User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2573 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FrankyF
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Haters playing on PC get out of here please, this is the X360 version stop lowering the score!
  2. DustinH
    Apr 4, 2010
    10
    Modern warfare 2 is easily one of the best games of the year great story, epic gameplay, great customization, everything you could and would expect from a call of duty game is in modern warfare 2,my only probem is that the campaign is a bit on the short side but I could play hours on end in the multiplayer, stimulus package is awesome, well done Infinity Ward!!!!
  3. JimR
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game. It's a shame bitter PC players who are scared of change and unwilling to acknowledge progress (IW Net) are voting this game down. The story is short but every second of the campaign is filled with unique and intense action. To make up for this hundreds of hours can be spent in the extensive/amazing multiplayer mode and Spec-Ops.
  4. FrankieT.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    This game is great. I have been playing for 2 and a half hours and I haven't found a flaw yet. They really took the flaws of CoD4 and worked mad hard on them. They also added a ton of new features and weapons. Now this is a flawless game (so far) I haven't played much of the campaign but it seemed pretty interesting from the beginning. Highly recommended.
  5. MikeW.
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Just had to give this a score of 10. Why? Simply to make up for the unfair lower scores that biased individual gives.
  6. BillC.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    The game is perfect. Those who love it have a right to. Those who don't can't even spell words correctly in their hate comments against the game. Props to Infinity Ward for creating the best game I own.
  7. RiFfD
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Story-10 SpecialOps-10 Multiplayer-10. Looks like its an easy choice for me.
  8. JustinS.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Basically it takes the highly-acclaimed and great game of Call of Duty 4 and vastly improves every aspect of it. Also adds Spec Ops mode, which adds a lot more value to the game. Fans of FPS' shouldn't pass this one up.
  9. SamS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    I haven't been able to stop playing. It is great, mutliplayer and single player are phenomenal. The only reason I am not playing right now is because my power went out. Hooray for the Blackberry.
  10. JamesT.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Firstly I'd just like to say that IW has truly outdone themselves with this title. The single player experience is completely over the top and riddled with action. Spec ops is an amazing addition to an already winning formula. But the true prize goes to the multiplayer. IW found a way to make it even more immersive and incredible adding more guns and weapon attachments than one could Firstly I'd just like to say that IW has truly outdone themselves with this title. The single player experience is completely over the top and riddled with action. Spec ops is an amazing addition to an already winning formula. But the true prize goes to the multiplayer. IW found a way to make it even more immersive and incredible adding more guns and weapon attachments than one could ever hope for. This game is a must buy for any gamer. Expand
  11. NoahS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Awesome! That is the first word that comes to mind when I think of this game. It is epic all out war and the funnest multiplayer experience I have ever had, the only reason it has such a low score is because the non-haters are still playing CoD online
  12. JonathanA
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    First off, as of now, with 185 user votes, the game only has a 5.4... What in the heck is up with that? Have you even played the game? It's incredible! No fan boy from me. Multiplayer is just amazing and the campaign, though short, is stunning. Spec Ops is more fun then any other co-op game I've ever played. Better then horde, L4D, Firefight, etc... Best FPS ever maybe.
  13. IMac
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    I dont understand all of the negative ratings. Although the came is extremely similar to COD4, it still expands on the formula perfectly. I think that if the game was any different, it would be worse. It is the perfect shooter.
  14. DerkM
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Some of these comments are stupid. People are giving this game a bad review because they suck at the game. This game is amazing. The campaign is terrific and multiplayer is awesome. Sure it lags a bit online but what do you expect, you're playing online. The campaign really sucks you in because it is so exciting. It looks very real. The spec-ops is great and challenging. The only Some of these comments are stupid. People are giving this game a bad review because they suck at the game. This game is amazing. The campaign is terrific and multiplayer is awesome. Sure it lags a bit online but what do you expect, you're playing online. The campaign really sucks you in because it is so exciting. It looks very real. The spec-ops is great and challenging. The only real problems with this game are the lagging (which will be a problem with in online multiplayer game so it doesn't bother me), and the fact that the campaign is short, which only sets up for more games. This is pretty much as close to perfect as you can get!!! Expand
  15. christ
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Best game i have played nice that you can go up in level more games like this for the people!!!
  16. JonathanE.
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    Maybe you guys should try reviewing the game next time, instead of writing entire reviews about the price tag or the length. Just a suggestion. Anyways, the game is great. The setpieces are mindblowing, the multiplayer is ecstasy and Spec Ops? Well, it's certainly not 'jus a divershun' unlike some kids down there. Sven Co-op has the quick exciting setpieces of single player Maybe you guys should try reviewing the game next time, instead of writing entire reviews about the price tag or the length. Just a suggestion. Anyways, the game is great. The setpieces are mindblowing, the multiplayer is ecstasy and Spec Ops? Well, it's certainly not 'jus a divershun' unlike some kids down there. Sven Co-op has the quick exciting setpieces of single player all tucked into one mini mission you can play with a friend. All kinds of levels to choose: Stealth, Rampage, Defense, and even Vehicle Rampage. Obviously it's not a 10 out of 10, but I guess you could say I did it to piss of the fanboys here :). Go ahead, be LEET and counter it. Just knowing that I pissed you off will be good enough for me! Expand
  17. SteveM
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    As a veteran, this has been the most thrilling and accurate representation of military action to date. Granted, the story was filled with over-the-top Hollywood excitement, I found the lingo, sound and graphics filled with such amazing details that I was having immersive flash-backs in the first five minutes.
  18. ShaneB
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game delivers in every category that matters to me. Incredibly sharp graphics, amazingly realistic, the sound is thunderous coming out of my BOSE theatre system. I hear bullets zipping from left to right and snapping behind me. The lever design on the multiplayer cannot be rivaled. There is nothing to complain about in this game. It is fun, it is hard at times and I like that, the This game delivers in every category that matters to me. Incredibly sharp graphics, amazingly realistic, the sound is thunderous coming out of my BOSE theatre system. I hear bullets zipping from left to right and snapping behind me. The lever design on the multiplayer cannot be rivaled. There is nothing to complain about in this game. It is fun, it is hard at times and I like that, the challenges are limitless, the customization is has a huge impact on how you fare in multiplayer challenges, you don't want to bring a knife to a gun fight in this game. Hands down the best first person shooter I have ever played. Good story, great multiplayer, additional Spec Ops Missions are a fantastic treat. If I could pick one game to keep and play for the rest of my life this is it. Expand
  19. ModernW
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The game was amazing, the graphics, multiplayer, and single player are all just amazing. The single player could have been longer, but still is superb.
  20. MichealS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Other than learning the maps the entire experience is unreal. I played the multiplayer and some of the campaign and I could not put it down and will not unless I risk losing my job.
  21. JacobH
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Wauw just wauw, have only played the single player.... but MAN that was amazing, think its even better then Modern warfare.... This is a must for anyone who loves first person shooter.
  22. EimaanM
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    By far the best FPS released this year. An engaging and action-packed first person campaign; a tactical adventurous special-ops game mode; and one of the best multiplayer modes in all of gaming. The definitive FPS across all gaming counsels. A must-have!
  23. TomL
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    This game is brilliant, I have spent five hours online so far, and love it. Customizable killstreaks and a MUCH better perks system; I would probably given it 9 had juggernaut remained in there. The only slight drawback is not being able to be in party chat for most game modes and having to change to game chat channel.
