Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    70
    Dance Central is a lot of fun, and it'll make you appreciate dancing more, but the lack of worthwhile multiplayer is very disappointing.
  2. Nov 19, 2010
    70
    Harmonix have boldly stepped into the world of dancing-games and lived to see it through. The game looks good and the controls work nicely with learning you a variety of dances. But the game itself would have turned out much better with an improved multiplayer. It's supposed to be a party game, but the fact that you can only dance one at a time drags this game down.
  3. Nov 19, 2010
    70
    Dance Central is an accomplished start that could well herald a series of follow-ups. The Kinect technology is used effectively and whilst it appears basic at first, is quite possibly one of the hardest launch titles if you have no rhythm. Overcome the initial fear of looking a fool and you'll find the fancy footwork and body movements are the perfect way to enjoy some drunken tomfoolery with your friends.
  4. Nov 12, 2010
    70
    If you're buying Kinect anyway then Dance Central should be your first port of call, but its limited lifespan for more grizzled gamers means it shouldn't be a reason alone to splash £130 or more.
  5. Nov 10, 2010
    70
    It's not a new idea, the feature set is thin and the presentation is mediocre. But it's still the best dance game - and the best Kinect game - so far.
  6. Nov 8, 2010
    70
    Well polished at every level, whether the playlist or lining, Dance Central boasts an exemplary degree of finish and a great recognition of movements.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This game is most definitely the best display of what the Kinect can do. Not only that, but it is the best dancing game ever made. Sure, theThis game is most definitely the best display of what the Kinect can do. Not only that, but it is the best dancing game ever made. Sure, the options may be light, but it actually works. I'm glad the folks at Harmonix decided to focus on making the core gameplay great. Looking forward to Dance Central 2 and the inevitable Career Mode that will come with it. Full Review »
  2. Dec 13, 2010
    0
    So i bought Kinect with Kinect Sports and DAnce Central.
    Firt i played Kinect Sports and it was horrible. It was like 2006 i started playing
    So i bought Kinect with Kinect Sports and DAnce Central.
    Firt i played Kinect Sports and it was horrible. It was like 2006 i started playing Wii and back than it was something new.
    The firt try was great, amazing and fun. Now with Kinect it was a pain in my ass when i tried boxing, soccer and the other sports.
    Okay i was shocked first but i said to myself:
    Not so bad maybe Dance Central will be better.
    I started Dance Central and i was shocked. Again some very poor rehash from a Wiigame with a few better graphics and awfull control. So i bought Kinect for 150 bucks with a game for 200 to get a god damn copy of a system i allready have.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    this game is the only reason why people should buy a Kinect. despite minor glitches with trying to capture motion, the potential ofthis game is the only reason why people should buy a Kinect. despite minor glitches with trying to capture motion, the potential of controller-less gaming is on full display with it. Dance Central has a fairly good choice of songs to dance to and the DLC's are worth paying for. it's the perfect party game for spacious living rooms with solid entertainment systems. it won't improve one's dancing skills or work up a sweat (unless you play 2 hrs straight on hard), but i like how it teaches simple dance moves and i bet users of this game will spot gym group class instructors or party-going clubbers who have stolen a few moves by playing Dance Central. Full Review »