User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 416 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 416

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    L3GENDARY!!!!
    exceeds its expectations huge improvement from the first game Death is badass cold arrogant and is a lot more agile than war who was like tank like person steadfast relying more on muscle death on the other hand relies on dodging and then coming in for the kill
    combat is awesome and the focus is on rpg a skill tree and the character customization is also there
    the story
    line is epic and we feel immersed in it. the music score in the game is best ive listened to in a game the setting is wonderful courtesy of Joe Mad a must buy game for all action adventure fans Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Darksiders 2 is for me the best game of the year, it has everything I ever wanted from a RPG. It combines a lot of different genres and levelling up possessed weapons is plain and simple fun and very addictive. There's so much to do and explore .. and the vast areas are very beautiful! Compared to DS1 it's a LOT better and playing Death with all his crazy attacks is very cool and feels a lot smoother. Yes, it's true, it takes a lot of stuff from other games, but it does that extremely well and combines it all to something incredibly AWESOME. I would recommend you to buy this game if you like any or all of the following: Exploration, hack n' slash, puzzles (getting more difficult over time), riding, questing, HUGE weapons and mobs, comic books. I think everyone who has ever read a comic book will feel immersed in this world/story and enjoy it for a long time to go! Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Darksiders 2 is so much more than the original that most comparisons only come from art style and the name. But this is only a good thing as the team at Vigil/THQ have done a fantastic job of capturing the magic that very few action/adventure games today achieve. First thing you will notice is the graphics are bright and beautiful and really bring the comic style to life. The art direction is a joy to take in and makes finding new areas and enemies a visual treat. The combat is deep enough to satisfy long time action fans of games like god of war and devil may cry, without getting out of hand and becoming so difficult that you forget what all you can do. Control overall is solid and just feels right. The music is great and fits the mood of the environment without trying to overdo itself or wear on your ears. Its epic when it needs to be and calm and ambient when it should be. The addition of loot and skill trees is what helps to really make Darksiders 2 an addicting experience. You never feel as though your not gaining for all your hard work battling and exploring. The pacing between all aspect, from puzzles and platforming, to combat and other aspects of game play are extremely well done. If your a fan of action/adventure or looking for video game to try out the genre, then Darksiders 2 is the perfect game. I can only hope they keep this series going for as long as possible. Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Darksiders 2 takes the formula from Darksiders 1 and injects it with awesome. Where War was a lumbering hulk, Death is an agile shadow and is a joy to control. The game improves on the original in every way and f you enjoyed the original Darksiders you will love this game.
  5. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    I will not say anything more for my friend but it is impressive and a great
    Exceeded his expectations a significant improvement from Game of Death The first is poking cold arrogant and a lot more active than the war which was like a tank, such as credit steadfast person increase over the death of muscle on the other hand depends on the Shuffle comes next in the battle of killing is
    wonderful, and focus on the skill tree RPG and customization is also a personal story line, and the epic feel immersed in it. To record the music in the game is the best place I heard alive in the game is a big compliment from the madness of Joe is not a must buy game for all lovers of adventure has Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2012
    5
    Bigger is not better. This game is basically a 3rd person Borderlands, minus the charm, if Borderlands consisted of nothing more than dungeon crawl after dungeon crawl with an arena and and an annoying amount of collectibles to keep the neurotic completionist gamers playing. Also, the camera issue has not been fixed. The issue being it zoomed in way too close in combat to the point you cannot tell which enemy is attacking you. Overall, I was expecting more and I find myself playing through more of my third run through of Skyrim than I do this game. Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Perfect game, played almost 8 hours and i am still in first realm of four ! Recommend to play Darksiders 1 before DS2 for better understanding of whole game/story and thus better game experience. And please don`t even look on "reviews" like that from "viverra4" he is imbecile and the puzzles which are in DS2 are too much for him.

    A.K.A puzzles are pretty fun too.
  8. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    A sequel to Darksiders that is at the same time continuation and evolution. It is a very well crafted RPG with a stunning esthetic. Darksiders 2 pleased that Legacy of Kain itch I had while being something of its own.
  9. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    A great game has FINALLY arrived for 2012. Darksiders 2 is a beautiful blend of action and RPG elements mixed together in a brilliant world. Death is an instant icon, just a kick-ass character in a game full of the most unique characters, worlds and bosses - HUGE bosses that still have compelling personalities. Puzzles are challenging, yet satisfying, the pace is pitch perfect with the scope. Plus loot, by the way, is awesome. Just a ton of replayability. A perfect example of building on the legacy of the first game to create something better in every way, yet unique enough to stand alone as a tremendous gaming experience. Expand
  10. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Lined up for this one at midnight last night! Loved playing War in the first game but after finding out that his brother death was coming out to play in Darksiders 2 I could not wait! After playing for 4 hours last night (work is going to be hell today!) I have barely scraped the surface of this game and can't wipe the smile off my face! Do yourself a favor run don't walk to pick up this game. SOOOOOO MUCH BETTER THAN THE FIRST GAME! Expand
  11. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Bigger, Bolder, Stronger, Faster. My expectations were high and they were blown away. Everything you should expect in a sequel, that improves on its predecessor in every way. Death is a badass assassin, while the double scythes are my favorite weapon, there are limitless options for your character. Additions of loot and the skill tree progression bring a bold RPG presence to a fantastic action adventure game. A personal favorite is the voice talent of Michael Wincott, which brings a compelling personality to the warrior with a dark yet dry wit. The worlds are huge, and the characters you encounter some of the most unique of any game. Bravo, Bravo, Bravo! Expand
  12. now
    Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Open world the most beautiful by a long story Alllab wonderful graphics stunning all this and more and grandmother in this Alllabh It's more than a game she is the best I think it will be a game-General and I think that's the opinion of many people so Saqimha 10/10 because they deserve it more what I liked GPU + Audio+ Thriller has surpassed Part I stages
  13. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Played this for several hours already, can hardly put it down! The original Darksiders was great, but they took it to the next level. Death is awesome, the story is cool, and the gameplay is tons of fun, I haven't fully figured out the loot system yet, but it seems cool so far.
  14. Aug 29, 2012
    1
    Having played through the vast majority of the game and having liked the first one very much I must say Darksiders 2 is a MUST AVOID. It is in nearly every way worse than its predecessor. The platforming is extremely repetitive, combat is frequently unresponsive, and the game has a MASSIVE amount of GAME BREAKING bugs. If you liked the first one and wish to continue the story do yourself a favor and wait for the patch. If you are on the fence wait till it hits the bargain bin...cause it definitely will. Expand
  15. Aug 17, 2012
    6
    I'm having a really hard time getting used to the art style (more specifically the character models). Everyone looks too big and clunky. The same goes for a lot of the secondary weapons. Also, when I'm attacking with X and want to quick switch to a Y attack, there is an annoying delay. And where is the double jump? Maybe you unlock it further in, but I feel like this ability should be present.

