User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1344 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeC.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Game of the year by a good margin. Halo 3 is now nothing more than a very expensive coaster after playing COD 4: MW. Purely spectacular and completely addicting, the Halo fanboys may hate to here it, but all facets of COD 4 not only surpass Halo 3, but do so by a healthy margin.
  2. MichaelS.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Wow. By far the best game I have played on the 360. This game is legendary. The amount of detail and care in crafting this masterpiece is dumbfounding. So what if the the single player is a little short. The true beauty of this game lies in it's multiplayer. 16 maps. Fun game types. Rewards out the wazoo. Halo isn't half of what this game is. Beg borrow or steal but get your Wow. By far the best game I have played on the 360. This game is legendary. The amount of detail and care in crafting this masterpiece is dumbfounding. So what if the the single player is a little short. The true beauty of this game lies in it's multiplayer. 16 maps. Fun game types. Rewards out the wazoo. Halo isn't half of what this game is. Beg borrow or steal but get your hands on this game asap. Any time spent playing another 360 game is wasted. Expand
  3. MikeP.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    "Halo 3"...what's that? This game is amazing, intense...and the multiplayer is insanely fun, as is the campaign. Graphics are jawdropping, and the physics spot on. The guy who voted 5 out of 10 doesn't deserve to share the same airspace as the rest of us. COD4 is at the top of the FPS heap, and never lets go of your senses.
  4. CodyM.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    This game was like going to every other game company and just telling them they suck strait to there face. Online is amazing while i will agree that single player is short but if you play it on veteran it is extremely difficult which is better but this game is a must have if you like First Person Shooters.
  5. PaulB.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Ok - so the single player is short but it is oh so sweet. It is absolutely stunning in every level. The chernobyl level in particular is probably one of the best in videogame history. Add to that a multiplayer experience that possibly even eclipses that of Halo 3 and you're onto a surefire winner.
  6. TimC.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    This game is awseome. Those who call this game mediocre or bad are completely wrong. This game is the perfect FPS. Single player is short and fun, but the multiplayer is ridiculous with an unmatched and incredible depth. I was not a huge fan of FPS or the COD franchise, but this game is perfection. Never have I played a game sooo intense and with 55 levels and prestige mode you could play This game is awseome. Those who call this game mediocre or bad are completely wrong. This game is the perfect FPS. Single player is short and fun, but the multiplayer is ridiculous with an unmatched and incredible depth. I was not a huge fan of FPS or the COD franchise, but this game is perfection. Never have I played a game sooo intense and with 55 levels and prestige mode you could play multiplayer forever. Expand
  7. NigelT.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    I don't think Max D. knows what he's talking about at all. The graphics are probably the most stunning I have seen on the system so far. Then as for people saying the campaign was too short. Maybe you don't get it. The campaign is basically just an introduction to get you ready for what the game is all about, which is the online multiplayer. To those of you out there I don't think Max D. knows what he's talking about at all. The graphics are probably the most stunning I have seen on the system so far. Then as for people saying the campaign was too short. Maybe you don't get it. The campaign is basically just an introduction to get you ready for what the game is all about, which is the online multiplayer. To those of you out there without Xbox Live, I truely feel sorry for you, because the online modes are what makes this game epic and something you will be playing long after you're done with the singleplayer mode. Expand
  8. SimonC.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Yo, xbox 360 "master". What kind of magical gun are you playing with that doesn't have recoil? I certainly can't just point and hold down the trigger for a kill unless I am two feet from the guy. Idiots aside, this is a great game that has to be the most photo realistic game on the 360. Strategy and skill come into play on every online match. Not to mention a little luck. This Yo, xbox 360 "master". What kind of magical gun are you playing with that doesn't have recoil? I certainly can't just point and hold down the trigger for a kill unless I am two feet from the guy. Idiots aside, this is a great game that has to be the most photo realistic game on the 360. Strategy and skill come into play on every online match. Not to mention a little luck. This IS the best shooter if not the best game to be released on the 360. Eat that Halo3. Expand
  9. CodyB.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    The single player is the most intense FPS ever. The gameplay and flow are not as good as Halo 3 but the real part that sucks you in is the multiplayer! It blows Halo 2 and 3 out of the water. PERIOD!
  10. EddieE.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Story mode might be short, but it was well put together and i wouldnt change a thing! Multi-player is so much fun, you can get addicted very easily! best game there is!
  11. ShayP.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    I loved this game! When sniping, you have to have everything right or the shot will miss, such as if the wind is blowing! I say everyone will love this game from the first 10 minutes to the last 10 seconds.
  12. MLambrecht
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    Call of Duty 4 has the best online game play for the 360. Create your class is one of the greatest things put into a game. I hate having to shoot someone 50 times before they die (Halo3). This is a must have game.
  13. SamJ.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    even after all the hype, Boishock was crappy compared to this. only other games that even come close are halo 3, rainbow six and gears of war. and thats close, they don't manage to better. game of the year, hands down... except for maybe Crysis on pc. anyway... brilliant game.
  14. JG
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    Anywhere between 9 and 10 in my view, went with 10 because some are giving very low scores for a short (6 hour) single player campaign. If you only play single player with this game then you are missing the point. That being said, the single player is still enthralling and despite its length is very fun.

    This is one of the best if not the best multiplayer games for the 360. It is the
    Anywhere between 9 and 10 in my view, went with 10 because some are giving very low scores for a short (6 hour) single player campaign. If you only play single player with this game then you are missing the point. That being said, the single player is still enthralling and despite its length is very fun.

