User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 418 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 418

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    L3GENDARY!!!!
    exceeds its expectations huge improvement from the first game Death is badass cold arrogant and is a lot more agile than war who was like tank like person steadfast relying more on muscle death on the other hand relies on dodging and then coming in for the kill
    combat is awesome and the focus is on rpg a skill tree and the character customization is also there the story
    L3GENDARY!!!!
    exceeds its expectations huge improvement from the first game Death is badass cold arrogant and is a lot more agile than war who was like tank like person steadfast relying more on muscle death on the other hand relies on dodging and then coming in for the kill
    combat is awesome and the focus is on rpg a skill tree and the character customization is also there
    the story line is epic and we feel immersed in it. the music score in the game is best ive listened to in a game the setting is wonderful courtesy of Joe Mad a must buy game for all action adventure fans
    Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Darksiders 2 is for me the best game of the year, it has everything I ever wanted from a RPG. It combines a lot of different genres and levelling up possessed weapons is plain and simple fun and very addictive. There's so much to do and explore .. and the vast areas are very beautiful! Compared to DS1 it's a LOT better and playing Death with all his crazy attacks is very cool and feels aDarksiders 2 is for me the best game of the year, it has everything I ever wanted from a RPG. It combines a lot of different genres and levelling up possessed weapons is plain and simple fun and very addictive. There's so much to do and explore .. and the vast areas are very beautiful! Compared to DS1 it's a LOT better and playing Death with all his crazy attacks is very cool and feels a lot smoother. Yes, it's true, it takes a lot of stuff from other games, but it does that extremely well and combines it all to something incredibly AWESOME. I would recommend you to buy this game if you like any or all of the following: Exploration, hack n' slash, puzzles (getting more difficult over time), riding, questing, HUGE weapons and mobs, comic books. I think everyone who has ever read a comic book will feel immersed in this world/story and enjoy it for a long time to go! Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Darksiders 2 is so much more than the original that most comparisons only come from art style and the name. But this is only a good thing as the team at Vigil/THQ have done a fantastic job of capturing the magic that very few action/adventure games today achieve. First thing you will notice is the graphics are bright and beautiful and really bring the comic style to life. The art directionDarksiders 2 is so much more than the original that most comparisons only come from art style and the name. But this is only a good thing as the team at Vigil/THQ have done a fantastic job of capturing the magic that very few action/adventure games today achieve. First thing you will notice is the graphics are bright and beautiful and really bring the comic style to life. The art direction is a joy to take in and makes finding new areas and enemies a visual treat. The combat is deep enough to satisfy long time action fans of games like god of war and devil may cry, without getting out of hand and becoming so difficult that you forget what all you can do. Control overall is solid and just feels right. The music is great and fits the mood of the environment without trying to overdo itself or wear on your ears. Its epic when it needs to be and calm and ambient when it should be. The addition of loot and skill trees is what helps to really make Darksiders 2 an addicting experience. You never feel as though your not gaining for all your hard work battling and exploring. The pacing between all aspect, from puzzles and platforming, to combat and other aspects of game play are extremely well done. If your a fan of action/adventure or looking for video game to try out the genre, then Darksiders 2 is the perfect game. I can only hope they keep this series going for as long as possible. Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Darksiders 2 takes the formula from Darksiders 1 and injects it with awesome. Where War was a lumbering hulk, Death is an agile shadow and is a joy to control. The game improves on the original in every way and f you enjoyed the original Darksiders you will love this game.
