User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 2076 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    The game doesn't even evolve with time. It's boring and repetitive! The storyline is like a cheap action movie with tons of special effects! This game sucks.
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    How do you go backwards in a franchise? DOG... Let COD ghosts multiplayer show you. Listen, I don't write reviews, but this is so bad I felt compelled to say something,. DOG... This game is absolute crap, we get a nice breath of fresh air from BLOPS2 and here come ghosts to take a dump on that. DOG... By far the worst cod that has been put out, please from now on let TREYARCH handle theHow do you go backwards in a franchise? DOG... Let COD ghosts multiplayer show you. Listen, I don't write reviews, but this is so bad I felt compelled to say something,. DOG... This game is absolute crap, we get a nice breath of fresh air from BLOPS2 and here come ghosts to take a dump on that. DOG... By far the worst cod that has been put out, please from now on let TREYARCH handle the COD titles. DOG..... when does Black Ops 3 come out? Any one know? sheesh.... oh and in case you didn't know, this whole stupid ass game revolves around a DOG. (PS sorry for the grammatical errors, I'm tired, but, then again why should I care, I put more effort into writing this review then they did into this game) gnite.... Back to BLOPS2 tomorrow. Signed ~GRENUG~ Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    4
    You can't teach an old dog new tricks... and Infinity Ward didn't even try.

    You either hate it or love it, there's no in-between with Call of Duty. First of is it a good game? No, but is it a bad game? Yeah, kinda. On it's own it's a decent game but when it's part of a franchise like Call of Duty it just feels lazy. The game is something it shouldn't be; a generic FPS. There are
    You can't teach an old dog new tricks... and Infinity Ward didn't even try.

    You either hate it or love it, there's no in-between with Call of Duty. First of is it a good game? No, but is it a bad game? Yeah, kinda. On it's own it's a decent game but when it's part of a franchise like Call of Duty it just feels lazy. The game is something it shouldn't be; a generic FPS.

    There are three main components of COD: Ghosts is the story, the multiplayer and it's 'zombies' mode which this time is aliens...

    In the single player story you get what'd you'd expect from it an eight hour story play through filled with clichés and Michael Bay moments. The story is set in an alternate timeline that follows the nuclear destruction of the Middle East. The oil-producing nations of South America form the Federation in response to the ensuing global economic crisis and quickly grow into a global superpower, swiftly invading and conquering Central America and the Caribbean. Now, North America has been destroyed and you are part of the Ghosts, the super heroic secret army of the North. That's it really and your mission is to hijack the ODIN to destroy the Federation, just a massive cliché really. Oh and you get a dog.

    But people don't play COD for the single player right? They play for the 'amazing' multiplayer! Yet it all seems the same just different maps, guns and sounds... The newest feature is the squad mode which in all honesty isn't bad but not enough to make it the game good. The multiplayer hasn't changed much since MW2, you can change your class add killstreaks, deathstreaks etc etc if you've played any previous Call of Dutys then you know what to expect. The extension mode is zombies but with aliens, yeah that's about it. You defend the base against a wave of enemies and you buy new guns throughout, so yeah zombies but with Aliens. Revolutionary!

    COD Ghosts is a let down and that's putting it lightly. As a fan of the original Call of Duty it's sad how far it's fell. If you've played previous Call of Duty's you know what to expect from Ghosts. This game barely deserves the 4 I give it.

    Good Points:
    None.