    This is one of the best if not the best multiplayer games for the 360. It is the best multiplayer game I have ever played. If you have a gold xbox live account, get this game. If not, get one, then get this game.
    Expand
  15. TS
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    One of the best shooters, and best games, ever. The singleplayer, while short, is just amazingly well-done. And the online is very addicting and well made. Also, it helps that it's a popular game, as people still play it to this day.
  16. AndrewM
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    "J.S." must be blind, deaf, and uncoordinated to think that World at War can even be compared to this game. CoD4 delivers a great narrative single player mode, disgustingly good multiplayer, and is filled with small details that make the game one of the best ever. If you haven't had the pleasure of trying it out, do so before the sequel comes out in November.
  17. Adam
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Although the campaign is short it is non-stop action all the way, and upon completion you unlock a few extra features that give it an even longer life span. Where the game really gets its legs is in its multi-player. I consider it the best an FPS can offer in terms of online play and has my vote for game of the year.
  18. JimmyH.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Very good. Only problems are that there is no offline co-op, and that theres only one C-130 map.
  19. MitchellC.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Graphic and sound is awesome...gameplay is intense and satisfying.
  20. JR.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    This is truly the best FPS ever. The single player is not the best ive played (still awesome) but, the mutiplayer brings this FPS game to where none i have ever played have gone. Halo 3 really just got the boot as a GOTY contender now that this came out (thank god)....so it should be between COD4 and Mass Effect.
  21. MagnumPI
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    My jaw has dropped so many times when playing this game !!! The graphics are amazing !!!! The gameplay s amazing !!!! The is the best and most exciting FPS i have EVER played (and I have playe alot !!!). I cant understand why PS3 owners are even rating, let alone moaning. Surely you are being a hypocrite for playing a non-PS3 game in the first place ???? Anyway, this is the best game onMy jaw has dropped so many times when playing this game !!! The graphics are amazing !!!! The gameplay s amazing !!!! The is the best and most exciting FPS i have EVER played (and I have playe alot !!!). I cant understand why PS3 owners are even rating, let alone moaning. Surely you are being a hypocrite for playing a non-PS3 game in the first place ???? Anyway, this is the best game on the XBox 360 this year !!! Expand
  22. BowenL.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    To get to know this game, you need to play it for more then an hour. The campaign takes getting used to because of physics and effects not known to other game. One example is shooting through walls. Someone could be confused about this feature, but there is actrually a challenge in the online multiplayer that encourages you to shoots through walls to kill your enemy. The campaign had To get to know this game, you need to play it for more then an hour. The campaign takes getting used to because of physics and effects not known to other game. One example is shooting through walls. Someone could be confused about this feature, but there is actrually a challenge in the online multiplayer that encourages you to shoots through walls to kill your enemy. The campaign had amazing graphics and is great on hardened or veteran mode, while the multi-player addicts you to numbing visuals and a great sense of emergence. You would have to be a noob or a retard to skip this game. Amazing game, possibly better then Halo 3. Expand
  23. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this game. I think the single player campaign could have been a bit longer, but altogether I did enjoy the story. This is definitely a neat look inside of the technology that our military uses to keep up safe. The graphics look great, and they are very smooth. The voice acting is stellar, and the missions are creative. Overall, I think Infinity Ward took their time andI thoroughly enjoyed this game. I think the single player campaign could have been a bit longer, but altogether I did enjoy the story. This is definitely a neat look inside of the technology that our military uses to keep up safe. The graphics look great, and they are very smooth. The voice acting is stellar, and the missions are creative. Overall, I think Infinity Ward took their time and really tired to make a great game, not necessarily a game that would make them an insane amount of money. The only places Modern Warfare is lacking are the length of the campaign and the multiplayer. Although it is a lot of fun to play this game with your buddies, there are very few options to make the multiplayer interesting. There are something like 10 multiplayer maps, 10 or so preset "classes" of warrior, and very few game types. I just wish it would've been upgraded with a few more options. All that said, this game is definitely worth the time, and the story alone is worth the money. Expand
  24. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Call of duty modern warfare is by far one of the best games i've ever played. It has the funnest campaign ever and an amazing story with it. 2007 was a great year for gaming with halo 3 and bioshock and super mario galazy, but this is by far the best of the best. Graphics are now 3 years old and they are still the best of the best. Multiplayer is something that people are still playingCall of duty modern warfare is by far one of the best games i've ever played. It has the funnest campaign ever and an amazing story with it. 2007 was a great year for gaming with halo 3 and bioshock and super mario galazy, but this is by far the best of the best. Graphics are now 3 years old and they are still the best of the best. Multiplayer is something that people are still playing today and will continue to for many years to come. With a crap load of weapons including some of the best snipers in COD history. Multiplayer maps were so good that they brought 4 of them into the sequel. Modern warfare gets a 10 out of 10.

    Review9
    Expand
  25. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    Call of duty 4 is truly the best shooter i have ever played. It set new standards gameplay wise and visual wise. The single player campaign has an intense storyline and excellent gameplay that will keep you hooked till the very end. Now that is just half of this amazing experience as this game also has a great multiplayer that you put hours after hours days after days of gameplay into andCall of duty 4 is truly the best shooter i have ever played. It set new standards gameplay wise and visual wise. The single player campaign has an intense storyline and excellent gameplay that will keep you hooked till the very end. Now that is just half of this amazing experience as this game also has a great multiplayer that you put hours after hours days after days of gameplay into and it will never get old. Expand
  26. May 19, 2016
    10
    This game loosened my grip on Halo as my go-to FPS. CoD4 has one of the greatest campaign modes ever for an FPS and boasted a streamlined multiplayer experience that encouraged constant player engagement and some customization. While the series would expand with a great sequel, CoD4 is regarded as one of the most important games of the 2000-2009 decade and is still talked about withThis game loosened my grip on Halo as my go-to FPS. CoD4 has one of the greatest campaign modes ever for an FPS and boasted a streamlined multiplayer experience that encouraged constant player engagement and some customization. While the series would expand with a great sequel, CoD4 is regarded as one of the most important games of the 2000-2009 decade and is still talked about with great fondness to this day. So much so that Infinity Wars, creators of CoD4, are remastering it with a special release of Infinite Warfare in 2016. For me, Modern Warfare and Modern Warfare 2 hold some of my most memorable moments in campaign and multiplayer. If you haven't played them and you're a shooter fan, you owe it to yourself to give the Modern Warfare series a play-through.. Expand
  27. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is the best multiplayer online shooter ever made. The single player is there, and it's cool, but that's not the point of this game. The class system and unlockables make this the most engaging, interesting game in the series. There's not so much stuff that it's annoying like its current version (Black Ops), and it just feels right. The maps are paced correctly and there's more than aThis is the best multiplayer online shooter ever made. The single player is there, and it's cool, but that's not the point of this game. The class system and unlockables make this the most engaging, interesting game in the series. There's not so much stuff that it's annoying like its current version (Black Ops), and it just feels right. The maps are paced correctly and there's more than a few interesting choke points and mission modes that keep it varied. I'm not sure what the negative reviews for this game are going for -- this game was nothing short of a multiplayer revolution. Finally a game that mixes realism, twitch FPS gaming, and an engaging leveling system. Expand
  28. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Second best game I have ever played on any xbox system...Original Halo. That said this game is by far the best war game ever made. The weapons are great, the killing is great. I love how you can bomb people from the sky with a remote. Very violent, great.
  29. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    FPS perfection!! Theres very few games I would give a 10 too but the Call of Duty Series, (especially Infinity Ward) is definitely an exception to the rule. There is no Game out there that has the intensity in single player mode and game play and frame rate in multi-player. There is no substitution for the Whole Call of Duty Series!!
  30. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    This is my second favorite game of the Call of Duty series. The story is pretty good and this game handles and feels better than any game before. It came out in 2007 and it's still among the most played XBOX Live games. Multiplayer is extremely balanced, except for juggernaut, but it's easily reversed with stopping power. The graphics are good for it's time and the IW engine was at it'sThis is my second favorite game of the Call of Duty series. The story is pretty good and this game handles and feels better than any game before. It came out in 2007 and it's still among the most played XBOX Live games. Multiplayer is extremely balanced, except for juggernaut, but it's easily reversed with stopping power. The graphics are good for it's time and the IW engine was at it's best for this game. It's extremely fun. Expand
  31. May 24, 2011
    10
    Ah. I bought this game after trading in Black Ops, which I didn't overly enjoy, and I was impressed. This is where Call of Duty turned into what it is today. And it's never been done better. The campaign had a good story, good set-pieces, and interesting little tid-bits for the pro-player. The multiplayer is simply, in my view, perfection. I can't see any other game ever beating what CoD 4Ah. I bought this game after trading in Black Ops, which I didn't overly enjoy, and I was impressed. This is where Call of Duty turned into what it is today. And it's never been done better. The campaign had a good story, good set-pieces, and interesting little tid-bits for the pro-player. The multiplayer is simply, in my view, perfection. I can't see any other game ever beating what CoD 4 accomplished with it's online mode. Pick up the GOTY if you've somehow missed this. Expand
  32. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    It seems to have become very popular to criticize the Call of Duty franchise recently but it is easy to forget how influential Call of Duty 4, the first of the Modern Warfare games has been. The single player mode took in a huge variety of locations putting the player in control of both a U.S Marine and British S.A.S. soldier fighting through an unfolding story, that while still lightIt seems to have become very popular to criticize the Call of Duty franchise recently but it is easy to forget how influential Call of Duty 4, the first of the Modern Warfare games has been. The single player mode took in a huge variety of locations putting the player in control of both a U.S Marine and British S.A.S. soldier fighting through an unfolding story, that while still light years behind the best movies, was full of twists and turns that kept the player guessing. At the time the game play was a huge leap forward for console shooters coupling rock solid controls with fantastic set pieces in which too test your skills. For me, although each of the sequels other than World at War were also very good, this first Modern Warfare title remains the pinnacle of the franchise in this regard.

