User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8523 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    I remember when a sequel to a game meant innovation. I remember when developers were judged based on innovation in addition to the quality of the game.

    Mw3 is a structurally solid game, and why shouldn't it be, it is the same formula since call of duty 4. So while the mechanics work well, they offer nothing new. It is the same game as black ops with a new coat of paint , and some new
    maps. There is nothing new here, If you are looking for a fresh experience then look somewhere else , maybe buy an indi game. If you are looking for the same familiar multiplayer you love from the series , than just save your money and go back to black ops. The game is simply a cash in , pure and simple. Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I have played all the CoD video games. This is the most disappointing one after BO and MW2. Looks exactly as CoD 4, with barely any change in mechanics and gameplay. The only good part is the story, but that is easily spoiled because it is so predictable. The graphics are the same as on CoD 4, which came out 4 years ago. Usually I do not care about graphics but this was just disappointing. I have played about 1h of multiplayer and I am totally sick of it! More campers than ever with a lot of 12 year old kids, way too easy to spawn kill, overpowered weapons etc. I could go on for a whole essay if I would have the energy to. There are a lot of glitches also, of course the game was just released but these are simple, easy glitches that should have been noticed instantly during the beta tests. The maps are all recycled with the same looks as earlier maps, nothing new. I am really disappointed mostly because I waited out in the cold rain for almost 12 hours with my friends and we really were expecting a good game. That this is not. Save your time, go play something else because this is not worth it. At least I can still sell this on eBay for 90% of the money. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    Honestly, I don't know how the critics hold this game in such high esteem. It should be sold at half the retail price as it is essentially an expansion to MW2. As a COD fan, I am disappointed that Infinity Ward didn't do more with this. It's almost like they know that we will buy their games and just ignore the fact that it's like we are buying a second copy of MW2. I'm sorry Infinity Ward but I think Dice weren't wrong when they said that Battlefield 3 was made to rival the COD franchise, as it certainly brings more to the table than MW3. Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Been playing all night. The maps do not feel right,. The no scooping and drops shots still being int he game are just stupid. And the MOAB is just as game breaking as the nuke was in MW2. The most damning aspect is that it is the same game as MW1, MW2, and Black ops. Huge disappointment.
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Mordern Warfare 3 is the exact same game with a different name, terrible Campaign that you finish in 3 and half hours, with the most irregular irritating little maps that you literally spawn on your enemy's shoulders. The lack of vehical's and broken class system creates a very very dry and plain expirence. The visuals are still comparable to my Playstation 2, voice acting and sound of weaponary lack any realness in the game. There really is nothing new that this Game does that makes it worth the plastic it uses. Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Best Buy let a bunch of people in to play the game before picking up the reserved copy, i was one of them. And using the best "no pun" equipment and sound they have to offer i did notice one thing, same same same.. i actually thought about swapping my 5 bucks over to another game, even ordered a phone plane to get a special mw3 case. im a fan of the series but after finishing the campaign and now deploying into full scale multilayer exp, well yes this is the meat and potatoes but its like christmas, always knowing it will be a turkey, was hoping for something beefier and more importantly tastier this time around. immediately i found that it has many new perks and trinkets and 3 different care package types. maps are not very creative and tbh im a bit pissed that these trinkets are to smoke screen one to see the fact that i got robbed , and what i mean is i went all the way, elite pass etc.. even angrier i check many reviews, and read many which give the game a 10, they slam this game left and right, have nothing really great to say and a 10!!! .. this is what ratings have come down to.. buying them.. i will say that the campaign started off slow, confusing but it did finish off splendidly , leaving many questions (i.e soap) answered and picked up right where it left off with 2.. my roomate is laying spec ops and says its the highlight so far, well im just disappointed. every year, the hype , the promise and then the take ..took me for my money.. but hey not a total loss. if spec ops is that good and multiplayer can hold me over a month or so then hey its better than most games do.. but im selling my unused elite membership for 30 bucks, any takers are welcome.. i will not pay for 1 single map. i bought "the other game" and hated the campaign as well, but its multiplayer delivered on many accounts. they promised bigger and better maps. maybe better but still very linear which time and time again they said they would "have an open world fps multi feel" bullsh*T.. who ever says that this is an awesome game, all fresh ideas, way better than ever, well do yourself a favor, dont ride on their "illusions" rent it.. the greatest part so far is the ending, its did bring the story to a conclusion as well as answer some things that left us cod fans mouths gaped open mw2.. but im hoping spec ops is as good as my roomate says.. dont listen to me, go read these "tens and 9.1-5 reviews, ie 1up) and read between the lines, they are paid to say .. they gripe about many things i do but give it a close to perfect score? journalism/ratings/politics are bought by money.. this game broke the hearts f many cod fans, millions of them, i wanted it to be just a little different.. not alot of the same with a few perk changes to try and blind me from what is on my screen.. like i always say, trust yourself, but rent this first, check out your buddies.. and if you are just one of them need to have it, well i must admit, i was in a way the same cod guy.. not anymore. AND NEVER LET ANYONE TELL YOU THAT YOU FINISHED A GAME SO FAST BECAUSE YOU NEED TO SET THE DIFFICULTY HIGHER, A GOOD SOLID CAMPAIGN IS JUST THAT.. ONE WHICH CAN NOT BE BEATEN IN 4 HOUR S EVEN IF SET ON BABY EASY DIFFICULTY, THATS A COP OUT FOR NO/LITTLE CONTENT.. SETTING IT HIGHER JUST MEANS YOU DIE MORE, REPLAY SAME SCENES MORE HENCE "LONGER CAMPAIGN.. THIS GOES 4 ALL GAMES.

