User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1279 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    If you asked me would i buy Black ops a week ago i would of said no but when i got the preordered ACB i decided, what the hell sure i'll try it and right from the beginning the campain was really cool though the reason i was uncertin abouth Black ops was that people are blinded by the so called awesome multiplayer when there are just a few maps and mods compared to Combat Arms, expecaily the arsenal, like wehn me and a friend were playing free for all i was shocked when i saw their were only like a handful of guns some without real brand names. Well this is what the scoring is on the Infamis COD

    (gameplay)
    (missions-8/10)
    (gore-8/10)
    (effects-10/10)
    (multiplayer(normal)-9/10)
    (multiplayer zombies-8/10)
    (multiplayer gun's/attachments-4/10)
    (graphics-10/10)

    (overall gameplay-57/70)

    (Plot/Characterization)
    (story plot-10/10)
    (acting-8/10)
    (character developing-9/10)
    (characters developed-9/10)
    (ending-8/10)

    (over plot/characterization-44/50)

    Extra Points-

    (the sheir realism of the graphics-+5)

    Total points-108/120
    9
    Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    Finally we get a better game than the trash that infinityward left behind. Treyarch are quick to patch anything that is wrong. If people cheat or boost they are banned from playing online. Zombies is an excellent mode with a hidden arcade type zombie game. Campaign was epic.
  3. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    Treyarch has redeemed itself! The campaign is compelling and very interesting and I will be sure to play it numerous times unlike MW2's poor campaign. Multiplayer works very well and is much more balanced than MW2's. Although, my only complaint would be about the new COD points system. It's not bad, but I find myself experimenting much less because once you buy a new gun, perk, attachment or piece of equipment there are no refunds. This is not much of a problem though, for you get COD points very easily. This is game is not to be missed and you won't regret the purchase. Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call of Duty: Black Ops is one of the best games that I have ever played personally. Although, there are minor things that I didn't like about it. Of course I am a Call of Duty fan so this game was an obvious pick up for me. I have to admit, Treyarch took serious risks in the way they presented the campaign. It feels like a psycological thriller, mixed with war, but this isn't a bad thing. The story was a little weird, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I only wish it was much longer, because I stormed through it in a couple of days, but it is maybe the best Call of Duty game I have ever played. Overall, this game is quite possibly the perfect game. The only other problem I encountered was the online play, which at times doesn't flow as nicely as Modern Warfare 2. What I mean is some weapons are weaker than they should be, and there is a bit of lag. Don't misunderstand me, I love the multiplayer, but it feels a bit like World at War in the 60's. I loved the game, and it is overall, a 9/10. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2010
    9
    Treyarch return this year with Cod 7, Black Ops. This action packed game is on of the best COD games so far. It's excellent graphics, thrilling game play and whole new weapon load-out has set the limit for this years games. Plus the epic return of the fantastic "Nazi Zombies". When I first opened Black Ops I noticed the name and counting on the side of the gun, I don't really understand that and I think that the front cover doesn't make a lot of sense because all of the previous COD games all had a picture that refers to a certain scene or a character in the game. But I still think it looks pretty cool. The main menu is very impressive. Your strapped in a chair surrounded by TVs (trying not to spoil for new players) and you are free to look around. The campain has it's high points and low points. The story follows 3 characters and their BO missions and there is even more intel to explore, but the new addition "Dolphin Dive" is pretty pointless unless your the kind of person that likes to run, jump, and dive out of windows 30ft off the ground.
    The Multi-player is extremely fun. With all new killstreaks, weapons, and the new "special weapon". The maps are even better than Modern Warfare and the gameplay has been taken to a whole new level. All the same, domination, team deathmatch, sabotage but ten times better. There is an other addition called combat training where you can play with your friends killing computer operated friends, and the ranks are pretty impressive. In this game there are only 50 ranks in a prestige but there are 15 prestige levels. The titles have changed so you can move all of the details, buy your own pics, layers and colours. I think that this game is a brilliant effort by Treyarch, but before I finish I must mention Nazi Zombies. It's new maps and weapons have never made killing undead Nazis so much fun. There are three maps. A theater, "Five" which is a room in the pentagon and 2 working elevators (it's so much fun leaving a friend on the top floor with 50+ zombies). You can use the lift as much as you want as long as you have 250 points and you must complete the campain to unlock this map. I can't tell you what the third map is because it's hidden. You must find out how to unlock it yourself. All else I can say is that the controls are basically the same, great game and have fun gaming, Chay96
    Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's very good game but I don't like that there isn't quick scope.
    Call of duty. black ops is as good as call of duty: modern warfare 2
    Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think it is one of the best games of the series, if not the best, good graphics and good sound to what I am a great game.
    Is the best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    best
    Expand
  8. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    My current favorite. Not as nice as MW2 but it sure beats anything else out right now. The graphics are alright and I like the new gameplay features. A very good spend of my money and time.
  9. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Best game to date. The campaign never ends while the multiplayer takes the Call of Duty that we know and love to a whole new level. Things that were unfair in MW2, like quickscoping, have been removed to make the experience more fun. Killstreaks are more interactive and rewarding. Wager matches allow for winning to feel that much more good. Overall, I could play non stop
  10. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    This game is by far the best game Iâ
  11. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    I have played this game lots and I think itâ
  12. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    This is my 2nd review of the game and after fully comprehending the structure and playing more of the single player campaign... I must say this game deserves a higher mark.

