User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 294

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 5, 2014
    9
    This is the second Crysis game I've played, and it's not reveloutionary but it's a solid FPS, with jaw dropping graphics, well realised universe and great characters.

    Story.
    About 20 yrs after the events of crysis 2, you awaken in a world overrun by the croupt Cell corporation that controls the worlds energy. You are still in NY and it's now a urban jungle in a dome. But why? What is
    Cell hiding? The story is well written, simple but great. Prothet is a great protagonist and he now talks which gives him the depth he needed. Side characters like his comrade friend Pysho is great, and all feel human.

    Graphics.
    Absolute beautiful. Makes next gen look outdated. The grass is amazing, the water the way it ripples during footsteps and gunfire, explosion how the thick black smoke comes. Everything is amazing. The colours are beautiful. The gun textures are great. I'm surprised that a game that is 5.5gbs which runs 60fps on the Xbox 360 can look this great. Facial animations are top notch, the Ceph look amazing.

    Sound
    The voice acting is great. Prothet sounds cool and robotic. The footsteps from enimies and yourself are great, the way you can enhance sound by looking through your visor on an enimies in the distance is cool. The metal cutting sound that the Ceph makes when their moving, or when they are mumbling to eachother. The chatter amongst Cell guards. Are all very well done. The guns sound amazing. This game is awesome with headphones. Truly a movie like experience. The soundtrack is great.

    Content.
    This game on the hardest difficulty is will make it about 10hrs long if you find all the collectibles, look for alternative paths, upgrades. 7 missions, the maps on the later levels are truly enormous. Side activities to do during your main quest too. Like helping fellow soldiers stuck in a car, then reward you with a weapon if you want.

    Gameplay.
    Stealth, hack, assault, ambush, snipe? What do you want to do? You can jump 3 metres high, or slam your fist into the earth the ground shock enimies, you can straggly dispatch them with a knife. Or you can use your bow, kill them with normal carbon, or explosions, eletricute them. You can kick cars into them. The gameplay is near endless, so much you can do, all skills can be improved to maximise it's efficientcy. Cloak and armour are back and can also be enhanced. Car driving, or tanks is optional if you find one throughout the map. All handle well.

    Overall it's hard to find a fault in this game. It's high production value, sets the bar high. The game is highly replay able. The only downside it's shorter then crysis 2 buy a good few hours and the story can be a bit over dramatic at times. But still a amazing package.
    Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2014
    8
    The only errors I can find is that it is a game that takes some time to master and there are not many players on the Xbox 360 version. On the DLC, I am not joking the most players I have ever seen on the games are a maximum of 2. The only good it does is the RHINO and the CLAW gun because it already has all the attachments and it is powerful. All in all it is a wonderful game full of amazing quality in multiplayer and the Story is very informative, thoughtful, filled with emotion and wonderful designs. The voice acting is great and the quality is top notch. The game-play is one of the best I've ever seen. Expand
  3. May 15, 2014
    9
    i loved this game. Loved the second opus and the third is just as fun as the previous. you can do every single task in so many different ways. the nano suit is a blast and guns are sick. the environments are gorgeous. this game deserve a better score
  4. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Crysis 3 is more than just pretty graphics. It has great gameplay that combines the gameplay that made the first and second so great to play. The plot, universe and story are all very well done and Hunter mode is one of the most intense online modes I've ever played.
  5. Mar 6, 2014
    6
    after the excellent crysis 1 and 2 i was excited to play 3. after a eventually getting around to it i was disappointed at the direction of the campaign. the game was very short, didn't offer much exploration and the enemies were not at all exciting and fairly typical in the way that they attacked our player. i really enjoyed the story elements between psycho and profit, the voice acting was really well done and the story was hard to follow but enjoyable of what came to the surface. the gameplay was still fluid and fun and the new addition of the bow was enjoyable and added an extra element to trying to stealth through enviroments. however the stealth in this game is far to janky - some situations enemies can't see you when they should and other times you are completely hidden in a bush behind a tree and come out of cloak and everyone will be able to see you for no reason. it is a frustrating experience in terms of stealth or understanding how the enemies sight lines work. The driving sections in this game were truly awful and i had to force myself to play through these sections despite them being only 5-10 minutes long. overall this game provided a mediocre experience that lasted only around 5 hours. there are definitely better shooters available on the market.
    I wasn't able to play multiplayer as there was no one playing and the only matches i was able to join either ended abruptly due to disconnections or were so laggy the hit detection didn't register. The game is really stunning though. the environments are great to look at, the effects are top notch and the grass realistically sways in the breeze. but graphics don't mean anything if the game is not a ton of fun to play.
    Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2014
    6
    I'm not all to excited playing this game. It kind of sucks and is boring. I found out that all I need to do was wait behind wall, etc on each level until I had enough energy and go stealth mode through it. Maybe that's how you are supposed to play it, but I found it boring, simple, and easy. The gear, weapons and tech gadgets and some of the levels were cool, but over all I'm not impressed with it.
    Several times I would shot the enemy in stealth mode, or with the bow and they would find me. How can that be if they can't see me? For example: Trying to get to the Damn, I'm in a cave way up high and shot an exploding tip arrow. The enemy knows exactly were it came from and starts throwing grenades. How can that be!?
    Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    8
    Crysis 3 was a great play. The graphics are flawless in HD and the game runs smooth. The one player gameplay is not my forte, but I can still feel good about rating this an 8 just based on the multiplayer alone. The weapons are better, the maps are cool and the game modes get my heartbeat racing in the funnest most edge of the seat way possible. This is a must play first person shooter for the xbox 360. Two thumbs way up! A solid 8 for me. Expand
  8. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    Loved it. I cannot believe the amount of people who play a game just to see how fast they can get to the end. A game is meant to be immersive. The environments... the sounds, sights. Those who blast their way through a game run and gun style miss the point of the developers spending countless hours on graphics. The detail, lighting and surround sound are awesome and become apparent once you get outside. It's exciting... gets your heart racing in tight spots as your cloak dies out. There are many ways to go through missions but despite feeling apprehensive about the bow initially, it was a great addition and a Hell of a lot of fun deciding what weapon or what arrow tip to sparingly use. Awesome!!! Expand
  9. Aug 31, 2013
    6
    [6.7] Just like the other games, Crysis 3 loses its focus very fast, and instead of being a fun new stealth simulator like it is at the beginning of the game, it quickly becomes a generic shooter that throws enemies at you just so you forget how shallow the game is becoming. If given another year or two, Crysis 3 would have absolutely been the best game on the Xbox 360.
  10. Jul 7, 2013
    7
    Crysis 3 gives us a really good looking game, but is there enough substance to fill this beautiful world? The story starts off right where Crysis 2 ended. Psycho frees Prophet from Cell in hopes he will aid the rebels in their war. I would say the plot is the best of series, as you actually care about the two main protagonist. It is really short, but I rather say, "short but sweet". But the real reason you play Crysis is the gameplay, and the third installment doesn't make any drastic changes, but it is still a whole lot of fun. The bow is very fun to use but is slightly overpowering. The game looks and runs beautifully, maybe one of the best looking games of this generation. It also sounds really good as well, every gun sounds powerful and all the voice acting is top notch. The multiplayer is very standard, you have the typical team deathmatch, capture the flag, and king of the hill. The mode that stands out is Hunter mode, which is similar to Halo's flood mode. A couple players start off with the bow and permanent camouflage, and must hunt the other players. Crysis 3 moves the franchise forward, not a leap, but more of a step forward. Expand
  11. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    Goood game but 2 one was way better the upgrade system is broken for some people and its not what I expected to play.Ending is weird hopfully we will see a crisis 4 in next gen.
  12. Jun 15, 2013
    5
    When I first started playing this game, I was reminded how low the gaming industry has sunk. The bland color, the military like setting, even the level design. The character who I was introduced with 'psycho' was screaming tough guy, and it was just not paying off. But as I played on, I started to enjoy myself more but the problem is, I am not sure if I was enjoying myself through gameplay aspects or just enjoying listening to Pyscho's cringe worthy lines. There are a few fun parts, don't get me wrong, I think Crytek have put 65% into graphics, and split the rest between gameplay and story, which is not a good idea! it is almost impossible to be stealthy without using the cloaking device, and because the cloaking device needs to recharge every now and then, when you come out of it, your almost instantly spotted and fired upon! the worst part is, your almost forced to go stealthy through a large part of the game. Given all this, I would still like to try the game out on PC. Expand
  13. May 29, 2013
    9
    I loved this game. Of course since it is Crysis the graphics are gorgeous, that does not need to be said but I'll mention for the sake of completeness. The guns are very satisfying to use in both appearance and sound. The main addition to this game is the bow, and holy crap it is fun to use. With 4 different arrowheads and 3 settings for draw-strength that can be changed in the fly, the bow can change from a lightweight stealth weapon for picking off soldiers into an electrified javelin of death when facing the Ceph. Pulling back an arrow and letting it fly never, ever got old. Ever. Overall, the weapons are excellent. And I'll say it one more time: The bow is AMAZING.

