User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2573 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BryanH
    Mar 17, 2010
    3
    A let down for most gamers, I would rate the multiplayer (1/10) the worst part of the game the lag was unbearable and the weapons were unfair, i rated 3 out of 10 is because the story was only part that was half decent. the overall game is overrated, in my opinion the first modern warfare completely dominated the new one.
  2. DustinH
    Apr 4, 2010
    10
    Modern warfare 2 is easily one of the best games of the year great story, epic gameplay, great customization, everything you could and would expect from a call of duty game is in modern warfare 2,my only probem is that the campaign is a bit on the short side but I could play hours on end in the multiplayer, stimulus package is awesome, well done Infinity Ward!!!!
  3. Heath
    Nov 10, 2009
    5
    Im sick of everyone Sucking this games D!%K. It is not the game of the century and it is not ground breaking. Yes It is a good game but with Average graphics and a 6 hr campain I think there is more to be desired here. WAY OVERRATED!!!
  4. MikeW.
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Just had to give this a score of 10. Why? Simply to make up for the unfair lower scores that biased individual gives.
  5. BillC.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    The game is perfect. Those who love it have a right to. Those who don't can't even spell words correctly in their hate comments against the game. Props to Infinity Ward for creating the best game I own.
  6. JakeP
    Mar 12, 2010
    9
    *This is only rating multiplayer* This has to be the best multiplayer game I have ever played. Better than all of the other call of duty games in existence. The maps are awesome (except underpass and DeFAIL). The custom killstreaks are really great. Now I have something to actually try to get to, not everyday "UAv ready. Airstrike. Helicopter." (Repeat). Also, with the perks being *This is only rating multiplayer* This has to be the best multiplayer game I have ever played. Better than all of the other call of duty games in existence. The maps are awesome (except underpass and DeFAIL). The custom killstreaks are really great. Now I have something to actually try to get to, not everyday "UAv ready. Airstrike. Helicopter." (Repeat). Also, with the perks being upgradeable, I now use a variety of perk combinations on all my classes. In earlier CoD games, My perks were always stopping power and deep impact. Some negatives are the way that some of the maps cater to the campers, you can't walk anywhere without being blasted by some noob that just sits in a corner and wait. The only other complaint I have are the Patched 1887's. Really, who would complain that a gun has too much range and power, especially a gun that is unlocked at level 67? that's right, 67! So we have to work hard and play for a very long time to unlock a gun that is noiw one of the most useless. May as well put it in the default class and make the spas-12 be unlocked at 67. The spas is much better now. Anyway, other than that, this game was well thought out and is one of the must-buys of the year. Expand
  7. LuckyDutch
    Mar 19, 2010
    8
    I really like this game and it certainly had the potential for a 10 from me but its short campaign and a few of the online issues cost it a point each. Campaign has a gripping storyline with some excellent twists and the gameplay is fantastic. Its only fault is its length. Don't let all these people giving it 2 fool you. The online is great and i have already shelfed BC2 to go back I really like this game and it certainly had the potential for a 10 from me but its short campaign and a few of the online issues cost it a point each. Campaign has a gripping storyline with some excellent twists and the gameplay is fantastic. Its only fault is its length. Don't let all these people giving it 2 fool you. The online is great and i have already shelfed BC2 to go back to this. There are however some elements that really let it down. I don't like the new killstreak system at all. While cool in concept it promotes excessive camping to get killstreaks. UAV Jammer and EMP are good additions but the other stupid ones outshine them and sadly make them largely redundant. Secondly, knifing. Needless to say having people run around faster than Usain Bolt and lunging across rooms faster than a bullet is unreallistic and a bad decision. The knife animation is too fast aswell, you cant kill someone instantly with a wild swing. BC2 got this right. Lastly, map design. Most buildings have way too many enterances. With all the jack the rippers on speed running about having so many ways in makes a slow tactical playstyle very difficult. You can either camp or rush, no smart play here i'm afraid. Despite all this MW2 is the best online game out right now. The crazy-high sales of this game were justified but IW could have done better. COD 4 is still the benchmark. Expand
  8. KBeat
    Nov 10, 2009
    7
    I guess I'm among the few that purchased the game primarily for the single player experience. As such, I'm disappointed. It's far too short and way over the top. There isn't any single moment that stuns you like the nuke in Modern Warfare 1, because there are too many over-the-top events to make any one stand out. It's a good game, but a let down from the first.
  9. JustinS.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Basically it takes the highly-acclaimed and great game of Call of Duty 4 and vastly improves every aspect of it. Also adds Spec Ops mode, which adds a lot more value to the game. Fans of FPS' shouldn't pass this one up.
  10. SamS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    I haven't been able to stop playing. It is great, mutliplayer and single player are phenomenal. The only reason I am not playing right now is because my power went out. Hooray for the Blackberry.
  11. Kyleg
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Average rating of 5.6 out of 10? Are you f***ing kidding me?! Which game are half of you idiots playing? I'm sorry, Britain, about the higher price....but if you're willing to pay it, why SHOULDN'T IW put a higher price on it? HAHAHAA. Sucks for you. Oh...half of you are from Britain. That explains it. Don't play the role of a victim if you willingly bought it. Bloody Average rating of 5.6 out of 10? Are you f***ing kidding me?! Which game are half of you idiots playing? I'm sorry, Britain, about the higher price....but if you're willing to pay it, why SHOULDN'T IW put a higher price on it? HAHAHAA. Sucks for you. Oh...half of you are from Britain. That explains it. Don't play the role of a victim if you willingly bought it. Bloody wankers. Anyway, although the campaign is short (which FPS campaign isn't these days?), it's far more involved than MW 1's. Larger environments, fully rendered 3d backdrops, TONS of enemies, and more awe-inspiring moments than MW 1. That's right, alex m., MORE, not less. The airport level was pretty enjoyable and disturbing. I like shooting unarmed virtual civilians. They aren't real, you thin-skinned whiners. Crazy events are thrown at the player left and right, but they all fit in with the story. You'd be hard-pressed to find a more intense and challenging FPS campaign. Multiplayer is just amazing. There are a lot more options when it comes to customizing your classes. The maps are interesting, and some are huge. More kill streak perks and the addition of death streak perks add even MORE fun. Thankfully, the death streak perks are nothing too big to be completely annoying. I was afraid they may be, but IW didn't do anything stupid. Great game, worth the price. Expand
  12. CW
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    First of all I'm just gonna say you know this a great game, compare to this to other FPS's on the 360 or consoles in general and its obvious this is far superior. It has the best controls of any console FPS ive played and it runs at a solid fps with no noticeable slowdown as of yet. The single player has improved over MW1. Yes its a bit short but what is there is excellent, dont First of all I'm just gonna say you know this a great game, compare to this to other FPS's on the 360 or consoles in general and its obvious this is far superior. It has the best controls of any console FPS ive played and it runs at a solid fps with no noticeable slowdown as of yet. The single player has improved over MW1. Yes its a bit short but what is there is excellent, dont be surprised to have the hairs on the back of your neck standing on many occasions. The campaign is much more varied this time through with the story taking place all over the world. The major gripe for me with the campaign is the AWFUL AI still hasnt been sorted since COD2. The enemy will only try and kill you, the second you emerge from cover almost every enemy in the area will instantly turn on you and your almost killed instantly on the harder difficulties. The other problem is the enemy always know where you are even if you've done nothing to blow your cover. Hide in a building away from your team and expect grenade spam galore through the window. This is and the length of the campaign are the only faults that come to mind and it is definately very enjoyable. The main attraction for most is the multiplayer. Think of it as MW1 only much more polished. You have so much to unlock such as awards, killstreaks, weapons, perks etc that is does get very addicting. The only negative that comes to mind is the fact there are more lame ways to be killed. Aswell as airstrikes and choppers there as missiles, stealth bombers and even a nuke. This is a good thing yeah, but it does become being killed AGAIN by a stealth bomber. Aswell the competetive multiplayer theres a special ops which you can do alone or with a friend. This is definately an excellent game, not the "B3ST G4M3 3V4!!!" but one definately worth a purchase if you have Xbox Live. Those without just rent it. Expand
  13. BradP
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    While the game is great I don't think the graphics are as polished as they should be. Multiplayer while actions packed, is similar in feel to COD4. I think IW did not do the most they could have with this title, you should not be able to go through the entire campaign in 7 hours. Audio is amazing though, you really feel like you are in the game, although not much more than you did While the game is great I don't think the graphics are as polished as they should be. Multiplayer while actions packed, is similar in feel to COD4. I think IW did not do the most they could have with this title, you should not be able to go through the entire campaign in 7 hours. Audio is amazing though, you really feel like you are in the game, although not much more than you did when you played COD4. Expand
  14. StephanE.
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    I don't know why this game only has a user rating of 5.5... All I know is that this game is awesome and a must buy for every shooter fan out there. I didn't give it a 10 because when playing multiplayer, you cannot use the Xbox Live Chat and must be in game chat, otherwise you cannot play online. I don't think this was neccesary. I believe the game could have done without.
  15. MikeL
    Mar 27, 2010
    9
    COD:MW2 takes the Call of Duty franchise to a whole different level of the FPS experience. The graphics are spectacular. The sound will blow your mind, especially if you are using headphones or have surround sound. The most outstanding aspect of the game is the Multiplayer mode which welcomes a wide variety of FPS gamer personalities due to its in-depth weapon class perks and weapon COD:MW2 takes the Call of Duty franchise to a whole different level of the FPS experience. The graphics are spectacular. The sound will blow your mind, especially if you are using headphones or have surround sound. The most outstanding aspect of the game is the Multiplayer mode which welcomes a wide variety of FPS gamer personalities due to its in-depth weapon class perks and weapon customizations. May it be the quick and quiet silenced weapon stalker, the "invisible" knife expert, the stationary deadly sniper, or the well rounded assault and cover rifleman, any game-style can be represented with relative balance. In contrast to the one level, "arena" feel of the COD4 multiplayer maps; MW2 maps have a gritty, dimensional style with multiple flanking options and more story levels in buildings, above and below. Action is more fast pace and more intense then any previous Call of Duty title, or any FPS in general. The Achilles heal of the game is the single player modes, which is what prevents this reviewer from giving the game a 10. While entertaining, some aspects seemed boring and cliche'. If you enjoyed the COD4 campaign, you will enjoy this one, but don't expect to want to play it again, I was satisfied with one play-through. The Spec-Opps section of the game adds a little vinegar and flair to single player, maybe adding another hour of interest or two. All in all, If online FPS gaming is your passion, definitely buy this game; the BEST FPS out right now hands down. If you don't have internet or don't like playing games online, rent it. Expand
  16. MayorOfMantown
    Mar 29, 2010
    9
    I can't believe all the people who are so butthurt over this game! It's more ridiculous than the people who hate Halo because it's popular. The fact is that this is an excellent game that deserves all the critical acclaim it's been getting. The single player is short, but the story is extremely compelling. However, the added Spec Ops (with the Co-op feature) easily I can't believe all the people who are so butthurt over this game! It's more ridiculous than the people who hate Halo because it's popular. The fact is that this is an excellent game that deserves all the critical acclaim it's been getting. The single player is short, but the story is extremely compelling. However, the added Spec Ops (with the Co-op feature) easily adds 15 hours to the single player experience. I found this to be just as fun as any co-op game I've played (including Gears of War, Halo, Left 4 Dead, and Borderlands). The online multiplayer, though, is where this game really shines. It's essentially the same as the original Modern Warfare with a TON of variety added. You can now customize virtually every aspect of the gameplay to suit your needs. This is one of the few games that allows you to be competitive, but still play using the style that you find to be the most fun. The only reason I give this game a 9 rather than a 10 is that if you are not connected to XBox Live or Playstation Network, then the gameplay is essentially cut in half. It's still a great game to enjoy on by yourself, but it's just not quite as much of a must buy for the single player alone. Expand
