameplay is incredibly frustrating and not particularly interesting. All of the weapons are basically the same, you die by random grenades all the time, there is no real tactical choice in the single player experience. The game developers are forcing you to play the game the way This may be one of the most over-rated games of all time. While the presentation is outstanding the actually gameplay is incredibly frustrating and not particularly interesting. All of the weapons are basically the same, you die by random grenades all the time, there is no real tactical choice in the single player experience. The game developers are forcing you to play the game the way they intended feel is best and do not allow you to express yourself in the least. The only reason my rating is so high is because outside of the gameplay, everything else is fantastic. Expand
  20. Mike
    Feb 8, 2008
    5
    Call of duty 4 is Infinityward's third installment. THis game was ok but it could've been more. Alot more. the graphics are pretty good and some new features like destructible cover and claymors were fun but the game could've done a lot more with its self. The game plays almost identical to Call of duty 2 ( which I loved ) which may sound like a releaf but I was somewhat Call of duty 4 is Infinityward's third installment. THis game was ok but it could've been more. Alot more. the graphics are pretty good and some new features like destructible cover and claymors were fun but the game could've done a lot more with its self. The game plays almost identical to Call of duty 2 ( which I loved ) which may sound like a releaf but I was somewhat disappointed with it. Apart from the gun recoile I thought that it felt kind of robotic. It would have been nice to have maybe just little things like you can look down and see your body or included different reload processes, I know that doesn't really matter but a few more big additions would have been nice to like a good cover system. One thing that I really did like was the A.I and movement it looked really realistic. the games sound track has also gone down hill. It is alot more basic and less moving and compelling as ALL the other cod games. I personnaly think that they took the wrong path with this game and I hope it will be better next time. I really wanted to love this game Like I loved COD 1 and 2 but right now in my world its just another decent game. Nothing special.If you are reading this review than I would recommend you give it a try you just might like it I know that most people do and chances are you would like it but as for me. No. Just, No I am sorry if I have displeased you in any way. Expand
  21. SeanC.
    Mar 5, 2008
    7
    While the game play is rather fun overall, there are quite a few very obvious flaws, many of which you'd sincerely hope wouldn't be there. One of these flaws is the physics in the game. While you can shoot a cinder block or a pan around the room with your pistol (which is actually quite fun), that's about all there is to it. You can't break glass (except for on cars), While the game play is rather fun overall, there are quite a few very obvious flaws, many of which you'd sincerely hope wouldn't be there. One of these flaws is the physics in the game. While you can shoot a cinder block or a pan around the room with your pistol (which is actually quite fun), that's about all there is to it. You can't break glass (except for on cars), you can't break wood (all that happens is a cheesy "hole" appears), you can't break much of anything important. Half Life 2 even had better physics than this. Another flaw is some of the level designs. For example, in single player mode, there are a few areas where you can look up, throw a grenade where it's completely open, and the grenade will bounce off an invisible wall in the air and land on your head. In multiplayer mode, the level designs get very repetitive, and it starts feeling dull very quickly. Some people have mentioned how sniping is so realistic because of the wind and gravity effects, but I'd like to point out that the only time those effects come into play is during a three minute part of a level where you take exactly two sniper shots. In reality, the rest of the game is just like any other game with sniping, except that your guy trembles like a mad man when he's using the scope. Aside from these flaws though, and the rather narrowness of the storyline, the game is pretty fun. Killing people never gets boring in multiplayer, and there's a lot more value to using various guns in this game than there is in just sticking to one or two guns. Customizing your player with different weapons, accessories to your weapons, and perks is a nice addition, and the game is relatively balanced so that each class of gun has a scenario on any level where it can be good. Expand
  22. kipa
    Sep 4, 2008
    5