    The gameplay offers a diverse set of ways to approach each mission from quiet stealth to armored rampage, although sometimes it is a little too tempting to simply go invisible and just pick off each enemy that crosses your path. The game still allows you to play your way, which is a refreshing change from other linear FPS games of late. At the end of the day, a powered biosuit that can turn invisible and utilise super-armour is undeniably badass.

    The story is more straightforward than the last game, and I was happy with the conclusion. Some players have complained about the short length of the campaign, but I feel that the variety of gameplay negates this aspect. I didn't feel that it was particularly short once I'd reached the end. It felt like a good length for the game.

    Finally, the multiplayer. The multiplayer won't make a dent in CoD's fanbase, but it's unique aspects make it a fun addition to the game. The ability to use stealth and Air Stomps is great, and the fact that opponents are markedly more intelligent and mobile than the campaign AI means that getting a kill with the bow is much more satisfying. The game modes are tailored to fit the Crysis universe, and each of them allows for a different playstyle to thrive.
    Expand
  14. May 23, 2013
    8
    crysis 3 is a very good game, after following the series (all except war head, havent got round to it but i will) all that disappointed me was the short campaign and the limited and sometimes un even multiplayer. the multiplayer yes is better than crysis 2 and combat is better than crysis 3 just because the gameplay flows better even though the gametypes were better in the first before it did a call of duty. on xbox this game looks amazing and with the systems price comparison to a pc to play it on the same settings is just un beatable. however i noticed a few alarmingly irritating problems in the multiplayer, first off the weapons you unlock down the track are much more lethal and eveery second game i get dropped out because of migrating sessions, and it doesnt save your stats either, apart from that a good game. Expand
  15. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    Crysis 3 is the latest Crysis to hit the market. So how does it do over Crysis 2? Its good but its too much the same as Crysis 2 in weapons, location and a few other stuff. No new weapons besides the bow, witch is very good. Campaign is weaker then Crysis 2' s campaign. Story is good, but not interresting at some points. Gameplays the same, but maybe thats the same case with the first and second game (never played the first game). However Crydis 3 is a lot less buggy and glitches in it then in Crysis 2. Multiplayer is still really good and a new gamemode is added were one bunch of guys or humans and one bunch of guys are invisible hunters with bows, witch is very intence stuff. Overall good game but could have been better. Crysis 3 7.5/10 Expand
  16. Apr 26, 2013
    1
    This game might be the worst game I have played. The only reason I gave it a one is because the graphics are good, but that does not make up for the horrible game play. You are so overpowered with your powers of your suit and that ridiculous bow you get right off the bat that it is way too easy which in turn makes this game very boring. Even on the hardest difficulty it is easy. I regret spending $65 on this trash. Expand
  17. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    Crysis 3 is amazing game and the campaign stands out from other games. First of all, the game play is really diverse and the developers gave players a choice in how to play. You can either play stealthy or run and gun you way through the game. More game developers should offer this to players instead of one straight path. The visuals of this this game look amazing even on the Xbox 360 version. While the PC version looks amazing the Xbox 360 version still looks great. The story is pretty good but nothing about it stands out. Another thing, Crysis 3 does right is its multiplayer and its surprising really good with the suit abilities from the campaign in cooperated into the mulitplayer. Overall, Crysis 3 has a good campaign and multiplayer. Expand
  18. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    Just finished C3 on a Xbox and thought it was excellent. I've also played the first two, the first on a PC and the second on PS3. I felt this was the best of the trio. I enjoyed the character development and the story line. The graphics were very well done and I found the game play submersive.
  19. Apr 5, 2013
    6
    To start, Crysis 3 feels like glorified DLC... Everything from the launch icon is the same. The menus. everything. I have played limited multiplayer but that feels the same. Single player makes me feel boxed in the map. This game is not the best. I feel you should pay 30 dollars instead of 60. Get only if you like Crysis. If you want to try it out get Crysis 2.
  20. Apr 5, 2013
    7
    Its not that its a bad game, at times it can be quite brilliant. However, its too easy to simply make your way to the exit, and end the level, which makes what would otherwise be a great game far too easy. Other than the ending, its possible to beat most levels without having to vanquish a single enemy. Now that's not to say that there's no fun to be found in going around stealthily taking out the the variety of foes thrown your way, but it left me feeling that it lacked any real challenge. If you take this exact game, change it so that the exits are sealed until the enemies are cleared, and it goes from a 7 toa 9. Expand
  21. Apr 3, 2013
    4
    Gorgeous graphics don't compensate for the atrocious gameplay that crysis 3 delivers.
    The game starts with a boring repetitive stealth section that just beggs to have different execution animations or at least a little bit of challenge from the Ai just something that is not as repetitive then you finally end up shooting everything at your sight and trashing the broken and useless stealth
    mechanic that just makes you remember there's nothing new aside from a couple of better textures that you probably won't even notice unless you pay attention at the ground that you're stepping in. The gameplay is by far the most linear and repetitive gameplay of the series so far is just you going into several different "open" sections and killing everything that even moves, the gameplay in crysis 3 can be described as going into several different rooms shoot every suicidal soldier ai and move on the next room to repeat the same process. And you are doing all of this to get a barely decent ending that can't even hold up to any story of the past games. In conclusion Crysis 3 is the worst game in the franchise yet this is the perfect example to show that gorgeous graphics cannot make a game good if the gameplay and the story and pretty much everything else just doesn't work. Expand
  22. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    This game has unbelievable combat and weapon feel. I personally am a sucker for weapon feel to be honest i sometimes play games just for the weapon experience. I give it 85 out of 100
  23. Mar 30, 2013
    6
    The original Crysis set a high bar, but it had plenty of flaws. The more linear Crysis 2 is also a great shooter which proved that Crytek could deliver a decent (and good looking) shooter to consoles. There is an ongoing debate on whether Crytek “sold out” by developing console games instead of sticking with pc only titles. Crytek’s CEO stated that piracy of the original Crysis on PC was so extreme that they hardly broke even on sales during the first few years of its release. Consoles hinder piracy and boost Crytek’s top line so they can develop more titles. So what about Crysis 3? Well, it’s an average shooter. The campaign allows gamers to pick different approaches and either rampage or sneak accordingly. Of course, all this is done while wearing a super-powered nanosuit. For a Crytek game, the campaign is short. About 4-6 hours depending on how you play. Although the campaign will disappoint hardcore Crysis fans, it will satisfy most gamers. However, the predator bow mechanics negates tactics and switching to enhanced vision highlights all enemies on the map, even thru cover. Boring. Some people have complained about the game’s “stupid” AI. The AI fits the game’s purpose even if baddies aren’t exceptional lethal. Considering the godlike accuracy of enemies in Black Ops 2 (on higher difficulties), I’m not really bothered by Crysis 3’s AI. Overall, the campaign is too easy and forgettable and probably something I won’t revisit. The multiplayer is a vast improvement over Crysis 2 and most of the flaws have been ironed out. There are new multiplayer modes. Best of all, the maps are huge. These are definitely some of the best environments I’ve seen in a multiplayer fps. There are plenty of ledges to grab and heights to propel from in order to dispatch 3 or 4 baddies with a gratifying air stomp. Oh yes. There is nothing quite like jumping off a 60 ft tall dilapidated building and landing in the midst of entrenched enemies. The suit mechanics are simply amazing and unparalleled by other popular shooters. Jumping around and grabbing ledges never gets old. Although multiplayer matches move quickly, the nanosuit boosts survivability. There is a steep learning curve for the uninitiated. But after a few hours of play, you’ll realize the suit is a wonderful tool of destruction. The right tactics will allow even average players to last a minute or longer without dying. This is an eternity compared to a COD multiplayer match. Overall, Crysis 3’s multiplayer is one of the best Xbox has to offer. So what’s the bad? Well, Crysis 3 pushes the Xbox 360 to its breaking point. Graphical hiccups are painfully noticeable during the kill cam and match highlights. Also, loading times for customizations and stats are long. Even worse, Crysis 3 can completely freeze your Xbox. The game lacks polish and even feels unfinished at times. After playing both the PC and Xbox versions, I was surprised how different they looked. PC graphics were crisp and performance was exceptional. Basically, Crysis 3 on a well-tuned PC will put Xbox to shame. It demonstrates that Microsoft needs to come out with a new console and soon. Another big complaint is gun mechanics. Gun recoil can be brutal. But that's intentional. The point and shoot mentality of other popular shooters will get you killed plenty in a Crysis 3 death match. However, there are guns to suit every play style and the right loadout and upgrades will increase your chances of success. Lag and server disconnects are my biggest complaints. Unfortunately, these are issues I’m seeing in all my favorite fps titles. They’re just blatantly obvious in this game and extremely frustrating at times. Crysis 3 is a good shooter that will be overlooked by too many gamers. Unfortunately for Crytek, its hardcore fans have done the company a disservice by comparing everything to the original Crysis. Shut up already. Crysis 2 and Crysis 3 are good titles. The multiplayer alone is worth the admission price. For people on the fence about which version to get, I say go for Xbox because the Live community is so robust. If eye popping graphics is all you care about, get it for PC (but only if it can run the game at higher settings). I was prepared to give this game a 7, but it lacks the finesse that we were promised by Crytek. Is this a "next gen" game? Not on Xbox. Server lag, glaring texture popins, and system crashes really hold this title back. But it's still fun to play and the mp experience is one of the best on the market. Expand
  24. Mar 28, 2013
    6