  17. JonathanE.
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    Maybe you guys should try reviewing the game next time, instead of writing entire reviews about the price tag or the length. Just a suggestion. Anyways, the game is great. The setpieces are mindblowing, the multiplayer is ecstasy and Spec Ops? Well, it's certainly not 'jus a divershun' unlike some kids down there. Sven Co-op has the quick exciting setpieces of single player Maybe you guys should try reviewing the game next time, instead of writing entire reviews about the price tag or the length. Just a suggestion. Anyways, the game is great. The setpieces are mindblowing, the multiplayer is ecstasy and Spec Ops? Well, it's certainly not 'jus a divershun' unlike some kids down there. Sven Co-op has the quick exciting setpieces of single player all tucked into one mini mission you can play with a friend. All kinds of levels to choose: Stealth, Rampage, Defense, and even Vehicle Rampage. Obviously it's not a 10 out of 10, but I guess you could say I did it to piss of the fanboys here :). Go ahead, be LEET and counter it. Just knowing that I pissed you off will be good enough for me! Expand
  18. ModernW
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The game was amazing, the graphics, multiplayer, and single player are all just amazing. The single player could have been longer, but still is superb.
  19. JacobH
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Wauw just wauw, have only played the single player.... but MAN that was amazing, think its even better then Modern warfare.... This is a must for anyone who loves first person shooter.
  20. TommyC.
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    I would have to say that this disappointed me even though I'm giving it a high score. My main disappointment was with the lack of a strong campaign with it throwing big events at you in a unrealistic way which departs from the semi-realistic story from the last game and goes for the action movie feel. The story itself is good but at around 5 hours on a average play through you can I would have to say that this disappointed me even though I'm giving it a high score. My main disappointment was with the lack of a strong campaign with it throwing big events at you in a unrealistic way which departs from the semi-realistic story from the last game and goes for the action movie feel. The story itself is good but at around 5 hours on a average play through you can see that this game isn't for those after a strong, long and I guess good story. The multi-player is what 95% of people will be buying this game for and i have to say this disappointed me as well. With minor changes to the overall experience this is a game that will have big fans screaming at the screen with joy at the fact they can shoot down UAV's and it will have the players that only played cod4 a bit (those that had lives) saying "This is Cod4 with new maps". This will especially be happening when most people see the graphics they are good but that Expand
  21. EimaanM
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    By far the best FPS released this year. An engaging and action-packed first person campaign; a tactical adventurous special-ops game mode; and one of the best multiplayer modes in all of gaming. The definitive FPS across all gaming counsels. A must-have!
  22. TomL
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    This game is brilliant, I have spent five hours online so far, and love it. Customizable killstreaks and a MUCH better perks system; I would probably given it 9 had juggernaut remained in there. The only slight drawback is not being able to be in party chat for most game modes and having to change to game chat channel.
  23. RobM
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Firstly, I can't understand for a second how anyone can give this a mark lower then... 8, lets say. It's fair to say that these people don't really know what they're on about. That comment may sting a little to some people, but it's the cold, hard truth. Anyway, about the game. Modern Warfare 2 is a masterpiece! Visually it's beautiful and full of rich Firstly, I can't understand for a second how anyone can give this a mark lower then... 8, lets say. It's fair to say that these people don't really know what they're on about. That comment may sting a little to some people, but it's the cold, hard truth. Anyway, about the game. Modern Warfare 2 is a masterpiece! Visually it's beautiful and full of rich detail. The single player campaign is the true meaning of "short but sweet". Besides, if your able to take the game online, the campaign is just a thing on the side. For me, personally, it's all about the multiplayer. And MW2's multiplayer has taken Halo 3's title as the best online multiplayer game around today. The maps (on the whole) are much better than Call of Duty 4's, the gun's also seem to be better. The M4A1 is an absolute beast! The new perks and killstreaks are amazing, the AC130 is seriously satisfying to use. This deserves the title for "Game of the Year 2009". Infact, it dosen't just deserve it, it's gunna get it! Buy this... buy this NOW! Expand
  24. AndrewT.
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    It's a really good game. Single-player is really similar to Call of Duty 4's. That's not a bad thing but I wish they could have made it a little better. The online multiplayer is extremely enjoyable. There's so many unlockables and the maps are fun to play.
  25. GetOverIt
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    I'm so tired of people voting this game down because it was hyped before it came out. COD4 was a damn good game and this game took everything that was good about it and made it better and everything poor about COD4 and either threw it out or fixed it. Did it get a ton of hype? Yes. Has it shown it deserved it? Yes. People did it to Halo, people did it to GTA, and now CoD has proved I'm so tired of people voting this game down because it was hyped before it came out. COD4 was a damn good game and this game took everything that was good about it and made it better and everything poor about COD4 and either threw it out or fixed it. Did it get a ton of hype? Yes. Has it shown it deserved it? Yes. People did it to Halo, people did it to GTA, and now CoD has proved itself, and people are trying to hurt it. A AAA deserves a AAA rating. If you don't like that then too bad. Sure there are better games out there and yes there are games that broke far more ground than the entire CoD franchise could dream of, but that doesn't make it a bad game. If it did then we might as well ignore any video game that isn't a completely new IP. Expand
  26. JevJ
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    As a PC gamer, i was sceptical about the quality of the experiance of Modern Warfare 2. These fears were mainly based on endless lists of PC users elaborating on the damage that all the changed features would do to the multiplayer component of the game, and how short the single player campaign would be. However, after giving in to my curiousity, and buying it, i can confidently say that As a PC gamer, i was sceptical about the quality of the experiance of Modern Warfare 2. These fears were mainly based on endless lists of PC users elaborating on the damage that all the changed features would do to the multiplayer component of the game, and how short the single player campaign would be. However, after giving in to my curiousity, and buying it, i can confidently say that NONE of the issues being trumpeted as the death of this game, and multiplayer in particular is true. The peer-to-peer multiplayer actually works a treat (and i live in australia, yes i have played 9v9, its really not a problem) the server browsing is fast, and every game i join was very resposive/lag free. What i found hard to believe is how increably FAST multiplayer feels, even with the reduced player count. All of the new multiplayer features, like the brilliant new killstreaks, the removal of grenade spamming (tubes and frag grenades) and martyrdom / last stand annoyances, the little name tags, match accolades, SO many weapon attachments.....there is just too much to see here, and its all fantastic. As for the single player experiance, the games feeling is increadable, especially once you get a few missions in. I dont want to ruin everything but the mission that they demoed (the ice-base level) is even more fun to play, and the missions after that continue to wow me (this is a bit vauge, but i dont want to spoil ANYTHING). I must mention i have not played the co-op mode as origincally intended, so no comment there. Overall, i was pretty much immediatly happy with the game, after a short stint in MP (belive me the speed has been upped, and not in the way that you got with too 32v32 on shipment). I have played the original Call of duty 4: Modern Warfare to death in multiplayer, and i cannot see myself doing anything different this time around. Fanstastic game, 10/10. Expand
  27. DavidB
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    All I want to ask some of these blathering idiots how complain about the price tag being $60, is wtf is wrong with you. Its a fucking next gen game and not to mention its a mainstream game unlike a crappy Disney game. Oh and don't forget many of the people who rated this game as a 0, which is just down right slander, play nothing but Halo, and suck at this type of realistic game All I want to ask some of these blathering idiots how complain about the price tag being $60, is wtf is wrong with you. Its a fucking next gen game and not to mention its a mainstream game unlike a crappy Disney game. Oh and don't forget many of the people who rated this game as a 0, which is just down right slander, play nothing but Halo, and suck at this type of realistic game where you cant run in the middle of 10 blazing guns and kill at least 4 of those firing those guns. Don't get me wrong, Halo is a good game series but people need to rate these games honestly and on their content and its ease of play. Now onto the actual game: though the campaign was short, it was 'complete', and by that i mean it contained a good storyline that picked up where it left off and didn't just blow off the old fanboys from the other cod game. Multiplayer: People need to quit complaining about it not having dedicated servers, because unless you have a crappy internet service, there's no need to bitch. Not to mention that L4D has taught us that dedicated servers aren't always the best thing for a game, an example of this is when you join a game (by yourself) and you have a horrible connection to the server that's supposed to be dedicated to YOU AND ONLY YOU at that time. So quit you annoying crying and rate the game honestly you spineless fools!!!!!!!!! Expand
  28. johnnyg
    Nov 10, 2009
    7
    Mw2 is a very fun and intense game but graphics are outdated and the single player campaign is again too short.you can complete the entire sp campaign in about 6 hours at normal level.add 2 hours at hard level.the core of this game is the multiplayer perfect and very satisfating.However Mw2 don't worth the price for the single player campaign.It'a a shame that developers put so Mw2 is a very fun and intense game but graphics are outdated and the single player campaign is again too short.you can complete the entire sp campaign in about 6 hours at normal level.add 2 hours at hard level.the core of this game is the multiplayer perfect and very satisfating.However Mw2 don't worth the price for the single player campaign.It'a a shame that developers put so much effort only on multiplayer and not for the single player. Expand
  29. nickr
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    The games multiplayer is amazing and has a huge amount of depth.,absolutely awesome. The campaign os short but the time you have with it is action packed and satisfying. The game looks, sounds and feels great and it is a massive improvement to its predecessor call 4. Overall this game is AMAZING BUY IT NOW!
  30. DanL
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    With one or two minor tweaks, this could have been the best FPS ever made. Why was there a random space view-only section, for example, when we could have been thrown into some crazy AC130-like satellite targeting level? Also, why was there no explanation to the background behind some of the plot twists involving characters in the game? This game could have been my personal favorite game With one or two minor tweaks, this could have been the best FPS ever made. Why was there a random space view-only section, for example, when we could have been thrown into some crazy AC130-like satellite targeting level? Also, why was there no explanation to the background behind some of the plot twists involving characters in the game? This game could have been my personal favorite game of all time had it offered a little deeper plot and an extra 3-4 hours on the campaign mode to include some other levels that we just begging to be made. It is an amazing game and left me astounded at regular intervals throughout it - but once I finished it, it did not give me that "Wow, I just need to stare at the wall for 30 minutes now to think about what just happened!" moment you get after finishing a truly epic book or film. Infinity Ward has raised the bar in terms of game content - now let's have a true thriller of a story to go with it! Expand
  31. RanaR
    Nov 10, 2009
    6
    Single player campaign too short - very let down again, 'cause I don't give a monkeys about online multiplaying.
  32. DavidC