    Bad Points:
    Recycled material throughout the game
    Repetitive Gameplay
    Nothing new compared to previous Call of Dutys
    Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2013
    4
    Not good enough. Single Player was very bland, rushed and in some areas confusing. I noticed a good deal of the motion capture was reused from previous CoD games which most of the time is fine, but to use the ending of MW2 and paste it into Ghosts as it was is downright lazy. Extinction is a poor take on Zombies. I haven't played Multiplayer online as of yet but I don't think I'll beNot good enough. Single Player was very bland, rushed and in some areas confusing. I noticed a good deal of the motion capture was reused from previous CoD games which most of the time is fine, but to use the ending of MW2 and paste it into Ghosts as it was is downright lazy. Extinction is a poor take on Zombies. I haven't played Multiplayer online as of yet but I don't think I'll be venturing onto it soon. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    The sound is awful, the maps are too large for the few players who play and seem to be predicated on camping out in a hidden spot and waiting for some fool to walk by, the customization of characters and gear load outs is overly complicated. In every way this entry is weaker than CoD Black Ops II and Modern War. Infinity Ward drops the ball again.
  6. Nov 8, 2013
    2
    The game is just a GIANT step back. It doesn't feel like a CoD. It feels like a free2play CoD clone. Graphics look slightly better ,but nothing can be shown of it due to the fact the game is all one color. GREY! The single player is decent, but multilayer is nothing to wright home about. You die way to fast and the maps are to big for this game. Lag, glitches, FPS problems, and HACKERS areThe game is just a GIANT step back. It doesn't feel like a CoD. It feels like a free2play CoD clone. Graphics look slightly better ,but nothing can be shown of it due to the fact the game is all one color. GREY! The single player is decent, but multilayer is nothing to wright home about. You die way to fast and the maps are to big for this game. Lag, glitches, FPS problems, and HACKERS are already a big problem. The PC version is completely broken. Top notch PCs are struggling to stay above 40 FPS. The charter customization is the only thing new to this game but it's been done before. IW needs to step up their game if they wan't to stay as the top FPS in the world. Another CoD like this one and I think it's over for this series. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2013
    2
    This games sucks in so many ways. Graphics look 5 years old, there is no challenge, there is nothing realistic about how characters move, shoot, fall, nothing. But most of all, gameplay is so brainless! This is the Pacific Rim of video games!
  8. Nov 8, 2013
    2
    Let me say something about this game. first off this is a review so all the COD fanboys and haters Stop arguing over it, just stop. okay now to the review. This game is just like any other cod, NOTHING CHANGES people think it does but it doesn't, i mean look at BO2 they just now added a crawling animation!!! and once again it's a disappointment to a lot of people. The graphics!!!! Aw manLet me say something about this game. first off this is a review so all the COD fanboys and haters Stop arguing over it, just stop. okay now to the review. This game is just like any other cod, NOTHING CHANGES people think it does but it doesn't, i mean look at BO2 they just now added a crawling animation!!! and once again it's a disappointment to a lot of people. The graphics!!!! Aw man what can i say Complete even on my PC with a Nvidia GeForce GTX 690 Graphics card it still looks terrible, The atmosphere was really nothing special either.The games Campaign is not any better. The multiplayer is Bad too, its all the same, the Sliding animation is THE WORST THING I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE!!!! What and the Kinda animation is that, your gun stays still as and you hardly move your gun and you dont even see your feet when you do it, even when you jump over CANT SEE YOUR FEET!!! The Cod Creators don't put any effort in their games, i mean they ****in shoot out a game ever year, but Battlefield 4 Holy is that one good game, they have better running animations, better gun sounds, better graphics I'll tell you that the optical flares are amazing!!! Better animations you can even see your feet when you look down and jump over stuff, people don't like it because they think it's to realistic, no it's not, its just like any other FPS, but my point is COD is just a big disappointment now and i think if they waited a little long on releasing a game like spending 2 or 3 years on the game then maybe just maybe they will get a little more support on their game, but untill then BF4 has them beat. Expand
  9. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    Glitches,bugs,breaking the laws of gravity, and well, just plain bad. Only gun enthusiastic idiots enjoy like this.The fish swimming away didn't make this game seem anything different from something 5-10 years ago. Don't buy it!
  10. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    Call of Duty is dead, old engine never upgrade, a lots of DLC, and bad online multiplayer connection for Asia region players, waste money and boring game, COD R.I.P. 2003~2009
  11. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Gamers are so spoiled & nerdy now. Everyone needs to relax. Consumers demand a new COD every single year, otherwise they would piss & moan. They have been making a new COD since 2005. There is only so much they can do to change the gameplay and visuals and still stick with the same COD configurations and concepts. People's expectations are so high that nothing will satisfy them. They makeGamers are so spoiled & nerdy now. Everyone needs to relax. Consumers demand a new COD every single year, otherwise they would piss & moan. They have been making a new COD since 2005. There is only so much they can do to change the gameplay and visuals and still stick with the same COD configurations and concepts. People's expectations are so high that nothing will satisfy them. They make changes every year in the game to try to satisfy different individuals with tastes and feel. Has everyone forgotten that there is a wide variety of CODS out there to play? Play the one you like, DUH. Your life's not committed to the new releases, you have options. Then people will complain that the maps and guns are getting tiring. What do you want them to do? Make the newest cod exactly the same but different guns and maps? Then you'll complain that it's all the same (which most of you are saying now). Jesus Christ, stop being so spoiled. If I were the producers I would say these nerds, they don't appreciate anything. But then i'd still make them every year cause i'd be making bank I haven't even played the game, but I'm PRETTY SURE that a game isn't THAT BAD were people would rather live in the old days were there weren't even cell phones and had to play with sticks & bugs. Appreciation, why don't you invest in that instead of "stupid worst piece of &^%$ same old call of duty." Expand
  12. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    With new moves and excellent graphics, Call of Duty Ghosts is the best game in the franchise. The Campaign story is nice, using many countries participating in it. Extinction is a nice expansion to play with friends, but the monotone map can be a problem in the future. Multiplayer is very dynamic with complex maps and balanced weapons. You need to make a strategy to play. CoD Ghosts isWith new moves and excellent graphics, Call of Duty Ghosts is the best game in the franchise. The Campaign story is nice, using many countries participating in it. Extinction is a nice expansion to play with friends, but the monotone map can be a problem in the future. Multiplayer is very dynamic with complex maps and balanced weapons. You need to make a strategy to play. CoD Ghosts is also difficult to pall. Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    Okay Now For A Real Review instead of just complaining about things.... First of All It's a Military FPS Game. Always has been always will. So I don't understand the gripes about change the game.... NBA2k is always basketball and madden is always football..... etc.... Now to the Game Itself. The Single Player has a nice new story line that gets off the old just part of the army. Now partOkay Now For A Real Review instead of just complaining about things.... First of All It's a Military FPS Game. Always has been always will. So I don't understand the gripes about change the game.... NBA2k is always basketball and madden is always football..... etc.... Now to the Game Itself. The Single Player has a nice new story line that gets off the old just part of the army. Now part of a more covert team. Still has some jaw dropping animations and special events (a la grabbing onto cliff edges before falling to your death) but still pretty much shoot, reload and Survive why??? cause it's a military shooter that's why!!) Graphics are the best infinity ward has released yet. Controls spot on.... Now to the Multiplayer.....
    Hardcord players again suffer from not as many modes as core players but all the standard modes are still there except Search & Destroy. (Update: Search & Destroy will be added in First Update) It Has been replaced with Search and Rescue which is the same except that when some one is killed they leave a dog tag that must be picked up by the opposite team (a la kill confirmed) if the tag is picked up by an allied team member that player is respawned. Definitely more action packed and will have more casual player trying search mode now. Still dedicated search players will be waiting for the update. as far as the Maps they are Now a little bigger not Black ops 1 big, but bigger than BL Ops 2) and even have certain places that have building, signs, equipment that will move and alter the current map. A Nice touch i Might Add. You also have a new prestige system!! Instead of just Prestiging to The Next Icon and Starting over you Now Have Members of Your Squad that you play with a New Player each Prestige! Also Each carries up to 6 New Loadouts (Custom Classes) that you can Access Anytime!! that means you now have up to 36 create-a-classes to use! Killstreaks are back to being done by Kills not scorepoints but UAVs are now placed on the ground instead of the Air. Choppers and Nukes are back with other futuristic ones as well. All in All if you Never Liked Military Shooters this game is not for you. If You Are a Fan Ghosts is the Best of the Bunch and It's Not Even Close
    Expand
  14. Nov 10, 2013
    6
    I used to look forward to each Infinity Ward release of Call of Duty. I never was a huge fan of FPS shooters until a friend recommended the title to me. I always play the campaigns and beginning with MW3 it almost started feeling like IW didn't seem to care about the campaigns. Meanwhile Treyarch was making a better multiplayer adding in new features. A lot of people have said thisI used to look forward to each Infinity Ward release of Call of Duty. I never was a huge fan of FPS shooters until a friend recommended the title to me. I always play the campaigns and beginning with MW3 it almost started feeling like IW didn't seem to care about the campaigns. Meanwhile Treyarch was making a better multiplayer adding in new features. A lot of people have said this game feel likes an expensive map pack. It truly is...nothing earth shattering with the campaign and the multiplayer had serious issues. If you aren't hosting you are losing. This problem may be solved once dedicated servers kick in. But right now it's an absolute disaster. 50% of the time you get taken out you think it's a sniper and then you see the kill cam and realize 6 bullets were actually used instead of 1. Again patches may fix this issue but this version of CoD is nothing that hasn't been done before Expand
  15. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    I'm starting to think that they're called Infinity Ward because they are infinitely terrible at doing good things. Call of Duty has been a huge embarrassment to the entire gaming industry for years now, but this just takes the cake. Please, for everyone's sake, including your own, stop making games.
  16. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    We all know that if this was the first CoD ever to be released, it would have a near perfect score. Critics shouldn't compare it to previous games because it really ruins everything.
  17. Nov 21, 2013
    0
    Don't know why they made a game designed for campers and the aggressive players are being shot down by ppl who jus sit and hide in corners and bushes.this call of duty ghosts is a waste of time n money waiting in line for it so be released.black ops 2 is way better than ghosts although i was a believer in the modern warfare franchise. Poor staff you guys had in developing ghosts.failure
  18. Dec 10, 2013
    0
    Honestly.. everyone before me has made very good arguments regarding the flawed multiplayer, singplayer, and extinction modes but everybody failed to mention the lies that go along with players. I remember in old COD (been playing since 1) when you saw someone with a 2.00-3.00 KD they were fricken amazing players and youd want them on your team but NOOOW your KD rises by playing InfectedHonestly.. everyone before me has made very good arguments regarding the flawed multiplayer, singplayer, and extinction modes but everybody failed to mention the lies that go along with players. I remember in old COD (been playing since 1) when you saw someone with a 2.00-3.00 KD they were fricken amazing players and youd want them on your team but NOOOW your KD rises by playing Infected And you get a win for it too The problem with this is
    1. You can go 10-1 every single game (unless youre infected first.. which happens 1/20 games.. if youre unlucky)
    2. You always get a win for playing infected.. There is no way for survivors to win so you always win.. You can start COD Ghosts by playing infected and within 50 games youll have a 6.00+ KD and 100% win/loss ratio.. Not that that is such a big deal considering 30% of all cod accounts u see today are hacked and you dont know who is good or bad anymore..
    SIGH.. I miss COD
    Expand
  19. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    the multiplayer is the worse ever! the maps are way too big. the lag and hit detection is garbage. the killstreaks suck. everything about this game is crap. there is a guy on youtube search for theassistman who gives a very good review of how bad this game is. do not waste your money on this game you will be sorry and wont play it after a few days. i tried to like it like others but thatsthe multiplayer is the worse ever! the maps are way too big. the lag and hit detection is garbage. the killstreaks suck. everything about this game is crap. there is a guy on youtube search for theassistman who gives a very good review of how bad this game is. do not waste your money on this game you will be sorry and wont play it after a few days. i tried to like it like others but thats just not possible. i wish i could give this game a -10! Expand
  20. Dec 7, 2013
    0
    Just an awful game. The campaign was the usual crap story we have seen time and time again,the multiplayer was linear, small map combat,sights which allow you to use essentially legal wall hacks. They are still using lap compensation and a host, causing issues with the games connectivity and hit mark detections. Although I enjoyed extinction mode, that wasn't enough to earn even 1 point onJust an awful game. The campaign was the usual crap story we have seen time and time again,the multiplayer was linear, small map combat,sights which allow you to use essentially legal wall hacks. They are still using lap compensation and a host, causing issues with the games connectivity and hit mark detections. Although I enjoyed extinction mode, that wasn't enough to earn even 1 point on this list. I have love CoD since the original, and I am sad to see it die, but it doesn't need to continue. The companies need to use the time they have to produce a game more efficiently and give the community what it wants, not rehashed maps,guns and perks. Expand
  21. Dec 7, 2013
    0
    Let me preface this buy saying that I am a huge COD franchise fan. Let me follow that up with, this game has been nothing but a disappointment. Repeatability comes from the multiplayer experience, and it is completely lacking in balance. Extinction and the Campaign are fun but do not save how horrible the online experience has been. The system for grouping people together is completelyLet me preface this buy saying that I am a huge COD franchise fan. Let me follow that up with, this game has been nothing but a disappointment. Repeatability comes from the multiplayer experience, and it is completely lacking in balance. Extinction and the Campaign are fun but do not save how horrible the online experience has been. The system for grouping people together is completely unfair (my rank is 994000 and I got placed against a rank 54 and 130 today, that's 5 orders of magnitude folks). The lag factor (which all COD players know and despise) allows for a person to seemingly not know your there but when you watch the kill cam, low and behold they have really been looking at you before you started shooting. The Guns are unbalanced and it is completely designed to set up a cheap class system as opposed to unlocking as you level. The online experience is really poorly designed and leaves most players wanting and frustrated. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS GAME!! I wish I could get a refund Expand
  22. Dec 7, 2013
    0
    i am a huge fan of call of duty i played all the games of call of duty but unfortunately this one is a huge piece of garbage !!
    its the worst thing that call of duty made really bad i still cant believe that call of duty made this game
    any way stick to your black ops 2 or get battle filed this is my advice to any body who likes call of duty . cause ghost is a piece of garbage
    i am a huge fan of call of duty i played all the games of call of duty but unfortunately this one is a huge piece of garbage !!
    its the worst thing that call of duty made really bad i still cant believe that call of duty made this game
    any way stick to your black ops 2 or get battle filed this is my advice to any body who likes call of duty .
    cause ghost is a piece of garbage and i regret getting it
    Expand
  23. Dec 16, 2013
    0
    The reviews for this game make me wonder whether popular gaming magazines are bought and paid for. The spawn points are terrible, the maps are overly large and cluttered, promoting camping. It's a less fun version of modern warfare 3, which was a less entertaining version of modern warfare. I regret I bought this game. Thankfully I was drunk so I can blame it on that
  24. Dec 28, 2013
    2
    Ok, ok, we have called InfintyWard out on there faults, oh what's that InfinityWard? There is nothing good about your game? Well that is just to bad, once again Call of Duty has been done the unnecessary wrong that InfintyWard has brought to it since Modern Warfare 3. They thought single player was going to be good by adding a dog, well sorry Call of Duty cannot be sugar coated.Ok, ok, we have called InfintyWard out on there faults, oh what's that InfinityWard? There is nothing good about your game? Well that is just to bad, once again Call of Duty has been done the unnecessary wrong that InfintyWard has brought to it since Modern Warfare 3. They thought single player was going to be good by adding a dog, well sorry Call of Duty cannot be sugar coated. Multiplayer servers are not good and maybe taking advice from the community because what we want matters because we have all played Call of Duty for a bit of time now so listen to us for once. The maps are horrendously large and unfortunately campers paradise.the game, once again since Modern Warfare 2 is dominated by snipers, LMGs, and ARs. Please, were all not stupid take some bits of advice. Expand
  25. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everything is awesome! I've played this game for like six hours at a friends house and I loved everything about it. I am buying it as I am writing this. yay! Expand
  26. Apr 1, 2014
    0
    This game is bad , the campaign is OK the multiplayer is **** and extinction is very fun, not as good as zombies,but still very good. The multiplayer suck mainly due to the maps and how well people blend in and the fact that all guns, except 3 or 4 are terrible no I dont' hate COD I just hate this one
  27. Jun 13, 2014
    8
    Call of Duty Ghosts was great fun but I think the Ghosts Hacks like these caused an issue with the game. If the new game isn't any better I'm not sure what I'll do.
  28. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    While the Call of Duty franchise is more of an annual update rather than a series of sequels, Call of Duty: Ghosts puts in some interesting ideas for Infinity Ward's future.

