Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Castlevania: Lords of Shadow is a profoundly generous action-adventure game. Filled with content, gifts for fans of the series, but for video game lovers as well. It's full of nods to other games and movies, rich with a large variety of gameplays and lush environments... blessed with an overall Castlevania feel, which is a consistent mark of respect for its forebears. Kudos to Mercury Steam. Despite some rare issues with some gameplay tunings, we can only hope for them to meet the success they deserve as we'd welcome a follow-up!
  2. It's a great game separate from the franchise, and definitely does a favor for the third person action genre, but with the CV characters and license attached, it becomes even more enjoyable for me.
  3. Dec 25, 2010
    94
    A re-imagining on an epic scale, and a strong contender for action game of the year. [Issue#231, p.74]
  4. Castlevania as a modern, linear adventure game. It's a little different, but the formula works. Also, this game is massive-expect to log at least 18-20 hours before you reach the end.
  5. Water Castlevania's roots and a rollicking adventure sprouts forth. Brilliant, bloody fun.
  6. With amazing graphics, an iconic musical score, a fluid movement and combat system, and more means that this title is one that every gamer must have in their library.
  7. Jan 12, 2011
    90
    Although the basic gameplay borrows heavily from other franchises it is still done with such style and panache it is hard to find faults.
  8. Jan 12, 2011
    90
    This is a new Castlevania for a new generation of console and gamer that you do not want to miss.
  9. Oct 24, 2010
    90
    Lords of Shadow defies the boundaries of what Castlevania should be, but it works. The game pulls you in medieval times, but the gameplay, presentation and story are without a doubt as modern as you can get. The ghost of old Castlevania flows through the game, while being fresh enough to make it feel like the start of a new franchise. Both fans and newcomers will find plenty to enjoy here.
  10. Castlevania: Lords of Shadow reinvigorates the franchise by borrowing from other games, adding its own wonderful magic system, and ratcheting up the epic factor to ludicrous degrees. It's huge in scope, length, and depth, and it's polished with obvious love and passion.
  11. But these disappointments are dwarfed by the game's vast imagination, ambitious scope, entertaining combat, boss battles, Titan battles, puzzles and power-ups. Lords of Shadow is an epic and slightly unexpected triumph.
  12. With a combat system that cleverly overcomes button mashing, wonderful design work and a story that spans far longer than your average video game, Lords of Shadow is exactly what the Castlevania franchise needed to find popularity with a new generation of gamers - and us oldies too.
  13. Beautiful, thrilling, epic, and with the depth to reward repeat plays, Castlevania is one of the year's best. [Issue#64, p.78]
  14. Twenty hours of intense and brilliant gameplay that recover the spirit of the original game.
  15. If you're looking for another traditional Castlevania game, Lords of Shadow could lead you on the wrong path. MercurySteam adopted a different style, bringing together the best ideas of many other popular games. The result is a juicy cocktail of modern gameplay and technical wonders.
  16. Castlevania takes a few hours to get rolling, but once it sinks its fangs in you'll be absorbed. After putting nearly 20 hours into Lords of Shadow I emerged satisfied and ready to play again. This polished, action-packed adventure has me ecstatic to see not only what's in store for the next 3D Castlevania, but also what talented developer MercurySteam does next.
  17. While Lords of Shadow breathes new life into the Castlevania franchise, it still has its moments of gaming nostalgia, all the while delivering an experience that is not to be missed.
  18. 90
    When it's all said and done, Castlevania is one that will go down as one of the better Castlevania games.
  19. Castlevania: Lords of Shadow has been a real surprise with superb visuals, great gameplay and a very high longevity.
  20. Castlevania: Lords of Shadows is a fantastically-crafted game. In some ways, it seems like Castlevania in name only because it is stitched together with many existing gameplay mechanics, but it sticks close enough to the action-packed cloth the series is woven from to seem worthy of the name.
  21. Castlevania: Lords of Shadow may not be a Castlevania game, but that certainly doesn't hold it back from being a fantastic monster hunt that gives me hope for future 3D games featuring the Castlevania tag.
  22. Lords of Shadow is a huge leap forward for the Castlevania franchise. This game refines the characteristic IP gameplay with an occidental flavor, awesome production values and raging and furious combats.
  23. It may dissapoint those who expected a 3D Metroidvania, but it's one of the best action games of this year.
  24. Oct 22, 2010
    87
    Lords of Shadow is a superlative start for Castlevania on current-gen consoles and we only hope that developer MercurySteam has more in the pipeline. It might borrow from other hack-and slash-adventure titles of the same ilk, but Castlevania is entirely its own game. With an unforgettable Middle Ages fantasy setting and an epic narrative, Lords of Shadow is the complete package and Gabriel Belmont is the coolest vampire slayer since Buffy. He's not as hot though.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 207 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 49
  2. Negative: 6 out of 49
  1. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    10.0

    Castlevania Lords of Shadow is a game which takes you in an amazing adventure, over 20+ hours, taking some elements from great
    10.0

    Castlevania Lords of Shadow is a game which takes you in an amazing adventure, over 20+ hours, taking some elements from great franchises such as Shadow of the Colosus, God of War, Devil May Cry, etc.

    But the most important fact that you can expect from this Castlevania is that reminds you 100% at the old school games that make this saga be one of the most popular franchises. Starting from Castlevania roots, the classic series, this masterpiece its a must have. Castlevania Lords of Shadow is without doubt, one of the best games this year.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    I absolutely love this game. It builds upon the story and tension beautifully by weaving elements of many of today's best blockbuster gamesI absolutely love this game. It builds upon the story and tension beautifully by weaving elements of many of today's best blockbuster games into the age old tapestry that is Castlevania mythos. At first, I was a little dismayed that it didn't "feel" like that old Castlevania that I was used to, but this is EXACTLY what the franchise needed. Let's face it, the Symphony of the Night clones on the DS were not breaking any new ground and the other recent forays into 3d Castlevania have been pretty sub-par. As a die hard old school Castlevania fan, even I had to admit... Castlevania had gotten stale.

    This game blew me away. Not only does it continually build up towards an amazing ending, but you truly feel like you are on a journey. It is a very atmospheric and gorgeous game to look at and I absolutely could not get enough of it. I can't wait to play through those long 20 hours again. Besides the story, the game play is spot on and the replay value is high. I simply cannot recommend this title enough. When you start playing it, please get through at least 4 or 5 hours before rating it. It only gets better and is full of surprises from beginning to end.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    I was pretty confident this game would astound me with such a wonderful pedigree of talent behind it, and I was not disappointed. What I wasI was pretty confident this game would astound me with such a wonderful pedigree of talent behind it, and I was not disappointed. What I was disappointed in were the reviews by Gamepro, IGN, Gamespot, and 1UP, which cited elements of the game as weaknesses, when in the context of the game, are often strengths. Why fixed camera angles? Simple--to create tension and keep your player focused rather than disoriented. Is it like God of War? In the same way God of War was like Onimusha. "Not a Castlevania game?" Gee, oodles of gothic monsters is Transylvanian-esque settings, loads of intense boss fights, and lots more make this argument pretty weak. This game masterfully weaves dynamic narrative with tense, fast-paced gameplay to create a blockbuster experience. For anyone looking for an exceptional action game with massive replay value and AAA-production values, you would be hard pressed to find better than Castlevania: Lords of Shadow. Full Review »