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    Not too much new here. Same old FPS stuff. Definitely lots of action and over the top set pieces, but nothing that stands out as the mother of all games, as the hype was making it out to be. Can't wait for Assassins Creed 2 is all I have to say!!
  33. IanW
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, took all thats crap out of 4 looked at world at war and said nah, just did the airport level and wow, how was that...multiplayer is brilliant so far, no flaws, and those maps how big are they? the only gripe is in the snow levels...no footprints but hey I'm just picking...brilliant, stuff treyarch.
  34. DieuweB
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    just can't stop playing! wonderfull game. but there is one very annoying flaw, and that is the matchmaking system. I have to wait about an eternety to find a good game, and my NAT is open, verry annoying! The only way for me to join a game is to join session in progress...
  35. HumrajS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    They enhanced graphics, took the the story to another level, and tweaked the multiplayer. In my opinion, abandon ODST and get Modern Warfare 2 along with Uncharted 2 (if you have a PS3). The best game of the decade!
  36. DanR.
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    First off, I gotta say that this game is really damn good. I've been hooked since the moment I put it in my xbox. Campaign - I'm not completely done with the campaign, but so far I thin it's really good. It is short for the more experienced players, but it has some great cinematics. All in all, the campaign is pretty good. Spec Ops - Now this mode really rocks. It's First off, I gotta say that this game is really damn good. I've been hooked since the moment I put it in my xbox. Campaign - I'm not completely done with the campaign, but so far I thin it's really good. It is short for the more experienced players, but it has some great cinematics. All in all, the campaign is pretty good. Spec Ops - Now this mode really rocks. It's way better than the campaign. There isn't much to say besides this mode really being one of the bigger and better selling points of the game. Multiplayer - This is the part of the game everyone wants to play. If you though single player was fun, multiplayer is even better, because most games are more fun with friends around. I haven't had any issues yet like many others have been having, so my online experience has been great! The new maps are are pretty fun, Favela being my favorite. All in all I give the game a 9/10 because it's not perfect, but it's got me hooked. Also, as a note to other reviewers, you need to stop. I see people posting bad reviews for the PS3 and PC versions of the game, but they have their own sections. Give the other versions of the game bad user scores, but don't do it here. This is the page for the xbox version of the game, so quit being little babies about the game here. Or haw about just not commenting at all? It's really pissing me off that so many internet users have to be pussies and whine about the fucking game all day. Really, it needs to stop. It's just getting way to ridiculous. Expand
  37. GlennD.
    Nov 10, 2009
    6
    Campaign was way too short and nowhere near as good as the first, if you haven't played Uncharted 2 yet do yourself a favor and pick that up instead.
  38. MikeF
    Nov 10, 2009
    5
    Single Player: Single player is pretty standard. You won't find too much different from MW1 as far as mission types/objectives. Fairly standard. Integration of new weapons, perks, and vehicles, like the snowmobile, are nice additions. Multiplayer: MW1 was an amazing multiplayer experience. It always amazed me how balanced it felt regardless of the differences in unlocks between a Single Player: Single player is pretty standard. You won't find too much different from MW1 as far as mission types/objectives. Fairly standard. Integration of new weapons, perks, and vehicles, like the snowmobile, are nice additions. Multiplayer: MW1 was an amazing multiplayer experience. It always amazed me how balanced it felt regardless of the differences in unlocks between a level 1 player and a level 50 player. This was partly due to the M4, one of the most powerful guns in the game, being unlocked from the beginning. With that said, MW2 throws this all out the door. Its not until you reach the high-teens in terms of leveling that you feel truly prepared to fight. The available guns at the start are very disappointing and underpowered. Once you do unlock a somewhat decent weapon, you then need to unlock the challenges for it, then unlock the sights by completing the challenge. Ridiculous. Then comes the custom perks/kill-streaks. For the first dozen+ levels you are stuck with 3 perks. The higher level kill-streaks are incredibly overpowered and leave players who have yet to unlock them in the dust. Game balance is completely thrown off and damaged by this. As far as the new maps go, they look nice, but don't play too well with Team Deathmatch in particular. This is because the map design literally encourages camping. This type of gameplay leads to one team ruling the map, and the other trapped spawning in one location. I feel MW2 is more of an expansion to MW2 than a sequel. The campaign is a little short by today's standards, and the multiplayer introduces nothing new aside from the toys. It seems to me like the design process for this game was something along the lines of "Lets see how many cool new weapons and abilities we can add!" without calculating the consequences of flooding the game with overpowered tools. (i.e. 25-killstreak nuke that will end the game, regardless of score). Expand
  39. ZackC
    Nov 10, 2009
    5
    The single player experience is as great as always but with the consolesque changes made to the PC version the game has hemorrhaged any value it might have had in what really matters, the multiplayer.
  40. alexm
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Here goes my honest opinion..who am i?...nobody important, but i think i speak for alot of gamers out there. I personally finished the single player campaign in under 5 hours...YES it was amazing. Not that many OMG moments as the first, but still amazing. I did however find the dialogue to be a little low during cutscenes,,,i dont know if thats bcuz of my audio setup, but it was kind of Here goes my honest opinion..who am i?...nobody important, but i think i speak for alot of gamers out there. I personally finished the single player campaign in under 5 hours...YES it was amazing. Not that many OMG moments as the first, but still amazing. I did however find the dialogue to be a little low during cutscenes,,,i dont know if thats bcuz of my audio setup, but it was kind of hard hearing all the dialogue. Now, i do have to rate the different parts of the game differently and not as a whole due to the campaign length. A 60$ title should be more than 5 hours long. YES, the multiplayer is 60$ by itself, but if u dont have online access, RENT THE GAME...do not purchase. IT will be over in 1 night. single player= 8- due to length multiplayer = 10. Expand
  41. AdamN
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Yes this game was one of the most hyped games of the year and because of this even though i was looking forward to it i didn't expect too much. Let me now tell you that even with the hype this game deserves every bit of it and more. Each level is epic and absolutely fun and the story could compete with any big budget Hollywood blockbuster (and yes it is a little far fetched like so Yes this game was one of the most hyped games of the year and because of this even though i was looking forward to it i didn't expect too much. Let me now tell you that even with the hype this game deserves every bit of it and more. Each level is epic and absolutely fun and the story could compete with any big budget Hollywood blockbuster (and yes it is a little far fetched like so many Hollywood movies but then that's what makes it so fun). The graphics are about as good as the last game but i found that there seemed to be a lot more enemies on the screen at once and the A.I. also seemed to be better (not that they were bad in the last game) which in my book is a good thing. My only issue that i had and which i had with the last game was that the single player is just too short. I completed it in just over 7 hours which i felt was way to short especially as i was having so much fun. Thankfully they haven't completely abondened single players as we now have the Spec-Ops missions which are basically short-goal-based campains where the gamer has to complete each missions goals to gain a star and as the gain more stars they can open up further Spec-Op missions. This is a great idea and is really fun - i've spent almost as much time in the Spec-Ops missions as i have in the main mission so far. All in all Modern Warfare 2 deserves all the hype (luckilly for them) as its a fantastic and epic game with each and every level being hugely fun. I haven't tried multiplayer yet but i'm sure it will be great as the first MW was extremely fun online. A game every body should own and something other developers of games should look at - this is what we want something epic, with a grerat story line that is not watered down and with gameply that is so fun you never want it to end. Hopefully they keep on adding more single player missions and different campains (and a longer single player story please). This is a must buy game. Expand
  42. AndrewT.
    Nov 19, 2009
    0
    It's a really good game. Single-player is really similar to Call of Duty 4's. That's not a bad thing but I wish they could have made it a little better. The online multiplayer is extremely enjoyable. There's so many unlockables and the maps are fun to play.
  43. CarlosS.
    Nov 29, 2009
    1
    Terrible multiplayer. Shots dont register, lag like crazy. Sad to say but treyarch is leagues ahead of IW in the multiplayer department.
  44. alect
    Dec 2, 2009
    4
    I was anticipating this for so long. And now i am sad to say that this game is not very good. The story is very good, a great sequel for the storyline and some very cool gameplay moments. Plus no grenade circles of doom like in WaW. After the single player i went on to special ops. It is very fun at first but there are barely any missions! Also the missions are usually only 5 to 10 I was anticipating this for so long. And now i am sad to say that this game is not very good. The story is very good, a great sequel for the storyline and some very cool gameplay moments. Plus no grenade circles of doom like in WaW. After the single player i went on to special ops. It is very fun at first but there are barely any missions! Also the missions are usually only 5 to 10 minutes long. Then at long last is the multiplayer. TERRIBLE! If you want to unload clips of ammo into one person to kill them (sometimes you don't kill them anyways) and get spotted on radar by gods all seeing drone then fine. You may thing " I will just play hardcore where it doesn't take as many shots to kill someone." Well then you would be on the right track. Hardcore is almost bearable. ALMOST! The camping is only matched by the spawn killing. You would need to camp the entire match to get a kill death ratio higher than 1.0. So if you liked the story of the first game then this is a define rent. But if you want to play multiplayer, get ready for camping, auto or dual wielding shotguns, god like supports, and unloading on people to kill them that so many people seem to love. P.S. even though its called Modern Warfare 2, the tech in this game is not anything like the real counterparts. Expand
  45. Oct 3, 2010
    3
    Old graphics already, controls feel weird, bad sound effects compared to Battlefield Bad Company 2 . Sinlge player is too short and it feels too scripted, bots have bad AI, bad story line, nothing interesting which would make it special compared to any other fps single player. Does multiplayer have anything better? No! Weapons are too powerful, knifes can hit even if you don't actually hitOld graphics already, controls feel weird, bad sound effects compared to Battlefield Bad Company 2 . Sinlge player is too short and it feels too scripted, bots have bad AI, bad story line, nothing interesting which would make it special compared to any other fps single player. Does multiplayer have anything better? No! Weapons are too powerful, knifes can hit even if you don't actually hit enemy. Still bad spawning system, still curving bullets, sniper rifles can kill you with one bullet even if it doesn't hit to your head. Bad level design. The worst thing about the multiplayer is the killstreaks. When your oppornent gets chopper gunner, you will get killed again, again, again, again and again! Killstreaks are just too annoying and powerful. Those should only give you a kill or two, not ten! In short, single player is a low-core, multiplayer is one of the worst of its kind, because of the design. Avoid this game at all cost! Single player is a little worth playing, but because it's really short (2 - 4 hours), this game is not worth buying. Expand
  46. Aug 22, 2010
    0
    MW2 is an extremely overrated game with many problems. First of all, this game has more multiplayer flaws than any other video game released on Xbox 360. So if you're looking for a good multiplayer game, this is not it. And if you're looking for a good single player or co-op game this is not it. Let's start with single player. The plot is extremely bad and poorly told. Also, the twist isMW2 is an extremely overrated game with many problems. First of all, this game has more multiplayer flaws than any other video game released on Xbox 360. So if you're looking for a good multiplayer game, this is not it. And if you're looking for a good single player or co-op game this is not it. Let's start with single player. The plot is extremely bad and poorly told. Also, the twist is completely nonsensical and dumb. Did I mention the campaign takes 4 hours to complete? Special Ops has nothing special about it, it's just recycled levels from the campaign with boring mission objectives. Does not come close to matching the co-op of Gears of War or Halo.

