User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1249 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JG
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Awesome game, the best next gen FPS. The single player is flawless and multiplayer is addicting and fun. A must buy.
  2. EvanG.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game is so realistic and so modern in aspect of the weapons except for the perks, but the perks are what makes Call of Duty a game. Overall, its sick and i give it a 10/10.
  3. RyanP.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Best game of 2007 and best FPS in a long time. Single player was a little short, but multiplayer part of the game makes up for it. I don't know why people would rate it a 1 or 3, but it is the best game of 2007 (yes, better than Halo 3).
  4. TravisM.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    The most solid realistic FPS that I've ever played. I'm active duty Army (US Military) and must say that this game is the closest you can come to actual combat without having to wear the actual equipment and enlist. Might end up replacing Halo 1 as the best multiplayer FPS of all time. Only a few minor complaints with the perks in the game, but if you have a choice of this or The most solid realistic FPS that I've ever played. I'm active duty Army (US Military) and must say that this game is the closest you can come to actual combat without having to wear the actual equipment and enlist. Might end up replacing Halo 1 as the best multiplayer FPS of all time. Only a few minor complaints with the perks in the game, but if you have a choice of this or Halo 3... Buy this twice and give one to a friend. Expand
  5. RyanP
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    I don't know what the last person was talking about when he mentioned blu ray, I mean, if they made the campaign longer it would've been on both systems no matter what, but in this case, both the PS3 and 360 have the same, short campaign, but this is still a VERY excellent game on it's own. Let's hope the next CoD installment is longer. I mean, look at Halo 3!!
  6. GatorB.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    This is the year of the FPS for the 360. Halo 3, Bioshock, Orange Box, and now COD4! The multiplayer is excellent.
  7. SteveM.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    This is the best FPS I have ever played. The multiplayer rivals the polish and tight execution of even Halo 3. The campaign, which I am currently working on, is filled with some of the most beautiful graphics, sound, level design, and gameplay I have ever witnessed. Other FPS' may offer different innovations and have their own respective advantages, but overall, this is the best game This is the best FPS I have ever played. The multiplayer rivals the polish and tight execution of even Halo 3. The campaign, which I am currently working on, is filled with some of the most beautiful graphics, sound, level design, and gameplay I have ever witnessed. Other FPS' may offer different innovations and have their own respective advantages, but overall, this is the best game of this genre I have ever had the pleasure of playing. Expand
  8. DC
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    This game is the one of the best war games ever. Online play is excellent you can actually play with your friends by inviting them to your party and searching for a game together. The action is intense, none stop bullets flying by you head, explosions everywhere, call for air strikes from above, or helicopter support. The developers of COD4 finally figured out how to defeat the art ofThis game is the one of the best war games ever. Online play is excellent you can actually play with your friends by inviting them to your party and searching for a game together. The action is intense, none stop bullets flying by you head, explosions everywhere, call for air strikes from above, or helicopter support. The developers of COD4 finally figured out how to defeat the art of spawn killing, I love the random spawning. Great game a must have, GRAW2 and RAINBOW need to take a back seat to COD4. Expand
  9. NickK.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Best MP game ever made, runs 60 fps on the 360, I have not ever had a drop yet. Game is a beauty and gives reason to keep playing. SP was the most cinematic game I have played for an FPS. Great Job Infinity Ward, 2 thumbs way up
  10. JAMESV.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It is a great campaign but it is to short. but the best part is it is realy great/emence online. (if you dont have live then you might not like it.)
  11. JamesT.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Amazing graphics, Good single player, and absolutely astonishing online play.