    The campaign has a good playable story which is packed with action and good gameplay, however it undermines that of Black Ops II, as it's campaign was webbed, so you could play it in any way you wanted, whereas
    While the Call of Duty franchise is more of an annual update rather than a series of sequels, Call of Duty: Ghosts puts in some interesting ideas for Infinity Ward's future.

    The campaign has a good playable story which is packed with action and good gameplay, however it undermines that of Black Ops II, as it's campaign was webbed, so you could play it in any way you wanted, whereas Ghosts goes back to being linear. Some work could be done to the Campaign, but I found it an enjoyable experience overall.

    The Multiplayer has brought back some favourite gamemodes, such as Team Deathmatch, a few fun ones, such as Infected, as well as some new ones, like 'Cranked' in which you must get a kill within 30 seconds to not die. The 'Pick 10' class system from Black Ops II has come back with some tweaks; The system is the same but you can pick MORE than 10 things in your arsenal. Character Customization has spawned in Ghosts allowing the player to choose how they want to look in-game, which is always good to have. The Multiplayer in all is pretty much the same mechanics as that of the game's predecessors, but with some new features that new players to the franchise will enjoy. But I thought the maps you played on were TOO BIG. They were meant to be designed for 'Ground War' a gamemode in which 18 players can play at once. However 'Ground War' is not available on the Xbox 360, PS3 or Wii U versions of the game, so that was a shame.

    Now, 'Squads'. 'Squads' is the new Online Co-Op engine in which you and five friends band together to play a variety of Co-Op gamemodes. The favourite 'Survival' mode returns from Modern Warfare 3 in the form of 'Safehouse' as well as a few new Co-Op gamemodes that Co-Op fans will enjoy. What's more, any XP you earn in Co-Op or Multiplayer will count towards your online rank. I thought that this was a brilliant feature for those who are better at one than the other and need to boost their level up.

    'Extinction' is Infinity Ward's new Horde-Survival mode in which 4 players must traverse a destroyed alienated landscape and fend off hordes of lethal aliens. The players are armed with pistols of their choice at the start, but guns can be bought along the way. The main objective is to run through the city destroying alien 'hives' and arming a Nuke at the city area thus dashing back to the helicopter. This is kind of a rip-off to Zombies from Treyarch's games in a way, but with a similar system and familiar ideas, this will be good for longtime Zombies players, however there are no Perk-a-Cola's people!

    In conclusion, I thought Call of Duty: Ghosts was a rather decent game. It wasn't perfect, but then again no game is perfect. Changes and patches can be made to Ghosts right now, but in its early stages of the game's release I was impressed with the effort that was taken to make this. The Call of Duty franchise is pulling itself out of the repetitive hole its been stuck in all these years, with a brilliant effort made on Black Ops II, and Ghosts has had a good effort put into it too. Well Done Infinity Ward!
    Expand
  29. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    An entertaining romp, it annual release is welcome and most gamers are used to it by now. However compared to last years black ops II its a step backwards unfortunately, the singleplayer is fine. Online fine. Nothing has been pushed uniquely added. No risks have been taken. The story is boring but gets better(crazier) towards the ending.

    Better luck next time, think about a combination
    An entertaining romp, it annual release is welcome and most gamers are used to it by now. However compared to last years black ops II its a step backwards unfortunately, the singleplayer is fine. Online fine. Nothing has been pushed uniquely added. No risks have been taken. The story is boring but gets better(crazier) towards the ending.

    Better luck next time, think about a combination or eras next outing, Call of Duty: Time at war. Feature Ww1 ww2 Vietnam 80s now and the future. That would be epic, we had a taste of it in black ops 1/2
    Expand
  30. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Worse in the series. Graphics and textures are dated maybe 8-10 years, mechanics are just not there, the game was WAY overhyped and not even close to a "new" gen game, this one takes a huge step backwards from its predecessors. MP was already hacked first day (see all the vides and screenshots).
    Stay away and wait for the next Treyarch release, if the franchise recovers from this mess.
  31. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    The game in itself is fun, but that's if you don't take into account that CoD's been the same, reskinned game since 4. The campaign was pretty fun but short and lacking story other than the generic "These are the bad guys. So you're killing them.". I liked the characters but you barely get to know them. Overall I'd give the campaign a 5 or 6 due to the lack of character development andThe game in itself is fun, but that's if you don't take into account that CoD's been the same, reskinned game since 4. The campaign was pretty fun but short and lacking story other than the generic "These are the bad guys. So you're killing them.". I liked the characters but you barely get to know them. Overall I'd give the campaign a 5 or 6 due to the lack of character development and actual plot.

    MP and Extinction are pretty fun as well, but it's not like I'm going to be playing them for hundreds of hours. It gets repetitive pretty fast.

    If you want my advice, just rent it. It's not worth keeping unless you're a diehard CoD fan.
    Expand
  32. Nov 7, 2013
    1
    People complain because they think COD has gone stale. It's not stale. It's just bad. The game tries to be innovative and has made progress with larger multi level maps. But it all comes down to gameplay, and whoever has the upperhand because of connection wins. Skill plays little to no role in most online games I've experienced.

    I refused to buy another COD game after MW3 without
    People complain because they think COD has gone stale. It's not stale. It's just bad. The game tries to be innovative and has made progress with larger multi level maps. But it all comes down to gameplay, and whoever has the upperhand because of connection wins. Skill plays little to no role in most online games I've experienced.

