• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DARK is a stealth action game with RPG elements that lets you slip into the role of the ultimate killer... a vampire. Stalk you enemies from the shadows and use vicious vampire abilities to attack and silently dispatch them. The story of DARK engulfs you in a world full of blood and darkness in which the hunter can become the hunted at any time. As you unravel the mystery behind the global conglomerate that seems omnipresent and all-powerful, continually improve your character by developing powerful skills to aid you in remaining unobserved, or make quick process of those unfortunate to take too keen an interest in you. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 17 out of 21
  1. DARK is frustrating, because that initial feeling of being a zippy blur of a vampire in a world of neon-lit night never leaves you. It's just swamped in frustrating design decisions, a script that lurches from passable to laughable, weak enemy AI, and a vortex of a lead character who's impossible to like or hate.
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    53
    Awkward design and stiff controls make Dark a royal pain in the... [Sept 2013, p.70]
  3. Oct 20, 2013
    45
    With a lack of both polish and ambition, Dark will never be anything but an also-ran. As a budget title it's a passable entry-level stealth game, but there's not enough here to justify recommending it when there are so many superior games in the genre. When a game's best selling points are that the stealth is predictable and that the player is a vampire, something has gone terribly wrong.
  4. Jul 11, 2013
    40
    A bland, uninspired game with old-school gameplay and boring design. Think twice before you cross paths with Eric Bane.
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    30
    Dark's concept is totally out of line, and its technical issues are not helping it. Sometimes, a good theme occurs, but its bad gaming mechanics tread in the game quickly. It's bad as a stealth-action game. It's even worse as a vampire title.
  6. Jul 24, 2013
    30
    Realmforge is clearly a student of the genre, but budget is king here, and the studio lacks the financial clout to even pierce the flesh of a crowded market. Despite being crafted with noble intentions, Dark succeeds only in sucking the life out of itself.
  7. Jul 9, 2013
    20
    I’ve played a lot of bad Xbox 360 games for achievements, but hardly any are as unpolished and poorly executed as Dark. It’s easily one of this generation’s worst titles. Even when the stealth is working moderately well, the slow pacing is a killer, and no amount of blood sucking brings satisfaction. Most levels were completed through trial and error, failure after failure, and then success coming from exploiting an AI bug or an odd design decision.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 7 out of 14
  1. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    M9ki its people like you who ruin a games honest score. You cant even spell, you dont make sense. It makes me so mad, thats why I dont rely on these reviews anymore, so many times have I played a great game that has been rated 60 or less.

    As far as the game DARK goes, its not that bad. They tried to do something a little different here and I commend them for that. I always like a game that is different because it is refreshing from all the sandbox action, fps, gta style games that I get so sick of. Just like REMEMBER ME and THE LAST OF US, although this game isnt on their level (Remember me was way underrated).

    My honest score would be a 7 but I have to wash out that ignorant review. Pick it up if you want to try something a little out of the ordinary. Can be boring at times, but so can a lot of these masterpieces sitting in my collection. Its out for 50 dollars and if you cant swing that wait a few days try it used and return it if you dont like it. For me, i was excited to try it so I did. I wasnt upset with my buy by any means.
    Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2013
    8
    D4RK is unique in simply its setting, with vampires being a massively untapped market in today's popular media. The game blends perfectly stealthy, nerve-racking moments with high octane teleporation gun battles.

    Sowing together these game mechanics is an engaging storyline, rife with twists and devoid of any clichés. As the story progresses, I felt a genuine intrigue as to what the outcome of the thrilling story of Eric bane's new life as a vampire.
    Expand
  3. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    I don't usually make reviews, but, having played the game for over 5 hours now, I was baffled by the professional reviews and infuriated by M9ki score.
    Dark has what I would expect from a stealth game: It's fun to sneak around and find a way to kill without being spotted, all the upgrades seem powerful and useful and the level designs make it interesting to kill and run around.
    About the AI Eventually you actually memorize their movements but if the enemies didnt follow SOME kind of pattern, it would be impossible to come up with a plan of action.
    This game is not as awesome as hitman nor as complex as splinter cell, but I'd recommend this one to anyone who enjoyed those games.
    Collapse
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    4
    A very bland stealth game. It has a few good ideas, but just fails to realize them. Visuals are pretty at points, but then again also very lazy at others, particularly with character animation.

    This game is really nowhere near this generations level that feels and looks, most of the time, like a last gen title.

