Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Xbox 360

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8720 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    5
    I've played this game for a year and I've finally made up my mind about it. I really want to like this game, and it isn't an awful game, but hell, is it frustrating, the maps could've been better, the weapons are okay, the killstreaks are good, and the perks are okay (if not some are a bit overpowered,) however, it annoys me that they haven't really gone anywhere with the game from MW2,I've played this game for a year and I've finally made up my mind about it. I really want to like this game, and it isn't an awful game, but hell, is it frustrating, the maps could've been better, the weapons are okay, the killstreaks are good, and the perks are okay (if not some are a bit overpowered,) however, it annoys me that they haven't really gone anywhere with the game from MW2, the graphics are pretty much the same, the only thing they've really developed are the killstreaks, it's basically just replaying MW2, their new games are alright, however they seem to be let down by the flaws, a prime example of this is infected, this should be a great game, however it's disappointing due to the terrible spawning, inaccurate knifing (my friend knifed forward and hit someone behind him) and even throwing knives are sometimes dodgy, this game should be good, but it was a lazy move from infinity ward, and I hope that they actually go somewhere for BO2 because this is just a cash in, to sum up, the game doesn't take any steps forward, and the flaws are so annoying, it'll make many gamers frustrated, I wish I'd saved my money while I could of Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    Honestly, I don't know how the critics hold this game in such high esteem. It should be sold at half the retail price as it is essentially an expansion to MW2. As a COD fan, I am disappointed that Infinity Ward didn't do more with this. It's almost like they know that we will buy their games and just ignore the fact that it's like we are buying a second copy of MW2. I'm sorry Infinity WardHonestly, I don't know how the critics hold this game in such high esteem. It should be sold at half the retail price as it is essentially an expansion to MW2. As a COD fan, I am disappointed that Infinity Ward didn't do more with this. It's almost like they know that we will buy their games and just ignore the fact that it's like we are buying a second copy of MW2. I'm sorry Infinity Ward but I think Dice weren't wrong when they said that Battlefield 3 was made to rival the COD franchise, as it certainly brings more to the table than MW3. Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    Don't get me wrong, this game is a ton of fun to play. My problem is that they're making me spend $60 on whats supposed to be a new game. When it's really the same game but with some added goodies. You can argue that "zelda and mario follow this same repetitive style". And yes, that is somewhat accurate, but they do something new and fresh in everyone of those games that makes you likeDon't get me wrong, this game is a ton of fun to play. My problem is that they're making me spend $60 on whats supposed to be a new game. When it's really the same game but with some added goodies. You can argue that "zelda and mario follow this same repetitive style". And yes, that is somewhat accurate, but they do something new and fresh in everyone of those games that makes you like every single one of their games because they're different from one another. With Call of Duty, you're always liking the newest one the best because they just keep barely building on to the same thing. Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    I remember when a sequel to a game meant innovation. I remember when developers were judged based on innovation in addition to the quality of the game.

    Mw3 is a structurally solid game, and why shouldn't it be, it is the same formula since call of duty 4. So while the mechanics work well, they offer nothing new. It is the same game as black ops with a new coat of paint , and some new
    I remember when a sequel to a game meant innovation. I remember when developers were judged based on innovation in addition to the quality of the game.