    BEAT THIS IN 5 HOURS NORMAL SETTING
    BUT THE GAME IS DESIGNED FOR ITS MULTIPLAYER, ONE WHICH HAS GROWN TO BE VERY STALE AFTER YEARS OF NOTHING NEW, EXCEPT FOR MY BANK ACCOUNT.. SO FREAKIN TIRED OF THIS.
    Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    They literally LITERALLY did not change a thing from MW2. Same weapons. Same streaks. Same perks. Same graphics (not even joking) Same **** cluttered maps with random fire on the streets. Autoaim is SO strong even on multiplayer that you can aim 10 inches away from someone and it'll still hit them. Same audio down to the rank up music. Even the same **** tags and loading screens. THE SAME.
    ****.
    LOADING SCREENS.
    Blackops wasn't this **** rehashed even. It is seriously just MW2 with a new story, and honestly did you even play for the story?
    Expand
  8. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    I've had Thanksgiving turkey naps last longer than the single player campaign did, but at least after those I wake up feeling refreshed. The multi-player is still nicely polished and remains a benchmark for online play, but these cookie cutter releases are rushed out so often that it's too embarrassing to be caught playing it. There's a reason Grand Theft Auto and Elder Scrolls don't whip out new releases every year. It takes time to put out a quality product. After all, you get what you wait for. And with MW3, I feel like I waited in line for Justin Bieber tickets. Expand
  9. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    Multiplayer: It feels a bit broken, then again it was Sledge Hammer that made the multiplayer aspect of the game. The servers are laggy. The hit detection is still the same old Modern Warfare you'd expect. Knifing the air gets a kill. Shooting bullets onto an invincible hit box gets a kill, whilst the player is way out of harms way. Hit detection is way off in general. Bullets still do not penetrate thin walls or wooden crates but can penetrate 12 inch thick titanium steel. Character control in general feels a clumsy. Weapons are awkward to work with. Maps are the typical MW maps you'd expect if not worse. Unimaginative, bland, and with bad spawn points. Kills do not feel as rewarding as before and kill streaks are not as amusing. It's a great fast paced game but in general most of it feels like a rehash of MW2 with a blend of terrible Black Ops maps. Single Player: Same old cliche story suitable for people/children who need explosions and chaos to obtain an orgasm and deem it a good game or movie. I was in pain trying to finish this game, instead of enjoying it. I just wanted to get this garbage story to end and to my surprise; the expected MW ending. The AI of this game like always, using the same bad programing can cause some what of a humor. Small scaled linear pathway maps like usual. In conclusions, this game is nothing but a rehash of the old game (including Treyarch's Black Ops) with the number 3 stamped in front. Save your self $60 and keep on enjoying MW2. Expand
  10. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Let me pose this question. why does a new FPS need to be released every year by the same developer like a sports game (FiFa, Madden, Tiger Woods, NBA2whatever)? Is it even necessary for a sports game to release a whole new game every year when rosters change or teams move cities? This could have easily been an expanision pack to Mw2 or even something completely different for Black Ops. Why does the COD franchise feel they need to release something completely independent of Black Ops after people just spent money not only only buying Black Ops but then buying the DLC for it.

    It seems like Activision doesn't care and this isn't new behavior for them. Tony Hawk Pro skater was driven into the ground by Activison and Neversoft. Ironically it was EA who stole their skateboarding video game glory with the SKATE franchise. I wouldn't say that there's no room for COD, but they should think about changing their business models if they want to keep FPS enthusiasts and novices from venturing off then they better spice up the formula because the old formula is stale & expensive.
    Expand
  11. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    After playing this game for a good 4 hours, I noticed that this game felt very familiar, A little bit TOO familiar. Then it hit me that everything in this game from the graphics, the sound effects, the art, is from Modern Warfare 2. It sickens me that Activision thinks that they can get away with just copying everything that the original IW team has worked for and just paste into a new package and call it Modern Warfare 3. Contrary to all the "VIDEO GAME JOURNALISTS" that give this game a 80% or higher this game is nothing new and they should have just called it Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 2011 edition, you are basically paying $60 on a expansion pack, A very poorly made expansion pack. Expand
  12. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    If you play any Call of Duty, you've played MW3. Don't believe the marketing hype, this is the same product rebundled let it die and show investors we're not interested in being sold the same product year after year, the cash cow needs to starve.
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    The sounds are barely improved if at all same with graphics. I don't feel the game has stepped up enough to call it a 3, they were better off just saying it was mw2: 2.5 or episode 2 or DLC and just ending it there and waiting 2-3 years before putting out another call of duty. The as far as the gameplay and story they are both solid I guess, and will provide the same amount of replay just as MW2 did for those who really REALLY love COD if you don't I wouldn't suggest picking this game up. Expand
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Graphics are a joke. Feels like your a little kid running around the maps with your little head bobbing around. Slowly but surely the great franchise is dying, but with releases like this it wont be slowly. MW3 is great if you if your a 15 year old kid. Save your money and time this ones going back to the store.
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Just played MW3 for a few hours as well and it's no surprised that it plays just as it has been called MW2.5. Just look at the difference between the previous CoDs up until CoD4 which was revolutionary at the time for FPS and now, MW2 to MW3. Extremely disappointing and lazy game development from the same graphical dated graphical engine to the HUDs, sounds and the gameplay formula. While I can't deny that people can still have fun with the game as long as they want more of the same, the novelty of the series in itself has worn off and the differences and improvements with MW3 do little in the way of shaking off deeply as the same game we've been playing for years. Also, same crappy micheal bay campaign. Overall, once you've played one of them after CoD4, you've played them all. No need for this game. Expand
  16. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    For a game that feverishly claims to be the most anticipated title this year, nay, the greatest title of all time, this failed to meet my all already low expectations. The main feature that Infinity Ward relied upon to sell the game, the multiplayer, is still the same as it was when it was implemented in Modern Warfare 2, with a few slight changes and new perks. Not only that, they've also copied the weapon system from Battlefield 3, despite the fact that MW3 claims to be the greater game. Shameless unbalance, lazy and horrible map design and possibly the most immature community to date (I thought this game was an 18? What are little kids doing on it?). Luckily I wasn't sucked in by the same hype that's been everywhere lately, despite Activision's shameless attempt of trying to gain publicity by leaking the video of the girl getting blown up, and as such I didn't expect much from this game, I was still disappointed however, and feel the only good part of this game is the fact it's the last one in the series. But knowing IW and Activision they're try and shovel 5 more games with less character and gameplay than the last. Expand
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    What did you expect. Of course it is the same old same old.

    Lets see what has changed since the last installment: Console tech? nope. Core demographic? nope. Online tech? nope. Expectations of fans? nope. The dependency of game review sites on big game publisher $$$? Nope. Of course this game is gonna be 99% the same as the last one and 99% of the reviews are gonna be 90+ on
    Metacritic. It is what it is: an insanely profitable IP franchise for a huge corporation that cares only about ROI and executive bonuses. My prediction: there will be a COD: MW4 within 13 months and it will be 99% the same as this game and it will get 90+ on Metacritic. Now go insult strangers through your headset while shooting them in the face. Expand
  18. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Played this, this morning and its just a desaturated mess of a game, the whole thing needs to be updated to make it good, the textures are low, the shadows are to dark, the lighting is terrible, the only colour seems to be shades of gray and the sounds are just annoying, bad show IW, Sledgehammer and Activition, bad show
  19. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    sigh.
    i thought this was gonna get good reviews but guess what? no when i played single player on the shop it was the same old crap
    looks like this is a Money wasted 3rd time game, glad i didn't buy it.
    Get milked hard.
  20. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Disappointing on all fronts. It's a reskin of a 2 year old game with a multiplayer map pack and different singleplayer that's riddled with stupidity and cliches in bulk while still being insanely short

    I don't understand how Activision gets away with doing this to people. I understand it's fun to some gamers and they like the series and that's fine, but just throwing money at something
    because it's fun is selfish and they need to tell Activision with their wallets they're tired of getting ripped off every year. Expand
  21. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Picked this up on release after playing Modern Warfare 2 last night to prepare. Guess what? It was the SAME GAME. So entirely disappointed, I can't believe they hyped up this game to have it be nothing more than a map pack released for $60 that runs worse online. It's really sad what the horrible progression of this game has seen since COD4. I'd rather play the original, which was actually unique, new, and good. Expand
  22. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    The game is not for 2011. It was possible, would put the balls in the works, but the engine is very old and is just copy-paste. I hope if the continuation of the series and will be, on the other engine.
  23. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Without a fanboy rating I'll give this game what it deserves. The story is a joke, same **** as every year...just even more predictable cheese and effects. Details like the foreign cities where presented with lots of mistakes and even lots of spelling mistakes...embarrassing.
    the multiplayer is nothing new either.