    On a positive note. The overall art direction is good. The combat is fun. There is lots of loot to be had. I enjoy the platforming as well as the puzzles and the soundtrack is simply great. I may update my score after playing more, but I'm not seeing this as a 10 like so many others on here.
    Expand
  16. Oct 8, 2012
    6
    Darksiders as a franchise is still very much in its infancy the original has to be one of the greatest dungeon crawlers/action adventure/slash-em-up games ever made right after its inspiration Zelda and of course diablo and that in theory should have made the foundation of Darksiders II even more stable but the reality of it is the simple fact that the game
  17. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    PROS: -loot system is very appreciated and works well -agile platforming akin to prince of persia -art style/environments -combat -fresh new feeling and polish compared to the first game -case is shiny just like the first one -well designed dungeons with a plethora of mechanics and some great bosses -large game with plenty of content CONS: -slight technical hiccups (tearing, fps drops, too frequent loading, blinky shadows, sluggish menu, bugs, etc) -menu keybindings are of questionable design -platforming controls could be smoother -quick view of loot outside menu could be slightly more extensive to show you what you are losing, not just what you're gaining -narrative is a little to distant from its connection with the first game and only slightly advances the lore forward -anti climactic boss and unfulfilling conclusion NOTES: Although having noticeable flaws, overall its a good game that manages to focus all its different elements together into a single identity that is bigger, better, and more varied then its predecessor in almost all areas. Expand
  18. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Awesome game. The best way to describe it is a mix between Zelda and Gears of War, with some Prince of Persia parkour flavor added in. It's violent, stylized, epic and extremely fun to play.
  19. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Amazing action, story, and soundtrack. Darksiders II delivers on all fronts. Impressive visuals, immersive atmosphere and deep loot system, Darksiders II has all the characteristics of a GAME OF THE YEAR contender.
  20. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    almost 18 hours in now. I can say fully don't even bother reading the IGN review. Audrey Drake is incoherent and completely hypocritical of saying anything about this game when she would rather be playing something on the 3ds. This game is great and so far I have nothing to say but positive things about it. The game is fun, remains fun and the RPG elements are more innovative (even if influenced by diablo) in this type of game than anything Nintendo has done with Zelda in a decade. If you enjoy M rated games that look great and feature a ton of great boss fights along with a loot system and solid crafting system then look no further. If you take two things from this quick review play this game, it is fun and second respect IGN less for allowing someone who plays pokemon still to review this type of game Expand
  21. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    Got an early copy of Darksiders 2 and played through the main story line in around 28 hours. POSITIVES: Combat is epic, boss fights are EXTREMELY epic, the puzzles are head-scratching without being overly difficult, and art direction is absolutely beautiful. NEGATIVES: Found navigating the menu systems a tad more clunky than it could have been. I also think the grapic fidelity should have been sharper. The worlds and characters were beautiful, and deserved to shine accordingly. Expand
  22. Sep 19, 2012
    8
    Darksiders 2 is an excellent game, but doesn't hold a candle to the first. There are some improvements here. In particular, the two skill trees are more interesting. The harbinger skill tree has some powerful moves, but is mighty boring. I spent the whole game waiting to unlock the big tornado skill only to find out that it is almost entirely worthless. You take more damage during its animation than you deal out. Needless to say, I was sad. I haven't played through with the other tree, but it looks a lot more interesting. Another issue is that the moves just don't feel very powerful and the variety is sorely lacking. In Darksiders 1, every single time you swing your blade, you feel like God himself. As Death, I felt relatively weak even with the most powerful weapons. If you play this game, I encourage you to use secondary weapons that are marked slow. They do feel powerful and are usually quite a bit more damaging than any scythes you find. And yet another issue are that some of the puzzles are downright painful. Soul Splitter made me want to gouge my eyes out. Some of the puzzles were great though, and it was fairly hit or miss. Almost all of the quests in the game are along the lines of "Do these 3 similar things to advance.", which got boring at times.The best part of the game for me was collecting various weapons and upgrading the possessed ones. The story was excellent and the game was fun in general. I don't think it was an improvement over the original Darksiders, but I recommend it as an excellent prequel and game in and of itself. Expand
  23. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Awesome Game, fluid combat, nice graphics, good story, nice length...I like just about everything about this game. Well worth the cost, and something you will definately want to add to your library!
  24. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Where do I start?! From the amazing gameplay with such incredible sound and voice work to the richness of characters filled with a unique sometimes cartoonish style. This game is a winner!!!
  25. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    Absolutely one of the best games of 2012. I've been working my way through this game for nearly three days now, and I have yet to become bored during my adventuring. Comparably, Skyrim and Kingdoms of Amalur grew increasingly tedious during their playthroughs, where as Darksiders 2 managers to provide a great combat/quests/platforming/looting/puzzles all in one amazing package. The scope of Darksiders 2 is miles and miles (literally) above the first game. The linear gameplay of the original title has been significantly broadened this time around and comes off feeling almost like a separate series entirely. A lot of reviews compare elements of this game to other well-known francises, and it's true that Darksiders 2 is pretty much the Frankenstein of the action-adventure RPG, and more often than not, this is a very good thing. The combat system feels like God of War mixed with a bit of Devil May Cry, the puzzles and some of the environments feel influenced by The Legend of Zelda series, the loot system seems pulled from Diablo/Torchlight, and the platforming plays out like a Prince of Persia title. 95% of the time it mixes amazingly well. This game will keep you busy for a very long time (at least 40 hours for the main story, more hours can be spent on the various sidequests and gathering all the collectibles), and I am already planning on replaying it on the Apocalyptic setting for extra replay value. I don't generally drop $60 on a title that I'm not 100% sure about, but Darksiders 2 has honestly given me more bang for my buck than almost any other game this year. Expand
  26. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    Amazing game with everlasting game play, a great improvement from the previous even though i thought the previous was also great. Skill trees, levelling system and loot was a big hype for me. The environment just astonishing a job well done to THQ looking forward to darksiders 3 if there will be one.
  27. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    This game was NOT what I expected! I **** LOVE IT, amazing story great breathe taking worlds and enviroments! The RPG elements are perfect from the armor to the leveling up and the open world just make this far superior to the first! There was a goose bump worthy epic fighting barely an hour into the game! I am loving it and know I will love it the rest of the way through GET THIS **** GAME
  28. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Game of the year without doubt. Awesome graphics and art direction, awesome characters, beautifull world and real epic main character. Death is a baddass. Takes everything from Darsiders 1 and put it in a really better formula. Joe Madureira, you do it again. A must have game.
  29. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    A really good sequel to the already great first opus. They took all that made it great, improved on it, then took all that was annoying, and made it pleasant! Sure to please the fans of the first, and to re-conciliate those who were disappointed by it.
  30. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Given how much I loved Darksiders 1, I doubt there's anyway I wouldn't enjoy the sequel. Death seems to be a very interesting character. I've only seen a few trailers and 1 other video (trying to stay away from spoilers), but I'm definitely excited. I wish the bots/idiots would stop making random accounts, making 1 review showing a 0 score with garbled text. I hope THQ get's back on it's feet so there will be a Darksiders III! Expand
  31. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    Wonderful combat, the most satisfying platforming I've ever played, and in depth and intriguing story, lovable and ever changing characters, and boss fights up the arse! It's a shame a few technical issues keep it from being perfect, but still well worth the price.
  32. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Fantastic. They improved the combat system, added a skill tree, loot, and much more content. No game is perfect, but this game has all of my teeth sunk in. Good story, great voices, and a ton of fun.
  33. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Very good! For me Darksiders 2 is slightly better then the first one..and for me the first one was already stunning.
    It combines the old Darksiders 1 traditions, with a much bigger world and new and very addictive RPG elements. The loot systems is one of the big highlights of the game.
  34. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Vigil is the PIXAR of gaming. Passion and attention to detail shows workmanship. Its like Chistmas in August. Fantastic Game play and action action action!
  35. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    I've been Playing games since MS DOS days so I do not understand why people have to complain about games and focus on one thing. This game really inspires me. I played the first darksiders and really enjoyed it and the second darksiders really improves the stoyline and fills in gaps that was left out in the first game. well done THQ and Vigil. DLC is a great idea. and so far I am very impressed.
  36. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    Amazing game! Gorgeous characters and world design, great voice work and a real old school dungeon crawler feel with all the modern day bits from classic's like Zelda, Prince of Persia and Devil May Cry all thrown into the mix. You can quite readily approach the game at your own pace. Choosing to go off and pilfer and loot forgotten chests to your hearts content or follow the quest line and learn new abilities as you level up, earn ever improving weapons and armor and progress through this great tie in of a story to it's predecessor. Outside of the main game you have the new Arena mode which allows you to fight against wave after wave of enemies for increasingly better loot , be warned however, if you die you lose everything. This can really force you to up your game and gives the Arena a great sense of urgency, making each battle increasingly tense. The feeling when you know you've earned a great reward and chosen to risk it all for the taste of something even sweeter is invigorating and how a game should be enjoyed. The combat indecently is very satisfying and pacey. Gone is the brute force and strength of War and in it's place a new sleeker combat system. If I were to liken it to something, then it would be a 'Devil May Cry light' style of combat. You have your standard enemy grapple and main dual wielded weapons, intended for quick combos, pummeling your enemy before you dodge out of range again. Death is a lean combatant, he cannot parry or block enemy strikes so dodging will become your friend here. You also wield a heavier and incidentally slower secondary weapon which deals greater damage and can break through some tougher enemies defenses that Death's scythes cannot. A ranged pistol will soon become your ever present companion also, good for quick bursts of ranged damage. The pistol is less of a focus in Death's combat in comparison to his other weapons, the pistol being more integral to the games vast puzzles, which you frequently encounter along Deaths journey through conveniently parkour friendly architecture. Death will encounter environmental blockages he must traverse with an assortment of talents, from wall running, to climbing, to a ghostly grapple; swinging from point to point. All sprinkled with certain environmental items and golem helpers . Death can also often be found blowing holes in wall after wall with a toss of a bomb and a quick shot from the hip of your pistol, opening a new passage. Puzzles will reveal areas unreachable through standard adventuring and will reap the player rewards such as hulking chest which Death rips open in a triumphant smash of nether world magic to poor more loot into you hulking inventory or the ever elusive quest keys, which can be found throughout dungeons or as rewards from defeating the games many bosses. A boss battle in Darksiders II joins a rank of so few, that only games of the caliber of Shadow of the Colossus and Dark Souls can hope to rub shoulders with what's been accomplished in this game. Gone are the quick time events of old and anew we find a game where each Boss encountered is as gleeful and exhilarating to the player to enjoy as it clearly was for the creators to craft. Enemies will employ varyied tactics hoping to stop Death in his quest to reap them. Each encounter is compelling, often lasting several minutes and challenges the player to adapt, track the enemies patterns and discern how best to tackle these determined and monstrous opponents. These enemies may be the highlight of the game, but as Death you find yourself in a world so vast you will need to travel great distances to reach these encounters. Compared to the original, the game world and the playground Death now inhabits has grown in spades. Totaling between 3 and 4 times it's predecessor. The environments are richly varied and detailed, the occasional muddy textures will be forgiven in the wake of such a masterfully crafted world. Death will not be alone on his journey. He can summon his trusty stead outside of cities and traverse the games many environments in a flash. The game offers a quick travel system also, making some task far less trivial and hastening you towards your next encounter. Many players may want to take the extra time to travel the land my horse back however. The music is exquisite and finds that balance so few games can find in allowing the music dip seamlessly into the background as you feel it express your adventure, your trials emote the world, it's environments. Death's journey through the game brings many joys to the player. The game seems to scream at the top of it's lungs it's unashamed to borrow from it's peers whole hardheartedly and concoct a new formula, blending the old with the new. When Death's adventure comes to a close, you will have learned many facts and stories about the world you inhabit. However, this is a game demanding to be played again, going so far as to offering a Game+ mode for those who have completed it Expand
  37. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    I love the game. I completed Darksiders 1 and have now played about 5h in this one. I like the attitude of Death and the huge, nice maps. The crow makes it easier so you dont get lost. Only thing i dislike is the graphic of Death, but otherwise this is a great game!
  38. Sep 6, 2012
    9
    Eccovi finalemente la nostra recensione di Darksiders II, una delle poche uscite estive che meritano grande attenzione. Il gioco è un seguito un po' strano perchè, temporalmente, si svolge in parallelo alla storia narrata nel primo capitolo di quella che al momento è una saga (mancano ancora due cavalieri all'appello, bisognerà aspettare e sperare che THQ non spezzi il brand visti anche i suoi problemi finanziari) a metà. Il primo Darksiders fu una sorpresa per molti, "pubblicizzato" come action adventure che prendeva a piene mani dai mostri sacri del genere (Zelda e God of War su tutti) non ebbe il successo e la visibiltà sperata che arrivarono solo in tempi successivi, anche grazie all'annuncio di questo secondo capitolo in grado di migliorare esponenzialmente ogni aspetto del titolo originale.


