User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1303 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Ha, I find it totally hilarious how people say that the reviews are bribed because they aren't good at the game. They do bad, get angry, and then smash the industry for giving the game good reviews. That's what the angry do these days, write bad reviews (such as ebay, this website, amazon, RT). Well guess what, I would probably give this game a 9, but that would be biased as I HAVE NOT FINISHED THE GAME YET!!! And I bet most people who did put reviews haven't finished it either. The people saying the video game industry is corrupt are basically talking about themselves. Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    AMAZING GAME. This is what modern warfare 2 wanted to be, a great game all around. The single player is nothing short of heart stopping, the multiplayer is at least 10 times better than mw2 and i still have no idea how you people dont like this game!
  3. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Bottom line, if you've 10th prestiged in MW2, chances are you love that game, and are not gonna like Black Ops. Black Ops is a perfect game. So much options in multiplayer, so many different game modes, so much to unlock. It plays awesomely. I keep hearing :"they've copied MW2." Isn't that what happened from MW1 to MW2? W/e. You can't please anyone. Change it, people get mad, keep it the same, people get mad. Hey everyone, spoiler here......it plays like a Call of Duty game should......nuff said. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Great and deep, well put together and unique, on the other hand it is more COD and not much is to different. So dont expect a new revelation as apposed to a build on a great pre exsisting franchise. The single player is a little hyper active, almost to the point of stressful. At one point I drove a motorcycle through a prison camp shooting people wiht a shot gun then hijacked a truck only to dive from said truck onto a moving train! Yeah a little much... But online definately worth the money. Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    This game is AMAZING. Graphics, Music, Gameplay, Voice Acting - all perfect. The multiplayer is as challenging and rewarding as ever, though it may seem a bit jarring considering certain changes (to perks for example). The story mode is a rush, with barely any break in the action. The constantly changing set pieces keep a fast pace while jumping between classic Vietnam to slightly more modern scenery. Its unfortunate that Call of Duty haters are too stubborn to pick up a copy of Black Ops and embrace it for what it is. 10/10 Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    This is definitely a great game. i am espescially surprised at how well Treyarch did with the campaign. it was one og the funnest that i have played in years. and multiplayer as always, is amazing. i also like the new zombie mode.
  7. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    We all know what we're getting when we buy a COD game cos there's been one released every year in this gen of consoles so I came to this game expecting a lackluster story and an awesome multiplayer but what I got was an incredible story that is easily the best I've played in a COD game followed by a very flat and unexciting multiplayer that felt far to similar to previous instalments. All in all I think the whole call of duty expariance is starting to stagnate and as good as this game is a can't score it more than a seven it's not a bad game it just feels to much like I've played this game before. Expand
  8. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Call of Duty Black Ops has a rich and fun campaign. It is a step in the right direction from the prior COD series. Most of the low scores for this game result from multiplayer. The multiplayer is actually excellent and more difficult than the line up my kill streaks and nuke way. It is actually more frustrating for good COD players but better for novice and intermediate players since you will not get hammered with Pavelows and Tactical Nukes and Stopping Power Perks. Nazi Zombies is unbelievable and is very fun to play in multiplayer mode. Give this game a fair chance and you will love it! Expand
  9. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Black Ops is amazing! The campaign story is meh, but with zombie mode, and extremely great graphics, im surprised with these users! Go Black Ops!! :-)
  10. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    I don't understand why so many people are complaining about this game. The multilayer is more balanced than in any installment in call of duty. They got rid of stopping power, martyrdom, danger close, and juggernaut. For that reason alone this title is better than MW2.
  11. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    I can't put my controller down, the awesomeness got a hold of me. Single player and multiplayer is just the best i've seen of any fps nuff said; good job IF!!
  12. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    Not sure what people are talking about. This game is amazing. Been a COD fan forever, and this game is by far the best Multiplayer experience I have had with the COD series. Buy it. You won't be dissappointed.
  13. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    This is a fantastic addition to the Call of Duty Franchise, The Story is Excellent, Multi-player is addictive, and Zombies is awesome! BUT I must warn you, this game can be so frustrating. So if you have a short temper, or a good throwing arm, I'd be careful playing on a expensive TV...
  14. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is the best video game I have ever played. the campaign's story line is engaging and new. It feels like you are in a movie, which is a good thing. This is done while maintaining the action that we're all expecting from a Call of Duty game. Online game play has also improved. The new weapons, maps, and game modes are awesome. I highly recommend this game.
  15. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    This review section shows what happens when a piece of entertainment gets popular. Whether it's Call of Duty, The Dark Knight, Avatar, or LOST, there are always haters. These people hate things that get popular and want their voices to be heard so that they can influence other people to hate it. They will come back and literally give an unhelpful vote to every review that doesn't agree with them. Whether this userscore is 0.0 or 10.0, this game will sell despite your opinion. I'm sure Treyarch is very concerned with Metacritic's user score. If this game was never hyped it's userscore would be much higher. As you can see, Cod 4 has a very high user score because it wasn't hyped much, but as time goes on more haters join. Another explanation is the inferior Battlefield fans, who always try to make it clear that everyone is missing out, except for Battlefield players. I also love all of the "These reviewers must get paid by Activision" statements. Yeah, maybe Activision is paying reviewers but do you know what is more likely? Maybe the Cod games are just good games, did you ever think of that? I would bet at least half of the Cod nation has never even looked at a review for these games. Cod games are known for their great graphics, sound, and gun mechanics. For these 3 alone a single score should never be under a 6.0. Um, I'm going to go play Black Ops now... Expand
  16. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Wow, Ngoing must have a cut down fetish, he's downed every version of Black Ops ps3/360/pc. I doubt he bought all three as he rated them each 0 and rated kane and lynch higher!!!! LMAO! This is a great buy and will definetly hold you until next years big hit. Sounds like some of the Medal of Honor crybabies didn't get what they wanted and are trying to bring down the COD franchise's ratings. Treyarch gives you more for this year and leaves you wanting more for the years to come. Thanks for thinking of the fans guys and keep on truckin'! Expand
  17. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    I detect battlefield fanboys in these reviews. a 0 without any reasoning to back it up? Disregard these reviews, I think it's best to go with the critics in these ones.