    rent or pass
  24. Nov 9, 2011
    3
    It comes as no surprise, but the ramblings of the internet rang true: this game should have been an expansion pack, not a full retail release. The storyline is incoherent, fails to deliver any sort of interesting grip on the character, and eventually throws out huge plot lines in favor of a quick tie-up that makes the job feel like the game's story was cut down the middle, only to be released as the inevitable MW4. Infinity Ward has made the first true milking of a franchise, adding in one single interesting aspect to the game: survival. Yet, oddly familiar, it plays almost identical to Zombies, one of the main driving forces for WaW and Black Ops (made by Treyarch). Some bonus points for not making a complete repeat, but it's hard to be excited over something we've all seen before. Of course, by looking at all of the players online, you notice they all have around 0-20 gamerscore in MW3 at the moment, simply because they bought this for the multiplayer, the infamous wife-replacing, work ditching fiasco that we've all played before. And here it is again, basically in the same form as before. Kudos on the deathstreaks and 16 launched maps, IW, but even though your formula is "tried and true", this game is old, already, and in need of serious nerfing patches from day one. This game turned out to be the biggest disappointment of the year, and the first slip down for the CoD franchise. Here's to hoping that they make something worth the $60 price of admission next time. (P.S. Campaign beat in seven hours... are you kidding?) Expand
  25. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    MW3 is what every CoD fan should want. A polished version of the great game we all love. I'm surprised how many negative user reviews they are? How many of the bad reviews were written by disappointed BF3 players???? There's no such thing as a CoD killer.........
  26. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    Why bother making a new great game when you can just take your last one and "polish" it a litte? This is IW's mindset behind MW3. Never have I seen such a lazy excuse for a "new" iteration in a game series.

    The campaign is mindless and cliche as expected, but MW3 goes out of its way to show you how uterly unoriginal it is. The visuals are practically identical to MW2, and so is most
    everything else. EVERY single add on to the multiplayer is directly taken from other games. Kill confirmed knocked off from Crysis 2. Halo's Oddball is taken and given a different name here. Gears of War's Horde mode is copied, but with less than impressive AI, is just another tack on. This is laziness at its grandest. If you really liked MW2, then play MW2. This is a 60 dollar polish of it. Expand
  27. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    After playing Call of duty games while over at friends house for a few years now I finally decided to go and get one myself. I said "What could the harm be?" Well... everything. From poor graphics to the same game engine being used, all that MW3 feels like is a $60 map pack with new game balancing done. Absolutely nothing other than skill perks and Halo Style game making was added. The colors are washed out. And, I'm pretty sure GameCube games looked better than this steaming POS. Will be asking for a refund in the morning! Expand
  28. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    The Singleplayer is ok. The multiplayer is really bad. Get this only if you like to follow the stream. I have no idea how a game like this manages to sell millions of copies. Either the gaming industry and consumers consist of a much younger audience, or something drastically casual has washed over it. Skyrim is probably the game to buy this november.
  29. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    What an absolute mess. At this point, Call of Duty has become another by the numbers, copy and paste shooter franchise. I bought this game expecting something enjoyable and fun. What I got was yet another mindless corridor shooter that plays the game for me. The multiplayer is an absolute abomination as well. It's amazing to me that in the time since Call of Duty 4 has released the series has almost single handedly killed the FPS genre. This game just puts the final nail in the coffin. Expand
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    i gave it a 4 because of good single player. but the multiplayer was AWFUL, player about 10-15 matches and it was one of the worst experiences i had even though i was doing really well. going from battlefield 3 to this is a pretty massive difference that it hurts my eyes, what an eyesore of a game.
  31. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    It's very sad, that people give a developer credit for lazy work. Half of the sounds, equipment, perks, guns, and only one new attachment are in the game. 80% of the killstreaks are the same. And you always the get the felling "I have done this before". Survival is sorry attempted at zombies and fails flat. The same COD formula is use, Level up, get guns, unlock the same attachments from every call of duty, and rinse repeat. Sad really, this game will not move the industry forward but millions will buy a half tried effort. If any other game did this it would get bashed to crap. Same your money. Expand
  32. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Great game. people knew it's CoD and wasn't going to change much yet still going to complain, in the end it's your fault for hyping yourself up so much it is fun though.
  33. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Its so obvious how butthurt BF3 fan boys are for having their game get a lesser score then CoD:MW3. Don't get me wrong, I am not siding on either front. I've played both BF3, and CoD:MW3 multi-player, and i'll be honest, they each have their strong points. This review is SOLELY over multi-player for both games (sorry, i ain't spoiling anything). BF3 for instance is gorgeous and features great use of large maps and vehicles to pit large groups of players together in spectacular, coordinated assaults. CoD:MW3 specializes in smaller, quicker, fast paced team, or FFA matches, that hardly fair worse. IMHO though, if you must get a console based shooter, go with CoD:MW3. Why? Because the campaign is undoubtedly more rock solid, and the multi-player (while not necessarily better) is hands down funner and notably balanced. Now, on the other hand, if you want the next big PC shooter, look no further then BF3. Its going to be much more beautiful, and a keyboard and mouse are the only controls to do it justice. You have to use EA's lackluster origin service, mixed with an in browser based launcher; but its a small price to pay. For me, MW3 may not be as pretty as BF3, but it feels much more familiar, polished, and just plain fun. Expand
  34. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    More of the same? Well yeah, obviously. There's new editions to the title like strike packages, survival mode, continuation of the story but they're not major. If you never liked Call of Duty, this won't change your mind. If you're like me and enjoy Call of Duty, then you will enjoy this. Simple as that.
  35. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    I am a call of duty fan, Im in it for the multiplayer, got my copy of MW3 yesterday, ran home popped it in,
    and heres whats up;

    They seem to have spent all there time tweaking the frills and inconsequential nic naks, rather than focus on game play, they should know everyone who is buying MW3 has been playing black ops for months. Black Ops is like butter to MW3's sand paper.
    Cons:
    1)clunky controls, same old layout, just feels slow, like your avatar is 350lb, which means its a Campers paradise...running and gunning,,will leave you wondering how did this guy shoot me from 200 yrds and around a corner, 2)maps are uncreative, they look great, but 90% of what you see you can't interact with, there is no freedom of movement, or freedom to be creative in your play
    3) lastly its just not an improvement on Black Ops, we want to see the envelope pushed, not a turd polished
    4) Spawning is mind bogglingly terrible,,,I can't even begin to say how poor this aspect is, I don't think I even have the words to articulate the almost blatant neglect
    5) and lastly,, after a couple of hours of play, and achieving a 35 rank I just stopped,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, and thought this is hellof boring, I can't believe the nerve of Activision asking people to pay $50 bucks for the elite package of such a amazingly boring multiplayer game,,,,