    Quello che ci salta subito all'occhio è la mancanza di un filo conduttore, mi spiego meglio. La trama principale, è si ben congeniata e seguibile ma se purtroppo fate parte del pubblico che non ha giocato l'avventura di Guerra rimarrete con dei dubbi nel procedere del gioco che non verrano svelati. Non ci sono dei "re-cap" sui fatti della storia e sui personaggi già apparsi nel primo capitolo. Questo è anche attendibile in maniera "virtuale", anche perchè ripeto che le storie si svolgono parallelamente, ma come media "reale" si pone con debolezza proponendo ai giocatori solo cut-scene sbrigative e dialoghi (quasi) tagliati a metà. Il difetto non è da poco ma tendo a precisare che è l'unico.

    Il gioco grazie al level design ed al sistema di combattimento si pone come uno dei migliori del genere, almeno per questa generazione hardware. A differenza di Guerra, Morte, è molto veloce e dinamico nei combattimenti dandovi la sensazione di puntare quasi più sulla velocità che sulla forza bruta. Le armi saranno due: le vostre falci (arma principale) e come secondaria avrete la possibilità di scegliere tra manopole, lance, asce o martelli. Potrete personalizzare completamente il vostro protagonista con l'equipaggiamento che più vi aggrada, e sicuramente quello più performante. Si perchè sparsi nel mondo di gioco, oltre ai mercanti, ci saranno una miriade di forzieri da scovare ed aprire, per scovare l'arma o l'armatura sempre più forte.

    Oltre a questo, Morte, accumulerà esperienza dopo ogni uccisione ed ogni livello che guadagnerete vi premierà con un punto da donare ad uno dei rami di abilità del personaggio: potrete optare per una specializzazione nel combattimento oppure per una sorta di potere magico, starà a voi scegliere quello che più vi sembra utile. Il mondo da esplorare è molto vasto e grazie all' ottimo level design non vi annoierete mai anche se la tipica routine del genere (cut-scene/dungeon/Boss) farà da padrone nel gioco. Ogni dungeon che visiterete vi offrirà, in base alle vostre scelte, la possibilità di essere completato in fretta e furia o, in maniera opposta, in modo"esplorativo" tipicamente in stile RPG cercando, magari, i forzieri di cui parlavo poco fa o uno dei moltissimi collezionabili presenti nel gioco. Il tutto si presenterà davanti a voi come una sorta di puzzle-game ambientale: leve, meccanismi da attivare o chiavi da recuperare saranno l'unico modo per progredire nell'avventura. Grazie a questo fattore e anche alle svariate side-quests che accompagneranno la trama principale il gioco potrebbe arrivare a durarvi quasi ben 30 ore, una longevità immensa se paragonata ai canoni degli ultimi tempi.


    Dal punto di vista tecnico il titolo è una "semplice" evoluzione del predecessore: il motore di gioco è palesemente lo stesso upgradato nel corso dei due anni e mezzo che separano le due uscite, ma che sa farsi apprezzare. I modelli poligonali dei personaggi, almeno quelli principali, sono molto solidi e dettagliati, sono presenti ottimi effetti di luce e si possono notare ottime texture negli ambienti chiusi (il mondo esterno è si ben congeniato ma a voler essere pignoli scarseggia un po' nel dettaglio). Ogni tanto ho notato dei rallentamenti dovuti, secondo me, alla spremitura estrema di un hardware ormai datato (la prova è stata effettuata su 360) ma nel complesso il lavoro generale sul codice è di ottima fattura.


