Clive Barker's Jericho Xbox 360

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 68
  2. Negative: 10 out of 68
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 14, 2011
    8
    I felt like this was a fantastic game, AI was awesome and switching between them was very unique. I replay the game all the time. The dark story was different and the gore was perfect. The story could have been longer though. I have played other Clive Baker games like Undying which did scare me but jericho does not make want to keep the lights on after playing which did disappoint me.I felt like this was a fantastic game, AI was awesome and switching between them was very unique. I replay the game all the time. The dark story was different and the gore was perfect. The story could have been longer though. I have played other Clive Baker games like Undying which did scare me but jericho does not make want to keep the lights on after playing which did disappoint me. Graphics are amazing, the undead creatures are creepy, definitely in my top 10 games Expand
  2. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    I recently bought this game for £5 and really enjoyed it. Its cheap and worth picking up. It is extremely refreshing when compared to the stupid samey FPS market of today. I'm having a blast playing this game, so much so i threw my MW3 to the side and now just play this for my shooting kicks. The mechanics are good with the ability to switch between squad members and use thierI recently bought this game for £5 and really enjoyed it. Its cheap and worth picking up. It is extremely refreshing when compared to the stupid samey FPS market of today. I'm having a blast playing this game, so much so i threw my MW3 to the side and now just play this for my shooting kicks. The mechanics are good with the ability to switch between squad members and use thier different weapons and powers adds enough variety to make this fun all the way through. The graphics are solid for a 2007 game and the gore and monsters look fantastic. It's very satisfying to be mowing down monsters with a minigun one moment and then the next firing slow motion, steerable sniper bullets directly into an abominations cranium. Yes the ending is a alls up but it leaves it open to a sequel, a sequel I think they should make. A unique and interesting story and frantastic gameplay and art style more than make up for its faults and buggy AI. Buy it. Now. Its only a few quid. Expand
  3. Diesel360
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    Great graphics - rivaling Halo 3 and Orange Box. The character switching mechanic is fun and each character is varied technique. Refreshing new theme for FPS genre w/ quite atmospheric settings. I'm having a blast w/ Jericho.
  4. CosmicK.
    Oct 5, 2007
    9
    Actually the game presents a fun and frantic gameplay, the ambience is great, and the capability of switching between characters (each of them with absolutely different abilities from another) is very original.
  5. MichaelS.
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    Gory, fun and superb graphics!
  6. JohnM.
    Nov 1, 2007
    8
    Good story, exelent graphics and game play, and just the right amount of gore. Sadly its way too short for a single player only game with the only unlockables being character bios. it could have really kicked up its replayability if their was a multiplayer or coop component, unfortinutly only a rental is needed to fully enjoy this game.
  7. RobC.
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Somebody tell me why this game has had such a bad rating? Maybe this game was made for people like me but with the gripping storyline, and the game mechanics this has to be one of the finest games i've played. If you love twisted horror stories, (and clive barker knows how to write those) well you'll love this. To be honest after playing this, other FPS' have felt slow or Somebody tell me why this game has had such a bad rating? Maybe this game was made for people like me but with the gripping storyline, and the game mechanics this has to be one of the finest games i've played. If you love twisted horror stories, (and clive barker knows how to write those) well you'll love this. To be honest after playing this, other FPS' have felt slow or just a bit irratating. It has to be the best FPS for the controls and movement. If anyone has finished it like me i'm sure you'll be wandering if there will be a second? Expand
  8. MarkelS.
    Oct 23, 2007
    8
    Wow, that 30 from 1UP is absurd. Even if I want to slam Jericho, and I don't, I couldn't go lower than a 7.0 grade. The game is simply well-crafted enough and explosive enough to warrant playing if you're a FPS fan. No, it won't blow your mind after HL 2, BioShock, Halo 3 etc., but Jericho is a fun and mature shooter you should at least rent. It's good for a Wow, that 30 from 1UP is absurd. Even if I want to slam Jericho, and I don't, I couldn't go lower than a 7.0 grade. The game is simply well-crafted enough and explosive enough to warrant playing if you're a FPS fan. No, it won't blow your mind after HL 2, BioShock, Halo 3 etc., but Jericho is a fun and mature shooter you should at least rent. It's good for a blast, and the graphics and sound get really awesome about halfway thru. Expand
  9. ChrisM.
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    A good non-stop action filled FPS that keeps you on the edge of your seat. It also happens to have a unique and creepy story with interesting characters and decent voice acting. I believe it deserves better scores then it is getting for the most part because few FPS games attempt to do anything different and fewer still try to tell a captivating story. Jericho does both.