    Multiplayer has many glitches and balance issues. Most guns have extremely low recoil, allowing you to snipe across the map without a sniper. On top of the overpowered kill streak rewards to encourage camping, this makes MW2 the easiest multiplayer game to play online. There is a lot of auto aim, so the kills practically come to you. If you're really bad at FPS games and don't mind being frustrated by all the game's problems, you might like this game. Lastly, Infinity Ward has horrible customer support. I could list over 20 problems with multiplayer easily, and the sad thing is not one of those will get fixed. CoD is a horrible franchise now. Activision is milking the most they can out of MW2, and have released 2 overpriced map packs so far. Each map pack is $15 for 3 new maps, which is beyond ridiculous, even for Activision.

    In conclusion, MW2 is a terrible game that should have never happened. Do not trust the review sites, they are terrible at video games and only published their first impressions. There are very few redeeming factors to MW2. One of the worst games I've ever played.
    Expand
  47. Aug 22, 2010
    8
    Modern warfare 2 is the sequel to modern warfare. This game has great campaign, it may not be long but i've played it at least 5 times. It has a great story that continues from the original modern warfare. How ever the multiplayer is fun but it does have some problems. Guns are over powered, kill streaks are cool but still over powered, some perks are annoying including commando where youModern warfare 2 is the sequel to modern warfare. This game has great campaign, it may not be long but i've played it at least 5 times. It has a great story that continues from the original modern warfare. How ever the multiplayer is fun but it does have some problems. Guns are over powered, kill streaks are cool but still over powered, some perks are annoying including commando where you can knife a guy 10 feet infront of you and scavenger where an annoying noob toober never runs out of ammo. Because the guns are so over powered there are a lot of campers in this game. Still over all it is a fun multiplayer. If you don't care about multiplayer then this is your kind of game, but if you do i would go with halo or battlefield. Still this game is incredibly fun i give it an 8.5 out of 10 Expand
  48. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    I really enjoyed CODMW2. It has got great graphics and a nice gameplay. The shooting mechanics are awesome. it feels like you are totally immersed in the game and wished it had some more hours of fun, unfortunately, the game is quite short. All in all, it's a great game you'll probably enjoy
  49. Aug 28, 2010
    8
    MW2 is a really good game if you look at the statistics (which are probably hacked lol) but although the campaign is legendary and the graphics are good and standard fps gameplay in the works, you can't help but hate the game when it comes to multiplayer as the community sucks as des all the hacks and glitches not to mention that the game modes could be so much better as you play this moreMW2 is a really good game if you look at the statistics (which are probably hacked lol) but although the campaign is legendary and the graphics are good and standard fps gameplay in the works, you can't help but hate the game when it comes to multiplayer as the community sucks as des all the hacks and glitches not to mention that the game modes could be so much better as you play this more and more you will realise that it doesn't feel smooth as their servers are the worst and once you prestige once you will also notice that prestiging is a cheap gimmick to make people play it longer but what's the point i ask you when a little kid can hack it in less than a minute and what do IW do nothing. The only thing that makes this game decent is its campaign and the fact that everyone in te world plays it for some reason Expand
  50. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I expected this game to get a lot of negative user reviews. It's an amazing game. The problem is that Modern Warfare 2 is cleverly designed to be an addicting experience. It's like amphetamines. People try it, love it, but as they keep playing it they need more and more to satisfy themselves. People played an obscene amount of it. It's amazing that people played it so much before getting tired of it. The problem is that the people are too stupid to realize that they are just tired of it, and start turning hostile towards the game. If it weren't such an addicting experience, people would get tired of it faster and eventually come back to it and get tired of it again in a comfortable cycle. Instead, they have played it madly every free second of their lives for months on end until they absolutely hate it. Yet they still play it. With that said, I would like to say that it's only logical to acknowledge that the game is extremely well crafted. You can't really go wrong when you have two developers constantly improving and building on such an extensive series. The multiplayer is very fun, although gets a little too hectic and dynamic at times. A lot of things are packed together, jets and helicopters and bombers simultaneously at work. I still find this game to be one of the two best multiplayer experiences one can find in an fps game. As for the campaign, it was awesome. It was a little less believable and a little more hollywoodish than the previous games, but in that actually draws more emotion from the player. It's happy ending brings a certain fact to attention: This game is less a work of art and more a carefully crafted machine picking all the most efficient routes to please the gamer. It wouldn't take the chance of having a less happy ending, it answered to many demands from the cod4 players, and overall seems to be a more superficial game than others. Expand
  51. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Un juegazo. Ya estoy esperando modern warfare 3. Yle pongo el 10 por los gilipollas que le ponen un 0. A ver si empezais a aprender a puntuar que si no esto no es serio. Es un juego que envuelve grandes emociones, con una historia bien ligada AUNQUE PREVISIBLE. El online es brutal, ofrece mas de lo mismo pero aumentado. Espero que los zanganos que se dedican a poner ceros y unos se comanUn juegazo. Ya estoy esperando modern warfare 3. Yle pongo el 10 por los gilipollas que le ponen un 0. A ver si empezais a aprender a puntuar que si no esto no es serio. Es un juego que envuelve grandes emociones, con una historia bien ligada AUNQUE PREVISIBLE. El online es brutal, ofrece mas de lo mismo pero aumentado. Espero que los zanganos que se dedican a poner ceros y unos se coman una mierda. Expand
  52. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    Best game of the decade don't get ahead of yourself.
    i played this game for probably going on 2 days completing the campaign and spec ops missions on veteran (got 1000 gamerscore)played multiplayer for a day. check gamertag Akiba22 i had owned call of duty 3 and modern warfare 1 before buying this COD3 was a good game with probably the atmosphere and large fights being its best draw, but
    Best game of the decade don't get ahead of yourself.
    i played this game for probably going on 2 days completing the campaign and spec ops missions on veteran (got 1000 gamerscore)played multiplayer for a day. check gamertag Akiba22 i had owned call of duty 3 and modern warfare 1 before buying this COD3 was a good game with probably the atmosphere and large fights being its best draw, but mw blew it away in terms of gameplay.

