Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Sep 2, 2013
    93
    Charlie Murder is an absolute must for many gamers, especially if you’re looking for a new beat ‘m up or a fun co-op game. By combining simple action with loot and extensive character classes, Charlie Murder offers more depth than you might expect. It pays to think about how to level your character and selecting the right items. With a lot of content and diversity, the cool style and great humour Charlie Murder adds up to a great XBLA title.
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    91
    There are elements to Charlie Murder that are certainly less unique than others, but as a whole this is one of the better RPG/brawler hybrids that I’ve ever played.
  3. 90
    At only 10 bucks, Charlie Murder is both a killer game and a solid value for solo artists; for anyone with a few friends willing to join the slaughter, it’s damn near mandatory.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    88
    Charlie Murder is an extraordinary beat'em up that will offer you endless hours of action filled and fun gameplay. Its extraordinary soundtrack will submerge you in an apocalyptic punk world ravaged by the forces of evil and your mission is to send them back to the Netherlands. Ska Studios outdid themselves and created some of the most memorable characters in this genre's history.
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    87
    A sizeable package perfectly suited for bustling, loot distributing, sofa-based party play. [Nov 2013, p.69]
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Aug 14, 2013
    9
    FINALLY! A game worth downloading this year in 2013! I hope this game makes it on the PC. The storyline is awesome! The music is epic! The gameplay is addictive! There is really nothing more I can say about this game except.... BUY IT NOW! This game is just amazing! Now if you will excuse me... I just bought this game and I need to play it now!!! Full Review »
  2. Aug 1, 2014
    2
    I got this game for free on Xbox Live Gold, and instantly regretted it! This is one of those games that try to act cool to appeal to big audiences, and uses that as an excuse. The game just makes no sense. The plot is all over the place. In fact, there barely is a plot. Most of the time you're just mindlessly punching enemies, and even that is painfully boring. I will say that the RPG elements are alright, but that doesn't excuse it of anything. Don't buy this game, even if it's free. Full Review »
  3. Jul 4, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This is not a game that anyone should pay money for, it truly does deserve to be free with gold and thats how i obtained the game.

    Its problems begin with non voice acting and a confusing story that makes you guess what is going on through the entire game. If you want to play this game with friends over xbox live, be prepared for serious game lag and glitches. It seems like any time there are a large amount of characters on screen, the game lags out and cant handle itself, special moves dont connect and frustration sets in.on more than one occasion the game has frozen or wont let us out of the pause menu. The characters are not matched for their abilities so you actually have to choose wisely, and the instrumental sections are impossible unless you choose the female who plays the tambourine so she only clicks A a few times. i imagine this is a sexist jab of some sort

    Positives: It was free, it is multiplayer co-op which is hard to find in 2014. some free achievements
    Full Review »