    Even the ones that do provide explanation don't seem to understand how a rating system works... mediocre=/=0
  18. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    Haters are gonna hate. This game might not be the best call of duty game, but in my opinion it has so many things in it that keep me entertained that it's definetley worth the $60 price tag.
  19. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Call of duty black ops its one of my favourite games that I play nearly at all the time with my friends. The first time I played it my felling was this is the best game in the world and thereâ
  20. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Based on the multiplayer only, this game is a no-brainer for fans of FPS games. Why are you even reading this? You know it's good. And, I hate to say it, Infinity Ward fanboys, but Treyarch makes better maps. My only gripe is that the matchmaking system still suffers from the same problems as before. Why is it still so hard to get into a game when I play with more than three friends? Getting kicked back to the menu repeatedly is not what I'd call fun! Expand
  21. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    This is by far the best COD that has been released. The new COD points available is an excellent upgrade to the series
  22. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Before the release.i thought Black ops could never top Modern Warfare 2.. boy was i wrong.
    Although campaign is a tad short.it has more diversity then Modern warfare 2 had and its just a little bit more appealing. although the lack of Campaign co-op is disapointing,the addition of zombie mode co-op makes up for it. but enough about that,lets talk about the multiplayer!,there are the old modes like capture the flag and such. but the new game modes in the wager modes is where its at. with games like sticks and stones,Gun game & one in the chamber among others,especially sticks and stones came across as one of the more fun modes,in sticks and stones you only have a crossbow with exploding tipped arrows,a hatchet and a ballistic knife to use in battle. and this can lead to various situations you can hardly get anywhere else. the game is just so much better then any of the predecessor already and then i havent talked about other things like Dead ops or theater mode. COD:Black ops has enough content to satisfy the shooter needs for awhile IMO.
    Expand
  23. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    By Far the best Call of Duty Game I've ever played. The Campaign is Excellent, The Multiplayer is Outstanding and any game that lets me play a JFK killing zombies is just freaking Epic ! And if its not enough you get lots of secrets giving you more solid extras for a $59.99. It might not be a MW2 but when it comes to to a SAW-scenes, Hours killing people around the world and dead politics killing for some reason Nazis dead people you can't ask for more. Expand
  24. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Simply put, Call of Duty: Black Ops is a thrilling and phenomenal ride. This may be the best of the franchise. The single player experience (like it's predecessor) is sharp, immersing, and thrilling. Each cut scene makes the prospect of taking a break near impossible. As for multiplayer, fans of the franchise will blown away. Prepare to spend hours of your life on the hunt. If you are a fan of gaming this is an experience you must have. I'm sure all of the fans that waited in hour long lines for the 12:01am release of this game on Nov. 9th played well into the early morning. A masterpiece that you must add to your collection!â Expand
  25. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    This game is over hated! This has the best campaign over any other call of duty game even though it still is quite short. It is interesting ot see many historical people such as Fidel Castro and John F Kennedy. The voice acting is impressive Sam Worthington (Avatar) being the main character Alex Mason. However there are plenty of other game modes to keep you busy. Combat training is extremely addictive and it helps you get better at the game. The online multiplayer is very fun. The maps are nice but personally I prefer the maps on modern warfare 2. Zombie mode is alot of fun. Black ops has more modes than any of the games in the series which is why recomend you buy it. Expand
  26. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    From a guy who has played every Cod game from Modern Warfare to now (except Wii versions or classic) and this game had a lot of moments that really amazed me, it might no amaze veterans who stuck with it from begging to end, but it still has a satisfying story. The multiplayer feels a lot better with the currency system, but waiting for that one gun to unlock to bu it is still the same as waiting through levels to get the gun. The gameplay feels solid and good, the secret guns are awesome, and Zombie Mode is a excellent addition. All in all, this is a must buy for new Cod players, and one veterans should try out. Expand
  27. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Damn, this is a great game! Ok, let's get serious. MULTIPLAYER is the STAR here and raises the bar for all subsequent games. Not only are there loads of new features, but all the details are well thought out and the gameplay is SMOOTH and WELL-BALANCED. It is WAGER MATCH, however, that blows everything out of the water. INGENIOUSLY CRAFTED and BRILLIANTLY EXECUTED, the WAGER MATCH MODES are INCREDIBLE FUN and SERIOUSLY ADDICTIVE. The single player plot is intriguing and suspenseful and keeps you guessing until the last revelation. Altogether, Black Ops is an outstanding piece of work and NOT TO BE MISSED! In my opinion, this is the BEST CALL OF DUTY YET! Expand
  28. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    With a much improved campaign, expansive zombie mode and a deeply enriched multiplayer, Call of Duty: Black Ops not only delivers as an excellent addition to the series, but maybe the best among the other CoD games.
  29. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    While the single player campaign is as short as you would expect from a COD game, there is almost too much else on the disc that simply shadows it. For example, zombies have returned for some fun with friends but the MP experience as a whole is spot on with new and tweaked perks, kill streaks, and weapon selections. Removing One Man Army and Stopping Power were probably some of the smartest moves that Treyarch did for this release. The option to buy the upgrades you want allow the casual gamer to enjoy all that the game has to offer. With all the content, getting the game for $60 is the best bargain since The Orange Box. While it likely won't win the fans of Halo that have dedicated their lives to getting the perfect armor set-up in Reach, this will grab the attention of anyone who has the skill to play a game that polishes and nearly perfects the game play type that millions love. One can also expect some health DLC down the road since this title has so much attention. This one is a must for the library. Expand
  30. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    This is by far the most complete and deep gaming experience in history. The balance in the multi-player maps and weapons will be imitated and praised for years to come. This is the BEST game ever.
  31. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    If you enjoyed Modern Warfare 2, you WILL enjoy this game. I defy anyone that had fun with MW2 MP, to not like this. They have fixed numerous "problems" that existed in MW2, like boosting (no tactical insertion in FFA), no Quickscoping, and no Commando perk to get stabbed from 25 feet away.
  32. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Game is fantastic. You will not be disappointed as a call of duty fan. Both the single player and the multiplayer have fixed everything we have complained about in the previous instillation. Though the graphics sometimes are not up to par to the previous game, the over the top game play, new additions to multiplayer, and fantastic new modes deliver a game we have been dying for.
  33. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Metacritic....excellent site but when it comes to gaming ,just throw the users reviews out the window!

