Child of Eden Xbox 360

Child of Eden Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Child of Eden thrusts the player into the center of a battle to save Project Lumi, a mission to reproduce a human personality inside Eden, the archive of all human memories. As the project nears completion, the archive is invaded by an unknown virus. The player's mission is to save Eden fromChild of Eden thrusts the player into the center of a battle to save Project Lumi, a mission to reproduce a human personality inside Eden, the archive of all human memories. As the project nears completion, the archive is invaded by an unknown virus. The player's mission is to save Eden from the virus, restoring hope and peace. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Fortunately Child of Eden has arrived, and it's a game that completely absorbs you when you're playing it. A game which makes you laugh for no reason when playing it. A game which expresses pure joy at simply being a game. And it's brilliant.
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    90
    While Child of Eden's appeal may not be universal, those with an open mind will have a blast.
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    90
    The level of challenge and degree of difficulty ramps up smoothly over the course of the game, and all passage of time will slip by, as you become immersed and even hypnotized by the dazzling graphics and stunning music in Child of Eden; one of the most original games I've ever played on the Xbox 360, with or without the Kinect.
  4. Jun 23, 2011
    84
    It's hard not to feel at least a little bit ecstatic taking part in its marvelously framed moments. Avid audiophiles weary of the standard-issue music game will definitely find something novel in this high-concept, yet easily enjoyed shooter.
  5. Jul 5, 2011
    80
    Despite a lack of content, it's a game that should be replayed a number of times, just so you can try different methods of attack and witness everything that it has to offer.
  6. Jun 16, 2011
    80
    Child of Eden is probably what Rez was meant to be. Regardless of some minor issues, Mizuguchi's new musical shooter on rails is the best of what Kinect has accomplished so far.
  7. Jun 19, 2011
    58
    Strip away the neon visuals and the doomp-doomp-doomp of the soundtrack, and you're left with a pretty but woefully undercooked shooter.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Jan 9, 2015
    10
    child of eden is without a doubt. the best rail shooter for now. maybe it's not considered a rail shooter and more of a music game. but childchild of eden is without a doubt. the best rail shooter for now. maybe it's not considered a rail shooter and more of a music game. but child of eden is stylish. and visually stunning. the game has breathtaking colors. sometimes developers imagination is up high. and that's were it is. child of eden is great on the ps3. but AWESOME on the xbox 360. it can be addicting. and fun. the visuals are so stunning and combined with the awesome music that make you feel down in tears. and cry i want more of this. and just feel happy and emotional with yourself, i give this game such a high score. due to the underrated moments of it. and the crazy results that are so much better than Call of duty and fps **** Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    So, I bought Child of Eden yesterday, and I've been wanting this game since I heard that 'Rez' was getting a sequel. Then I found out after E3So, I bought Child of Eden yesterday, and I've been wanting this game since I heard that 'Rez' was getting a sequel. Then I found out after E3 it was Kinect-able. I nearly lost my mind at the thought of actually using my hands to guide the tracer! In the short time I played it (about 2 hours) before bed last night, I completed almost 60% of the chapters. Although with some games, this would be a complete failure, I played 'Matrix' a good 3 times last night because the challenge isn't just about getting through the level, its purifying the cells to 100% and making the most fluid soundtrack you can with the motions you make as a Kinect player. I can somehow forgive it's 'shortness' because of the immaculate graphics and generally insane detail put in. Playing such a visually stimulating game in HD on a large screen, is something to behold. Although it seems a lot of the reviews are concentrating on the fact that it is a short game, current trends in DLC and extra, post-release content will no doubt expand the game again, for a small fee of course. And if you're playing this game with a pad, you're missing out on about 3/4 of the choas. This game was, and still is, ahead of it's time. 10/10 Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Those complaining that they "beat" this game in a few hours are not getting the point. Child of Eden is the sequel to Rez, but with betterThose complaining that they "beat" this game in a few hours are not getting the point. Child of Eden is the sequel to Rez, but with better sound, graphics, and quite possibly, more emotional impact. Before Rez came out on the Dreamcast, few knew what the word synesthesia was, much less how to describe it. Both CoE and Rez are shining examples. Both are short but brilliant, with a ton of replayability (thank you leaderboards). The on-rails shooter offers more surprises than many other more open-world games, and the graphic and audio design is beyond compare.

    If you are unsure about this game, get Rez in the Marketplace (or a demo of it if one is available). It's $10. If you like that, Child of Eden is the sequel, but on steroids. Graphically and aurally stunning in every way, but perhaps not for everyone, CoE is a rare videogame experience that will stick with you long after you've "beat" the game.
    Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    Hi i am new and this is my first review.
    I think the game with big tv and the volume up, is very good.The optical and the acoustic part of
    Hi i am new and this is my first review.
    I think the game with big tv and the volume up, is very good.The optical and the acoustic part of the game is fantastic.Without playing rez, i like very much this game.IT'S MAGICAL!!!Also i like that the controller is vibrating with the rhythm of the game.I didn't play it with kinect because i havent.
    Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    Developed by Q Entertainment and published by Ubisoft, Child of Eden is a first person shooter. But it's also a game unlike almost every otherDeveloped by Q Entertainment and published by Ubisoft, Child of Eden is a first person shooter. But it's also a game unlike almost every other first person shooter out there. Dazzling visual and audio effects, brilliant level design, smooth controls, and a catchy technopop soundtrack form a solidarity with which Child of Eden rises to greatness.

