Dark Souls Xbox 360

Dark Souls Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Project Dark (Working Title) is a brand new dark fantasy RPG designed to completely embrace the concepts of tension in dungeon exploration, fear in encountering enemies, the joy of new discoveries, and a high sense of achievement in progressing. The game is set in a dark fantasy world filledProject Dark (Working Title) is a brand new dark fantasy RPG designed to completely embrace the concepts of tension in dungeon exploration, fear in encountering enemies, the joy of new discoveries, and a high sense of achievement in progressing. The game is set in a dark fantasy world filled with decadent atmosphere, with a heavy emphasis on player freedom in discovering various tactics and strategies to use in weapon based combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dark Souls - Bartholomew Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    100
    Dark Souls is a neat, die-hard and time-consuming game – aside from its predecessor the only one of its kind. This game is not for everyone – that's not a flaw, but a virtue.
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    100
    No video game released this Christmas runs contrary to prevailing fashion as hard or fast as Dark Souls. And no video game is quite so exciting or exhilarating.
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    93
    It is not a game for everyone, but From Software can again be proud of producing an instant classic in the action-RPG genre, which will be talked about for years. It is not as surprising as the original Demon's Souls, as we had great expectations for this spiritual sequel, but it improves on it and becomes one of the greatest games of the year.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    90
    A gem of sublime darkness. In the same way that an infamous ring did poison the soul of the one wearing it, this game becomes both the burden and the treasure of the one playing it. Cruel, even more so than its predecessor from which it keeps almost everything, Dark Souls offers a singular atmosphere, one where the player is prey, gambles its life with each step he dares to take, and its sanity every time he makes progress towards more evil that can kill him in a single strike. If you feel crazy enough to dive in, though, Dark Souls will possess you like very few can: it's a drug, and it's in the poison it exudes that lies its virtue.
  5. Oct 17, 2011
    90
    I expect Dark Souls will sell more copies than its predecessor, but I'm sure many won't know what to make of this curious title. It harkens back to the days when our parents bought us a game and we played it all summer.
  6. Oct 3, 2011
    88
    Despite my complaints, I can't help but feel a rush of adrenaline just thinking about Dark Souls. I spent around 60 hours playing it over the last month and died nearly 100 times while doing so. I screamed, I cursed, and I threw down my controller in defeat more times than I'm proud of. I can't wait to get back in and do it all over again. Dark Souls probably won't be the biggest or best game released this year, but I'm already sure it's the one I'm going to spend the most time playing.
  7. 70
    Hard is hard. Though greatly satisfying at times, Dark Souls consists of many hours of pure frustration.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 351
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Back in 2009, I spent 120+ hours of my life on Demon's Souls, and since then, I have not found its equal. As dark, challenging, andBack in 2009, I spent 120+ hours of my life on Demon's Souls, and since then, I have not found its equal. As dark, challenging, and repressive as the game was, Demon's Souls still managed to feel like a breath of fresh air in the staling game market, throwing back to classic mechanics that were left in the 80s and early 90s with 8-bit, 16-bit, and arcade games. I find it interesting that Demon's Souls was far better received in North America than in its native Japan (790,000 copies in NA to Japan's 300,000, many of which were sold after the game's subsequest success overseas), as the game reflects more western RPG conventions and D&D-esque styling than the increasingly common anime-styled games that get labeled as "JRPGs." Dark Souls is a spiritual successor in the purest sense of the over-used phrase. Its controls are identical to Demon's Souls, yet they are even more precise than before. The artistic style, starting classes, soundtrack, and multiplayer options are all quite similar as well, but again, they have been tweaked to be a bit superior to that of Demon's Souls. The graphics are more detailed and crisp than ever. But the biggest change here is the open-world structure. Unlike Demon's Souls, which had the Nexus serve as a hub between several more fragmented worlds, Dark Souls has interconnected areas that form one gigantic, seemless world. It's also at least three times the size of all of Demon's Souls' areas combined, and the zones are still diverse and well-conceived. The linking of various zones works kind of like classic Metroid or Castlevania maps, where shortcuts to previous areas can be unlocked, making exploration valuable and rewarding to the overall mission. Instead of the Nexus hub zone, players can rest at bonfires, where they can also upgrade weapons and armor, among other things. Combat is also enjoyable and very deep, and enemy mobs are more varied than in Demon's Souls. In short, Dark Souls improves on every aspect of its predecessor, and with the new open-world structure, Dark Souls can easily stand up to the industry's western-developed heavy hitters (like Dragon Age and Elder Scrolls). In fact, I can honestly say that Dark Souls could steal some serious thunder from Skyrim by offering a more fresh yet hardcore approach to the genre. I also think that it's astounding that developer From Software could make lightning strike twice - it would have been far too easy for some developers to misinterpret Demon's Souls overwhelming success in North America and try too hard to tweak the subsequent formula to cater to American tastes. Instead, From Software stayed true to its original form, even deciding to increase the challenge for Dark Souls. And as one final point, let me also say this: Anyone who has not tried Demon's Souls or Dark Souls should not let the now-legendary difficulty of the series discourage them. The challenge that these games offers is not the same kind of hard-for-the-sake-of-hard frustration that some games fall victim to. Even if you are normally frustrated by difficult games, it's usually because of cheap mechanics and the feeling of having to fight the controls or poor design, and none of that is an issue with the Souls games. They just demand a little more observation, a bit of strategy and thought. From Software trusts that its gamers are intelligent, diligent, and skilled enough to handle that challenge, and that's what makes every victory in Dark Souls feel like a real achievement. The game may not be for everyone, but I would at least encourage every PS3 or XBox360 owner to try it. Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2017
    10
    "Ever fallen in love with someone, ever fallen in love? In love with someone, ever fallen in love? In love with someone you shouldn't fallen"Ever fallen in love with someone, ever fallen in love? In love with someone, ever fallen in love? In love with someone you shouldn't fallen in love with." Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    This game rapes you in the ass, and makes you love it.

    That's what I'd put in the back of the box. Better than Demon's Souls in almost
    This game rapes you in the ass, and makes you love it.

    That's what I'd put in the back of the box.
    Better than Demon's Souls in almost every aspect, but after seeing so many ideas recycled from Demon's Souls, I'm kinda sad they didn't add a Maiden in Black equivalent character. I miss her a lot.

    The lack of nexus to call "home" and keep the game structured makes the game far more psychologically oppressive, that is good considering the nature of the game, but also prevents me from playing too much, cause at some point my anguish meter goes too high.
    Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    I never played demon's souls (I play 360) but I've heard that it's REALLY hard, and apparently Dark souls is harder. Within 5 minutes of gameI never played demon's souls (I play 360) but I've heard that it's REALLY hard, and apparently Dark souls is harder. Within 5 minutes of game play I was sold, the graphics are amazing, the open world is great, and the weapon selection is nearly limitless. Not to mention the cool enemies and almost impossible bosses. all in all the game was worth $60 and I've probably not even explored the entire world Dark souls has to offer yet. The game does live up to its tagline though "prepare to die" Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2016
    9
    I am not done with my first playthrough but I think I am far enough to give my opinion on it. At first I was frustrated with Dark Souls andI am not done with my first playthrough but I think I am far enough to give my opinion on it. At first I was frustrated with Dark Souls and even thought I wasted my money, but BY GOD WAS I WRONG! Dark Souls seems quite unfair but if you just let yourself get absorbed by its atmosphere and tightness of the gameplay you will have one ofe the greatest RPG experiences of the decade.
    But alas... I have to take away one point for the sometimes frustrating drops of the framerate and the occasional glitches...
    Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2017
    8
    I really hate useless _/10 scores, but this platform forces one, so wait until the end for a recommendation on how much you should buy it for,I really hate useless _/10 scores, but this platform forces one, so wait until the end for a recommendation on how much you should buy it for, as I feel it to be a more accurate representation of whether the game is, you know... worth it. Dark Souls is an Action RPG by From Software. Dark Souls is a game I enjoy quite a bit, and I'm going to spend the bulk of this review talking about why, and what gave me pause even in my blind admiration. First off, the sound design on the whole thing is wonderful, from satisfying sound effects to amazingly orchestrated boss themes, the game excels in its sound design. Graphical design is the first thing I start to have a bit of a problem with. The game looks great for the most part, but some things are just hard to get over. The lava in the game quite literally hurts to look at, some of the backdrops aren't even slightly worked on (though others are to excess) and, one thing I really can't get over: there are some spots that are straight up unfinished. The stairs into the Lower Undead Burg straight up don't have anything to the left of them, just a gaping, lazy hole. Now, story wise, Dark Souls can't be touched. it's told through item descriptions and optional character dialogue, with very little laid out for you. This allows you to piece together an expansive and complete world. The gamplay is where this series shines, however. Rolling is responsive, blocking is responsive, combat is calculated but an adrenaline rush all the same. Some of the bosses, like Orenstien and Smough, are some of the best in all of gaming. However, other bosses, like the Bed of Chaos, are inexcusable, awful bits of the game I wish I could just skip. So, is the game worth it? YES! Get it now! at its current 20$ price point (For both the game and it's DLC.) it's a steal. Definitely one of my all time favorites. Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2017
    0
    Par rapport au premier (Demon's Souls), il y a comme un progrès au niveau des graphismes bien qu'en fait les cache-misères comme une ambiancePar rapport au premier (Demon's Souls), il y a comme un progrès au niveau des graphismes bien qu'en fait les cache-misères comme une ambiance (trop) sombre et la faible luminosité soient utilisés trop fréquemment mais admettons. Cela reste laid pour les standards actuels (ou même passés) en matière de RPG.

    A part ça, on retrouve les tics (et les TOC...) de From Software : des menus moches et pas pratiques, une interface pourrie et une maniabilité à revoir. On retrouve aussi cette difficulté ridiculement élevée et des points de sauvegarde tous les 36 du mois : il s'agira donc de recommencer, encore et encore jusqu'au par coeur comme une récitation de CE2 (c'est le niveau des joueurs actuels, c'est leur mentalité). D'ailleurs, je n'avais encore jamais vu de RPG qui vous balance un boss dans la gueule au bout de 45 secondes (c'est un record...).

    Pour le reste -s'il y a vraiment un reste ou des restes- c'est un monde creux mais qui n'est plus aussi niais que les jeux de rôle japoniais que les Japonais ont l'habitude de nous jeter en pâture : assez logique puisqu'on passe sa vie (enfin façon de parler) à mourir : c'est "hardcore" et vous ne verrez aucun chocobo, non, non. Monde creux et générique donc, peu développé et sans aucune histoire digne de ce nom.

    Finalement je ne vois aucune raison de persister à se faire chier dans un jeu pareil, à part une inquiétante tendance au masochisme.
    Expand

See all 351 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.