    I'm going over to best buy right now and returning it, not even going to give it another go
    Expand
  36. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    But oh my god people, You were all saying this was going to be the greatest game ever. Battlefield 3 has nothing on your great innovative Modern Warfare games. Why so serious? We told you it was going to be a rehash but none of you really listened did you? You went out and bought it because it's the cool thing to do, All of your friends have the game. At least you made Activi$ion happy by giving them $60 for a MW2 DLC. In return, Activi$ion used your money to pay off the critics to give it good reviews influencing more purchases. Oh yeah, Call of Duty is soooo much better than Battlefield 3 LOL. Expand
  37. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    It's not a bad game by any means. But it shouldn't even be one - it should be DLC. The campaign took me 4 and a half hours, and I wasn't rushing my any means. Just too similar to the last one.
  38. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    The same stuff thats been churned out since they discovered COD4 made infinity x cash. Honestly, there is nothing new or innovative here, its playing to a crowd people who average in age at 12
  39. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    Came here because I read Glen Schofield was asking people to post honest reviews. I loved Call of Duty 4, loved World at War (Even though Treyarch made it), loved Modern Warfare 2 (Before the glitchers and hackers got ahold of it), absolutely detested Black Ops (Retarded single player story), and was really looking forward to Modern Warfare 3. I love it and at the same time I'm not too fond of it. Sure the single player story isn't perfect, but I really enjoyed it and how it ended the story arc. I was a little bit disappointed on the multiplayer aspect of the game. I still can't believe that after so many years IW refuses to use dedicated servers for consoles and relies on the asinie P2P hosting. I am so sick of the whole I shot first but when I watch the kill cam, no rounds came out of my weapon and the other person got the kill because they have the faster connection. Also, the maps seem very claustrophobic compared to the other Modern Warfare games. Like Black Ops, there aren't many sniper friendly maps. AND QUICKSCOPING! Why has that been brought back? It has to be the most annoying feature I have ever seen. It does not make you a badass player. It just makes you an annoying prick who relies on the aim assist because you suck at aiming down the sights. I really hope IW monitors this game and does not let hacking overrun it like COD4 and MW2. I really hope the new maps coming out are less claustrophobic and more along the vein of COD4 and MW2. I'm sorry but this will be the last Call of Duty game I purchase and if Infinity Ward doesn't step up their game, then this will probably be the last Call of Duty game for a lot of people. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD INFINITY WARD! GO BACK AND FIX CALL OF DUTY 4'S MULTIPLAYER! FOR ONCE I WOULD LIKE TO GO BACK TO THAT GAME AND ENJOY A ROUND OF TEAM DEATH MATCH WITHOUT BEING KILLED BY SOME DOUCHEBAG WHO IS GOING UNDERNEATH THE MAP OR USING WALLHACKS! Expand
  40. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    So, the long anticipated MW3 is here and just as expected, its garbage. I`ll start out by stating the obvious, this game WILL sell heavily, and undoubtedly outsell Battlefield 3, But its down to a few reasons, the level of marketing this series goes to, to ensure its the most anticipated game of the year is unparalleled. The demographic of the game is probably 70% under 18s.. which is honestly amazing seen as the game is rated 18, but it also means that the majority of the Call of Duty followers are easily impressionable, and gullible children, therefore they just follow the trend.

    Branding will only take them so far, and this year its evident that Battlefield has raised the bar and surpassed the entire CoD series with astonishing gameplay, fantastic lag free online, unrivalled diversity and brilliant graphics. Seriously where is the appeal of MW3?

    I know the reviewers will give MW3 a high score because theyre biased as **** and paid massively to do so, User scores have spoke, MW3 is the biggest fail of the year, its roughly the same game that was released 2 years ago with subtle changes trying to mask the underlying disappointment. Anyway game where somebody can jump off a building, do about 20 spins, and no scope somebody without dying is lets face it, a joke. You know what would happen if somebody tried that on battlefield? Theyd just get run over in a tank and laughed at. Seriously Activision, its time to wake up, come see the real world and leave the kids behind.
    Expand
  41. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    A brilliant game, that, with the minute exception of a slight graphical degrade, trumps BF3 in every respect. The campaign is lengthy, and well worth playing, with a very interesting story capable of serving as a conclusion to a brilliant trilogy as well as a stand alone title, so newcomers don't feel at all confused. The gameplay has been refined to an inch of its life and you'll find here the sleekest shooter experience available on any platform. Multiplayer returns with an aplomb, and its the best in the series, bringing back everything we love with a sleuth of new maps and new game modes, as well as teaks and spins on the classic CoD MP formula that do nothing but enhance the experience and shake off any feelings of, "haven't I been playing this for the last two years". Then there's the Spec. Ops, a host of new missions that are frustratingly difficult and incomparably satisfying to complete that'll have you and a friend entertained for hours on end, there's also a neat variation on Spec. Ops known as survival, which is essentially a mix between Zombies (BlOps) and Horde (GoW3), (and by Horde, I mean a version of Horde that doesn't suck balls). Overall, the greatest standard FPS of this console generation, and a must buy for anyone who wants a game that'll last them for months on end. And a personal message to everyone, I'm not a COD fanboy, and i don't hate BF3, in fact, you'll see I've given it an "8", which given the fact that its a $90 game that's only real claim to fame is a decent multiplayer, I think is quite a generous score. Also thanks BF Fanboys for rendering this user review section useless with your completely unbalanced reviews, I hope you feel you've done your duty you half-wited **** Expand
  42. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Hello Modern Warfare 2.5... Feeling like someone re-boxed an old mission pack addon for MW2 somewhat. Other than some slightly polished graphical updates, it's all same 'ol, same 'ol so far... disappointed with the whole game.
  43. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I like the multiplayer, but the game doesn't cost what it cost, another year, same CoD, poor graphics. poor narration. It's just like the same Michael Bay's movie every year.
  44. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Contrary to popular belief I am not a BF3 troll here to slander MW3, I am a Call of Duty fan who has been let down again. I loved MW and was even a fan of MW2, got hyped by black ops and was slightly let down but at least black ops was different. MW3 is a cut and paste of MW2 with a scope that flops over and a few new perks. I have been extremely disappointed by this glorified $60 map pack and will be selling this lemon party, in order to put money towards something better... like paying a tranny to punch me in the nuts. Expand
  45. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Well, this game is complete garbage. Wish I didn't preorder... This is a disgrace to FPS. If you played one, you've played them all. Same thing. I had high expectations and was completely disappointed
  46. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    Uh.... Hear me out lol. This isnt because of some fanboy thing. Truly, considering the roughly 500 developers, that they would pull through. make it better you know? Of course, the campaign still hits you dead on; its fun and stuff, but its the same thing. The multiplayer is.... wrong. The gun perspectives look strange, animations are stale, and the sounds are horrible. Elite isnt revolutionary enough to need a whole team behind it. Expect the exact same game, with similar animations etc. I guess you could say that you will pay to keep playing MW2 with a new campaign and weapons. DLC material. Too short, a little lacklustre. Dont believe the reviews, I reckon that they are payed and they kind of tricked me. I knew this was coming and i got it cheap but I still feel a little wronged . Of course, I still have BF3 to keep me busy, but expect similar problems (except with multi and coop, they are flawless) but the campaign was a ltittle strange. I wont elaborate on the IW engine and the Frostbite 2 one, because this is not a rant, although i dont give details. The IW engine is borderline ok; it still looks fine, and there is a clear 60fps being consistent , but it shows that its a bad effort, as the swift controls and user friendly design was done badly on MW3.
    Look at the user reviews; take away around a quarter from pos and neg and you get rid of the fanboy crap. Still its bad. Activision knew that this would happen, considering Black ops had also bombed in actual worthiness so they hyped up MW3 with advertising and paying off reviewers eh.
    Expect a **** of kids who will infuriate you with obviously better guns. Expect to be screaming at the tubers and cheap deaths. Instead of ridding the MW franchise of the stupid kids its embellished it. If you love to the point that its all you talked about on Nov 7, buy it, Otherwise dont. It couldve been so much more, but it wasnt. (I bought this on the pc but its the same.) Kids will flood it, ruin it, but if you are 12 go nuts.
    Expand
  47. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    the fact of the matter is you shouldnt say something about a game that you know little about and havent played it but after 5 years of COD being the same thing over and over again and once myself being a fan... it has finally gotten to the point where its been enough... Black Ops was the last straw and itself was a decent game at the time but it finally got me thinking that you shouldnt expect anything new from this Franchise because it will continue to be the repetitive, re copied, re pasted, and re disappointment. If running around, shooting mindlessly, screaming at 12 year olds, creating the same class you made for the last 5 years, and prestiging your life away... then sure this is your game Expand
  48. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I created a metacritic account just to review this terrible game. The more I play it the more I hate it. I am a long time COD player, played MW, MW2, and black ops all to prestige. The maps and spawning system are terrible in this one though. The maps are all dozens of narrow passages crisscrossing each other so you are constantly getting shot in the side and back, add to that the new spawning system and it is impossible to play this game with any sort of tactics. You cant clear an area and then feel confident the enemies will be ahead of you they will just spawn behind you and come at you from one of 6 different angles. Activision shouldn't have been greedy and fired the people that made these games good. I wont be buying another COD game until something drastic changes. Expand
  49. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    I've played through the singleplayer and enough hours of the multiplayer to get a good idea of what the game is like.