    Mw3 is a structurally solid game, and why shouldn't it be, it is the same formula since call of duty 4. So while the mechanics work well, they offer nothing new. It is the same game as black ops with a new coat of paint , and some new maps. There is nothing new here, If you are looking for a fresh experience then look somewhere else , maybe buy an indi game. If you are looking for the same familiar multiplayer you love from the series , than just save your money and go back to black ops. The game is simply a cash in , pure and simple.
    Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    Nothing really new to the series if you played the cod of the past pretty much you played this game. It's not a bad game just seems like they went through the usual cod checklist from last 6 years of putting these games out. I wouldn't pay $60 for this game. Multiplayer seems pretty much the same as last few games of the series and the same old formula for the single player shoot mob ofNothing really new to the series if you played the cod of the past pretty much you played this game. It's not a bad game just seems like they went through the usual cod checklist from last 6 years of putting these games out. I wouldn't pay $60 for this game. Multiplayer seems pretty much the same as last few games of the series and the same old formula for the single player shoot mob of enemies move forward down a liner path to next checkpoint rinse and repeat seems to plaque this series well fps in general this genre need some fresh ideas or will be doomed. I mean there are some new ideas but nothing that going to give you the wow factor back when most people played the original cod mw. I think I'll pass this one up i need more substance in my fps. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    I'm not a fanboy from battlefield or any other FPS try to scorch MW3. I'm hardcore CoD supporter for the past few years. But to be honest, MW3 is really disappointing in term of both single player and MP mode. I still remember the hype I had when I played MW2, but I get tired even just half of the MW3 campaign. Everything is just repacked from MW2. The new perk system and killstreak systemI'm not a fanboy from battlefield or any other FPS try to scorch MW3. I'm hardcore CoD supporter for the past few years. But to be honest, MW3 is really disappointing in term of both single player and MP mode. I still remember the hype I had when I played MW2, but I get tired even just half of the MW3 campaign. Everything is just repacked from MW2. The new perk system and killstreak system is the only good thing in MP. Biggest issues in MP3 is the map design. All map feel very similar, small, maze-like, cage-like. Every map feel the same. There is no defense line you can set up with your teammate, you have to run all the time and whoever get faster reflex and better connection win the gun fight. I know IW try to remove camper as much as possible. But the removal of the strategic play only makes MW3 MP like a cheap arcade shooter. Expand
  7. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    Came here because I read Glen Schofield was asking people to post honest reviews. I loved Call of Duty 4, loved World at War (Even though Treyarch made it), loved Modern Warfare 2 (Before the glitchers and hackers got ahold of it), absolutely detested Black Ops (Retarded single player story), and was really looking forward to Modern Warfare 3. I love it and at the same time I'm not tooCame here because I read Glen Schofield was asking people to post honest reviews. I loved Call of Duty 4, loved World at War (Even though Treyarch made it), loved Modern Warfare 2 (Before the glitchers and hackers got ahold of it), absolutely detested Black Ops (Retarded single player story), and was really looking forward to Modern Warfare 3. I love it and at the same time I'm not too fond of it. Sure the single player story isn't perfect, but I really enjoyed it and how it ended the story arc. I was a little bit disappointed on the multiplayer aspect of the game. I still can't believe that after so many years IW refuses to use dedicated servers for consoles and relies on the asinie P2P hosting. I am so sick of the whole I shot first but when I watch the kill cam, no rounds came out of my weapon and the other person got the kill because they have the faster connection. Also, the maps seem very claustrophobic compared to the other Modern Warfare games. Like Black Ops, there aren't many sniper friendly maps. AND QUICKSCOPING! Why has that been brought back? It has to be the most annoying feature I have ever seen. It does not make you a badass player. It just makes you an annoying prick who relies on the aim assist because you suck at aiming down the sights. I really hope IW monitors this game and does not let hacking overrun it like COD4 and MW2. I really hope the new maps coming out are less claustrophobic and more along the vein of COD4 and MW2. I'm sorry but this will be the last Call of Duty game I purchase and if Infinity Ward doesn't step up their game, then this will probably be the last Call of Duty game for a lot of people. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD INFINITY WARD! GO BACK AND FIX CALL OF DUTY 4'S MULTIPLAYER! FOR ONCE I WOULD LIKE TO GO BACK TO THAT GAME AND ENJOY A ROUND OF TEAM DEATH MATCH WITHOUT BEING KILLED BY SOME DOUCHEBAG WHO IS GOING UNDERNEATH THE MAP OR USING WALLHACKS! Expand
  8. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    I am neither a CoD or BF fanboy - I happen to enjoy shooters of all stripes and have since the age of Wolf 3D. That said, it honestly baffles me how the CoD franchise can copy and paste every iteration and keep getting 9's. Any other franchise that would DARE copy and paste would be panned for being unoriginal, for copying past elements, and for generally not innovating between titles. AndI am neither a CoD or BF fanboy - I happen to enjoy shooters of all stripes and have since the age of Wolf 3D. That said, it honestly baffles me how the CoD franchise can copy and paste every iteration and keep getting 9's. Any other franchise that would DARE copy and paste would be panned for being unoriginal, for copying past elements, and for generally not innovating between titles. And people wonder why "professional" reviewers are distrusted? |||| The sad reality of MW3 is that it looks and plays just like MW2 and Black Ops. There's little to no graphical difference between them, there's really no gameplay changes between them other than the renaming of some of the kill/death streaks. The AI is bad, the voice overs are bad, the maps are small and campy, et cetera. It's basically a carbon copy of MW2 and Black Ops. |||| Now I'm sure people will say "the game was perfect and sold millions so they don't need to change anything". To say the game was perfect is hubris of the highest order though no one can dispute that it sold millions. However, consider, in the same time frame, that Epic Games continually tweaked UE3 for the Gears franchise, making each one richer than the previous, DICE brought out a new engine this generation for BFBC2 and BF3, and Bungie modified the Halo 2 engine for H3 and ODST while making an entirely new engine for Halo: Reach. But Call of Duty? To quote one of its own callsigns: S.S.D.D. I don't think it's too unreasonable to ask for at least a new engine and some better graphics after all these years, even if they leave the core gameplay the same. |||| The game is enjoyable but it's AVERAGE. The engine and the gameplay style show their ages. I honestly would be hard pressed to recommend MW3 to someone who is still having fun with MW2 or Black Ops because they'd just be spending money to get the same experience they already have. |||| (PS. Metacritic, when can we get carriage returns for our reviews so they're not big walls of text?) Expand
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    I can see where some of the criticism comes from. It does seem a lot like MW2.5 rather than MW3. I'm a little disappointed that it's pretty much a better version of the game we've already had for the past two years. Every COD game has been substantially better than the previous one. MW3 seems only SLIGHTLY better than Black Ops and MW2.
  10. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Without a fanboy rating I'll give this game what it deserves. The story is a joke, same **** as every year...just even more predictable cheese and effects. Details like the foreign cities where presented with lots of mistakes and even lots of spelling mistakes...embarrassing.
    the multiplayer is nothing new either.