  12. MikeW.
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    This was a great FPS game in addition to the Call of Duty series. Before I played MW1, I first played MW2, and upon finding it fun and later stumbled on to Metacritic to discover the high scores its prequel has received, is when I had decided to buy it. I had to give this game a score of 10 in order to make up for some of other people's mistake of accidentally giving MW1 a lower This was a great FPS game in addition to the Call of Duty series. Before I played MW1, I first played MW2, and upon finding it fun and later stumbled on to Metacritic to discover the high scores its prequel has received, is when I had decided to buy it. I had to give this game a score of 10 in order to make up for some of other people's mistake of accidentally giving MW1 a lower score such as zero while the comment was purely praising it. Simple mistake people do, and simple fix that we can do. Expand
  13. PapaDoc
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Is by far one of the best games I have every played for the Xbox 360. I didn't think it would live up to hype so I rented it first. Kept it two weeks over due then went to Gamestop and bought it. I have gotten my $60.00 worth .The graphics are excellent and the controls are tight. The story is good for a war shooter game. I am so glad Infinity Ward Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Is by far one of the best games I have every played for the Xbox 360. I didn't think it would live up to hype so I rented it first. Kept it two weeks over due then went to Gamestop and bought it. I have gotten my $60.00 worth .The graphics are excellent and the controls are tight. The story is good for a war shooter game. I am so glad Infinity Ward made a modern warfare game, instead on another WWII game. I have nothing against them, but I was a big Medal of Honor player when it was on the PS1, so I am kind of getting tired of this concept, and the crappy guns. In Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare it brings in a believe story which is interesting the campaign is good and challenging especially the last final mission (High Mile Club good luck beating it on Veteran) This is also one of the most completive multiplayer game I have every played. Multiplayer is where the game really shines as there is a lot of modes to play in. My personal favorite is Domination (it's a great mode to perfecta your aiming skills.) But there are other modes such as one on one, team death match, and etc. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is a perfect FPS for the Xbox 360, and for someone that has both consoles (PS3 and XBOX 360). If you are deciding which system to get it for, I would suggest getting it for the Xbox 360. I have play the PS3 version, the graphics are the same and the sound is the same, but to me it felt better on the Xbox 360 as FPS shooters typically control better for the 360. Ergo Halo, Halo 2 and Halo 3. But it still a great game for the PS3 just takes a while to handle. Also if you're an achievement hound then the Xbox 360 is the way to go anyway. This is the first time I played a Call of Duty game so I hope the rest are just as good. So to sum this up, just buy this game you won't be mad and the replay value is very high, I bought it last November and I'm still playing it. Now please excuse me I have someone sending me an invite to play COD4. Expand
  14. DavidWorsham
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing! Best game of the year, hands down.
  15. [Anonymous]
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Best FPS on the current generation of consoles, hands down.
  16. MikeR.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This game is so cool, the multiplayer is awesome and the campaign is also awesome. Perfect 10! This game is gaming at its best! YAHHHHHH
  17. EricO.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Best FPS I have ever played.
  18. CalebT.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This game is FANTASTIC. I was a little disapointed by the last one but this game more than makes up for it with it's overall intensity. From the excelent sneaking missions to the hectic urban battles, this game has it all. Look out Halo, Bioshock, Gears of War and the Orange Box, there is a new champ in town and it's called Call of Duty 4.
  19. ImaC.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    If you like fps and tons of action... this game is for you. I've played them all and this sits on top of my list. You cannot go wrong with this game... I've already decided the moment I finish I will start it again. Live is awesome as well...! buy this...
  20. NeilVitro
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    One rare, AWESOME, compelling, realistic, incredible gaming experience. It IS too short, because it is so much fun that you can't bear for it to end. Upon beating it, I immediately started playing through it again.
  21. StuartD.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    What an amazing game, nothing like it on the 360 that compares to this beauty.
  22. CMode
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    Absolutey AMAZING in every aspect except length, but that is made up for with the hours spent playing multiplayer!!!
  23. MaxS.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    Simply put "the fun never stops" . From the training course, to the end assault at 20000 feet, this game just rocks. Oh yeah the Multiplayer is pretty good too!
  24. TonyG.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    SINGLE PLAYER: Who cares? MULTIPLAYER: 96+ game hours and it's still awesome--CoD 4 is the best FPS available on a console. You can kit out your player for whatever style you want--sniping, run & gun, explosives, heavy support fire, and just about any other bizarre combo that you can dream up. Best of all, you can make these ideas work--no one style is dominant. Graphics are SINGLE PLAYER: Who cares? MULTIPLAYER: 96+ game hours and it's still awesome--CoD 4 is the best FPS available on a console. You can kit out your player for whatever style you want--sniping, run & gun, explosives, heavy support fire, and just about any other bizarre combo that you can dream up. Best of all, you can make these ideas work--no one style is dominant. Graphics are phenomenal, boards are expansive and well thought out, and the sound effects are great. After awhile, you can even pick out the reports of the different types of guns. Buy / rent this title if you're looking for insane multiplayer FPS. Expand
  25. J.D.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    Fantastic single player + multiplayer with gorgeous graphics make this an easy purchase. Forget Halo and buy this game. You'll understand when you are launching bombs from an AC-130 and watching the guys on the screen fly all directions.
  26. JamesP.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    i have finished the game and i thought it had everything it was superb and it was detailed with great first person shooting and cant wait for call of duty 5 to come out
  27. HughGRection
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    Sweet. IMO best game of 2007.
  28. LoganC.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Great story plot, Amazing graphics, Realistic environments, if your looking for experience thats like actual combat this close to it.