  24. RobM
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Firstly, I can't understand for a second how anyone can give this a mark lower then... 8, lets say. It's fair to say that these people don't really know what they're on about. That comment may sting a little to some people, but it's the cold, hard truth. Anyway, about the game. Modern Warfare 2 is a masterpiece! Visually it's beautiful and full of rich Firstly, I can't understand for a second how anyone can give this a mark lower then... 8, lets say. It's fair to say that these people don't really know what they're on about. That comment may sting a little to some people, but it's the cold, hard truth. Anyway, about the game. Modern Warfare 2 is a masterpiece! Visually it's beautiful and full of rich detail. The single player campaign is the true meaning of "short but sweet". Besides, if your able to take the game online, the campaign is just a thing on the side. For me, personally, it's all about the multiplayer. And MW2's multiplayer has taken Halo 3's title as the best online multiplayer game around today. The maps (on the whole) are much better than Call of Duty 4's, the gun's also seem to be better. The M4A1 is an absolute beast! The new perks and killstreaks are amazing, the AC130 is seriously satisfying to use. This deserves the title for "Game of the Year 2009". Infact, it dosen't just deserve it, it's gunna get it! Buy this... buy this NOW! Expand
  25. JustinE
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Wow! Is the only thing I can say about this game. It is absolutely polished in every way! Sure it runs the same engine, sure the core mechanics are still the same. But why fix something that is not broken. The engine has been extremely refined and the graphics themselves are outstanding. The textures are a little bland in multiplayer but that's the worst complaint you will get out of Wow! Is the only thing I can say about this game. It is absolutely polished in every way! Sure it runs the same engine, sure the core mechanics are still the same. But why fix something that is not broken. The engine has been extremely refined and the graphics themselves are outstanding. The textures are a little bland in multiplayer but that's the worst complaint you will get out of multi. The campaign is short, people are complaining about how short it is. Play it on Veteran! Then tell me its short! The pacing itself is absolutely brilliant. The fever pitch that hits during intense firefights are some of the most real I have seen. And the parts of which you are doing "recon" or has a great anticipation factor! The people that are downing this game more likely or not found it too difficult at the start of multiplayer, or expected a epically long campaign. The fact is that no game is for everyone, however to bring this game down simply because it did not fit your play style instead of giving it a honest rating is a tragedy. Expand
  26. JevJ
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    As a PC gamer, i was sceptical about the quality of the experiance of Modern Warfare 2. These fears were mainly based on endless lists of PC users elaborating on the damage that all the changed features would do to the multiplayer component of the game, and how short the single player campaign would be. However, after giving in to my curiousity, and buying it, i can confidently say that As a PC gamer, i was sceptical about the quality of the experiance of Modern Warfare 2. These fears were mainly based on endless lists of PC users elaborating on the damage that all the changed features would do to the multiplayer component of the game, and how short the single player campaign would be. However, after giving in to my curiousity, and buying it, i can confidently say that NONE of the issues being trumpeted as the death of this game, and multiplayer in particular is true. The peer-to-peer multiplayer actually works a treat (and i live in australia, yes i have played 9v9, its really not a problem) the server browsing is fast, and every game i join was very resposive/lag free. What i found hard to believe is how increably FAST multiplayer feels, even with the reduced player count. All of the new multiplayer features, like the brilliant new killstreaks, the removal of grenade spamming (tubes and frag grenades) and martyrdom / last stand annoyances, the little name tags, match accolades, SO many weapon attachments.....there is just too much to see here, and its all fantastic. As for the single player experiance, the games feeling is increadable, especially once you get a few missions in. I dont want to ruin everything but the mission that they demoed (the ice-base level) is even more fun to play, and the missions after that continue to wow me (this is a bit vauge, but i dont want to spoil ANYTHING). I must mention i have not played the co-op mode as origincally intended, so no comment there. Overall, i was pretty much immediatly happy with the game, after a short stint in MP (belive me the speed has been upped, and not in the way that you got with too 32v32 on shipment). I have played the original Call of duty 4: Modern Warfare to death in multiplayer, and i cannot see myself doing anything different this time around. Fanstastic game, 10/10. Expand
  27. BrianA.
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    How is this game still getting poor user reviews? Everything about this game deserves the acclaim it is receiving. It's that good. So I'd like to take a second to address some of the more popular objections to this game: 1) MW2 is an expansion to the original, and nothing more. FALSE. Have you played Halo 3: ODST? THAT is an expansion sold as a stand alone game. MW2 takes what How is this game still getting poor user reviews? Everything about this game deserves the acclaim it is receiving. It's that good. So I'd like to take a second to address some of the more popular objections to this game: 1) MW2 is an expansion to the original, and nothing more. FALSE. Have you played Halo 3: ODST? THAT is an expansion sold as a stand alone game. MW2 takes what was great about MW, and changed it to be more balanced, enriched, and captivating. Player controlled missile strikes/helicopters/care packages? Deathstreak bonuses to help balance handicaps? Silencers on sniper rifles? A perk allowing for two gun attachments (hello RDS/silencer)? Acheivements/attachments for sidearms? Yes please! In the past 24 hours I've been beaten to death with a riot shield and shot down a Hind helicopter with a Patriot missile. Does it get better than that? 2) MW2 multiplayer is unbalanced. FALSE. If you played the original then you would know that the Juggernaught, Martyrdom, and Last Stand perks were extremely powerful. In MW2 they have been downgraded for use with only death streaks. Thank you, IW! 3) The MW2 engine is old. TRUE! This game is built around consoles that are a few years old! If you were expecting another paradign shift like the original was, you would be better served once the next generation of consoles comes out. 4) "PC gamers can't set up dedicated servers anymore!!" Honestly, this one is a piss-off. But honestly ask yourself if this makes the game itself any worse in content. The answer is no. The game is still amazing, even though it does insult those who like a less micromanaged game. 5) Too much hype. REALLY? Please don't confuse marketing with gameplay. You're better than that (some of you). Expand
  28. ProperHardcore
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    Excellent game, although I'm not surprised. Infinity Ward has always made great titles in the Call of Duty franchise, and this is no exception. To be honest, the campaign and the Spec Ops mode did not interest me at all because it was recently that I really began getting into the intense multiplayer aspect of both CoD4 and (I know) CoD: WaW. So, for some hardcore fans who have been Excellent game, although I'm not surprised. Infinity Ward has always made great titles in the Call of Duty franchise, and this is no exception. To be honest, the campaign and the Spec Ops mode did not interest me at all because it was recently that I really began getting into the intense multiplayer aspect of both CoD4 and (I know) CoD: WaW. So, for some hardcore fans who have been playing for two years already I could see what you might dismiss about the game, but in my opinion it is great. I had a brief experience with the Single Player and Spec Ops mode and both are great as well, but my focus is on the MP, which is by far the best to ever be on the XBOX 360. One final thing I'd like to point out is that there are PC guys on here complaining that there are no dedicated servers. As a PC gamer I understand, but this is the review for the XBOX 360 version of the game, so please complain elsewhere, perhaps on the PC review. Expand
  29. NickH
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    I really hate when critics no one's ever heard of bring down the score of a game. This is the case with idiots like Boomtown. The campaign is somewhat short, but the conclusion is brilliant. Think of Spec Ops as a co-op campaign and you add at least a couple of hours on to the play time, and as COD4's multiplayer has shown, there's endless replayability. In truth, this I really hate when critics no one's ever heard of bring down the score of a game. This is the case with idiots like Boomtown. The campaign is somewhat short, but the conclusion is brilliant. Think of Spec Ops as a co-op campaign and you add at least a couple of hours on to the play time, and as COD4's multiplayer has shown, there's endless replayability. In truth, this could not only be the game of the year, but the game of the DECADE, in the amount of content this extremely polished game has to offer. Expand
  30. RyanF
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Amazing game! One of the best games of all time and I'm only talking about the multiplayer! Can't wait to start the campaign. U need to pick this up right now!
  31. DanJ
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Best game I have played this year. I haven't been this addicted to any game since gears of war 2. The Spec Ops mode is amazing, the most fun I have had playing coop on the Xbox360. The multiplayer has been updated and works great. You get rewards for everything, and there are a ton of unlocks. It really feels fair and balanced this time around. The campaign is great, although short. Best game I have played this year. I haven't been this addicted to any game since gears of war 2. The Spec Ops mode is amazing, the most fun I have had playing coop on the Xbox360. The multiplayer has been updated and works great. You get rewards for everything, and there are a ton of unlocks. It really feels fair and balanced this time around. The campaign is great, although short. I have never had so much adrenaline pumping throughout the entirety the game until I played this one. If you own a 360, then you need to buy this game or sell your system to somebody that will buy this game. Expand
  32. DamienW
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    This game is terrible. The graphics are terrible and the gameplay is dull. If I would recommend a FPS I would defo. buy Halo 3. Or for an evan cheaper price I would buy GRAW 2. Nooby Game
  33. JohnL
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Ignore the user rating...bunch of PC gamers mad that they took away dedicated servers. This game on the 360 or PS3 is just a beast. It's even better than all the hype.