    The singleplayer is terrible, like all of the recent games, but with an even sillier plot. This is forgivable however - who plays this game for the singleplayer?

    The multiplayer... well... its the exact same thing as the previous two. And to be honest, I'm sick of it.
    Sure the previous games were good, but you can only play so much of it before getting bored. Infinity Ward could have at least TRIED to change things up but they didn't. And I feel ripped off for paying full price for it, something like this should be an expansion or DLC or something. It doesn't justify purchasing a new game. Expand
  50. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    I remember when a sequel to a game meant innovation. I remember when developers were judged based on innovation in addition to the quality of the game. Mw3 is a structurally solid game, and why shouldn't it be, it is the same formula since call of duty 4. So while the mechanics work well, they offer nothing new. It is the same game as black ops with a new coat of paint , and some new maps. There is nothing new here, If you are looking for a fresh experience then look somewhere else. If you are looking for the same familiar multiplayer you love from the series , than just save your money and go back to black ops. Heck, You can go farther back and buy Call of Duty 4 for even less! The game is simply a cash in , plain and simple. Expand
  51. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    A pathetic rehash of a game everyone has played at least 4 times already. This game is absolutely terrible in every way conceivable, from the short, terrible campaign to the rehashed, overdone multiplayer. 0/10
  52. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    A completely unoriginal update to the franchise, it uses the same engine the same graphics and the same run and gun game play with hardly anything different. It has been like this ever since modern warfare came out, just a new game every year with nothing but different guns. I am tired of this and would love some fresh blood into the series.
  53. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    This was simply an over-hyped expansion pack. Many of the things I felt Black Ops did well seem to have been ditched as they essentially took MW2, added a few new things, and called it a new game entirely. I bought this only to hold me until Skyrim's release and sadly I'm going to return it before Skyrim and continue playing Batman.
  54. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    A 4 hour campaign, lack of innovation, old engine, recycled models, textures, sound files and the gameplay is the same as in MW2. If you look at it as a game for itself, it isn't bad, but if you look at it as the third game of the MW series, which it is, then it's just a damn expensive update.
  55. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Save yourself $60 and play the Call of Duty game you already have! This game should just be sold as a MW2 expansion pack. The game literally reuses textures and models from past CoD games... including CoD4.
  56. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The game is great!!There are waaay too many trolls on this site!!If you dont like CoD dont buy it,for that matter,dont even play it.Im enjoying this game a lot,one of the best to come out this year,right next to Gears 3,and Deus Ex!!
  57. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Wow. Just wow. At the time of this writing, MW3 has garnered an average of 3.2 from Meta users. I understand that CoD is the biggest series in the world and thus millions of people are going to swear they hate it, but come on guys. MW3 is not a "bad" game. It doesn't deserve props for being new or exciting, it gets no credit for being above and beyond what MW2 is, but at the end of the day, what were we expecting? This game is so widespread that Activision could have forced the developers to start completely from scratch and make a new kind of CoD and people would still find reasons to hate it. The fact of it is, CoD outsells itself as the highest-selling game of all time year after year, and that's for a reason. The vocal haters of CoD are in the minority, by far. Activision knows that, and they now that they are guaranteed money if they just tweak the formula and offer players *just* enough incentive to come back. Seeing as how most of the millions upon millions of gamers to buy MW3 will be casuals who want nothing but a game to play in their spare time, that idea makes sense. I was a huge CoD4:MW fan, and my interest in the series has diminished (as is the case with many of you) over the past few installments. I've been playing MW3 but won't buy it for myself for a long time. But let's not be disingenuous: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is not a bad game, it just isn't an exciting or completely new experience. It doesn't deserve a "0," it doesn't deserve a "10," it's just another typical shooter in the over-populated shooter market. Expand
  58. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    played this for a few hours now with a friend we both have mw 1+2... he loves it because its more of the same.. i don't for exactly same reason . trading standards should be able to intervene on what is basically redrawn graphics.... i cannot for life of me understand why people fall for it ? interesting too after playing both this and bf3 that the journo's praise mw3 for the single player in which bf3 is VERY similar yet freely criticised !! somethin stinks if u ask me !! at least the journo's will have a nice xmas...
    should have been dlc for say 15-20 pound... just cannot see how activision can justify any more....
    can hear the cash cow moo from here..... disappointing
    Expand
  59. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    I'm really struggling to enjoy this game. For $60 I'm playing a near identical experience Call of Duty has offered for the past 5 years. The evolution, new additions and gameplay aren't there for me, and that's disappointing.