  29. JoeL.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This game ROCKS. It may have a few flaw, but I can't think of them right now because of how fun and addicting this game is. The multi player aspect of the game is awesome. This is a must have, but it will ruin you because you won't be able to play any of your other FPS games.
  30. DaylandM.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Its the perfect online multiplayer experience. Every fps that came before paved the way for this, the ultimate online experience. It borrows a little from every game that came before it, to our benefit as critical gamers. I sincerely hope that by raising the bar for everyone else, some game company will be motivated to exceed what COD4:MW has achieved.
  31. SamB.
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    I've never considered myself a hardcore gamer prior to the release of Call of Duy 4. The single player mode is the perfect length, it throws tons of action at you but without going overborad. The story is predictable, but the game's personality makes it worth while to keep playing. Perks such as the cheats and the epilogue are funny and entertaining. But the meat, in my opinion I've never considered myself a hardcore gamer prior to the release of Call of Duy 4. The single player mode is the perfect length, it throws tons of action at you but without going overborad. The story is predictable, but the game's personality makes it worth while to keep playing. Perks such as the cheats and the epilogue are funny and entertaining. But the meat, in my opinion of the COD sandwich is the multiplayer. Infinity Ward made leveling up and completing challenges feel better than it should. Framerate during online play is great, all the guns are balanced perfectly and each map offers it's own set of pro/cons you must learn at your own discretion. It's the features like a hit icon to let you know your bullets have reached another player and killcams so you know not to make the same mistake twice that well round and polish the multiplayer. I honestly have no complaints about this game, overall, singleplayer is great, multiplayer is great, controls works great and the game is just plain fun. This game is not about art direction or camera angles, it's about fun, the game is f - u - n. Expand
  32. BenC.
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    The single greatest game to ever grace my disk drive. This is a near perfect masterpiece of a game. From the intense singleplayer campaign, to the endlessly replayable multiplayer, this title is flawless. Although Co-Op campaign would be nice, I won't fault the game for not having it.
  33. SawyerC.
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    The best xbox 360 game by far I haven't even looked at halo 3 since i bought cod4 when it came out.
  34. JukkaS
    May 23, 2009
    10
    I'm making this review now, May 2009, after many games I waited for a very long flopped, I have always came back to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. This game has that something, that doesnt let go, the singleplayer is just perfectly long that you complete it over a weekend, or faster if playing on easier difficulties. The multiplayer, is something never seen before, near perfect. Yet I'm making this review now, May 2009, after many games I waited for a very long flopped, I have always came back to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. This game has that something, that doesnt let go, the singleplayer is just perfectly long that you complete it over a weekend, or faster if playing on easier difficulties. The multiplayer, is something never seen before, near perfect. Yet CoD4: Modern Warfare has got some minor faults, few bugs still remain and few other small mistakes. But this has absolutelly no effect on the quality of the game, these minor faults do not shatter the strong bulletresisting glass of CoD4. A mustplay for every fps fan, and any other. Expand
  35. ZackM
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    COD 4 is amazing. Although the game was costly, I soon realized it was money well spent once I began to play it. The game defiantly lived up to the hype for me. The graphics, game play, and replay ability factor were all there. BTW, this game is very similar to SOCOM US Navy Seals. So, if you loved SOCOM (as I did) you
  36. michaelk
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Single Player is irrelevant in this game. It's not about that so stop complaining people. Simply put the online play is the best available. It will take days to be able to compete with other players but once you get a prestige under your belt it is just THE best social online experience ever.
  37. NikhilKulkarni
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    This game is just as fun as Halo. Now, I am a huge Halo fan. But when I started playing this game, I shared my love of FPS with this and Halo. I'd say both of these games are equally terrific in terms of both campaign, multiplayer, skill, and strategy. Both COD4 and Halo 3 really deserved a high score.
  38. MikeH.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Although the campaign is a tad short, it is brilliantly paced and incredibly atmospheric. Without spoiling it for anyone: the sniper mission, in particular, is one of the best single-player shooter levels I've ever played. With all the challenges and unlockables the multiplayer is deep enough, and has enough room for skill, to make this one you'll be playing for months to come.
  39. MikeS.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Single player campaign is a bit short, but it's still the best I've seen on the 360. The multiplayer is basically perfect. I've played Halo 3, and I can't even begin to understand why the scores are comparable.
  40. EricAtkins
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    The campaign is unlike any campaign I've played. The multiplayer gameplay is innovative with meta games and great graphics. There is a lot of replayability in this game. I am one of the biggest HALO fans, but I won't be playing Halo 3 until I'm tired of CoD4. Unlike Halo 3 (which seems like downloadable content for Halo 2), CoD4 is fresh.