    I refused to buy another COD game after MW3 without renting it first. This is MW3 all over again. If you hated MW3 because of their network code, this is exactly the same if not worse. One shot kills, bad hit registry, players being 5 steps ahead of you, etc. If you don't know what I'm talking about, then you might be one of the lucky ones and enjoy this game. If you know all to well these experiences with COD, spend your money on something else.
    Expand
  33. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Very similar to the last game, which is to be expected. The real surprise for me is how generous they are with multiplayer maps. 15 including the bonus one! Considering how much money they make on DLC map packs, I was expecting the suits at Activision to scale back the content in the initial release to milk this franchise like Gears of War did. Pleasantly surprised.
    If you like CoD, then
    Very similar to the last game, which is to be expected. The real surprise for me is how generous they are with multiplayer maps. 15 including the bonus one! Considering how much money they make on DLC map packs, I was expecting the suits at Activision to scale back the content in the initial release to milk this franchise like Gears of War did. Pleasantly surprised.
    If you like CoD, then you'll like this CoD. If you want CoD to completely change things up to freshen their formula, then you should just switch to another shooter. There are lots of great ones out there.
    Expand
  34. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    This review only covered multiplayer. Not bothering with campaign till Xbox One release.
    This years COD seems to be a slight improvement over last years. Some of the new multiplayer modes are fun yet stressful at the same time.. The character creation has been overhauled since you can now customize pretty much anything from your face mask to your pants. The make a class system has also
    This review only covered multiplayer. Not bothering with campaign till Xbox One release.
    This years COD seems to be a slight improvement over last years. Some of the new multiplayer modes are fun yet stressful at the same time.. The character creation has been overhauled since you can now customize pretty much anything from your face mask to your pants. The make a class system has also taken some features introduced in Black Ops 2 and has improved upon it. The gameplay itself is exactly the same as every other COD yet it feels improved at the same time. I personally would recommend it to anyone looking for a fun FPS.
    Expand
  35. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    I never do reviews on games. This will be my first review because Call of Duty doesn't deserve to be rated a 0 and lumped with other games that Wal-Mart can't even give away for free. I’ve played Call of Duty since the original was released for PC back in ’03. If you bought Call of Duty: Ghosts expecting a completely new, fresh and energizing feel. Then don’t get this one. It is the sameI never do reviews on games. This will be my first review because Call of Duty doesn't deserve to be rated a 0 and lumped with other games that Wal-Mart can't even give away for free. I’ve played Call of Duty since the original was released for PC back in ’03. If you bought Call of Duty: Ghosts expecting a completely new, fresh and energizing feel. Then don’t get this one. It is the same Call of Duty formula that we’ve seen for the past 6 years, but that’s why it’s called Call of Duty and that why people buy it. It sticks to the tried and true campaign set pieces and fast paced multiplayer that the series is known for. Infinity Ward did make extinction mode (Aliens instead of zombies) and it plays very well with friends. I never really got into zombies but this mode really encourages teamwork with the different classes you can play once you level your character up to unlock them. On that, I’m giving the game an 8 out of 10 for some of these reasons: They took out search and destroy for unknown reasons, which was one of the most played game types on Call of Duty and I understand the frustration for those that played the hell out of that. Also, the campaign is laughably short. It felt like a tutorial mission to prep me for multiplayer. They shouldn’t of included the campaign at all and focused on a multiplayer only Call of Duty. If you’re looking for something new, buy a different game (Looking forward to Titanfall personally) If you’re looking for Call of Duty, buy it and enjoy the Call of Duty we all know and love. Expand
  36. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Change... Change can be good and change can also be bad but I am happy and relived to report that in the case of Call of Duty Ghosts change is for the best with a refreshing campaign a refined multiplayer and a fun and robust extinction mode which see's you and other players defend against a varried array of aliens. Call of Duty Ghosts is one of the best if not the best Call of Duty to date.
  37. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    once again a great installment to the series. I would give this a 9 because it removed search and destroy however everyone keeps hating so i'm giving this a 10
  38. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Bargbage! This franchise is dead. Reviewers were paid or something. This game sucks. Get BF4 or save your money and wait for Titanfall. I should have just kept my $70 and asked my girl to kick me in the nuts. Same feeling but at least I would still have my
  39. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Same thing that Infinity Ward does every two years. Terrible graphics, lack of innovation and abusive price for the same game released over and over again. 10 out of 10.
  40. Dec 13, 2013
    2
    Another bland rehash of MW1. Multiplayer is an absolute mess: the netcoding is still atrocious, assault rifles are still more accurate than snipers, most shotguns are useless (unless you use full auto), riot shields are useless, the perk system is a clusterf***, and most weapons now kill in three hits regardless of where you get hit. Pistols are a bloody joke; despite being able to fireAnother bland rehash of MW1. Multiplayer is an absolute mess: the netcoding is still atrocious, assault rifles are still more accurate than snipers, most shotguns are useless (unless you use full auto), riot shields are useless, the perk system is a clusterf***, and most weapons now kill in three hits regardless of where you get hit. Pistols are a bloody joke; despite being able to fire them as fast as an assault rifle, it takes 5-6 bullets to kill someone, despite the higher caliber round inside a pistol. Might as well not carry the damn things if you are handicapped for using a pistol. Players still have that crackhead level of speed, meaning that due to the horrendous latency, you'll get killed by someone storming a staircase before you can fire a round off. The hitboxes are also garbage: you'll hit someone 6 times with an assault rifle dead on and they'll still turn around and drop you in 2 rifle shots to the chest. The spawn system is absolute garbage, literally throwing you to the wolves as cannon fodder to the opposing team. Other times, an area you just checked and cleared will suddenly have an opponent warp in and kill you from behind. Killstreaks are pretty bland, and the devs managed to mess up iron sights of all things. The graphics are nice level wise, but the character models sometimes look like they were modeled on a gamecube. The single player is low quality drek and should be avoided. In fact, avoid this game all together. Rent it if you must but save yourself some agony and stress--don't buy this piece of crap. Expand
  41. Nov 6, 2013
    4
    I got this because all my friends were getting it even though its metacritic ratings have been steadily dropping year by year, but I regret it now because its crapper than last years CoD which was really crap. Another waste of money I could have spent on something else. Perhaps I should broaden my horizons a bit and play some different games rather than CoD all the time which actually...I got this because all my friends were getting it even though its metacritic ratings have been steadily dropping year by year, but I regret it now because its crapper than last years CoD which was really crap. Another waste of money I could have spent on something else. Perhaps I should broaden my horizons a bit and play some different games rather than CoD all the time which actually... when I think about it is exactly the same as MW1 and even CoD1, just with a slightly different story and setting. OMG they've been selling me the same game for the past 10 years!!!! WTF?! i'm a complete sheep and dumb ass!!! What was I thinking? Expand
  42. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Modern Warfare 3 Dogs and Fishes mod This. Congratulations, Infinity Ward. You successfully released another craptacular game, fooled kids, subordinated the gaming media, and made yourself even richer. Well done!
  43. Nov 19, 2013
    0
    I feel like I played this back in 2007. Oh wait. I did.

    Nothing in this franchise has really changed in the past 6 years. Guns feels the same. Maps feel the same. The community online (yuck) feels the same. Campaign is clearly worse.

    Not sure why I keep buying these games, but it won't happen again next year.
  44. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    I can't say anything good about this game. It's the same thing as usual. There's nothing new. Same graphics, same gameplay, same engine, same everything.
  45. Nov 5, 2013
    3
    The same old regurgitated half arsed re-skin on what used to be a great game. The single player is at best average with unfair and unreliable check points, a story that doesn't jell together and will leave you wondering if you are even playing a CoD game at the start of it all. If your familiar and know you stuff about space this game will have you annoyed and angered at the start. HearingThe same old regurgitated half arsed re-skin on what used to be a great game. The single player is at best average with unfair and unreliable check points, a story that doesn't jell together and will leave you wondering if you are even playing a CoD game at the start of it all. If your familiar and know you stuff about space this game will have you annoyed and angered at the start. Hearing gunshots, explosions and just hearing things like metal clanking is all but a annoyance. The multiplier is the same old, People think the MP is new and improved when really it is just an attempt to cover up an old style that worked in the past, but now they have the new game modes that are a "new" innovation to the MP when really people just prefer the old classics such as SnD, that's right they took out SnD and replaced it with Dog-tags. When you die you leave a Dog-tag on the spot you died, if a teammate picks it up you respawn, if an enemy pick it up you will repsawn next round. If you hated the Black Ops purchasing system, well then, Welcome to you worst nightmare. You purchase everything with Squad Points (SP) When you have enough SP to purchase a Create-a-Class you have to go grind away again to get the things you want. So now people can buy their superman class without using skill to get it. Multiplier still has the bad and unpredictable respawn issues, Rubber Banding which means there is still P2P and no Dedicated Servers. Seems to me that SMG's have been nerfed down to do the same power as a $2 water gun while Snipers are like the Tsar bomb hitting you in the face. People like to see bad reviews and assume these people just hate CoD. Some of that is true but in this CoD you really start to see the final downfall and see that the series has been well long over due. They think they are still the kings when in reality, their just sinking into the big black hole they created years ago. If you like CoD then you will buy it but let me warn you buy saying if your not a major CoD fanboy then you will be disappointed. Expand
  46. Nov 5, 2013
    2
    Would not be surprised if more people are playing black ops 2 within a month far better game! Gave it 4 hours online gameplay and wtf no s and d! Maps are far to big and no decent guns! This game is a campers paradise and as every cod player knows we hate campers! Can't comment on campaign as have not played it yet and to be honest after the disappointment of multiplayer I probably won't!Would not be surprised if more people are playing black ops 2 within a month far better game! Gave it 4 hours online gameplay and wtf no s and d! Maps are far to big and no decent guns! This game is a campers paradise and as every cod player knows we hate campers! Can't comment on campaign as have not played it yet and to be honest after the disappointment of multiplayer I probably won't! I give it a generous 2! CANT WAIT FOR BLACK OPS 3! Expand
  47. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    This game is another run of the mill Call of Duty joke. The campaign is just extraordinarily stupid, I laughed from how over-the-top the campaign was at certain points. Call of Duty used to be a game about innovation and a plethora of new features and now Call of Duty is just make one and throw it out the door to see how much of a profit they can make. It astonishes me on how this game isThis game is another run of the mill Call of Duty joke. The campaign is just extraordinarily stupid, I laughed from how over-the-top the campaign was at certain points. Call of Duty used to be a game about innovation and a plethora of new features and now Call of Duty is just make one and throw it out the door to see how much of a profit they can make. It astonishes me on how this game is a step down from its predecessor. A major selling point of this game was the "New"(and I say new in quotes because battlefield has been doing it for years) dynamic environments. I played multiplayer for 12 hours and I have barely noticed anything being destroyed or changing, even then it doesn't make a major change to the gameplay as it was supposed to. Another problem is that the textures are uglier than Black Ops 2, I would understand if the destruction actually was detailed and cool that the system probably couldn't handle the textures but it is not so why can we not handle detailed textures, IT'S 2013 PEOPLE, WE DON'T HAVE CRAP MACHINES ANYMORE! The changes that were made to the multiplayer mode shock me on how they make the game WORSE than Black Ops 2. They took out the pick ten feature from BO2 and added in a new system that makes the game totally unbalanced. Another thing that will anger any longtime CoD player is that they removed the game type Search and Destroy, one of the best modes!
    The Extinction mode is a joke that has almost no redeeming factors. The aliens you fend off from are so easy it takes a great deal of hits to kill you. This mode is just a joke that was probably added at the end just to have something to make DLC for.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    FINAL SCORE: 0/10
    FINAL NOTES: This game has NO redeeming factors. If you are looking for a fun shooter experience I would reccomend buying Battlefield 4

    -kikr48
    Expand
  48. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    When you try and show me off a fancy new engine for your game and recycle the animations from a previous one you don't deserve a score any higher than 0/10.
  49. Nov 8, 2013
    2
    First time im review a game. Iv only played MultyPlayer yet, thats why i bought it in first place. Let me tell you the first thing, avoid buying this game !
    Im a player since the first ages, playing COD feels like returning to the first Wolfenstein with better graphics. Soldiers seem to be fluctuating, they dont seem realistic not even close and the gameplay suffers with that.
    Iv seen
    First time im review a game. Iv only played MultyPlayer yet, thats why i bought it in first place. Let me tell you the first thing, avoid buying this game !
    Im a player since the first ages, playing COD feels like returning to the first Wolfenstein with better graphics. Soldiers seem to be fluctuating, they dont seem realistic not even close and the gameplay suffers with that.
    Iv seen alot of games, played a few, if you want to use multiplayer in the PC version, avoid buying. I dont know if BF4 is better, i played the Beta and it felt the same.
    COD Ghost is a Beta game that will be forever beta im sure, even correcting some things i dont think they will be correcting the big picture of the problem.
    Another thing, i felt nausea's playing COD Ghosts, its because of the FOV being to low, its ridiculous never had this problem with a game.
    I would love to have my money back
    Expand
  50. Nov 9, 2013
    8
    All the hate is really hilarious. If I put this exact same game out with a different title this game wouldn't have this low of a score, it would probably be around a 7 or 8. If you were to say that this was the first game of the series it would of gotten around a 7 or 8. I can't completely back up COD because they are being greedy as hell and lack luster at times and not using all theAll the hate is really hilarious. If I put this exact same game out with a different title this game wouldn't have this low of a score, it would probably be around a 7 or 8. If you were to say that this was the first game of the series it would of gotten around a 7 or 8. I can't completely back up COD because they are being greedy as hell and lack luster at times and not using all the potential possible, but do I think that this game deserves to have a 2.1 rating no. If they didn't release the game every year then people wouldn't be hating on it. Here is how the hate is spread out for this game

    1/4 People who just get mad because they suck at it and come on here and give it a bad review

    1/4 Battlefield players who are mad because their game isn't as popular as theres (I can somewhat understand, but what ground breaking changes is that game making?)