    I have read 5+ user reviews of this game all bashing it for little things and giving the CoD title a low mark because of one or two small frustrations with the game... IM SICK OF IT!

    Let me tell you something
    people... if you suck at first person shooters... play on easy mode in campaign because this game is very hard and unforgiving, but rewarding and fun if played at the proper difficulty...

    Another thing... Multiplayer is the same way except you don't get to choose your difficulty. The people on Xbox live are plain and simply... undeniably good. I happen to be one of those people so I have no problem keeping up with the competition. If you are not good or an avid gamer I have several words of advice....

    1. Do not KNOCK the game because you are terrible at it.
    Expand
  13. Dec 9, 2010
    9
    Treyarch has done a fantastic job with the game. Although the singleplayer experience left something to be desired, it was diverting at the very least. Multiplayer is where Black Ops shines. The hardcore fanboys are pissed that a sniper rifle is no longer the best close range weapon in the game and that you can no longer pull off kills with a semi-auto shotgun at sixty yards, but are these things really problems. The fact is that Treyarch actually took the time to go through the game and remove all the janky crap that Infinity Ward decided to put in Modern Warfare 2. If you're looking for a game in which you can run around cleaning out entire rooms with sniper rifle at close range, you should probably stick with old, broken MW2. If you're looking for a more balanced and refined shooter, I would recommend taking a look at Black Ops. Expand
  14. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    I don't care what the **** other people say about CoD:BO, it's awesome! Single-player: Complex characters, and an excellent storyline, but it was short, as I beat it in 4 hours. Multi-player: Great character customization and experience system, excellent maps, however the size, and, or course, zombies! The occasional server switching or kicking is annoying, but its only a small nuisance. Graphics: Nothing new, but still good. Price: Expensive at $60, but should go down eventually. Overall: One great game. Expand
  15. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    Despite what other people have said this game is extremely enjoyable. Weather youre doing more scripted over-the-top action sequences in the campaign. Shooting the crap out of endless zombies in zombies mode, or decimating the other team in multi player. This game is a lot of fun. While other people may say its a recycled version of MW2 I say any thing that can keep you entertained for 2 Whole days!!! is pretty good in my book. Expand
  16. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    While I am still pretty new to the Call of Duty series I've only played World at War, COD 4, and this one, and I hated COD 4, this has to be the best one I've played so far, the campaign is epic the story mixed with the awesome gameplay kept me hooked, the multiplayer is outstanding, right up there with Halo: Reach and Battlefield: Bad Company 2, and the controls still deserve praise, the only flaws are some technical issues like you and your enemies getting stuck in the environment, and some other weird glitches, even with those this is still one I can highly recommend. Expand
  17. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    This was my first COD game. And what can I say. I was impressed. Thrilling graphics and great gameplay. I liked the storyline but it did feel a bit. 'huh' if that's a correct term. Definitely a highlight for me was the Stones 'Sympathy for the Devil' on a game mission. Made the game for me. Worth the play and having played COD MW2 I can see they've done a lot to the multiplayer aspect. Saying that when I brought it round to a friends we spent the whole time playing the Zombie game. One of my friends said they'd buy the game just for that part. It's a good game and the COD team definitely keep a standard when making these games. Expand
  18. Jan 16, 2011
    9
    Obviously one of the finest games of the year. Most reviewers or players who aren't capable of stringing together consistently good online stats are going to be frustrated of course. Don't let upset gamers' scores fool you out of buying a strong addition to the Call of Duty series. Although it could use more singleplayer features.
  19. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Great game. The story is good, and the multiplayer is even better. A lot of people complain about having to earn weapons and points, but I love it. It gives you something to look forward to and work towards.
  20. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    This game is the worst call of duty and heres why. The multiplayer is soooo boring. i play for 2 minutes and put in mw2. not only that but the story mode sucks theres nothing special about it. zombies is same as waw.