  41. BDub
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Only one complaint about COD4, no online Co-Op. Other than that this game absolutely blew me away. I bought COD4 as a game to hold me over until Assassins Creed, and it ended up being just so much more. Infinity Ward really upped the bar on the typical war shooter with this game. This game experience is more similar to Rainbow 6 Vegas (also awesome) than the previous COD's (minus the Only one complaint about COD4, no online Co-Op. Other than that this game absolutely blew me away. I bought COD4 as a game to hold me over until Assassins Creed, and it ended up being just so much more. Infinity Ward really upped the bar on the typical war shooter with this game. This game experience is more similar to Rainbow 6 Vegas (also awesome) than the previous COD's (minus the cover system). I'm playing the MP a lot right now, and like it a lot, but the single player was probably the best i've ever played. The graphics and sound on a nice system is amazing. The SP isn't very long, but i don't feel it was short either. If keeping the game shorter is what they needed to do to make the game as intense as it is, then i'm all for it. I'd much rather have 5 hours of bliss than 10 hours of boring sameness. This game is an absolute must buy. I'm a previous Halo fan, and enjoyed H3. It doesn't excite me to say that i liked this game a lot better than H3, but i did. The single player story is gripping and just so well done. Expand
  42. SeanZ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This is actually much better than the playstation 3 version. Fanboys of the PS3 still won't admit the 360's superiority in games and online. Call of duty 4 completely proves all that the 360 has already said. Great graphics, no lag whatsoever, and much smoother than the PS3.
  43. ChrisH.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Besides the fact that this game is absolutely beautiful. It delivers the best console FPS action out there today. The single player story is interesting and engrossing, and the multiplayer level system is he definition of addicting.
  44. RayB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    The single player mode is getting lots of heat because its short. however, this game is designed in a way to be played over and over again...and the levels are fun enough to make you come again and play. multiplayer is fun also, especialy if you have a decent, well behaved group of people at your side...with microphones...then its really great. i have played halo 3 online and its not as The single player mode is getting lots of heat because its short. however, this game is designed in a way to be played over and over again...and the levels are fun enough to make you come again and play. multiplayer is fun also, especialy if you have a decent, well behaved group of people at your side...with microphones...then its really great. i have played halo 3 online and its not as fun as cod 4...not by a long shot. thats a major suprize, considering halo 3 was meant to own xbox live...but cod 4 won that battle hands down. however...the game of the year must goto bioshock. Collapse
  45. AllanM.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Though short the single player is THRILLING. And the real reason to buy any FPS is the multiplayer which succeeds on EVERY level. A remarkable multiplayer experience that perfectly blends run and gun with Ghost Recon style tactics. Bravo IW.
  46. MichaelE.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing.
  47. ShaneC.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    By far the best game of the year. Halo pales in comparison.
  48. BatMan
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Makes Halo 3 seem like dog vomit.
  49. JasonL.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    I haven't been to far into the campaign but what I have played has been as good as an FPS military style game. That being said this game probably has the best multiplayer I have ever played. I'm a huge halo fan, I love Rainbow Six Vegas, I enjoyed lost planet and GRAW 2 and this trounces all of them easily. Aside from the occasional lag the mulitplayer is perfect.
  50. ArthurH.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Amazing graphics. Engaging storyline. Single player missions feel movie-like. I haven't played a game of this quality in a long time. Probably since Super Mario 64 or the first Call of Duty. Multiplayer is innovative with perks, customizable classes, and fun maps. I felt like I got so much with my 50 dollars. The campaign felt a little short, but if you look at all the work and Amazing graphics. Engaging storyline. Single player missions feel movie-like. I haven't played a game of this quality in a long time. Probably since Super Mario 64 or the first Call of Duty. Multiplayer is innovative with perks, customizable classes, and fun maps. I felt like I got so much with my 50 dollars. The campaign felt a little short, but if you look at all the work and detail they put into every mission you'll see why. Buy it now! Expand
  51. RoBoTG.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    CoD4's multiplayer alone warrants a perfect score, but it doesn't stop there. The single player is great and Arcade mode is super cool.