    1/4 The overhype and how mainstream it is which always brings in hate

    1/4 Reasonable annoyance (With the release every year which makes the game feel redundant even if it does have new things, the greediness of Activision, which keeps the game from reaching its full potential)

    So even if this game doesn't live up to its potential and even if Activision is a bunch of greedy little bastards, I still love the game and people say that if the game starts to fall off like it seems like it is doing right now with these ratings then maybe, just maybe Activision will wake up, and IW will wake up, and Treyarch will wake up, and it maybe true. But I'm still giving it a review that I feel it deserves, not because of the games before it, or becasue it might wake the people who make COD up, but because of how much I like the game and that's it.
    Expand
  51. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    This game is the same as the other games! Exactly! Moving fish??? WHO GIVES A CRAP! Get this game when it's $20 or less... MW2 or COD4 are still the best games in the series. I can't believe they recycle everything in every game, and people still buy it! I rented it on Redbox, and played half the story and multiplayer for about 3 hours, so dumb!
  52. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    It hurts me to give call of duty a better score then battlefield, but give credit where credit is due.. The game looks pretty, its smooth, good sound and slick set peices, Tiny tweaks make the game more fluid like a new cover system, and Riley is worth the price of admission alone,.. Battlefield could learn a few things. on how to deliver a satisfying single player campaign. (can't believeIt hurts me to give call of duty a better score then battlefield, but give credit where credit is due.. The game looks pretty, its smooth, good sound and slick set peices, Tiny tweaks make the game more fluid like a new cover system, and Riley is worth the price of admission alone,.. Battlefield could learn a few things. on how to deliver a satisfying single player campaign. (can't believe Im saying that.. And a game that still has split screen is refreshing not everyone likes to be a half a world away when they's extinctin' a whole mess of aliens... I was dissapointed with no spec ops at first but Extinction was a pleasent surprise and I found it more enjoyable then zombies. You all know multiplayer, love or hate it there really is something for everyone.... Sorry battlefield not this time, not even close... I now must quietly finish eating my crow.... Expand
  53. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    its a good game. goes down more towards the black ops 1 route. bigger maps, less kill streaks. not a total meat grinder other cods have been in the past. I personally didn't like black ops 2 and MW3, do to the small maps and constant non-stop pace. best since black ops in my opinion.
  54. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    Multiplayer feels like CoD 4 and MW2. Its not dominated by killstreaks, and you have to really have to earn new weapons. Unfortunately, in order to unlock new stuff you have to complete challenges that are ridiculous, and squad points take forever to earn. That said, extinction is great, and squads is an interesting concept that I hope they continue to develop.

    Single player campaign is
    Multiplayer feels like CoD 4 and MW2. Its not dominated by killstreaks, and you have to really have to earn new weapons. Unfortunately, in order to unlock new stuff you have to complete challenges that are ridiculous, and squad points take forever to earn. That said, extinction is great, and squads is an interesting concept that I hope they continue to develop.

    Single player campaign is the typical cinematic goofiness you'd expect, but at least it does have an interesting new background story.

    8/10 Good, but not great
    Expand
  55. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Wow. So many people hating on this game. I wonder, how have all of these haters had the time to truly give the game a fair chance before bothering to bash it so terribly??? It seems to me that a lot of these people are getting their panties in a bunch because the maps are bigger and they don't already know every little nook, cranny, and camping nest out there on the virtual battlefield.Wow. So many people hating on this game. I wonder, how have all of these haters had the time to truly give the game a fair chance before bothering to bash it so terribly??? It seems to me that a lot of these people are getting their panties in a bunch because the maps are bigger and they don't already know every little nook, cranny, and camping nest out there on the virtual battlefield. News flash: You will die a lot learning the new maps. Big deal. Grow up. Yes, the campaign is more of the same old thing. Lets be realistic though...the multiplayer is what motivates most people to rush out for the next COD installment, not the campaign...and the multiplayer is on point. GHOSTS multiplayer is far more in depth than any previous COD game. Customization abilities are far more extensive than ever before. Both soldier customizations and weapon customizations are plentiful, to say the least. The larger maps are welcomed too. If you spent $60 on GHOSTS and expected night/day differences between it and previous COD installments you're simply an idiot. B*tch yourself out for being stupid; don't blame the game. If you like the COD franchise and you aren't expecting night/day differences you wont be disappointed in GHOSTS. My only significant complaint is that it lacks Spec Op missions. Personally, I would prefer another nice list of Spec Op missions over the new Extinction Mode, which is just a generic "survival" mode that gets old pretty fast. If "survival" is your thing, GOW Horde mode is still the best survival mode around. Anyway, the morons on this forum that are giving this game a "0" out of 10 are nothing more than internet trolls; many of whom probably haven't even played the game for more than a few hours, if they've even played it at all. I admit that GHOSTS is not a perfect game. It deserves at least an "8" though. I'm giving it 9/10. If there were Spec Op missions I'd give it a 10. I hope this review was helpful. It is intended to be informative; not to childishly berate the game as so many others have done on this forum. If you're one of the people who's hating on GHOSTS, don't despair; there are plenty of Halo clans out there that could really use your help. Lmao. Expand
  56. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    game sucks. campaign sucks. multiplayer sucks.. story sucks. this all maps only have 2 teams fighting against each other and its always the same "Ghosts vs Fed" thing, at least make more like "Ghosts vs Something****ty" stuff, the only thing i enjoyed so far is just extinction. Overall this game is just one complete piece of ****

    I'm going back to of Doody Modirn Gay****stupid. At
    game sucks. campaign sucks. multiplayer sucks.. story sucks. this all maps only have 2 teams fighting against each other and its always the same "Ghosts vs Fed" thing, at least make more like "Ghosts vs Something****ty" stuff, the only thing i enjoyed so far is just extinction. Overall this game is just one complete piece of ****

