Captain America: Super Soldier Xbox 360

Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 48
  2. Negative: 7 out of 48
Buy On
  1. Aug 15, 2011
    30
    A poorly executed licence product. Nothing super about this at all.
  2. Aug 23, 2011
    42
    Captain America is a good game that is held back by questionable design decisions. The solid combat system provides a superb foundation upon which shaky gameplay decisions were built, resulting in a forgettable experience featuring flashes of brilliance. Give it a try though, it's a fun trip while it lasts, but unfortunately doesn't leave a lasting impression on you, either good or bad.
  3. Jul 29, 2011
    49
    There isn't even an opportunity to crack some skulls, as the Red Skull himself plays a brief scripted cameo, giving way to other lacklustre character steroetypes to flesh out the basic "evil guys take over the world" style storyline.
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    42
    Superhero games should make you feel what it's like to step into the shoes of someone special. They should let you experience what it's like to wear the cape, strap on the belt, and feel power flowing through your veins. In short, the best superhero games make us feel extraordinary...Captain America: Super Soldier is anything but.
  5. Jul 18, 2011
    40
    All its best bits are clearly stolen from Batman: Arkham Asylum, but for a movie tie-in this still counts as above average.
  6. Jul 15, 2011
    45
    This new game inspired in the Marvel universe is a title that lacks quality in every aspect. Only the fighting mechanics are great, as they are much better than any other aspect of the game. Captain America should have fared much, much better than this.
  7. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Aug 19, 2011
    40
    The inherent ropey nature of this tie-in can't be ignored. [Issue#75, p.85]
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    If you liked Batman: Arkham City, you will like this. An excellent world war 2 adventure which has sets the bar for any other upcomingIf you liked Batman: Arkham City, you will like this. An excellent world war 2 adventure which has sets the bar for any other upcoming superhero games. Even if you don't like Captain America in general, the game is still good. With a good plot, okay graphics, and epic boss battles, you will never forget this game. Full Review »
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    Even though it does rise above the usual movie-licensed tripe, with its fun core gameplay (which is basically a 'cut and paste' copy of BatmanEven though it does rise above the usual movie-licensed tripe, with its fun core gameplay (which is basically a 'cut and paste' copy of Batman Arkham Asylum. One major factor that made arkham asylum so engaging was the creative and emmersive game world 'Rocksteady' created. This game does not provide this and that is an essential aspect to get right in a game like this. I can look based the boring story or the sub-par graphics, but I can't forgive the lame, forgettable game environment. Full Review »
  3. Mar 15, 2012
    8
    Anyone who doesn't like this game obviously doesn't know what they are talking about. Ok its not going to win any game of the year awards andAnyone who doesn't like this game obviously doesn't know what they are talking about. Ok its not going to win any game of the year awards and the amount of collectibles is laughable. However, if u have any video game skills at all and know how to use combat systems for individual games properly than this game is very fun. Throwing the shield couldn't be more fun and the platforming and swinging parts are some of the best I've seen ( I dare you to find a third person game I havent played, try me!). This game is the building blocks of something great. Other than the Arkham series, this is the best superhero game I've played. Enemies can get slightly repetitive but there are some many animations, beating them up never gets old. I just wanna know of there will be a sequel. I hope no one pays these critics bc they're opinions are terrible and I would never go by what they say !&$& spoiler alert -- no red skull battle? Better be a sequel Full Review »