    Traendo le ultime conclusioni sono dell'idea che questo Darksiders II sia uno dei migliori titoli usciti nel corso di questa generazione grazie anche alle ottime basi lasciate dall'avventura di Guerra. La narrazione debole potrebbe risultare un grave difetto ma in un'ipotetica saga mancante di ancora due titoli (in teoria) è un aspetto che secondo me è analizzabile in modo lungimirante piuttosto che sul solo gioco in questione. Il sistema di crescita e combattimento rendono l'esplorazione estremamente divertente ed il mondo di gioco vi colpirà con ambienti sempre nuovi e mai scontati. Correte ad acquistarlo (insieme al primo se manca alla vostra collezione) e dateci sotto con Morte. Buon divertimento!

    Voto 9/10(www.videogiocare.org)
    Expand
  39. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    EPIC! the gameplay is epic, graphics are unique, protagonist is epic, therefore this game is EPIC!
  40. Aug 29, 2013
    4
    Could have been one of the best games ever. Instead they made it one big fetch quest. Get me 3 of these... before I can give you this go get me one of these. Better pacing and less fetching would have made this a great game. All in all it was pretty boring. It actually felt like work at times.
  41. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    It's no secret that I found very little to be loved with the first Darksiders but after seeing all the hype surrounding the sequel I found myself getting excited about it more and more as time wore on. Unfortunately, I found myself to be pretty disappointed. The graphics are mediocre, the setting is very uninteresting, and the enemy design is a combination of both. Throughout the game you will fight the same enemies over and over again and the only enemies that are any different are the complete pushovers of bosses. The bosses are ridiculously easy and very uninspired with one being almost an exact rehash of a boss from the first game. The world is pretty big, but there is absolutely nothing to do in it. Not to mention hardly any enemies. The graphics are just bleh all over and is barely an improvement over the first one. You will consistently see the pixels on everything without even having to look that hard. You play as Death, the brother of War, who is trying to absolve War of his sins. Besides that i couldn't tell you anything else about the story which seemed nonsensical at best. None of the characters are very intriguing and most have the most annoying voices you could ever imagine. Eventually I just started skipping the cut scenes to get to the only saving grace of this game which is the gameplay. Darksiders 2 plays like any other hack and slash games, but has a Borderlands like loot system. This quickly becomes addicting especially once you start growing as a character and finding unique possessed weapons. These weapons devour other weapons and become a force to be reckoned with. Every level you gain a skill point that you can put towards abilities. The necromancer tree seemed cool at first but halfway through I started putting stuff into the Harbinger tree and just used teleport slash non stop. Ultimately, Darksiders II is better than its predecessor but tends to get incredibly dull with only a little bit of fun to be had. Expand
  42. Oct 8, 2012
    5
    Simple fact of the matter is that it is just as mediocre as Darksiders 1. The camera problems have not been fixed, in fact it has been made worse by the fact Death is supposed to be so nimble in combat (standing still = defeat). Its not BAD by any means but there is a lot better out there. Art direction is good but let down by a mediocre (theres that word again) engine. PC version is OK but again it lacks much consideration that you might not be using the console version! Expand
  43. Oct 19, 2012
    8
    Overall, a great game. The combat is intense and action-packed, the puzzle-solving is really good for the most part, the RPG elements are top-notch, and the art style is simply gorgeous. It's not perfect, though. The frame rate issues from the first Darksiders are back, the controls will occasionally glitch out, and the storytelling took a turn for the worst. Not much about the first game is truly explained, and the ending hardly results in a satisfying conclusion. Nevertheless, the game's problems aren't nearly enough to hold it back from being an enjoyable experience, and the game is without a doubt a vast improvement over its predecessor. Vigil still has a long way to go if they want this franchise to be elite, but if Darksiders II gets enough sales to allow Darksiders III to happen, I think there's a good chance elite status will be achieved. Whether or not that happens... only time will tell. Expand
  44. Sep 4, 2012
    6
    I initially gave this game a 4 after being forced to restart twice due to game-breaking glitches but now that I've managed to actually finish the game and have had time to reflect on my experience I've raised my score....a bit. Darksiders 2 is a fun great-looking game but is ultimately bland and overly-inflated and does not do justice to the story of Darksiders. The game's story is lackluster, poorly delivered, and barely keeps you motivated to continue your journey. The first game created a great world full of great characters with depth (relative to the genre) but even the reoccurring characters are merely shallow representations of themselves. The larger scope of the game is mostly bland filler, long empty corridors connecting dungeon areas. The first Darksiders game left me with a genuine feeling of excitement and a clear motivation for a sequel whereas Darksiders 2 just left me feeling letdown and slightly confused with no real connection to the first game and no real direction or feeling of motivation for a possible sequel. If there is a future for the franchise I hope they come to the realization that story is just as important, if not more, than improved game mechanics and increased scale. Expand
  45. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    I was skeptical about Darksiders II. Really, the first game wasn't amusing at all, and then all those fake accounts doing such positives reviews, I couldn't believe that this game is as great as they say. But Darksiders II is the great 2012 surprise to me, really - this game is amazing ! First of all, the new character - Death is way more charismatic and badass than his brother - War ; the gameplay is a mix of Legacy of Kain (Soul Reaver) / GOW combat style, plus KOA (Amalur) RPG and Prince of Persia movement (like climbing walls and jumping from ledges) , though this game doesn't feel original as it could be, Virgil made this game comfortable to play - with solid graphics, fluid combat and a new -and interesting- inventory/loot system and a whole new skill tree (just like Borderlands). I really want a Darksiders III - with four horsemen (War-Death-Strife and Fury) fighting together. It will take some time - probably a lot - but I can wait. Death **** lives. Expand
  46. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    I haven't played this game yet, but i'm giving a 10 because we have haters giving 0 and 1. So to balance i'm giving 10, because clearly this game is not a 0 or 1.
  47. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    This is a gamer's game. The magazine critics giving this low marks, if you look at their review history, their taste in what they think is a 100 score game vastly differs from what GAMERS think is a perfect game. This my friends comes very close. Beautiful environments that capture the imagination and game play that easily rivals God of War. This is a must have for all GOW fans looking for something new and exciting in the same genre to play. I'm 8 hours in only stopped playing to write this. Now back to the game! Expand
  48. Sep 1, 2012
    1
    I've played RPGS for 12 years now and I've not come across many more infuriating than this. Death may be a badass, but the plot appears to go nowhere, i found the characters are boring and bland. I found the levelling to take forever, I found the controls to be awkward and most of all, it doesn't give you much of any idea what on earth to do. Its like a mash up of the worst bits of devil may cry, tomb raider and prince of persia.
    if you didn't love all 3 of those game series, you should avoid this like the plague cos it will only result in you rage quitting. believe me I did.

    The 2 main redeeming qualities of this are the graphics which are admittedly stunning and the soundtrack which is beautiful but can get irritating if you are stuck in one area for too long (which you inevitably will be)

    the battle system is repetitive which doesn't really help the cause in fairness.
    Expand
  49. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    More Darksiders goodness. While it's very similar in some ways to the first iteration there is enough to make it interesting and a true sequel to a great game. That being said I still found War to be more interesting to play than Death and felt this one to be a smidge more repetitive than the first though I can't think of any solid reason to not rate it an 8 along side it's brother. Two rock solid games for your collection... Expand
  50. Aug 30, 2013
    0
    The graphics are average, the camera angles are terrible, the story line is average. However one factor does it for me, this game crashes no matter what I try, I have a beast gaming pc with 3.6ghz processor, 16GB of RAM, AMD Radeon Hd 6970 Graphics card yet the game crashes. Pathetic, clearly a direct port from console
  51. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Darksiders II is the result of a great work of Vigil Games. The game, despite some shortcomings, presents a fantastic visual quality and an excellent plot that entertains the gamer for 25 hours or more.