    If you buy games for the visuals, you are good with this one. If you buy a shooter for simple killing, this might work as well. If you are looking for an experience, which grabs you and do not leave you out until the (very short campaign) is finished rent it for a weekend or wait for six months before you buy it.
  25. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Crysis 3 is probablly in my top 5 games so far this year. I picked up Crysis 2 about a week before its release on February 19th and I was so impressed by the story, gameplay and graphics I shelled out 65 dollars the next day at my local Gamestop because it won me over that fast. Its amazing and I know the story was about 6-7 hours long and I give that an 8/10 because even for its length it was worth it. The online multiplayer was so unique and fun that I give that a 10/10 so overall it gets a 9/10. Best shooter so far next to Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel which is everything I love in a shooter and a co-op game Expand
  26. Mar 25, 2013
    3
    This game makes some major throws at trying to achieve what Crysis 1 and Warhead were able to achieve. But aspects of the first game and everything in it seem to be a patch job. There are still no abilities to fly the Vtols or other craft. The vehicle are limited and in closed environments. Gone are the boat rides and vehicle attacks. Although they did open the environmental a bit, it never meets the expecatitions of the original. I mean online multiplier consisted of being able to buy tanks and vtols and was a lot of fun. But this game fails to perform on every level. Also Prophet killed himself and he replaced his body with a soldier. I get what they were trying to do saying prophet lived in the suit, but you already killed him off and I appreciate trying to appease fans. But what I think EA and Crytek and Bioware need to do sometime is with a major fan backlash is to release another game in Cryteks case that ignores the second ever existing. I love the last scene that takes me back to the first game in North Korea, but that beach was destroyed when they nuked it in the first game. I mean there is a saving throw to refer to the first game. But no cannon when it comes to story. It shows they listened to fan feedback which is a huge plus, but they ignore the fact that the chief complaint was that it was a console port with closed environmental in or to become more call of duty. Expand
  27. Mar 23, 2013
    8
    This isn't exactly a next-generation come early, but it's amazing campaign and superb multiplayer put this game in a league of its own. Disappointingly, Crysis 3's campaign is substantially shorter than Crysis 2's campaign. However, the story is the best in the series. It's a very emotional story with stellar voice acting, great pacing, and interesting dialogue. Crysis 3 is one of the best looking games to date. Obviously the PC version looks the best but Crysis 3 still looks amazing on Xbox 360. There have been some minor improvements. You don't lose energy when you run anymore. There's a new mini-game that allows you to hack enemy turrets to create diversions. The enemy A.I is smart if not overpowered. New weapons have been added the most notable one being the compound bow. The control scheme is near flawless. You can add attachments to your weapons without scrolling through system menus. The complex upgrade system adds replayablity to the campaign. Overall Crysis 3 is a great game. The multiplayer, while not groundbreaking is will add more hours to the experience. Expand
  28. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    PRETTY BEEFLESS........lovely graphics, silly story, no mention of beef, ok sound, garbage multiplayer, boring campaign but good action in places, didnt enjoy it as much as crysis 2 cos that was more beefy
  29. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    It is a solid shooter at best. While Crysis 2 had you roaming the streets of New York fending off enemies, Crysis 3 ditches this as New York is now a Jungle. The cross bow is a nice addition and the graphics are amazing as ever but it felt as if the game played it safe. Multiplayer is pretty much carried over straight from Crysis 2 and it works but it doesn't try anything we haven't seen before. I'd wait for a price drop but if you a dedicated to the franchise, it will deliver a somewhat satisfying conclusion but it could be the weakest of the three titles Expand
  30. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is Game is Great, But Not Greater than the second one. This game is Mostly Focused on Stealth Which I used Stealth mode Too Much and Killing Enemies Silently. The Single Player Campaign is Awesome, But its Short and has seven missions. Expand
  31. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    Crysis 3 disappointed me back in E3 2012 but thankfully the game really exceeded my expectations by almost a mile. So, what makes this game so great? First of all, its the Cryengine 3 and its awesome capabilities that gives the game such a unique and expensive feel to it, and im not just talking about the technical graphics, I'll cover the rest later. Speaking of graphics (I could go on for an our about how incredible the graphics are) Crysis 3 is no doubt the best looking game on all platforms. While still impressive on consoles, it's an early next-gen experience for PC gamers. The game is so packed with details it's sometimes hard not to just wander around and marvel at the visuals. I played the game on PS3 as well, and I eventually found myself zooming in at a plant with my sniper rifle, surprisingly the plant was still high-res and detailed unlike most other console games where the texture would end up looking washed out. This, in a console game! When it comes to artistic design developer Crytek has decided to combine the lush jungle environment in the first game (just like the fans wanted) with the urban setting of Crysis 2 and made the city of New York a giant greenhouse(literary an urban jungle this time). This is pure nature reclaiming what belongs to it. The beautiful trees and plants, the water, the tall grass, the excellent sound design and the addition of new lensflares makes the environment come to life. It creates an atmosphere of humidity and heat I've never experienced before. The music score is also very well done if not better than crysis 2 in some areas, this shows that crysis 3 will not only please your eyes, but ears as well. I really recommend playing the game with headphones (adds to the experience a lot). So back to Cryengine 3, the core design method of the series. Did I mention Crysis 3 is a mix of 1 and 2? The level design works like a funnel. It's pretty straight forward and dialog heavy at first but later on the game expands itself throughout until it's very much comparable to the original Crysis, you even have vehicles to drive around with although not as many as in Crysis 1. Considering the amount of tools, mechanics, and nanosuit finesses in these 7 environments the possibilities are almost overwhelming. Simply play in a way that fits your personal style. Crysis has always been about adaptive warfare, that means you control the pacing by choosing your path, and you can use the environment to your advantage. This allow for a ridiculous amount of replay value not to mention the many collectibles and weapon attachments spread out in the liberty dome. The human enemy Cell AI is the best I've seen in a videogame. They rarely glitch (cough* crysis 2 cough*) and feel like real soldiers at times. They communicate and respond in a believable way and can think tactically (call for reinforcements, regroup and assault etc). The traditional Ceph grunt is similar to the ones in crysis 2 (except they doesn't get stuck in walls), however here we get to experience newer ceph units such as a big metallic, fire breathing bug or a velociraptor like stalker unit with long sharp claws. I don't think people realize how advanced and how much effort has been put into the Cryengine 3. Story wise the dialog shows mercy to its audience this time. Many didn't like the story of crysis 2 because it was so cryptic, Crysis 3 in the other hand fills nearly all questions and holes of the series, It explains why the enemy ceph are so different in crysis 2 compared to 1 for an example. The game is definitely the most story driven of the three, there is so much depth and detail to it and if you really understand the story of the crysis universe you will be interested. (details also referred to as cell intel) The story also focuses a lot on characters and dialog especially the relationship between Prophet (main character) and Psycho (side character), they both have solid personalities. The dialog is about distrust and can get quite touching and psychological at times, voice acting is also well done. Multiplayer has been very much refined fixing a lot of the bugs and flaws of the previous game, unfortunately there is no powerstruggle mode fans have been raving about as the game expands upon the crysis 2 multiplayer. There are a few innovative modes such as "Hunter mode" but there is also the traditional team deathmatch and capture the flag. There is a progression and customization system similar to many other mp shooters. You have many different weapons, perks and attachment. The gameplay is incredibly fluid and almost feels like an arena shooter. A VTOL and an alien walker has been added to the mix to spread the chaos even more. Multiplayer is something most people will enjoy but I personally play Crysis for its singleplayer. Crysis 3 is a super game in almost every way so it gets a 9.5 out of 10. Expand
  32. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Campaign was just over six hours. I basically just walked through the whole game in stealth, it was so boring and un-engaging. The story was supposed to be psychological but I seriously had no emotional response to it. There were way too many cut-scenes that left me wondering, "Why am I not controlling my character right now?" FFS, the majority of the endgame is comprised of QuickTime events. Focus on multi-player is a cop-out. Mutli-player means that developers get to stop working after the levels are built and they expect the customer to create their own sense of immersion. F that. Some 12-year-old d!p$#!t crying on team-speak does not help create atmosphere. If all I want to do is "compete", I'll play Call of Duty (which will never happen). I bought Crysis for the story and SciFi setting. The story and single-player campaign deserved more attention. Same price as previous titles, a lot less content and a whole lot more Hollywood. Thumbs down. This was a linear, boring, waste of money. Three points for having the most gorgeous graphics of any game ever. Expand
  33. Mar 6, 2013
    5
    Loved Crysis. Hated Crysis 2. Crysis 3 has not impressed me so far in terms of gameplay and story. The graphics once you get to the overgrown NYC are lovely. What drags the game down is the opening level. What a bore and a chore. Put me off the game. I just want to get through this came and put it on the 'completed' pile. Disappointing!
  34. Mar 4, 2013
    9
    First let me say this, the reason this game has a 7.8 right on Metacritic is because of the campaign. It is okay, but it's too short and there's too many issues with it. So reviewers are giving the campaign a 7 pretty much or even a 6. If you look at the multiplayer, it's highly upgraded from Crysis 2 and the framerates are more manageable than on the campaign. I would personally give the multiplayer a 10 or a 9.5. This is considering I have put massive amounts of hours into Call of Duty games, Battlefield games, Gears of War games, etc. I love those other games, but Crysis 3's multiplayer feels just right. It's very unique and different than any other fps multiplayer, despite what some people may say.