    Typical spoilers who only post zero to bring the score down....get a life,you morons.

    Have the decency to score accordingly like the movies user reviews.

    Stop ruining it for everyone else !!!
  34. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome and has a lot of new customization options, wager matches, theater mode, combat training, zombis, split screen online... definatly this is the game of the year!
  35. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Awesome game! I don't understand all the haters? The graphics and voice acting is amazing. I loved the story, yes it's a little different but entertaining and well done. The multi-player credit system is brilliant and the customization options are incredible. I'm not even talking about the Zombie mode which is super. Wonderful game if you're a COD or shooter fan.
  36. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    The epitome of action and the best shooter to ever be made. The single player campaign is full of twists and turns and you go through an astounding amount of different content. The multiplayer aspect is full of fun modes and non stop action. This is a must buy for any gamer out there new, experienced, young, old, male or female. GET THIS GAME.
  37. AHK
    Nov 12, 2010
    10
    just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't understand why people just give bad ratings just because it's not made by IW. I don't unde Expand
  38. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Call of duty black ops what to say ,great camagne longer then MW2 ,great multiplayer ,new cool feauters,improved graphics ,shooting is more realistic ,new wepons and more stufs that brings us new very,very satisfaying game maybe the game of the year, and i dont undrestand morons who gave it 0 why are they doing that ,a lowest score in my opinion will be 8,5 and highest 10 . SRY FOR MY BAD ENGISH :0 :0:0:):):):):):):):): C.O.D. FPS RUUUUUUUUUUUUUULLLLLLLLLLEEEEE. Expand
  39. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    This is really an awesome game that should not be judged solely by the standards set by MW2 but instead by his own merits, such as the great amount of content that comes in this single package and surely the many hours of quality entertainment that are associated wit it. Just give it a chance and don't be mislead by all the bad press out there.
  40. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Call of Duty black ops is simply put one of the better shooter out right now. It trumps the dying Halo brand and even trumps its previous creation in Modern Warfare 2 (in the multiplayer aspect. The online gameplay is challenging and fun. It offers new maps that give every style of playing an equal chance. The maps vary in size from very small to fairly large. The new wagers and customizations are just the icing on the cake. Of course their are going to be nube tubes and campers in every game. There will be no ridding that. People that give this game a negative rating for that are just ignorant. However all in all this was a very good game and im looking forward to investing some time in it. Expand
  41. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Well first of all im giving this game a 10 although its really not a perfect 10 because of the complete childish negative reviews of this game. You people are gonna give the game a 0 because you think the "graphics suck". Really? Thats your only reason? Yes the graphics arent as crisp as Modern Warfare but since when has treyarch been about graphics? Do a little research or just use some common sense before buying a game. Has anyone actually played the single player mode? THe graphics are awesome and they arent even bad in multiplayer just not as good as modern warfare...but who cares!? This game has some incredibly deep content so no one should say they are already bored with it. Intense SIngle player campaign, Zombies, Dead Ops, Wager Matches, contracts, new weapons, currency, new killstreaks, practice mode....i mean what more could you ask for? Not to say this game is perfect and doesnt have its problems. My major complaint is the respawns in multiplayer...countless times i have been spawned right in front of an enemy. I hope this gets fixed....but honestly thats my major complaint with a few other small complaints i will not get into. Im giving this game a 10 just to outweight the stupid negative reviews for this game...i mean if someone can give some legitimate reasons for giving this game a 0 id love to hear them. Expand
  42. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    First of all how can someone give a game a 0 lol those are just bc2 fanboys anyways I love mw2 and bad company so here is an honest opinion. This game I would give between a 7 and an 8. In every game there are things you would like to change no matter what. The story mode here is interesting but I personally don't like the flashbacks style they over did it, I do like the concept that the used actual people we know from history. I personally don't know a game that has done that. I guess its the companies fear but I know there are many gamers that would love to play a game where Osama Ben laden was the bad guy. Now I believe obviously Zombies was what has saved this game its just plain fun. the Multiplayer Its okay at best. If you compare this game to mw2 then mw2 is better but compared to Waw then black ops wins. I can see why people say the graphics are sketchy, since mw2 graphics are good then they expect it to be the same or better. But once again compare it to Waw and there has been a big improvement. In multiplayer Obviously there are some killstreaks being missed but some new ones that are pretty cool. Some of the guns are less powerful for example the m16 lol it takes at least 3 shots now. Expand
  43. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Where to begin... Well first off this game is WAAAAAAAAAAY better than Modern Warfare 2. I do not understand why people keep saying 'If you have MW2, keep it!'. MW2 was a HORRIBLE multilayer game. MW2 had nothing on CoD4. I did not like WaW that much and was not too into Treyarch at all. BUT now I Treyarch took me for a spin! Black Ops so far has been one of the best and most fun FPS games I have ever played. I enjoy it as much as I did CoD4 and that takes ALOT for me to say that! So far the campaign is AMAZING and I am not far at all. Zombies is 10x better than WaW zombies. And the multi player... Is very fun too! Love how the guns actually sound more 'realistic'. Love love love the Create a Class 2.0. I like how you can buy your attachments and perks so you don't have to be a certain level to achieve a perk because that was lame in the other CoDs. This game is FUN! There is just too much to say about the positives of this game (like kill streak kills not adding on to your kill streak!) Why didn't they do that in every CoD!? Keeps like punks from camping to just get kill streaks. Pros: Campaign, Zombies, Combat Training, & Multi player Kill Streak Change Create a Class 2.0 WAYYYYY more balance than MW2 MUCH MUCH MUCH More Cons: No game is perfect by all means.. But I have yet to see anything I can complain about in this game. Recommend: YES I highly recommend this game! Expand
  44. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Honestly, its an 8.5/9 but with people giving it a zero for no reason I had to up the score. Campaign can be a little disjointed, but overall is compelling and the cut scenes make you want to continue playing. The arcade zombie and normal zombie mode are fun side games to just shot some fairly intelligent AI with friends. Multiplayer is a little slower and methodical than previous games. The sound (low to no footstep noise) is a little annoying, but Treyarch is looking into it. Sniping isn't ruined as some claim, it just requires more patience. You are rewarded for playing more mutliplayer...but isn't that the point? The graphics are a little low in terms of human models, but I am getting higher fps. All the "slowness" people are referring too is just server lag due to the massive amount of people playing over the past two days. This is obviously not the worst game ever as a 0 means...its also not the unicorn of gaming. Something along those lines is never gonna happen, you cannot please every single person and avoid every single bug. This is a solid game that is packed with content and has a rewards system to keep you busy for months to come. Expand
  45. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    I honestly was not impressed with black ops...zombies is the only thing i liked but even that was not that great...i thought the campaingn lacked and the multiplayer could be a lot better...world at war was a lot better than black ops treyarch was a hughe dissapointment....I knew what i did now i would not buy it.
  46. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Ignore the trolls here, COD BlOps is unashamedly Call Of Duty so if you don't like the series you won't like this and it's dumb spamming the reviews.... For the game itself it's at least as good as the Modern Warfares with extras such as the Wager Matches and COD Points system pipping the MP ahead IMO. Zombies and Dead Ops are much more enjoyable than MW2's Spec Ops as well
  47. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Black ops is a great storyline combined with a nice balanced multiplayer. The game reduced the power of the noobtube, fixed some of the many glitches that came with modern warfare 2.... And delivered one of the greatest storylines of the call of duty series. The game still have a few glitches in multiplayer that adds to the frustration, but nothing that would ruin the game...Graphics were not amazing but it was clear, graphics dont play a part in the game though. Black ops is definitely the best call of duty so far in my opinion Expand
  48. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    I've played Call of Duty religiously online since Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. In fact Call of Duty is what caused me to start playing console games again. I've purchased and played every one that has been released since then and enjoyed them all. However, out of all the previous editions of Call of Duty, the ones made by Treyarch have traditionally been awful. Call of Duty 3 was horrible, and World at War wasn't as good as Call of Duty 4.