      - Visual: 9.6
      - Gameplay: 9.1
      - History: 9.0
      - Audio: 9.3
      - Fun: 9.8

      - Final Rating: 9.0
  52. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    It is a sequel but it is not a direct follow up to the first game as far as gameplay is concerned. Sure it is still an Action RPG but Vigil has added so much more than what is in the first including skill trees, loot, side quests and so much more. If you couldnt wait to see the story play out after the "No, not alone" ending of Darksiders 1 well unfortunately you will have to a little longer(hopefully). But Deaths story alone is still a great one. Death is a more agile combatant than war he can dodge much more effectively than his brother but doesnt do as much damage it seems, which is fine because you can let your summoned ghouls and murder of crows pick up the slack :) Collapse
  53. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    One of the best games i have played in awhile, people really need to stop trolling, i'm a PS3 fan, but this game is as good or even better than God of War 3, it's not a clone imo.
  54. Jan 14, 2013
    9
    PC Version Review(with troubleshooting tips for ATI) - I was a bit late to the franchise because the trailers didn't grab me.. I thought the art was derivative of WoW and it just seemed like a cheesy cartoon.. I bought in during an Amazon sale and as it turns out I was totally wrong. The art and production value here is actually on par with the best I've ever seen in a game, which is quite an accolade. That is if you can squeeze the performance out of your pc.. I had a lot of debilitating stuttering at first so I had to research fixes. I run ati/amd so I picked up a utility called RadeonPro. The nvidia counterpart is Rivatuner. Vsync wasn't a big issue for me(no tearing) but I got less stutter when I locked my fps to 60, turned on triple buffering and turned vsync on. I also forced some AntiAliasing and turned anisotropic filtering(key for eye candy). Turn texture filtering and mipmap up and put texture LOD to -.5. The biggest performance gain was from turning my resolution down, but no big deal there, I ended up averaging around 40-60 fps with very minimal/infrequent stutter in big open areas on a mid/lower high end pc. Totally different game experience with the eye candy turned on. I've never seen such lovingly crafted level design and detail. I just wandered around amazed at what I was seeing, taking screenshots. It's freaking amazing how much effort was put into environmental stuff like stone flooring which looks like it was painted.. I just wandered around immersed in what I was seeing for a couple hours! Even if the gameplay was crap(it's not) just experiencing the ambient love this game offers makes it a must have/win. As has been mentioned many kudos to the soundtrack engineer, Jesper Kyd for the highly original immersion his tracks provide to the gameplay. Just awesome. As for the gameplay itself, I hope this mad combo of rpg, platforming/puzzle and hack n' is a theme other developers will champion.. because its so much fun. You explore, loot, fight truly epic bosses, access many sweet weapons/fighting styles and you get a decent story to top it off. They've blended the quirky evil of Devil May Cry with the steroidal fury of Space Marine and thrown it all into fantasy land and voila, gaming magic. I much prefer the direction here to both of those (mostly)excellent games. Did I mention epic horseback combat on a flaming green demonic steed which power stampedes enemies into an exploding grimy mist? Just play this game. Expand
  55. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    It is an epic adventure that brings a lot of great RPG elements into one game. It is long and the boards are massive which makes you travel around and seek out what is out there. The game is much better than the first and really has been a step up.
  56. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    This game had surpassed my expectations and beyond. The gameplay along with the combat controls are perfect in everyway. Death handles the rogue attributes like a pro, rather than the brute bashing brother War, who was more of a beat em up style warrior. The game comes back at you with it's wonderful storytelling, along with it's beautiful decaying art-style. The soundtrack is one of the best, if not THE BEST game soundtracks of all time, I could let the game sit and just listen to the music while I read or write reviews. If you like fast-paced action, along with tons of loot and RPG elements, you'll love this game. Oh, and a quick reply to JBo796, they took out the double jump and replaced it with wall running. If you haven't noticed, if there was a double jump, you'd have easy access to too many areas that would otherwise be harder to get to.. You have to learn to run walls to get to where you want to go. Expand
  57. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    I must first say that although everyone is entitled to there opinion, to give Darksider 2 a score of 1 or 2 is ridiculous, and not a true review of the game. If anything it is an insult to the many people who have taken the time to make a beautiful, fun and in depth game. I was a huge fan of the first Darksiders and an even bigger fan of the next installment. If you are unsure about Darksiders 2 i would recommend buying the first one (you will get it pretty cheap now) and if you are please with it then you will love number 2.

    I am extremely picky about what games i buy and it has been a long time since i have been excited about a new release, and a long time since i have paid the release price, but i have not been disappointed.

    Vigil have combined the acrobatic fun of Prince of Persia, the rewarding levelling system of any good RPG, fantastic chunky combat system and a dream for the completionists out there (which i am one).

    The loot system is great and plentiful, the story draws you in and the introduction to new abilities as you progress is fantastic. The game is huge and i still had no trouble keeping interest for playthrough 2. The puzzles have a great balance between challenging but not too difficult.

    I have been fortunate enough to not have any game breakers. Overall great game that dares to brake from the norm and deserves to be recognised for what it has accomplished.
    Expand
  58. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    I bought this game for $10 on Steam Weekend Special because I like the action RPG genre. Dark Souls is one of my favourite games. I wasn't expecting the same type of game from Darksiders 2, but even for the $10 I paid, I feel like it was a waste. Disclaimer: I played 40 minutes and uninstalled.

    I played this game with an xbox360 controller, so controls were not an issue. What was an
    issue however was the terrible camera. I had to manually adjust it a lot while I was in combat which is a real downer.

    Graphics, for 2013 were terrible. I only played the first area which is in snow/ice caverns, but everything looked dull and every corner I turned revealed another area that looked exactly the same as the last hallway I had been in. It felt like I was playing the same 1 minute of gameplay over and over.

    The combat system is one of those that try to make you feel like you are doing a lot and it's so fun because you can spam buttons and there are cool animations, but really you are doing nothing. The combat is ridiculously easy. I played for 40 minutes and did not even need to use a health potion once (on hard). The first boss had one ridiculously easy tell to dodge and that was it. Oh and did I mention ALL the enemies in the area were exactly the same (except the boss).

    The rest of the area when you are not fighting are doing climbing/jumping puzzles, there is always only one way to go so you couldn't really classify them as a puzzle. I'm sure later in the game they are more difficult, but I can't imagine them being fun.