  52. KyleB.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Very few games come out as strongly as this title. This is one of the best ,if not the best, games out. Because of its new storyline nit that is not WWII related, it gives this game its freshness. The game mutliplayer hits a homerun, because of the skill based unlockable, it makes you try the hardest just so that you will be able toget even one kill. So overall I Give this game a perfect Very few games come out as strongly as this title. This is one of the best ,if not the best, games out. Because of its new storyline nit that is not WWII related, it gives this game its freshness. The game mutliplayer hits a homerun, because of the skill based unlockable, it makes you try the hardest just so that you will be able toget even one kill. So overall I Give this game a perfect 10 out of 10. Expand
  53. StuW.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable game. I wish I can get back to the single player game but I'm hooked on the upgrade-crack system of multiplayer. It's Diablo II all over again, except in a game that keeps your heart racing for hours and blows your ears and eyes away from your head. If you are into FPS you better get this game - now.
  54. DavidH.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    What this game lacks in a single player campaign at about 6 - 9 hours for medium difficulty makes up in absolutely incredible story and the most satisfying game-play, level design, AND "mission objectives" I have ever seen in any Military FPS to date. Some of the levels they made had so much energy I would restart the level right before it finished because I wanted to play it again. There What this game lacks in a single player campaign at about 6 - 9 hours for medium difficulty makes up in absolutely incredible story and the most satisfying game-play, level design, AND "mission objectives" I have ever seen in any Military FPS to date. Some of the levels they made had so much energy I would restart the level right before it finished because I wanted to play it again. There is so much diversity that this game will make you want to play the single player at least twice (Having an arcade mode is a major plus) The Single player is fantastic, but what makes this game special is the most comprehensive and enjoyable Multiplayer that Call of Duty games are known to have. Playing through Xbox Live I can always find a game. The RPG style of leveling up weapons is such a nice touch. As far as I am concerned if you hate FPS in all forms and don't want to shill out 60 dollars for this game. At least go to your movie rental store and try it out for a week - I promise you that you will not be disappointed! Expand
  55. vz
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Want extra hours of campaign game play? Push the difficulty level on notch higher than the recommended one :) Even getting killed is so sweet in such a wonderful game!
  56. KevinL.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    This game plain and simple, just never gets old. Awesome from the minute you turn it on, until the next Call of Duty comes out.
  57. BrutalThumb
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    If this doesn't get game of the year, it will be a true shame. Yeah, the single player is short, but who cares, I would rather have a short campaign that is wonderful than a long one that is dull. And where it truely shines is online. GOTY!!!!!!
  58. AdamM.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    Great single player pretty short but best online game ever made, i loved halo3 and the orange box (not so much team fortress2) but this is the best online fps by a country mile.
  59. MattM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Perfect, in every detail. Perfect online, perfect campaign, perfect controls. Perfect.
  60. Shadowstorm
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    The recently released PC demo and the multiplayer BETA on the Xbox 360 platform has convinced me to purchase this title. Multiplayer gaming was smooth, graphically impressive, and the gameplay mechanics were, I felt, very balanced. So far I have been impressed with this and I can't wait to get my hands on it again on November 5th, when this title is released.
  61. PvtCastle
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Me and my friends play the online part all the time, this game is awesome. You can shoot through walls (realistically of course) and everything. I haven't really been able to find any flaws except the servers suck, it kicks you offline a lot but im not sure if thats not just because i have a German internet connection. Either way it is a must buy game, Im actually in the Army and the Me and my friends play the online part all the time, this game is awesome. You can shoot through walls (realistically of course) and everything. I haven't really been able to find any flaws except the servers suck, it kicks you offline a lot but im not sure if thats not just because i have a German internet connection. Either way it is a must buy game, Im actually in the Army and the weapons like the M16 A-4 and the AK are very realistic. I would recommend to everyone. Expand
  62. Colin
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    What else can I say! After playing nearly all of the xbox360 'killer-aps' of the last year, inluding, Halo 3, Mass Effect, The Orange Box and Bioshock I can confidently conclude that COD4 is the best of the lot. The single-player is short, but every single minute is exihillarating, and so compressed with quality that it's comparative to playing five 'alright' What else can I say! After playing nearly all of the xbox360 'killer-aps' of the last year, inluding, Halo 3, Mass Effect, The Orange Box and Bioshock I can confidently conclude that COD4 is the best of the lot. The single-player is short, but every single minute is exihillarating, and so compressed with quality that it's comparative to playing five 'alright' games. Then the multiplayer is also in a league of its own, I don't understand why so many people bang on about Halo 3's multiplayer, this game leaves it K.I.A in the Live battlefield. If you like games then you owe it to yourself to play this. An instant classic. Expand
  63. BM.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    This game Is just SICK! One of the best all-around games I've played. Made me say Halo what? But I am sick of all these people complaining about the campaign being too short- Turn up the difficulty and I promise you that it will take you a lot longer to beat. It will borderline piss you off.