  10. AndrewK.
    Oct 24, 2007
    8
    Solid Clive Barker horror game. I would have ranked it higher except for the poor squad controls and the HORRIBLE use of stupid console gimmicks... like hitting arrows in a timed manner.
  11. CarmenNuccio
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    this game isn't as bad as the reviewers say it is. since its not super hyped and a futuristic shooter (like Halo) they are biased. note that the user rating is 14 points higher. 1up.com gave this game a 3!!! and the reasons were bad voice acting, enemy variety....Halo 3 has 4 different enemies.....LOL this is a great game, pick it up
  12. JeffA.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Reviewers that said the AI was bad must have been playing a different game. My team mates are constantly shooting at enemies and at times I have to look in the direction of their fire to find the creatures. As for the creatures having bad AI, again I don't know what some reviewers were thinking by critisizing the enemy for coming straight at you. The evil is older than Christianity, Reviewers that said the AI was bad must have been playing a different game. My team mates are constantly shooting at enemies and at times I have to look in the direction of their fire to find the creatures. As for the creatures having bad AI, again I don't know what some reviewers were thinking by critisizing the enemy for coming straight at you. The evil is older than Christianity, are they supposed to hide behind cover? Don't let narrow minded reviewers stop you from getting this game. This is the 360's version of the Suffering with crisp, vivid graphics, a solid, proven control scheme and unnerving, disturbing plot. Don't miss out on this superb shooter. Expand
  13. RedI.
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    Great game... already playing it for the second time to get all the achievements. Great monster and stage desgin (which is mostly great on Rome) and breath taking action. On my account it's got as great action as the best first person shooters, but then again it does have a lot of points in which it lacked some effort. Take for example the ending... there are few games which have a Great game... already playing it for the second time to get all the achievements. Great monster and stage desgin (which is mostly great on Rome) and breath taking action. On my account it's got as great action as the best first person shooters, but then again it does have a lot of points in which it lacked some effort. Take for example the ending... there are few games which have a worse ending than this one. The button sequences weren't that great and not at all a challenge (if those wouldn't have existed at all it wouldn't have mattered... which is not the case for resident evil 4 or god of war). The graphics.... uhm well I really can't see why everyone says it was such a bad job, when you see a monster covered up with blood and guts and you can tell theres some lower intestine in between then I can say there was a really great job in graphics. Expand
  14. JohnP.
    Feb 21, 2009
    8
    You want a game with an incredible storyline, innovative game play, and several different ways to attack something? Try Clive Barker's Jericho. This title is amazing with the graphics and the six person change up. Its nice to be able to use all the different kinds of guns you want without the unrealistic aspect of carrying them all by yourself. The story line is gripping and kind of You want a game with an incredible storyline, innovative game play, and several different ways to attack something? Try Clive Barker's Jericho. This title is amazing with the graphics and the six person change up. Its nice to be able to use all the different kinds of guns you want without the unrealistic aspect of carrying them all by yourself. The story line is gripping and kind of scary too. The only issues with this game are the button-hits and the slow progression through the plot. Overall, great game. Expand
  15. ShawnS.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Incredible game. Don't listen to anybody who says otherwise. Try it and you'll see. One of the best 360 shooters for sure.