    The game is solid from a graphic and gameplay standpoint. If you've never played a COD game, this is the most refined. If you've played a COD game before, save your
    $60 and continue on with your current version. Expand
  60. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Got this last night and have been having a blast ever since. Improves upon MW2 in every possible way. I'll be playing this for a long, long, long, long time.
  61. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Don't believe the marketing hype, this is the same product rebundled let it die and show investors we're not interested in being sold the same product year after year, the cash cow needs to starve.
  62. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    I'm not a fanboy from battlefield or any other FPS try to scorch MW3. I'm hardcore CoD supporter for the past few years. But to be honest, MW3 is really disappointing in term of both single player and MP mode. I still remember the hype I had when I played MW2, but I get tired even just half of the MW3 campaign. Everything is just repacked from MW2. The new perk system and killstreak system is the only good thing in MP. Biggest issues in MP3 is the map design. All map feel very similar, small, maze-like, cage-like. Every map feel the same. There is no defense line you can set up with your teammate, you have to run all the time and whoever get faster reflex and better connection win the gun fight. I know IW try to remove camper as much as possible. But the removal of the strategic play only makes MW3 MP like a cheap arcade shooter. Expand
  63. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    Welcome to Modern Warfare 2.5 is what the title screen should say. I was hoping they would improve on Modern Warfare 2, but it seems like they have taken a few steps backwards. The campaign is short, I beat it on Veteran difficulty in around 5 hours. The story has a few wow moments, but nothing like Modern Warfare 2. The spec ops survival is just another horde knock off, but is somewhat entertaining. Now for the worst part, the multiplayer. The maps have no direction and just seem like they've been thrown together. The hit detection is extremely horrible. Explosions have been nerfed, quick scoping has returned for what seems like the target age range for this game 8-12 year olds. I have had this game for 3 days and have 1 hour multiplayer play time because I am so disgusted with it. If you want an amazing first person shooter that is realistic and extremely fun to play, go pick up Battlefield 3 and let this game collect dust on the store shelves. Expand
  64. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The game is exactly what was expected. I guarantee that if Activision/Sledgehammer/Infinity Ward changed the game, there would be more people pissing and moaning about how they preferred it before and that they shouldn't have changed what was not broken...blah blah blah. Somebody call a "whaa-mbulance". The game provides a continuation of a series, not an entirely new game.
    As the gaming
    industry progresses, gamers will undoubtedly continue to **** about how they are let down by publishers and developers and how they disappointed they are with their new releases. Well you bought it, why don't you try enjoying it, or go back to your Angry Birds, oh wait, Angry Birds Seasons is the same as the previous version, what a gyp... sod off.
    The game is enjoyable and can definitely pass the time. It does possess all the same characteristics that made you buy the previous versions (shocker).
    Expand
  65. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    I am neither a CoD or BF fanboy - I happen to enjoy shooters of all stripes and have since the age of Wolf 3D. That said, it honestly baffles me how the CoD franchise can copy and paste every iteration and keep getting 9's. Any other franchise that would DARE copy and paste would be panned for being unoriginal, for copying past elements, and for generally not innovating between titles. And people wonder why "professional" reviewers are distrusted? |||| The sad reality of MW3 is that it looks and plays just like MW2 and Black Ops. There's little to no graphical difference between them, there's really no gameplay changes between them other than the renaming of some of the kill/death streaks. The AI is bad, the voice overs are bad, the maps are small and campy, et cetera. It's basically a carbon copy of MW2 and Black Ops. |||| Now I'm sure people will say "the game was perfect and sold millions so they don't need to change anything". To say the game was perfect is hubris of the highest order though no one can dispute that it sold millions. However, consider, in the same time frame, that Epic Games continually tweaked UE3 for the Gears franchise, making each one richer than the previous, DICE brought out a new engine this generation for BFBC2 and BF3, and Bungie modified the Halo 2 engine for H3 and ODST while making an entirely new engine for Halo: Reach. But Call of Duty? To quote one of its own callsigns: S.S.D.D. I don't think it's too unreasonable to ask for at least a new engine and some better graphics after all these years, even if they leave the core gameplay the same. |||| The game is enjoyable but it's AVERAGE. The engine and the gameplay style show their ages. I honestly would be hard pressed to recommend MW3 to someone who is still having fun with MW2 or Black Ops because they'd just be spending money to get the same experience they already have. |||| (PS. Metacritic, when can we get carriage returns for our reviews so they're not big walls of text?) Expand
  66. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    Don't get me wrong, this game is a ton of fun to play. My problem is that they're making me spend $60 on whats supposed to be a new game. When it's really the same game but with some added goodies. You can argue that "zelda and mario follow this same repetitive style". And yes, that is somewhat accurate, but they do something new and fresh in everyone of those games that makes you like every single one of their games because they're different from one another. With Call of Duty, you're always liking the newest one the best because they just keep barely building on to the same thing. Expand
  67. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Gotta love people coming on here saying MW3 is simply the same ol game ( everybody hates what is on top ).. Call of duty is the best because all they have to do is refine the multiplayer just abit every year to keep it on top of the competition. Simply put the single player is the best story you will get with a fps, while it may not be quite on par with games like TES series it is still an awesome experience. The multiplayer is more fun then ever before! the gameplay is by far the smoothest around, Battlefield 3 is a great game but Call of duty just takes the cake once again Expand
  68. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Now that all the midnight trolls are off the forums... This game expanded upon a very successful predecessor. For everyone saying its the same as MW2, what do you think a sequel is? Most sequels are like the previous game. BF3 is like BF2 except they stray away from bad company to an elite team to compete with CoD. Uncharted 3 is like uncharted 2 but with a new story. The call of duty series is for more fast pace action where battlefield is for more strategic spaced out action. The gameplay is completely different an it is soley personal preference which style you prefer. For me I like to mix it up and think both games are outstanding. Expand
  69. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Call of Duty has a good thing going and is wise not to reinvent the wheel every iteration. There is a lot of strength in starting with a fantastic game and making it better. Starting from scratch with new tech, new engine, new assets,etc, never goes the way you'd expect and you end up spending lots of time just getting **** to work. Polish is key. These guys did just that... The game is polished and tight. Read the professional reviews. I've so far agreed with most of their comments. And I've not red one yet that seems insincere. I think they're legit. These negative user reviews are all haters. Expand
  70. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game is dangerous, will leave you without sleep for many hours... been just amazing sofar (9 hours straight) and still does not fail to surprise in both scenes and gameplay.
  71. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I love this game. All of these haters are BF3 fans that can't stand to admit that MW3 is better in every single way. I have both games and MW3 blows BF3 away. It's the truth. If you enjoy shooters you have to try this game.
  72. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game may not exactly break new ground, but it's polished and smooth--which is what we've come to expect from Call of Duty. And until Metacritic wakes up and realizes they need to filter the fanboy hate with these ratings, I'm forced to give this high rating to balance out the clearly fraudulent "zero" ratings on here.
  73. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The most polished gameplay shooter I have ever played, the weapons balance is perfect, the multiplayer is addicting, obviously the main objective was invest on polishment, it pays each euro.
  74. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    These scores mean nothing so I might as well donate my 10 to the mix. Hey 0's, go play BF and quit complaining about a game that you are biased against from the beginning. I didn't go give BF a 0 because I like COD because I'm not a petty child.
  75. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Same gameplay, same graphics, same sound, and the worst same multiplayer, i prefer battlefield 3, its a much better game in all aspects, and i love the multiplayer in that game.
    No es que el juego sea del todo malo, pero es exactamente lo mismo que los anteriores, la campaña no esta tan mal, exageradisima eso si, pero el multijugador me parece estupido, repetitivo, solo
    correr y disparar como loco, y a años luz del gran multijugador de battlefield, trabajo en equipo, estrategia, mapas enormes y mucho mejores graficos (basta con comparar Paris en ambos juegos) y sonido soberbio. Expand
  76. Nov 8, 2011
    6
    It's hard, really. On one side you have a formula polished over and over, movie-like singleplayer campaign, addicting multiplayer. On the opposite side you feel like you've been here before a dozen times, it's the thing dressed with a higher number and a few new perks. This series requires a bit of amnesia from you. If you can provide that and treat every new installment to the series like something completely new - you'll like it. But if you've spent your time with CoD, there are only two possible options: a) you'll love it like all previous episodes of the CoD franchise b) you'll yawn after 5 minutes and then turn the game off. I, unfortunately, am in the second group Expand
  77. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Now all the BF3 fan boys will buy this game and make this the best selling game of all time. BF3 was a letdown. Even their honest fans know it. Terrible campaign, over hyped multiplayer to go with it. See you at Modern warfare 3 lobby fan boys.
  78. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    Went to a bud's house and tried it out to see if I should buy it before I get the MW3 Xbox off lay away. I was overall disappointed with the game. Not enough change to justify buying it prior to getting it with the system. And even then I will probably just play it as a change of pace from other games that I have.