  21. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    By far the best outing from Treyarch. This iteration of Call of Duty also happens to be the best overall. Though the Modern Warfare series was better in some ways, Black Ops just delivers so much more. The most cohesive COD campaign in the series with tight controls and great gameplay. Add in a multitude of extras like zombie mode, unlockable mini games, combat training and the standard yet upgraded multiplayer and you have one heck of a game. One of the more fun and surprisingly fun options is combat training. In this mode you play with and against AI controlled bots in deathmatch and team deathmatch games on any of the multiplayer maps. You can also have your friends join in with you to take out the bots. Combat training also has the option to name the bots after the people on your friends list which is a lot more fun than it should be. Overall Black Ops is the best in the series and one of the best games of the year. Expand
  22. Feb 6, 2011
    9
    I've got to say, this is exactly what MW2 wasn't. There is much less gay stuff in multiplayer (why carry a gun in MW2?), noob tubes have been toned down, and perks are fewer and much more balanced. I like the money system and how I can buy any perk I want and any gun attachment, while still having to level up to unlock guns. Graphics haven't changed, but that's ok with me because I prefer a high framerate to textures. As for campaign, some may call it farfetched, but it made more sense than the one in MW2. At least they explain everything, but it is short. I also like how it rewards those who played WAW. No complaints other than the short campaign. Expand
  23. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    This game is fricken amazing! Halo what? Metal Gear what? Call of Duty Black Ops is the greatest game ever made. The single player campaign is simply spectacular, so much so that many times I was playing I forgot that I was playing a game and thought that I was watching a Hollywood blockbuster! Every character is expressive and convincing. By the time the game is done, you will care for all of them. Reznov is the epiphany of the word badass! The multiplayer is incredibly simple, but rewardingly difficult to master. It'll suck you in and you'll get thousands of hours out of this game. Expand
  24. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Treyarch always make less better games. I loved the setting of the campaign, the story line was great. Unlike Modern Warfare 2, Black Ops can really reveal who is good at the game and who isn't. Not to mention the Zombie levels were very good, especially ascension. Overall a great game and I don't think you can ask for anything more.
  25. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Well its good and i'll give it that, it ties everything the call of duty franchise has with a pretty bow and has chucked in what every call of duty fan wanted. I would say though before i rant about how good it is, do not get it if you havent got xbox live gold it is a waste of money. So back to the rant, zombies is a robust package and a blast with people you know and dont. I have made around twenty friends just playing zombies and my aspiration is to reach number one on ascension but i do have to say at round thirty when it last half an hour to get to round thirty-one you do get bored so i admire you glitchers for your patience. That then of course brings me onto the glitches, oh so many! each zombie map has one and even a few multiplayer ones but i wont spread them around. I must say the campaign story is a pile of **** at only seven hours or six for me, the only reason i finished it was for the bonus zombie map because i hate cheating. The multiplayer is where it stands out though, everything MW2 had and more, the sounds with my turtle beaches are awesome and the graphics are stunning in 1080p, this has to be the best COD ever for me, i hope then next carries everything this has onto it. Expand
  26. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    You simply cannot miss this game. Just like almost everybody else who bought it, I thought i sucked too. But you really start to get into the game when you get to level 20 and you played about half-way through the story. Please do yourself and go pick it up, or don't sell it!
  27. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This game is by far one of the best outings in the famed cod franchise. Whilst opinion has seemed to divide the community on this game, I think that any fan of this series would be missing out if they don't give the game a fair go. In regards to the single player campaign, you will be drawn into the action from the opening moments- and the pacing throughout the game that never let's up from this point. Whilst the single player campaign makes no major innovations, you will know what you are in for as it is COD as it is known and loved by so many!