    It was of course the multi-player however that truly made Modern Warfare stand out from the crowd. I had never been interested in any on-line shooter before but spent weeks playing on this. The fantastic gunplay from the single-player was coupled with an excellent selection of maps and the all important perk system, now a standard for any on-line FPS. Allowing players the chance to customise their characters weapon set, special ability and appearance was a masterstroke and has helped make Call of Duty the most valuable franchise in gaming today.
    Expand
  33. May 12, 2011
    10
    The best game of 2007, hands down. Infinity Ward has revived the franchise to it's true potential. With an interesting story with memorable environments and locations, and extremely fun, intense, and addicting mulitplayer, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, is the reason why Call of Duty, is where it is at today.
  34. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Intriguing story, actually fun multiplayer (and I don't like very many multiplayer games), and great visuals for its time, this is a game that is not to be missed. One of the best of the generation.
  35. May 28, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite FPS, I find it funny how all the negative reviews are coming from PS3 fanboys and Halo fanboys...lulz
  36. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite FPS's of all time, the singleplayer was short but extremely rewarding, has its fair share of OMG moments. But where this game really shined was the multiplayer, this game really did it right, and I guess this sounds weird in retrospect of playing some of the newer Call of Duty titles like Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops, but I strongly feel this had the most balancedOne of my favorite FPS's of all time, the singleplayer was short but extremely rewarding, has its fair share of OMG moments. But where this game really shined was the multiplayer, this game really did it right, and I guess this sounds weird in retrospect of playing some of the newer Call of Duty titles like Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops, but I strongly feel this had the most balanced multiplayer maps, killstreaks, gun setups, hit registry out of any of the COD4 or later COD games, if you don't believe me try it out, I strongly recommend anyone who was a fan of MW2 and or Black Ops or just wants an excellent FPS game for their library. Expand
  37. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    In my opinion, this is by far the best call of duty. The story is great, along with the characters. The multiplayer is also great, with a great variety of guns. The only negative that you could possibly find about this game, is, the glitches that occur later on in the game. so if you are looking for a game with a great story, and a spectacular ending, then you should pick up call of duty 4.
  38. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    Please, do yourselves a favour and ignore the bad reviews given by users on Metacritic. In my eyes, this is one of the best multi-player games on the Xbox 360 today, and is still highly populated after four years of release. If you do not own it, do yourself a favour and BUY IT.

    Also notice that the vast majority of negative reviews on this website are given by either Battlefield or Halo
    Please, do yourselves a favour and ignore the bad reviews given by users on Metacritic. In my eyes, this is one of the best multi-player games on the Xbox 360 today, and is still highly populated after four years of release. If you do not own it, do yourself a favour and BUY IT.

    Also notice that the vast majority of negative reviews on this website are given by either Battlefield or Halo marks, noticeable by their names of their suggestions of "HALO is better!" etc.
    Expand
  39. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Multiplayer mode - unbeatable to say the least. The online of COD4 has NO match. The greatest online game ever to be released. Now this is a shooter. If you just bough an Xbox this is the game to get. MW2 and all other Call of Duty game are lame, this is what Started it all, this is what pushed call of duty to a new level, this is evolution and innovation. This is Call of Duty 4Multiplayer mode - unbeatable to say the least. The online of COD4 has NO match. The greatest online game ever to be released. Now this is a shooter. If you just bough an Xbox this is the game to get. MW2 and all other Call of Duty game are lame, this is what Started it all, this is what pushed call of duty to a new level, this is evolution and innovation. This is Call of Duty 4 Modern Warefare!! Back in the day I could play online for hours sometimes days non stop. 11/10 for online, 7/10 for story.!!!!!! No compare!!!!!! Expand
  40. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome!!The game play is enthralling even if it is a little bit short.With Captain Price and Gaz as your mentors you will never go wrong!This is definitely a must buy!!
  41. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    in short:
    Pros:
    one of the best fps games of all time, brought a WW II based community into the future single player had a great story line multiplayer was fun and new cons: lackluster nowdays campaign is overshadowed by later games well, im sure if you havent bought this game by now that you dont care, but to me this was THE defining call of duty and brought fps games into the modern
    in short:
    Pros:
    one of the best fps games of all time, brought a WW II based community into the future
    single player had a great story line
    multiplayer was fun and new

    cons: lackluster nowdays
    campaign is overshadowed by later games

    well, im sure if you havent bought this game by now that you dont care, but to me this was THE defining call of duty and brought fps games into the modern era, the multiplayer was absolutely amazing for the time.