    The Single player in this game was o.k lets face it no one really cares about the single player on this game all that much look ithe millions of peoples gamercards who haven't even completed the first level that lasts 5 minutes. But it was one of the easiest to date due to no more infinite respawns for the enemies YAY. But don't get the impression its an easy game,you will get frustrated quickly and frequently but thats not really the games problem. its really short however (about 5 hours) and even though theres some very big battles, mainly when playing the american army campaign sections it never really feels that way. I also didn't notice much music going on. The AI is pretty good on this game it has the odd moments where it turns clairvoyent but its human enough and no more endless waves of frag grenades THANK CHRIST. Your allies AI however they have there moments well they'll save your ass but then theres moments when you swear they're taking a piss while your fighting for your life you never notice them.The voice acting is very good they actually sound like there under fire rather than in a recording booth. The graphics though aren't very good and theres no impressive scenery like in other games which makes you stop and say "jesus look at that"

    The spec op missions are fun but they're pretty easy i complete all of them except 5 by myself and the categories they're listed in difficulty aren't right as one mission in charlie class??? not sure requires you to survive waves enemy easily the hardest mission.(what a short summary)

    Multiplayer
    Probably the most full featured game in history in terms of customising yourself and your loadouts and in general really impressive, extremely addictive and enjoyable but is it perfect? no way. A number of parts of this game should be changer mainly to do with certain weapons.YOU KNOW WHICH GUNS. Dual rangers that right, you can DUAL WIELD TWO GODDAMN SHOTGUNS who thought in the offices when making this game "this is a great idea not cheap, unrealistic and extremly annoying at all" Also the AA shotgun what a cheap piece of **** anybody who use these guns is a **** The order you obtain these guns is also pretty poorly thought out. Case in point the barrett 50 cal rifle. A one hit kill gun (If used on the upper body) thats supposed to be used on jeeps they seriously don't give every soldier in the American army a **** 50 cal rifle. Smgs can snipe from across the map and put a grip on an lmg and it turns into a 300 round sniper rifle.
    Another thing thats pretty cheap is the knife, goddamn the hit detection is off, the game thinks the knife has the length of a samurai sword.
    The maps in general are great except one of them, Rust (I'm speechless to how bad that map is)
    the kill streaks are really good and choosing the right ones is often the difference beetween getting 10 kills or 20 .

    This was a great game i personally thought they went to over the top with a few stupid additions (some listed above but i can only put in 5000 characters)which made me prefer the first one. Though a great game its not the best shooting game of the decade neithers halo 3. (for me gears of war 1 or perfect dark on the n64, maybe halo 2)its not an amazing game but its definelty pretty good.its another reason of how overhyping can make people disbelieve.
    Expand
  53. Oct 5, 2010
    0
    This Game Is Complete **** Trash.
    Single Player: Wtf Man, When There are **** Nuclear Explosions Every 10 seconds, It kinda Loses The 'Shock' in "Shock and Awe"
    Multiplayer: I joined one game and got 360 Headshotted by a Scar-H Noob Toob, And promptly Shoved my foot through the disk, And played Plants VS Zombies.
    Spec Ops: You know i don't Hate This... Yeah.
  54. Oct 9, 2010
    6
    this game is a really good fps and the campaign was very good indeed with a variety of mission and levels. the multi player on the other hand was awsome to start with but after a few months of playing it had to happen didnt it ....... yes im talking about the no scopers and the quick scopers which absoloutly ruined the game for me :(
  55. Oct 13, 2010
    0
    awful that is all i can say. campaign=short and boring multiplayer= fake and over hypes. killstreaks and perks get very old very fast and annoying very fast and hackers=i bet about 25-50% of the players. nearly every game you get in i bet you will have a hacker. it is just a terrible game and i highly recommend not wasting your money.
  56. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = A Game that actually has had a huge impact on me for once!! This game would be a ten if it didn't have it's noticable flaws, but nonetheless this game is one of the best games of all-time and one that I still play!!
  57. Dec 20, 2010
    6
    I honestly didn't give a damn about the lack of dedicated servers (it's something we console gamers have gone without for a long time so allow me to say to PC gamers 'suck it up and quit complaining').

    Anyway, back to MW2, to be frank it's one of those 'alright' games that you can play for a while...but it's not going to change your life majorly. The single player is ok while it lasts
    I honestly didn't give a damn about the lack of dedicated servers (it's something we console gamers have gone without for a long time so allow me to say to PC gamers 'suck it up and quit complaining').

    Anyway, back to MW2, to be frank it's one of those 'alright' games that you can play for a while...but it's not going to change your life majorly.

    The single player is ok while it lasts (although the plot suffers from what I like to call 'Silent Hill syndrome' where you have to play through the game a few times and look it up on forums just to understand what the hell happened and why) and the co-op is actually very fun (when played with a friend, hopefully one who won't aim for you and only you in the AC1-30 level) and the multiplayer...it's like Halo in that it's one of those games you'll only really have fun with if you play it with friends (it helps deal with how annoying and infuriating players online can be).

    Lots of people have complained about lots of weapons and playstyles being unbalanced and overpowered so let me settle all discussions and arguments over this once and for all: EVERYTHING IN THIS GAME IS UNBALANCED AND OVERPOWERED, most times you will be forced to take Stopping Power as a perk not because you want to, but because everyone else will so not taking it will result in you being unable to match their firepower. Quickscoping is almost endemic (I once bumped into a game where everyone was pulling out Interventions, apparently those things are so common they're given away with breakfast cereals now) along with it's ugly cousin, boosting.

    With all that bashing out of the way allow me to be clear on my overall message, MW2 is still a fun and good game but it's so easy to abuse that you'll find most other players doing everything in their power to ruin your game.
    Expand
  58. Jun 16, 2011
    0
    This game is fun for about 30 minutes, if you're smart. Dumbasses play this game. You have to be pretty stupid to think this is a great game with all its plot holes, unbalanced perks, rehashed multiplayer, and almost never ending stream of DLC. Not only does this **** company try to nickle and dime you almost everywhere, but the company considered charging a monthly fee to fix the glitchesThis game is fun for about 30 minutes, if you're smart. Dumbasses play this game. You have to be pretty stupid to think this is a great game with all its plot holes, unbalanced perks, rehashed multiplayer, and almost never ending stream of DLC. Not only does this **** company try to nickle and dime you almost everywhere, but the company considered charging a monthly fee to fix the glitches that shouldn't have even existed. I won't spout them here, read online about the dozen or so glitches in the multiplayer. When the game isn't glitchy, it's unbalanced. The multiplayer behaves more like a first person Ninja Gaiden then a "tactical" shooter. You can literally set up a ninja class. It would seem fun, but it's not. Isn't this game supposed to be realistic? Controls are good, but classes are way to unbalanced. Shotguns as a secondary were a bad idea. As for the plot, that sucks too. It has as much action as Transformers 2, but with a worse story. Let me think, I'm in an elevator with the world's most dangerous man. His back is turned. I have a fully loaded LMG. There is no bigger current threat to world peace. "What should I do Mr. GeneralBackStabbyForNoReason?" "Kill 150 civilians" "Ok," says I. THAT MAKES SO MUCH SENSE! What morons thought that up!? If I read a review about Modern Warfare 3 that even says the word "plothole" I will not buy the game. Expand
  59. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    awesome one of the best games ever the story is great but a little bit short i got to admit that i found cod 4 kind of bad but this is just awesome everything is perfect except by online which has some hackers but that is what makes it fun now that is one of the most addicting games of all time if you dislike this game you either a halo ,bad company or half life lover
  60. Mar 27, 2011
    2
    Total, complete, utter let down. Probably the most over-hyped game ever made. Fair enough, I've got a copy, and I've played it a lot, but I till can't justify the money I paid for it. The single player was completed twice, on both normal, and then staright after on Veteran, in a single sitting, on the launch day. The multiplayer is badly programmed and entirely unbalanced for weapon usageTotal, complete, utter let down. Probably the most over-hyped game ever made. Fair enough, I've got a copy, and I've played it a lot, but I till can't justify the money I paid for it. The single player was completed twice, on both normal, and then staright after on Veteran, in a single sitting, on the launch day. The multiplayer is badly programmed and entirely unbalanced for weapon usage and physical ability. Being able to wield two shotguns like they were water pistols, the awful over-powering of some of the MGs, maps that allow players to jump through walls and it still doesn't get a patch is unbelievable. As always there are redeeming features. Map layouts and sizes are good, adding the extra storey to buildings to give a new dynamic to the play. But the perks are alright however the killstreak perks aren't at all balanced. And the amount of cheating is unbearable. Expand
  61. Apr 14, 2011
    7
    I will start by saying This is 'Technically' a good game.Graphics are pretty good,& Good Gunplay.but thats it.Thats all thats good about it.This has to me the most overhyped & overated game of ALL time! which seems to have gotten alot of critics over excited with their scores!.. As i've said,sure,its a competent game,but it fails in so many other ways.First of all,The Campaign.First ofI will start by saying This is 'Technically' a good game.Graphics are pretty good,& Good Gunplay.but thats it.Thats all thats good about it.This has to me the most overhyped & overated game of ALL time! which seems to have gotten alot of critics over excited with their scores!.. As i've said,sure,its a competent game,but it fails in so many other ways.First of all,The Campaign.First of all,its EXTREMELY short.Secondly,the story itself is ludicrus(as they seem to increasingly getting now with CoD,Black Ops for example).The Plot is more James Bond,than serious military storyline.CoD will be having Moonraker style space station fights before long at this rate.. Thirdly,No Campaign Co-Op.The ommission of this is inexcusible! especially when Tryarch managed it in World at War! though where was Co-Op in Black Ops though Treyarch? Tut Tut.. Co-Op really should be catered for in most games now,like multiplayer is(which doesnt interest me a great deal).& not rubbish 'Side Modes' like Spec Ops,or Onslaught Mode in Bad Company 2.When will developers learn,we dont want that,we want CAMPAIGN Co-Op. & fourthly,Re-Spawning enemies?! Come On!,this is not the retro era,we should be past this by now.. The multiplayer is pretty good though,& can see why alot of people like it.Though both the Single player & Multiplayer in CoD are both looking really tired now(Black Ops included),& the series needs a boot up the backside.In fact,in future,if i'm to buy any more CoD's,Campaign Co-Op is a minimum requirement.If it doesnt,NO sale,from me anyway.The far superior singleplayer & multiplayer experience can be found in Battlefield-Bad Company 2.That game too,sadly lacks Co-Op,but is still the superior game by far. Expand
  62. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    i think that this is great and should at least give it a go. 10/10
  63. Apr 24, 2011
    4
    Although at the release of this game, the same with black ops, I enjoyed it extremely much - I now find myself playing Call of Duty 4 a lot more. This game is really plain after awhile and nothing ever gets exciting. You can't really find yourself having a new and exciting time every time you play. Call of Duty started to go downhill after this one. But on the other hand, the story mode isAlthough at the release of this game, the same with black ops, I enjoyed it extremely much - I now find myself playing Call of Duty 4 a lot more. This game is really plain after awhile and nothing ever gets exciting. You can't really find yourself having a new and exciting time every time you play. Call of Duty started to go downhill after this one. But on the other hand, the story mode is better. Although short - Good. As for the multiplayer ... pretty plain. Expand
  64. May 9, 2011
    0
    I never though a game could be so terribly over hyped. This proved me wrong. Starting with the Campaign, it was much too short, not nearly as epic as Call of Duty 4's, and was overall disappointing. The only part I really enjoyed was the airport level, it was funny (I didn't take it seriously since it was, you know, a video game). Even the ending was cliche and disappointing, not toI never though a game could be so terribly over hyped. This proved me wrong. Starting with the Campaign, it was much too short, not nearly as epic as Call of Duty 4's, and was overall disappointing. The only part I really enjoyed was the airport level, it was funny (I didn't take it seriously since it was, you know, a video game). Even the ending was cliche and disappointing, not to mention all the plot holes pointed out by Games Radar. Next up came Spec-Ops mode. Some of the missions in this were kinda fun, others were boring, and some were just stupid (I'm talking about you, mission to kill 15 juggernauts with explosives only). The only reason I spent the time to complete it was for the achievements, and it almost wasn't worth it. Finally, the multiplayer: DISGUSTING. The perks are based on 3 play styles: Run and Knife, Quick scoping, and Camping. No matter what you say, quickly going into your scope and killing someone is NOT skill, learn to use legit aim and not let bullet magnetism/auto assist get your kills. One Man Army just led the way for super noob-tube (Grenade Launcher) campers, and commando+lightweight+marathon=Knifing which I find also to have no skill since you just sneak up on people and run to fast to get killed. Overall, I turned this game in when I finished it, and absolutely regret ever buying it. Overall, if you prominently use any of the above mentioned play styles, please get this and stay on this game. If not, get any Battlefield game, or wait for new shooters, as this was a TOTAL LETDOWN. Expand
  65. May 21, 2011
    3
    While the campaign and spe ops modes were time passing and fun, the multiplayer, which is the primary use of Call of Duty, seemed mediocre and lack luster at best. It was the cause of numerous holes in walls and countless sore throats. In the end, many people simply broke the disk. never wanting anyone to play it again.
  66. Sep 28, 2011
    1
    Let me come out first and say how much I loved Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare, It was the only game to break me from Halo 3, I loved the graphics, the game play, the weapon customization, and even the single player.

