User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 77
  2. Negative: 36 out of 77

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    3
    Call of Duty's content packs are never worth the amount they are. For me, maps are not enough and while the new Zombies map is interesting, it fails to significantly impress even with the all star cast.
  2. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call of Duty is so far assumed by many as "Americas best selling game". And it is! But what kind of dirty secret is hiding behind this globalizing and industrious team? Let's find out! Many people talk about Call of Duty from school or from your neighborhood as "cool" or "fun". But based on what many others say, Call of Duty is not the type of First Person Shooter for those who like realistic and engaging combat experiences. The community from my perspective is full of bad influences, and there is a possibility of children under the age of 10, learning that killing people is a "game". Some children end up shooting their parents because they get too hooked on the game, along with the violence and gore. However, if you like to just run and gun, this game is perfect for you! Call of Duty is based on CQB on many occasions, and the controls are very easy to adapt with. But be warned, the Call of Duty team as been slacking on their game development. I for instance don't like to hear people trash talk and about all this "360 no scope MLG". Honestly, if you took an American veteran and put him in front of this game for 5 minutes, I think he would get up and walk away. This game is very unrealistic due to physics (bullets) and Frame Rate. There are cheaters out there too. Call of Duty is notorious for its cheaters and hackers, since it is the most popular gaming title. But overall, this is a good game if you want to pull off some real non realistic bull. Modern Warfare 2 is my personal favorite, and was very shocking. It's what got me hooked onto the series, until Black Ops 2. Play the older Call of Duty games if you want better Call of Duty. I recommend the Battlefield series, but only up to the third series. Why? You'll have to research that on your own! My final words for this game is Thank you and have a good day. Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2013
    3
    So first off, this DLC is mediocre in every sense of the word. Out of four multiplayer maps only ONE (Encore) doesn't SUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK!!!! Magma doesn't do what the developers said it would do (lava moving around the map). Studio may look good, but I personally hate it because of it's extreme amount of narrow corridors and camping spots. Especially now that everybody uses the AN-94So first off, this DLC is mediocre in every sense of the word. Out of four multiplayer maps only ONE (Encore) doesn't SUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK!!!! Magma doesn't do what the developers said it would do (lava moving around the map). Studio may look good, but I personally hate it because of it's extreme amount of narrow corridors and camping spots. Especially now that everybody uses the AN-94 (often with a target finder) which is almost invincible at close range (unless you have a shotgun or a KAP-40), mid range (unless the player is absolutely incompetent) and at long range (rivaled by very few weapons). Now to the zombie map. Alcatraz is in no way connected to the main story (of the group of four). The idea is absolutely great nonetheless. The map is very scary and interesting. The prison is like a maze (I personally dislike that, because I am absolutely incapable of orientating myself). Generally I don't like the map too much, mostly for it's afterlife feature which allows you to walk through some walls, teleport zombies and so on. This map pack is ABSOLUTELY NOT WORTH 1200 MP when there are full games like CoJ: Gunslinger or Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon out there, which offer much more content. Some DLCs even for 800 MP offer more content and value. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PIECE OF CRAP. The only thing the DLC does well is disrupt the already crippled lobby system in multiplayer making it even more nerve-wrecking to join multiplayer matches. Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2013
    2
    If you are looking for a shooting game, the call of duty series is not what you want. Buying the game will enter you into a (generally) terrible community, that refuses to play any likewise game unless it adheres strictly to call of duty's style. Buying the game will shorten your attention span, make you addicted to gore, and cause you to give up playing any other game. By the time you buyIf you are looking for a shooting game, the call of duty series is not what you want. Buying the game will enter you into a (generally) terrible community, that refuses to play any likewise game unless it adheres strictly to call of duty's style. Buying the game will shorten your attention span, make you addicted to gore, and cause you to give up playing any other game. By the time you buy your first call of duty game, the next one will come out at double the price. The only difference between these updates is more weapons, even higher resolution graphics (and therefore worse performance), and even gameplay. The game, as I see it, is not a shooter, but a contest (LETS SEE WHO CAN GET THE MOST GORE ON THEIR SCREEN, TEABAG AND MUTILATE THE MOST BODIES, KILL THE MOST UNARMED CIVILIANS, MAKE THE MOST GRAMMATICAL AND SPELLING ERRORS, AND SWEAR THE MOST!!!!!!111). Now that you've heard my review, go make your own decision. If you want to deal with the ten year olds who yell over the chat at the slightest imperfection of their teammates, the swearing and primitive trances of rage and vengeance, the brute, murderous, and senseless air of the game itself, and the community that is repulsive to outsiders and anything that doesn't involve guns, play this game. Expand
  5. May 17, 2013
    2
    Garbage. I played the original Black ops practically religiously, I was so excited for this game, buuuut it sucks balls. You'd think they could afford to up the ante and put out some quality off all the millions they've raked in from all the kids, young adults, and parents, and grand parents. They are dicks. Will never buy another game from them.
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    Black ops 2 revolution: 4 multiplayer maps( i think) and one zombie map:

    i never actually liked the multiplayer that much, and i dident fell that rush of good maps, that i got when i bought Cod waw maps or bf3 maps, and i think its quite a rip off to take a map from the original black ops and call it a ''new'' map, the only reason i bought the map pack was for the zombie mode. i played
    Black ops 2 revolution: 4 multiplayer maps( i think) and one zombie map:

    i never actually liked the multiplayer that much, and i dident fell that rush of good maps, that i got when i bought Cod waw maps or bf3 maps, and i think its quite a rip off to take a map from the original black ops and call it a ''new'' map, the only reason i bought the map pack was for the zombie mode.
    i played the zombie map( mob of the dead) 10 times now and its quite boring for me now, i build the plane on day one, got the easter egg( normally hard too find and do), and got 70% of the achivements. and in my opinion where have we seen a prison with zombies on it, ohh yeah the walking dead, its like treyarch have runned out of ideas,

    its not worth it for 1200 microsoft points
    Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2013
    3
    Never have i seen a worse DLC then this. Here it is in a nutshell. The multiplayer maps are A** but i expected this. Mob of the Dead on the other hand is a good map with many cool ideas but there is one flaw that made is almost as bad as Shangri-La. YOU CANT EXPLORE. My friend and I tried multiple times yo leave a zombie and it would always die. we tried 3 straight times with about 5 timesNever have i seen a worse DLC then this. Here it is in a nutshell. The multiplayer maps are A** but i expected this. Mob of the Dead on the other hand is a good map with many cool ideas but there is one flaw that made is almost as bad as Shangri-La. YOU CANT EXPLORE. My friend and I tried multiple times yo leave a zombie and it would always die. we tried 3 straight times with about 5 times each. Treyarch better be glad i paid for the season pass. Expand
  8. Apr 18, 2013
    4
    Due to some average multiplayer experiences, to the decent new zombies map, i would say this dlc came as a dissapointment for me. I would expect some more for a full-priced game dlc.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    85
    Treyarch continues building on it's DLC-train with Uprising. With four new Multiplayer map and a solid new Zombies map you can, again, have hours of fun. With Mob of the Dead, the developer let's see that it still has got a lot of exciting and original ideas for the franchise. Once again, Treyarch shows that it's the king of DLC-making.
  2. May 30, 2013
    77
    The highlight of which is the excellent and star-studded Mob Of The Dead zombie map. [July 2013, p.75]
  3. 80
    A gimmicky but fun mix of fan service. [June 2013, p.103]