Crackdown 2 Xbox 360

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 191 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 191
  2. Negative: 54 out of 191

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrandonY
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    Reviewers were harsh on this game because It was to similar to the first crackdown. But this game is great fun and if you never played crackdown 1 or loved it, then this is for you.
  2. GregS
    Jul 8, 2010
    9
    Look, I loved the first Crackdown, and would happily pay to return to Pacific City. People say it's a 1.5 only because the real 1.5 actually completed the game and made it so much better. This iteration has the same feel, but a darker setting, which is only made more stark by the memory of the pristine yet gang-ridden Pacific City of ten years ago. Jumping from building to building Look, I loved the first Crackdown, and would happily pay to return to Pacific City. People say it's a 1.5 only because the real 1.5 actually completed the game and made it so much better. This iteration has the same feel, but a darker setting, which is only made more stark by the memory of the pristine yet gang-ridden Pacific City of ten years ago. Jumping from building to building and dodging zombies is all of a sudden made substantial when you look up and realize that the smashed building you're climbing used to be Shai-Gen headquarters. As for story, there is more to this one than the last, but that's not saying much. Crackdwn is not about story, you need to be self-motivated to have a good time with it. If you get bored after the first ten minutes, then you missed the best parts. The audio logs are the new hidden-orbs, a review I read earlier lamented trying to find them all. The reviewer complained that the lack of story was critical because there was no motivation to complete the mission. How did that reviewer get through the first game? I don't know. I find it interesting that most of these reviews seem to be from people who only bought the first one a few weeks ago. They didn't understand the game back then, and they don't understand it now. Co-op is driving this second game, and with three friends, it is an absolute blast. Expand
  3. GregJ
    Jul 12, 2010
    9
    I loved the first and Crackdown 2 improves on everything the original had to offer. Killer new speciel moves, bigger explosions, harder to find orbs, bigger weapons, better co-op, 16 player online, plus it's crazy addictive. Go buy it!
  4. JesusChrist
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    Story,...well, meh. It's good enough. Controls... eh, seen better. When it comes to fun though this game scores big. When I can steel some poor schmo's beat up jalopy and proceed to drive up and down a street running over fucking zombies, that is a good day.
  5. IanG
    Jul 9, 2010
    9
    I'm going to assume that most people rating this game as '0' are those that dont agree with exclusives. This game covers so many genres, there is something for everyone. Anything below 6 is drawn from a chip on the shoulder of the reviewer. Yes the graphics are nothing like RDR, FF, GoW... but that is the point. It's a comic book appeal. A look it has achieved with no I'm going to assume that most people rating this game as '0' are those that dont agree with exclusives. This game covers so many genres, there is something for everyone. Anything below 6 is drawn from a chip on the shoulder of the reviewer. Yes the graphics are nothing like RDR, FF, GoW... but that is the point. It's a comic book appeal. A look it has achieved with no flaw. A poor storyline? It does not matter, the Crackdown series has never been about a story. It's about creating your own mayhem with the tools Ruffian have provided you with. No freedom? It may not have the freedom of RDR, but then where in RDR can i attach a mag grenade to a helicopter, and another to a vehicle occupied by a friend, then watch them as they are carried off helplessly? You need to look at different games and apprecitate the differences, not draw crazy irrelevant comparisons from them. At the end of the day, Crackdown 2 is a lazy sunday afternoon pick-up that makes you want it to be Sunday everyday! Expand
  6. RyanM
    Jul 6, 2010
    10
    very refreshing gameplay experience, it may not look amazing but it's a cut above the rest in every other aspect. I'm loving playing co-op with friends. Well done Ruffian Games.