    I'm going back to of Doody Modirn Gay****stupid. At least I don't have to bother with the ****ty things anymore. you In****iny Ward, I believed that you'd make a better game than BO ****ing 2. THE NEW OF DOODYs!!!!
    Expand
  57. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Keep hating kiddos. This game is the class of the FPS genre for this year. Hands down. If you're debating Ghosts vs BF4, it's a landslide for Call of Duty. No question.
  58. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    These reviewers are full of it. Great game! This is the greatest Call of Duty since MW2. The reason some people say this is a step back is because Infinity ward looked at what made previous games great and put it in this game. MW and MW2 were their best games so they took elements of those and added in the new features that work well. If you're a fan of the other games then you'll likeThese reviewers are full of it. Great game! This is the greatest Call of Duty since MW2. The reason some people say this is a step back is because Infinity ward looked at what made previous games great and put it in this game. MW and MW2 were their best games so they took elements of those and added in the new features that work well. If you're a fan of the other games then you'll like this one. It can be overwhelming for newcomers, but what FPS isn't. Expand
  59. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    What a joke of a game. Still the same game every year. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated this better than bf4. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated this better than bf4. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated this better than bf4. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated this better than bf4. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated this better than bf4. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated thisWhat a joke of a game. Still the same game every year. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated this better than bf4. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated this better than bf4. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated this better than bf4. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated this better than bf4. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated this better than bf4. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated this better than bf4. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated this better than bf4. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated this better than bf4. IGN is full of shi^ when they rated this better than bf4. Expand
  60. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    It's funny because 95% of people who have gave this a bad score are under peer pressure. ,This game is amazing, extinction is a nice addition, multiplayer is fun. The only thing we need, are some dedicated servers, the host system can't detect who has the best connection at all, if they give us this, it will be a perfect 10/10, but for now, it's about an 8
  61. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    this game is laughable. it really cant get any worse than this. its pathetic how most site are giving this game good scores but anyone whos played the game knows its horrible.
  62. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Great game!! Ignore the low scores from both user and Critic Reviews. Bunch of haters! This game is even better than modern warfare and blackops! Can't wait to play more when I am back from work.
  63. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    the game is really good everything about it is great. the story line is better then black ops 2 but then again black ops 2 was a game. cod ghosts is 10x better then any other mw,cod or black ops game out their. multiplayer is awesome nothing wrong with it. I give the game a solid 10/10!!!!!
  64. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    I gave this game a nine because you know what I hate Call of Duty its the same stuff every year but it keeps all the little kids and holes off of the good games and I'm fine with that.
  65. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Wow guys. Cant we all get along? This game is definately not a 1-6. Its not amazing but its also not battlefield bad. Everyone complains that it never changes but wheres your battlefield when it comes to change? exactly. Wheres Halo when it comes to change? EXACTLY! If it aint broke dont fix it just add to it. Thats what they all do. I know Battlefield isnt a bad game but I hate it cuz itsWow guys. Cant we all get along? This game is definately not a 1-6. Its not amazing but its also not battlefield bad. Everyone complains that it never changes but wheres your battlefield when it comes to change? exactly. Wheres Halo when it comes to change? EXACTLY! If it aint broke dont fix it just add to it. Thats what they all do. I know Battlefield isnt a bad game but I hate it cuz its not my style. If it aint your style then dont rate it, play battlefield or halo. we dont care about your trolling. go play your slow paced tank games while we run around and have fun. Expand
  66. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    One of the best games and the best shooter game this generation. Very action packed, great visuals on ultra, especially in 3D, interesting campaign (much better then BF4), the dog is real deal and very fun to watch, many memorable moments and great shooter mechanics. What else to say? Masterpiece. I highly recommend this game to anyone.
  67. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Great, I am surprised that there are so many haters, but that is probably because call of duty will always be a more popular title than battlefield 4. I feel this game is much better than black ops 2 and I hope to see eSports develop in this game.
  68. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Don't see any problems with the younger generation playing this game, not much graphic violence and could probably be a 12 but for some strong language from time to time. I was unsure whether or not to let my 14 year old son get it, I let him buy it and I was actually surprised at the small levels of violence in the game. If you are in a position like I was where you don't know whether orDon't see any problems with the younger generation playing this game, not much graphic violence and could probably be a 12 but for some strong language from time to time. I was unsure whether or not to let my 14 year old son get it, I let him buy it and I was actually surprised at the small levels of violence in the game. If you are in a position like I was where you don't know whether or not to let your son/daughter aged 13-15 get this game, I say let them. Expand
  69. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Lol these kids "beat it in 3 hours" never has a campaign been less than 8 hours in the cod franchise. This game spans 10 minimum. No loopholes no speed throughs. The multiplayer is balanced and fun. They didn't do away with search and destroy they created a new variant. So shut up. The game is amazing ease check it out even if that means borrowing it lol
  70. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    The game is a big improvement it has a interesting campaign,but a even better multiplayer with great game modes which are enjoyable,the graphics on xbox360 are decent for the console but will be better on the xboxone so cant wait to upgrade,the 10 is to even out the scores as people are trying to put people off with low scores as these are the ones who dont have the game and never playedThe game is a big improvement it has a interesting campaign,but a even better multiplayer with great game modes which are enjoyable,the graphics on xbox360 are decent for the console but will be better on the xboxone so cant wait to upgrade,the 10 is to even out the scores as people are trying to put people off with low scores as these are the ones who dont have the game and never played and leaving unfair reviews. Expand
  71. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    this game smelled so bad but played so good. seriously the case shelled like burnt garbage and ball sweat. but after vomiting i recovered enough to play it and holy was i blown away. i almost had to vomit again from excitement. the story is fun and captivating and multiplay was put together well. a solid shooter
  72. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    This Call of Duty is not terribly bad, but not extremely fun, though I have only played it on the Xbox360. Hopefully the textures will look better on next gen. The online is the same concept with a few changes to the customization. It is just another Call of Duty. That being said, Call of Duty is not a terrible game.
    It is a basic First-person Shooter.
    Ever genre needs the basics, and
    This Call of Duty is not terribly bad, but not extremely fun, though I have only played it on the Xbox360. Hopefully the textures will look better on next gen. The online is the same concept with a few changes to the customization. It is just another Call of Duty. That being said, Call of Duty is not a terrible game.
    It is a basic First-person Shooter.
    Ever genre needs the basics, and Call of Duty is just that, and they have the budget to make the basics sorta fun.
    Expand
  73. Nov 20, 2013
    2
    Honeymoon phase has worn off, so I'm back to update my review. This game of course has the tight controls COD is known for and feels good, but for some reason after the first few days of the game playing good, connections got worse and worse, now it's back to the issues that ruined MW3 and BO2 for me. 1 shot insta-kills, being constantly behind people. Then the spawns! I believe they knowHoneymoon phase has worn off, so I'm back to update my review. This game of course has the tight controls COD is known for and feels good, but for some reason after the first few days of the game playing good, connections got worse and worse, now it's back to the issues that ruined MW3 and BO2 for me. 1 shot insta-kills, being constantly behind people. Then the spawns! I believe they know exactly what they are doing with connections, spawns, etc. and it's a conscious business decision to try and level the playing field and give inferior casual players an advantage to gain that "customer for life." The only reason I bought the game was because of supposed dedicated servers, but I've only played a few games that would lead me to believe they are there. Oh, well I was fooled again. This series has gotten so far away from what it used to be, and is destined for failure with it's current formula of a half finished game once a year, and deservedly so. If they would only release one ever 3 or so years and actually support it, it would be good, but they won't Oh well Titanfall can't come quick enough and I hope it buries COD at this point. Expand
  74. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Absolutely incredible the bad reviews of this game. People bought it expecting the entire thing to be different? What were you expecting? The old core of run and gun is there with countless improvements here and there to make the game feel much smoother and entertaining.

    One of the best single player campaigns I've ever played. Amazing action, story and scenery. Also with fantastic
    Absolutely incredible the bad reviews of this game. People bought it expecting the entire thing to be different? What were you expecting? The old core of run and gun is there with countless improvements here and there to make the game feel much smoother and entertaining.

    One of the best single player campaigns I've ever played. Amazing action, story and scenery. Also with fantastic editions like squads and extinction, also an improved multiplayer. A great COD game to end this current generation. Best COD game since MW.
    Expand
  75. Dec 16, 2013
    0
    iohfhihfoehf;'QIOHQ;IJDWKLDMNQWKLDqjdwkqldjqdkliqwjdklqjdqwkldjqdlkQJDQWDqld;qdkqdl;qwdqld
    hf;fsklfhksdfhdslfhsklfhs;dfhjdsfhjdskfhdsjkfhdsjfhdsjhfjshfjdshfdsfdsfdsfds
    Do not judge this game off of user scores even the positive ones....... any butt hurt player can make a account, write anything^, and rate a game zero out of ten... Just go off of the critic score. For every game in
    iohfhihfoehf;'QIOHQ;IJDWKLDMNQWKLDqjdwkqldjqdkliqwjdklqjdqwkldjqdlkQJDQWDqld;qdkqdl;qwdqld
    hf;fsklfhksdfhdslfhsklfhs;dfhjdsfhjdskfhdsjkfhdsjfhdsjhfjshfjdshfdsfdsfdsfds

    Do not judge this game off of user scores even the positive ones.......
    any butt hurt player can make a account, write anything^, and rate a game zero out of ten...
    Just go off of the critic score. For every game in that matter because these PEOPLE do not matter
    Buy this game or don't
    But for the love of god.. do not think for a second that your well informed by the opinion these emotionally compromised nobodies.

    Alot of games are going under because of Metacritics User Score section and i'm against this list.
    Expand
  76. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    i am the only one who thinks this should've been a DLC for MW3?? i mean what the hell!!! it's the same one but with a dog on it. Either way it stills being good at our amusement.
  77. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    The single player campaign is slightly less ambitious however the multiplayer is 100% worth the buy. It's action packed and could hardly ask for more. LOVE THE GAME!!
  78. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This is ridiculous of how many people hate this game. I have played it, and it was one of the greatest games I have ever played, even much so that it has rivaled Black Ops II.
  79. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    I havn't played the game but I HAD to give this game a 10 just to give it some benifit of the doubt due to the fact most of these reviews give it 0/10 yet complain "people keep buying this crap idiots!" how the hell did these guys get a good play of the game unless they either bought it (which makes them "idiots") or they played a mates copy (making their mates "idiots") These guys areI havn't played the game but I HAD to give this game a 10 just to give it some benifit of the doubt due to the fact most of these reviews give it 0/10 yet complain "people keep buying this crap idiots!" how the hell did these guys get a good play of the game unless they either bought it (which makes them "idiots") or they played a mates copy (making their mates "idiots") These guys are bitter about COD for some reason. I never use the following term but in this case I think it's appropriate Fanboys. Expand
  80. Nov 23, 2013
    0
    I've played this game for a few hours, and i can easily say that it's terrible, the gameplay is exactly the same as Black Ops 2 and 1, the maps are full of small corners perfect for camping, the singleplayer mode is short and linear. TERRIBLE.
  81. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    Call of duty Ghosts Has some great innovations.
    Extinction mode is a fun twist on zombies!
    Squads Mode gives you new incentive to the Multi Player Grind New killstreaks are great and balanced. The maps are a great change from the old. You die awfully fast in this one. Multi player has some new innovations. Here is to all the negative reviewers- You all have a unifying theme to
    Call of duty Ghosts Has some great innovations.
    Extinction mode is a fun twist on zombies!
    Squads Mode gives you new incentive to the Multi Player Grind
    New killstreaks are great and balanced.
    The maps are a great change from the old.
    You die awfully fast in this one.
    Multi player has some new innovations.

    Here is to all the negative reviewers-
    You all have a unifying theme to your reviews anger and hate.
    Let me ask you a question?
    You all want a "new" and innovating game yet you bash Infinity ward for changing the game?
    You all say this is the same game over and over again yet you crave the consistency and get infuriated by change, curse the developers for changing a game type?
    I agree COD developers should wait and put more time into their game but they consistently deliver a solid at least 7 game. No one plays COD for the Campaign although they have had some decent ones.
    Everyone plays to stomp out kids online and their friends.
    COD is the new playground on which disputes get settled on, where you can put your gaming money where your gaming mouth is!

    So stop your complaining and giving of 0's Hulk Hogans Main Event deserves a 0 not this game.
    I bet half of you went online and got worked over because of some of the new changes and chose not to adapt to it and ranted on here about the game. This game is worth the money great job to the development team keep on innovating!
    Expand
  82. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    It shows a great series getting back on track it's really good. I can understand the negativity though, but they tried something new I give them credit for that.
  83. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    I give it an 8 cause even though this series is copy and paste this Call of Duty actually feels right. Unlike Black Ops 2 I have yet to experience the huge amounts of lag that I did and still do on Ghosts as I did do for Black Ops 2.