  34. skyj
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    This game was highly anticipated and for good reason. I've never played a level as cool as "all ghillied up" or a multiplayer mayhem as in 18 players on shipment. Call of duty 4 is the best FPS ever. However there were a few minor problems there, host migration issues and lag were pretty bothersome to me. However, Infinity ward have really shown that they really are a step par This game was highly anticipated and for good reason. I've never played a level as cool as "all ghillied up" or a multiplayer mayhem as in 18 players on shipment. Call of duty 4 is the best FPS ever. However there were a few minor problems there, host migration issues and lag were pretty bothersome to me. However, Infinity ward have really shown that they really are a step par excellence. Host migration is featured in game and real time, and lag has been pretty much taken care of, even on a red bar, you can enjoy the game to its full extent. This along with some new unlocks and callsigns, make this game the only game I need to own, and everyone else should too. Single player story could have been put together well, but here it is pretty hard to get a grip on the story, as there is flow in the storyline. But action packed moments that make you go WOW! are a plenty. Graphics and sound have to be experienced. Bullet ricochet, grenade explosions, AC-130 Bombings sound as real as they look. This is the benchmark for all shooters. What difference 60 fps makes in a game, you know after playing Modern Warfare. Controls are as smooth and responsive as they get. With no lag on them whatsoever. This is THE game to play until...well until the next modern warfare. Collapse
  35. RedB
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The game's spectacular. Picked it up last night. The production value especially makes the game worth buying, but the controls and gameplay are solid. I can't wait to jump into the multiplayer.
  36. DaveL.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    The single player is short but intense. I would rather have a good short single player with a robust multi-player. The MP aspect of the game is absolutely mind blowing. It takes everything that was good about the first one and adds to it. I'm sure there are balancing issues that people will complain about but I haven't found any at this point. Spec ops is a ton of fun with a The single player is short but intense. I would rather have a good short single player with a robust multi-player. The MP aspect of the game is absolutely mind blowing. It takes everything that was good about the first one and adds to it. I'm sure there are balancing issues that people will complain about but I haven't found any at this point. Spec ops is a ton of fun with a friend. Not too fun single player. This is easily a 10 just based on the value that I will get out of this. Anyone giving lower than an 8 is just a fanboy of Halo, KZ2, UC2, etc. This is a great game that will keep me playing for months and months. Expand
  37. EliB
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    I really don't understand some of these comments -- looks like people are giving lower scores than they would just to "punish" the rating? Get a life guys. This game is not without flaws, bu they are very, very minor flaws. Yes the single player campaign is short, but this is nothing new. I personally don't mind at all, given that it is so rich in detail. This time around, I I really don't understand some of these comments -- looks like people are giving lower scores than they would just to "punish" the rating? Get a life guys. This game is not without flaws, bu they are very, very minor flaws. Yes the single player campaign is short, but this is nothing new. I personally don't mind at all, given that it is so rich in detail. This time around, I felt like the story took a bit to get going, and one of the celebrity voice actors as way to polished to sound real, but again, minor. The multiplayer is FANTASTIC!! the changes are great and keep the game fast and furious -- and enjoyable even if you are getting spanked. The best new addition is that of co-op "special ops". I can now work on getting my wife to play -- she has tried it out, and we have a couple of three-stars already! What is still lacking is the ability to go online with a friend in the same room. I want to have my friends over and trounce people in other places together. This feature is sorely needed for those who sill see their friends in person. That is the only way Halo has this beat. In spite of that, this game is hands down the best FPS on the market. Killing your friends just got more fun. Expand
  38. JoeH
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    First of all, all those whiners complaining about how Infinity Ward didn't "do a good job" or "didn't make their game better" or "made the same shitty game as before" need to go actually play the game. And not just get to the main screen and say "this looks the slightest bit stupid, imma rant about it on metacritic like a bitch." This game is amazing, keeping everything that First of all, all those whiners complaining about how Infinity Ward didn't "do a good job" or "didn't make their game better" or "made the same shitty game as before" need to go actually play the game. And not just get to the main screen and say "this looks the slightest bit stupid, imma rant about it on metacritic like a bitch." This game is amazing, keeping everything that made Call of Duty 4 such an amazing game, while adding many more great things. The singleplayer itself deserves a standing ovation, with nonstop action and an actual plot, unlike Halo (kill aliens, teabag, ride a Warthog, watch a cutscene, repeat). Yes, I know that the singleplayer gets a bit tedious after the first few missions like Halo too, but if you look beyond that, you can see that Infinity Ward painstakingly crafted the story, with amazing details and gives the player a very gritty realistic view of war. And that's just the top of the iceberg: then there's multiplayer. The juggernaut from Call of Duty 4 has been enhanced even further, if possible at all, to an almost perfect piece of art. The guns are evenly balanced (though some guns are pretty cheap), the atmosphere is (nearly) always cooperative and friendly, and Infinity Ward proves that they listen to the people by making grenades act more realistically (erratic bouncing, etc.). Add an ungodly amount of unlockable guns, upgraded perks, new kill/death streaks, and lots more, it's almost guaranteed that you'll never go back to another FPS ever again (yes, Halo counts). And then there's Spec Ops. In my opinion, this is probably the best addition of the game: the ability to play co-op online or offline with friends to complete daunting challenges. At first, missions like fending off a hill with only guns and each others' backs for 5 minutes seems pretty impossible, but you learn to adapt to the situation (and aim your Predator missiles later on) and ultimately prevail. And it's that feeling of accomplishment and dominance that fuels gamers. And that's just one mission: There are 5 tiers of Spec Ops, the next significantly harder than the previous. Add this with the epic singleplayer, and jaw-dropping multiplayer, and you've got basically 3 separate games in one package. Overall, I believe that Modern Warfare 2 is an unbelievably polished game. The amount of detail that is put into every particle and aspect of the game is clearly shown as you progress of singleplayer, frag in multiplayer, or team up in Spec Ops. The people have spoken, and Infinity Ward has listened: this game is a must buy, and unanimously deserves my 10/10. Expand
  39. [anonymous]
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    I hate it when people buy a good game just to pretend they are reviewers and nit-pick it to death. If the occasional pop-up in the graphics ruins the entire game for you than boo-hoo go cry about it. If the campeign is short, then stop playing it on easy mode and find the intel items, and while you're at it try out special ops and the infenetly replayable multiplayer. If you judged I hate it when people buy a good game just to pretend they are reviewers and nit-pick it to death. If the occasional pop-up in the graphics ruins the entire game for you than boo-hoo go cry about it. If the campeign is short, then stop playing it on easy mode and find the intel items, and while you're at it try out special ops and the infenetly replayable multiplayer. If you judged the game without even playing most of it (yes really just view all comments and you will see people like that) than you have absolutely no right to speak out against it. The story is good (yeah f*ck you people who think you can write something better) and the gameplay is perfect, except for waiting forever to get respawned in some game matches, no checkpoints in spec-ops, and the jungle escape level that everybody died a million times on. My pont is that people should not hate on it to death just because it's been hyped a lot, and by the way it deserved the hype, and I dare anyone to find or make a better, more polished fps. I can't believe Metacritic actually reviewed and aproved some of these comments. When Infinity Ward is shut down because their latest game got a low user-score on this site that isn't at all justified by its comments and when in the future we'll all be playing some sort of Sonic the Hedgehog and World of Warcraft mixed shooter because everyone hates popular things just for the sake of hating them, I will be the first to say "tolja so" Expand
  40. ChrisR