  64. Adrisn
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Pretty much perfect game. Now everyone thinks they wanna be in the military.
  65. MattC.
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. Multiplayer alone worth the price.
  66. AndrewA.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    This game is intense. Love it. This is why i play video games.
  67. NickJ.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    This game was an all around best. I have friends that LOVE Halo and when they bought CoD:4 they were amazed by it. One problem is the headshots. You have to shoot them twice. Also the online cage-match is not good because people "boost" their rank. I hope they know this is against the Code of Conduct for Xbox Live.
  68. DanielC.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    The best FPS on any console so far, Single player may be short but it has arcade mode which will give at least 4-6 hours ontop,If you play online then the gaming goodness will never end i have played online for over 250 hours and am only now starting to play other games,So if that is not good value what is. thank you COD4!
  69. DewaldH.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    Simply the best multiplayer out there! Single player is incredible, I enjoyed finishing it on veteran!
  70. Ryencoke
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    No questions asked, this was the best shooter of 07' (Since RB6: Vegas was released in 06'.). Anybody who gives this game below a 6 is a moron.. Or they're not so big into the FPS shooters. This game is far far far better than Halo in so many aspects. People are saying how it requires no skill to be good at this game, when it most certainly does. The online play for this No questions asked, this was the best shooter of 07' (Since RB6: Vegas was released in 06'.). Anybody who gives this game below a 6 is a moron.. Or they're not so big into the FPS shooters. This game is far far far better than Halo in so many aspects. People are saying how it requires no skill to be good at this game, when it most certainly does. The online play for this game is some of the best I have seen in a long time. Runs perfect, and is better than the PS3 version (I have played both online and offline). Best game on the market until Rainbow Six Vegas 2. Expand
  71. ChrisB.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    the games amazing... yea the singleplayer is pretty short... but the online definately makes up for that... halo 3 is a bunch of crap compared to this COD4... a must have game... for people with good taste
  72. JustinE.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. The campaign is relatively short, but if you have any sense at all, you'd know that this game is about multiplayer. The progression system keeps the game fun forever. I got this and Halo 3 at the same time, and I have to say that Halo is completely lacking in most areas compared to CoD4. The multiplayer is amazing and seldom gets old. Halo, on the other hand, This game is amazing. The campaign is relatively short, but if you have any sense at all, you'd know that this game is about multiplayer. The progression system keeps the game fun forever. I got this and Halo 3 at the same time, and I have to say that Halo is completely lacking in most areas compared to CoD4. The multiplayer is amazing and seldom gets old. Halo, on the other hand, gets old extremely quick, and it doesn't help that everyone that plays Halo is a complete A HOLE. Seriously. Everyone. CoD4 is also much more balanced. Overall way better. Expand
  73. KevinN.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    The best Online game that I've played yet. The Campaign is amazing and the action never stops.
  74. DavidG.
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    I never played a war game in my life until I play Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and it changed my perspective on first-person shooter games completely. This is a must have game for any gamer who owns a PlayStation 3, xbox 360, or PC. Online for call of duty 4 is the greatest. The game play is also incredibly realistic.
  75. DavidGagen
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    I never played a war game in my life until I played Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and let me tell you this game changed my perspective on First-Person Shooters completly. Its single player might be a little short but the online most certainly makes up for it. This game encouraged me to buy more First and Third-person shooters. Any gamer who owns a PS3, Xbox 360, or even a PC shouldI never played a war game in my life until I played Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and let me tell you this game changed my perspective on First-Person Shooters completly. Its single player might be a little short but the online most certainly makes up for it. This game encouraged me to buy more First and Third-person shooters. Any gamer who owns a PS3, Xbox 360, or even a PC should definatley purchase this award winning game. Expand
  76. JeremyA.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing between the campaign and the online play one of the greatest games of all time.
  77. BenW.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    This is without a doubt the best FPS ever made, and I highly doubt that there will be anything that comes remotely close to surpassing COD4 in the genre for years to come.
  78. GilsT
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best shotters i have played in a long time even if the physics are not the best it is kind of funny that if you are in oldschool mode if you shoot someone with a pistol that they take a backfilp and they twist their waist in a circle
  79. SamM.
    Jul 4, 2008
    10
    This game gats a 10, Just for the online mode, with lots of modes available, Excellent maps. this game just keeps you coming back for more. Offline it is a solid shooter which will please all fps fans and would be an 8/10.but online this game rocks.
  80. TedB.
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    The online experience is ideal for a highly competitive superfreak like myself. Modern Combat is absolutely the best first person shooter ever made. Thank you Infinity Ward and please continue building more maps for us to enjoy!