    See the full text of my review here: http://boredomsadvocate.blogspot.com/2011/06/review-child-of-eden.html
    Expand
  6. Aug 11, 2013
    6
    The prequel to beloved cult classic Rez, Child of Eden had a lot to live up to. Does it? In many ways, yes, in a few (important) ways, no.The prequel to beloved cult classic Rez, Child of Eden had a lot to live up to. Does it? In many ways, yes, in a few (important) ways, no.

    The visuals 10/10. The graphics are stunning. Absolutely jaw-dropping visuals for the whole game, even games like El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron have a hard time competing.

    The music 4.5/10. This is one of my main complaints for the game. Aside from the bonus level that calls back to level 4 of Rez and the level Passion (using the song Maker by Genki Rockets, one of their best) the songs don't really sound different enough to stand out from each other. They're all minimalistic electronica with random Genki Rockets samples. It sounds orgasmic when you reach the first boss but there's just no variety. The original Rez had a variety of different music all from different artists. Add in the fact that Rez's creator and Child of Eden's director created the group and it starts to feel like he's on an ego trip.

    The story 3/10. I know it sounds dumb to judge Rez OR Child of Eden by their story, but what I'm judging here is the emotional impact. Rez's final level is truly an experience that every gamer should know. Can I really say the same for this game? Tetsuya Mizguchi's attempt to connect his music project The Genki Rockets to the canon of Rez just makes Child of Eden feel like a vanity project. Combine that with the ridiculous difficulty level and that seriously harms what emotional impact this game could have had.

    The gameplay 6.5/10. I will sound like a huge hypocrite for this, but the game is just too difficult, and not for good reasons either. Maybe the experience is better when played with Kinect (or they tone down the difficulty), but with a controller, even the normal difficulty is a difficult task. First off, the camera is disorienting. It moves with you to quite a degree (you can pretty much look entirely to your left and right, almost behind you) but between all the action and the camera autocentering itself (and boy is that awkward) it just doesn't work and often gets you hit. It's a rail shooter like Rez, but you can no longer use the lock-on laser to destroy bullets, only a purple machine gun. It sounds easy, but you have to be extremely precise with the purple gun (unlike the lock-on laser), and with all the movement and visuals and the worse camera, it's hard to tell where bullets are coming from at all let alone aim at them and hit them. And oh boy the bullets. The enemies on normal on the first level send out about as many bullets as the final bosses in Rez on the higher difficulties. Only they're harder to see and shoot down. You know where this is going. This makes the whole game a frustrating experience where you're fighting to barely stay alive. It's hard to enjoy the beautiful visuals and soundscapes when you're ALWAYS stressed out. This game is STRESSFUL. And the lock-on Perfect mechanic. If you chain full lock-ons (8 as in the original Rez) you're supposed to get a score multiplier. Only this seems to work only when it wants to. Sometimes you'll chain up to 8x, sometimes it'll just say 'good' 3 times and keep dropping. It never seemed consistent or predictable enough to make high score runs a viable option. And this game DESPERATELY wants to be a score attack game like its predecessor Rez, but it's not. The unpredictable scoring mechanic, the poor camera, and the constant fight to stay alive prevent this from being a game that's more about the experience like Rez was. Rez was easy, but if you WANTED to score attack you could challenge yourself. In this? The difficulty and randomness make score attacking impossible. Oh, and players of Rez know the frustration that is Rez boss battles, where you're fighting so hard to keep bullets off of you that you can barely attack the boss. That's made worse tenfold in this game.

    It sounds like I hate this game but I really don't. I would recommend this to anyone, at this point it's cheap and well worth the experience. I just think it has a lot of flaws and it wants to be things that it isn't.
    Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2012
    1
    I get that it's different just like Rez HD was and it's fun but I am seriously failing to see what people like about this game cause I hadI get that it's different just like Rez HD was and it's fun but I am seriously failing to see what people like about this game cause I had enough of this with Rez..I have played both games and I've put a couple hours into each one.I personally like Rez HD better but I can live life without this game and live it well.Actually if this was never made, I think I would be even more happy cause I wouldn't of had to waste hours of my life trying to see if there is something I am missing or what.I seriously wish I could have those hours back and play through a game that I have beat before or anything cause this is a shallow complete waste of every minute, of your life, you let Child of Eden have.For gamer's out there,go to the arcade and relive some old arcade classics.This is the definition of a bad idea and if you do give this game a chance then you'll understand what I mean at the end of your gaming session with this game,even if you can call it that! Collapse

See all 34 User Reviews