    Then Modern Warfare 2 came out. Gamers were in awe with mega killstreaks, tons of unlockables, Modern Warfare 2 seemed absolutely unable to be topped. However, slowly, in game glitches were found. Very, very annoying in game glitches. And what really made me angry about it was that it took Infinity Ward so long to patch these glitches. Leaderboards were hacked. People played game types such as Headquarters or Domination just to get kills and not actually play the game type so their kill/death spreads would go up. Modern Warfare 2 slowly transformed to people doing one of three things.
    1)Quick Scoping (which is way easier than no-scoping)
    2)Noob Tubing with Danger Close and Scavenger
    3)Running around with Commando Pro and Marathon
    These three things, not to mention all the Javelin and 1887 problems just made Modern Warfare 2 unbearable to play online. Not only was it horrible, the game was also hacked countless times by people who wanted to get to 10th prestige without actually earning it.

    I had lost all faith in Call of Duty, and now Treyarch was making one. I thought that the end of Call of Duty had come, and we'd never see the game again after Modern Warfare 2.

    But then Treyarch started showing videos of the multiplayer. No more Stopping Power, no more Danger Close, and I thought to myself, well that seems pretty cool. And then the big one, no more Commando or Quick Scoping. I thought it was brilliant! Modern Warfare 2 just had so many things that made the game unbalanced and unplayable after a while.

    And then Black Ops came out, and now even the Leaderboards have been changed to rank you based on how you play as opposed to just camping and getting kills! As far as a multiplayer game goes, it's brilliant, the best one since Call of Duty 4 in balancing and fun! The fact that you have to earn the money to buy things is also brilliant and new.

    They brought back the Skorpion and AK-74, and made Shotguns primary weapons again, like they always should have been. I mean what's the point in having a pistol as a secondary when you had the choice of a shotgun instead?

    Modern Warfare 2's campaign was also awful. Treyarch has made a very, very good campaign that is quite possibly the best in the entire Call of Duty series, but I'll not spoil anything.

    Also zombies are back, which was one of my favorite things about World at War.

    So far, this game has been outstanding. So unless you're one of those kids who has a modded XBOX and thrives off of hacking leaderboards, go out and buy this game, you won't regret it.