  7. SteveS
    Jul 10, 2010
    10
    Crackdown was one of the first games I got on my Xbox. I loved it. Last I checked, I had somewhere near 35 hours on it. Crackdown 2 IS just a remade Crackdown 1, but that is what I love about it! It gives more weapons and vehicles, tremendous numbers of zombies on the screen, and, my favorite, more Voice of the Agency! Granted the targeting can be a little screwy, but that is a minor flaw Crackdown was one of the first games I got on my Xbox. I loved it. Last I checked, I had somewhere near 35 hours on it. Crackdown 2 IS just a remade Crackdown 1, but that is what I love about it! It gives more weapons and vehicles, tremendous numbers of zombies on the screen, and, my favorite, more Voice of the Agency! Granted the targeting can be a little screwy, but that is a minor flaw in an otherwise great game. So, despite what others have said, Crackdown 2 is definitely worth buying! Expand
  8. Jan 19, 2011
    8
    This is a fantastic game that got low rating from players who really didn't understand that they bought a sandbox game. This is not a first or 3rd person shooter game, it is a sandbox style game which means the point isn't to focus on completing the storyline off as quickly as possible but rather the opposite. The point is to just play in the world where you are just like kids do in aThis is a fantastic game that got low rating from players who really didn't understand that they bought a sandbox game. This is not a first or 3rd person shooter game, it is a sandbox style game which means the point isn't to focus on completing the storyline off as quickly as possible but rather the opposite. The point is to just play in the world where you are just like kids do in a sandbox. Ok, that said all the elements of a good sandbox game are here and work well. Suffice it to say you will enjoy this game a lot if you just want to mess around and do stuff and eventually finish the game and you will likely hate the game and thinks its way too short if you play it any other way. But, that is the whole point of sandbox style games, you make your own entertainment and play any way you want. If you want this to be a shooter yeah it will be 4 hrs, if you want it to be a playground, it will really entertain you. Expand
  9. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    It's a worthy sequel, as fun as the first with some new toys to play with. New story, new powers, new vehicles, and weapons make Crackdown 2 quite a treat for fans of the first installment.
  10. Nov 14, 2014
    8
    An enjoyable follow up to Crackdown. The story wasn't as fun as the first but the addition of co-op definitely makes this a fun romp. If you get this, make sure you try out the first too.
    If you think it gets too easy, just wait until the uber mutants show up and fling you around like a rag doll.

    Bring on Crackdown 3!!!
  11. Mark
    Jul 7, 2010
    10
    Crackdown 2 is all out fun that you create. Many people are complaining the graphics aren't good, but this was the design for the game's graphics. Another good point is how there is no story, this means no forced cutscenes, and just pick up and play the game. If you want a story play Red Dead or GTA IV. There are many orbs to hunt down, plus freak hordes to smash with cars or Crackdown 2 is all out fun that you create. Many people are complaining the graphics aren't good, but this was the design for the game's graphics. Another good point is how there is no story, this means no forced cutscenes, and just pick up and play the game. If you want a story play Red Dead or GTA IV. There are many orbs to hunt down, plus freak hordes to smash with cars or melee attacks. Mowing down hordes of freaks in a car is fun and rewarding as their greenish blood splatters. Lastly is co-op, it now allows for up to 4 players drop in-out co-op, meaning that 4 players can tackle 4 seperate missions, at once, or create as much mayhem or destruction as possible. Expand
  12. NathanP.
    Jul 7, 2010
    8
    Crackdown 2 is just like the first game, but it's still enjoyable. The best part of the game is the orb collecting and ability upgrades. Sure the violence is mindless and repetitive, however I'm still having a lot of fun with the game. Gameplay hasn't changed, but you get a couple of new abilities and there are some new weapons. The graphics are cel-shaded, like a comic Crackdown 2 is just like the first game, but it's still enjoyable. The best part of the game is the orb collecting and ability upgrades. Sure the violence is mindless and repetitive, however I'm still having a lot of fun with the game. Gameplay hasn't changed, but you get a couple of new abilities and there are some new weapons. The graphics are cel-shaded, like a comic book. They look a bit dated but they're not N64 graphics as another reviewer stated. It's fun to explore the city and just do crazy stuff. There are some races you can complete if you like that sort of thing. Once again, the orb collecting is the real star of the show. Expand