    on the basis of the multiplayer, it had its unfair points such as juggernaut, but all in all it was a fair fun experience that even the lesser decent players could enjoy. returning to the game now would be useless only because the lobbies have little to no players and the ones who are left have "infections" that cloud the screen.

    the single player campaign is an amazing experience, it was my first time ever seeing something as epic as a nuke going off, and it astonished me at the time, il always remember that moment when your helicopter goes down and your character struggles to climb out, falling to the ground as his vision fades away.
    Expand
  42. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    This is arguably one of the most revolutionary shooters of all time. The single player campaign, the story, arcade mode and especially the online. CoD4 gave birth to the new generation of shooters. Everything feels lively and full of epic, intense action. Arcade mode adds replay value to the campaign and makes it very addictive to replay and get a higher score and move up the leaderboards.This is arguably one of the most revolutionary shooters of all time. The single player campaign, the story, arcade mode and especially the online. CoD4 gave birth to the new generation of shooters. Everything feels lively and full of epic, intense action. Arcade mode adds replay value to the campaign and makes it very addictive to replay and get a higher score and move up the leaderboards. What's even more incredible is how all of the online maps are based off ones in single player, but you don't actually notice the variety in map design until you see the familiar places you went through in the story online. This game is why CoD is successful. It added customisation as well as challenges and the great ranking system, including prestige mode. There's just no point in even going through the additions this has made to multiplayer shooters. As single player experience alone, this is 10/10, let alone the multiplayer counterpart. And for those of you who think it's short, well guess what? It isn't. It's compact, not short. You get so much variety and epicness in so little time and you don't want it to end so that's why it feels short- because it's soooooooooo good. The difficulty level is done perfectly. Veteran is Veteran, and not just easy. I doubt that any time in the future a campaign will ome along that has more variety, is more engaing and has a better story and characters. In every way, CoD4's single player is by far one of the all-time greats. It may be fairly short, but the amount of content it holds, the outstanding level design, the intense gameplay, the distinctive characters, the excellent plot and the beautiful soundtrack. This has it all. And when you're finished, the awesome Arcade Mode allows you to play for high scores per level. "Short and epic", in the words of Battlefield 3's lead designer Patrick Bach, is better than long and boring. In CoD4 there are no fillers, no boring points. Every single second of every mission is put to good use. It is so well scripted. The multiplayer, of course, is what this game has received most credit for. And it deserves all merits too. The variety in level design from the campaign has lead to some of the best, if not THE best collection of multiplayer maps ever, with a great variety in environments and layouts. The multiplayer really is a complete package and can be enjoyed by all gamer of all skill levels with all sorts of playstyles. The different game modes, weapons, maps and challenges accomodate for everyone, and private matches are great fun to play organised games/set rules. Not only does CoD4 ooze revolution, but it is genuinely the best FPS of all time. Expand
  43. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Easily the best FPS in the past decade. The campaign has several major twists, but can be frustrating on veteran and hardened. It is also rather short, which in my opinion is just fine, because it has the ability to hold your attention the whole way through. The real attraction is Multiplayer, which in its time was revolutionary. It created killstreaks and redefined the idea ofEasily the best FPS in the past decade. The campaign has several major twists, but can be frustrating on veteran and hardened. It is also rather short, which in my opinion is just fine, because it has the ability to hold your attention the whole way through. The real attraction is Multiplayer, which in its time was revolutionary. It created killstreaks and redefined the idea of customization with a choice of your attachment, and perks. As anyone knows now those three things are all staples of FPS's now and CoD4 made it happen. It also have fantastic maps, such as backlot, vacant, strike, ambush, overgrown, crash, district, and crossfire. The only truly bad map is wetwork. In terms of weapon balance the M16 is slightly overpowered but other than that it is completely balanced. The perks offer a wide array of options and you are given completely viable perks and guns out of the gate. Expand
  44. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    The new face of war. I was uninterested in playing this sort of action war games and rather sick of the Call of Duty series until this entry came along and completely blew me away. Very tight narrative coupled with intense combat and some truly amazing moments makes for one real hell of a game.
  45. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The standard that all FPS games have to live up to. even mw2 and 3 aren't as good as this. Simply amazing game that blew me away in 2007 and still does today. without a doubt the best fps game of the last 10 years
  46. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Call of Duty 4 is Probably the best cod game to date it has a number of things to praise like nice Graphics Sensational campaign and probably gets The 1st place on My XBox360 Games list with the best Multiplayer ive ever played and the characters are great Mainly talking about Price and Soap this is a great game no Doubt about it any Fan of First-Person-Shooters You cant go wrong with CallCall of Duty 4 is Probably the best cod game to date it has a number of things to praise like nice Graphics Sensational campaign and probably gets The 1st place on My XBox360 Games list with the best Multiplayer ive ever played and the characters are great Mainly talking about Price and Soap this is a great game no Doubt about it any Fan of First-Person-Shooters You cant go wrong with Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Must Buy! 10/10 A+ 100% Expand
  47. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I believe that this is the high water mark of this generation's first person shooters. The story mode is a blast and the online MP is nonstop fun. Loving this game might make me a "fanboy", but I'll be damned if I care.
  48. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Game was the original! The best of all the FPS of its time. First shooter I ever played and still one of the best. Haha. All I have to say is that....This game was the Legend. Mw2 the Prodigy. Mw3 the failure.
  49. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The only good Call of Duty besides 3 2 and 1. This game is the epitome of solid gunplay, tight controls and great hit detection. Even today its a blast to play. Way better than crappy warfare 3
  50. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    A Complete and total FPS innovation. If you played this game then you know the deal. The greatest Call of Duty that ever was. Truly no other compares.
  51. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    In my opinion the last truly innovative Call of Duty. Great multiplayer and jaw dropping campaign that I played for days, literally days, and I still play now. I just wish that the rest of the COD games were as original as this one.
  52. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    This Cod is the best cod because it is balanced enough and it is fun. SIngle player was great. I don't like playing arcade mode because it doesn't really change the game much but this is the awesome thing you would want to buy.
  53. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    best game ever .................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  54. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    best multiplayer game of all times, it was an instant classic. the only thing thats really **** is that everyone cheats nowdays, you cant play a game in public without 3-4 players are floating in the air and stuff. however the first 2 years with this game was amazing
  55. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    classic joint. this call of duty set the bar for the rest. every new call of duty uses this one as the standard. my favorite call of duty. many good memories on this one.
  56. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    I still play this after 5 years. It has gotten pretty bad online in the last year and a half because mods don't regulate, but you can still sometimes find good matches. Single players was awesome and compelling and almost flawless if not for the slap in the face ending. Multiplayer was very balanced except for juggernaut and painkiller. Otherwise one of the best FPS's ever made.