    Graphics: 6/10
    Sound: 5/10 (I really didn't pay attention but it did not impress me nor sound terrible)
    Gameplay: 2/10
    Overall: 13/30 (43%)
    Expand
  59. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    This game is just a very beautiful game. Everything about it is awesome. The only reason I give it an 8 is because it had some day one glitches that kept the player from progressing. Other than that this game is a must especially if you played the first one. If you haven't grab both and start with D1. You will not be disappointed.
  60. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    This game has a special place on my shelf. A lot of people will tell you that the game is a rip-off of The Legend of Zelda and while it doesn't completely rip it off, it definitely borrows some gameplay mechanics to create a rich gameplay experience. Now, I know that the game isn't extremely unique and what not, but the combination of the genres creates one of my favorite game combinations ever. That I guess is why I like this game so much, but most of my friends don't agree with me. All in all, if you like The Legend of Zelda but wanted it to be a little more mature and like spectacle fighters like God of War mixed into one spectacle fighter role-playing game with minor elements of platforming, than you'll absolutely love this game! Expand
  61. Jul 16, 2013
    0
    After the first one i was excited to play the second one. Holy this game sucks. The PC controls are laughable, combat lag, random lag, horrible camera that me over multiple times. The story is total crap "hey go run some errands for me and ill help you" HE IS DEATH NOT AN ERRAND BOY. At least i didnt blow 50$ on it and bought it during the steam summer sale, but jesus christ could you have done any worse THQ? sure as hell wont be buying any more of your games ever again. you failed hardcore, DO NOT buy this game its crap. Expand
  62. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    Darksiders 2 is a great game.
    Vigil games did a great job this time around.everything seems much better than darksiders 1(which wasn't a bad game)but just didn't feel quite right.But Darksiders 2 hit all the right buttons, with a huge world and awesome weapons and gear that you get in the game.I love action/rpg games and This game is one Awesome ride, I will be playing for a long time.Now
    there are some problems with glitches and bugs here and there and from what I've heard some game crashes(which I haven't experienced yet Knock on wood)and sometimes a stuttery frame-rate but I can over look those things because I'm sure Vigil will fix those problems quickly.a must buy title worth 60 bucks. Expand
  63. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    This is so far the only game this year that deserves a perfect 10. The graphics are breathtaking, the gameplay is incredibly well balanced and motivating, the story is deep, interesting, consistent and continuous. I really like the first darksiders, but having had little luck with sequels so far (think AC3, ME3, H4, ...) I was a bit weary. Instead, they upped the ante - longer gameplay, more interesting characters, better gfx, a great score etc. pp. Loved it to death, a bit scared that any sequel will have to fight hard to stay competitive. One other reviewer pointed out how this game managed to not become tedious like the other big rpgs of late (Skyrim - loved it, but it had a bit of the repetetive). I concur completely. If I ever meet people from Vigil who worked on DII, they won't need to worry about buying their own drinks. Seriously. Expand
  64. Jun 20, 2014
    5
    The motivation to play this game is very low. Apparently, I play a supernatural character, Death, who is trying to exonerate his supernatural brother from a crime of, oh nothing much, just total annihillation of the human race! And to do that, I have to do a very un-death like thing of restoring all of humanity again, as if it never happened. What? And to do that I have to go to the mystical tree of life, which turns out to be a Nordic version of the rainbow bridge to all worlds, which is blocked by "corruption", which to unlock it I have to do favors upon favors, upon favors, upon favors, upon favors....what am I trying to do in this game again? Safe my brother? Exonerate my brother? How am I suppose to do that again because I got lost in all of the favors for other npcs. After 37 hours, I quit playing because my motivation to unlock one more corridor was gone. I can only go down so many corridors, beating down enemy after enemy and solving puzzels for so long before I expect to see progression and payoff. The big problem here is that the game is not so much "big" as it is "LONG". Too long for a hack'n'slash to not have a progressive story to go with it, and what little they do have in story takes waaaaay to long to unfold. Graphics look good, combat is smooth as you'd expect for hack'n'slash a la God of War, although the platforming is a little tricky, riding a horse that causes it's own damages is nice, so the game has all of that going for it. In fact, I would say that this game is the ultimate accumulation of games from the PS2 generation. It's just that they adopted the more open world size maps from the PS3 generation without realizing that those type of games are designed for you to interact with the world and the environments, not just to have space to slay enemies while you make your way to the next checkpoint. In conclusion, it's a game without a plot that kills any motivation to spend much time with satisfying combat and puzzels that become too repetitious. Knock yourself out if your thinking about playing it. Expand
  65. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    A brilliant follow up to the first Darksiders - A gamer's game that deserves to be in the top tier of titles. I just hope the public supports it so they can make bother one
  66. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    RIP DARKSIDERS 3. This game is great and has become a vast improvement of the first (which was also pretty awesome) with its implementation of various rpg mechanics such as weapon and armor drops and skills. Unfortunately this is gonna be the last Darksiders with the bankruptcy of THQ as no doubt it would've been even better.
  67. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    combining most of the popular games in the gaming history like Devil May Cry and Zelda is the hybrid of darksiders that won me over the game is truly underrated and just the best game on Xbox 360 without a doubt the the characters are more lovable than the Darksiders 1 and just as good the game is just amazing and a great good from THQ
  68. Sep 8, 2012
    5
    the first one was bad, mediocre and sloppy. This one fixes a few stuff, but to be honest, it's incredibly overrated, I won't say it's bad. But I'll go as far and say it's NOT good, I mean, when customizing your character, the textures NEVER appear, it looks horrible, the gameplay is solid, but there's just something about the game that doesn't feel right
  69. Oct 12, 2012
    4
    I really wanted to enjoy this game, but it's far too broken for me to like.. I can't use wrath potions and apparently it's happening to a lot of players, it's laggy even when installed to my 360, Death really isn't as interesting of a character as War, and even though there are tons of bugs THQ has only released one patch since release and it's done barely anything.
  70. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    This game is fantastic. Great loot system, with different appearances on armor and weapons. Great secondary weapons, each with different charge attacks. The boss fights are amazing. The voice acting, especially Death, is awesome. Great graphics (for a console game), and the quests fit well into the amazing story. Only reason I don't give it a ten is because I haven't beat it yet to see the ending. This is a must buy for anyone who enjoyed the first one, and for the Story of the Horsemen. Expand
  71. Aug 18, 2012
    9
    I'm really impressed how polished this game feels, especially compared to the first Darksiders. It does borrow quite a bit of content from various great games, but it does it well and makes them all their own as in a sweet sort of homage. The voice work really stands out as does the story and dialogue, it's all superb. This one is a for sure buy. Fun game.
  72. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    good ...... esperando que salga darksiders 3 ya que este me ha encantado, mejora muchos aspectos del anterior y ademas aporta aire nuevo al genero y esperemos que los competidores tomen en cuenta esto
  73. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    The game is fantastic even if it has a few bugs. The graphical options are not many but its not a problem. The story line is good and the rpg part for the game maked the game more fun. I like that they added dungeons to the game and looting. I suggest everyone to but the game because its fantastic.
  74. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    Yes this game is good. The ambient lighting effects, graphics and framerate alone make this game worth playing. I found myself sitting in the first dungeon just admiring the ambiant effects. I'd say this game is a great platform/adventure/RPG. I was skeptical at first but it progressively got better. It is well balanced and fluid. The menus can be slow to navigate and load times could be better as well as camera controls. Other than those minor flaws it shines. Animation and art direction of characters reminds me a lot of Warcraft. Expand
  75. Oct 12, 2012
    8
    Darksiders 2 at it's core is a fantastic combat and adventure driven game. The combat is much more finely tuned and so is the platforming. The addition of loot and side quest feel very natural with the flow of the game. Unfortunately for me within 10 hours in I began to lose interest due to the bland story and uninteresting characters. After a nice long break I was amazed who easy it was to jump back into the grind of things. Story aside, I can safely say if you enjoyed the first title, than you will surely enjoy the sequel. Those new to the series can find a lot to enjoy as well. Expand
  76. May 15, 2013
    9
    The game is on the longer end of satisfying, but there are tons of great things about it: the combat is fast, frantic, and dynamic. The RPG elements allow you to style yourself into your own weapon of death, and you upgrade your equipment often enough to make it an important part of the game. There's tons of loot as well, so that should be pleasing to RPG fans. The only downsides are the various bugs and repetitive nature of the puzzles- while the game is consistently challenging, at times I found myself thinking "I wish I were done with this temple already", mostly because I wanted to get back into fighting. I would recommend this game to any adventure RPG fan. Here's to hoping they make a third! Expand
  77. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    This game has won one Game of the Year Award in Just Push Start and got nominated in This year's VGA and Neoseeker. Need I say more? :) Death...COMES FOR EVERY ONE! >:)
  78. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    A Solid Game. What Darksiders II does well is the feel of adventure with all the action. Its great to ride the open plains on your horse, occasionally killing things as you ride. the games art style is great, bringing a very cool stylized world. The story though not amazing, is enough to keep you trudging on. There are a good number of side quests to keep you busy and of course though not a very strong loot system, it still makes you check every weapon that drops. RPG factors are good with some good changes to spice up combat. If you want a good adventure game to spend some time in pick it up! Expand
  79. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    (Im sorry for all english/american guys but i wanted to write this critic in German because of my bad english)