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. If you don't like first person shooters then you shouldn't even be rating this game because it's not your cup of tea. But if you like FPS games then this is incredible! The graphics are the best in the business, the play control is spot-on, the audio is amazing, and the re-play value is there for not only the single player campaign (without This game is absolutely amazing. If you don't like first person shooters then you shouldn't even be rating this game because it's not your cup of tea. But if you like FPS games then this is incredible! The graphics are the best in the business, the play control is spot-on, the audio is amazing, and the re-play value is there for not only the single player campaign (without being almost impossible to find the intel like the first game), but also for the new game mode Special Ops, and the multiplayer. Multiplayer has been expanded with customizable perks, additional equipment and weapon modifications. And the upgrades and goals to achieve in multiplayer come often enough that you always feel like you just succeeded in unlocking something cool, but are still urged on to your next objective without feeling like you're going to be grinding towards it forever. This game was created to make you feel like you're playing through an action movie on the campaign and they mastered it. While some might accuse the developers of a lack of depth in the characters the action takes place around you, the player, and it's your reactions to the graphics, sound, and exciting combat situations you are thrown in where this game shines. If you want a story, go read a book. If you want to be the main character in a playable action movie... This is your must-own game of the year! Expand
  41. TomF
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    First of all I don't understand why the user score is so low, I guess its a love-it or hate-it game but I loved it. If your getting this only for the single player (get xbox live already!) and have nobody to play spec-ops with then wait for the price to go down. For everyone else I completely recommended this 100%, the game looks absolutely amazing in HD, there were a few moments in First of all I don't understand why the user score is so low, I guess its a love-it or hate-it game but I loved it. If your getting this only for the single player (get xbox live already!) and have nobody to play spec-ops with then wait for the price to go down. For everyone else I completely recommended this 100%, the game looks absolutely amazing in HD, there were a few moments in the single player where I felt like a part of the game it was amazing, the final scene is bad-ass too. I liked their take on war torn Washington DC, an eerily real concept that makes you wonder if war will ever be fought on our soil. Also the character models are some of the most realistic I've seen to date and the effects are fantastic. The story may be a little short, I didn't notice this because I spaced it out into a period of a few weeks because of the multiplayer, but it is very well told and interesting. The co-op missions are a very fun and addicting feature that allow you to play with another person. Now for the real gameplay experience, online play. I cannot praise this enough, it retains the core style of the first one and adds massive depth and new weapons. I remember my friend and I discussing things they should add to the new one and they pretty much read my mind. You now get extra points for payback, long shot kills, double kills and many other things; there is nothing like popping someone from 150 yards and having 5 different things pop up on the screen awarding you. The challenges are one of my favorite additions, you can now get up to 1000 kills with a weapon and still earn points and also unlock attachments based on which attachments you get kills with. There are also perc based challenges which encourage the use of different ones. I remember in COD4 I had stopping power for all my classes, but now with things like hardline and cold blooded I'm using different ones all the time. The addition of new weapons also adds another element to the game as there are now many, many ways to overcome your foes. You can be a dual wielding psychopath with two bullet hoses in each hand or a sharpshooter with extremely accurate assault and sniper rifles or anywhere in between. This makes the online element more challenging and harder because you now have threats of all different kinds. like when your sitting behind a sandbag fortification and a javelin missile comes in out of nowhere and ruins your day or when you turn the corner and get blasted by someone with akimbo shotguns. You can also unlock many different titles and emblems to differentiate yourself from other online players. There are many many ways to go about playing this game online and it is one of the best online experiences to date. I highly recommend this game to anyone who was a fan of the last one or fans of first person shooters in general. Expand
  42. nickp
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    idk what some of you guys are smoking but this is one of the best fps of all time. after mw1 i was a little dissapointed with world at war, but this came and just blew me away. the graphics are just amazing, story mode yes is a little short but incredibly good, spec ops very fun, and to top it off the mulpyplayer is by far the best thing ever!
  43. TheBestAroundAye
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    First off i'd like to say that if u didn't rate a 10 you need to tell me a better first person shooter that has good campaign and online multiplayer because nothing can beat this game. I'm sure some of you will say Halo but it just doesn't compare to Call of Duty. I will say the campaign is short but the multiplayer is AMAZING. Sure you may get mad at the campers and First off i'd like to say that if u didn't rate a 10 you need to tell me a better first person shooter that has good campaign and online multiplayer because nothing can beat this game. I'm sure some of you will say Halo but it just doesn't compare to Call of Duty. I will say the campaign is short but the multiplayer is AMAZING. Sure you may get mad at the campers and the kill streaks. But thats just the way it is. There will never be a perfect game. Expand
  44. JacobW
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Although the singleplayer is short it has an amazing story and is also fun. It's a good example of where the graphics and gameplay is today. Multiplayer is amazing just like CoD4 but has added in many new weapons, perks and also deathstreaks. I don't understand why people are giving this game a low score because this generation of gaming is about Multiplayer. Why should games Although the singleplayer is short it has an amazing story and is also fun. It's a good example of where the graphics and gameplay is today. Multiplayer is amazing just like CoD4 but has added in many new weapons, perks and also deathstreaks. I don't understand why people are giving this game a low score because this generation of gaming is about Multiplayer. Why should games that have amazing multiplayer and a decent story deserve a low score when good singleplayer and no multiplayer games deserve a high score. Ask yourself this before voting, which lasts longer multiplayer or singleplayer? Expand
  45. AnonymousAnonymous
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    I don't see why there are so many people give games 0 score if its just a little bit bad or mediocre. People say MW2's campaign is less than 5 hours long, if you play on easy and do something like a speedrun. The campaign is really good, and not too short. Spec ops is fun with friends. Multiplayer is just awesome.
  46. SamG
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Brilliant game and very enjoyable developing upon the great areas of the call of duty 4. The only disappointment for me is the length of single player, it took little over 6hours to complete which i don't feel is good enough for a game that charges an extra £10 over normal games rrp.
  47. IanW
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, took all thats crap out of 4 looked at world at war and said nah, just did the airport level and wow, how was that...multiplayer is brilliant so far, no flaws, and those maps how big are they? the only gripe is in the snow levels...no footprints but hey I'm just picking...brilliant, stuff treyarch.
  48. JonathanS.
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    I have no idea what game the people voting against this game were playing, except for half of them never having played it and just hating on it because they're immature gamers who have to have THEIR favorite game be the best. Terrible graphics? Poor controls? Someone even said something about a "stupid first person view"? I'm sorry, I thought this was an FPS I was playing. I I have no idea what game the people voting against this game were playing, except for half of them never having played it and just hating on it because they're immature gamers who have to have THEIR favorite game be the best. Terrible graphics? Poor controls? Someone even said something about a "stupid first person view"? I'm sorry, I thought this was an FPS I was playing. I understand some people who don't have Xbox Live not enjoying the game, but I would think you can read the reviews ahead of time and realize that the campaign is short, thus not always worth $65. Playing on veteran stretched it out for me to about 8 hours of playtime, and definitely upped the intensity. I personally thought the cinematic presentation and set pieces were astounding, and the conclusion was possibly the best in recent gaming history, presentation-wise. Graphics were brilliant, the best I've seen on the 360 yet, with only the likes of Uncharted 2 possibly beating it, and controls couldn't have been any more perfect. Multiplayer is still more addictive than any other next-gen game currently in retail, and Spec Ops is a nice addition, and a lot more fun on Veteran with a friend. Overall, I thought the game was just as good as MW, and though not substantially different, the fact that it came out so quickly and is a DIRECT sequel--I wasn't expecting some major revamp, just a perfecting of something I already loved. And that's what I got. As for Halo fanboys and other childish gamers, don't judge a game without playing it yourself and without an unbiased opinion. (Plus, really? It's not like Halo or GTA changed that fundamentally sequel to sequel, so I don't understand those arguments to begin with.) Expand
  49. HumrajS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    They enhanced graphics, took the the story to another level, and tweaked the multiplayer. In my opinion, abandon ODST and get Modern Warfare 2 along with Uncharted 2 (if you have a PS3). The best game of the decade!