    Multiplayer is where the meat is at for most gamers these days, and for myself- at 12 days played, it has been the most Addictive and fun filled online ride since COD4! as a gamer, we all want value for money, and this mode is testament to the amount of entertainment value one can get out of a game with such high production values. Innovations in this area includes much greater customization options over previous COD titles, as well as a greater freedom in how you unlock these customisatins. A form of online currency has also been introduced as a means to purchase equipment etc, as well as to wager on matches with other players

    Last but not least the extensive Zombies mode returns!

    Highly addictive, huge replayability and great value for money
    Expand
  28. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    Gameplay: 8/10 Sound: 4/10 (Toy Guns) Graphics: 7/10 (outdated engine)
    Campaign: 5/10 (cheap non-stop action)
    Multiplayer: 7/10 (level up system and perks raise unstable online experiences score slightly)

    overall interesting game, fun for an arcade shooter, easy to "pick up n' play" but nothing that can sustain me for more than 2 hours at a time. Clear host advantage when
    online and poor team balancing (looks at immediate score rather than user kdr). worth picking up only if your a devout COD fan Expand
  29. May 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call of Duty: Black Ops è il settimo di questa meravigliosa saga.
    E' uno sparatutto in prima persona che affronta questo genere in modo affascinante, infatti è stato dichiarato ufficialmente il migliore sparatutto del 2010 ed è ancora oggi tra i migliori, con tanti milioni di copie vendute, però i rivali non mancano.
    Parlando del gioco non posso evitare di dire che è un capolavoro, ma a causa del cambiamento della casa produttrice c'è stato qualche disapprovazione su questo titolo.
    Quasi tutti i capitoli della saga sono stati fatti dalla Treyarch; ma noi ricordiamo bene il predecessore di Black Ops, ovvero Modern Warfare, esso è stato creato dalla Infinity Ward, ciò ha creato rivalità tra le due case produttrici e quindi l'ultimo numero della saga non è stato molto apprezzato a causa di ciò.
    Voi vi chiederete come mai siamo passati alla Infinity Ward e successivamente di nuovo alla Treyarch?
    Tutti i Fan della saga lo sanno; La Infinity Ward ha voluto partecipare in Call of Duty facendo un buon affare con l'Activision, ma voleva modificarne il titolo chiamando il videogioco solo Modern Warfare, nonostante ciò il ''Call of Duty'' è rimasto, così c'è stato un litigio tra perchè doveva starci solo una collaborazione della Infinity Ward che voleva andare oltre; così poi è ritornata la Treyarch ma noi videogiocatori sappiamo che è migliore la Infinity Ward è quindi c'è stato questo calo di approvazione nell uscita di Black Ops.
    Ma ora parliamo del gioco in se per se.
    Call of Duty: Black Ops parla in parte della seconda guerra mondiale, ma ne troviamo una sola missione, il resto si ambienta dopo, ed è del tutto una Guerra Fredda.
    Durante la Storia dovrai fermare in parte vari nemici intenti ad usare il Gas Nova, un gas capace di uccidere migliaia di persone.
    Il protagonista, ''Mason'' viene interrogato per tutta la campagna del gioco, infatti le missioni sono ciò che lui si ricorda e quindi immaginarie, dei pensieri dove non tutto è reale.