    Overall:
    DARK feels like it could have the potential to be so much more. It feels like an alpha version of a much bigger game. Such a shame that this is what they decided to release. Not worth buying, a cheap rental at best.
    Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2013
    4
    To put it simply, Dark should not have come out in 2013 and definitely not with a $40 price tag.

    Let me begin by saying that Dark is a game
    I had looked forward to for some time now. After all, we haven't seen a good vampire based video game since the likes of the timeless Vampire: The Masquerade and BloodRayne Series. Who wouldn't want to stalk the night as a badass vampire? The designers knew we longed for a vampire experience and promised us one. Sadly, it was not what we had hoped (the hype built up around the game didn't do it much favors either).

    I am disappointed and quite frankly, angry. I am not angry because Dark is a horrible game, I am angry because of what it could have been. The only thing worse than a bad game is a game which has great potential and then somehow manages to fall flat; and that is exactly what Dark does.

    Dark is one of those games that sounds magical on paper, but translates to a mediocre experience very quickly. From the moment you start the game up you realize that the graphics are not exactly stellar, and really, who cares? Sure graphics have an impact, but its about gameplay. Even then, I cannot overlook the graphic 'style' of the game. Sure, you can argue that the designers were going for an artsy, graphic novel look but it leaves the models stiff and lifeless. Facial expressions are nowhere to be found and the fluidity one would expect from an agile vampire is replaced with stagnant, choppy motions.

    On to sound. While the game presents some decent music and sound effects the voice acting is just painful to listen to. Most of this is likely due to the script itself which is just about as bland and generic as plots can get. While some characters are voice acted well, others are unforgivably phoned in and even the main character's lines seem to be delivered by someone who would much rather be doing something else. This mediocre acting makes it very difficult for you to care about the character since it doesn't seem like he even cares about himself.

    Gameplay wise, Dark brings up some interesting mechanics but once more it feels very limited and too toned down. You don't feel like a vampire for a majority of the game, you feel more like a glorified leech. While concepts such as the Vitae system introduce a nice strategic element to the game, it ultimately becomes a crutch for the game to be 'more challenging'. Before you know it, every little action which a vampire should be able to do (such as running an actually decent speed) requires a bar of Vitae. And this brings up another issue, for a vampire you are significantly under-powered. Speed is a joke without being fully upgraded, and even then it isn't what you would expect. Your powers, while innovative and useful, seem to fall flat and the lack of any real combat system outside of stealth kills makes the game a quite grueling experience. If you are spotted once, prepare to die. Over...and over...and over. Easily 90% of the time you will only be able to beat a missions after constant trial and error, which we have seen work for some games (e.g. Dark Souls) but it seems very out of place and just down right frustrating in this game.

    Yet, with all that said, I found myself slugging through mission after mission. It could be argued that Dark appeals to a 'hardcore' or as I like to call it masochistic group of gamers who are addicted to difficulty and unnecessary challenges. I often find myself in that category as well.

    As much as I despise Dark for many reasons, I simply cannot bring myself to completely hate it. I think this is due to the fact that Dark just seems to have come out at the wrong time. Dark is a game which should have come out between 2005 2009, not 2013. When you have XBLA titles such as Alan Wake, I Am Alive, State of Decay, Mars: War Logs etc. you expect something more from a full fledged 360 title.
    If this game had come out at a different time, it would have been quite enjoyable but in this day and age there is no place for unpolished games such as Dark especially not at full price. I cannot recommend buying this game, but if you want to experience it try a rental or at least wait till the price drops. Don't go in with any great ambitions though, you will be disappointed.
    Expand
  6. Aug 12, 2013
    3
    Dark is a stealth based game by Kalypso Media where you play as Eric Bane a vampire with several powers who must use his abilities defeat his enemies human and vampire alike. This is a game that seeks to mimic the styling of Assassins Creed and the darkness of Dishonored, but unfortunately due to several major flaws fails to live up to the fun or polish of either game.

    Dark is a stealth based RPG that promises a deep and engaging story with unique settings and abilities all of which is set in the dark and forboding world of vampires. Your abilities are fueled by the energy you consume from your victims and your objective is to use your powers to make your way through the areas and reach your goal. Unfortunately there are more than a few problem this game has when attempting to make good on these promise of a deep and immersive world with challenging gameplay.

    Visit www.GameFan365.com for the full review
    Expand
  7. Feb 15, 2014
    0
    this game is very very bad,it's just gives you into a **** gameplay a **** story it's just **** awful,this is the game that people should avoid,don't buy this game,this game is the worst Expand

See all 14 User Reviews