  16. GioD.
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    This game KICKED MAJOR ASS. I cant speak for anyone else but to me, MANY FPS's are way to similar. Jericho does things in a FPS that feel VERY unique and fresh. Great story (it had me hooked) awesome graphics (it wouldnt be surprising if u thought it ran on the unreal 3 engine,it looks beautiful,monsters and levels are extremely detailed),awesome boss battles,awesome powers that the This game KICKED MAJOR ASS. I cant speak for anyone else but to me, MANY FPS's are way to similar. Jericho does things in a FPS that feel VERY unique and fresh. Great story (it had me hooked) awesome graphics (it wouldnt be surprising if u thought it ran on the unreal 3 engine,it looks beautiful,monsters and levels are extremely detailed),awesome boss battles,awesome powers that the team has,etc. Thank u clive,mercurysteam,and codemasters. Expand
  17. hardcoregamer
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    I loved the combination use of the squad members. great gore too. The characters were definitely Barker.
  18. TC
    Jun 11, 2008
    8
    I have played Halo 3 and went through it but in spite of great graphics, sound and AI I didn't feel adrenaline rush at all playing it. Multiplayer in also boring in here. So I sold it but Jericho is still with me. Probably Jericho is not so well developed as HL 3 but it has something that previous one doesn't have at all. It gives me creeps with blood, bodies, rivers of blood I have played Halo 3 and went through it but in spite of great graphics, sound and AI I didn't feel adrenaline rush at all playing it. Multiplayer in also boring in here. So I sold it but Jericho is still with me. Probably Jericho is not so well developed as HL 3 but it has something that previous one doesn't have at all. It gives me creeps with blood, bodies, rivers of blood etc, It gives frantic firefitghts when all your mates are cornered or dead, gives 6 characters with completely different style to play, great story, good gaming engine (I love when your character makes such small moves like real person in interaction scenes and when aiming cross is moving off the target when you are hit). Game is too short of course and there is only single player campaign in here,.Unfortunately weak sales and poor reviews will probably make impossible to publish next adventure of Jericho team as it was primarily intended. This is not FPS for everybody but If you are FPS fan you can rent it to go through. I think you will enjoy it. Expand
  19. JamieE
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Honestly this is one of the best games I've played of late, found in the bargain bucket for under $10. The storyline is well scripted and the characters have tons of personality. The gameplay is hugely satisfying, the criticism of repetitiveness are undeserved - name me a single first person shooter which doesn't involve killing respawning enemies over and over again (including Honestly this is one of the best games I've played of late, found in the bargain bucket for under $10. The storyline is well scripted and the characters have tons of personality. The gameplay is hugely satisfying, the criticism of repetitiveness are undeserved - name me a single first person shooter which doesn't involve killing respawning enemies over and over again (including the grossly overrated MW2)? Ignore the big reviewers like IGN who score games on the basis of hype rather than quality and you'll get a real bargain with this one. Expand
  20. Dec 24, 2010
    10
    Jericho claims to be a jump-out-of-your-seat horror game, but it just isn't. There is a hell of a lot of blood, but gore doesn't equal scary, gore is just a cheap excuse for horror. Clive Barker has created some messed up stuff in his time, but this is anything but scary in the most remote sense. Graphics are okay but anything but life changing. Sound effects are great but the voice actingJericho claims to be a jump-out-of-your-seat horror game, but it just isn't. There is a hell of a lot of blood, but gore doesn't equal scary, gore is just a cheap excuse for horror. Clive Barker has created some messed up stuff in his time, but this is anything but scary in the most remote sense. Graphics are okay but anything but life changing. Sound effects are great but the voice acting is just dull and uninspired. and gameplay is its huge fault, the controls are fine but the AI got me throwing the controller. Your teammates die again and again and again and again and again and its up to you to.
    The whole experiance is mediocre and anger inducing. Avoid.
    Expand
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 46
  2. Negative: 5 out of 46
  1. Clive Barker’s Jericho doesn’t provide the same degree of deep and engaging gameplay as Undying, opting instead for a more accessible, mainstream adventure that can be frightening at best, and repetitive at worst. Still, the game has no shortage of action and intensity.
  2. Not nasty enough and not scary at all. [Dec 2007, p.92]
  3. 90
    Remember this kids, Clive Barker Mercury Steam and Codemasters have formed together to make what is in my mind one of the best shooters this year.