    Now let me tell you how much of a disappointment this game was, the campaign felt like Red Dawn on crack and when i finished it I really didn't feel satisfied, what did I just
    Let me come out first and say how much I loved Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare, It was the only game to break me from Halo 3, I loved the graphics, the game play, the weapon customization, and even the single player.

    Now let me tell you how much of a disappointment this game was, the campaign felt like Red Dawn on crack and when i finished it I really didn't feel satisfied, what did I just accomplish? What is this series going to do next? Do I even care? Nope.

    Now on to the bread and butter, I don't actually mind the singeplayer being bad, because after all I buy Call of Duty games to play online games with my friends and dookie on the opposing team. I was kind of psyched to find out that Juggernaut and martyrdom had been removed, the only two things I really hated with a fiery passion from Modern Warfare 1. I quickly found out that it had been replaced with something far sinister, Painkiller and deathstreaks inc. The game literally rewards you for being bad, it goes against every gaming sensibility out there. There is a very high chance in every match if you start getting a good kill lead on the other team that they will start spawning with 3x-4x their normal health. Great Idea, lets penalize the other team for being good.

    The weapon balance is horrific, every class can literally use a SPAS or a machine pistol, so snipers can just bust out a shotgun if they get rushed. Dual wielding should have NEVER been added to the COD series, and its as broken as hell, the 1887's had to be nerfed because people were getting dropped from 20-30 yards away by dual wield shotguns...Yes...dual wielded shotguns. Plus some of the assault rifles are just too easy to use like the ACR, I mean you literally can't miss a bullet, opposed to COD4, where you practically had to burst fire the M4 or AK for them to work effectively at range.

    The perk system is terrible, the rate at which you unlock great perks takes too long and not only that, they encourage a very low cowardly form of play, Marathon/Commando/Lightweight setups, Army of One noob tube setups. These setups are used by badkids galore and they even the playing field because theres literally no counter for them.

    The killstreak system is extremely broken. I realize that the airstrike in COD4 gave you kills towards your chopper, but it ended at that. That system in this game is absurdly broken, because you can literally rack up 30+ kills in a minute and a half, it's just way too damn easy for one person to get out of control. Predator missle->double kill->harrier bomb kills+gun kills+your kills->chopper gunner, I used this setup and many others used it as well because it was just effective and easy obtain.

    The above mentioned killstreaks breaking into my gameplay segment. EVERYONE and their mother camps on this game for their own killstreaks, don't even try playing a public objective game, people will refuse to leave 5 yards away from where they spawn, it literally breaks down the game into a stalemate of campy badness.

    In conclusion I think I've been pretty fair with my issues on this game, and the only reason I'm giving it a ONE, is because they came out with barebones mode which doesn't allow killstreaks, only then was I able to see, well at least without the killstreaks muddying up the gameplay, it plays as a very competetive shooter when people are actually trying to win and do the objectives on the map.
    Expand
  67. Jul 4, 2011
    7
    In my opinion, Modern warfare 2 is not even close to being as good as the first modern warfare. I feel like the multiplayer in this game is not that good, along with the maps that come along. The campaign is OK, but jumps from place to place to much. I do think the spec ops mode is good though. Overall this call of duty is good, but not as good as the past ones.
  68. May 14, 2012
    10
    Just simple awesome the campaign is so so so so so good
  69. Aug 31, 2011
    0
    This is the most overrated game of all time. One "cool" kid decided to play CODMW2 and now millions of copies are sold. A terrible campaign story (shoot bad guys hur hur) and overated multiplayer combine to make the a terrible game. This junk game stole money from countless good games and ruined the gaming market forever.
  70. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    By far the most fun I've had on an FPS. This game hasn't been thought through properly like Black Ops- as evident by the extremely flawed multiplayer. But if you're playing with friends and can see through the imbalances, it is very fun, fast-paced action which is rewarding however you play it. Single player is not as good as CoD4, but Spec Ops makes up for it. In contrast to Black Ops,By far the most fun I've had on an FPS. This game hasn't been thought through properly like Black Ops- as evident by the extremely flawed multiplayer. But if you're playing with friends and can see through the imbalances, it is very fun, fast-paced action which is rewarding however you play it. Single player is not as good as CoD4, but Spec Ops makes up for it. In contrast to Black Ops, this is enjoyable when you do even slightly well. But when you join a laggy game and there's people with SPAS-12 and chopper gunner spawn trapping you on Scrapyard, feel free to dashboard and break the disc. As an experience this game beats all other shooters. But the enjoyment is short-lived. The only thing that kept me playing for 14 days online is playing with people I know rather than on my own. When you're in a team, it's fine. Otherwise it's just frustrating. The same goes for Spec Ops. While it is very well done, the experience is greatly enhanced when played co-operatively. The campaign is good but not one of my favourites. Spec Ops is a better rendition of the campaign. Overall, this is an extremely fun and immersive shooter, but it's not the one I'd happy to spend playing much on my own. Expand
  71. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    First things first, the multiplayer is the best. Campain, to short and stupid. Infinity Ward kinda screwed up with this game, don't waste your money. This is just mindless killing.
  72. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    There is something perfectly special when it comes to the Multiplayer of Moder Warfare 2. Something exotic. Simply fits my taste. The Singleplayer ist good though.
  73. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    this is a complete waste of money
    askdfj'asdkl;fj'asdkljf ;asdklfj;asdkl fj;asdklfj ;asdfjk;asdkfj;asdfjk;asdfjk;asdkfjl ;asdfjas;dkfjs;adfjk;asdlfjk;asdjfk;asdkfj
  74. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 was honestly... Overrated... The campaign was fun, but if you use human logic, half of the things that they do to perform their job are impossible: such as waiting till an enemy isn't looking so you can shoot the other one standing three feet away from him. The only reason the campaign was any fun was the fact that I now know what happens after the first flunk in theModern Warfare 2 was honestly... Overrated... The campaign was fun, but if you use human logic, half of the things that they do to perform their job are impossible: such as waiting till an enemy isn't looking so you can shoot the other one standing three feet away from him. The only reason the campaign was any fun was the fact that I now know what happens after the first flunk in the Modern Warfare series. Spec Ops was a whole different issue... The producers apparently didn't know that two US Army Rangers cannot take down the whole Russian SWAT Force. (Me and friends laughed for days over their stupidity.) Most of the missions were overrated, but more than that: all of the missions were edited from the main story line and then put in like they were gonna be speechlessly better, a BIG fail on the producers part.