  81. kriswalker
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    this game is by far the best first person shooter out. i am sort of confused by how gears of war 2 has a better score as its a shocking game.
    call of duty 4 on the other hand has 1 or 2 negative things about it, eerything else is brilliant
  82. MikeL
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    Wow... all the hate is amazing. The story mode was linear, but sometimes you need linearity to achieve a focused story. There are plenty of sandbox type games and 'freedom' games out there, yet most are only played through once anyways. The default mode is somewhat easy, but that's why there's a hard mode. The veteran challenge will definitely test your skills, as well Wow... all the hate is amazing. The story mode was linear, but sometimes you need linearity to achieve a focused story. There are plenty of sandbox type games and 'freedom' games out there, yet most are only played through once anyways. The default mode is somewhat easy, but that's why there's a hard mode. The veteran challenge will definitely test your skills, as well as having you throw the controller at some parts. (It's almost as cheap as the endless flying bat respawns from the old NES Ninja Gaiden series.) Anyone who rates this below 5 is, in my mind, just trolling. Expand
  83. Jon
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Definitely a must have. It might even be the single, greatest first person shooter to date. The campaign, while short, is nothing short of amazing. It never lets up on your journey from the beautiful deserts of the Middle East to the abandoned buildings of Pripyat, Ukraine and beyond. For people going at a leisure pace, it might clock in around 10 hours. The multiplayer is what sets it Definitely a must have. It might even be the single, greatest first person shooter to date. The campaign, while short, is nothing short of amazing. It never lets up on your journey from the beautiful deserts of the Middle East to the abandoned buildings of Pripyat, Ukraine and beyond. For people going at a leisure pace, it might clock in around 10 hours. The multiplayer is what sets it apart. As much as I do love Halo, CoD multiplayer is in my opinion better. I can only hope that Modern Warfare 2 can deliver, since there's massive hype on it. Expand
  84. NickO.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    The overall length of the single player was short but one of the more enjoyable campaigns I have ever played. Then theres the multiplayer, which takes all other shooter games, such as halo and battlefield 2. Combines them all plus more to make an amazing gaming experience.
  85. AnonymousMC
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Although short campaign, it is incredibly well done (especially the British SAS missions). Large variety of different match types for multilayer.
  86. lucas38
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Without question, Call of Duty 4 is the best FPS out there! I like Halo 3, but the sheer grittiness and realism of the MP battles in CoD4 make Halo 3 MP feel like a walk through the park. In fact, after a particularly gut wrenching battle in CoD4, I hopped into a MP battle in Halo 3 and it felt downright relaxing! Call of Duty 4 is a white knuckle ride of a game and being a Black male Without question, Call of Duty 4 is the best FPS out there! I like Halo 3, but the sheer grittiness and realism of the MP battles in CoD4 make Halo 3 MP feel like a walk through the park. In fact, after a particularly gut wrenching battle in CoD4, I hopped into a MP battle in Halo 3 and it felt downright relaxing! Call of Duty 4 is a white knuckle ride of a game and being a Black male that's saying a lot! LOL! Expand
  87. DaveH.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    This game is pure excellence. It is far worth the 50-60$ spent to buy it. Phenominal graphics, AI, and story make this for a great game. And I'm tired of everyone complaining about a "short single player" because it lasts much longer than 5 hours IF you dont play it on the Easiest difficulties. Buy it.
  88. MikeM.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Although the single player does feel short, the leveling up through multi player, and the over all level playing feel more than makes up for it.
  89. LiefS.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Amazing game, it makes halo look like a current gen game. and it took a way less time to make, it shows what game makers can do when they dont just rely on a name and online play, and the online play is realistic which i prefer reather than shooting, gun butting and then grenading to kill someone.
  90. MikeD.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    The single player action is short but very well done leaving wanting much more, But the real value is in the deep level up multiplayer that reawards you for playing well and often, but at the same time keeps the playing feild level that your rank doesnt matter its all about skill. Not to mention that leveling is just about how many kills or games you've won, but more about specific The single player action is short but very well done leaving wanting much more, But the real value is in the deep level up multiplayer that reawards you for playing well and often, but at the same time keeps the playing feild level that your rank doesnt matter its all about skill. Not to mention that leveling is just about how many kills or games you've won, but more about specific tasks and activities that you most accomplish. Multiplayer also has some many option of game play that all fps fans of any type will have something they love. Expand
  91. DanyT.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    I've played many fps games, CoD 1, 2, bioshock, half-life 1, 2, Battlefield 1942, BF2, to name just a few, and none of them can compare to CoD 4 for the sensation of being right into the action in both, solo campaine and multi-players.