    Remember when you see the 7.8 score Crysis 3 has, that the campaign is dragging that overall score down so much. If you don't mind skipping fps campaigns and prefer hopping right online and gettin at it, I would highly recommend this game. It has a 10/10 fun factor and every online match plays out dynamically and differently. So I'd say ill give the campaign a 7 and the multiplayer a 10. That would be a score of 8.5 overall but the fun factor, ambition of the developers, and the fact that the development team is actually listening to players suggestions on the mycrysis.com forums and making swift changes to improve the game, makes me want to bump the score up some. The graphics look amazing on my pro calibrated lcd tv, on 1080p Xbox 360s 260gb. For a 7 year old system, it's sort of stunning that the developers were able to make the game look so good. There are bad things about the game like, the campaign overall, rare audio glitch(can be fixed by resetting xbox though), some sketchy textures on the metallic maps, and low player population online(1000-2500 depending on the time of day). Overall this game is a joy to play and reminds me of my younger days when I used to play sega genesis games for the fun of it. This game can really get fun and exciting online, I can only suggest that you try it out yourself... you may like it
    Expand
  35. Mar 4, 2013
    9
    Crysis 3 is an awesome game was a good way. I found an error in our game a lot, I think it was much better than the Halo 4. Good gameplay, nanosuit, invisibility, charming gameplay, good graphics. But for some reason, I feel that the game is not perfect. I appreciate the game graphics, gameplay, and so under.
    Graphics: 10/10 Gameplay: 9/10 Sound: 9/10 Atmosphere: 10/10 Control: 10/10