    Another reason I got this game was for the multiplayer. I tried to have fun with it, but when you find out just how bad the anti-cheat system is for Xbox LIVE you will go nuts. A casual, everyday multiplayer match goes as the following: Spawn, sprint, aim, shoot, sprint, aim, shoot, sprint, sprint, knife, knife, throw a grenade through a random window, knife, and so on. Activision didn't focus on making the multiplayer combat realistic, it's too fast, too confusing, and overall just plain annoying. Quick-scoping, no-scoping, random "noob-tubes" were very annoying, and didn't keep the multiplayer action enjoyable for me.

    Overall, I think Activision got themselves a hobby of making sloppy games, only suitable for retards who want to cuss each other out on Xbox live day in and day out. (Not to mention all of the **** who like it too. LOL)
    Expand
  75. Feb 26, 2012
    7
    The campaign was interesting yet unrealistic and sometimes incoherent. I liked the ideas it had, but its delivery of it was flawed. The online is great and highly enjoyable. Overall its a good game, but nothing to make it stand out other than the fact that it's highly addictive. Unremarkable, but fun.
  76. Mar 6, 2012
    4
    One of the most dissapointing games of all time. An awful awful awful singleplayer with a stupid stupid ploat. (Seriously, Russia invades the US over a civilian terrorist attack, wat?). A hilariously unbalanced multiplayer that was incredibly frustrating. Bad DLC map packs. I'll admit Spec Ops was really fun, but that was such a small chunk of the game.
  77. Mar 17, 2012
    2
    Oooooooooooooh this game.... Oh ho ho ho HO this game... Worst Call of Duty game ever made. Bar NONE. On the plus side, you get the very well done and very well executed Campaign, with some very intense Stealth Missions, and probably the most controversial mission in any game ever. And by God was it awesome. Also going for this is the climax of the final mission. I won't spoil it for theOooooooooooooh this game.... Oh ho ho ho HO this game... Worst Call of Duty game ever made. Bar NONE. On the plus side, you get the very well done and very well executed Campaign, with some very intense Stealth Missions, and probably the most controversial mission in any game ever. And by God was it awesome. Also going for this is the climax of the final mission. I won't spoil it for the seven people who haven't played it yet. Just go look it up or something. On the flip side... you get the annoyingly hard Spec Ops and the worst multiplayer experience I have ever had on a console. Let's start on the Spec Ops. There's nothing terribly wrong with this, but it's annoyingly hard, even on the easier missions. Having two people doesn't help either. So, it's not a very solid game mode. And then the multiplayer... god DAMN this game. It's has now set the bar so low for any online multiplayer experience after this that I can now find a game that is actually worse than MAG's online. And believe me, that was tough to find. Every aspect of the multiplayer was done HORRIBLY. The weapons are overpowered without stopping power, The maps are complete JOKES of themselves, and to top it all off in the proverbial **** of Call of Duty multiplayers, they capitalized on quickscoping even more. I'll say this right now, if you enjoy quickscoping, more power to ya. But quickscoping and trickshotting can die in a FIRE. I don't want to jump on a Search and Destroy match to see scrubs doing 360 YY temper fade shots off the crane on Highrise and **** themselves when they hit a lucky shot. And, I feel the need to harp on this even though so many people have before... NOOBTUBES. Noobtubing deserves all the hate that it gets, plain and simple. So, all in all, this game is a gigantic slap in the face to anyone and everyone who liked Call of Duty. While the campaign is very well done, the Spec Ops is lackluster, and the multiplayer is a devil spawn sent from hell. I do not recommend this game unless you are the most patient person in the entire world. Expand
  78. Nov 14, 2012
    5
    Modern Warfare 2 takes place 5 years after the events of Call of Duty 4. After a calm period the terrorist organisations in the middle east and Russia have a new leader by the name of Vladamir Makarov. Bent on avenging Imran Zakhaev, Makarov sets in motion a plan that will bring about WWIII and place the world in control of the ultranationalists. The game does little to change upon theModern Warfare 2 takes place 5 years after the events of Call of Duty 4. After a calm period the terrorist organisations in the middle east and Russia have a new leader by the name of Vladamir Makarov. Bent on avenging Imran Zakhaev, Makarov sets in motion a plan that will bring about WWIII and place the world in control of the ultranationalists. The game does little to change upon the well established Call of Duty gameplay and offers nothing new to the franchise as a whole, however the story narrative the campaign has gives this game a reason to still be bought. Expand
  79. Apr 9, 2012
    2
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 is by far the worst Call of Duty ever made. The campaign is so bad and needs work and the story line is crap. The multiplayer is even worse than the campaign with campers, no scopers, quick scopers and people using cheats. Spec ops is easily innored and boring as hell. Campaign 3/10 Multiplayer 1/10 Spec ops 2/10 Mw2 2/10.
  80. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    Good game. very similar graphics to MW1 and same guns. Great maps though. Overall, a very mediocre performance by infinity ward. Buy with a lot of caution. For hardcore gamers, this may not be worth your money.
  81. May 27, 2012
    6
    game is okay, nothing special, more of the same.
  82. Jun 23, 2012
    4
    From this game I can basically tell you how one makes a new Modern Warfare game: Simply take the previous game, bump up the graphics a little, add a few new guns, change the setting of the maps and tweak the storyline. and BAM, there you have it, a new, best selling game.
  83. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is the successor to one of the best first person shooters out Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. But the question does Modern Warfare 2 live up to the Call of Duty franchise? Well you'll find out in this review.

    -Single Player: The single player in Modern Warfare 2 is action-packed and a blast to play through and feels like a Michael Bay film. There are a variety of locations and each one of them looks fantastic, going from the favelas of Rio de Janeiro to the war torn streets of the United States. The story this time around happens several years after Call of Duty 4, and is about a Russian ultra nationalist named Vladimir Makarov who has sparked a Russian invasion into the United States, due to a massacre at a Russian airport., you being a undercover agent tried to stop him, but failed. The game itself does a poor job explaining the plot and is really focused on the action rather than the story, you'll also beat it in a heart beat.

    -Multiplayer: The mutiplayer is the main highlight of Modern Warfare 2, and I strongly dislike it while it can be very addicting, the problem is there are too many game breaking problems for me to enjoy it, and I can create a laundry list of how many flaws it has but the number one thing that breaks it, is an s*** load of balance issues, from overpowered kill streaks to even game ending kill streaks that just break the action very often, dual wielding shot guns, explosive damage being too affective, places where players can sit all day and rack up kills, firing rates on weapons meaning that anyone can mod their controller to make their Barret 50. cal shoot like and M60, there are just soo many game breaking flaws that need to be fixed. There are also a handful of glitches in the mutilplayer that haven't been even patched years after release, the mutiplayer should've had a beta test period to iron out all of the flaws it has.

    -Graphics: The graphics look decent, they definitely don't look as striking as World at War did, Ive seen better looking games than Modern Warfare 2, some places look awesome but there is just no enough to satisfy you due to the fact that in the multiplayer your always in small concealed areas. Besides that some textures look great on the surface while other look muddy, fortunately you see less of the poor textures.

    -Sound: Hans Zimmer creates a striking sound track for the single player it's top notch and movie quality, and some of the best music I've heard in a video game. The weapons however just sound flat and sound like modified Call of Duty 4 weapons and the explosions are nothing special either they are ripped straight from Call of Duty 4 and are not changed.

    -Extras: Modern Warfare 2 provides a fun spec-ops gamemode that you can play with a friend either split-screen or online, and all the missions have a good variety.

