Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 9 out of 20
  1. Jul 11, 2011
    83
    While Dead Block would be a perfect game for online co-operative play, it is sadly limited to split-screen.
  2. 80
    Though Dead Block's zombie combat would benefit from easier targeting, its rockabilly music, amusing characters (zombie clowns, anyone?) and manic pacing more than compensate. The campy madness only gets better in split-screen co-op, so not having online multiplayer is a shame, but for hectic puzzle-action fun, this game delivers.
  3. Jul 15, 2011
    79
    Dead Block is a fun and fresh proposal, although a bit simple and not very lasting. Hilarious and very fun between friends, it is a good game to enjoy this Summer.
  4. Jul 22, 2011
    76
    A new arcade game made for Xbox Live and PlayStation Network. The humour is the most important thing about the game and will let you play with a smile on your lips. Three anti-hero to block a horde of undeads, is it enough to overcome the all to samey levels?
  5. Aug 22, 2011
    70
    In many ways this game is like a zombie. It's not too bright, nor does it require much effort to defeat, but it's still fun to toy with every now and then. If you're a zombie aficionado, Dead Block isn't a bad way to kill time while prepping for the next zombie gaming apocalypse. For everyone else, just hunker down and wait.
  6. Jul 17, 2011
    62
    While the cute visuals and great soundtrack are a compliment to the game, there isn't quite enough to save this from being anything more than a middle-of-the-pack game that you might pick up on a rainy day.
  7. 60
    Dead Block is decent if somewhat cheap entertainment, but it's hard to recommend given the dozens of other and better zombie games that are out there.
  8. 50
    The lack of Xbox Live play kills it dead. [Nov 2011, p.107]
  9. Aug 20, 2011
    50
    There's not much that can save Dead Block from the depths of mediocrity.
  10. Jul 22, 2011
    50
    The idea of barricading yourself from zombie hordes and working cooperatively to survive is a solid scenario. However, the controls and constant QTE's hinder interaction and the game hastily leaps into repetition.
  11. Jul 21, 2011
    50
    Dead Block is a building defense game with a lot of potential, but ends up being too shallow and repetitive.
  12. Jul 11, 2011
    45
    Dead Block fills the zombie apocalypse with rampant vandalism and ingenious booby traps, yet somehow the result is exceedingly dull.
  13. Jul 11, 2011
    45
    Dead Block takes a popular genre that thrives on increasingly manic gameplay meant to evoke higher and higher tension levels, and turns it into something dull. It may have had the beginnings of a genuiningly fun game at some concept stage, but the end result is a repetitive game that you'll likely get tired of before it ends.
  14. Jul 8, 2011
    40
    It's as if it was plucked from the earliest days of downloadable gaming, back when digital games often relied more on single-minded gimmicks than the fully fleshed-out concepts of late, and $10 seemed like such a great deal for any game you could play with buttons on a console. That era has long since passed us by, and we're better for it.
  15. Jul 8, 2011
    40
    With just a smidgen more subtlety it might have worked, but the cod 1950s B-movie horror shtick is rammed home in CAPITAL LETTERS and SHOUTY VOICES at EVERY OPPORTUNITY to the point where you just want to tell Digital Reality to just PLEASE SHUT UP.
  16. A messy, boring, button-mashing waste of time. [Nov 2011, p.111]
  17. Jul 12, 2011
    35
    A prime example of failed execution in almost every respect. It controls poorly, the levels are boring, and the trap/barrier concept is never very well explored.
  18. Jul 15, 2011
    25
    On an exclusively conceptual level it is possible Dead Block could have worked. However a thorough misunderstanding of what makes the zombie genre enjoyable leaves this feeling far more like work than it should. Tower defense fans are better off sticking to their tower defense games, and zombie killing fans are better off sticking to games that emphasize killing zombies.
  19. Oct 17, 2011
    20
    If you're not tired of zombies yet you will be by the time you've survived this game. It provides its cheap thrills, and building traps is fun at times, but the ridiculously slow speed and the boring weapon selection suck this dead corpse dry before you've even started.
  20. Jul 19, 2011
    20
    Poor graphics, poor sound, and half-hearted game design makes this a tragic clunker. Skip It.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    I don't understand why people hate this game, it's a tower-defense game, with a little humor, and zombies. The characters are good too, my favorite was Mike, the fat one, he was the most fun to play with. Oh, so your problem that it keeps getting boring? Well, the game can be done in 2 - 4 hours if you run like an idiot, and not searching for power-ups, and stuffs. I think you need to play 2 - 3 levels/day, and you won't think it's boring. (I've bought it yesterday, played it 4 hours already, and I'm only done with the first 4 levels on Normal difficulty.) The price is very good, I saw pretty crappy XBLA games for 1200 MS point. Anyways, I like this game, if you don't know you will like it, or not, just try out the demo. Full Review »
  2. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    It's fun and unique take on tower defense. At least I was having fun with it. I can see how people might hate it, but I suggest giving it a chance because this could be a love it or hate it type of game. At the end of the day, it's fun, and that's all that matters from any game. Full Review »
  3. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I try this gamwe with the demo first. Ah man i love the overall atmosphere and the game style. Then my brother and me pick the multiplayer demo.. wooohhoooo he like tooo. We decide this Game needs to be BUYED.
    I am a big l4d and l4d2 fan. This games rock too. If u like l4d u must buy this game it is a big fun in multiplayer too. Funny, intense and easy to learn the gameplay , . .. rock and roll braainzzzzzz
    Full Review »