    rent or pass
  11. Nov 8, 2011
    6
    It's hard, really. On one side you have a formula polished over and over, movie-like singleplayer campaign, addicting multiplayer. On the opposite side you feel like you've been here before a dozen times, it's the thing dressed with a higher number and a few new perks. This series requires a bit of amnesia from you. If you can provide that and treat every new installment to the series likeIt's hard, really. On one side you have a formula polished over and over, movie-like singleplayer campaign, addicting multiplayer. On the opposite side you feel like you've been here before a dozen times, it's the thing dressed with a higher number and a few new perks. This series requires a bit of amnesia from you. If you can provide that and treat every new installment to the series like something completely new - you'll like it. But if you've spent your time with CoD, there are only two possible options: a) you'll love it like all previous episodes of the CoD franchise b) you'll yawn after 5 minutes and then turn the game off. I, unfortunately, am in the second group Expand
  12. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    More of the same? Well yeah, obviously. There's new editions to the title like strike packages, survival mode, continuation of the story but they're not major. If you never liked Call of Duty, this won't change your mind. If you're like me and enjoy Call of Duty, then you will enjoy this. Simple as that.
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Wow. Just wow. At the time of this writing, MW3 has garnered an average of 3.2 from Meta users. I understand that CoD is the biggest series in the world and thus millions of people are going to swear they hate it, but come on guys. MW3 is not a "bad" game. It doesn't deserve props for being new or exciting, it gets no credit for being above and beyond what MW2 is, but at the end of theWow. Just wow. At the time of this writing, MW3 has garnered an average of 3.2 from Meta users. I understand that CoD is the biggest series in the world and thus millions of people are going to swear they hate it, but come on guys. MW3 is not a "bad" game. It doesn't deserve props for being new or exciting, it gets no credit for being above and beyond what MW2 is, but at the end of the day, what were we expecting? This game is so widespread that Activision could have forced the developers to start completely from scratch and make a new kind of CoD and people would still find reasons to hate it. The fact of it is, CoD outsells itself as the highest-selling game of all time year after year, and that's for a reason. The vocal haters of CoD are in the minority, by far. Activision knows that, and they now that they are guaranteed money if they just tweak the formula and offer players *just* enough incentive to come back. Seeing as how most of the millions upon millions of gamers to buy MW3 will be casuals who want nothing but a game to play in their spare time, that idea makes sense. I was a huge CoD4:MW fan, and my interest in the series has diminished (as is the case with many of you) over the past few installments. I've been playing MW3 but won't buy it for myself for a long time. But let's not be disingenuous: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is not a bad game, it just isn't an exciting or completely new experience. It doesn't deserve a "0," it doesn't deserve a "10," it's just another typical shooter in the over-populated shooter market. Expand
  14. Dec 30, 2011
    6
    I was mad at first because a lot of reviews were written by people paid by the bf3 staff, a game that is unpolished and inferior by comparison. HOWEVER... Several issues make this game inferior to past call of duty offerings:

    1) Claustraphobia/Poor Maps - the maps are all claustrophobic, have few if any interesting cover/sniper points, rarely anything you can climb on etc. It's as if
    I was mad at first because a lot of reviews were written by people paid by the bf3 staff, a game that is unpolished and inferior by comparison. HOWEVER... Several issues make this game inferior to past call of duty offerings:

    1) Claustraphobia/Poor Maps - the maps are all claustrophobic, have few if any interesting cover/sniper points, rarely anything you can climb on etc. It's as if they were designed in 15 minutes with no regard for anything. To make matters worse, spray cannon weapons can be accurate with the new anti-kick weapon specialization, almost eliminating the use of precision high damage weapons like sniper rifles. Anything resembling a snipers nest is easily accessible from 3 different directions guaranteeing you will get snuck up on and killed after 1 or 2 kills. 2) Widespread hacking - not IW's fault but a lot of people are using wall hacks that tell where enemies are behind walls. These are not blatant hacks, but ones that make people look like they are playing legitimately until you watch their kill cam and see them tracking people perfectly through walls. 3) Poor netcode - perhaps not as bad or Black ops (or about as bad) this game uses the noob friendly netcode where you will often find yourself getting killed AFTER you run behind cover, or killed BEFORE the person who is shooting you even comes around the corner on your screen. Generally speaking, just a noobified version of call of duty.
    Expand
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    6
    Reviews of this game on Metacritic are HORRIBLY biased from a fanboy point of view. Being a fan of all first person shooter games, I feel that I am eligible to post to valid review of the game.

    Campaign: The campaign is fantastic. It meets all expectations of the game, and more. The story is very refreshed and is NOT a 'rehash' of other games in the series. 10/10. Multiplayer: I do not
    Reviews of this game on Metacritic are HORRIBLY biased from a fanboy point of view. Being a fan of all first person shooter games, I feel that I am eligible to post to valid review of the game.

    Campaign:

    The campaign is fantastic. It meets all expectations of the game, and more. The story is very refreshed and is NOT a 'rehash' of other games in the series. 10/10.

    Multiplayer:

    I do not feel I can review the Multiplayer as of yet as I have not played it enough. Expect a further review of the multiplayer on a later date.

    Engine/Graphics: Although the engine and graphics of this game do not meet those of a certain competitor in the FPS genre, they are still much better than some on the market, and again, are no where near as bad as have been suggested. Although it is disappointing that the graphics could not be improved, the engine is still better (in my eyes) than the same certain competitor. This is because of the very nice, crisp sound that is a huge improvement over both IW 4.0 and Black Ops' varient 3.0. 8/10

    Gameplay:

    Now this is where I believe the game REALLY stands out. The gameplay of Call of Duty, especially this installment (which has gone back to the trademark gameplay of COD4) is usually fantastic. The AI is well polished and MUCH better than a certain competitor on the market and you actually become attached to the characters that you play as. 10/10

    Overall, I give the game 9.5/10, which I will round to 10/10 in order to combat the obviously fanboy-esque reviews of the game.