  13. KyleM.
    Jul 11, 2010
    9
    While it doesn't change too much from the first, Crackdown 2 is still a blast to play. The improved multiplayer, new items and abilities, new missions and new enemies should please fans of the first. Unlike the original, which was just 21 assassinations, crackdown 2's mission structure is much more varried. Unfortunantely, the game is short and, although there are more types of While it doesn't change too much from the first, Crackdown 2 is still a blast to play. The improved multiplayer, new items and abilities, new missions and new enemies should please fans of the first. Unlike the original, which was just 21 assassinations, crackdown 2's mission structure is much more varried. Unfortunantely, the game is short and, although there are more types of missons, they get repetitive as you go through the game. a new batch of vehicles, like the agency chopper and the battle bus, a truck with multiple mounted turrents, along with new ordinance like the uv shotgun, flocket launcher and a rubber duck shaped grenade with an explosive power of a nuke known as the quacker, creates an immense amount of mayham that is boosted with the additons of 16 player versus and 4 player co-op. Nevertheless, Crackdown 2 is a hell of a lot of fun, especially with friends. In the words of that annoying sarcastic disembodied voice, it's a hot time in the old town of Pacific City!! Expand
  14. ChrisH
    Jul 11, 2010
    8
    Okay i see alot of reviews bashing this game, and most of it is justly deserved. This game is far from perfect but its still fun as hell to play. If you liked the first Crackdown there is no reason why you wont like the sequel even if its really just Crackdown 1.5. Heres to hoping Ruffian gets their shit together or the franchise get handed to a more proven developer.
  15. Luke
    Jul 6, 2010
    9
    Crackdown two may be referred as 1.5, but the new toys, orbs that have been added make it even bigger. Plus 4 player co-op is brilliant. In crackdown 2 you play how you want, in which order you want, the choices are up to you. You could do the missions, or go orb hunting, or even create as much havoc as possible.
  16. KyleC.
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    Okay, it's more of the same. Did you like the first one, though? It would have been nice if certain things were improved, a little better graphics, a new city, and better targeting, but this is a game that delivers what matters most: fun. It's addicting and just nonstop fun. It probably doesn't help this comes out after better open-world games Just Cause 2 and Red Dead Okay, it's more of the same. Did you like the first one, though? It would have been nice if certain things were improved, a little better graphics, a new city, and better targeting, but this is a game that delivers what matters most: fun. It's addicting and just nonstop fun. It probably doesn't help this comes out after better open-world games Just Cause 2 and Red Dead Redemption, but it's much better than last summer's Prototype. I would say this is a really good game. It's not great, but it's not average, and it's certainly not bad. Expand
  17. calebr.n
    Jul 7, 2010
    8
    Honestly it is kind of hard to review this game fairy. I mean sure it is as fun as hell and the new features such as the online multiplayer modes and the mutants and other stuff are awesome. But the game is little more than an expansion that should be dlc for maybe 20-30 dollars. Paying 60 dollars is pretty absurd. But overall I love it. My suggestion though don't buy it unless you Honestly it is kind of hard to review this game fairy. I mean sure it is as fun as hell and the new features such as the online multiplayer modes and the mutants and other stuff are awesome. But the game is little more than an expansion that should be dlc for maybe 20-30 dollars. Paying 60 dollars is pretty absurd. But overall I love it. My suggestion though don't buy it unless you were OBSESSED with the original (like I was) otherwise you will be dissapointed. And to those who have never played the first one I would buy this one as there is alot more features in this and the game is easily worth your money and worth a 10 out of 10 if you haven't played the first game before as it takes the original which is one of the best games of all time and makes some subtle improvements and adds a bunch of new content (also to those complaining about the targeting issues Ruffian has already stated they are working on a patch for it and should be out shortly). Expand
  18. BlayneW
    Jul 9, 2010
    8
    Game is a lot of fun. Missions are cut & paste, but creating havoc and wading into HUGE groups of enemies can be a blast... or jumping in a car and mowing down tons of freaks. Driving is much improved. New weapons are cool.
  19. MarkW.
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    If you enjoyed the first Crackdown, you'll have a blast with the sequel. Yes, it's more of the same! But, it's everything I enjoyed from the first one. Besides How many 4-player Co-op games are you gonna play this year?