  57. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game! Brings a formula for gameplay better than any other fps ive played. The game flows great and gameplay is amazing. The characters are not very interesting, but the story itself is good. It carries a typical soldier's story, and gives it some interesting and shocking twists. Some points I would just drop my jaw in shock of what had happened. The multiplayer is also one of theFantastic game! Brings a formula for gameplay better than any other fps ive played. The game flows great and gameplay is amazing. The characters are not very interesting, but the story itself is good. It carries a typical soldier's story, and gives it some interesting and shocking twists. Some points I would just drop my jaw in shock of what had happened. The multiplayer is also one of the best. The pace is fast and exciting and the simplicity of the kill streak rewards are very well balanced. It gives you a great feeling of pride when you get the 7 streak helicopter which can rack up 5 or so kills, but the killstreaks are not too strong, so the multiplayer is not focused simply around them. The game modes are great and the game all around is the greatest in the historic series. Expand
  58. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    This is the best game in the series. The campaign is fast paced and really fun and emotional, the graphics are great and the sound effects and music create a great atmosphere. The multiplayer is extremely fun and you will spend days playing this mode, here is where the game has its replay value due to the 4 hour campaign mode which is a shame but it is a perfect game for me and it deservesThis is the best game in the series. The campaign is fast paced and really fun and emotional, the graphics are great and the sound effects and music create a great atmosphere. The multiplayer is extremely fun and you will spend days playing this mode, here is where the game has its replay value due to the 4 hour campaign mode which is a shame but it is a perfect game for me and it deserves the score I am giving it. 10/10 (don't worry no other call of duty game after this one will receive this score) Expand
  59. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    The year is now 2012, we have MW3 and soon we will have BO2. And yet CoD4 will forever be the greatest CoD game ever. And coming in second WaW. CoD4 was so simply yet so superb. I am a die hard Halo fan and I approve of this game.
  60. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    This is a game that I went out of my way to play the single player, when I usually just skip to the competitive multiplayer. This is still my favorite of all of the Call of Duty games from this amazing franchise. I enjoy how simple and balanced the gameplay is. Please do yourself a favor and pick this up for the sheer fun that it will bring to you.
  61. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    This game was absolutely great, it revolutionized FPS games, the minor connection problems aren't game-breaking like they are for the later call of duty games, and I still have a great time playing this game on multiplayer. The introduction for the campaign was also great, I greatly enjoyed all aspects of this game.
  62. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    Now, it's been a long time since I have played this game, but it's still my personal favorite in the Call of Duty franchise. But then again, I have little to compare it two, as 'i haven't played very much of the first three games. So this review will not be a comparison to the previous games, rather a review of the game itself. The plot is pretty straightforward, terrorists obtain aNow, it's been a long time since I have played this game, but it's still my personal favorite in the Call of Duty franchise. But then again, I have little to compare it two, as 'i haven't played very much of the first three games. So this review will not be a comparison to the previous games, rather a review of the game itself. The plot is pretty straightforward, terrorists obtain a nuclear device and plan to detonate it, you have to recover it, and eliminate the terrorists. What makes it worthwhile is the delivery. The missions are fun, and there are quite a few interesting and spectacular moments. the weapons and attachments are fun to use, and add a nice edge to multiplayer. The multiplayer, though, is where the game shines. The maps are well designed, and the perks add yet another interesting element to the gameplay. I also enjoyed being able to customize my weapons. Overall, the game has an enjoyable campaign, and a stellar multiplayer. Definitely one of my favorite shooters. Expand
  63. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    This was an amazing game. It's a shame things went downhill after MW2 when they started adding unnecessary crap that over-complicated the game and made it really rage-inducing. The simplicity of this game is really what makes it phenomenal. It is almost entirely free of bull$hit. The only thing about this game that pisses me off, other than the technical issues, is Martyrdom. But otherThis was an amazing game. It's a shame things went downhill after MW2 when they started adding unnecessary crap that over-complicated the game and made it really rage-inducing. The simplicity of this game is really what makes it phenomenal. It is almost entirely free of bull$hit. The only thing about this game that pisses me off, other than the technical issues, is Martyrdom. But other than that, it is close to flawless. The maps are great, the gameplay is nice and fast-paced, the weapon balance is as close to perfection as any CoD game has ever been, and it is just overall a joy to play. Second to World at War as my favourite Call of Duty game. Expand
  64. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    The best game ever made. My favorite franchise overall is halo, but this game is my all time favorite game. I had a boner for many hours a day and i didn't even take Viagra. I did horrible in school for the longest time and was addicted to this game forever. Modern warfare was a great idea **** the WW2 ****
  65. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    From its classically intriguing story, its fascinating characters, its perfectly revolutionary multiplayer, and its absolutely gorgeous breadth of graphical milestones, "Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare" easily lifts the shooter genre above its head and carries it to new heights.
  66. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    (Multiplayer review) This game paved the way for all fps releases in the last 5 years. Not only was this game tight, responsive, and extremely addicting for 2007, but here in 2012 it hasn't lost it's appeal. The ability to create-a-class with so many good options gave gamers a sense of personalization and customization that separated MW from other fps'. Killstreaks were also as addictive(Multiplayer review) This game paved the way for all fps releases in the last 5 years. Not only was this game tight, responsive, and extremely addicting for 2007, but here in 2012 it hasn't lost it's appeal. The ability to create-a-class with so many good options gave gamers a sense of personalization and customization that separated MW from other fps'. Killstreaks were also as addictive as crack when you are calling in airstrikes and choppers on the enemy. Many pros, few cons. My favorite fps to date. Expand
  67. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    In 2007, boasts a fairly good graphics nawatjiman.
    Is the best single-player. FPS game ever in the history of the game has such a good story is not uncommon. Have and have not seen anyone try modern warfare background.
    Optimization is recommended. Frame without a break in the low-end computer.
    Multiplayer is also very good. Weapon has a good balance and the various maps.
  68. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    This is honestly one of the best games I've played during the life span of the 360. I'm all about multiplayer and I believe if they stopped making CoD games after CoD4 was released, everyone would've been perfectly happy. Multiplayer is perfect, The maps are well made and the weapons are balanced. Even the campaign is pretty good for a multiplayer dominate game. I went back and beatThis is honestly one of the best games I've played during the life span of the 360. I'm all about multiplayer and I believe if they stopped making CoD games after CoD4 was released, everyone would've been perfectly happy. Multiplayer is perfect, The maps are well made and the weapons are balanced. Even the campaign is pretty good for a multiplayer dominate game. I went back and beat campaign on all difficulties and it has a neat special mission at the end of the game. Expand
  69. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    The best Call of Duty no doubt, incredible for making montages and commented gameplays in youtube. Activision couldn't make a better game than this one. I love it!
  70. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    This was amazing game, and STILL is. This game beats Mw3, Blops 1 and 2. This game started Montages for COD and went even further by making it Modern and fast pace. I really wished they made more DLC but over I STILL love it and STILL an awesome game.
  71. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    One of the best FPS's ever made it was so innovative in the multiplayer and there is still a large multiplayer community. the story is well done and the voice acting is great and the characters are well-written and the graphics might not look so good today it still runs at 60 FPS so don't listen to the naysayers a must buy
  72. May 14, 2013
    10
    For me, this game will always stand out for being the best game to come out of the franchise. I absolutely loved it with a passion and upon release I struggled to put the game down. I will explain why, this game holds the highest rating out of all the games in the series next to it's successor (Modern Warfare 2) for a reason. It was addictive.