    Was once a fan of the franchise but, just as the Gran Turismo series,
    COD is just setting back and raking in the cash from the sheep.......it either needs a re-boot or to just go away. Expand
  79. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Hackers all time fav game of 2011!! here is a video after 24 hrs of relese http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZAeWAhMGD6E
    here is a video after 48 hrs of elese http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ed0CBHq9JU

    Hope u are a EPIC hacker if u want to play online Worst i have ever been ripped off 60$ got home got shot thru the wall's ty allot Activison i will pre order your next game NOT ROFL .
  80. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    The single player and the special ops add depth and value to the overall package. The multi-player experience is where this package stands out, it will leave you addicted for months especially with call of duty elite and the vast amount of information it offers. The new modes also make it a worthwhile game.
  81. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    What's up with all the review bombers on here? Metacritic ratings are completely irrelevant and CoD: MW3 is the exact reason why. Nobody cares if you bought and loved Battlefield 3, and nobody cares if you bought and Hated the last CoD game. Stop bombing Metacritic ratings trying to influence scores based on never having played the game. Yes, the game is generally the same gameplay as the previous Call of Duty games. That's the reason it sells so damn many copies: A lot of people like what it offers. If you're not one of those people, fine. Find an alternative game and stick with it. You don't have to troll review sites to try to force other people to think like you do. I'm seeing a list of reviewers who apparently didn't like the last CoD but still bought MW3. HELLO?? it's your own fault you were dumb enough to continue to buy something you hate. You don't constantly go to McDonald's when you hate Hamburgers, do you?? Then dont buy games that aren't your style. Nuff said. Anyone looking for objective reviews I would suggest skipping Metacritic completely and just rent the game yourself. if you like it buy it, if not then return it. Simple as that. Expand
  82. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    2 years in development and infinity ward gave us this piece of crap.story mode is fine but the multyplayer is junk.This franchise is starting to go the same way every activision franchise have gone."innovation" they took a crap cake and put crap frosting on it.
  83. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    So many trolls, all i can say is gtfo and go play your own game? i've played all of the cod instalments through the years, I actually started from 2nd. The gameplay may be by the same engine and what not, but this does not mean that it's just the same cereal in different packaging. There's been implementations of a variety of new weapons, weapons level system, mods, modes, killstreaks and so much more, that it's not the same as previous installments. How would you like to make it different? make it real life? i'm sorry but unfortunately the worlds already in such a state, and you trolls aren't helping it's cause. Expand
  84. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Does it feel like mw2? yes, does it feel like dlc..a little. Is it the same fun and consistency you expect fomr cod yes. 60 bucks a year for new maps and new features seems fair to me, I think it is just "cool" to hate on this game right now.
  85. Nov 8, 2011
    6
    Reviews of this game on Metacritic are HORRIBLY biased from a fanboy point of view. Being a fan of all first person shooter games, I feel that I am eligible to post to valid review of the game. Campaign: The campaign is fantastic. It meets all expectations of the game, and more. The story is very refreshed and is NOT a 'rehash' of other games in the series. 10/10. Multiplayer: I do not feel I can review the Multiplayer as of yet as I have not played it enough. Expect a further review of the multiplayer on a later date.

    Engine/Graphics: Although the engine and graphics of this game do not meet those of a certain competitor in the FPS genre, they are still much better than some on the market, and again, are no where near as bad as have been suggested. Although it is disappointing that the graphics could not be improved, the engine is still better (in my eyes) than the same certain competitor. This is because of the very nice, crisp sound that is a huge improvement over both IW 4.0 and Black Ops' varient 3.0. 8/10

    Gameplay:

    Now this is where I believe the game REALLY stands out. The gameplay of Call of Duty, especially this installment (which has gone back to the trademark gameplay of COD4) is usually fantastic. The AI is well polished and MUCH better than a certain competitor on the market and you actually become attached to the characters that you play as. 10/10

    Overall, I give the game 9.5/10, which I will round to 10/10 in order to combat the obviously fanboy-esque reviews of the game.