    Thank you Treyarch for actually listening to gamers when making this game.
    Expand
  49. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    To me Black Ops is the best Call of Duty to date Campaign was very fun to play zombies is great again and also multiplayer is amazing. Everything in multiplayer is balanced. The chopper gunner is overpowered but weak so all you need is someone with a launcher. A lot of people are too used to Modern Warfare 2 noob friendlyness. This new edition actually takes skill to play and i can't see why it is rated so low. Maybe not worth a full 10 like i gave it but theres nothing to make it lower than a 8. Treyarch did a great job of fixing what was wrong with Modern Warfare 2 and adding lots of great additions like Wager Matches, the CoD points system and the contracts. Its a great game with amazing multiplayer.
    Thats my 2 cents :)
    Expand
  50. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Call of duty black will have your heart pumping like it never pumped before The single player is fantastic. Awesome game! This is an amazing upgrade from call of duty mw2 and call of duty back. Everything in the game is just so balanced. To me this is the best call of duty ever.
  51. ALL
    Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This game could have been a lot better. All the LMG's have way too much recoil, even with a grip on. The spawn points in multiplayer are awful, and that's if you can even get in a game with your group. With a group of 5 or more it takes at least 6 attempts, or you can wait and sit in the room while it tells you that it's searching for one more player to balance teams. Once it does find one player, after waiting 10+ minutes, it will tell you that it needs 2 more to balance teams. The lack of online co-op campaign was a real let down. The Zombies matches are ok, but more of a gimmick. The graphics for the multiplayer are not anywhere near what Infinity Ward has ever offered. I'll be trading this back in in a week or two. Treyarch should stick to what it knows best, producing dated Tony Hawk games. Expand
  52. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    Best Call of Duty up until now, A well balanced multiplayer , superb sound effective, appealing graphics and specially the ton of content this game packs makes any Call of Duty fan dreams come truth.
  53. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This may be the best Call of Duty in the series with probably the best story in the Single player campaign off the rest of the series and a highly enjoyable multiplayer that will keep you busy for weeks.
  54. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    I personally love this game. it is very similar to Modern Warfare 2, but its way deeper and has way more extras. Zombie mode is amazing with 2 new huge maps and one arcade zombie map similar to geometry wars. The multiplayer is great. The maps are fun and there is a lot more customization than there was in MW2. The addition of a currency sytem to buy attachments, guns, perks, and cosmetic upgrades adds to the multiplayer experience making it deeper than any previous CoDs. I love the addition of the ability to play Xbox live with one guest(like in halo and l4d2). In my opinion, this game is way better than Modern warfare 2 in every way. Expand
  55. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    metacritic needs captcha, most of the bad user reviews are the same word for word. they are computer generated accounts from a rival company. everything about this game is solid, you just need a good gaming computer ,not a 2 dollar piece of ****
  56. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    Legitimate opinions aside, there are a lot of people giving this game bad scores for the wrong reasons... and ludicrously low scores at that. This is slightly reflected in my score, trying to restore a tiny portion of balance, tacking an extra point or so on to the score... but the game does deserve high praise. It's got a great campaign and a fun multiplayer experience. It's only flaws are few and they lay on the multiplayer side of things, as far as I'm concerned. As far as I can see there's a lack of an option along the lines of Halo: Reach's "Psych Profile," which would make playing online more pleasant... if I could only set it up to filter out people with headsets. Expand
  57. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    Perfect game. Few mistakes. This game does not deserve 1 at all. 3arch listens to the community, they have made 5 updates already based on the community so those guy who give this a 1 will never be impressed by anything.
  58. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fantastic... Although not as good as COD 4 or MW2, also single player story is really good better than MW2. Black Ops is going to be game of the year. Way better than Halo Reach. Expand
  59. cee
    Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Not sure why users are giving this one a bad review. This is a solid game, we've just played too much COD in the past few years. This is definately worth the money.
  60. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's very good game but I don't like that there isn't quick scope.
    Call of duty. black ops is as good as call of duty: modern warfare 2
    Expand
  61. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    My current favorite. Not as nice as MW2 but it sure beats anything else out right now. The graphics are alright and I like the new gameplay features. A very good spend of my money and time.
  62. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Best game to date. The campaign never ends while the multiplayer takes the Call of Duty that we know and love to a whole new level. Things that were unfair in MW2, like quickscoping, have been removed to make the experience more fun. Killstreaks are more interactive and rewarding. Wager matches allow for winning to feel that much more good. Overall, I could play non stop
  63. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    This game is by far the best game Iâ
  64. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    I have played this game lots and I think itâ
  65. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games in the world. Not even kidding. I just love the multi-player, and the campaign? It's the best of the series. Zombies Mode is just wonderful. Go pick it up! You won't regret it!
  66. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    This is my 2nd review of the game and after fully comprehending the structure and playing more of the single player campaign... I must say this game deserves a higher mark.

    I have read 5+ user reviews of this game all bashing it for little things and giving the CoD title a low mark because of one or two small frustrations with the game... IM SICK OF IT!

    Let me tell you something
    people... if you suck at first person shooters... play on easy mode in campaign because this game is very hard and unforgiving, but rewarding and fun if played at the proper difficulty...

    Another thing... Multiplayer is the same way except you don't get to choose your difficulty. The people on Xbox live are plain and simply... undeniably good. I happen to be one of those people so I have no problem keeping up with the competition. If you are not good or an avid gamer I have several words of advice....

