Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Sep 2, 2013
    93
    Charlie Murder is an absolute must for many gamers, especially if you’re looking for a new beat ‘m up or a fun co-op game. By combining simple action with loot and extensive character classes, Charlie Murder offers more depth than you might expect. It pays to think about how to level your character and selecting the right items. With a lot of content and diversity, the cool style and great humour Charlie Murder adds up to a great XBLA title.
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    91
    There are elements to Charlie Murder that are certainly less unique than others, but as a whole this is one of the better RPG/brawler hybrids that I’ve ever played.
  3. 90
    At only 10 bucks, Charlie Murder is both a killer game and a solid value for solo artists; for anyone with a few friends willing to join the slaughter, it’s damn near mandatory.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    88
    Charlie Murder is an extraordinary beat'em up that will offer you endless hours of action filled and fun gameplay. Its extraordinary soundtrack will submerge you in an apocalyptic punk world ravaged by the forces of evil and your mission is to send them back to the Netherlands. Ska Studios outdid themselves and created some of the most memorable characters in this genre's history.
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    87
    A sizeable package perfectly suited for bustling, loot distributing, sofa-based party play. [Nov 2013, p.69]
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Aug 14, 2013
    9
    FINALLY! A game worth downloading this year in 2013! I hope this game makes it on the PC. The storyline is awesome! The music is epic! The gameplay is addictive! There is really nothing more I can say about this game except.... BUY IT NOW! This game is just amazing! Now if you will excuse me... I just bought this game and I need to play it now!!! Full Review »
  2. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    I love this game and Ska Studios. It was nice to see the a references to their other games (The Dishwasher series, I Made a Game w/ Z0mbies, ect.), and the art style is unique and very idenifiable to Ska Studios. The combat system might not be as good as The Dishwasher series, but it was still pretty enjoyable. The leveling system and item collecting is fun, you always fine new items that increase your stats and you level up quite often, which makes you feel like you are constantly progressing and getting stronger.

    The story is simply layed out for you, with not dialogue, but you can follow along easy enough. This game has a great feel, and if you liked any of Ska Studio's other games, you will surely like this one. And if you liked Charlie Murder, I recommend you check out their other games as well. Needless to say Ska Studios is one of my favorite game developers, but I wish they would publish on more than just Xbox 360.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    Scott Pilgrim and Castle crashers had a zombie killing, punk rock baby, and it rocks.

    Nice classes, plenty of content, loads of secret
    stuff and replayability, outstanding soundrack, Nice art style (similar to The Dishwasher) a beat em up/rpg where you have to think about how you progress your class and what items to use. Full Review »