    I agree that the single player is very fun and interesting with many characters to keep the story moving and give a sense of realism. I was disappointed with the graphics though, all the guns looked awesome and animations perfect but all the colors seem to be washed out and dull. I would play on line looking at a guy wondering if hes on my team because every character is just a different I agree that the single player is very fun and interesting with many characters to keep the story moving and give a sense of realism. I was disappointed with the graphics though, all the guns looked awesome and animations perfect but all the colors seem to be washed out and dull. I would play on line looking at a guy wondering if hes on my team because every character is just a different shade of gray. I severely hate the online gameplay. I dont know where to start, the perks probably seemed to be a good idea in the production room to give the player a more customizable character. well, the perks just ruin it.... a guy can take a .50 caliber sniper rifle to the chest and just keep on running just because he has juggernaut? in reality that would tear a man in half. i also hated that they didn't make a rate of fire cap on pistols, so if your in last stand just smash right trigger and unload 12 shots in half a second. also from the point when you "kill" a guy and he slide into last stand bullets don't register, so you will shoot him maybe 17 times before they die. I thought this game whas about realism. OK WTF is with the knife, i am used to playing games where you have to pull out the knife and use it by itself and it takes 2-3 hits. but no in this i guess you can whip out a knife instantly and stab a guy in the foot from 3 feet away a get the kill. in conclusion great single-player game with stellar fps mechanics but on the other hand multi-player is one big game of grab ass, no real skill involved, spawning into gunfire, knifes doing 5x more damage than bullets, no team strategy involved in public matches makes it dull and frustrating. Expand
  23. WarGator
    Nov 12, 2007
    7
    BAD POINTS: To few maps; maps are to small; no vehicles; no random map generator; no map making tools included in software; well known bug in program, I had to over right a file to fix it, should have a patch out right now for it; to many grenades leading to nade-spamming; program still rewards bunny hopping; more options in console needed for server to control parameters such as number BAD POINTS: To few maps; maps are to small; no vehicles; no random map generator; no map making tools included in software; well known bug in program, I had to over right a file to fix it, should have a patch out right now for it; to many grenades leading to nade-spamming; program still rewards bunny hopping; more options in console needed for server to control parameters such as number of nades, etc.; more realistic killing, I shoot somebody twice and they do not fall down dead or wounded because of extra +health points; increased ability to move in buildings needed, not enough entrance ways and windows to shoot from. GOOD POINTS: Each game becomes more realistic than the last game; weapons are represented realistically; good graphics; flows well; fighting is realistic; uniforms are realistic. Expand
  24. JordanW.
    Nov 8, 2007
    5
    Its impossible to overlook the impossibly short lifespan of the single player missions. Poor effort! Next time stick with blue ray so you can put in a solid 20 hour campaign.
  25. RodanM.
    Dec 12, 2007
    7
    While the game is mediocre at best, those who are fanboys of this game will obviously rate it a 10, I have rated it a 7 for obvious reasons. The first being is that any difficuly above normal will show the glaring flaws in the game such as poor AI. Nothing says rush job like AI that has 100% accuracy and wall hacks, not to mention respawning and moving to where is comrade just fell. While the game is mediocre at best, those who are fanboys of this game will obviously rate it a 10, I have rated it a 7 for obvious reasons. The first being is that any difficuly above normal will show the glaring flaws in the game such as poor AI. Nothing says rush job like AI that has 100% accuracy and wall hacks, not to mention respawning and moving to where is comrade just fell. Multiplayer is available for those who have time to unlock everything. Those who don't will leave the game early due to being able to only select a few beginner weapons at the start. This is especially frustrated when getting gunned down by someone with a better weapon. Expand
  26. MassA.
    Dec 29, 2007
    5
    I really liked the game, so don't get me wrong, but it is disappointing that it is too unrealistic. You see your allies shot down repeatedly and more just run up to replace them. There's never a sense that it's a "real" situation. You find yourself thinking about which spot you have to run to in order to trigger an enemy attack to start, or to stop enemies from running out I really liked the game, so don't get me wrong, but it is disappointing that it is too unrealistic. You see your allies shot down repeatedly and more just run up to replace them. There's never a sense that it's a "real" situation. You find yourself thinking about which spot you have to run to in order to trigger an enemy attack to start, or to stop enemies from running out of a door instead of thinking about how to handle a tactical situation realisitically. This should encourage Activision (AND Ubisoft) to push for more realistic game productions, so that older fan can also enjoy "games". Btww, we should somehow find a solution that kids don't get access to these kind of games. It's a real turn down (to my ego), when I lhave to listen to a kid's voice giving names, bt being the best killer in town! Expand