  5. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    I will not say anything more for my friend but it is impressive and a great
    Exceeded his expectations a significant improvement from Game of Death The first is poking cold arrogant and a lot more active than the war which was like a tank, such as credit steadfast person increase over the death of muscle on the other hand depends on the Shuffle comes next in the battle of killing is
    I will not say anything more for my friend but it is impressive and a great
    Exceeded his expectations a significant improvement from Game of Death The first is poking cold arrogant and a lot more active than the war which was like a tank, such as credit steadfast person increase over the death of muscle on the other hand depends on the Shuffle comes next in the battle of killing is wonderful, and focus on the skill tree RPG and customization is also a personal story line, and the epic feel immersed in it. To record the music in the game is the best place I heard alive in the game is a big compliment from the madness of Joe is not a must buy game for all lovers of adventure has
    Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2012
    5
    Bigger is not better. This game is basically a 3rd person Borderlands, minus the charm, if Borderlands consisted of nothing more than dungeon crawl after dungeon crawl with an arena and and an annoying amount of collectibles to keep the neurotic completionist gamers playing. Also, the camera issue has not been fixed. The issue being it zoomed in way too close in combat to the point youBigger is not better. This game is basically a 3rd person Borderlands, minus the charm, if Borderlands consisted of nothing more than dungeon crawl after dungeon crawl with an arena and and an annoying amount of collectibles to keep the neurotic completionist gamers playing. Also, the camera issue has not been fixed. The issue being it zoomed in way too close in combat to the point you cannot tell which enemy is attacking you. Overall, I was expecting more and I find myself playing through more of my third run through of Skyrim than I do this game. Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Perfect game, played almost 8 hours and i am still in first realm of four ! Recommend to play Darksiders 1 before DS2 for better understanding of whole game/story and thus better game experience. And please don`t even look on "reviews" like that from "viverra4" he is imbecile and the puzzles which are in DS2 are too much for him.

    A.K.A puzzles are pretty fun too.
  8. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    A sequel to Darksiders that is at the same time continuation and evolution. It is a very well crafted RPG with a stunning esthetic. Darksiders 2 pleased that Legacy of Kain itch I had while being something of its own.
  9. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    A great game has FINALLY arrived for 2012. Darksiders 2 is a beautiful blend of action and RPG elements mixed together in a brilliant world. Death is an instant icon, just a kick-ass character in a game full of the most unique characters, worlds and bosses - HUGE bosses that still have compelling personalities. Puzzles are challenging, yet satisfying, the pace is pitch perfect with theA great game has FINALLY arrived for 2012. Darksiders 2 is a beautiful blend of action and RPG elements mixed together in a brilliant world. Death is an instant icon, just a kick-ass character in a game full of the most unique characters, worlds and bosses - HUGE bosses that still have compelling personalities. Puzzles are challenging, yet satisfying, the pace is pitch perfect with the scope. Plus loot, by the way, is awesome. Just a ton of replayability. A perfect example of building on the legacy of the first game to create something better in every way, yet unique enough to stand alone as a tremendous gaming experience. Expand
  10. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Lined up for this one at midnight last night! Loved playing War in the first game but after finding out that his brother death was coming out to play in Darksiders 2 I could not wait! After playing for 4 hours last night (work is going to be hell today!) I have barely scraped the surface of this game and can't wipe the smile off my face! Do yourself a favor run don't walk to pick upLined up for this one at midnight last night! Loved playing War in the first game but after finding out that his brother death was coming out to play in Darksiders 2 I could not wait! After playing for 4 hours last night (work is going to be hell today!) I have barely scraped the surface of this game and can't wipe the smile off my face! Do yourself a favor run don't walk to pick up this game. SOOOOOO MUCH BETTER THAN THE FIRST GAME! Expand
  11. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Bigger, Bolder, Stronger, Faster. My expectations were high and they were blown away. Everything you should expect in a sequel, that improves on its predecessor in every way. Death is a badass assassin, while the double scythes are my favorite weapon, there are limitless options for your character. Additions of loot and the skill tree progression bring a bold RPG presence to aBigger, Bolder, Stronger, Faster. My expectations were high and they were blown away. Everything you should expect in a sequel, that improves on its predecessor in every way. Death is a badass assassin, while the double scythes are my favorite weapon, there are limitless options for your character. Additions of loot and the skill tree progression bring a bold RPG presence to a fantastic action adventure game. A personal favorite is the voice talent of Michael Wincott, which brings a compelling personality to the warrior with a dark yet dry wit. The worlds are huge, and the characters you encounter some of the most unique of any game. Bravo, Bravo, Bravo! Collapse
  12. now
    Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Open world the most beautiful by a long story Alllab wonderful graphics stunning all this and more and grandmother in this Alllabh It's more than a game she is the best I think it will be a game-General and I think that's the opinion of many people so Saqimha 10/10 because they deserve it more what I liked GPU + Audio+ Thriller has surpassed Part I stages
  13. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Played this for several hours already, can hardly put it down! The original Darksiders was great, but they took it to the next level. Death is awesome, the story is cool, and the gameplay is tons of fun, I haven't fully figured out the loot system yet, but it seems cool so far.