  50. AdamN
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Yes this game was one of the most hyped games of the year and because of this even though i was looking forward to it i didn't expect too much. Let me now tell you that even with the hype this game deserves every bit of it and more. Each level is epic and absolutely fun and the story could compete with any big budget Hollywood blockbuster (and yes it is a little far fetched like so Yes this game was one of the most hyped games of the year and because of this even though i was looking forward to it i didn't expect too much. Let me now tell you that even with the hype this game deserves every bit of it and more. Each level is epic and absolutely fun and the story could compete with any big budget Hollywood blockbuster (and yes it is a little far fetched like so many Hollywood movies but then that's what makes it so fun). The graphics are about as good as the last game but i found that there seemed to be a lot more enemies on the screen at once and the A.I. also seemed to be better (not that they were bad in the last game) which in my book is a good thing. My only issue that i had and which i had with the last game was that the single player is just too short. I completed it in just over 7 hours which i felt was way to short especially as i was having so much fun. Thankfully they haven't completely abondened single players as we now have the Spec-Ops missions which are basically short-goal-based campains where the gamer has to complete each missions goals to gain a star and as the gain more stars they can open up further Spec-Op missions. This is a great idea and is really fun - i've spent almost as much time in the Spec-Ops missions as i have in the main mission so far. All in all Modern Warfare 2 deserves all the hype (luckilly for them) as its a fantastic and epic game with each and every level being hugely fun. I haven't tried multiplayer yet but i'm sure it will be great as the first MW was extremely fun online. A game every body should own and something other developers of games should look at - this is what we want something epic, with a grerat story line that is not watered down and with gameply that is so fun you never want it to end. Hopefully they keep on adding more single player missions and different campains (and a longer single player story please). This is a must buy game. Expand
  51. SamR
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    Wow, the negative ratings given by certain people on this website are slightly suspect, with some spent on criticizing aspects of the game that aren't a part of the Xbox 360 version... But on to the game itself. The single player was fantastic! Short of course, but there was enough quality in it that it kept me entertained the whole time, unlike what some other single player Wow, the negative ratings given by certain people on this website are slightly suspect, with some spent on criticizing aspects of the game that aren't a part of the Xbox 360 version... But on to the game itself. The single player was fantastic! Short of course, but there was enough quality in it that it kept me entertained the whole time, unlike what some other single player campaigns provide. The Multiplayer is top notch, with tons of new gadgets, awards, and other things to unlock. It's very balanced and is much more accessible than the last. The new co-op mode provides an interesting array of challenges for you to complete with a friend, although I would have liked to see more than two people for that mode. Remember that these anger spewing children don't properly represent the amount of quality and polish that went into Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2. I highly recommend this game to everyone. Well, as long as you aren't set to hate it before you try it at least. Expand
  52. Trevor
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    You're kidding me right? Are we even playing the same game? Yes, the short campaign mode definately warrants a score check on metacritic, but everything else about this game is above par. Intense story moments, great spec-ops mode, and (the only reason to pay the $60.00) a definitive multiplayer experience. Looking through previous posts, somebody gave it a 0 for poor sound... they You're kidding me right? Are we even playing the same game? Yes, the short campaign mode definately warrants a score check on metacritic, but everything else about this game is above par. Intense story moments, great spec-ops mode, and (the only reason to pay the $60.00) a definitive multiplayer experience. Looking through previous posts, somebody gave it a 0 for poor sound... they recorded all of the actual elements straight from the source, from the AC-130 to the weapons involved. Some people complained that the game didn't "add anything new to the gaming world," which is entirely true, but come on, every time you buy a box of pop tarts, do you want them to be a different flavor? And my personal favorite comment, "horrible, offensive, I never played the first one, heard the hype and gave it a go. For people whom aren't mindless idiots It may be good, the rest of us should avoid." So, let me get this straight... if I'm NOT a mindless idiot, it may be a good game?... works for me! You "mindless idiots" enjoy hating on a simply great game! Expand
  53. MarkA.
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing, it took everything that made Call of duty 4 epic, and then it made it more epic. Though the single player is short, it made up for in quality, never have i played a game and felt so more into it. The ice level was so cool with the climbing up the mountain and when looking over the edge while edging along I felt scared that I was ging to fall. A new mode brought into This game is amazing, it took everything that made Call of duty 4 epic, and then it made it more epic. Though the single player is short, it made up for in quality, never have i played a game and felt so more into it. The ice level was so cool with the climbing up the mountain and when looking over the edge while edging along I felt scared that I was ging to fall. A new mode brought into the Call of Duty franchise is called Special Ops, and you can do this with on or two people cooperatively to do side missions based in the single player story, which I Thought was a great idea, and me and my friend had so much fun collecting all of the stars to achieve in the missons. And of course, the Multiplayer is what is there to say. The guys at Infinity Ward realised that they had something special with the previous game, so they kept everything the same, but added in very cool new features, such as customizable killstreaks, death streaks, 3rd person view if you want, and awesome guns. This game will be played for a very long time, iI can tell you that. Expand
  54. KarlW
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    I was once addicted to WoW. Bought all the expansions, with excitement. I loved playing Halo multiplayer, I greatly enjoyed the next releases. But never before have I ever been so pumped by a game, for a game, than I am for Modern Warfare 2. I agree with some, the campaign is perhaps short, but the actual story, the plot, was much stronger. The action, more intense. Yes, you've I was once addicted to WoW. Bought all the expansions, with excitement. I loved playing Halo multiplayer, I greatly enjoyed the next releases. But never before have I ever been so pumped by a game, for a game, than I am for Modern Warfare 2. I agree with some, the campaign is perhaps short, but the actual story, the plot, was much stronger. The action, more intense. Yes, you've probably fired a minigun in a game before. For that matter, you've probably also fired a gun in a game before too. This is (keyword) MODERN warfare. Want new toys? Play a sci-fi future game. Want long heroic stories? Play an RPG, or read some Tolkein. This is all about adrenaline-pumping action set in a realistic world of today. And the multiplayer is incredible. Again, innovative it is not, but it stacks on the incredible success of the last game, with the great new killstreaks and wider secondary selection. Some will say as they will about over-powered players and campers, but teamwork still takes precedence, and in my experience the camping team is the losing team. Gripping single-player, addictive multiplayer, and I almost forgot those Spec Ops missions - Incredible fun for two players online or local. Nothing short of the best shooter I've played for the Xbox, maybe even more than that. Expand
  55. AaronM
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    If there was a 9.5 score, I would have chosen it instead. This game is BY NO MEANS PERFECT. However, it is the most varied, and interesting multiplayer and singleplayer experience on the market this year, featuring real weapons systems that are currently in use or in development. Truly there is a polarizing factor to the multiplayer, people who don't give Call of Duty a chance to If there was a 9.5 score, I would have chosen it instead. This game is BY NO MEANS PERFECT. However, it is the most varied, and interesting multiplayer and singleplayer experience on the market this year, featuring real weapons systems that are currently in use or in development. Truly there is a polarizing factor to the multiplayer, people who don't give Call of Duty a chance to shine, will in fact be highly disappointed, but I think we all remember how excited we were when we got that first AC130. Sour Sallys will always be there to bring down the score of such an epic title, due to a negative online multiplayer experience or gripes over a "short" six hour campaign. What Infinity Ward brings to the table is amazing visuals, realism, and a very competitive multiplayer experience, and they bring it harder than anyone else. Expand
  56. zhengy
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    This game improves on it grahpic and visuals.New Gameplay tactic and a rewarding multiplayer.
  57. BrendanH
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    For all the people who complain that the campaign is too short, you're missing the point. CODMW2 was not made for people who are planning on playing single player all the time. Yes, I know that this game has it's faults, but don't all games do.
  58. JaredS
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Awesome game. Don't pay attention to the morons who score this below a 5. There is nothing about this game that deserves that harsh of a score. Just a bunch of whiney morons who suck at the game, like this guy below me. They don't understand how rating systems are supposed to work.