    If you want to verify that I am not a 'fanboy' myself, please see my other reviews of both Call of Duty and Battlefield installments. This game DOES NOT deserve 2.8 (at this time of writing), and you if you've played it you know that.
    Expand
  16. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Same gameplay, same graphics, same sound, and the worst same multiplayer, i prefer battlefield 3, its a much better game in all aspects, and i love the multiplayer in that game.
    No es que el juego sea del todo malo, pero es exactamente lo mismo que los anteriores, la campaña no esta tan mal, exageradisima eso si, pero el multijugador me parece estupido, repetitivo, solo
    Same gameplay, same graphics, same sound, and the worst same multiplayer, i prefer battlefield 3, its a much better game in all aspects, and i love the multiplayer in that game.
    No es que el juego sea del todo malo, pero es exactamente lo mismo que los anteriores, la campaña no esta tan mal, exageradisima eso si, pero el multijugador me parece estupido, repetitivo, solo correr y disparar como loco, y a años luz del gran multijugador de battlefield, trabajo en equipo, estrategia, mapas enormes y mucho mejores graficos (basta con comparar Paris en ambos juegos) y sonido soberbio.
    Expand
  17. Jan 31, 2012
    5
    On the multiplayer game I have one issue. They basically took the original system for earning attachments, and made it easier. You dont need headshots, just kills. I likes the original because it took skill to get headshots. Anybody can spray with a fully-auto assault rifle and kill. It takes skill to aim with that rifle and hit them in the head. The graphics? Great! The maps? Cool! ButOn the multiplayer game I have one issue. They basically took the original system for earning attachments, and made it easier. You dont need headshots, just kills. I likes the original because it took skill to get headshots. Anybody can spray with a fully-auto assault rifle and kill. It takes skill to aim with that rifle and hit them in the head. The graphics? Great! The maps? Cool! But honestly, the multiplayer is pretty much identical to CODMW2 Expand
  18. Jan 28, 2014
    6
    Kind of an ehh game, it's like a crappy version of mw2, infinity ward really messed up on this one. Not a horrible game, but not a game to get. .
  19. Jan 17, 2012
    6
    I dare say that most of the uber negative reviews on here were written by people who've logged 5 or more days in MW3's multiplayer alone. But, I digress. MW3 is a fine game with nothing inherently wrong with it. The problem with cod nowadays is not the games themselves, but the community. Having been a cod vet since 2006, I can categorically state that cod has, by far, the WORST communityI dare say that most of the uber negative reviews on here were written by people who've logged 5 or more days in MW3's multiplayer alone. But, I digress. MW3 is a fine game with nothing inherently wrong with it. The problem with cod nowadays is not the games themselves, but the community. Having been a cod vet since 2006, I can categorically state that cod has, by far, the WORST community in all of gaming. The community is selfish, lazy, stat-obsessive & far too shaped by Youtube. If you're looking for a skill based, objective oriented shooter, skip it, just move on down the aisle & find another title. But, if you're just looking for some mindless fun & you couldn't care less about stats because you just want to shoot some people in the face, pick it up, because there's nothing wrong with the game itself. Expand
  20. Dec 11, 2011
    6
    Multiplayer: Being a hardcore CoD fan (15+ days in MW1, MW2, Black Ops, 3+ K/D ratio in all of them), I was disappointed. I loved all the other CoD games but that doesn't mean I don't play the crap out of it. The maps are badly designed and don't have the aesthetic pleasure nor the versatility of the maps in previous games. The weapons need a lot of work. The Type 95 is highly overpoweredMultiplayer: Being a hardcore CoD fan (15+ days in MW1, MW2, Black Ops, 3+ K/D ratio in all of them), I was disappointed. I loved all the other CoD games but that doesn't mean I don't play the crap out of it. The maps are badly designed and don't have the aesthetic pleasure nor the versatility of the maps in previous games. The weapons need a lot of work. The Type 95 is highly overpowered and overused, as well as the PP90M1, and the MK14 could use a slight damage reduction. Singleplayer: A lot of people are saying they don't like the singleplayer. I loved it. I started out on Veteran and it had my blood rushing the whole time. Lots of intense combat moments and cool locations for missions as well as all the characters that we've come to love. R.I.P. Soap Expand
  21. Dec 16, 2011
    6
    this is the worst modern warfare in the series, mostly due to the multiplayer maps. the gunplay is really really smooth, bring back the older maps and ill be interested, until then you can keep your rubbish arena style maps with a stupidly large amount of spawnkilling
  22. Nov 19, 2011
    6
    I just got screwed by the marketing machine. I was expecting a game with improvements in gameplay, graphics and sound. Kinda works like that otherwise we would all be still paying pong and pacman.