  20. JeffJ.
    Jul 6, 2010
    10
    Yes, it's almost the same game as Crackdown (1). So what? Crackdown was one of the funnest games ever. Four player coop, gliding, and zombies just put Crackdown 2 over the top.
  21. francoisd.
    Jul 6, 2010
    10
    Better than the last one. Most of these scores are depressed because they wanted even more, not because what we got is bad.
  22. DonaldS.
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    This game is very much like Crackdown 1, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. Multiplayer is a nice diversion, but not entirely fleshed out. If you like the last Crackdown you will like this one.
  23. RichardT.
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    Don't trust reviews.....this game is fun as hell. Yes it has some issues, but every game does. This game however is more then worth the money if you have 3 friends to play with. It seems reviewers these days are so tied up in what is wrong they forget what is right.
  24. PWarren
    Jul 7, 2010
    9
    Crackdown 2 is allot like the first one, and that's just what I wanted more carnage. I was genuinely concerned after seeing the first trailer that Ruffian had tried to inject to much story into it and maybe tried to copy Prototype. This is not the premise behind this game or the franchise. This game appeals to me the old school gamer who enjoys big carnage without being weighed down Crackdown 2 is allot like the first one, and that's just what I wanted more carnage. I was genuinely concerned after seeing the first trailer that Ruffian had tried to inject to much story into it and maybe tried to copy Prototype. This is not the premise behind this game or the franchise. This game appeals to me the old school gamer who enjoys big carnage without being weighed down in a bunch of cut-scenes and tedious storytelling. Hop in, Hop out, play when you can, enjoy the "Splosions" and become a collect-a-holic, good times ahead. Expand
  25. EmoryH
    Jul 8, 2010
    8
    Let's be realistic people this game is just crazy fun to play. Is it a revolutionary change in gaming? Of course not but it's a blast to throw down on. The co-op play is insane and makes for a strange mix of randomness that will keep you laughing all throughout the game. Nothing says unity like throwing your partners from the highest heights and then going down and reviving them Let's be realistic people this game is just crazy fun to play. Is it a revolutionary change in gaming? Of course not but it's a blast to throw down on. The co-op play is insane and makes for a strange mix of randomness that will keep you laughing all throughout the game. Nothing says unity like throwing your partners from the highest heights and then going down and reviving them or hitting their lifeless body with a car. All around good times and shennanigans! Expand
  26. RielC
    Jul 8, 2010
    9
    It's just as good and as fun as the original, I have no idea what people are blabbing on about there. I had a great time playing single player, the only complaint I have is it's a bit short. The online is epic, and I can't wait to do it all over again when my friends get the game.
  27. CodyF
    Jul 9, 2010
    10
    I picked up the first game a while back and absolutely adored it. Any of the bad from that game was basically drowned out by all of the amazing gameplay. When i heard there was a sequel i pre-ordered it right away. Despite the reviews this game has gotten thus far, it deserves a far better reputation. This game did not mess with anything that players enjoyed from the first, and then they I picked up the first game a while back and absolutely adored it. Any of the bad from that game was basically drowned out by all of the amazing gameplay. When i heard there was a sequel i pre-ordered it right away. Despite the reviews this game has gotten thus far, it deserves a far better reputation. This game did not mess with anything that players enjoyed from the first, and then they built upon that and turned it into what will remain one of my, and many other's, favorite and most played game to date. The controls have been improved, melee combat has more variety than the first game, the vehicles control MUCH better and are unlocked as you level up your driving skill rather than transforming, weapons are plentiful and there's one for every style of play, the edition of 4 player co-op is just amazing, the new benefits for leveling up your stats (wing suit, ground strike, etc) give new purpose to trying to level up every stat, the explosions have increased in size, and the fact that you can change your armor color gives some extra variety and makes it easier to tell your friends apart when playing online. There are some bad things though, the cell shaded look doesn't appeal to a lot of players, the story is still kind of weak, minor bugs occur when playing online, and sometimes while climbing a building your agent will not grab a ledge and you will fall. I don't care about the graphics and story because i feel the gameplay is all that matters, and the minor issues with the online and climbing are scarce and negligible for the most part. Overall, I would say this game is well worth the price and the wait, and i would recommend it to anyone who likes a good third person action game, and even to those who don't. Expand
