Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 5 all-new maps; featuring 4 Multiplayer maps and an epic Zombies experience with all-new playable characters. In Multiplayer, battle it out in Hotel, on the roof of a Cuban luxury hotel and casino against the vivid backdrop of old Havana;
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 98
    Alone, the four new competitive maps are almost reason enough to warrant a purchase of the Escalation map pack, but it's the Call of the Dead level that really takes the cake here.
  2. May 5, 2011
    90
    All in all, I see a lot of classic Treyarch in Escalation (for some people, for good or bad). While people may not have the best things to say about Treyarch's programming ability, when it comes to level design, I think they have first person shooters down pat. Unless you're completely bored of Black Ops, I'd highly recommend picking up this map pack – even over the first one.
  3. May 5, 2011
    85
    Despite the high pricing, this DLC is really filled with great content: the four maps are able to offer very different tactical experiences, and Call of the Dead, while not reinventing the gameplay of the zombie mode, will have you laughing while trying to survive. Fans can't miss it.
  4. May 5, 2011
    80
    There are still a few too many gimmicks in Escalation for my tastes - Stockpile's garage doors are very much Escalation's useless ziplines - but there's plenty of variety on offer, and the quintet of new competitive maps will slot extremely nicely into the broader rotation.
  5. May 7, 2011
    80
    Expensive for sure, but it's worth every single cent. The four new maps are well designed and entertaining. Call of the Dead is a great addiction in the zombie mode.
  6. May 8, 2011
    75
    Clearly Call of the Dead is Treyarch's most ambitious Zombie's outing yet, and they've gone some way to secure the likeness and voices of this cast of legendary characters to wrap them up in Escalation's DLC package. With an excellent cast and rejuvenating gameplay that keeps you on the move, Call of the Dead will certainly keep lovers of the undead coming back for some time in the hopes of outdoing their previous best.
  7. May 6, 2011
    58
    It's nice to see Escalation showed up to the party, but after its half-hearted song and dance it just kind of throws up on itself and passes out on the couch.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 10 out of 28
  1. May 9, 2011
    10
    Best call of duty map pack by far i like first strike but the multiplayer maps felt like they were missing something... with this map pack i can go 20-0 no problem just running around the map they feel more safer as in you will never loose a killstreak and the zombie map is this best Expand
  2. May 12, 2011
    10
    Escalation is a great experience. You have to hand it to Treyarch to actually listening to its customers and improving on an already robust map platform. People complain about the price, but to me this is more than just a map pack, it is better than some stand alone games because the experience is different than First Strike or the original map packs. It fits all players, campers, snipers, rushers, nube tubers, whatever is your flavor, you will find a home in Escalation. Great job Treyarch. Zoo, Hotel, Convoy, Stockpile are all winners and you can decide to play the edges of the map or the center. There is actually action on the edges unlike most maps where it is all concentrated in the center. Have fun! Expand
  3. May 18, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Treyarch delivers yet again another grade A map pack. The amount of time into detail this time around is superb! The first I had an opportunity to explore was Zoo, with a unique monorail system that runs through the top corner cutting through to the middle station. Zoo offers various pick off points for snipers offering a good mixture for any mid to long range weapons. After a decent round of team deathmatch I found myself emerged in Convoy. Unlike the other maps this one doesn't provide any unique feature besides a highway that runs straight down the middle with it's center structure demolished leading to a passage that allows a quick sprint from one end to the other. Now the highway itself also provides a breezeway & traffic sign posts again great for snipers to do work. If any of the maps provide multiple choke points, tight corners with some elevated spots along with working elevators. Hotel has you covered hands down. It was the only map on release day that I found everyone was pacing themselves. Any sudden runs can likely land you a deathstreak. Stockpile is one of the more fascinating broad maps Escalation has to offer. Regardless of which side you spawn from you'll quickly notice the main building straight ahead with fully functioning entrances you can shut down. When used properly it can change any matter of life and death & forces even the greatest players to change their strategy consistently. Closing the two doors doesn't mean you've fortified yourself from gunfire however. There are various ways to find your way around below & above, allowing great use for claymore surprises. Distance is definitely offered with Escalation. Each map being obese but nothing to complain about. I find myself using an Acog sight on my AUG doing exceptionally well. When you're not earning XP, Call of Dead is a unique experience in itself featuring Danny Trejo (From Dusk Till Dawn), Sarah Michelle Geller (Buffy The Vampire Slayer), Robert Englund (A Nightmare On Elm Street) & Michael Rooker (The Walking Dead). With the biggest bad ass himself George Romero (Night of The Living Dead). When playing online you're thrown right onto the map witnessing George rise from the icy waters stalking you about. Despite most rumors in order to get the achievement 'Quiet On The Set' you must successfully take out George. This can easily be done with the the new V-R11 which turns him into human but doing so will not unlock those gamerpoints. You're best way is to use the scavenger (new sniper rifle with explosive tips) which you gain randomly from the mystery box but can still be accomplished with any of the other weapons. The weaker the gun the more patience is recommended. The formula in essence is the same like any other zombie mode but the new weapon choices & nemesis are great additions. Expand
  4. DME
    Jun 21, 2011
    7
    Stockpile is terrible, Zoo is decent, and Hotel and Convoy are excellent. Then we have Call of the Dead, which is easily the best part of the map pack. This would have gotten a higher score if it wasn't for the $15 price mark. This is worth $10, no higher. Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2011
    6
    Escalation was not as great as some people say, but not as bad either. It is a decent map pack that has good MP maps and, in my opinion, a simply awful zombies map. Hotel is unique, and successful includes elevators. It is also an extremely fun close range map. Stockpile is a strategy based map that is fun, unique and witty. Zoo is a very good map in that it includes many spots in which great battles can occur. Convoy, being my favorite map includes great sniping down the middle of the map, and good close range combat on the sides of the map. The MP maps are the only thing good in this map pack. The zombies map, Call of the Dead, is an open, easy map, that includes almost no strategy, and is boring. It is not a map that you are excited to play over and over again. You won't get that far and you won't care to do well. It is plainly, boring. Escalation is a good add on to Black Ops, but it is not something you need to get if you are a COD fan. Expand
  6. May 10, 2011
    2
    It was quite disappointing, not worth the money at all. The maps are too rigid, the game play is extremely unintuitive and the overall feel of the game is accumulated and something we have seen over and over again. Expand
  7. May 10, 2011
    0
    I have no problem with the cost, £10 for 4 extra maps is actually good value I feel. Not for these maps though, damn they are soo so bad. Unless you are a camper/sniper...yawn....then stay away from the maps. I downloaded these on release day, the day after I deleted them from my hard drive so I didnt have to put up with the rubbish maps no more. Its not that Iam unsuccessful on the maps, there just not enjoyable. Anyone that snipes I just do not understand why you play, when black ops was released it was praised for getting rid of quick scoping and having no nasty sniper friendly maps. Then they just release a whole bunch of them as an add on, backwards step for me, what a shame. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews