Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 887 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Project Dark (Working Title) is a brand new dark fantasy RPG designed to completely embrace the concepts of tension in dungeon exploration, fear in encountering enemies, the joy of new discoveries, and a high sense of achievement in progressing. The game is set in a dark fantasy world filledProject Dark (Working Title) is a brand new dark fantasy RPG designed to completely embrace the concepts of tension in dungeon exploration, fear in encountering enemies, the joy of new discoveries, and a high sense of achievement in progressing. The game is set in a dark fantasy world filled with decadent atmosphere, with a heavy emphasis on player freedom in discovering various tactics and strategies to use in weapon based combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    100
    Dark Souls is a neat, die-hard and time-consuming game – aside from its predecessor the only one of its kind. This game is not for everyone – that's not a flaw, but a virtue.
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    100
    No video game released this Christmas runs contrary to prevailing fashion as hard or fast as Dark Souls. And no video game is quite so exciting or exhilarating.
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    93
    It is not a game for everyone, but From Software can again be proud of producing an instant classic in the action-RPG genre, which will be talked about for years. It is not as surprising as the original Demon's Souls, as we had great expectations for this spiritual sequel, but it improves on it and becomes one of the greatest games of the year.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    90
    A gem of sublime darkness. In the same way that an infamous ring did poison the soul of the one wearing it, this game becomes both the burden and the treasure of the one playing it. Cruel, even more so than its predecessor from which it keeps almost everything, Dark Souls offers a singular atmosphere, one where the player is prey, gambles its life with each step he dares to take, and its sanity every time he makes progress towards more evil that can kill him in a single strike. If you feel crazy enough to dive in, though, Dark Souls will possess you like very few can: it's a drug, and it's in the poison it exudes that lies its virtue.
  5. Oct 17, 2011
    90
    I expect Dark Souls will sell more copies than its predecessor, but I'm sure many won't know what to make of this curious title. It harkens back to the days when our parents bought us a game and we played it all summer.
  6. Oct 3, 2011
    88
    Despite my complaints, I can't help but feel a rush of adrenaline just thinking about Dark Souls. I spent around 60 hours playing it over the last month and died nearly 100 times while doing so. I screamed, I cursed, and I threw down my controller in defeat more times than I'm proud of. I can't wait to get back in and do it all over again. Dark Souls probably won't be the biggest or best game released this year, but I'm already sure it's the one I'm going to spend the most time playing.
  7. 70
    Hard is hard. Though greatly satisfying at times, Dark Souls consists of many hours of pure frustration.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 317
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Back in 2009, I spent 120+ hours of my life on Demon's Souls, and since then, I have not found its equal. As dark, challenging, andBack in 2009, I spent 120+ hours of my life on Demon's Souls, and since then, I have not found its equal. As dark, challenging, and repressive as the game was, Demon's Souls still managed to feel like a breath of fresh air in the staling game market, throwing back to classic mechanics that were left in the 80s and early 90s with 8-bit, 16-bit, and arcade games. I find it interesting that Demon's Souls was far better received in North America than in its native Japan (790,000 copies in NA to Japan's 300,000, many of which were sold after the game's subsequest success overseas), as the game reflects more western RPG conventions and D&D-esque styling than the increasingly common anime-styled games that get labeled as "JRPGs." Dark Souls is a spiritual successor in the purest sense of the over-used phrase. Its controls are identical to Demon's Souls, yet they are even more precise than before. The artistic style, starting classes, soundtrack, and multiplayer options are all quite similar as well, but again, they have been tweaked to be a bit superior to that of Demon's Souls. The graphics are more detailed and crisp than ever. But the biggest change here is the open-world structure. Unlike Demon's Souls, which had the Nexus serve as a hub between several more fragmented worlds, Dark Souls has interconnected areas that form one gigantic, seemless world. It's also at least three times the size of all of Demon's Souls' areas combined, and the zones are still diverse and well-conceived. The linking of various zones works kind of like classic Metroid or Castlevania maps, where shortcuts to previous areas can be unlocked, making exploration valuable and rewarding to the overall mission. Instead of the Nexus hub zone, players can rest at bonfires, where they can also upgrade weapons and armor, among other things. Combat is also enjoyable and very deep, and enemy mobs are more varied than in Demon's Souls. In short, Dark Souls improves on every aspect of its predecessor, and with the new open-world structure, Dark Souls can easily stand up to the industry's western-developed heavy hitters (like Dragon Age and Elder Scrolls). In fact, I can honestly say that Dark Souls could steal some serious thunder from Skyrim by offering a more fresh yet hardcore approach to the genre. I also think that it's astounding that developer From Software could make lightning strike twice - it would have been far too easy for some developers to misinterpret Demon's Souls overwhelming success in North America and try too hard to tweak the subsequent formula to cater to American tastes. Instead, From Software stayed true to its original form, even deciding to increase the challenge for Dark Souls. And as one final point, let me also say this: Anyone who has not tried Demon's Souls or Dark Souls should not let the now-legendary difficulty of the series discourage them. The challenge that these games offers is not the same kind of hard-for-the-sake-of-hard frustration that some games fall victim to. Even if you are normally frustrated by difficult games, it's usually because of cheap mechanics and the feeling of having to fight the controls or poor design, and none of that is an issue with the Souls games. They just demand a little more observation, a bit of strategy and thought. From Software trusts that its gamers are intelligent, diligent, and skilled enough to handle that challenge, and that's what makes every victory in Dark Souls feel like a real achievement. The game may not be for everyone, but I would at least encourage every PS3 or XBox360 owner to try it. Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2014
    10
    Dark Souls is truly an incredible and unforgettable experience. This game is notorious for being very difficult. In a first playthrough, a newDark Souls is truly an incredible and unforgettable experience. This game is notorious for being very difficult. In a first playthrough, a new player will find the game pretty tough and some areas are quite challenging. There have been a few instances in my experience where the difficulty gets really frustrating. But overcoming those challenges is a great feeling and satisfying. The amount of freedom you have with your character is unbelievable. You can really play as any kind of character you want. You pick a starting class and then continue with the class roots, or you can go in a complete different direction. With this freedom you can make one amazing, dynamic character. There are also lots and lots of different kinds of armor and weapons to choose from and each of the pieces of equipment can be upgraded in different ways. Because of this, there really is no "best" weapon or armor piece. The main story is okay, it doesn't really go into depth nor is it expanded a lot. There aren't really any quests, the game is extremely nonlinear and you need to figure out where to go next in the world with little guidance. The environment is stunning and wonderful. The different areas in the game are different from one another and exploring each area is an exciting adventure on its own. The PvP part of Dark Souls is pretty fun too. The one thing about PvP is that lag can really affect your battle and can either be in your favor or your opponent's. Dark Souls is an exhilarating game, and it's a must play for any RPG or action-adventure fans. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Dark Souls is an incredible game that forces you to withstand intense challenges, but rewards you in return with a sense of accomplishment youDark Souls is an incredible game that forces you to withstand intense challenges, but rewards you in return with a sense of accomplishment you will not find in any other game. Yes, that includes Skyrim. Dark Souls is an open world action RPG. Where this game differs from others is the fact that you will die...a lot. This game is incredibly difficult, but with patience you will overcome this difficulty through the use of its absolutely perfect controls. This game's controls are so fine-tuned and so perfect that every death can only be blamed on the player, not the game. Anyways, to cut this short, this game is amazing. I have invested 92 hours into the first playthrough and cant wait to seek further challenges in new game+! Expand
  4. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Everybody who writes a bad review about this game never gave it a chance or are far too satisfied with the "on rails" game play of CoD ModernEverybody who writes a bad review about this game never gave it a chance or are far too satisfied with the "on rails" game play of CoD Modern Warfare 1, 2, 3, etc...

    The visuals are stunning, there are tons of unique monsters and boss fights are all unique and very well thought out. The environment is huge and differentiated away from other games. I even rank this game above Skyrim simply for the method in which it tells a story - it leaves you to fill in the gaps with imagination but doesn't leave out specific details.

    Those who ranked this game at 7 or similar, I can understand not liking the concept or game play. Those who ranked tis game under 5 have never given it a chance or are simply too bad to learn that you can't hack and slash your way to the end (you need strategy!).
    Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    great game and prepare to die.... ive had quite a few rage quits over the brief time ive played the game and a great change to the genre ofgreat game and prepare to die.... ive had quite a few rage quits over the brief time ive played the game and a great change to the genre of rpgs although online play could be a little better Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    Dark Souls is an interesting game for today's generation, where games are usually much easier. I wasn't alive for the times when games likeDark Souls is an interesting game for today's generation, where games are usually much easier. I wasn't alive for the times when games like Battletoads came out, but I have gone back to play them. They are brutal. I am a glutton for punishment, playing games like Aban Awkins and The 1000 Spikes (etc.), but Dark Souls was one of the more enjoyable punishing games I've played.

    It's a great fantasy game, there's no doubt about it. I like the "soul" system of currency, where you can either spend your hard earned money (which can disappear very fast) on new equipment or on levelling. It makes a guy think when he can either level a single attribute or buy that new armour from that creepy merchant, knowing both can help him. The combat is good, the system of having a left and right hand (and controlling them as such) is also good (I never played Demon's Souls). There are a few problems. Initially, the game was hard. Hard as hell. But then you realize, once you go through an area two, three, four, ten times, you just need to know where the enemies spawn and how to defeat them. Roll at the right time, attack. It isn't that hard once you go through the same area a few times. The bosses, on the other hand, are a mixed bag of emotions: they are very well thought out , and they're a blast to fight. Some of them do have very cheap tactics and moves that will see you killed without any warning or even knowing how something hit you. I also found some annoying parts, especially when starting, such as attacking someone by accident, having to kill them because they became aggressive, then losing out on a fairly important merchant early in the game.

    Dark Souls is not a bad game by any means. If you are a glutton for punishment, this is your game. I do have to tell you one thing though:

    Get TES: Skryim. It is a better game, especially if you're looking for a game that won't get you depressed considering how many times you die.
    Expand
  7. May 6, 2012
    0
    Story sucks. Too difficult. Don't waist your time with this game. Takes hours upon hours to do anything. Don't wait yourStory sucks. Too difficult. Don't waist your time with this game. Takes hours upon hours to do anything. Don't wait your time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand

See all 317 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.