  28. Aug 26, 2010
    8
    I almost overlooked this game for a dumb reason. Most of the critics of this game say are giving it a low score because they feel that it is like playing the first game only with a co-op component. While I feel this is good to know, I think the giving it a low score based on this seems inconsistent with other reviews. For instance, GTA IV received great reviews (deservedly so), but was itI almost overlooked this game for a dumb reason. Most of the critics of this game say are giving it a low score because they feel that it is like playing the first game only with a co-op component. While I feel this is good to know, I think the giving it a low score based on this seems inconsistent with other reviews. For instance, GTA IV received great reviews (deservedly so), but was it a great departure from other GTA games? Nope. So to rate this game low because not much changed from the original game is baseless. It is good to know if you have already played the original game (you may not want to spend $59 dollars for something that closely resembles a game you already played), but it is not a reason to score something low. Since I never played the first Crackdown, I feel that I am able to render a more objective opinion of the game. Overall, it is very good. A few graphical glitches here and there (One notable moment when a Freak walked several hundred feet off the edge of a cliff and then vanished). Also the AI can be a bit dumb (sometimes the Enemies just ignore you). But overall I am having a lot of fun playing the game, collecting orbs, and trying to score some achievements. So if you like open world games and have never played the first Crackdown, I highly recommend this game because it is fun. Some minor flaws, but nothing that is a giant let down. Expand
  29. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    I almost didn't buy this game because of negative reviews - but I sure am glad I DID buy it. I love this game for all kinds of reasons. I think the graphics are colorful, sharp, clear. The action is non-stop. If they had put in 3 gangs again like last game, then that just would've been the same thing again. So I guess Ruffian decided to have just one gang "Cell". And CellI almost didn't buy this game because of negative reviews - but I sure am glad I DID buy it. I love this game for all kinds of reasons. I think the graphics are colorful, sharp, clear. The action is non-stop. If they had put in 3 gangs again like last game, then that just would've been the same thing again. So I guess Ruffian decided to have just one gang "Cell". And Cell can be very tough, especially when there are a lot of snipers and guys firing rockets at you. I've played a lot of games like Gears of War, Fallout, Dead Space, Starcraft II, and I can honestly say I really enjoyed Crackdown 2 just as much as those other games. There is something really addictive about the game - collecting all those orbs, trying to get all your skills to the max, and those boot thrusters are awesome. Well done Ruffian Studios, don't listen to those fussy grumps who don't like this game. Can't wait for Crackdown 3 - YeeHaw! Expand
  30. May 31, 2011
    8
    I'm kind of in two minds about this game.. As theres ALOT i like about this game,& indeed Crackdown 1.That it has Co-Op(Shame theres no split-screen too though),its free roaming,the leveling/improvment system,& the fun of the combat & jumping & climbing from rooftop to rooftop.Its great that this game offers 4 player Co-Op,over the first games 2,but the thing that brings this second gameI'm kind of in two minds about this game.. As theres ALOT i like about this game,& indeed Crackdown 1.That it has Co-Op(Shame theres no split-screen too though),its free roaming,the leveling/improvment system,& the fun of the combat & jumping & climbing from rooftop to rooftop.Its great that this game offers 4 player Co-Op,over the first games 2,but the thing that brings this second game down for me sumwhat,is that this games set in the same city(though its kind of interesting to see the contrast of whats happened to the city,& all the places you recognised from the first game).& the mutants that come out at night.Nightime just feels ridiculous & TOO over the top,with all these mutants about everywhere,You would think their numbers would start to dwindle,as you exterminate them in huge quantities throughout the game,but they dont seem to.. I know the ultimate aim of the game,is to eridicate them completely,with these light bombs,but being able to reduce their numbers significantly during the course of the game,would've been nice.. Expand
  31. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    As I didn't have the original I can provide a rating for this game in its own right , without being angry that it is apparently rather similar to its predecessor.