  59. EazayC
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    I rate 10 for overall experience. The campaign alone, though action-packed and filled with many memorable moments, but you could honestly finish it in 4 and a half hours on the recruit or regular difficulty settings, and around 6 hours on hardened and veteran. The story isn't that well told, good but not great, and does not live up to the standard in CoD games. The main attraction I rate 10 for overall experience. The campaign alone, though action-packed and filled with many memorable moments, but you could honestly finish it in 4 and a half hours on the recruit or regular difficulty settings, and around 6 hours on hardened and veteran. The story isn't that well told, good but not great, and does not live up to the standard in CoD games. The main attraction here is the sublime MP, and MW 2 improves on its predecessors in every way possible: Better maps, perks(no more martydom,luckily!), guns, and a more even experience overall. There is also a Spec-Ops mode, which you can do alone or in Co-Op with a friend. This is a set of challenges given to you, and you have to try and get all 69 stars in these challenges. This is a very good idea, brilliantly executed, with many missions having specific tasks for each player. For example there is a mission in it when you have to man an AC-130 machine gun on a helicopter, and control the speed of it, while your co-op partner has to hold off waves of enemies on ground until you arrive. Overall, the game is a brilliant package, and well worth the money, even if it has a slightly higher price tag than other games. I would not reccommend it to someone who focuses on the campaign when buying games, it is just far too short (but very sweet!). A definite contender for GoTY 2009. And do NOT listen to PC players who are dissapointed about the lack of dedicated servers and start whining about the game Expand
  60. WesB
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game was absolutely amazing. I must admit that the campain was short but it was amazing. I've played a lot of compains, and this one was by far my favourite. It had so many points that made me go "OMG WHAT JUST HAPPENED!?" that I just couldn't get to sleep. The new Spec-Ops is extremely fun and I can't wait to finish it with a friend this weekend. Single player is This game was absolutely amazing. I must admit that the campain was short but it was amazing. I've played a lot of compains, and this one was by far my favourite. It had so many points that made me go "OMG WHAT JUST HAPPENED!?" that I just couldn't get to sleep. The new Spec-Ops is extremely fun and I can't wait to finish it with a friend this weekend. Single player is overall short, but it's extremely fun and for me it is replayable. But the majority of people buying this will be for multiplayer, so that's ok. Multiplayer is extremely fun. There are a ton of new weapons, the maps are nicer looking and more balanced and fun. The new equipment, weapon attachments, perks and killstreaks definitely made this game twice as fun as the original CoD4. I can see myself getting to level 70 and enjoying it the entire way through. People are complaining about the lack of dedicated servers for the PC but I think that's stupid. The current form is better in my opinion. I have yet to lag in any of my games, and I can still play with my friends if I choose. What is there to hate so much about? Anyways i'm not rating 10 just to try and up the overall rating, this game is worth a 10 and i'm happy that I spent every cent on this game. I hate the people downrating to try to bring the overall down, and it seems the people who hate this game the most are the halo players... ha. Expand
  61. AustinF
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    Ok look, I highly doubt anyone is going to decide on buying this game based on reviews, espessially of no one important, but Im so sick of these people voting it down, It is an amazing game, very very good, the people voting it down are just stupid and wrong, for example The guy named Jeff D., he gave it a 0 one of his reasons is short campaign, a very valid argument, except he said he Ok look, I highly doubt anyone is going to decide on buying this game based on reviews, espessially of no one important, but Im so sick of these people voting it down, It is an amazing game, very very good, the people voting it down are just stupid and wrong, for example The guy named Jeff D., he gave it a 0 one of his reasons is short campaign, a very valid argument, except he said he likes Halo, I'd like to point out that Halo ODST had an even shorter campaign, this person obviously doesnt know what he is talking about, For Shane F. his main argument for giving it an undeserved 3 is its the same, it really isnt. I played the first and was blown away from the distinct differences from the two, It is a major improvement with major differences that will keep the multiplayer fun to play for a long time. I mostly agree with Alex M. except when he says there was not so many OMG moments, I think there is PLENTY, the campaign blew me away too, where i agree with him most is where he pointed out the part about gamers without online, you should just rent the game if you do not have online, the campaign is great, but yes its short and you will feel alittle bummed if you buy a $60 game for only 5-8 hours of play. I hope this review convinces someone to purchase this outstanding game. Expand
  62. JakeS
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    First of all, yes Modern Warfare 2 has its flaws. However, they are all mostly just cosmetic and don't detract from the game itself. One of the biggest complains seems to be that the campaign is too short, but I personally thought it wasn't quite so short and it's one of the most innovative campaigns I have ever experienced in my life. The wide spect of roles and positions First of all, yes Modern Warfare 2 has its flaws. However, they are all mostly just cosmetic and don't detract from the game itself. One of the biggest complains seems to be that the campaign is too short, but I personally thought it wasn't quite so short and it's one of the most innovative campaigns I have ever experienced in my life. The wide spect of roles and positions they put you in in that space of time is astounding and kept me interested, much unlike Call of Duty: World at War was just another bland WWII campaign experience. You could say that the game lost some of its previous luster, but I think the fact that it brought the battle closer to home was very unprecedented in this manner. Also, the multiplayer has added a load of new guns, attachments, and has completely reformulated the perks, changing it almost completely. The first few hours I played this game I was sick, tired, and ready to take it back, but if you give it another chance you will be hooked and realize that infinity ward still put their heart and soul into it, beneath all of the glamour that publisher Activision was lavishing on it. (And, to all of the PC spammers on here giving this game a 0 just because they didn't cater to your every need, keep it in your PC area, this is giving the 360 game a bad name just because you are whiners and want to throw your problems on us. We have dealt with 9v9, player hosting, and lack of mods since creation, and we have an incredible amount of fun nonetheless.) Expand
  63. RaymondS.
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    the campaign is both fun and well-written, the spec ops is original and challenging, the online is new and creative by being able to upgrade everything, perks, weapons and killstreaks
  64. MartinS.
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    This is the best call of duty game of ALL TIME! The campaign is EPIC, multiplayer is addicting, spec-ops is outstanding! This is game of the year right here!
  65. AndrewH
    Dec 18, 2009
    10
    Man, some people have to lay off the drugs... And some people have to realize a great game when they play one. MW2 is a fantastic sequel to COD 4. The single player is alright, and the spec ops is fun with a friend. But people stay for the amazing multiplayer that will have you playing for months and probably years. And on top of that, the graphics are amazing. What more can you ask for? Man, some people have to lay off the drugs... And some people have to realize a great game when they play one. MW2 is a fantastic sequel to COD 4. The single player is alright, and the spec ops is fun with a friend. But people stay for the amazing multiplayer that will have you playing for months and probably years. And on top of that, the graphics are amazing. What more can you ask for? This game is a perfect 10. Expand
  66. brady
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    im a big fan of cod but cod 6 is class its beter than cod 2,3,4 and 5.i go on it on the xbox 360 on xbox live if u whant 2 add me just vote it and my xbox live name is frusedborobrad
  67. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    I had great fun with that review below me, being a 10th prestige yet he/she gives it a 4 which clearly is laughable since he/she has clearly spendt a ridiculous amount of time playing the multiplayer. As for this game it is an absolute blast to play, the single player is short but soo sweet, spec ops is great playing with a friend especially in split screen, and multiplayer is even better.I had great fun with that review below me, being a 10th prestige yet he/she gives it a 4 which clearly is laughable since he/she has clearly spendt a ridiculous amount of time playing the multiplayer. As for this game it is an absolute blast to play, the single player is short but soo sweet, spec ops is great playing with a friend especially in split screen, and multiplayer is even better. Sure it's not completely balanced but if you get into a match without douchebags the game is probably the most fun you can have in gaming. Expand
  68. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    Oh dear, users below are so wrong. There's nothing wrong with the game. It's perfect. If the unparalleled online multiplayer experience wasn't enough, you have the awesome (but short) campaign, and a kick-ass co-op mode (Special Ops). There's no reason to not buy this game. I run multiplayer with the wireless adaptor and rarely experience lag.. There are obviously PS3 fanboys at work below.
  69. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Un juegazo. Ya estoy esperando modern warfare 3. Yle pongo el 10 por los gilipollas que le ponen un 0. A ver si empezais a aprender a puntuar que si no esto no es serio. Es un juego que envuelve grandes emociones, con una historia bien ligada AUNQUE PREVISIBLE. El online es brutal, ofrece mas de lo mismo pero aumentado. Espero que los zanganos que se dedican a poner ceros y unos se comanUn juegazo. Ya estoy esperando modern warfare 3. Yle pongo el 10 por los gilipollas que le ponen un 0. A ver si empezais a aprender a puntuar que si no esto no es serio. Es un juego que envuelve grandes emociones, con una historia bien ligada AUNQUE PREVISIBLE. El online es brutal, ofrece mas de lo mismo pero aumentado. Espero que los zanganos que se dedican a poner ceros y unos se coman una mierda. Expand
  70. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    This is the most addictive game i have ever played. Campaign is great and after you have that finished the multiplayer NEVER gets old
  71. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    It's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and takes it up to the next level. this game has been hyped many people want to buy and play the game you can play many modes in this game there are manyIt's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and takes it up to the next level. this game has been hyped many people want to buy and play the game you can play many modes in this game there are many in people in the world who like to play call of duty most people play online with other people from around the world there are so many weapons you can unlock as you complete the levels and do all the missions on the game. Then there are people who donâ Expand
  72. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think its a great bad-ass game that, even though it doesn't really innovate the series or the genre, but it is driven by a great and polemic, worst-case scenario plot. It also has a very short campaign and at times you get bored just shooting at Russians and makes you wonder what the level designers were doing or if they were doing anything at all. But I almost didn't notice because the writers did such a good job I just wanted to know what was gonna happen next. The controls are easy-flowing, the action is great, and the characters are awesome which is why I think this game is at the same level of the first game. Expand
  73. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    awesome one of the best games ever the story is great but a little bit short i got to admit that i found cod 4 kind of bad but this is just awesome everything is perfect except by online which has some hackers but that is what makes it fun now that is one of the most addicting games of all time if you dislike this game you either a halo ,bad company or half life lover
  74. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    i think that this is great and should at least give it a go. 10/10
  75. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 is an amazing game that should be bought by gamers of all types. Many reviewers on here are biased towards the negative, and anything below an 8 is absolutley ridiculous and extremely biased. This game would be a 9.5 in my opinion, but I rounded up for a perfect score of 10.