    This game stole at least 25 days of my life
    For me, this game will always stand out for being the best game to come out of the franchise. I absolutely loved it with a passion and upon release I struggled to put the game down. I will explain why, this game holds the highest rating out of all the games in the series next to it's successor (Modern Warfare 2) for a reason. It was addictive.

    This game stole at least 25 days of my life away from me and I didn't have a problem with that, this was due to how unique the multiplayer was. This game brought out a serious competitive streak when it comes down to the multiplayer. I wanted to reach the maximum prestige and have that awesome looking emblem, unlock all the guns over and over again and keep progressing ahead of my pals. It was a fun experience and for another key factor which has ruined the Xbox 360's social sector. Party chat. It wasn't around then so you were constantly in game chat, meeting new people and having a laugh with complete randoms. Let me tell you this, you were considered a badass if you gained two helicopters in one TDM. Now? I couldn't really care if some kid got a nuke or MOAB in the later games.

    Now though, the COD franchise is becoming nothing more than recycled goods. In my opinion, what I experienced through this games multiplayer I will not be able to experience again on any of the new games in the series. I no longer have the desire to grind it out to max prestige, especially now as game chat is usually out of the window as party chat has turned people into unsociable recluses. This will remain my #1 FPS of all time. Not for graphics, not for gameplay, not for the maps or the guns. Just the social experience that came with it.
    Expand
  73. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Yeah I gave it a ten. DEAL WITH IT!
    I LOVE this game every couple of months I'll replay the story mode (Which thank God doesn't het as DARK AND GRITTY as the other games do later on) just because I love it that much. Whilst it does have respawning enemies, a few (But not too many) scripted moments and quite a weak main antagonist I can see past all of this because I love this game SO
    Yeah I gave it a ten. DEAL WITH IT!
    I LOVE this game every couple of months I'll replay the story mode (Which thank God doesn't het as DARK AND GRITTY as the other games do later on) just because I love it that much. Whilst it does have respawning enemies, a few (But not too many) scripted moments and quite a weak main antagonist I can see past all of this because I love this game SO MUCH! The pacing is superb, the story is actually interesting and the dialogue between characters is amusing with quite a sad ending. And oh my God this was the first game to truly shock me (Pun intended) with that mission and it's aftermath anyone who's played this game will know which one.
    Sadly however the multiplayer is in a bit of a state with hackers and modders (Although not as many anymore) running rampant through games.
    So basically this game definitely gets a recommendation!
    Expand
  74. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    This game was literally the best Call of Duty because it changed Call of Duty forever. Finally where a game evolves into the modern day instead of WWII. Don't get me wrong I love WWII, but this game separates itself from everyone because it is the first modern call of duty obviously. The campaign is phenomenal, multiplayer was fantastic. Never had a problem with servers until like 5 yearsThis game was literally the best Call of Duty because it changed Call of Duty forever. Finally where a game evolves into the modern day instead of WWII. Don't get me wrong I love WWII, but this game separates itself from everyone because it is the first modern call of duty obviously. The campaign is phenomenal, multiplayer was fantastic. Never had a problem with servers until like 5 years later because of hackers, but this game is just amazing. Expand
  75. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    There has not been a better cod since this. This was the start of the cod franchise because this game was just way too good. This was when Infinity Ward was actually good
  76. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This game was a masterpiece for its time. It made me get off the Halo series and it set the standard for FPS. This game easily one of my favorite games of all time.
  77. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This game revolutionized the world of first-person shooters. The advanced gameplay, mechanics, and graphics were the first of its kind for the FPS. The elements of the game still inspire developers to this day. Some say this game was inspired by Half-Life 2 in some ways, for me it's a great game in general. There were so low and hard points to the main story. For the most part, theThis game revolutionized the world of first-person shooters. The advanced gameplay, mechanics, and graphics were the first of its kind for the FPS. The elements of the game still inspire developers to this day. Some say this game was inspired by Half-Life 2 in some ways, for me it's a great game in general. There were so low and hard points to the main story. For the most part, the campaign was designed with exceeding epicness, and had some moments of glory other video games will never be able to take. Even better then the campaign as the multiplayer. The multiplayer is now the godfather to all FPS this generation. The multiplayer sets standards that will always be praised. 2007 may be the Year of the Shooter for many years to come, yet the biggest shooter of that year was Modern Warfare, whose glories will last a long time. Expand
  78. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    The game is amazing and here is why. The campaign is very memorable, very fun, challenging, pretty long, but overall amazing. The multiplayer? The best in the entire CoD series. It's fun and very refreshing for it's time. It's very well balanced, and addicting. It introduces several new features into the series. Features such as killsteaks, Create-A-Class, Challenges, 18 players gameThe game is amazing and here is why. The campaign is very memorable, very fun, challenging, pretty long, but overall amazing. The multiplayer? The best in the entire CoD series. It's fun and very refreshing for it's time. It's very well balanced, and addicting. It introduces several new features into the series. Features such as killsteaks, Create-A-Class, Challenges, 18 players game modes, perks, knife melee, etc. Overall, the best CoD game of all time, and one the best shooters to date. Easily a 10/10. Expand
  79. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    This was, by far, the best FPS shooter ever released. This was truly Call of Duty's best game. It was so simple, yet SO great. It had flaws, good flaws that made a game fun. You know, fun, the f word that didn't make you scream. It was the PERFECT game. If I was rich. I would take this game, upgrade the graphics, and release it again.
  80. Oct 15, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 9.5 out of 10 (rounded up to 10).