    Als ich Darksiders 2 zum ersten mal eingelegt hatte war ich voller Vorfreude, da ich mir den Test von GameStar angeschaut hatte und es wirklich gut aussah. Leider wurde ich ein wenig enttäuscht da es nicht das war was ich erwartet hatte. Ich fühlte mich am Anfang ein
    wenig alleine gelassen da man die ganze Zeit nur durch Gegner und Rätsel musste und es kaum Gesprächspartner gab. Ich war halt Spiele wie Skyrim oder Dragon Age gewohnt und das war meine erste Berührung mit so einem Spiel. Aufgrund
    dessen hatte ich das Spiel mehrmahls einfach für 5-6 Tage liegen gelassen aber immer wieder den Drang gehabt es wieder in meine Xbox zu werfen und ein wenig weiter zu schnetzeln. Irgendwann fing es dann doch an richtig Spaß zu machen, ich ließ mich einfach darauf ein das ich hier kein Traditionelles Rollenspiel spielte wie es mir vorher am liebsten war, sondern einen richtig guten Mix aus verschiedensten Genres. Ja sogar ein kleines bisschen Portal ist hier vorzufinden. Das Spiel packte mich Regelrecht ich wollte in die neuen Welten gegen große Bossgegner kämpfen und vorallem das fenomenale Artdesign betrachten. Es entwickelte sich zu dieser Zeit zu meinem Absoluten Lieblingsspiel und ich blieb manchmal sogar bis zu fünf Stunden am Stück dran, löste Rätsel und verprügelte meine Gegner. Leider kam dann das, wie Ich finde, grauenvolle Ende. Ich hatte gerade wieder einen großartigen Hauptgegner besiegt, überlegte in welche Welt mich die Entwickler diesmal schicken würden....vorbei. Vom einen Augenblick auf den anderen war das Spiel zuende und deswegen bekommt das Spiel von mir 8 von 10 Punkten da es auf der einen Seite wirklich überragent ist und auf der anderen Seite nicht fertig erzählt wurde. Ich glaube sie konnten die Geschichte nicht mehr fertig erzählen da THQ schwarze Zahlen geschrieben hatte. Das ist natürlich nur meine Meinung. Trotzdem von mir eine klare Kaufempfehlung!
    Expand
  80. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    I have just finished playing Darksiders 1 not long ago and just recently started this. I must say that it's impressive. It is better than the first one because they made improvements to this game such as tougher enemies, tougher puzzles, and so on. They can be frustrating to beat at times but feels really good after beating them lol. It gets more playful and fun as the game goes on because you get more powers and weapons. Different ones than War from the first part. What can I say? Great action, graphics, acting, storyline, and the length of play. The best sequel I've played so far in a series. Expand
  81. Mar 22, 2013
    8
    I had a ton of fun playing this game as overall, however there are a few parts holding it back from being perfect. Soul splitting later on in the game felt like they began to run out of ideas. The awkward third person shooting-esque section was a fun little change of pace, but rather strange, and didnt really correspond to the fast-action that proceeded it. Even with minor things like those, and death occasionally not wanting to grab onto things if you arent perfectly aligned, still dont hold the game back. The combat is fluid and the art style is amazing. It is sad to see Vigil go under, and hopefully there might be another Darksiders title in the future. Expand
  82. May 29, 2013
    7
    Darksiders 2 didn't have the same appeal as Darksiders 1 did, in my opinion at least. What I loved about the first game was the only way to get past a certain scenario was to use your cunning and make a plan for the according situation. So, my problem with Darksiders 2 and the RPG system is when a challenging part of the game comes up, all I have to do is go grind for hours then wail on the enemies with ridiculously good equipment. Speaking of equipment, there are so many item drops that it makes me wonder what's the point of so many different weapons if I'm just going to get better blades in 2 minutes. This is not a bad game or a bad sequel, it's just not as good as it's previous game was. Expand
  83. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    Hola, me da gusto saber que tendremos muy pronto DARKSIDERS 3, pues después de la venta de THQ, seria una PENA que un buen juego como DARKSIDERS no tuviera su continuación.
    DARKSIDERS es un buen juego, de los mejores que he jugado y pues se imaginan como se vería en las nuevas consolas, sería espectacular.
  84. Apr 7, 2014
    3
    When I played part 1 in 2010 I was quite excited. It was fun although it is not nice out though it did not look good.
    Now I've got the 2 year old title for a small price and I am disappointed. Everywhere was stolen. Starting with Tomb Raider to be found GoW stolen together game elements here.
    The story promises a lot and sounds good. But in the end you will hardly noticed and it
    slaughters just like GoW through the area. No wonder THQ was then later broke.
    A very bad game.
    Expand
  85. Jun 20, 2013
    7
    Its ok but the disc I got froze to much so I never really enjoyed it sad...It was a interesting game though its worth the buy but some of the discs fail..
  86. Oct 17, 2014
    3
    I was excited when I saw that this game was put on the "Games with Gold" list because I always wanted try it. I got online and started downloading it right away. Boy, was I in for a rude awakening... For starters, the main character menu looks extremely outdated and is super clunky. I sometimes had to hit my triggers twice for it to move to the next menu. The camera sometimes obstructs your view during combat which is very annoying. The combat is repetitive and you'll find yourself killing the same grunt enemies over and over again. The leveling takes WAY too long. It also has that kind of poor platforming where they expect you to make split-second movements to get past an area, but your character just swings everywhere like he's spazzing out. I don't know how many times I fell down into a lava pit because Death decided to face plant the wall instead of running across it. Or like when I try to jump off a wooden thing and it sends me flying down a cliff for no reason. It a freaking nightmare.

    But hey, it's free this month so if you want to download it then whatever... Don't say I didn't warn you.
    Expand
  87. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    Darksiders 2 is a Hack n Slash/ Adventure game. You as Death. It take place after to the first game. I didn't play the first game so I don't the full story. The gameplay reminds of Zelda with God of War mix to it. The music is amazing. You could unlock weapons, armor, and perks. You could also learn new combos. The game is every fun. When you save the game, and load it, you jump where you left off. I thought that was cool. I wasn't really look forward to this game but when I try it, but when I play it, I loved it. I say give it a try. Expand
  88. Mar 2, 2014
    5
    Had potential but failed.

    Pros:
    Combat.
    Boss fights.
    Presentation.
    Amazing sound track.

    Cons:
    Collect THREE of everything!
    Horrible characters.
    Too linear.
    Repititive dungeon designs- go here climb that fight this, get the key, climb here, fight boss.
    Tries to be dramatic.
  89. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    Awakened by the End of Days, Death, the most feared of the legendary Four Horsemen, embarks on a journey to redeem his brother's name. Become the terrifying force which everyone fears but nothing can escape.
  90. Sep 13, 2014
    8
    I liked the first Darksiders, but it wasn't anything special. I rented Darksiders 2 just to try it, and holy crap was I floored. Darksiders 2 is far more than worthy to be a sequel. If anything, it's almost too good for this series. The combat is smooth and controls are tight. The visuals are stunning and writing is great. The music is written by Jesper Kyde so you know it will be good, and this game is arguably his best work ever.

    You play as War's older brother, Death. He wields duel scythes, is a master at parkour, and has a very sarcastic and sometimes cruel sense of humor (as is to be expected by the horseman Death). You set out to find a way to resurrect Man and prove your brother's innocence. You explore multiple worlds, filled with secrets and things that hate you. Along the way, Death's past returns to haunt him, and he must stop corruption from turning all creation into nothingness.

    As stated above, the writing is good, the music is f*****g amazing, the art is stunning, the combat is smooth and precise, and everything controls tightly. I should add that the game is challenging. It's one of the harder games that I've ever played. That being said, it's hard in a good way. When I died, I always knew why and it was always my own fault. I never felt cheated or dies unfairly. Mind you, some battles will result in multiple deaths, but every single one is fair. You will get better and when you finally beat that boss after 2 hours of dying, you will feel so accomplished you'll want to dance.

    With all that said, this game is not an 10. It's an 8, which some will argue is too high. These are the reasons why:

    1. game is padded out unnecessarily with meh ending. This is my biggest complaint. There is plenty to do and see, but because the story is so long, the final world is extremely small, which is probably a result of running out of room on the disk. It was kinda disappointing. While the first 80% of the game is huge, filled with secrets and dungeons, the last one was a let down. The ending feels rushed because of it, and even the frame rate gets a little weird. While the last 2 bosses are both epic in their own right, the stretch leading to them is the worst in the game.

