User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 76
  2. Negative: 37 out of 76

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. anonymous
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    I thought the game was really good. Yes the graphics aren't the best but I still hope they make another game.
  2. OlafK
    Dec 5, 2009
    8
    Dissappointed in these low reviews Scores. Its like orginality doesn`t count anymore and the gaming Industry just need needs to give us Copys of the same overdone Concepts of old games to make a buke. I for one enjoyed Darkest of Days. A small Developer set out with a new fresh Concept, Homebuild Engine to deliever Entertainment and that it did, yes it does have some flaws but honestly Dissappointed in these low reviews Scores. Its like orginality doesn`t count anymore and the gaming Industry just need needs to give us Copys of the same overdone Concepts of old games to make a buke. I for one enjoyed Darkest of Days. A small Developer set out with a new fresh Concept, Homebuild Engine to deliever Entertainment and that it did, yes it does have some flaws but honestly every game nowaday has them. so I am given this a 8 because the engine may not look Mega Good but the graphic works for the setting, it uses lierally hundreds of units that act on screen, and i really enjoyed the small details like the the good use of the physX engine like the fog and weapon detail effects. Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    I found this game to be quite enjoyable, the AI is crap of course and there isn't as many time periods i would like and the graphics are more of an early 360 game like Gun. All in all however i found it to be fun with an entertaining storyline and fun gameplay. My favorite battles were in the Civil War missions and the last mission. there really isn't another shooter anywhere where you canI found this game to be quite enjoyable, the AI is crap of course and there isn't as many time periods i would like and the graphics are more of an early 360 game like Gun. All in all however i found it to be fun with an entertaining storyline and fun gameplay. My favorite battles were in the Civil War missions and the last mission. there really isn't another shooter anywhere where you can blast a Roman legionnare in the face with a shotgun. In conclusion at least rent this game or borrow it to see if you like it or wait until the price drops and if you do buy it because i want another one of these games to come out. If you are one of those people who just have to have good graphics you are not going to like it, but to me it was a breath of fresh air from all the CODs out there. Collapse
  4. TimB
    Sep 18, 2009
    0
    This has to be the worst FPS I have ever played, hands down. No wonder the reviews are so bad.
  5. JimJ
    Dec 24, 2009
    0
    Worst game ever! AI is non existent, graphics are terrible, animations are broken, voice acting is horrible and cliche....Just a very very bad game....Do not buy
  6. Trevr
    Sep 22, 2009
    3
    the game is really bad, a waste of 3$ for that 2 day rental it took to beat the entire game, the enemies just stand there and the game slows down every 10 minutes, the free demo you can download for it is too expensive also, it gets a 3 because it has a few good moments in between the awful
  7. Oct 23, 2011
    5
    The concept would be great if it wasn't for the really really poor execution. Would be a great game if made with the COD engine instead of whatever they used.
  8. Jun 2, 2013
    1
    Holey crap this game sucks a**! Don't even want to talk about this garbage! The graphics are ugly as h**l, the gameplay is boring, and the A.I., oh my god, its the worst A.I. I have ever seen in years! Plus the idea of using a laser sighted assault rifle in the American Civil War isn't really considered as "fun" to me, its just plain cheating! This game's just complete crap. Boy am I gladHoley crap this game sucks a**! Don't even want to talk about this garbage! The graphics are ugly as h**l, the gameplay is boring, and the A.I., oh my god, its the worst A.I. I have ever seen in years! Plus the idea of using a laser sighted assault rifle in the American Civil War isn't really considered as "fun" to me, its just plain cheating! This game's just complete crap. Boy am I glad that I rented the game first! Expand
  9. BillW
    Sep 14, 2009
    9
    This game was actually pretty entertaining. Yes, it has its glitches and whatnot, but as far as story it was a bit of fresh air. Yes, the main character was a typical FPS main character that never reacted to anything around him or said anything, but to be honest Darkest of Days was still fun to me. I mean it was the company's first title anyway, it's not going to be the perfect This game was actually pretty entertaining. Yes, it has its glitches and whatnot, but as far as story it was a bit of fresh air. Yes, the main character was a typical FPS main character that never reacted to anything around him or said anything, but to be honest Darkest of Days was still fun to me. I mean it was the company's first title anyway, it's not going to be the perfect game, or game of the year. It was worth playing though. Expand
  10. PatrickS
    Sep 16, 2009
    2
    I had heard about this game and was like "oh its an FPS where you travel in time. That could be totally rad!" Its honestly unbelievable how many things are wrong with this game. People, this game costs $60. The developer and publisher are saying to you "This is worth as much as any other game", which means yes, this game is directly competing with AAA titles like COD and Halo and whatnot. I had heard about this game and was like "oh its an FPS where you travel in time. That could be totally rad!" Its honestly unbelievable how many things are wrong with this game. People, this game costs $60. The developer and publisher are saying to you "This is worth as much as any other game", which means yes, this game is directly competing with AAA titles like COD and Halo and whatnot. I would have rated it higher if it were appropriately priced, because this is a budgetware title that will be in the $5 bin within a month. I've had all like 4 friends play this game. After the initial 20 minutes (which are filled with laughs because of how crappy everything is), my friends invariably say "God get it away from me! Expand
  11. JulieH
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    I thought this game was amazing! The storyline, plot, weapons...everything was great! No other game has immersed me so much. I didn't even notice any issues with graphics or AI as I played, I was having too much fun I guess. 10/10!