    Call of Duty is the definitive videogame cash cow. It is basically the Micheal Bay of gaming. There are plenty of explosions, the budgets are gigantic, they make a tonne of revenue and most importantly, they haven't really innovated in 2 years. Most of these claims can be laid at the feet of the game that started it all: Modern Warfare. In all fairness, I doubt Infinity Ward even thought about the large amount of sequels that could potentially follow this game. After all, everybody thought that a modern shooter wouldn't work- that it would fall apart after so many games spent in WWII. That never happened.

    The single player campaign of MW popularised the approach to turn FPS narratives into globe trotting linear levels, that go through dozens of set pieces in less than 6 hours. Off course, this is the real negative of the game. The plot can't sustain pace all too well and so you'll have this wrapped up in one really long session. But that doesn't mean it sucks. The bombastic campaign is set piece after set piece, with an epic ship infiltration, a tank driving sequence and a kinetic car chase all making the cut. Of course there is also the iconic "All Ghillied Up" Sniper level which sees you sneaking through an abandoned city with one ally and plenty of soldiers after you. It is still the greatest FPS level of all time. The levels aren't open at all with funnelled corridors making for the most interesting environnments, but this linearity suits the game. It has been criticised for this in more recent entries.

    The story is one of the best in COD history, as a mysterious Russian villain begins to cause widespread havoc, even though the instantly likeable Captain Price thought he had assassinated him years ago. You take the role of John "Soap" Mactavish, a new recruit who just wants to prove himself. Multiple twists and turns are taken and the use of multiple roles (even if Soap is the main character), helps to flesh out the story. A particular level uses the first-person perspective in a genuinely disturbing way. The killing of certain characters also helps the player to develop a strong emotional feeling, even if this is the first installment.

    The game is designed with a high level of replayability in mind. There are multiple difficulty levels and an addictive Arcade mode. In fact, the epilogue level of the game that comes after the credits is probably one of the most replayable levels in gaming history. The campaign is so inviting that you will want to go back and play through it again. The short length is certainly a detractor, but collectibles and achievements certainly add more time to the experience. But enough about single player, because multiplayer is the main attraction of Modern Warfare.

    The modes are excellent. From Team Deathmatch to Capture the Flag, there is a wide range of variety on offer. This means that investing hours into the mode won't get repetitive like it does in other shooters. The maps are fairly large, but certain ones are designed to be tiny. The close quarters feel is what makes the COD MP so unique and that is firmly established here. The ship map that is ripped from the campaign is a particular campaign, but most of them are instant classics and the DLC helps to increase the amount of environments on offer. It may not be as dynamic as Battlefield, but it certainly is more polished and more approachable. The slick gunplay and easy control scheme are perfectly suited to the game. This is further advanced by the quick use of gadgets and the fast switching- this may seem like a small compliment in these days, but back 7 years ago, it was revolutionary. So was the levelling system and the constant influx of new weapons and gear. It plays out like an RPG online and that is truly an amazing advancement. THe scoresteaks and perks are fairly outlandish in such a grounded setting, but they still work to make this an unpredictable and exhilarating experience.