  14. Aug 29, 2012
    1
    Having played through the vast majority of the game and having liked the first one very much I must say Darksiders 2 is a MUST AVOID. It is in nearly every way worse than its predecessor. The platforming is extremely repetitive, combat is frequently unresponsive, and the game has a MASSIVE amount of GAME BREAKING bugs. If you liked the first one and wish to continue the story do yourself aHaving played through the vast majority of the game and having liked the first one very much I must say Darksiders 2 is a MUST AVOID. It is in nearly every way worse than its predecessor. The platforming is extremely repetitive, combat is frequently unresponsive, and the game has a MASSIVE amount of GAME BREAKING bugs. If you liked the first one and wish to continue the story do yourself a favor and wait for the patch. If you are on the fence wait till it hits the bargain bin...cause it definitely will. Expand
  15. Aug 17, 2012
    6
    I'm having a really hard time getting used to the art style (more specifically the character models). Everyone looks too big and clunky. The same goes for a lot of the secondary weapons. Also, when I'm attacking with X and want to quick switch to a Y attack, there is an annoying delay. And where is the double jump? Maybe you unlock it further in, but I feel like this ability should beI'm having a really hard time getting used to the art style (more specifically the character models). Everyone looks too big and clunky. The same goes for a lot of the secondary weapons. Also, when I'm attacking with X and want to quick switch to a Y attack, there is an annoying delay. And where is the double jump? Maybe you unlock it further in, but I feel like this ability should be present.

    On a positive note. The overall art direction is good. The combat is fun. There is lots of loot to be had. I enjoy the platforming as well as the puzzles and the soundtrack is simply great. I may update my score after playing more, but I'm not seeing this as a 10 like so many others on here.
    Expand
  16. Oct 8, 2012
    6
    Darksiders as a franchise is still very much in its infancy the original has to be one of the greatest dungeon crawlers/action adventure/slash-em-up games ever made right after its inspiration Zelda and of course diablo and that in theory should have made the foundation of Darksiders II even more stable but the reality of it is the simple fact that the game
  17. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    PROS: -loot system is very appreciated and works well -agile platforming akin to prince of persia -art style/environments -combat -fresh new feeling and polish compared to the first game -case is shiny just like the first one -well designed dungeons with a plethora of mechanics and some great bosses -large game with plenty of content CONS: -slight technical hiccups (tearing, fps drops, tooPROS: -loot system is very appreciated and works well -agile platforming akin to prince of persia -art style/environments -combat -fresh new feeling and polish compared to the first game -case is shiny just like the first one -well designed dungeons with a plethora of mechanics and some great bosses -large game with plenty of content CONS: -slight technical hiccups (tearing, fps drops, too frequent loading, blinky shadows, sluggish menu, bugs, etc) -menu keybindings are of questionable design -platforming controls could be smoother -quick view of loot outside menu could be slightly more extensive to show you what you are losing, not just what you're gaining -narrative is a little to distant from its connection with the first game and only slightly advances the lore forward -anti climactic boss and unfulfilling conclusion NOTES: Although having noticeable flaws, overall its a good game that manages to focus all its different elements together into a single identity that is bigger, better, and more varied then its predecessor in almost all areas. Expand
  18. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Awesome game. The best way to describe it is a mix between Zelda and Gears of War, with some Prince of Persia parkour flavor added in. It's violent, stylized, epic and extremely fun to play.
  19. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Amazing action, story, and soundtrack. Darksiders II delivers on all fronts. Impressive visuals, immersive atmosphere and deep loot system, Darksiders II has all the characteristics of a GAME OF THE YEAR contender.