    Playability: 9/10 The Game: 9/10
    Expand
  36. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    So, the highly-anticipated landmark graphics machine called Crysis 3 has arrived. This is what we were waiting for, right? So does it stack up? Well, it depends on what you want. Graphically, yes, Crysis 3 deserves its crown; the visuals are extremely impressive overall (although someone really should've taken some time to render more alternate props; am I really to believe that every train car would decay in exactly the same way?). Weapon rendering is exceptional, and everybody from friendly soldiers, to CELL operators, to aliens is reach-out-and-touch-'em detailed. (Some relatively minor graphic glitches occur, but that's inevitable in a game of this scope.) The game's signature weapon, the bow, is also deserving of praise; it adds a new dimension to the game and is well-implemented. AI is realistically smart, reacting in such a close simulacrum of human behavior that it reminds you of the quantum leap that FEAR was back in the day; Crysis 3's AI is another massive leap forward. The problems, really, lie in two chief areas. One, C3 was set up to be the final showdown between Prophet/Alcatraz and CELL, but apart from the tutorial level and the very early game, you spend more time going up against spoiler-type alien foes who sneak up and bite you in the back. The other problem is that the game has a very slow start. You go from a very engaging opener to a deadly-dull introduction to the game world. Tough it out and the game picks up, but I couldn't help but think how much better Crysis 2 did with pacing. (It's also worth noting that within the first 20 minutes of gameplay, I ended up stuck in the level geometry after a jump, forcing a reload from checkpoint. Minor glitch.) Make no mistake, though: Crysis 3 has earned much of its hype. If you've been with the series since at least installment two, then Crysis 3 is worth owning. Even if you're only a fan of good FPS games, then Crysis 3 should be on your shopping list. It is a polished, well-built, and well-executed game; it just needed a little more tweaking to make it the optimal game. Originally, I rated this game a 7, but later had to downgrade to a 6; the disruption of plot and lack of any real resolution to the CELL situation definitely dings it by a point. (The big showdown is one mission long? Really?) If you're looking for a major battle brawl with CELL, disappointment reigns. So we're down to a somewhat-disappointed 6 to Crysis 3. Expand
  37. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    As you tear open the box, your meager Xbox 360 gasps, horrified. That could only mean... yes, another Crysis game has been released! Not only that, but it's a very good game.
    To start, let's talk about what Crysis has always been about: eye-melting graphics. Oh my... you're all in for a treat, as this is quite simply the best-looking Xbox game (at least during gameplay) ever. This is a
    truly stunning show of just what can be achieved with the low-specs that the 360 has to offer. However, during a very short time in my first runthrough, a massive stutter with the framerate occurred, but stopped around two minutes later. This is a minor hindrance when in every other moment of the game, the framerate is very smooth. Overall, I give the graphics 9.5/10.
    Next is the sound, another testament in the game. A memorable soundtrack, punchy weapon sounds, and (for the most part) great voice acting bring Crysis 3 to life. 9/10.
    Gameplay in Crysis 3 is slick, tactical and rewarding, especially in the campaign. Here, there is a brilliant, replayable and flexible set of seven levels which promote thinking through the situation. Go in guns blazing? They've got you covered. Sneakily stealth around with the new Predator Bow? Check. Speaking of that bow, it's a beauty, even if it's slightly overpowered. You will carry it with you at all times, can fire it cloaked, and use a variety of different arrows to rain death on your foes. However, this brings too much of a stealthy aspect to the game, as there are not enough heavy weapons to counter the 'I can do everything' bow. Generally, though, it is a good, creative aspect of a game, and a radical change from the typical guns-only gameplay from the likes of many recent FPSs. With the flexibility of the Nanosuit (letting you use armour to absorb plenty of bullets, the cloak to turn invisible, and your speed to storm past enemies) and locales, intelligent AI and interesting, customisable weaponry and abilities, the gameplay is an excellent, enjoyable tactical experience worthy of lots of credit. 9/10
    A surprising element to this game is the emotional, exciting plot that grips you, stitching you to your seat. The campaign is (as I have explained) a gameplay masterpiece, but you will only be drawn in more by the characters. Psycho in particular is a wonderful creation, with a good backstory and some of the most memorable lines in gaming history. Also, the sheer number of collectibles make the game stand out, as each one holds a short story of its own.The only drawback to all of this is just how short the campaign is, namely: extremely. On Easy and Soldier difficulties, the entire campaign will only last you five hours or so. This is made up by the replayability, collectibles and five difficulties, which save the package from suffering significantly. Crysis 3's campaign gets an 8.5/10.
    The most disapointing part of the game comes in the multiplayer, but that doesn't go to say that it's bad. The variety of gametypes, unlocks and maps bring a fun, balanced experience, but it doesn't try to do anything that hasn't been done before. Crysis's multiplayer could have been phenomenal, however, the lack of innovation holds what is still a fun part of the game back from greatness. 6.5/10.
    All in all, the package holds best-in-class graphics, a stellar campaign and great, fluid gameplay, with only the multiplayer losing marks for the overall game. Crysis 3 earns 8.5/10.
    Expand
  38. Mar 2, 2013
    2
    I really enjoyed Crysis 2 so I had high hopes. I stopped playing. The maps are confusing, you end up jumping around but then there are stupid little side places you should have gone. The wondering whether the jumping thing will work is super frustrating. The screen for nanosuit upgrades is very confusing, I never figured it out. Game play is pretty good, but they couldn't decide whether to go open sandbox or corridor, so they meshed them together and it doesn't really work. The story is stupid. Horrible game. Sorry. Expand
  39. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    I just now finished the campaign; it's a really good game. My initial impressions weren't too favorable, and the game does have its flaws, but as an alternative to all the cookie cutter military shooters out there, it is outstanding. Amazing graphics, gameplay that allows you to play however you choose, and a really well designed and thought out campaign. Highly recommended.
  40. Mar 1, 2013
    8
    Crysis 3 manages to tell a more personal story this time around, and even though you may feel unhuman with the nanosuit on, you never feel invulnurabble. With the adition of the predator bow that allows you to stay cloaked and take targets out quick and quite and the new hacking mechanic to turn turrent and traps against your enemies, you sometimes do feel overpowered. You could easily beat a big part of the levels just staying cloaked, letting turrents kill enemies and pierce an arrow to an enemy every now and then. Yet the real plus-side of the gameplay is the freedom. Hacking turrets and keeping a low profile is completely optional. Want to go in guns blazing? Go ahead. Saw a nice little spot to hunt your preys? Sure! And sometimes, you want to do is slow and sneaky, because the beauty of the game is breath taking. The cities are overgrown, vegitation wraps around the streets and buildings and wildlife runs around, fearing all that is around them. Rushing through a part of a level will make you miss the beauty of it, and by looking around for sneaky spots you'll be treated with the sweetest eyecandy on the current generation of consoles. The multiplayer though, is not as good as I hoped. Some of the modes are fun, like the new Hunter Mode, where a cloaked bow-wielding team has to eliminate the guns blazing enemy team in about two minutes each round. The other modes try to keep you mobile, but the spawns are so predictable that it's easy to get spawntrapped, and the often lagging or glitching charactermodels often make you wonder what the hell you're shooting at. But that doesn't make it a bad game, because what's good about it is truely amazing, and the bad things just fade away in the beauty of the game. Expand
  41. Feb 27, 2013
    7
    In my opinion, Crysis 2 is still the most gorgeous looking game I have ever played. However, Crysis 3 keeps that trend going, but doesn't add anything groundbreaking. The all new hunter mode is good and all, and the multiplayer is still awesome, but the story is a bit dull and worse than (Crysis 2's) and the overall design of the game is too similar to its predecessors. I would still suggest this game to most people who love FPSs. They can get a bit of a sneak peek of how the graphics of the next gen Xbox and PS4 will look early on. Expand
  42. Feb 25, 2013
    8
    Crysis 3 is one of the most anticipated games of the year. Crysis 3 is the 3rd Crysis game and to me it's really really good, not as good as Crysis 1 or Crysis 2. The game has really good graphics, also a good campaign but a bit too short and of course the multiplayer is awesome, and the sound FX for the weapons are great. Now the bad things about C3 is some of the dialogue, the dialogue is a bit clichéd and the glitches are really annoying the more they happen. Overall C3 is a brilliant FPS that it gets, 8/10. Expand
  43. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    Visually the best game for PS 3 and X360 by far. There are some minor bugs in SP(Sound dissapearing and some grapichbugs..) but still a very solid game and a good ending to the current consolegeneration.
  44. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    Crysis 3 is a fantastic game. Stunning visuals, fast and progressive storyline. Not to mention the new bow and the ability to kill things and remained cloaked. Some of the visuals are jaw dropping for a console of this age. The odd problem here and there but what do you expect, this is pushing things to the limit and beyond.
  45. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    This game is beautiful and the audio is top-notch. There's no doubts about that. Great story that has an ending that fans of the series, me included, will love. The gunplay is typical of a Crysis game, but has some changes and additions that are welcome. During the campaign, you now have the ability to quickly change between 3 sets of nanosuit modules that you'll unlock as you gather upgrades. Handy for when you want to change your nanosuit to accommodate your situation. New to the series is hacking with the nanosuit. You have the ability to take over gun turrets, door panels, stun enemies, etc... There's a certain satisfaction when a gun turret clears half the enemies for you making it easy for you to progress through the missions and kill off the rest. Along with beautiful set pieces, there's enough variety throughout the campaign to warrant another playthrough. After you're done with the campaign or just want to take a break, there's the multiplayer. I have to say I'm extremely pleased with what Crytek have done to improve on what Crysis 2 had. You now have separate energy bars for Armor and Stealth. Power running and jumping no longer drain energy. You're also able to edit your current loadout during the match. With pole throwing and shields, and alien weapons strewn through the maps, there's a lot to take in with a learning curve that could take some time to grasp, but once you do you'll be hooked. I know I am. Once you get a kill streak going, take over a Pinger, and keep it going while launching the killstreaks you've earned (earned by collecting dog tags from fallen foes) is a thrill you'll want to experience many times. Mind you, this isn't your simple pick-up-and-play Call of Duty. If you want a challenge, then Crysis 3's fast-paced multiplayer is just for you. There's even a playlist for those who prefer a classic feel, sans-nanosuit. Overall, if you want a change of pace, then Crysis 3 is for you. Expand
  46. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    I love science fiction and when science fiction meets gaming, Crysis is what you get. Crysis 3 takes place about 28 years after the second game so, New York has changed a lot. Crytek did a great job on the story this time around and I really cared for the characters in the game, especially Prophet and Psycho. The graphics, even though less stunning than the pc version, are still truly amazing on the consoles. The gameplay is exactly what you would expect from a Crysis game and the levels are a lot more open like in the first game. The gameplay is tight, responsive, and everything works the way it should. The multiplayer is pretty fun and a lot more thought was put into it than Crysis 2. Crysis 3 is a great game, it's only downfall is that it's not long enough. I played the game on veteran and managed to beat the game in about 7 hours, that's the only reason i'm giving this game a 9. Crysis 3 is awesome and if you love science fiction and first person shooters, look no further. Expand
  47. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    Crysis 3 is...well I'm lost for words really. The game takes place 24 years after Crysis 2, New York has been quarantined, C.E.L.L are taking over the world, the Ceph are growing in strength again and Prophet has been captured. When his old squad-mate Michael 'Psycho' Sykes busts him out of captivity the venture inside the quarantined 'Liberty Dome' to take down both C.E.L.L and the Ceph once and for all.
    Crysis 3's story is rather underwhelming, its a large scale story told on a small scale and is much slower paced than Crysis 2. The story never really gets going and then you have finished it due to the games insanely short length, averaging out at 4 and a half hours across all the difficulties.
    The graphics are only minorly improved over Crysis 2's which were a downgrade from Crysis 1 and the sound design is just atrocious. The inclusion of a game-breaking bug on the final boss battle does little to help the situation, affecting a handful of copies that will hopefully be fixed soon though knowing EA that could take a while.
    Crysis 3 is for fans of the series, newcomers aren't made welcome and even some long time fans are alienated. This is not the send off Crysis needed and it is one that it definitely didn't deserve.
    Expand
  48. Feb 22, 2013
    1
    I used metacritics for few years now. Never had an account. I was just reading game reviews. This game is so EPIC that i needed to sing up and write a review. Sorry for my bad english it's not my native language.
    Have you ever played Crysis 2? It could be my favourite multiplayer FPS all the time if not host picking/migration issues, lags and lack of support. After playing it, I said to
    myself that I will never buy Crytec game again.
    Thank god i rented Crysis 3. Campaign is great. Got glitched after 2 mins of playing tutorial when after equipping scope, targets do not spawned. Restarted. It works. Great job Crytec. First mission. Not that bad. Game freezed only twice. I don't really care about campaign so let's move on to MULTIPLAYER.