    Gameplay: The gameplay is unbielevable. I have never played a game that works better on an XBOX
    Modern Warfare 2 is an amazing game that should be bought by gamers of all types. Many reviewers on here are biased towards the negative, and anything below an 8 is absolutley ridiculous and extremely biased. This game would be a 9.5 in my opinion, but I rounded up for a perfect score of 10.
    Gameplay: The gameplay is unbielevable. I have never played a game that works better on an XBOX 360 controller than this game. Shooting a gun is so fun it's unreal. pick any gun up in this game and you will have fun shooting it no matter what. The multiplayer is great and balanced but does need some fixing in some areas. Throughout your multiplayer expierience, you will see many different guns because all guns have some pros and cons. There are about 6 different attachments for each primary weapon and about 8 or more camos for each primary weapon. You can earn a TON of challenges that will take you 20 hours of gameplay to achieve all of them. Even after that, you can still have fun and prestige. This game has almost endless replay value. The single player is short but sweet. I got through it in 4 hours on Recruit, 5 hours on Regular, 6 hours on Hardened, and 8 hours on Veteran. Even after that, there is co-op in which you can play solo or with another player online or split-screen. That takes maybe 6 or 7 hours to complete on Regular, and 10 hours to earn all stars. The gameplay is a 10.0
    Presentation: The in-game music never gets old and I say that after playing this game for 2 years. The menu navigation is swift and convenient, and the color scheme is great but simple. Not much else to say, 10.0
    Graphics: This game has smooth visuals and amazing lighting effects. The multiplayer maps have been worked on for hours and it's evident because the visuals are top-notch even out of the map. Single player is even better and there are no bugs or gaps in the graphics at all. The graphics are a 10.0
    Expand
  76. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Incredible game from start to finish. People complain about how short the single player is but I think it's fine and the Black Ops thing is really fun, quite a challenge. Still wish they would have a co-op main story play through like Halo. Oh and those people who give this game anything below a 7 like some of the ones I can see from the screen like FlaMinG TaCo or JeffD wow a 2 and a 0Incredible game from start to finish. People complain about how short the single player is but I think it's fine and the Black Ops thing is really fun, quite a challenge. Still wish they would have a co-op main story play through like Halo. Oh and those people who give this game anything below a 7 like some of the ones I can see from the screen like FlaMinG TaCo or JeffD wow a 2 and a 0 you people and people like you are the reason why User Scores can't be taken with a grain of salt games should be reviewed by graphics, content, controls, and game play. Your review of this game and any other shouldn't even exist because of the sheer ignorance of the creator of them. All the Critics review are all positive so I'm wondering what's wrong you guys. Expand
  77. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Best Call of Duty game in the franchise!!! At least this is better than the stupid Call of Duty Black Ops . The fun thing about this game is the multiplayer and Spec Ops which is very addicting. The Campaign is really fun too 10/10.
  78. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After finishing this game, including a sad yet accomplished tenth prestige, I feel that I am in a position to properly review this game - much unlike most others who simply give a review of the multiplayer and ignore al other aspects of the game. One of the comments on the page that claims to discover large plot 'holes', however these are only holes in their intellect as they were unable to grasp the high octane storyline. The only hole - and a slight one at that is (Spoiler Alert) when the prisoner is broken out of the Gulag to use as bait for Makarov as he is the only one who will turn Makarov's head turns out to be Price. This is incorrect as Price did not kill Imran Zakhaev - Soap did in Modern Warfare one. Besides this small plot hole the single player is fun and enjoyable although is slightly short, but this is only if you play it on easy and run through the levels whilst not paying proper attention to the story. The special ops section of the game is a new feature to the series of games and is thoroughly enjoyable with a sense of achievement after completing them. However, I believe that the game comes into its own light during multiplayer. Despite clear faults the game was released early - Activision wanted it pushed through where Infinity Ward wanted more time to complete the game fully - and had plenty of bugs that players were able to exploit to get easy kills. The killsteaks are innovative and although there may well be other games that introduced this first but they are on a different level to other games. The tactical nuke - annoying for those who are simply not good at the game and fun for those who are tactical about their play or who work as a team - is a great feature that I enjoy trying to achieve. The perks online can also be frustrating - commando is a normally hated perk but if the player uses this I dont see a problem as they may find your perks as annoying as they are all beneficial to the individual. The spawning system may well be a pain but how is it you would like it to be changed? Being a programmer I understand the difficulty of creating such a system and no matter what way you create it, there will always be people complaining about it. Overall I would say that this is simply one of the best shooter games ever created and although many people find its flaws, look at the critic reviews, not all of them can be wrong can they? Expand
  79. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    After 2 years this came out I'm still playing the online as I did 2 years ago. Glitches/bugs are in every game, in this one they are just a minunum part. I love this game.
  80. May 14, 2012
    10
    Just simple awesome the campaign is so so so so so good
  81. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! Expand
  82. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Campaign was intense and very epic even if it was a bit short. Multiplayer was a mind-blowing experience.Spec Ops was awesome, The variety of missions from stealth missions to time trials are absolutely amazing. The graphics are very realistic and very awesome Amazing Game
  83. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    MW2 is a great game, the single player campaign is entertaining and the multiplayer is awesome. The single player campaign is great although with a tears in it but still worth 6 hours of your time and then the multiplayer is addicting, you can do so much that the fun never stops. Special Ops is a nice feature as well because it is thrilling to see how many stars you can earn and willMW2 is a great game, the single player campaign is entertaining and the multiplayer is awesome. The single player campaign is great although with a tears in it but still worth 6 hours of your time and then the multiplayer is addicting, you can do so much that the fun never stops. Special Ops is a nice feature as well because it is thrilling to see how many stars you can earn and will definately entertain. Overall, MW2 is a great game, it keeps the elements of MW 1 that made it so great but throws in its own elelments to make itself unique. Breakdown for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2: Presentation: 9.5, Graphics: 9.7, Sound: 9.6, Playability: 9.5, Entertainment Value: 9.8. Overall Score: 9.5 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
  84. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    There is something perfectly special when it comes to the Multiplayer of Moder Warfare 2. Something exotic. Simply fits my taste. The Singleplayer ist good though.
  85. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 was honestly... Overrated... The campaign was fun, but if you use human logic, half of the things that they do to perform their job are impossible: such as waiting till an enemy isn't looking so you can shoot the other one standing three feet away from him. The only reason the campaign was any fun was the fact that I now know what happens after the first flunk in theModern Warfare 2 was honestly... Overrated... The campaign was fun, but if you use human logic, half of the things that they do to perform their job are impossible: such as waiting till an enemy isn't looking so you can shoot the other one standing three feet away from him. The only reason the campaign was any fun was the fact that I now know what happens after the first flunk in the Modern Warfare series. Spec Ops was a whole different issue... The producers apparently didn't know that two US Army Rangers cannot take down the whole Russian SWAT Force. (Me and friends laughed for days over their stupidity.) Most of the missions were overrated, but more than that: all of the missions were edited from the main story line and then put in like they were gonna be speechlessly better, a BIG fail on the producers part.

    Another reason I got this game was for the multiplayer. I tried to have fun with it, but when you find out just how bad the anti-cheat system is for Xbox LIVE you will go nuts. A casual, everyday multiplayer match goes as the following: Spawn, sprint, aim, shoot, sprint, aim, shoot, sprint, sprint, knife, knife, throw a grenade through a random window, knife, and so on. Activision didn't focus on making the multiplayer combat realistic, it's too fast, too confusing, and overall just plain annoying. Quick-scoping, no-scoping, random "noob-tubes" were very annoying, and didn't keep the multiplayer action enjoyable for me.