    The campaign has a good story, online maps are designed good, and the extinction mode is cool also. Out of MW3, Black Ops 2, and Ghosts, Ghosts is by far
    I give it an 8 cause even though this series is copy and paste this Call of Duty actually feels right. Unlike Black Ops 2 I have yet to experience the huge amounts of lag that I did and still do on Ghosts as I did do for Black Ops 2.

    The campaign has a good story, online maps are designed good, and the extinction mode is cool also. Out of MW3, Black Ops 2, and Ghosts, Ghosts is by far the best of these 3 games. I like how the maps aren't small like on Black Ops 2 and don't promote head glitching.

    My flaws are the most of the online Call of Duty community suck and tend to camp to get a decent k/d. Why buy a $60 game to camp when you can do that for free in your room? I have had some times when I died in a gun fight that I knew I one.

    I go with an 8 though cause as I said before there is really not much new to this game to deserve a rating above an 8. Extinction mode is fun, I enjoy how you can kill the aliens with less bullets than it takes to kill zombies on Black Ops 2.

    In all I would say this game is worth a purchase though, many people giving it low ratings obviously haven't played this game.
    Expand
  84. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Surprisingly this is one CoD game I feel doesn't deserve the amount of hatred it is getting. While it is the old tried and true method of CoD which has been seen in the past this time around they tweaked the game and made it better. No longer do the maps follow the same 3 lanes of passage formula of past games and they have even increased the size of the maps, net code and hit detectionSurprisingly this is one CoD game I feel doesn't deserve the amount of hatred it is getting. While it is the old tried and true method of CoD which has been seen in the past this time around they tweaked the game and made it better. No longer do the maps follow the same 3 lanes of passage formula of past games and they have even increased the size of the maps, net code and hit detection have been tweaked and made better, no longer are you darting around a corner to suddenly die behind cover. Any gripes I had about previous titles has been fixed. However with the next generation of consoles release here next week and another a week after that CoD has to do alot more than update their graphics to continue to compete with the power house that is Battlefield, a look at the reviews are all you need to see to know reviewers are no longer satisfied with the same formula and scoring below an 8 or 9 will be common if nothing changes. Expand
  85. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    EPIC!!!!! The game is amazing. Its so much fun and the story line is just so compelling due to the "father, son relationship." It was great and best of all, the dad has the same name as me :D. And multiplayer, best in the series, no doubt about it. Everyone keeps killing me, though, so I'd give multiplayer a 4/10. And also the story is too hard I can't even finish it!!! So, I give it an 8EPIC!!!!! The game is amazing. Its so much fun and the story line is just so compelling due to the "father, son relationship." It was great and best of all, the dad has the same name as me :D. And multiplayer, best in the series, no doubt about it. Everyone keeps killing me, though, so I'd give multiplayer a 4/10. And also the story is too hard I can't even finish it!!! So, I give it an 8 because its the best first person shooter for years, but single player, multiplayer, and extinction, are just too hard. Expand
  86. Oct 28, 2016
    10
    The best call of duty ever tied with cod 4. if you don't like this game, go suck drift0rs **** because you probably don't have a single thought of your own in life. complex maps? yeah no they are not that hard to understand if you are not stupid. snd in this game is amazing, killstreaks are way better than people say they just require skill and map knowledge instead of free kills forThe best call of duty ever tied with cod 4. if you don't like this game, go suck drift0rs **** because you probably don't have a single thought of your own in life. complex maps? yeah no they are not that hard to understand if you are not stupid. snd in this game is amazing, killstreaks are way better than people say they just require skill and map knowledge instead of free kills for noobs, hit detection is the best ever in cod, at the same time they lowered autoaim across the board meaning killing people actually requires aim skill. so yeah this is pretty much the counter strike of cod and best since cod 4. **** the haters Expand
  87. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    The game is very good. So good that, if it were on the Ipad it would get 125 across the board. The simmering simps that call themselves professional game reviewers will, of course, knock it down to the mediocre rung because we're dealing with children and their tempestuousness antics of knocking something not on it's merits rather than their prejudices. You just can't get honesty inThe game is very good. So good that, if it were on the Ipad it would get 125 across the board. The simmering simps that call themselves professional game reviewers will, of course, knock it down to the mediocre rung because we're dealing with children and their tempestuousness antics of knocking something not on it's merits rather than their prejudices. You just can't get honesty in writers anymore. They are pretty much the bottom of the barrel nowadays. Thanks for reading. Expand
  88. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    There are clearly a lot of people just giving this game a flat-out zero, largely because of the hate and resentment they have against this game. They have reasons, sure, but honestly, it's all centered on biased hate.
    Anyway, Call of Duty: Ghosts offers us a new experience, although some of it is quite expected already. It gives us just enough new experience in the campaign and
    There are clearly a lot of people just giving this game a flat-out zero, largely because of the hate and resentment they have against this game. They have reasons, sure, but honestly, it's all centered on biased hate.
    Anyway, Call of Duty: Ghosts offers us a new experience, although some of it is quite expected already. It gives us just enough new experience in the campaign and multiplayer to have a fun but relatively unsurprising jump from one game to another. The graphics are acceptable, but not at the level of Battlefield 4, the storyline is fine, and the multiplayer is good but not mind-blowing, and overall, Ghosts is a considerably wel-made shooter.
    Expand
  89. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Call of Duty Ghost is a great game very cool campaign and sweet multiplayer To start I'm not a huge COD guy have not played one since MWF and holy crap this is awesome the amount of options from local co op to online co op to the competitive, seems to never end. First the co op is huge to me I love competitive but some times I want to hang with a friend and have a blast playing a gameCall of Duty Ghost is a great game very cool campaign and sweet multiplayer To start I'm not a huge COD guy have not played one since MWF and holy crap this is awesome the amount of options from local co op to online co op to the competitive, seems to never end. First the co op is huge to me I love competitive but some times I want to hang with a friend and have a blast playing a game together. Pretty much any competitive option can be done in co op which is great for training and just having fun. The competitive is sweet 15 maps with great size to them which makes it way more of a team play then a Rambo, you really get into planing and making your way through them. Customize to the max goodbye to everyone looks the same and hello to what I like. The squad stuff is great but I'll let you figure it out. I felt I had to write this review reading all the hate I was shocked I'm a rpg adventure guy but COD GH has me back to FPS Expand
  90. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Please ignore the negative reviews, there full of profanity and people who dislike series because they just go with the flow.let me remind you that most people who have commented negatively have not even touched the game and are judging based on bias opinion .this game has an awesome single player but everybody wants to know about the multiplayer. they have tweaked it enough for it toPlease ignore the negative reviews, there full of profanity and people who dislike series because they just go with the flow.let me remind you that most people who have commented negatively have not even touched the game and are judging based on bias opinion .this game has an awesome single player but everybody wants to know about the multiplayer. they have tweaked it enough for it to feel refreshing but not new. my main complaint is that the map sizes are too big for a 6v6 game. but all in all its a fun game that will keep you and your friends entertained for hours. Im not here to tell you to buy or not buy the game because you the gamer have the choice. Expand
  91. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    HONEST REVIEW: They finally made a game with bigger maps! Finally you can actually SNIPE instead of running and shooting with a sniper gun. They took out tactical insertion (BOOO!!) Some maps actually change due to Kem Strikes like BF4. Great guns that really PUNCH. They started a new line of guns called Marksman that's in between Sniper and assault. You don't gain XP on weapons but youHONEST REVIEW: They finally made a game with bigger maps! Finally you can actually SNIPE instead of running and shooting with a sniper gun. They took out tactical insertion (BOOO!!) Some maps actually change due to Kem Strikes like BF4. Great guns that really PUNCH. They started a new line of guns called Marksman that's in between Sniper and assault. You don't gain XP on weapons but you gain Squad Points that serves as currency and added "Operations" in 5 categories that gives you mini-missions or things to do like 120 kills with no attachments or with Red Dot sight or fall without damage using Resilience Perk etc. Those give you big XP and a Point. It's a huge improvement over-all with new stuff added. Quite Honestly I cannot figure out why anyone would not be VERY HAPPY playing this game. Expand
  92. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    Decent CoD game. Some old, some new, some welcomed. The campaign is the same old, same old. The best looking CoD to date... looks marvelous on PC and next-gen. The multiplayer is the classic, addictive CoD everyone knows with some tweaks to the loadout scheme and addition to Squads. But probably the most underrated and least talked about feature is the new Extinction Mode.--Think...Decent CoD game. Some old, some new, some welcomed. The campaign is the same old, same old. The best looking CoD to date... looks marvelous on PC and next-gen. The multiplayer is the classic, addictive CoD everyone knows with some tweaks to the loadout scheme and addition to Squads. But probably the most underrated and least talked about feature is the new Extinction Mode.--Think... Zombies, except with aliens. Very satisfying. Overall, the game is solid. But if you're bored with CoD, don't buy it. And don't downvote it if you haven't played it. Don't trust anyone who gives this game a "zero" or "ten," lol. Expand
  93. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    Not the best game of the franchise but not a bad game at all, you can clearly sense that this game was made for the Next Gen due to some lack of online features, The single player campaign is not the most original and the voice actors make it feel like low class movie.
  94. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    I see the usual spam reviews from people who don't even play CoD but just come here to hate on it are in full force for this CoD just like all the rest.