    It's the best of both world ;o)
  92. ChrisS.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    I have to laugh at the sony fanboy who keeps posting under a different name but using the same language. Get over it. PS3 is last in the console wars for now and this is a great game on the 360. I haven't played a combat shooter this good since the old Socom2 days. This is by far a better game than Halo3 and should be shooter of the year if not game of the year. You can't go I have to laugh at the sony fanboy who keeps posting under a different name but using the same language. Get over it. PS3 is last in the console wars for now and this is a great game on the 360. I haven't played a combat shooter this good since the old Socom2 days. This is by far a better game than Halo3 and should be shooter of the year if not game of the year. You can't go wrong with this one. Condolences PS3 fanboy. I'm sure sony will try harder next time. Expand
  93. Steve
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    This game redefines on-line multiplayer. Amazing graphics, depth, and gameplay makes this a top contender for game of the year. For those who complain about the enemy infinitely respawning (which I despise as well) you apparently never have played a COD before because that's what they all do. The game forces you to be good at it. And if you hear anyone complain about the single This game redefines on-line multiplayer. Amazing graphics, depth, and gameplay makes this a top contender for game of the year. For those who complain about the enemy infinitely respawning (which I despise as well) you apparently never have played a COD before because that's what they all do. The game forces you to be good at it. And if you hear anyone complain about the single player campaign's length, tell them to play on veteran like a real player ought to. Expand
  94. RossF.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Best Call of Duty to date. Even with the game built to run at 60 fps constantly, the game looks great. Animations are second to none (I'll never get tired of watching someone in a ghillie suit sprint) Single player has a very nice variety of missions that don't grow old. Besides some very very minor issues (most of which, no lean on the console) this game is perfect. The Best Call of Duty to date. Even with the game built to run at 60 fps constantly, the game looks great. Animations are second to none (I'll never get tired of watching someone in a ghillie suit sprint) Single player has a very nice variety of missions that don't grow old. Besides some very very minor issues (most of which, no lean on the console) this game is perfect. The multiplayer is the best on the 360 and contains a wealth of game types. Expand
  95. AlejandroR.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    This game is easily one of the top five games of the year. This game is awesome. The campaign has great missions. Online is great, and it has you playing frequently because the more experience you earn, the more weapons and "perks" you unlock. I loved the story and the ending to the campaign. It even includes a bonus mission after the game is beat. One of the reasons the user score is This game is easily one of the top five games of the year. This game is awesome. The campaign has great missions. Online is great, and it has you playing frequently because the more experience you earn, the more weapons and "perks" you unlock. I loved the story and the ending to the campaign. It even includes a bonus mission after the game is beat. One of the reasons the user score is currently an 8.4 is because three people gave this game a 0 because it is not as good as the PS3 version supposedly. You cannot give a game a 0 because it is not as good as the PS3 version. Anyways its a great game, especially since its in Modern times (Hence the name Modern Warfare), as opposed to early-mid 20th century like the other games in the Call of Duty series. Expand
  96. TJC.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable! Modern Warfare unreal.
  97. ShawnS.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Game of the year 2007 Guaranteed.
  98. JeffA.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Think Rainbow Six on crack. Call of Duty 4 puts you right onto the action like no game has before. Infinity Ward totally nailed it. If you miss out on this game, you are missing out on one of the best shooters on any platform. You start off on a ship shooting and kicking in doors, the ship is swaying and breaking apart as you are running to flee the doomed vessel. The action intensifies Think Rainbow Six on crack. Call of Duty 4 puts you right onto the action like no game has before. Infinity Ward totally nailed it. If you miss out on this game, you are missing out on one of the best shooters on any platform. You start off on a ship shooting and kicking in doors, the ship is swaying and breaking apart as you are running to flee the doomed vessel. The action intensifies from there. Expand
  99. SidC.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This game is instantly replayable, and beats Halo 3 by a milestone.
  100. InigoM.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    AWESOME! Blows away Halo 3!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Simply put, Call of Duty 4 does everything right and nearly nothing wrong. But where it elevates itself above even the best 360 shooters is how all of the good stuff is ludicrously good. The campaign never lets up, while multiplayer is a triple-A affair in itself. [Dec 2007, p.36]
  2. COD4 is cutting-edge entertainment, but the downside to this dense and gripping delivery is that it's over far too quickly: five to six hours on Normal difficulty...COD4 is short but immensely satisfying and we can't wait for a post-modern revival. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  3. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.