    Stealth, armor and power modes. GREAT. Hosting a game God mode AWESOME.
    I thought Crysis 2 had some serious MP issuses. Boy I was so wrong. In C2 even with lags u could compete and kill few ppl. Comparing to C3 it was best MP i ever played. Yes C2 had some issues like emptying full Feline clip at point blank range at someones back, then he turns around and kills you. C3 goes even higher shot guys back with shotgun at point blank range. He turns around and kills you, You die and 0,5 sec later he dies from ur shot. 7 or 8 games out of 10 u will end up in match that host have 5 bars of connection quality and everyone else have 1. If ur lucky u will have 2 bars. Yay. FInally the time has come and i was the host. Now I will show those nabz how to play this game propertly. Run into a group of 3 enemies. Killed one (First Strike). Other two doesn't even know what killed their mate. I hid around a corner and my motion/audio sensor starts beeping that enemy is getting closer. Gonna kill them. I'm the host so I'm the GOD. I moved from aroud a corner and they guy started shooting at me first. Poor guy, empited probably a clip at me (fck off I'm the host). I started to shoot at him. He got killed, I got "denied" badge and game freezed, which means noone (even me) got any XP. There is a slight chance that after game got freezed for me (host) rest of the players got Xp thanks to host migration, but I will don't count on it. Successful host migration happend to me only once so far.