  20. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    almost 18 hours in now. I can say fully don't even bother reading the IGN review. Audrey Drake is incoherent and completely hypocritical of saying anything about this game when she would rather be playing something on the 3ds. This game is great and so far I have nothing to say but positive things about it. The game is fun, remains fun and the RPG elements are more innovative (even ifalmost 18 hours in now. I can say fully don't even bother reading the IGN review. Audrey Drake is incoherent and completely hypocritical of saying anything about this game when she would rather be playing something on the 3ds. This game is great and so far I have nothing to say but positive things about it. The game is fun, remains fun and the RPG elements are more innovative (even if influenced by diablo) in this type of game than anything Nintendo has done with Zelda in a decade. If you enjoy M rated games that look great and feature a ton of great boss fights along with a loot system and solid crafting system then look no further. If you take two things from this quick review play this game, it is fun and second respect IGN less for allowing someone who plays pokemon still to review this type of game Expand
  21. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    Got an early copy of Darksiders 2 and played through the main story line in around 28 hours. POSITIVES: Combat is epic, boss fights are EXTREMELY epic, the puzzles are head-scratching without being overly difficult, and art direction is absolutely beautiful. NEGATIVES: Found navigating the menu systems a tad more clunky than it could have been. I also think the grapic fidelity shouldGot an early copy of Darksiders 2 and played through the main story line in around 28 hours. POSITIVES: Combat is epic, boss fights are EXTREMELY epic, the puzzles are head-scratching without being overly difficult, and art direction is absolutely beautiful. NEGATIVES: Found navigating the menu systems a tad more clunky than it could have been. I also think the grapic fidelity should have been sharper. The worlds and characters were beautiful, and deserved to shine accordingly. Expand
  22. Sep 19, 2012
    8
    Darksiders 2 is an excellent game, but doesn't hold a candle to the first. There are some improvements here. In particular, the two skill trees are more interesting. The harbinger skill tree has some powerful moves, but is mighty boring. I spent the whole game waiting to unlock the big tornado skill only to find out that it is almost entirely worthless. You take more damage during itsDarksiders 2 is an excellent game, but doesn't hold a candle to the first. There are some improvements here. In particular, the two skill trees are more interesting. The harbinger skill tree has some powerful moves, but is mighty boring. I spent the whole game waiting to unlock the big tornado skill only to find out that it is almost entirely worthless. You take more damage during its animation than you deal out. Needless to say, I was sad. I haven't played through with the other tree, but it looks a lot more interesting. Another issue is that the moves just don't feel very powerful and the variety is sorely lacking. In Darksiders 1, every single time you swing your blade, you feel like God himself. As Death, I felt relatively weak even with the most powerful weapons. If you play this game, I encourage you to use secondary weapons that are marked slow. They do feel powerful and are usually quite a bit more damaging than any scythes you find. And yet another issue are that some of the puzzles are downright painful. Soul Splitter made me want to gouge my eyes out. Some of the puzzles were great though, and it was fairly hit or miss. Almost all of the quests in the game are along the lines of "Do these 3 similar things to advance.", which got boring at times.The best part of the game for me was collecting various weapons and upgrading the possessed ones. The story was excellent and the game was fun in general. I don't think it was an improvement over the original Darksiders, but I recommend it as an excellent prequel and game in and of itself. Expand
  23. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Awesome Game, fluid combat, nice graphics, good story, nice length...I like just about everything about this game. Well worth the cost, and something you will definately want to add to your library!
  24. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Where do I start?! From the amazing gameplay with such incredible sound and voice work to the richness of characters filled with a unique sometimes cartoonish style. This game is a winner!!!