    Overall, I think Activision got themselves a hobby of making sloppy games, only suitable for retards who want to cuss each other out on Xbox live day in and day out. (Not to mention all of the **** who like it too. LOL)
    Expand
  86. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    So fun with friends. Late night games back in '09. Those were the days. After Modern Warfare 3 came out, I really appreciated MW2 and even Black OPS and how much better they are than the new game. This deserves a 10 for sucking a lot of my hours .
  87. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played with a explosive single player and addictive multiplayer. You may hear that this game is all hype but there is a reason why it is so popular. After investing more time than I would like to mention into it and buying other shooters such as Battlefield 3 and Gears of War 3. I would still highly recommend this game.
  88. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    AWESOME game love everything that its about the story is great and the online like wow but it take long to lvl but its cool and i love quick scope and no scope when i was playing game but know Ive moved to BF3 its soooooo much better and funny and offers a lot more then any of the MW s
  89. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this game and i also love quick scoping. If you play PS3 or xbox add me on PS3 I am woodley423 and on xbox i am going to be also woodley423 some time in march 2012so see you when i get it. i will also post a comment saying that i have live.
  90. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best games on Xbox. A breathtaking campaign and a stunning multiplayer. Great graphics with good sound. A brilliant game for Xbox gamers and CoD fans.
  91. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    My personal favourite Call of Duty title. A step up from Call of Duty 4 in most ways, but that also means its relative simplicity is lost in the process. Singleplayer is short but full of action and set pieces, before everyone got bored to death of them. Special ops is a simple timesplitters esque challenge mode for coop play. Multiplayer is still buggy to this day, but my oh my, when itsMy personal favourite Call of Duty title. A step up from Call of Duty 4 in most ways, but that also means its relative simplicity is lost in the process. Singleplayer is short but full of action and set pieces, before everyone got bored to death of them. Special ops is a simple timesplitters esque challenge mode for coop play. Multiplayer is still buggy to this day, but my oh my, when its played as it should there will never be an experience as fun or action packed as this. Highly doubt that Ghosts will surpass the game Expand
  92. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    A lot of people gave this a bad score, but they, ohh boy those people need to turn there Xbox back on and play it again. I know it wasn't futuristic but the gamplay was amazing (by far the best call of duty ever). I know most of these guys that hated on it were literally COD haters but still an amazing game. The newer call of duties look like absolute crap. Especially the new upcomingA lot of people gave this a bad score, but they, ohh boy those people need to turn there Xbox back on and play it again. I know it wasn't futuristic but the gamplay was amazing (by far the best call of duty ever). I know most of these guys that hated on it were literally COD haters but still an amazing game. The newer call of duties look like absolute crap. Especially the new upcoming advanced warfare. But MW2 was something special. Expand
  93. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    Pretty decent game when it came out. Overall its still better than Mw3, Blops 1 and 2. I hate how comanys make something new and then make a Triplet called Mw3 with the same Engine and Graphic as Mw2 and we call it 2.5 not 3. I hate how they make this game Mw2, a awesome game and ruin it 2 years later.
  94. May 22, 2013
    10
    This game is the best of all of the Call of Duty series. The campaign set the bar for all high-production value FPS games, and in my opinion is still yet to be surpassed. It has great set-piece moments, strong and likable characters that evolve over time, and scenes that stir up genuine emotions. On top of all that, it has the cleanest, most crisp and responsive multiplayer, with theThis game is the best of all of the Call of Duty series. The campaign set the bar for all high-production value FPS games, and in my opinion is still yet to be surpassed. It has great set-piece moments, strong and likable characters that evolve over time, and scenes that stir up genuine emotions. On top of all that, it has the cleanest, most crisp and responsive multiplayer, with the most straightforward and effective killstreak system in the series. The only thing that mars it from perfection is the ridiculously overpowered Danger Close perk, but that isn't as big of a problem with the community that is still playing the game. This one's in my top 10 games of all time (the only other COD in there is the original Modern Warfare). Expand
  95. May 30, 2013
    10
    This game has to be the best new call of duty ever because do you remember all the new editing you could do with your class compared to WAW and Cod 4 this game is bomb the only problem with this game i would have to say is the famas, one man army danger close and maybe shotgun as a side arm but really in real life you could have a shotgun on your back so i think thats ok but mw2 has to beThis game has to be the best new call of duty ever because do you remember all the new editing you could do with your class compared to WAW and Cod 4 this game is bomb the only problem with this game i would have to say is the famas, one man army danger close and maybe shotgun as a side arm but really in real life you could have a shotgun on your back so i think thats ok but mw2 has to be the best COD ever escpecially the b2 airstrike i rembember getting on and holy it was awesome even if it doesn't kill anyone its still sick Expand
  96. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Nothing short of an FPS Wonder, MW2 Truely delivers a unique sense that only its predecessor (Modern Warfare) can match. With heart stopping, adrenaline pumping single player, A new and unique Co-Op Spec Ops mode, and an online mode fit for the king of modern FPS, with a wealth of ranks, unlockables and experiences. MW2 is a wonder of video games, and is sure to sit there for a long time.
  97. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    Activision's Modern Warfare 2 sets the new standard for FPS multiplayer. Its looks great, sounds greats, and plays spectacularly. Reasonable balance and fascinating map design keep the multiplayer mode something players can come back to again and again and again to this day. Modern Warfare 2 also revolutionized killstreak design, just one of numerous gameplay mechanics it improved on fromActivision's Modern Warfare 2 sets the new standard for FPS multiplayer. Its looks great, sounds greats, and plays spectacularly. Reasonable balance and fascinating map design keep the multiplayer mode something players can come back to again and again and again to this day. Modern Warfare 2 also revolutionized killstreak design, just one of numerous gameplay mechanics it improved on from its predecessor.
    The campaign is, again, improved from Modern Warfare. It looks great, and some missions even attempt an open-world-esque aesthetic with large open environments that force you to traverse from building to building, defending objectives from enemies that attack from land and air. Again, the campaign has great visual and sound design, and gameplay is varied enough to keep the player entertained. Story is told fairly well, with the most intense climax of any military shooter to date.
    Special Ops, Infinity Ward's answer to the Zombie mode of Word at War, is a standard mission mode. It can only be played with 2 people, something that prevents it from being as silly and "rompy" as zombies. This mode is enjoyable, but nothing more,
    Expand
  98. May 30, 2014
    10
    This is the last great Call of Duty before the game which nearly destroyed CoD, Black Ops, The campaign is actually fun, with some amazing missions and spec ops (which would've been nice if it was Online instead of friends only), it will keep you entertained for a while, then there is the multiplayer, i actually enjoyed it, it had reasonable sized maps and unique map designs.

    Overall =
    This is the last great Call of Duty before the game which nearly destroyed CoD, Black Ops, The campaign is actually fun, with some amazing missions and spec ops (which would've been nice if it was Online instead of friends only), it will keep you entertained for a while, then there is the multiplayer, i actually enjoyed it, it had reasonable sized maps and unique map designs.

    Overall = 9.6/10, it has a solid campaign, a superb Multiplayer and a great Spec Ops mode which would've been nice if it had Online for everyone, this stands as the strongest CoD ever.
    Expand
  99. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    This game is simply world class. In my opinion it's the best call of duty game ever. The campaign may be short but is still great and the multiplayer is also fantastic, simply the best.
  100. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    8/10
    This game deserves that, but there are too many trolls in the comments giving this game zeroes that i have to give it a 10. the single player was short but sweet, as with spec ops. the multiplayer had the potential to be the best in the series, with great maps and guns, but the community ruined it by using cheap tactics. search and destroy was extremely fun though because of the
    8/10
    This game deserves that, but there are too many trolls in the comments giving this game zeroes that i have to give it a 10. the single player was short but sweet, as with spec ops. the multiplayer had the potential to be the best in the series, with great maps and guns, but the community ruined it by using cheap tactics. search and destroy was extremely fun though because of the other people and the crazy times you had.
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Anyone who already has issues with the single-player ‘style’ of IW’s games will still find fault with the scripted, linear experience, but in terms of sheer drama and show-stopping set-pieces accompanied by laser sharp FPS controls, Modern Warfare 2 is your daddy. And that’s without Spec Ops and Multiplayer.