    Long story short DO NOT buy this "game". Rent it first. If ur a masochist, u would love it. U will be punished for everything that u have or haven't done.
    If u want Crysis MP go for C2.
    If u want FPS go BF or CoD or FC3(havent played it yet)
    If u want great story I suggest u to try MGS1 or SH1 :)
    Just stay away from this game till cRYTEC will fix it, which could never happen. Check out their official forums. I think there are still topics about C2 MP issues. Best thing is their reply was we're working on it, and after doing nothing to fix this and releasing 2nd DLC maps they said we're happy with current MP experience so no new patches will come in.

    Almost forgot. heve u ppl ever heard of singleplayer lag? If not buy this game. If ur an achievement whore do not buy this game cause SP achievements are glitched.
    I gave this game 1 only because of stealth camo armor mode and because i loved C2 with all it flaws.
    Expand
  49. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    Good game. What happened to quality control? I've encountered more bugs in this game that suck the fun right out of what should have been game of the year. The audio ones are the worst. I died and when I restarted all the enemies were gone, in the entire level, walking through a map with no enemies equals poor review. Not. at all a good sequel.
  50. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    The Cry 3 engine is running some stunning visuals on the Xbox 360. Perfect FPS controls comparable to the Halo series. A great single player experience with an evolving story. My only complaint would be that I was experiencing a lot of sound issues during my time playing. I am still early in the game, but this brings my score down a notch.
  51. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    9/10. Best looking Crysis FPS to Date. Marvelous Sound, Gameplay and Story. If the story was longer than the 5-6 hours I would have given this a easy 10/10. As well, The Replay Value for this game is Very High. A lot of gun and various game modes. The most fun I've had online in some time.
  52. Feb 20, 2013
    8
    I didn't get my hopes up too high for Crysis 3 because I've heard all the angry gamers complaining about it on the internet, but I am having a lot of fun playing this game. I played through the campaign on the Super soldier difficulty on my first playthrough and it was intense, the enemies detect you quicker and kill you much faster than on the lower difficulties. Playing on this difficulty helps the immersion because you are genuinely afraid of being detected during the missions, because even with your suit armor activated you don't last long against the enemy. You can approach missions from different routes and with different strategies which makes it pretty interesting. I completed the game playing as stealthy as possible, and now i'm going to go back through and use maximum armor only and just run and gun. The multiplayer is surprisingly fun, I really love the level of customization and the unlock system. I can't describe exactly what it is, the multiplayer just feels good to me. It can be fast at times, it can be strategic and slower at times, but it's always fun and that is what matters the most to me. I hope you guys enjoy this game as much as I have. Expand
  53. Feb 20, 2013
    10
    great graphics, solid gameplay, unbelievable effects, good multiplayer, awesome maps, chinatown and central cavern are unrivaled, really next gen, best shooter on ps3,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,stop playing call of dity for a lil and play this Expand
  54. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    With Killzone like graphics on the 360 this game is pure eyecand (for console standards). But the downside is there's not much innovation this time. It's the same old FPS
  55. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Crysis 3 is the strongest entry in the franchise. The puzzle-like combat scenarios have never been better with its suite of gameplay options and opportunities while the engaging narrative urges you to see Prophet’s journey through to the end. This game is loads of fun online, and I def recommend this game for the 360. It's a great change of pace if you own Halo 4 or Black Ops 2.
  56. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Let me start this review by saying I am completely new to the Crysis genre. After playing for a few hours, this game is amazing. Graphically this game is what I would expect a game on the Xbox 720 or ps4 to look like. From what I have played so far, the single player has a detailed story that keeps me interested.

    I have spent a majority of my time playing multiplayer. It has an unlock
    system similar to Call of Duty and a brilliant dog tag system (very simular to titles in Cal of Duty). This game feels a lot like a Halo 4 and Call of Duty Hybrid. From hit markers to beautiful kill cams, I'm loving it all. This game offers everything I hoped Halo 4 would be. As I said I am new to Crysis, but from what I have played so far, I highly recommend you buy this game if you are a fan of Call of Duty or Halo. I'm giving it a 10 simply because it was a sleeper hit for me. What a relief that I didn't waste my money like I did with Aliens Colonial Marines. Expand
  57. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    While Crysis 3 doesn't radically change it's formula, it does add in some great additions to the series and ends up being a game well worth the 60 dollar admission. You have a graphically superb shooter, filled with simple gameplay that has layers, and a decent story that goes 5-6 in length. While the replay value only hits a certain limit, the multiplayer picks up at a fine stride. Again it's nothing too new apart from the fantastic Hunter mode (which reflects much of the story and the vibe it gives off) it's still a solid multiplayer that should have you entertained for months. It's visually one of the best looking games out there, and with enough variety and style, Crysis 3 manages to satisfy everything you hoped for in a sequel. Expand
  58. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Explore,Collect everything and complete all the quests, Crysis 3 turns out to be a rewarding and sufficiently long-lived shooter and the visuals are simply astonishing. (jaw-dropping visuals)
  59. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    The bad first... This game does have its minor glitching, but it's never a deal-breaker. (ala Skyrim, ugh third character I've had questing issues, yet it still is in my top three for single player games regardless) Anyway, I am seriously being blown away by this game.
    I kinda feel like many gamers are deliberately understating/attempting to discount the raw, graphical dominance that
    Crytek has been known for and pushing out since the original Crysis.. This game is no different. It really IS set in a jaw-dropping visual world that make you feel small in comparison to where you are exploring or fighting.
    The little nuances of graphical detail are truly what VISUALLY set this game in a whole new ballpark. From the crisp and sharply rendered weapons, to the minute suit details, (metal actually looks like metal) the bright sunlight poking through the treeline, with minimal tearing or stutter. I also loved finding new viewpoints and strategic placements for firefights, and being able to stop, relax and see dew on leaves, and splashes from fleeing frogs, to all the animals and critters that roam in some levels, it really IS- stunning and impressive.
    The gameplay I thought Crysis 2 was a great game. Not the best, but great and awesome. I feel like Crysis 3 has not only corrected/addressed all the tiny flaws of Crysis 2, while keeping the controls and tight, but the gun play is now better than ever, and weapons feel real, they fire way differently, and they have a learning curve to use them effectively. But it's not as limited as Crysis 1 and 2. The bow in this game ALONE is worth renting the game.
    Just to almost FEEL the draw of the semi-realistic physical properties of the bow in your gampad and Fingers delivers a great analog and fluid feeling of archery.
    The enemies are tougher, the aliens are vicious and freaky, and will flank you and fake you out more than you are expecting. The explosions and physics are top notch, and movements and events sometimes FEEL like they are actually happening...(I love my surround sound)

    I love the musical score, and it always seems to match the setting, I.E. the fast paced battle music during skirmishes gets you pumped, especially when playing on higher difficulties, while The slower, more mellow, atmospheric music is perfectly cued when exploring or going over a tall destroyed cityscape, to discover the vast forested areas while peeking over a cliff.

    I feel like the MULTIPLAYER may need to tweaked at some point, by patching, like any shooter.
    It is still very deep, fast paced, functional, and entertaining.
    The variety of game types, although somewhat limited when compared to Call Of Duty or Halo, end up being more engaging, strategic, and BY FAR much more difficult. This, in MY opinion, is much more rewarding when you score kills. You will almost NEVER get hip-fire kills with your guns unless you have actually tested and spent time using your weapons and abilities. I love call of duty, but I am quite frankly sick and tired of the majority of all the players I encounter, using extended mags, spray and pray, fully automatic, tact-less noobs and finesse-lacking-foes I play with.
    Crysis 3 is TOTALLY different. It is actually hard and challenging, and not so much about bad spawns like Call Of Duty, or camping the power weapons like many do in Halo.
    The weapons are great, and the explosives are lethal. But the most game changing tool of all? The NANOSUIT.
    I feel like the main thing setting my play style apart from most of my fellow run and gunners is I use stealth at almost all times, I use my visor and Nano-vision almost as often or MORE than my actual weapons..
    I am a hunter from hell.