    Not in this case. Exactly the same as his predecessors which are two year old games. I paid a lot of money for a game with little effort. The 1 is to compensate for the fanboys give this 10's
    I just got screwed by the marketing machine. I was expecting a game with improvements in gameplay, graphics and sound. Kinda works like that otherwise we would all be still paying pong and pacman.

    Not in this case. Exactly the same as his predecessors which are two year old games. I paid a lot of money for a game with little effort. The 1 is to compensate for the fanboys give this 10's and that includes that corrupt game journalist whose sites shall not be visited anymore ( just gamespy who gave a fair judgement)
    Expand
  23. Dec 6, 2011
    5
    No stopping power, but Infinity Ward kept last stand. Terrible idea. No Ricochet on Hardcore modes. Another big mistake. Why change weapon stats from previous games? Totally unbalanced weapon loadouts. These single player campaigns need a major overhaul, enough with the scripted events already. Look folks this formula has run its course now. Call of Duty Elite is just a cash grab.No stopping power, but Infinity Ward kept last stand. Terrible idea. No Ricochet on Hardcore modes. Another big mistake. Why change weapon stats from previous games? Totally unbalanced weapon loadouts. These single player campaigns need a major overhaul, enough with the scripted events already. Look folks this formula has run its course now. Call of Duty Elite is just a cash grab. Make a game worthy of tracking stats on and people will take it more seriously. These fresh developers simply cannot fill the shoes of the originals. R.I.P. Call of Duty. Expand
  24. Apr 8, 2012
    5
    First off I wanted to write a mw3 review for a while its a complete review from the story to spec ops all the way to the criticality acclaimed multilayer. Story: Its hard to give a review without giving out spoilers but il try :) The story basically takes off where MW2 left its WW3 and Soap Mactavish and Captain Price have to stop Makarov. Now without giving spoilers I will tell you thatFirst off I wanted to write a mw3 review for a while its a complete review from the story to spec ops all the way to the criticality acclaimed multilayer. Story: Its hard to give a review without giving out spoilers but il try :) The story basically takes off where MW2 left its WW3 and Soap Mactavish and Captain Price have to stop Makarov. Now without giving spoilers I will tell you that they're are fundamental plot holes in the story that dont require a genius to figure out. Apart from that, its still fun, missions are varied, entertaining and dont require much skill even on veteran compared to black ops that is but the ending will give you a great surprise. Spec Ops. Spec ops is very fun, mission are varied but are way to easy even on veteran, and survival was a brilliant addition to this spec ops. It's good to get the DLC from COD elite as well. Multiplayer: although the multiplayer is fun, its a copy paste from MW2, top to bottom, many weapons, game titles, sound effects, as well as kill streaks all come from previous titles (espacially MW2). Well some people do tell me why change what's great? Well I would normally agree the core gun on gun game play is still they're but is being hindered by MAJOR balance issues from perks to weapons, no dedicated servers, lack of team play as well as knife issues all that with a terrible spawn system. The maps all feel the same. Probably the most disappointing aspect of the game. Even Robert Bowiling the creative strategist said this in an interview : "I feel like we are in a f*cking era where everyone is so focused on subscriber numbers and all that stuff that we need to get back to what I feel like we did so much better in the old days of just plain good will, like stuff like the LAN patch, yeah it is lower priority but letâ Expand
  25. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    A good game if you hadn't seen it before. If this was the first of it's kind we would all love it. Instead paid $60 for a slightly tweaked MW2 with smaller multiplayer maps. Played it for 4 hours will be giving it away tomorrow. Too many good games out there to invest any more time. On Xbox I think they have already figured out how to do the care package glitch. Haven't played the campaignA good game if you hadn't seen it before. If this was the first of it's kind we would all love it. Instead paid $60 for a slightly tweaked MW2 with smaller multiplayer maps. Played it for 4 hours will be giving it away tomorrow. Too many good games out there to invest any more time. On Xbox I think they have already figured out how to do the care package glitch. Haven't played the campaign may give it a shot. Expand
  26. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    Glorified map pack is what MW3 is. Maps are too small making snipers ineffective, hit detection is super wonky and single player is only 5 hrs long. Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops are much better games. Kinda of fun but don't waste 60 dollars on this.
  27. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    When I play Modern Warfare 3, all i can think of is how this game could have been so good. The game has a deceptive single player and a copied multi-player. The single player game is just like a B-movie. Explosions, bullets flying, and add Military jargon to mix and you have the single player portion of Modern Warfare 3. When the Modern Warfare 3 commercial includes WW3, I expect fullWhen I play Modern Warfare 3, all i can think of is how this game could have been so good. The game has a deceptive single player and a copied multi-player. The single player game is just like a B-movie. Explosions, bullets flying, and add Military jargon to mix and you have the single player portion of Modern Warfare 3. When the Modern Warfare 3 commercial includes WW3, I expect full scale front lines war, like World at War. I wasn't expecting tactical teams going street to street following tanks. This is not WW3.