  27. NateB.
    Dec 3, 2007
    5
    This game is very very over rated. Basically the same game as all the other CoD's, just prettier. The missions are all almost basically clones of the prior games, and when they do add a little something new it is horribly boring (like when you drop bombs on guys). Sure the game looks amazing and the animations are all really smooth, but its just more and more of the same. No new This game is very very over rated. Basically the same game as all the other CoD's, just prettier. The missions are all almost basically clones of the prior games, and when they do add a little something new it is horribly boring (like when you drop bombs on guys). Sure the game looks amazing and the animations are all really smooth, but its just more and more of the same. No new tactics, no cover system or even the ability to lean, poor story that jumps all over the place, still fight enemies with unlimited amounts of ammo (and men at points) and the only thing destructible are cars (which all unrealistically explode). Stick with R6:Vegas, Gears and F.E.A.R. for now. This game is not what I would expect out of a next gen title as its only a prettier version of the same game released back in 2003. Expand
  28. Jag
    Feb 25, 2008
    5
    Call of duty 4 is Infinityward's third installment. THis game was ok but it could've been more. Alot more. the graphics are pretty good and some new features like destructible cover and claymors were fun but the game could've done a lot more with its self. The game plays almost identical to Call of duty 2 ( which I loved ) which may sound like a releaf but I was somewhat Call of duty 4 is Infinityward's third installment. THis game was ok but it could've been more. Alot more. the graphics are pretty good and some new features like destructible cover and claymors were fun but the game could've done a lot more with its self. The game plays almost identical to Call of duty 2 ( which I loved ) which may sound like a releaf but I was somewhat disappointed with it. Apart from the gun recoil I thought that it felt kind of robotic. It would have been nice to have maybe just little things like you can look down and see your body or included different reload processes, I know that doesn't really matter but a few more big additions would have been nice to like a good cover system. One thing that I really did like was the A.I and movement it looked really realistic. the games sound track has also gone down hill. It is a lot more basic and less moving and compelling as ALL the other cod games. I personally think that they took the wrong path with this game and I hope it will be better next time. I really wanted to love this game Like I loved COD 1 and 2 but right now in my world its just another decent game. Nothing special.If you are reading this review than I would recommend you give it a try you just might like it I know that most people do and chances are you would like it but as for me. No. Just, No I am sorry. Expand
  29. ChrisL.
    Nov 23, 2007
    7
    This was a fun game game. The level design was great and kept it from getting stale. However, it was way too short, there were no vehicles, and it was too lienear. The story was better than Halo 3 but not the gameplay or multiplayer( i got bored quickly with it). RENT IT BEFORE YOU BUY IT!!!
  30. KyleK.
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    I think this game is being way overblown. I don't know about anyone else, but I think the game press isn't terribly reliable. Is Halo 3 really a near perfect game? Was Halo 2 for that matter? This is another game where name seems incredibly important--and it should be given that the original Call of Duty took what Medal of Honor did and made it even better. And CoD 2 was great I think this game is being way overblown. I don't know about anyone else, but I think the game press isn't terribly reliable. Is Halo 3 really a near perfect game? Was Halo 2 for that matter? This is another game where name seems incredibly important--and it should be given that the original Call of Duty took what Medal of Honor did and made it even better. And CoD 2 was great as well. But once Medal of Honor Airborne came out everything changed. Play that game and then come back to CoD 4. The production values are, I think, vastly better in almost all respects--and as far as gameply goes it's open ended and they found a way to improve on the controls. While in iron sights mode you can use the movement keys to peek up or lean left and right. Switching to CoD 4 you immediately realize that that's something you can't go back from; that was a subtle but incredibly compelling change to the game. Admittedly I'm rating the PC version here, but I can't imagine it's a completely different game. Just please don't go out and drop $60 on this; rent it first at the very least. 6/10 for graphical updates and inclusion of an incredibly hard difficulty but boredom and sloppiness otherwise--incredibly simplistic gameplay at times,for example using a Javelin AT launcher: all you have to do is line your sights up with a big rectangle on the viewscreen. Doesn't matter if the tank is even in view--it still knows it's there and all you do is point and click. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Simply put, Call of Duty 4 does everything right and nearly nothing wrong. But where it elevates itself above even the best 360 shooters is how all of the good stuff is ludicrously good. The campaign never lets up, while multiplayer is a triple-A affair in itself. [Dec 2007, p.36]
  2. COD4 is cutting-edge entertainment, but the downside to this dense and gripping delivery is that it's over far too quickly: five to six hours on Normal difficulty...COD4 is short but immensely satisfying and we can't wait for a post-modern revival. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  3. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.