    Overall Modern Warfare 2 falls flat on its main highlight, the multiplayer and is a real disappointment. In my opinion it's overrated and it's clear that the multiplayer is a rushed mess that should've been taken into consideration, it's a perfect example that sales don't make a excellent game. New comers may like it but for veterans of Call of Duty 4 and World at War will most likely not like the changes.
    Expand
  84. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    It's an alright game at best, the campaign is ridiculous and short, but has some nice locations. The guns are pretty cool maybe they could have included some more though. The multiplayer is very good, except its terrible: the multiplayer is ruined by grenade launchers, tactical knives, quickscopers and no system to boot players. Spec ops is tacked-on crap, recycled story objectives, thisIt's an alright game at best, the campaign is ridiculous and short, but has some nice locations. The guns are pretty cool maybe they could have included some more though. The multiplayer is very good, except its terrible: the multiplayer is ruined by grenade launchers, tactical knives, quickscopers and no system to boot players. Spec ops is tacked-on crap, recycled story objectives, this mode probably took them 30 minutes to finish. Overall don't buy it for the multiplayer (which most people do) its broken and players make it terrible the storyline is alright and spec ops is trash, only buy if you have some time and cash to waste. Expand
  85. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    This game wasnt that great you can run around the maps with knifes and ppl had superpowers and ppl camped for the nukes and there were plenty of glitches
  86. Dec 2, 2012
    0
    The stupidest **** game ever. So many issues with it. You would think with all the money they were making they would have fixed these problems... seems like this game was created by a room full of monkeys.
  87. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    CoD6 is abysmal in every way. The single player is garbage, like every other CoD. The multiplayer is unbelievably unbalanced as well as unfun. It's amazing that infinity ward botched this so thoroughly after making CoD4.
  88. Mar 19, 2013
    4
    I had fun while playing this game with friends, it is undoubtedly exciting and fun to play. I mean who doesn't want to get to the highest level to get the highest selection of guns and demolish your friends? However there were many many many many more downsides than upsides. The online multiplayer was full of prepubescent little boys claiming each one of them has f**ked my mom. They alsoI had fun while playing this game with friends, it is undoubtedly exciting and fun to play. I mean who doesn't want to get to the highest level to get the highest selection of guns and demolish your friends? However there were many many many many more downsides than upsides. The online multiplayer was full of prepubescent little boys claiming each one of them has f**ked my mom. They also threaten to hack your account and get you banned, because they all seem to be hacking geniuses...*sarcasm*. The campaign was not as bad as those little fecks but I can tell you it was close! You spend the whole campaign trying to chase after this makarov guy, and when you get close.... WOOPS INTERUPTING SHEPARD COMING BY! This guy comes out of nowhere and kills you! and why you may ask? oh yeah... so they can make another game! so in the end you throw a knife in this shepards eye, and you know what you achieve? nothing! the whole campaign was a complete setup for the next game! well done activision! Expand
  89. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    While it didn't innovate that much it's still a great game the campaign it short but intense the spec ops mode is actually very well done the multiplayer is still very addictive and the new killstreaks add some more depth but they are a bit stupid. The graphics were updated and so was the engine. There are lots of new guns and equipment and some really good characters (Ghost) but it justWhile it didn't innovate that much it's still a great game the campaign it short but intense the spec ops mode is actually very well done the multiplayer is still very addictive and the new killstreaks add some more depth but they are a bit stupid. The graphics were updated and so was the engine. There are lots of new guns and equipment and some really good characters (Ghost) but it just wasn't suppoted after release the glitches and the hackers Expand
  90. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Ok yes I know there is one highly controversial mission but you can skip it if you want to so I'm not including it in my review
    Also yes I know you can call this game overrated but it it still a very solid game.
    So: call of duty MODERN WARFARE 2 or at least that's what my game-box says. Whilst the single player isn't quite as good as COD 4 it is still very well paced and intriguing with
    Ok yes I know there is one highly controversial mission but you can skip it if you want to so I'm not including it in my review
    Also yes I know you can call this game overrated but it it still a very solid game.
    So: call of duty MODERN WARFARE 2 or at least that's what my game-box says. Whilst the single player isn't quite as good as COD 4 it is still very well paced and intriguing with in my opinion the best Call of Duty villain in the whole series to be found in Vladimir Makarov. Also I like the way the ending of COD 4 causes severe problems for the protagonists in this game. Whilst the setpieces can get a little too IN YOUR FACE!!! it doesn't get as bad as later instalments. Also there are some great twists which I didn't see coming. This game also has a lot of commentary on wars and opposing philosophies as well as showing what effects the loss of soldiers can have of commanders. It's also a shame that the sequel really doesn't have much payoff for the ending of this game (But that's another review). However a couple of things don't really make sense in this game's campaign but I can suspend my disbelief.
    Finally multiplayer is really fun and balanced and Spec Ops adds an interesting couple of missions in.
    In conclusion whilst not reaching the perfection of COD 4 this game is still really good and definitely gets a recommendation.
    Expand
  91. Jan 27, 2014
    8
    Game is more visually gratifying than it's predecessor with special ops inclusion being a real plus, I am playing the game almost 5 years after release and still managed to rustle up multiplayer games with ease.
    I found the campaign more compelling than the first game probably simply for the fact that the story-line progresses on from there in a much more interesting and less cliche way
    Game is more visually gratifying than it's predecessor with special ops inclusion being a real plus, I am playing the game almost 5 years after release and still managed to rustle up multiplayer games with ease.
    I found the campaign more compelling than the first game probably simply for the fact that the story-line progresses on from there in a much more interesting and less cliche way blurring the lines between the heroes and the villains. Thoroughly enjoyed this game.
    Expand
  92. Nov 26, 2014
    9
    Amazing game. The last game made by the old IW, before they were fired. Truly an excellent game. The best Call of Duty, bar none, and the last truly amazing game. Rediculous fun can be had. Noobtubes can be a problem, but they don't damper the experience enough. If it was released for next gen, I'd by it in a heartbeat.
  93. DickS
    Jan 10, 2010
    7
    Single player isn't as good as the first and shorter with far less realism. Multilayer has several new features that would melt into a great multilayer if they had beta tested the thing so every single game isnt ruined by someone care package glitching. The high kill streaks put a burden on the game also because people camp so badly It took me until there was four minutes left in the Single player isn't as good as the first and shorter with far less realism. Multilayer has several new features that would melt into a great multilayer if they had beta tested the thing so every single game isnt ruined by someone care package glitching. The high kill streaks put a burden on the game also because people camp so badly It took me until there was four minutes left in the game to find one guy that sniped me in the back of the head. And I have no idea what they were thinking when they added duel weapons and commando pro. Expand
  94. FrankyF
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Haters playing on PC get out of here please, this is the X360 version stop lowering the score!
  95. RezaV.
    Jan 30, 2010
    7
    Campaign was great. It did have those frustrating moments of fighting huge numbers of enemies, but it wasn't as bad as COD 4. The action is intense, my only question is: Where do they go from here? I mean, you blew up DC, blew up the space station, and insinuated the full scale invasion of Russia. Spec Ops is great, and I hope for a "Foxtrot" pack for DLC, but if not that's Campaign was great. It did have those frustrating moments of fighting huge numbers of enemies, but it wasn't as bad as COD 4. The action is intense, my only question is: Where do they go from here? I mean, you blew up DC, blew up the space station, and insinuated the full scale invasion of Russia. Spec Ops is great, and I hope for a "Foxtrot" pack for DLC, but if not that's fine. Now comes the multiplayer, and for me the let down area. It's not a big let down. The action is great, perks leveling and weapons go well, and the maps are fun. However too much of the same old annoying mechanics. You know what I'm talking about: Dual shotguns, quick aim snipers, Javelins, and maps that facilitate camping. Generally, MW2 is praised for being realistic. I challenge anyone to find a realistic soldier who could lug around two shotguns, aim them akimbo, get no recoil, and reload that fast. Not even likely. The first month is great, and then you start seeing the people running around knifing, or using javelins and scavenger. Eventually it just becomes a camp off. This mostly effects Deathmatch and the like, but it gets frustrating eventually. I understand face-paced action, but this is pretty bad. And really, there is still no incentive to prestige. If this were MW1, I'd give it a 9.5, but IW had one game to learn from their mistakes. Campaign is the same, Spec Ops is fun, and Multiplayer is barely passing as "new and great." I give it a 7. Expand
  96. CraigJ
    Mar 2, 2010
    9
    All of you guys giving this game such low ratings are crazy. If you dont like the noob tubing on multiplayer than do something about it. And seriously if someone is camping you get to see where they are with the kill cam.. How hard is it to kill them after seeing exactly where they are and how they killed you and which weapon was used. I think the multiplayer experience is awesome and All of you guys giving this game such low ratings are crazy. If you dont like the noob tubing on multiplayer than do something about it. And seriously if someone is camping you get to see where they are with the kill cam.. How hard is it to kill them after seeing exactly where they are and how they killed you and which weapon was used. I think the multiplayer experience is awesome and extremely addictive. As most players have experienced in games there are a few glitches and the maps need to be a little more random, im sick of the same map 2-3 times in row but hey nothings perfect. Expand
  97. AlexG
    Mar 2, 2010
    8
    This rating system doesnt make any sence eurogamer's review clearly stated in its review on battlefield bad company 2 that it was better than cod, so then why was it given a metascore of ninety on both? Anyways Battlefield is clearly the better game all around besides mabey in the graphics department, but even then not by much. Environments in singleplayer and multiplayer are so far This rating system doesnt make any sence eurogamer's review clearly stated in its review on battlefield bad company 2 that it was better than cod, so then why was it given a metascore of ninety on both? Anyways Battlefield is clearly the better game all around besides mabey in the graphics department, but even then not by much. Environments in singleplayer and multiplayer are so far beyond call of duty's little enclosed unimaginative and quite boring maps. That said I still think call of duty deserves an 8 because it does have one of the most polished multiplayer expiriences ever. Expand
  98. RenisH
    Jan 1, 2010
    5
    The real problem that made me give this game such a low score is mainly because this game was heavily hyped and i was expecting this game to be a fantastic game and while i can see that they put in a lot of work to the games graphics and they added a few new things like specs ops and multi kill medals i felt that there just wasn't enough new addition to this game to warrant a full The real problem that made me give this game such a low score is mainly because this game was heavily hyped and i was expecting this game to be a fantastic game and while i can see that they put in a lot of work to the games graphics and they added a few new things like specs ops and multi kill medals i felt that there just wasn't enough new addition to this game to warrant a full price purchase and this is especially annoying because if you have the 360 version there is now modders that are using hacks online and this basically made the online matches virtually unplayable and the single player is only 8 hours long making this game not the best idea to get yourself off of CoD 4 and if i were you i would probably wait for the next big FPS to be released and give this one a miss. Expand
  99. DanielB
    Jan 1, 2010
    8
    Not a bad game. good graphics while the blood is a bit annoying. gamplay is good in the campagin, filled with lots of over the top cinimatics, although thats just to mask the the lack of a good plot. multiplayer is fun.... although about 2 steps lower from the original modern warfare.... this saying even tough i am not the best at it (so i am unbiased on this)..i think for the most part Not a bad game. good graphics while the blood is a bit annoying. gamplay is good in the campagin, filled with lots of over the top cinimatics, although thats just to mask the the lack of a good plot. multiplayer is fun.... although about 2 steps lower from the original modern warfare.... this saying even tough i am not the best at it (so i am unbiased on this)..i think for the most part all the people were complaining about how if you cant see a person your ****ed, this is called flanking... which ads stratagy to the game...the sound is pretty amazing.. all the guns sound super realistic. overall a pretty good game. good gamplay.. allthough a lack of plot really drags the game game from a 9 to an 8.. Expand
  100. JanneN
    Jan 16, 2010
    6
    Counted seconds to this game coming out for 2 months and it ended up being a disappointment in so many ways. I have not yet bought this game and probably wont.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Anyone who already has issues with the single-player ‘style’ of IW’s games will still find fault with the scripted, linear experience, but in terms of sheer drama and show-stopping set-pieces accompanied by laser sharp FPS controls, Modern Warfare 2 is your daddy. And that’s without Spec Ops and Multiplayer.