  25. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    Absolutely one of the best games of 2012. I've been working my way through this game for nearly three days now, and I have yet to become bored during my adventuring. Comparably, Skyrim and Kingdoms of Amalur grew increasingly tedious during their playthroughs, where as Darksiders 2 managers to provide a great combat/quests/platforming/looting/puzzles all in one amazing package. The scopeAbsolutely one of the best games of 2012. I've been working my way through this game for nearly three days now, and I have yet to become bored during my adventuring. Comparably, Skyrim and Kingdoms of Amalur grew increasingly tedious during their playthroughs, where as Darksiders 2 managers to provide a great combat/quests/platforming/looting/puzzles all in one amazing package. The scope of Darksiders 2 is miles and miles (literally) above the first game. The linear gameplay of the original title has been significantly broadened this time around and comes off feeling almost like a separate series entirely. A lot of reviews compare elements of this game to other well-known francises, and it's true that Darksiders 2 is pretty much the Frankenstein of the action-adventure RPG, and more often than not, this is a very good thing. The combat system feels like God of War mixed with a bit of Devil May Cry, the puzzles and some of the environments feel influenced by The Legend of Zelda series, the loot system seems pulled from Diablo/Torchlight, and the platforming plays out like a Prince of Persia title. 95% of the time it mixes amazingly well. This game will keep you busy for a very long time (at least 40 hours for the main story, more hours can be spent on the various sidequests and gathering all the collectibles), and I am already planning on replaying it on the Apocalyptic setting for extra replay value. I don't generally drop $60 on a title that I'm not 100% sure about, but Darksiders 2 has honestly given me more bang for my buck than almost any other game this year. Expand
  26. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    Amazing game with everlasting game play, a great improvement from the previous even though i thought the previous was also great. Skill trees, levelling system and loot was a big hype for me. The environment just astonishing a job well done to THQ looking forward to darksiders 3 if there will be one.
  27. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    This game was NOT what I expected! I **** LOVE IT, amazing story great breathe taking worlds and enviroments! The RPG elements are perfect from the armor to the leveling up and the open world just make this far superior to the first! There was a goose bump worthy epic fighting barely an hour into the game! I am loving it and know I will love it the rest of the way through GET THIS **** GAME
  28. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Game of the year without doubt. Awesome graphics and art direction, awesome characters, beautifull world and real epic main character. Death is a baddass. Takes everything from Darsiders 1 and put it in a really better formula. Joe Madureira, you do it again. A must have game.
  29. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    A really good sequel to the already great first opus. They took all that made it great, improved on it, then took all that was annoying, and made it pleasant! Sure to please the fans of the first, and to re-conciliate those who were disappointed by it.
  30. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Given how much I loved Darksiders 1, I doubt there's anyway I wouldn't enjoy the sequel. Death seems to be a very interesting character. I've only seen a few trailers and 1 other video (trying to stay away from spoilers), but I'm definitely excited. I wish the bots/idiots would stop making random accounts, making 1 review showing a 0 score with garbled text. I hope THQ get's back on it'sGiven how much I loved Darksiders 1, I doubt there's anyway I wouldn't enjoy the sequel. Death seems to be a very interesting character. I've only seen a few trailers and 1 other video (trying to stay away from spoilers), but I'm definitely excited. I wish the bots/idiots would stop making random accounts, making 1 review showing a 0 score with garbled text. I hope THQ get's back on it's feet so there will be a Darksiders III! Expand
  31. Aug 14, 2012
    0
    Bigger, Bolder, Stronger, Faster. My expectations were high and they were blown away. Everything you should expect in a sequel, that improves on its predecessor in every way. Death is a badass assassin, while the double scythes are my favorite weapon, there are limitless options for your character. Additions of loot and the skill tree progression bring a bold RPG presence to aBigger, Bolder, Stronger, Faster. My expectations were high and they were blown away. Everything you should expect in a sequel, that improves on its predecessor in every way. Death is a badass assassin, while the double scythes are my favorite weapon, there are limitless options for your character. Additions of loot and the skill tree progression bring a bold RPG presence to a fantastic action adventure game. A personal favorite is the voice talent of Michael Wincott, which brings a compelling personality to the warrior with a dark yet dry wit. The worlds are huge, and the characters you encounter some of the most unique of any game. Bravo, Bravo, Bravo! Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    60
    While trying to revitalize the Zelda formula with modern developments is an admirable goal, Darksiders II's developers just can't seem to get a handle on how to make such a thing work. For two games now they've tried adding hi-octane combat, a Western-style story, and ability trees, but it's never managed to gel. The things that made games like Zelda, God of War, Prince of Persia, and even Shadow of the Colossus great are all on display here, but the Darksiders series still hasn't figured out how to use them effectively enough to stand on its own.
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    90
    Darksiders II is full of enormous environments and dungeons to traverse to and explore, even more fantastical enemies and large-scale bosses to battle, and plenty of challenging hacking, slashing and loot collecting.
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    A stunning achievement in creative larceny that improves on its predecessor in pretty much every way that matters. A pity about the lacklustre endgame though. [Oct 2012, p.49]