    I personally feel like ANYBODY who can't appreciate the diverse, yet fast, brutal, yet stylish, and typically pin-point precise mechanics of not only THIS game, but the less refined Crysis 2, have only one REAL reason they aren't enjoying the game... They aren't actually playing it, or they aren't actually spending enough time getting fully familiar with the game. WoW fans are not always interested in playing WoW at first glance, but once some folks start to progress and learn, WoW gamers suddenly have this bizarre attraction to a previously misunderstood game world that suddenly starts to pull them in.
    The Crysis games take a certain learning curve and/or approach to enjoying them, In my opinion.
    I personally like how the action isn't always being spoon fed to you down corridors and in huge alien bases like COD and Halo.
    You can try a single part of a mission a hundred times, and get your butt kicked, or you can try a new, more tactical approach, or just go guns blazing, and hope for the best.... Crysis 3 has a good balance of needing to be accurate, also quick, yet ready to move slow or hold still for that perfect opening and be the ultimate warrior with weapon and Nano-suit prowess. Think you have FPS skill?
    Crysis 3 IS a must have
    Collapse
  60. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Crysis 3 is quite the game. Game mechanics that are simple and feel good to use, well done story set pieces and gorgeous visuals. What's not to like? The length of the game. Clocking in at around 5 hours. However, this is not as bad you might think. The game keeps a good pace through the whole game whether you're going all rambo, sneaking around and shooting people in the head with the well implemented bow or just taking in the gorgeous varied environments. The story is for the most part well written, with some incredibly at times cheesy dialogue. Prophet is back in action, however not actually human anymore, well you'll just have to find out what i mean by that yourself. Crysis's multiplayer is also back, with a new incredibly well done game mode called Hunter. Hunter is immensely intense. Two players start as Hunters with unlimited cloak and bows for weapons. Their goal is to kill the team of REGULAR soldiers, no nanosuit in this mode. Once a soldier is killed, the soldier turns into a hunter. If you're the last one alive, you just might soil yourself. All in all, Crysis 3 is a great package and in my opinion has now found it's place among the FPS juggernauts like Halo and Call Of Duty. It's a game that i would solely recommend for anyone that enjoys a good shooter and a decent narrative that keeps you going to the end. Expand
  61. Feb 19, 2013
    0
    The bad first... This game does have its minor glitching, but it's never a deal-breaker. (ala Skyrim, ugh third character I've had questing issues, yet it still is in my top three for single player games regardless) Anyway, I am seriously being blown away by this game.
    I kinda feel like many gamers are deliberately understating/attempting to discount the raw, graphical dominance that
    Crytek has been known for and pushing out since the original Crysis.. This game is no different. It really IS set in a jaw-dropping visual world that make you feel small in comparison to where you are exploring or fighting.
    The little nuances of graphical detail are truly what VISUALLY set this game in a whole new ballpark. From the crisp and sharply rendered weapons, to the minute suit details, (metal actually looks like metal) the bright sunlight poking through the treeline, with minimal tearing or stutter. I also loved finding new viewpoints and strategic placements for firefights, and being able to stop, relax and see dew on leaves, and splashes from fleeing frogs, to all the animals and critters that roam in some levels, it really IS- stunning and impressive.
    The gameplay I thought Crysis 2 was a great game. Not the best, but great and awesome. I feel like Crysis 3 has not only corrected/addressed all the tiny flaws of Crysis 2, while keeping the controls and tight, but the gun play is now better than ever, and weapons feel real, they fire way differently, and they have a learning curve to use them effectively. But it's not as limited as Crysis 1 and 2. The bow in this game ALONE is worth renting the game.
    Just to almost FEEL the draw of the semi-realistic physical properties of the bow in your gampad and Fingers delivers a great analog and fluid feeling of archery.
    The enemies are tougher, the aliens are vicious and freaky, and will flank you and fake you out more than you are expecting. The explosions and physics are top notch, and movements and events sometimes FEEL like they are actually happening...(I love my surround sound)

    I love the musical score, and it always seems to match the setting, I.E. the fast paced battle music during skirmishes gets you pumped, especially when playing on higher difficulties, while The slower, more mellow, atmospheric music is perfectly cued when exploring or going over a tall destroyed cityscape, to discover the vast forested areas while peeking over a cliff.

    I feel like the MULTIPLAYER may need to tweaked at some point, by patching, like any shooter.
    It is still very deep, fast paced, functional, and entertaining.
    The variety of game types, although somewhat limited when compared to Call Of Duty or Halo, end up being more engaging, strategic, and BY FAR much more difficult. This, in MY opinion, is much more rewarding when you score kills. You will almost NEVER get hip-fire kills with your guns unless you have actually tested and spent time using your weapons and abilities. I love call of duty, but I am quite frankly sick and tired of the majority of all the players I encounter, using extended mags, spray and pray, fully automatic, tact-less noobs and finesse-lacking-foes I play with.
    Crysis 3 is TOTALLY different. It is actually hard and challenging, and not so much about bad spawns like Call Of Duty, or camping the power weapons like many do in Halo.
    The weapons are great, and the explosives are lethal. But the most game changing tool of all? The NANOSUIT.
    I feel like the main thing setting my play style apart from most of my fellow run and gunners is I use stealth at almost all times, I use my visor and Nano-vision almost as often or MORE than my actual weapons..
    I am a hunter from hell.

    I personally feel like ANYBODY who can't appreciate the diverse, yet fast, brutal, yet stylish, and typically pin-point precise mechanics of not only THIS game, but the less refined Crysis 2, have only one REAL reason they aren't enjoying the game... They aren't actually playing it, or they aren't actually spending enough time getting fully familiar with the game. WoW fans are not always interested in playing WoW at first glance, but once some folks start to progress and learn, WoW gamers suddenly have this bizarre attraction to a previously misunderstood game world that suddenly starts to pull them in.
    The Crysis games take a certain learning curve and/or approach to enjoying them, In my opinion.
    I personally like how the action isn't always being spoon fed to you down corridors and in huge alien bases like COD and Halo.
    You can try a single part of a mission a hundred times, and get your butt kicked, or you can try a new, more tactical approach, or just go guns blazing, and hope for the best.... Crysis 3 has a good balance of needing to be accurate, also quick, yet ready to move slow or hold still for that perfect opening and be the ultimate warrior with weapon and Nano-suit prowess. Think you have FPS skill?
    Crysis 3 IS a must have
    Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    86
    Not many games would send you into battle in a super suit powered by alien technology and armed with a bow and arrows and manage to pull it all off, but Crysis 3 does.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    80
    All in all, Crysis 3 is an impressive game – it delivers on style and experience, just doesn't do all those little extras to really set itself apart from the pack as a true AAA title.
  3. Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Being enormous fans of the Crysis series to this point, we came at this wanting to love it. But repetitive scenarios and a lack of challenge steadily dried our fan shorts. [May 2013, p.81]