    Overall not the best CoD ever but close. The campaign is easily the best one yet although as has been the case with the past 3 or 4 CoD games the campaign on veteran just keeps getting less and less difficult. Extinction mode is
    I see the usual spam reviews from people who don't even play CoD but just come here to hate on it are in full force for this CoD just like all the rest.

    Overall not the best CoD ever but close. The campaign is easily the best one yet although as has been the case with the past 3 or 4 CoD games the campaign on veteran just keeps getting less and less difficult. Extinction mode is alright. It's doesn't hold a candle to zombies but still it's enjoyable although far to easy once you level up and unlock things like the sentry gun. As for the multiplayer let's face it it's the same as always. That being said when you've perfected easily the best multiplayer experience ever made there really is no reason to change it.
    Expand
  95. Nov 15, 2013
    1
    REDUCED SCORE: After a week of 'getting to know' COD Ghosts I am reducing my score by 50%. Another year, another HACKED TO PIECES piece of crap game. Tonight I shot someone, who had juggernaut on, I couldn't kill him but my rounds rickochey'd and blew me up? Hacked code. Aimbots, wall hacks, all easily available if you want them. Cheaters and campers all accommodated. Honest, good playersREDUCED SCORE: After a week of 'getting to know' COD Ghosts I am reducing my score by 50%. Another year, another HACKED TO PIECES piece of crap game. Tonight I shot someone, who had juggernaut on, I couldn't kill him but my rounds rickochey'd and blew me up? Hacked code. Aimbots, wall hacks, all easily available if you want them. Cheaters and campers all accommodated. Honest, good players totally screwed. Bored of little kids on a supposedly 'mature' game. Bored of Playing HardCore Kill Confirmed where everyone camps. NO ONE IS PLAYNG THIS THE WAY IT WAS INTENDED. What a waste of money. Expand
  96. Jul 27, 2015
    1
    I've just bought this game and played it for two hours. At one point you're in space shooting people in a space station (whilst wearing a spacesuit) then you're an Dog jumping on people and killing them. But most of the time you're on a roller coaster and you're strapped in very tight - absolutely no chance of you going anywhere but where the roller coaster wants to take you. Enemies areI've just bought this game and played it for two hours. At one point you're in space shooting people in a space station (whilst wearing a spacesuit) then you're an Dog jumping on people and killing them. But most of the time you're on a roller coaster and you're strapped in very tight - absolutely no chance of you going anywhere but where the roller coaster wants to take you. Enemies are killed with a minimum of five bullets (when you're permitted to fire at them) when you shoot your gun the recoil is such that you can't see the target. If you try to veer off the prescribed path you are killed almost instantly.

    And to think, lots of people were paid lots of money to make and publish this game.

    I'd rather play Pong on the Atari.
    Expand
  97. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    Multiplayer review only

    Reopening my metacritic account for the first time after reviewing only one other game. WRC powerslide which was a great Mario cart style game that was great fun. The user score for this game is just stupid. I have been predominantly battlefield since bfbc2 yet have always bought and after a while taken back COD games. After seeing the multiplayer trailers for
    Multiplayer review only

    Reopening my metacritic account for the first time after reviewing only one other game. WRC powerslide which was a great Mario cart style game that was great fun.

    The user score for this game is just stupid. I have been predominantly battlefield since bfbc2 yet have always bought and after a while taken back COD games. After seeing the multiplayer trailers for this game I thought what the hell and bought it.

    So far I have not been disappointed, yes there are no dedicated servers but any host advantage or lag of any kind is minimal to say the least. People say the maps are boring when in fact they are quite well designed and unlike the last 3 COD game mw3 and plops 1 and 2 the maps have more of a realistic feel to them. what im saying is every room does not have 3 doors or 2 stairways to counter camping. Every corner of the map cannot be seen by a window somewhere.

    The gun sounds are quite good and heavy although I am running through a 1000w ss system. Graphics are tidy but could be improved upon.

    I would have given this a 9 however 6v6 for most game modes is not enough (Id like to see at least 8v8) and what is with always having a very stripped down game choice for us hardcore mode players.

    If you enjoyed MW2 and were a little disappointed with the following iterations of COD then this certainly reminds me of MW2 just much more polished.

    It gets an 8 from me
    Expand
  98. Nov 7, 2013
    4
    Ahh, the annual Call Of Duty. I was really hoping that somehow, the folks at Infinity Ward were telling the truth when they said they were doing something brave and not making Modern Warfare 4.
    I can safely inform you that that was a load of bollocks and in everything from the outdated graphics to the recycled themes and cutscenes, CoD: Ghost carries little to no merit as we enter an all
    Ahh, the annual Call Of Duty. I was really hoping that somehow, the folks at Infinity Ward were telling the truth when they said they were doing something brave and not making Modern Warfare 4.
    I can safely inform you that that was a load of bollocks and in everything from the outdated graphics to the recycled themes and cutscenes, CoD: Ghost carries little to no merit as we enter an all new generation of games.

    The story follows poor old America, who this time is not invading some third world country in an annual death squad hunt, but rather finds itself in ruins from a large scale attack from you guessed it the clearly resource rich South America. The premise of this near post apocalyptic future was one of the few redeeming factors of the game, but because the details of why it all took place in the first place are so vague, there is near to no driving force behind why you have to set out on this mission, and so it becomes yet another mindless shooter where you and your awfully programmed AI bros, face off against even dumber AI terrorists.
    Save for the Trophies/Achievements, the campaign warrants an hour of so of your time to decide for yourself whether you want to finish it or not. Of course story is not why hundreds of thousands of gamer-bros around the world buy CoD every year. Oh no, the reason to slap another sixty dollars down would be for the majority in the games multiplayer.

    Despite disliking my experience of the most part, I cannot deny a smidgen of merit in this department. There is fun to be had, and I must commend Infinity Ward for their work in the map design department.
    That being said, this is still the same monotonous "spawn-die-spawn-kill-die" formula that has been present in the last few games.
    I fail to see the point of it even existing when the only hope you have of killing any opposing player is if you were to see them first, and even then, I was constantly outraged by how I would shoot first, and then randomly die. Upon viewing the returning "KillCam" if shows the person that killed me shoot first, thus proving the return of the infamous "Lag-Comp". Introduced in Black Ops 2, with the intention of giving players with varying internet connections similar experiences, it makes gameplay extremely bloody irritating.
    The "Redefined Multiplayer" that can be quoted from the back of the CoD: Ghosts packaging is merely a way of trying to make us believe that by adding a ton of perks, and slightly altering the "Pick 10" system in BO2, that they are truly changing the playing fields. But this does not alter the already dreadful experience, that offers zero accessibility to newcomers at all.

    A gimmick of a wave mode has been implemented and is titled "Extinction". It sees you and your gallant force of bro American soldiers duke it out with, you guessed it, aliens. A L I E N S. Have we resorted to picking new modes out of a hat filled with ideas people at Infinity Ward came up with at drunken parties celebrating the incomprehensible success of their last game? I mean, ****
    And if you hadn't guessed, the mode itself is ****

    I had hoped that we would have seen Call Of Duty thrive and die on this generation of consoles, but there is the worrying idea that that may not be the case.
    For fans of the series, what people with constructive views say does not matter, because you've already bought it. For others, stay away. In a sea of exciting new IP's, amazing re-imaginings of existing franchises, and all new consoles, CoD: Ghosts fits into the corner of games that will hopefully soon be swept under the rug and forgotten about, as the future of gaming is far to bright to be snuffed out by rubbish such as this.

    Jack Valentine
    Expand
  99. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    All these reviews are mostly unfair as half of them seem to of just bashed it as its cod they picture screaming kids with overpowered guns and explosions everywhere but as someone who plays battlefield and at first agreed with these I thought I would give it a go and its good it has its flaws but its not worth the zeros and ones of the fan boys who have not even gave it a chanceAll these reviews are mostly unfair as half of them seem to of just bashed it as its cod they picture screaming kids with overpowered guns and explosions everywhere but as someone who plays battlefield and at first agreed with these I thought I would give it a go and its good it has its flaws but its not worth the zeros and ones of the fan boys who have not even gave it a chance
    campaign:Has a good story but game play does not live up either does battlefield 4 which is a disappointment from both companies but you may want to play ghosts as its an all new one as well as battlefields so you don't have to play previous games in the franchise.
    Game play/multi player:Call of duty ghosts is not an all new engine or an all new 60 fps experience with battlefield but what it does provide is value for money and fun. the maps this time around are fairly larger and have gotten many complaints but I think its a better feature as it leads for more thinking then a 3 way corridor map and there are 15 maps all from factories,jungles,snowy landscapes and many more and the environment really adds to the game.There are many guns and snipers have changed so instead of a black border there is a blurry line of sight making quickscopers pretty annoyed but for people who don't want to watch a screen of 9 year old jumping of roofs trying to shoot each other its a nice addition.
    Graphics:Lets be honest you knew they were never going to beat battlefield 4s but what is there is ok it looks good while just running around but on pc the textures look really murky and poor but on 360,ps3,xbox one and ps4 they look decent enough
    overall I gave cod ghosts a chance and it is rather fun and I think its worth its price unless you are on pc I heard the port is really bad..
    Expand
  100. May 7, 2014
    7
    COD: Ghosts is a fun and involving game, in this installment they just try to throw you into the action from start to bottom without changing the mood, though it maybe means excellent but the quality of the story sometimes lacks and sometimes seems childish, Overall game is good enough
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Dec 18, 2013
    64
    It's strange for Call of Duty: Ghosts to be released so close to the next-gen console launches, and in a way, it feels like it was rushed to the finish line.
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    75
    If a deep and compelling single player experience is what you crave, look elsewhere. If you just want to get online and go up against the world, then join the hordes of ghosslings already invading your online network of choice.
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    72
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a good game but something feels missing.