    1. Do not KNOCK the game because you are terrible at it.
    Expand
  67. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    I don't care what the **** other people say about CoD:BO, it's awesome! Single-player: Complex characters, and an excellent storyline, but it was short, as I beat it in 4 hours. Multi-player: Great character customization and experience system, excellent maps, however the size, and, or course, zombies! The occasional server switching or kicking is annoying, but its only a small nuisance. Graphics: Nothing new, but still good. Price: Expensive at $60, but should go down eventually. Overall: One great game. Expand
  68. SFN
    Jan 4, 2011
    10
    This is one game you can not miss, Call of Duty Black ops is a absolute play, the graphics are so realistic, i have always been a fan of the Call of Duty series since the first game, and after modern warfare 2 didnt think it could get any better but they just keep suprising you again and again, they bring back alot of new things such as the slow motion action scenes and many types of weapons and other neat things,. the thing that will really keep you interested is the new zombiesmode, you have new maps, new weapons, and new characthers to play as, also is the online multiplayer which also brought back the customizable weapons to where you attach thing such as scopes and other neat things, this is a must buy. Expand
  69. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    This was my first COD game. And what can I say. I was impressed. Thrilling graphics and great gameplay. I liked the storyline but it did feel a bit. 'huh' if that's a correct term. Definitely a highlight for me was the Stones 'Sympathy for the Devil' on a game mission. Made the game for me. Worth the play and having played COD MW2 I can see they've done a lot to the multiplayer aspect. Saying that when I brought it round to a friends we spent the whole time playing the Zombie game. One of my friends said they'd buy the game just for that part. It's a good game and the COD team definitely keep a standard when making these games. Expand
  70. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Great game. The story is good, and the multiplayer is even better. A lot of people complain about having to earn weapons and points, but I love it. It gives you something to look forward to and work towards.
  71. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    This game is the worst call of duty and heres why. The multiplayer is soooo boring. i play for 2 minutes and put in mw2. not only that but the story mode sucks theres nothing special about it. zombies is same as waw.
  72. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    This game is fricken amazing! Halo what? Metal Gear what? Call of Duty Black Ops is the greatest game ever made. The single player campaign is simply spectacular, so much so that many times I was playing I forgot that I was playing a game and thought that I was watching a Hollywood blockbuster! Every character is expressive and convincing. By the time the game is done, you will care for all of them. Reznov is the epiphany of the word badass! The multiplayer is incredibly simple, but rewardingly difficult to master. It'll suck you in and you'll get thousands of hours out of this game. Expand
  73. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Treyarch always make less better games. I loved the setting of the campaign, the story line was great. Unlike Modern Warfare 2, Black Ops can really reveal who is good at the game and who isn't. Not to mention the Zombie levels were very good, especially ascension. Overall a great game and I don't think you can ask for anything more.
  74. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    You simply cannot miss this game. Just like almost everybody else who bought it, I thought i sucked too. But you really start to get into the game when you get to level 20 and you played about half-way through the story. Please do yourself and go pick it up, or don't sell it!
  75. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This game is by far one of the best outings in the famed cod franchise. Whilst opinion has seemed to divide the community on this game, I think that any fan of this series would be missing out if they don't give the game a fair go. In regards to the single player campaign, you will be drawn into the action from the opening moments- and the pacing throughout the game that never let's up from this point. Whilst the single player campaign makes no major innovations, you will know what you are in for as it is COD as it is known and loved by so many!

    Multiplayer is where the meat is at for most gamers these days, and for myself- at 12 days played, it has been the most Addictive and fun filled online ride since COD4! as a gamer, we all want value for money, and this mode is testament to the amount of entertainment value one can get out of a game with such high production values. Innovations in this area includes much greater customization options over previous COD titles, as well as a greater freedom in how you unlock these customisatins. A form of online currency has also been introduced as a means to purchase equipment etc, as well as to wager on matches with other players

    Last but not least the extensive Zombies mode returns!

    Highly addictive, huge replayability and great value for money
    Expand
  76. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    Gameplay: 8/10 Sound: 4/10 (Toy Guns) Graphics: 7/10 (outdated engine)
    Campaign: 5/10 (cheap non-stop action)
    Multiplayer: 7/10 (level up system and perks raise unstable online experiences score slightly)

