Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    75
    It's same old, same old. There's nothing truly special about the new Revolution maps, but nothing truly wrong with them either. Having never really enjoyed Call of Duty Zombies, the new zombies content leaves me cold. By pitting three zombies against a single survivor, the new Turned mode makes a complete mockery of a true zombie apocalypse. [Apr 2013]
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    86
    For great maps, and another epic Zombie campaign. [Apr 2013, p.79]
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    Treyarch has done a great job with Revolution. It's the biggest package of content ever before in Call of Duty history and the overall quality is remarkably high. The only bit of the DLC that isn't that exciting, would be Turned. The multiplayer maps are well designed and Die Rise is a brilliant new zombies map, filled with Easter Eggs. Fans of the Call of Duty series shouldn't hesitate and buy this DLC instantly.
  4. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    The Revolution pack brings some great maps to the multiplayer world of Black Ops 2 but some are easily better than others. Among the additions are what could be a new classic for the series and what may be the biggest dud we’ve seen in the game, so it is really a mixed bag. Thankfully, the good outweighs the bad here and makes this a quality buy for fans of the game
  5. 80
    If you don’t play Black Ops 2 online all that much anymore or you have moved on to other games, then you may likely will want to pass as this batch of DLC does not break any new ground; yet for the price, I felt like I got my money’s worth and in the end that is what matters the most.
  6. Feb 7, 2013
    78
    The four new maps offered by Revolution are interesting and fun. Especially the interactive elements in two of the maps really hit the spot. It’s too bad the new weapon is slightly unbalanced and the game offers a sub-par selection of new zombie content.
  7. Feb 5, 2013
    80
    Four New Maps, a new SMG weapon, a new zombie mode and a map dedicated to our undead friends make this DLC a good choice for all the Black Ops II lovers out there.
  8. Feb 4, 2013
    80
    The Revolution DLC pack for Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 is the first major downloadable content that Treyarch have released for the widely popular game. Probably the most anticipated additions to the game are a Zombies map and a new Zombies game mode to go along with it.
  9. 80
    Revolution definitely punches up the Black Ops II multiplayer experience with fantastic maps and an SMG, while the exciting new "Die Rise" sweetens the deal.
  10. Feb 1, 2013
    60
    Although I don't feel like I would have wasted my cash outright, I do feel a little disappointed that there wasn't more bang for your buck here.
  11. Jan 30, 2013
    80
    Call of Duty Black Ops II – Revolution is a very solid DLC, though not the revolution you mentioned in its title.
  12. Jan 30, 2013
    70
    There's nothing even slightly revolutionary here, but five decent new maps – including one for Zombies – is perfectly welcome anyway.
  13. Jan 30, 2013
    70
    Call of Duty devotees will certainly get their play value out of this lucky-dip selection, but it's still slightly disappointing that there's not a more consistent vision for Black Ops 2's long-term future on display. Revolution? Not quite.
  14. 70
    When Battlefield 3 received a set of heavy armour maps and another set of close-quarters infantry maps, that was a revolution. Black Ops 2's Revolution is a step in the right direction, but a small one.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 7 out of 21
  1. Jan 30, 2013
    4
    Ok here is the problem which I don't think many people are seeing. Treyarch has released at least three of these games. Why is it that World at War had great releases. The maps were wonderful. You had a night map that was terrific and you had the Japenese map. Now there was another one but I guess it was forgetable. They also released more maps and for the most part were GOOD-GREAT maps. These new maps are ok at best. The Hydro map is kinda of boring, the snow map is ok, the skateboard map is good, the other one in the desert city was pretty good. The problem all of them have though is they are the same old thing. I also don't understand why there is only one new weapon. It would have been neat for them to come out with at least 4 new weapon's I played with someone yesterday who was already GOLD in the new gun. Also because there is only one new gun everyone is using it. I feel like they just don't care and lets just release whatever since most people will buy anyway. Now with DIE RISE. That is one awesome area of death. The whole time I was playing I kept think why dont they connect these areas and release this whole place in multiplayer. It seems they have gotten where they want the matches to be over as quick as possible. Die Rise is great and really requires team work. Glad to see they also realized how lame the LAVA was and took it out of this map. Full Review »
  2. Feb 18, 2013
    0
    I remember the days when maps were FREE for CoD games. Now you have to pay for a few maps and for a god damn weapon. BALANCE THE FREAKING MULTIPLAYER INSTEAD! Shame on you Treyarch!


    Paying for maps This is just insane....
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 3, 2013
    6
    Call of Duty Black Ops II's Revolution DLC offers the ordinary 4 Multiplayer Maps and a new Zombies Map, but this time, they are adding a new SMG gun "The Peacemaker" and a new Zombies co-op mode "Turned". The Multiplayer Maps: "Hydro", "Grind", "Mirage", and "Downhill", are all good, well designed maps but they don't add that special feeling that would make me want to vote on playing on that map again. The all new Zombies map "Die Rise" is a great addition to the Black Ops II Zombies series and an improvement over the original map "TranZit", plus the lava and denizens (goblin creatures from the fog) do not return which is a big relief. Die Rise features a new perk "Who's Who", and a new buildable Wonder Weapon "The Sliquifier" and a few other buildable items scattered across the map. Die Rise will take some time for players to get adjusted to it, but when they get a good sense about the map, and are playing with friends or at least good people online a Public Match, then you'll have the best experience, also WATCH YOUR STEP! The brand new weapon, that is a first for Call of Duty DLC, "The Peacekeeper" is a decent SMG that is easy to use, but a seems to be a bit overpowering, and it's pretty annoying when your in a game with everyone using the same weapon. "Turned" is a competitive co-operative mode that pits four players against each other on the Diner map of TranZit. While this sounds fun and all which is, I can't help but feel this game mode is very limited due to the fact it's only 1 human vs 3 zombies and the only playable map is the Diner, hopefully Treyarch will expand this game mode to bigger and better maps for the best experience. Black Ops II's Revolution offers the decent multiplayer maps that unfortunately don't give you that special feeling that makes you want to play it over and over again, a well done Zombies map that will take time to get adjusting to but a big improvement over TranZit, a nice but bit overpowered new SMG, and a fun but very limited new Zombies competitive co-operative mode. Full Review »