  12. JoeShmoe
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    this game has the best storyline ever
  13. WillG
    Oct 27, 2009
    1
    When my brother described it to me, I got excited about the plot and opportunity to use old guns, thinking it might be fun. When I saw it being played for about 5 minutes, I wanted to vomit at this new low, this unbelievable excuse for an Xbox 360 title and absolute waste of every cent spent on it. The combination of utterly terrible graphics, tempermental AI, and overall depressing When my brother described it to me, I got excited about the plot and opportunity to use old guns, thinking it might be fun. When I saw it being played for about 5 minutes, I wanted to vomit at this new low, this unbelievable excuse for an Xbox 360 title and absolute waste of every cent spent on it. The combination of utterly terrible graphics, tempermental AI, and overall depressing gameplay gave me a new respect for games I had previously gotten bored of and used as dust collectors on a bookcase (Mirror's Edge, Mercenaries 2). I have nothing but contempt for this sad, sad attempt at a fun and original idea. Expand
  14. connors
    Sep 10, 2009
    8
    This game is great, critics are just giving this a bad review because either its from a developer not heard of or because nowadays, critics compare games to top titles like COD 4 or gears of war. there is no game out like this, obviously it wont compare to cod 4 but its still fun. this game is different and unique and it is worth trying out.
  15. DavidS
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    One of the best games I have played since Fallout 3 and Fable 2 last year. Very similar in style to Bioshock but the quality throughout the game is faultless. The only reason I haven't given it a full 10 marks is the lack of multiplayer action.
  16. AdamJ
    Sep 16, 2009
    7
    This a great game that could use more polish (not Polish, though that would be fine for WWI and WWII portions). No other game shows the dread of marching to certain death with your civil war brethren or the realistic use of period weapons. Gunning down dozens of rebs with a machine gun is a nice bonus. Lets hope for 1) a patch for the game's hiccups and 2) a better sequel.
  17. Jul 30, 2014
    8
    I really liked this game and don't understand why it is getting such harsh reviews. I liked the ideas and the locations were interesting and somewhat educational. The WW2 section had some chilling moments and overall the game is fun and challenging. I congratulate the efforts of the developers and I am glad I ignored the reviews and played a game that interested me and delivered a veryI really liked this game and don't understand why it is getting such harsh reviews. I liked the ideas and the locations were interesting and somewhat educational. The WW2 section had some chilling moments and overall the game is fun and challenging. I congratulate the efforts of the developers and I am glad I ignored the reviews and played a game that interested me and delivered a very enjoyable and unique gaming experience. Well done team, make some more. Expand
  18. Apr 26, 2012
    0
    I found this game to be quite enjoyable, the AI is crap of course and there isn't as many time periods i would like and the graphics are more of an early 360 game like Gun. All in all however i found it to be fun with an entertaining storyline and fun gameplay. My favorite battles were in the Civil War missions and the last mission. there really isn't another shooter anywhere where you canI found this game to be quite enjoyable, the AI is crap of course and there isn't as many time periods i would like and the graphics are more of an early 360 game like Gun. All in all however i found it to be fun with an entertaining storyline and fun gameplay. My favorite battles were in the Civil War missions and the last mission. there really isn't another shooter anywhere where you can blast a Roman legionnare in the face with a shotgun. In conclusion at least rent this game or borrow it to see if you like it or wait until the price drops and if you do buy it because i want another one of these games to come out. If you are one of those people who just have to have good graphics you are not going to like it, but to me it was a breath of fresh air from all the CODs out there. Collapse
Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 25
  2. Negative: 16 out of 25
  1. Those technicalities take a pretty good game and drag it down into the realm of mediocrity. Still, automatic weapons during a Civil War battle…it’s hard to pass that up.
  2. Gun-crazed gamers just looking for another run-and-shoot romp will find the plodding pace and home-spun presentation distasteful, but Darkest of Days offers everyone else enough fresh and rewarding gameplay to offset its worst problems.
  3. Darkest of Days provides a unique and overall well put together single player campaign. Any fan of action games or time travel mechanics should give this one a serious look.