    If you want to verify that I am not a 'fanboy' myself, please see my other reviews of both Call of Duty and Battlefield installments. This game DOES NOT deserve 2.8 (at this time of writing), and you if you've played it you know that.
    Expand
  86. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Modern Warfare 3 is an excellent game and one of the most enjoyable FPS games I have played, especially online. I wanted to start off with the verdict on this game as there seems to be a lot of negative feeling towards it, a lot of which appear to have no substance. Is MW3 similar to previous Call of Duty (CoD) games? Yes. Is this a bad thing? No. Once again the single player experience is decidedly short, probably no more than six hours, and delivers the usual array of intense gun battles and jaw dropping set-pieces that have become the norm for the CoD series. The visuals have been polished from previous entries in the series, although these aren't groundbreaking improvements, and there are also significant improvements in the sound department also. The real reason why anyone forks out their cash for a FPS, be it Battlefield or CoD, is for the multiplayer experience and once again CoD delivers in a big way. The variety of maps available is very good and the new focus of finding a preferred gun and developing it is an interesting new feature that allows the player t refine their online style. The new pointstreak system is also an excellent system and is much more welcoming for newer player to the series. When I first got into the online gaming experience with MW2 it took me quite a while to build up the skill to be able to effectively use killstreaks and I would've welcomed this feature when I was first starting out! My favourite new addition to the multiplayer experience this year has to be the Kill Confirmed game mode. The added pressure of having to round up dog tags following your kill makes for a frantic experience, and popping a grenade into a room full of camping enemies and collecting all those tags for yourself is a very satisfying experience! It's important to note that the frenetic online multiplayer experience has always been the charm of CoD for many people, including myself, and people need to realise it is perfectly acceptable for BF3 and MW3 to be very different and both excellent at the same time. I personally don't find the large maps and style of online play in Battlefield as exhilarating as the quick CQC in CoD, but nonetheless it is an excellent online experience. But if fast paced, adrenaline pumping online play is your thing MW3 is a must have game and will certainly keep you entertained for many months to come! Expand
  87. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Wow. I can understand a game like Fifa, which is simply trying to simulate a simple concept of 22 men kicking a ball around a field only making marginal improvements year on year, its not like they've got license to change the rules of the game. This is not the case with COD. It can do whatever it likes, leap from time zone to time zone, country to country - limited only by the dev team's imagination. Sadly it would appear they don't have one. All the irritating comment bleating about how MW3 was going to be a copy and paste rehash have been proved entirely correct. I'm ashamed to say I bothered to go out at midnight to join the masses and snaffle this up but after 2 days of trying to love it I'll be headed back to BF3 for my fix of variety, freshness, tactics and creativity. Poor show Infinity Ward, you just lost a big fan. Expand
  88. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game is fantastic, Infinity Ward have done an excellent job in ironing out all of the flaws and annoyances in MW2 and Black Ops, and created the perfect sequel to MW2.
  89. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    Absolute rubbish! Patches do nothing to improve it! Multiplayer is poor. lag, campers, overpowered shot guns, bad hit detection, hackers, aimbots! List goes on and on! I'm never buying a CoD game ever again, RIP CoD!!! The dev's really dont care unless they are making $$$$$
  90. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    I thought mw2 was pretty good but mw3 does absolutely nothing to progress the franchise, in fact it actually took a step back. The guns don't handle as well though the sound is better, the maps are overly complicated, claustrophobic and lack any sort of landmarks or locations for the most part to make them memorable or easy to navigate. The leveling system is a nice change and the guns seem to have a better natural progression as you get the higher level ones but the maps are so tight and the game paced so quickly that SMGs seem to be the weapon of choice for most people. Quick-scoping is back and better than ever to appeal to the 11 year olds, noob tubing got the nerf bat along with all explosives, grenade kills are way harder to come by even if you're practically sitting on the grenade. The engine at a whole feels dated and although I'm not a stickler for graphics there doesn't seem much of an improvement here. The game as a whole feels uninspired and dated, and can get extremely frustrating, especially when out of 16 or so maps, you only look forward to playing 3 or 4 at most. The whole game feels as though it could've just been a huge DLC for MW2. They probably should've used all that Jonah Hill and Sam Worthington money to build a new engine and hire some new map developers. Expand
  91. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Sad. This game came out in 2009, I mean 2011. Same engine as a game 2 years ago. Nothing new, nothing fresh. Oh wait different maps. This game could have been a map pack, instead of a 60 dollar game. Graphics Suck!
    Weapons are "ok"
    Sound sucks
    "elite" is broken
  92. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Same old recycled, copy and pasted game with very few changes. My review would match the major reviewer's scores, but unfortunately, Activision isn't paying me to do so. Save your money for something better folks.
  93. Dec 30, 2011
    6
    I was mad at first because a lot of reviews were written by people paid by the bf3 staff, a game that is unpolished and inferior by comparison. HOWEVER... Several issues make this game inferior to past call of duty offerings:

    1) Claustraphobia/Poor Maps - the maps are all claustrophobic, have few if any interesting cover/sniper points, rarely anything you can climb on etc. It's as if
    they were designed in 15 minutes with no regard for anything. To make matters worse, spray cannon weapons can be accurate with the new anti-kick weapon specialization, almost eliminating the use of precision high damage weapons like sniper rifles. Anything resembling a snipers nest is easily accessible from 3 different directions guaranteeing you will get snuck up on and killed after 1 or 2 kills. 2) Widespread hacking - not IW's fault but a lot of people are using wall hacks that tell where enemies are behind walls. These are not blatant hacks, but ones that make people look like they are playing legitimately until you watch their kill cam and see them tracking people perfectly through walls. 3) Poor netcode - perhaps not as bad or Black ops (or about as bad) this game uses the noob friendly netcode where you will often find yourself getting killed AFTER you run behind cover, or killed BEFORE the person who is shooting you even comes around the corner on your screen. Generally speaking, just a noobified version of call of duty. Expand
  94. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Don't let the BF3 fan-boys deter you from buying the best Call of Duty title of this generation. To sum up MW3, think Modern Warfare 1 and 2 mixed together with added modes and gameplay to enhance the experience. If you love any Call of Duty game, you owe it to yourself to check this one out! This game will more than likely be Shooter of the Year, so go play and have fun...no need to compare it to BF3. Expand
  95. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    I am sick of people on Metacritic giving games a 0. REALLY a 0?? Get a life and go love your battlefield. Call of Duty MW3 is a great game, and a wonderful addition to the series. THERE has NEVER been Zombies in an infinity ward game so get educated and learn what companies are developing what games, and what they include.
  96. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Reading through all these reviews I remember not 16 hours ago reading on **** /v/ how they were going to "downvote the **** out of it" I was going to give this game a 8 but I'll give it a 10 since the number's are so skewed
  97. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    TINY MAPS. ZERO flow, ZERO strategy involved WHATSOEVER. People running around like chickens with their heads cut off spraying, dying, respawning OVER AND OVER. At least every previous COD title had solid maps that offered some balance. Hell, I'd be content with an identical game if the maps were such crap. Once the game starts, its a straight up free for all regardless of the game-mode you're in. I don't know why they even include any game mode besides DEATHMATCH because thats all it is. Expand
  98. srp
    Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I've played all MW incarnations extensively and this is the finest overall.

    A really tight campaign with only a couple of minor blemishes and the usual immaculate high standard MP experience. Add in Spec Ops and you have a fantastic package.

    The best MW experience to date - a must buy.
  99. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I made an account just to say all the negative reviews are just from BF3 fanboys or people who are convinced CoD2 was the last good CoD

    MW3 plays nothing like MW2, the pace the games run at is completely different, the perks and weaponry works in completely new ways which does make the game play a lot different. The maps are of different size to previous CoD's and the gameplay I would say
    is improved in every aspect.

    Survival is kick ass fun and the campaign owns
    Expand
  100. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    After all the feedback from the community.....still no Dinosaurs. We asked for Dinosaurs. We want Dinosaurs. We SHALL have Dinosaurs! Reddit commands it.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.