    The multiplayer is exactly the same as Modern warfare 2 and Black Ops. Perks, Unlockable guns, and killstreaks are all apart of the multiplayer. The only difference is that we get a new mode called survival. Survival is the only reason, in my opinion, to get this game. It is fun. The only thing is it is two player. It Would be better with more than two players.

    I give this game a 5 because of the lackluster single-player, the copycat multiplayer (but fun Survival). I really hope that this Franchise does not turn into another Madden.
    Expand
  28. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    I am HIGHLY disappointed with this game. It's not so much the game sucks in and of itself, as it is I wish I had purchased Skyrim and waited for this game to drop in price. This game is like DLC for MW2 with a few tweaks. The Multiplayer is the exact same game with different maps. The camping is absolutely ATROCIOUS and the new game modes wear thin quickly. You'll be bored with themI am HIGHLY disappointed with this game. It's not so much the game sucks in and of itself, as it is I wish I had purchased Skyrim and waited for this game to drop in price. This game is like DLC for MW2 with a few tweaks. The Multiplayer is the exact same game with different maps. The camping is absolutely ATROCIOUS and the new game modes wear thin quickly. You'll be bored with them after a day. The Campaign is mediocre at best. It is painfully obvious that the COD:MW franchise has exhausted all of it's Shock and Awe in the first two series. It throws nothing shocking at you like "No Russian" or your guy dying in a Nuclear blast. The new characters it introduces are forgettable and the plot just has a predictable, flat and sudden end. I wouldn't complain if I had only spent like 29.99 for this down the road. But this isn't worth forking over $60. Now I have to wait until my next payday to purchase Skyrim.

    Booooooooo.
    Expand
  29. Nov 21, 2011
    6
    If you enjoyed MW2 then you are definetly going to enjoy MW3, due in large because its the same exact game. I found nothing new in the single player campaign, but there seems to be a few more options for multiplayer. Having said that, I still enjoy playing the game and think that its a definite buy.
  30. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    Like it or not, MW3 has changed very little from MW2. The SP is the same type of campaign filled with explosions in an attempt to get your blood rushing yet ends up being boring half-way through. It's also filled with hundreds of plot holes just like MW2 had. The multiplayer has changed very little. Now, instead of killstreaks, you have pointstreaks which is a failed attempt from IW to getLike it or not, MW3 has changed very little from MW2. The SP is the same type of campaign filled with explosions in an attempt to get your blood rushing yet ends up being boring half-way through. It's also filled with hundreds of plot holes just like MW2 had. The multiplayer has changed very little. Now, instead of killstreaks, you have pointstreaks which is a failed attempt from IW to get rid of selfish gamers. The new gamemode - kill confirmed - actually does the opposite of what it was made to do. IW put in kill confirmed into the long list of gamemodes to try to reduce camping by forcing the killer to retrieve a dog tag the enemy drops. However, during my time with the game, I found that people would just camp in a corner, kill someone, wait to see if anyone else is around, then collect the dog tag and run back to their camping spot. Another thing that bothered me was the incredible amount of glitches the game had. IW finished the game about a month and a half early. They could have used that extra time to iron out the game (this is actually why I didn't give the game an 8).

    All-in-all, this game has really disappointed me. The days of Cod4 and fun run n' gun gameplay seem to be over for the CoD franchise. If I were any of you, I would skip this game and save my money.
    Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.