    overall interesting game, fun for an arcade shooter, easy to "pick up n' play" but nothing that can sustain me for more than 2 hours at a time. Clear host advantage when
    online and poor team balancing (looks at immediate score rather than user kdr). worth picking up only if your a devout COD fan Expand
  77. May 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call of Duty: Black Ops è il settimo di questa meravigliosa saga.
    E' uno sparatutto in prima persona che affronta questo genere in modo affascinante, infatti è stato dichiarato ufficialmente il migliore sparatutto del 2010 ed è ancora oggi tra i migliori, con tanti milioni di copie vendute, però i rivali non mancano.
    Parlando del gioco non posso evitare di dire che è un capolavoro, ma a causa del cambiamento della casa produttrice c'è stato qualche disapprovazione su questo titolo.
    Quasi tutti i capitoli della saga sono stati fatti dalla Treyarch; ma noi ricordiamo bene il predecessore di Black Ops, ovvero Modern Warfare, esso è stato creato dalla Infinity Ward, ciò ha creato rivalità tra le due case produttrici e quindi l'ultimo numero della saga non è stato molto apprezzato a causa di ciò.
    Voi vi chiederete come mai siamo passati alla Infinity Ward e successivamente di nuovo alla Treyarch?
    Tutti i Fan della saga lo sanno; La Infinity Ward ha voluto partecipare in Call of Duty facendo un buon affare con l'Activision, ma voleva modificarne il titolo chiamando il videogioco solo Modern Warfare, nonostante ciò il ''Call of Duty'' è rimasto, così c'è stato un litigio tra perchè doveva starci solo una collaborazione della Infinity Ward che voleva andare oltre; così poi è ritornata la Treyarch ma noi videogiocatori sappiamo che è migliore la Infinity Ward è quindi c'è stato questo calo di approvazione nell uscita di Black Ops.
    Ma ora parliamo del gioco in se per se.
    Call of Duty: Black Ops parla in parte della seconda guerra mondiale, ma ne troviamo una sola missione, il resto si ambienta dopo, ed è del tutto una Guerra Fredda.
    Durante la Storia dovrai fermare in parte vari nemici intenti ad usare il Gas Nova, un gas capace di uccidere migliaia di persone.
    Il protagonista, ''Mason'' viene interrogato per tutta la campagna del gioco, infatti le missioni sono ciò che lui si ricorda e quindi immaginarie, dei pensieri dove non tutto è reale.
    Durante la campagna avrai degli amici che ti saranno molto fondamentale e di aiuto per sconfiggere l'Unione Sovietica passando poi ai nemici principali del gioco che si uccidono mano a mano si percorre quest'avventura di ben 15 missioni con una longevità che varia tra le 6 e le 8 ore, anche in base alla difficolta che come nei normali sparatutto è suddivisa in quattro: Recluta, Soldato, Esperto e Veterano.
    L'interrogazione su Mason è causata dal fatto che dentro la tua testa c'è qualcosa di importante.
    Infatti vieni scambiato inizialmente per infiltrato ma a volte anche per uno di loro, intento a collaborare con i nemici , tutto ciò si capisce poi alla fine della campagna.
    Parte molto fondamentale della storia è un'amico che conoscerai a Vorkuta, una ''prigione'' dove sei stato rinchiuso.
    Esso ti accompagnerà per gran parte di questa avventura.
    Dovrai viaggiare tra Vietnam e Cuba, dove affronterai molti nemici e trovare l'obiettivo della missione, ma non sempre sarà possibile a causa del buono intelleto o meglio della buona furbizia dei nemici.
    Affrontarli non sarà semplice, infatti bisognerà contare molto sull'aiuto dei tuoi amici, ma saranno loro ad appoggiarsi su di te.
    Ritornando a prima, da Vorkuta dovrai fuggire con la collaborazione del tuo nuovo amico di nome Reznov; sarà grazie a lui se ti salverai la pelle, ma non il cervello, ciò perchè durante l'interrogatorio il protagonista difficilmente si ricorderà tutto nei minimi dettagli.
    Ti immergerai, e dico ''immergerai'', anche in missioni Stealth, ma ciò non vuol dire che ci dovrai annegare.
    Di luoghi ne vedrai passando da case e città, a fiumi, villaggi e boschi ma non mancherà la neve e quindi le montagne.
    Il tutto con un'eccellente cinematografia che ti farà in alcuni casi immedesimare in Mason.
    Come abbiamo accennato all'inizio, una missione è ambientata nella seconda guerra mondiale, lì non sarai Mason ma bensì Reznov, esso è stato a raccontarti cio che avviene poi nella missione.
    Esso, Reznov fu un infiltrato che collaborò nella ricerca del Gas Nova.
    Il protagonista, Mason, non ne potrà farne almeno di pensare a Reznov, e quì che io non posso aggiungere altro.
    Molto affascinanti sono le missioni ambientate in Vietnam, e non mancherà il pilotaggio di alcuni veicoli per breve tempo, in particolare l'Hind, un velivolo.
    La fine della Trama avviene alla fine dell'interrogatorio, perchè l'interrogatorio finisce e quindi dopo che Mason capisce dove trovare la base nemica intenta a fare una strage, dovrai andarci e impedire che ciò avvenga, lì finira questa avvincente storia ma non accenno se con un lieto fine o viceversa; toccherà a voi scoprire tutto durante la campagna quando ci giocherete.
    Le missioni non sono mai uguali e mantengono un certo tipo di cinematografia che renderà sempre più spettacolare la campagna, anche i disastri e le tragedie non mancano.
    Expand
  78. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    yet me get stairght to the point yh i love black ops on zombie mode hahahahah also i like zombie mode online if u want to add me on xbox 360 my gamatag is mahadz64 il'l be waiting see u later dudz
  79. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    This is hands down the BEST CoD game there is. Great graphics, great dark story, great crafted multiplayer (WAY better than MW's multiplayer mess) And i think that this might be the only game i acually would keep on my shelf for a while.
  80. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    This was an all right attempt by Treyarch, could have been better. Graphics were alright, and multiplayer still remains fun. It just didn't have the same feel that MW2 had, which was a better game, and I am sure that everyone would agree with me. The campaign was just too much. It was just non-stop shooting and no breaks. It was like a rock song that has the longest solo, or seeing the same stripper everyday. I do not like zombies, personally because most people take it too seriously and make up a plan like complete nerds just to finish. I prefer Left 4 Dead over Zombies. Cannot wait for MW3. Expand
  81. Vik
    Jun 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call of Duty: Black Ops is the latest game from the hit video game series Call of Duty. It was rated 4 stars by Game Informer. The campaign of this video game is a sequel to Call of Duty: World at War. This game was designed by Treyarch and produced by Activision. Along with Black Ops, Activision has produced the other Call of Duty games as well.
    This gameâ
    Expand
  82. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    To start with, I'd like to say this ISN'T a 10/10 game. I'm just giving it that to p*** off the blatant fanboys who gave the game 0/10. I mean c'mon, giving a game a 0 on the day it comes out? Because you've obviously played it a lot by that point... and lets not get into the people who mention BC2 or Halo... heres the thing battlefield fanboys - BC2 SUCKED. It was essentially the same game I played with BC1, just with a worse story and a load of boring MP maps. I loved BC1 though, and will likely love BF3.