    Durante la campagna avrai degli amici che ti saranno molto fondamentale e di aiuto per sconfiggere l'Unione Sovietica passando poi ai nemici principali del gioco che si uccidono mano a mano si percorre quest'avventura di ben 15 missioni con una longevità che varia tra le 6 e le 8 ore, anche in base alla difficolta che come nei normali sparatutto è suddivisa in quattro: Recluta, Soldato, Esperto e Veterano.
    L'interrogazione su Mason è causata dal fatto che dentro la tua testa c'è qualcosa di importante.
    Infatti vieni scambiato inizialmente per infiltrato ma a volte anche per uno di loro, intento a collaborare con i nemici , tutto ciò si capisce poi alla fine della campagna.
    Parte molto fondamentale della storia è un'amico che conoscerai a Vorkuta, una ''prigione'' dove sei stato rinchiuso.
    Esso ti accompagnerà per gran parte di questa avventura.
    Dovrai viaggiare tra Vietnam e Cuba, dove affronterai molti nemici e trovare l'obiettivo della missione, ma non sempre sarà possibile a causa del buono intelleto o meglio della buona furbizia dei nemici.
    Affrontarli non sarà semplice, infatti bisognerà contare molto sull'aiuto dei tuoi amici, ma saranno loro ad appoggiarsi su di te.
    Ritornando a prima, da Vorkuta dovrai fuggire con la collaborazione del tuo nuovo amico di nome Reznov; sarà grazie a lui se ti salverai la pelle, ma non il cervello, ciò perchè durante l'interrogatorio il protagonista difficilmente si ricorderà tutto nei minimi dettagli.
    Ti immergerai, e dico ''immergerai'', anche in missioni Stealth, ma ciò non vuol dire che ci dovrai annegare.
    Di luoghi ne vedrai passando da case e città, a fiumi, villaggi e boschi ma non mancherà la neve e quindi le montagne.
    Il tutto con un'eccellente cinematografia che ti farà in alcuni casi immedesimare in Mason.
    Come abbiamo accennato all'inizio, una missione è ambientata nella seconda guerra mondiale, lì non sarai Mason ma bensì Reznov, esso è stato a raccontarti cio che avviene poi nella missione.
    Esso, Reznov fu un infiltrato che collaborò nella ricerca del Gas Nova.
    Il protagonista, Mason, non ne potrà farne almeno di pensare a Reznov, e quì che io non posso aggiungere altro.
    Molto affascinanti sono le missioni ambientate in Vietnam, e non mancherà il pilotaggio di alcuni veicoli per breve tempo, in particolare l'Hind, un velivolo.
    La fine della Trama avviene alla fine dell'interrogatorio, perchè l'interrogatorio finisce e quindi dopo che Mason capisce dove trovare la base nemica intenta a fare una strage, dovrai andarci e impedire che ciò avvenga, lì finira questa avvincente storia ma non accenno se con un lieto fine o viceversa; toccherà a voi scoprire tutto durante la campagna quando ci giocherete.
    Le missioni non sono mai uguali e mantengono un certo tipo di cinematografia che renderà sempre più spettacolare la campagna, anche i disastri e le tragedie non mancano.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. A short campaign which is never spectacular and never very clever, but always solid enough. [Feb 2011, p.99]
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    70
    By dint of obstinacy, Treyarch delivers probably its best with Black Ops Call of Duty to date - but probably not the best in the saga.
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    90
    There are more highlights in the first two missions of Black Ops, then in Medal of Honor. The requirements of Treyarch seemed to be better, than in the past few years. They made an interesting setting. In addition, there's a nice zombie mode and an overwhelming multiplayer. No doubt, this is Treyarchs best Call of Duty ever!