    2. parkour gets repetitive. its cool, but the devs went overboard on how much climbing is done in this game.

    3.story gets confusing. While what I summed up seems cool, the details start to make things muddy. It wasn't till about 70% though the game that I realized the Darksiders 1 and 2 are happening at the same time story wise. This lead to more questions that were unanswered in the game. The lore of Darksiders is rich and deep, so much so that it has a graphic novel about the 4 horsemen. But unfortunately, this does not translate to a game story that stands on its own. Unless you dig deeper into the Darksiders world outside the games, you will get lost.

    All in all, Darksiders 2 is a fun game. It is a must own for all spectacle fighter fans. If you like Devil may Cry or God of War, you will enjoy Darksiders 2.
    Expand
  91. Jun 2, 2014
    9
    This game is the reason i got back into RPG's. it is completely immerse, allowing you to customize your characters weapons and armor and NOTHING looks stupid in this game. I swear, right off the bat, even the cheapest armor and weapons you find all look awesome, so you dont end up spending hours looking for money just to look cool. If you want to play around looking for cash to get ridiculously strong to make the game a bit easier, you can, and if you just want to progress and earn as you go, thats fine aswell! I love how this game gives you options but doesnt have a million storylines you feel like you have to re-play to find out. The dungeons are big but not so ridiculous that it makes it too intimidating. The map system is not confusing the it's not to hard to seek out the chests. You get new weapons and armors all the time so very easy to customize and find the fighting style you want to use. You always have your scythes, which are totally badass and always useful, but you can use many other secondary weaons that vary from Giant axe, giant hammer, energy gloves, mace, and Wolverine-like gloves to name a FEW and all of them have their own special ability, whether it be charging up and smashing, throwing air blades, or spin slashing! One thing i really love about this game is that every time you beat a boss, you get a new, secondary weapon thats unique from the others, but you have to level up to use them so it makes you really feel excited and eager while fighting the even smallest of foes because you knowing its inching you closer to that cool new item. It's kind of like a cross between The Legend Of Zelda and God Of War. It's F*cking awesome and i totally advise it. I just freaking love this game....go get it...NOW! Expand
  92. Oct 16, 2014
    7
    This game is pretty awesome graphics and combat-wise, but the puzzles are way too easy and the last few areas are much smaller than the first few. Weapons didn't seem very broad either. If the makers put more effort into the last two worlds and created a better and wider selection of weapons this game would have been amongst the elite.
  93. Aug 19, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know where to start that's how **** this game is, I spent 30 hours completing this **** game and by the end of it i learnt as much as i did playing the first hour of the game. The puzzles where C grade puzzles that my 3 year old brother could do, but what really **** you over in this game was the fact that they didn't show you how to do anything. Late game you got to use a portal gun, not once did they show you how to use it all they did was zoom up on a portal pad and BAM!!!! they instantly expected us to understand the mechanics yes its a portal gun seems straight forward but for those who have played it is far from straight forward. This isn't the only attachment piece they **** you over with either, simply any other spell or attachment piece you obtained had little to no explanation on the mechanics involved. The combat side of the game didn't get much better either after spending half and hour to and hour on getting through the massive puzzles which suck balls you normally are rewarded with a boss which for once wasn't have bad they took one or two try's to defeat and most of them took a bit to take down it was a well balanced fight. But then they game decides to give us the ONLY and i say ONLY twist in the whole **** game, it was the final boss was by far the easiest **** boss in the game even the starter boss was harder then this **** After spending 30 hours going through the 1000 puzzles and 20 or so half ass bosses i was faced with a pile of **** i swear half the normal monsters packed a harder punch then him, i honestly stood there and spammed LB Y and summoned my crows to kill him.
    Over all this game was incredible disappointing i only paid $14 dollars for it and still felt like i was paying way to much, lets just say if it was free i would feel like i was paying to much. With all the game stopping bugs, i rebooted this game a total of 13 times in the whole run through, the half ass graphics that where used over and over every place look the same just either with water or fire and little changes, **** terrible combat, and even more disappointing puzzles this game is a big bust in my books would highly recommend if you want to spend 30 hours completing the same thing over and over, other wise the only other thing its good for is use it as a door stop.
    Expand
  94. Oct 17, 2014
    3
    When Darksiders II was the free game for the xbox 360 games with gold, I happily downloaded the game and played for several hours. I found the combat mechanic simple to use, and the on the rails parkour elements where easy to master. It was refreshing to have a horse riding game that didn't feel clunky. Many of the weaker enemies were properly balanced, although I did find it difficult to advance at the same pace as the enemies. The levels are very large, which would be great if they didn't feel empty.

    Even so, this game is plagued by camera issues, and poor design decisions. One of which is the on the rails parkour element, because there are times when you have to take a leap of faith and hope that the planets align at the perfect moment death is attempting a catch the next ledge during a boss fight. Another is the terrible lock on system during combat, which automatically chooses an enemy and occasionally targets open space, which only confounds the already bad camera angle. Not being able to see is not the worst thing that will happen in combat. The enemies seem to move so quickly that the awkward dodging mechanics are almost pointless, and when an enemy is executing an attack there is no way to interrupt them. Just hope that you are not in the middle of executing a long combo attack, because you cannot exit a combo just by tapping the dodge button. Basically you have to figure out how to defeat the bosses through trial and error, but you can only hold 5 health potions that loose healing effectiveness as you gain hit points through leveling, so learn quickly.

    Over all I cannot recommend playing this game, unless you enjoy ripping your hair out because of inadequate character control. Keep in mind that I was playing this game on the easiest difficulty setting, and many of the combat encounters where challenging, because I was fighting against some unusual design decisions. I'll never forget how one of the easiest bosses killed me when I ran out of health potions, because my character preferred to play soccer with the corruption grenades instead of picking them up.
    Expand
  95. Oct 28, 2014
    9
    This game is exactly what it wants to be. The combat, while not completely innovative, keeps the player on their toes by being challenging while not punishingly difficult. Interesting puzzles help keep the game fresh and the boss battles feel truly epic while making sure that player input is still important.
    Texture quality might not be very high, yet the game still looks great with an
    intriguing art style. Beautiful music, colourful characters, and a story that creates a fantastic universe to explore make this game one that players can easily be immersed in.
    The game is not without it`s flaws (for example somewhat repetitive dungeon design) yet it manages to create an experience that is both fun and memorable.
    9/10.
    Expand
  96. Nov 15, 2014
    8
    A over looked diamond in the rough here! It is a brilliant combat game with many dungeon crawler elements sneaked in, well worth a try, its probably cheap on Amazon and second hand gaming stores right now as well.
  97. Aug 16, 2012
    0
    It is a sequel but it is not a direct follow up to the first game as far as gameplay is concerned. Sure it is still an Action RPG but Vigil has added so much more than what is in the first including skill trees, loot, side quests and so much more. If you couldnt wait to see the story play out after the "No, not alone" ending of Darksiders 1 well unfortunately you will have to a little longer(hopefully). But Deaths story alone is still a great one. Death is a more agile combatant than war he can dodge much more effectively than his brother but doesnt do as much damage it seems, which is fine because you can let your summoned ghouls and murder of crows pick up the slack :) Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    60
    While trying to revitalize the Zelda formula with modern developments is an admirable goal, Darksiders II's developers just can't seem to get a handle on how to make such a thing work. For two games now they've tried adding hi-octane combat, a Western-style story, and ability trees, but it's never managed to gel. The things that made games like Zelda, God of War, Prince of Persia, and even Shadow of the Colossus great are all on display here, but the Darksiders series still hasn't figured out how to use them effectively enough to stand on its own.
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    90
    Darksiders II is full of enormous environments and dungeons to traverse to and explore, even more fantastical enemies and large-scale bosses to battle, and plenty of challenging hacking, slashing and loot collecting.
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    A stunning achievement in creative larceny that improves on its predecessor in pretty much every way that matters. A pity about the lacklustre endgame though. [Oct 2012, p.49]