    Back to the matter at hand, this game is about a 8.5/10 for me - whilst it is essentially the same old tried and tested COD formula, it is by far the most balanced. Not having to unlock 'Cold blooded' is a god-send now, and is where the new 'cod points' system works best. There are quite a few new additions, but nothing to overly shout about, its just new perks, weapons, maps etc. As for the story, this was the best out of the Call Of duty's yet. It certainly was the most intriguing, and actually kept me playing compulsively to the end. Something a COD has failed to do since #4, which remains the best one of the series. Whilst you may think I haven't detailed enough new features to warrant an '8.5', I don't care. You have to look at the game on it's own, as a significant number of gamers will start with this Call of duty - whilst most of us old hats are privy to the series, they're not, and will want a more fair, just approach to the game itself, NOT the series. Plus it has Nazi zombies, which is just sheer beast! :P
    P.S. I do agree that MW2 is an overrated, unbalanced piece of junk - but don't punish black ops for the sins of the father...
    Expand
  83. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    best of all the call of duty's 10 times better than mw3 rubbish keep up the good work treyarch hope you will be making another cod soon. im still playing it to this day awsome
  84. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Treyarch have out-done themselves,What an outstanding game, truly unforgettable. This game certainly show that Treyarch can deliver on the Call of Duty series. The Zombies maps were awesome and the Multiplayer and Single Player was fantastic. Nuketown is the best Multiplayer map I've ever played on any Call of Duty.
  85. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    True amazing experience online and offline.. now that mw3 has been released people will see how much off a good game this truly is!
    Its cool to hate black ops , i cant think for one reason why !
  86. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    ZOMBIES!!!!!!!!! That is all I have to say on the matter... Everything else is just meh. I mean decent single player and the only enjoyable part of multiplayer are the wager matches that are tense and exciting. ZOMBIES, however, make it a great package!!
  87. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Favourite COD to date. Got everything right, besides some unbalanced guns. (meh) Gives every type of player the ability to play how they want.. Very rushed based to! : ) When BO first came out I would have given it a 3 or 4. But after a year and seeing MW3's huge diappointment, I will give this a solid 10!! great game treyarch! hurry up with BO 2!!!
  88. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    This is the best Call of Duty yet. It is diverse and balanced compared to any other one, and everythign about it is fun, just bought MW3, it's nothing compared to this game
  89. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    This is the best COD ever , zombies is an absolute treat and overall the game is absolutely miles better than Modern Warfare.Treyarch simply put much more work into games and it is worth the money you pay , unlike with MW3
  90. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of my favorite cods. The campaign is fantastic. The story is far different from cods typical war. It involves hallucinations of people and the images and sounds of random numbers into your head. The disturbing sight of your hand shaking and aiming a gun to jfk with a terrifying screaming in the background, or the multiple hallucinations in the second to last level as you stumble around an empty building as you realize one of your closest teamates was never really with you at all and had been dead for years. The mind bending story is not original, but its fun and different. The multiplayer is good and fixes many problems in mw2 involving balancing. No major flaws in my experience. It is trully an exciting and mind bending game. Expand
  91. May 7, 2012
    10
    This is a game you have to get, it is a must buy. It has a great story, and outstanding graphics. The multiplayer is fun, and awesome. Zombies is great, the maps are awesome, my favorite is moon. This is a must buy people!
  92. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    I have to say that this title is the definitive Call of Duty of the series. I have played every Call of Duty since its release and this is the only one that I return to time and time again for a game of multiplayer. It has been released 2 years now and I still find myself having a game at least twice a week. A true classic in my opinion and Activision will never repeat the success of Black ops with any of its future releases. Expand
  93. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    u shuld get call uv dooty blac cops too becuz its teh most epic gaem i hav evar plaid n u shuld play it to. teh releaz uv dis gaem iz proably teh gratist step mankind haz evar taykin. if u dont play this gaem, then ur probaly just a huge nurd who plays stoopid gaems liek wurld uv warcrap.
  94. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    this was biggest surprise of 2011 for me. this game was best story by far. woods and resnov are great supportive actors. mutiplayer was fun but its not really my thing.
  95. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    now i give this game a 10/10 not simply cause i like the game i give it a 10 cause i had alot of time to play the game and have had alot of friends i also like the zombies and the game was fun with the glitches i would buy it if you like fps it is a really good game that you could spend good hours on. if you dont like the review well thats all bad cause this game is amazing and atleast earns a good score at least a 6/10 from everyone you cant just give it a bad score cause you dont like the company that made it i hate bungee but i have had a really good time with halo but chief needs to mess stuff up haha. Expand
  96. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    Call of Duty: Black Ops is the result of the incredible work of Treyarch.
    Despite having a short single player campaign that Call of Duty have an fantastic story. The multiplayer is balanced and brings good maps.
  97. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    It's a much better game than Modern Warfare 2, but it doesn't really feel as fresh as it probably should. The new additions Treyarch made don't really help the gameplay much, and seeing as most people have played MW2 to death, there's really no reason for anyone other than hardcore COD fans to buy Black Ops.
  98. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    Call of duty black ops is a great game, after ordering it from amazon it arrived just before i had to go to work but as soon as i got home I played it a lot the multiplayer is great as always the single player is not great but not bad either and it is worth playing the campaign but the multiplayer is the best part.
  99. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    This is a great game, i did not like World at War, but treyarch has definetly cleaned up. the campain is amazing the multiplayer is just as good, zombies are back and its the best looking call of duty to date, the reason i i dont give it a 10 though is because its just missing that chemistry between character and story line or somthing that i cant very well put my finger on, but that the Modern warfares possess that make you wanna say "OH SH*T:D" isnt here but, by golly its a darn good game Expand
  100. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    Easily my favorite Call of Duty, definitely after the lack of depth in MW2, the graphics are a bit of a step back I think from MW2, but in no way interfere with the game.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. A short campaign which is never spectacular and never very clever, but always solid enough. [Feb 2011, p.99]
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    70
    By dint of obstinacy, Treyarch delivers probably its best with Black Ops Call of Duty to date - but probably not the best in the saga.
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    90
    There are more highlights in the first two missions of Black Ops, then in Medal of Honor. The requirements of Treyarch seemed to be better, than in the past few years. They made an interesting setting. In addition, there's a nice zombie mode and an overwhelming multiplayer. No doubt, this is Treyarchs best Call of Duty ever!