    The Free roam is brilliant and you can have hours of fun jumping from building in a large open world city.Killing zombies is fun and doesn't get old quickly like in some games. Co - op is great with 'craziness' and fun on a level
    As I didn't have the original I can provide a rating for this game in its own right , without being angry that it is apparently rather similar to its predecessor.
    The Free roam is brilliant and you can have hours of fun jumping from building in a large open world city.Killing zombies is fun and doesn't get old quickly like in some games. Co - op is great with 'craziness' and fun on a level with Saints Row 2.There are hours of play to be had across the games multiple game modes and if you are going to pick up a second hand game to play soon , I recommend this one.
    Collapse
  32. May 8, 2013
    8
    They say the original is always best in most movie and video game franchises. Crackdown 2 is no exception to that saying. While I loved the first Crackdown so much, Crackdown 2 is basically just more of what you love. The super-jumping, orb-collecting Agents are streamlined to be more fluid and easier to control. The non-stop action is the real fun of this game. Crackdown 2 is one of thoseThey say the original is always best in most movie and video game franchises. Crackdown 2 is no exception to that saying. While I loved the first Crackdown so much, Crackdown 2 is basically just more of what you love. The super-jumping, orb-collecting Agents are streamlined to be more fluid and easier to control. The non-stop action is the real fun of this game. Crackdown 2 is one of those few games where "Do anything and go anywhere you want" has real meaning. Trust me, this game consumed me for 3 months after it's release. Expand
  33. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    A lot of people say this game is more of the same, and it is partially true. here is my review:
    SINGLE PLAYER- 6/10. very basic story, not as good as orginal
    GRAPHICS- 7/10. almost identical to original, with few new additions (i.e. bigger explosions) SOUND- 7/10. nothing special. serviceable, but not outstanding GAMEPLAY- 8/10. similar to OG, but with fun new additions CO-OP- 9/10.
    A lot of people say this game is more of the same, and it is partially true. here is my review:
    SINGLE PLAYER- 6/10. very basic story, not as good as orginal
    GRAPHICS- 7/10. almost identical to original, with few new additions (i.e. bigger explosions)
    SOUND- 7/10. nothing special. serviceable, but not outstanding
    GAMEPLAY- 8/10. similar to OG, but with fun new additions
    CO-OP- 9/10. fun 4 player co-op, drop in and drop out
    FUN FACTOR- 8/10. similar to OG, but still very fun game
    TOTAL SCORE: 8/10
    Expand
  34. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    I love this game, all the comparisons to the first game are void, this one has a better more detailed world, a new challenge, better physics and more weapons. Need I say more. Much better than the first one (which was amazing btw.)
  35. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    As I didn't have the original I can provide a rating for this game in its own right , without being angry that it is apparently rather similar to its predecessor.
    The Free roam is brilliant and you can have hours of fun jumping from building in a large open world city.Killing zombies is fun and doesn't get old quickly like in some games. Co - op is great with 'craziness' and fun on a level
    As I didn't have the original I can provide a rating for this game in its own right , without being angry that it is apparently rather similar to its predecessor.
    The Free roam is brilliant and you can have hours of fun jumping from building in a large open world city.Killing zombies is fun and doesn't get old quickly like in some games. Co - op is great with 'craziness' and fun on a level with Saints Row 2.There are hours of play to be had across the games multiple game modes and if you are going to pick up a second hand game to play soon , I recommend this one.
    Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 91
  2. Negative: 7 out of 91
  1. Crackdown 2 looks sharper, the action is fiercer and the increased number of players pays dividends. Despite all this, we can't shake the feeling that it isn't the monumental sequel that the series deserved. The over-familiarity of Pacific City and the cropping of key features like the gangs and transforming vehicles will leave some Agency veterans feeling a little bit disappointed.
  2. It's gets a tad dull by the end of the game, and as your character levels up, it becomes less of a challenge as well (unless you're on harder difficulties, naturally).
  3. If you're coming into the series afresh, Crackdown 2 is well worth checking out, but for those of us who have patiently waited over three years for a sequel, it's a mild disappointment.