    So Modern Warfare is responsible for plenty of annoying things. Short campaign. Check. Lack of open choice and environments. Check. Campers. Check. Twelve-year olds with screechy voices. Check. Yep, this popularised pretty much what everyone hates about the genre. If you look past its damaging legacy and embrace it for what it is, you'll get the third best Call of Duty out, just behind BLOPSII and MW2- but that's my opinion.
    Expand
  81. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Probably the best CoD there is.. this game is the least frustrating call of duty out. Maps, perks and guns are perfect and no overpowered ks, guns RC cars
  82. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    In my opinion this is the best call of duty game and nothing can beat this game. Campaign is really fun with and without cheat codes. It's short but it's multiplayer makes up for the short campaign. Multiplayer has a variety of weapons and perks to choose from.
  83. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is one of my most favourite shooters. This is the first Call of Duty to depart from the World War II era and now takes place in "Modern Warfare." The campaign is very fun with exhilarating missions, the story is compelling, the characters have great personalities, and the environment is excellent. And then the multiplayer is absolutely amazing. I've spent soCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is one of my most favourite shooters. This is the first Call of Duty to depart from the World War II era and now takes place in "Modern Warfare." The campaign is very fun with exhilarating missions, the story is compelling, the characters have great personalities, and the environment is excellent. And then the multiplayer is absolutely amazing. I've spent so many hours just on the online part. The leveling system works really well, the maps are all fantastic, and the game modes are really fun to play. Call of Duty 4 is a must play shooter and it's a must play. Expand
  84. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    The good old times of CoD. Has a nice Multiplayer and the Campaign is just wonderful. I can totally recommend this game to everyone who likes CoD. This is one of the best Parts.
  85. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    best game ever made on console. its truly sad where this franchise has went. totally down the toilet with activision pumping and dumping games with the cod name on it just to make profit as fast as they can. truly shameful. long live cod 4.
  86. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    Call of Duty 4 is an excellent shooter with a memorable story and a multiplayer that has an incredible replay value. CoD 4 was the first game I've played in the series back in 2010 and I've been playing CoD ever since.The story is great along with awesome and in depth characters. Today, most CoD players don't even play the game for its story. But, I highly recommend playing CoD 4 'sCall of Duty 4 is an excellent shooter with a memorable story and a multiplayer that has an incredible replay value. CoD 4 was the first game I've played in the series back in 2010 and I've been playing CoD ever since.The story is great along with awesome and in depth characters. Today, most CoD players don't even play the game for its story. But, I highly recommend playing CoD 4 's campaign as it's unforgettable experience coming from a first person shooter. As for the multiplayer, it's addicting as any other CoD except this CoD will more simpler in terms of perks, kill streaks, etc. But it still has the CoD formula that we all love to play. S , I give this game a 10 out of 10 and highly recommend it to any COD or fps players. Expand
  87. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    Literally the best FPS I've ever played, nostalgia goggles on or off. It's a shame it's not supported for online. Would love to see a redux version for next gen consoles
  88. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    The CoD game that launched the franchise into the stratosphere. The campaign was incredible - better than some summer blockbusters. What else can be said about the multiplayer? This was lightning in a bottle, and has been the standard by which we judge all future CoD games. CoD4 was the best game of the Xbox 360/PS3/Wii generation, and I will cherish the memories I have and the friends IThe CoD game that launched the franchise into the stratosphere. The campaign was incredible - better than some summer blockbusters. What else can be said about the multiplayer? This was lightning in a bottle, and has been the standard by which we judge all future CoD games. CoD4 was the best game of the Xbox 360/PS3/Wii generation, and I will cherish the memories I have and the friends I made playing that game. It is the gold standard, and it is missed. Expand
  89. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    split screen or single player are both fun even if i get beet by someone who is new at this i mean really it is surprising that a new person like that can beet you at your own game that you been playing longer than her
  90. Jul 1, 2015
    10
    Sem mais melhor jogo da franquia esse multiplayer muito bem trabalhado , Parabéns pelos desing , progamadores , roteristas e etc da Infinity Ward , Tomare que tenha uma remake
  91. Oct 20, 2015
    10
    This game was revolutionary. The first person genre would not be the same without this game. The addition of the perk system is groundbreaking. On top of great multiplayer, the campaign was 2nd to none
  92. Aug 3, 2016
    10
    Lo jugue a casi 10 años después de su lanzamiento original y no puedo creer que no lo haya jugado antes, es junto al Modern warfare 2 el mejor de la saga, una campaña memorable, un excelente multiplayer, buenos personajes y una muy buena historia. lastima que después Infinity Ward se fue a la mrda con Modern warfare 3, Ghost y muy posiblemente Infinite warfare
  93. PatrickA.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    As a Brit in Singapore I had the luck of picking this game up early...and WOW am I impressed.. It's COD so you know what to expect in terms of the intensity of the firefights, but with a modern day timeline which disturbingly echoes the images you see on the news. I guarantee you'll get a feeling of deja-vu, especially in the US marine sections. The quotes from people such as As a Brit in Singapore I had the luck of picking this game up early...and WOW am I impressed.. It's COD so you know what to expect in terms of the intensity of the firefights, but with a modern day timeline which disturbingly echoes the images you see on the news. I guarantee you'll get a feeling of deja-vu, especially in the US marine sections. The quotes from people such as Condi Rice and Vlad Putin really hammers it home that this is not WW2 but a present day "worst-case" scenario. This game is incredibly immersive and entertaining, and combined with the excellent graphics makes me feel this is the best of the FPS's out this year. Expand
  94. TomS.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Even after all the hype and anticipation, Halo 3 and Rainbow Six Vegas (good though they were) were poor compared to this game. It boasts awesome graphics and sound, and with great variety of weapons and maps, this could well be the best online FPS ever.The only thing holding it back from a 10 was the short single player but this is still a must-have 360 and PS3 game.
  95. RowanF
    Apr 17, 2009
    9
    I love Halo 3. I also love COD4. Now i think i'm about the only gamer ever to have said that ever. They are both realy good in different ways. COD4 offers a tactical and beautifuly thought out singleplayer experience displayed in beautiful graphics. Needless to say that it completely the reviatalises the Call of Duty experience with all of its revolutionary ideas. It truly is I love Halo 3. I also love COD4. Now i think i'm about the only gamer ever to have said that ever. They are both realy good in different ways. COD4 offers a tactical and beautifuly thought out singleplayer experience displayed in beautiful graphics. Needless to say that it completely the reviatalises the Call of Duty experience with all of its revolutionary ideas. It truly is refreshing to see a game with such scope and imagination. The multiplayer is also a great, if sometimes slightly repetetive, experience. Having said all of this, though, whereas COD4 beats Halo 3 hands down on imagination and original gameplay ideas, it falls just short of Halo 3 when it comes to overall fun factor. That is, once you get past Halo's confusing plot line and complete lack of new ideas. Expand
  96. MikeT.
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 for grownups, this is the next-gen title that Bungie should've made. Great multiplayer, great singleplayer. Not a perfect 10 because in singleplayer, there are some frustrating points where you restart over and over b/c its not clear exactly what you must do.
  97. BjörnH.
    Nov 9, 2007
    9
    Totally awsome! I got this great feeling that makes you sit up all night just to play this game. Incredible great multiplayer, and a great single player campaign that feels like you are one of the members in a special force. Only one thing makes it go down one point is the spawning of the enemies. They appear sometimes on places that were impossible for them to get to. So you for example Totally awsome! I got this great feeling that makes you sit up all night just to play this game. Incredible great multiplayer, and a great single player campaign that feels like you are one of the members in a special force. Only one thing makes it go down one point is the spawning of the enemies. They appear sometimes on places that were impossible for them to get to. So you for example cant count on that your allies cover your six. Anyway, it is worth the buy. Expand
  98. L.D.
    Dec 23, 2007
    9
    This game is awesome. The multiplayer kicks ass, but the single player is a little short with not much of a story and a little plot twist, but it's still fun. Co-op would've been nice. But who gives a shit, the mp is frickin fun. I actually liked this game better than hal03.
  99. PaulC.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    The campaign mode is probably not even worth trying, but the online multiplayer is great fun and highly addictive. The only downside is that the online players tend to be a lot more annoying. There's a much higher incidence of racist and homophobic comments playing this game than Halo 3, that's for sure.
  100. TheDude
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    This game is kind of tough to grade. The single-player mission is the best military game single-player experience I've ever had. It was phenomenal. I wasn't even looking forward to playing it because I thought I was sick of military games. The presentation, the variety of missions, and the immersion and excitement levels were just awesome. They did a great job with it. However, This game is kind of tough to grade. The single-player mission is the best military game single-player experience I've ever had. It was phenomenal. I wasn't even looking forward to playing it because I thought I was sick of military games. The presentation, the variety of missions, and the immersion and excitement levels were just awesome. They did a great job with it. However, the single-player mission is very short. It took me about 8 hours and I kind of took my time. So it was a ten for quality, but the quantity sets it back. That would be made up for by the replay-ability of the multi-player, except for I didn't like the multi-player. Granted, I only tried it for a few hours, so it might just take more getting used to, and I didn't get to try all the modes. But so, since I didn't enjoy the multi-player, and the solo campaign is so short, I can't quite give it a perfect ten, though it seems like a crime to not give it a ten considering how excellent the single-player mode was while it lasted. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Simply put, Call of Duty 4 does everything right and nearly nothing wrong. But where it elevates itself above even the best 360 shooters is how all of the good stuff is ludicrously good. The campaign never lets up, while multiplayer is a triple-A affair in itself. [Dec 2007, p.36]
  2. COD4 is cutting-edge entertainment, but the downside to this dense and gripping delivery is that it's over far too quickly: five to six hours on Normal difficulty...COD4 is short but immensely satisfying and we can't wait for a post-modern revival. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  3. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.