User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 176 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 176

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    If you enjoyed the original Dead Island you will enjoy this one too.

    If you didn't like the original Dead Island you won't like this one either.

    The End
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    In no way is this game a masterpiece, but it's still fun. People are too harsh on this game. People need to quit using games like skyrim and black ops as standards for other games in their genres.
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    It blows me away that this game has scored so poorly from some people. I, for one, absolutely love this game. All I can say is that if you liked the first one, you're really going to like the second one. The story, and voice acting aren't incredible, but given the zombie slaying action, I could really care less. After all, it's a game, not an action movie. I love that you can target specific limbs during combat. You can beak a zombies arms so they can't grapple with you anymore. This game is great Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    People need to understand a few things about this game. Was it meant for story? No. Was it meant for sound design? No. Was it meant to be a blockbuster to get all the press and millions of fans for the series? No. This game was meant to be played. Not drooled over, not get die hard fans, or the press's panties wet. The game lies where it was meant to be in more important aspects. The environment od a gorgeous island, the weapons that are plentiful, the scavenging of items to sell or give for EXP, the crafting to make the weapons badass and useful, the slaying of zombies by the thousands, and playing with friends to around and enjoy themselves.

    People, you need to look at the finer things, because if you look in the wrong direction it will lead you to an area that has no value or expression, but look the other way and you can find the possibilities and value. But the only value will be the time you enjoyed. Now... would you want to go on the good path or the bad path?
    Expand
  5. May 2, 2013
    9
    More of the same which isn't a bad thing. Graphics are still good, killing zombies never gets old, and roaming the island at your own leisure is still a blast. This time around there is a new character who joins the original four from the first game. New weapons, mods, and zombies are in riptide which if you havent played the original should definitely pick this one up first because riptide has wayy more content. New mechanics like a quasi tower defense mechanic have you fortifying bases with gates and help the survivors rid the undead. overall this game is for better or worse the same as the original but with more content, a new island, character, weapons, etc. I loved the first game which means i loved this one as well and you will too as long as you enjoyed the first one if not you probablly wont enjoy this at all, but newcomers to the series should definitely play this version. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    0
    Even worse than the first game.I don't really understand how that's possible.Combat mechanics are even more broken than before,and how about that 2 second rain glitch?Funny stuff.Besides the poor visuals and sound design,and the laughable combat,the voice work is the worst I've heard in some time,probably since the last Dead Island actually.If I was the developers,I'd be embarrassed to release this half-finished(at best) abomination,and would strike it from my resume.I don't care about time constraints,budgets and development problems,this game is not nearly finished enough and I almost binned it instead of returning it.Pathetic...Congratulations on receiving my first zero. Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    I loved the first Dead Island, so if you loved the first one you will love this one, more of the same with some extra weapons, alot of different weapons. it makes no sense that the first dead Island got an 80 overall on metacritic, but so far this one has a 60 overall? what the hell? Riptide has better graphics and better gameplay, so how is it getting reviewed like this? There are some glitches here and there, but I'm sure they will get fixed with the next patch. Great game that's worth your money, that's another thing, it's only $50 Expand
  8. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Great game,Is not a DLC cause it has a lot of stuff on it if this was a DLC would be a $40 DLC ,mechanics are great as always,F.o.V totally sucks,weapons and skills are great btw i got this game 6 days ago,my brother works for Deep Silver and I was not on the Official Beta but I was able to provide feedback,great game no more to say only 9 cause F.o.V sucks
  9. May 1, 2013
    2
    This game is bad in so many ways... and to try and explain them away by saying it's not intended to be a good story or the best shooter is ridiculous. Here's some reason why it's awful: - Way too similar to the first one - Graphics so jittery it gives you motion sickness with the water effects - No real changes to combat just a few new weapons - All missions the same - Glitchy to the moon... You'll see zombies fall through things to outright missing physical hits practically point blank with weapons. On one mission I was trying to find the last few assaulting enemies and the dots would spread away every time I headed toward them. Eventually I realized they were stuck on a roof and I had to run outside of the safe zone to get them to drop and attach so I could finish them off

    I played this all the way through anyway to see if anything at all was nifty about it and the only real cool part (IMO) was the ending fight with the last boss. Other than that it was pretty cruddy all the way through and I had no interest it trying to get all the acheivements.

    Since none of my friends kept it (used return policy at EB to get rid of it pretty much full price right away) I can't comment on the multiplayer part of it but I would never go back to it to bother anyway.

    The first one was worth a shot and had a bad story but still made a fun time. This one makes me head for gravol. Avoid and if Grandma gets it for you for your birthday avoid her too.
    Expand
  10. Apr 28, 2013
    4
    After playing Dead Island Riptide for the first two hours... I can already say it is a regretted purchase. It is a rare occasion when a sequel title to an extremely successful game not only fails to correct any shortcomings to the original, but actually surpasses the number by adding even more to the mix. Combat has been tinkered into a new formula seeming to rely more on aim and less on random numbers. Aside from this, expect little to no further originality to gameplay except 4 additional points in the skill tree (to which affects are hardly mentionable), a weapon type leveling system, and two harshly clunky mechanics; one of which is activated by using the same button that is used to loot (a brilliant idea which makes for some hilariously interesting attempts at looting something and inversely sending your character auto-lock careening after an unforeseen foe... Which also usually results in your character snagging on to some clingy graphic edges, and subsequently "stunning" them midair as they attempt to hover back to the ground, inches below their feet). Cut scenes, so far, have also seen slim to non on improvements as well. Audio misques are still normal, and at some points, characters even interrupt each other, predicting the other characters lines and start talking over them. All in all, I suppose if you didn't get enough of the first one, you will enjoy this game, but in a genre where others are running with this similar idea and being wildly successful at delivering fun and original content, I'm looking at you Borderlands 2, this game sadly falls short of expectations. I will still play through it, for the sake of playing a game with my brother and potentially having a good time (the formula isn't so monotonous yet that it's tedious, however it might be by the time I finish). Overall, it just feels like a beta phase testing release. There is still so much work to be done on this game, and it is so painfully obvious, there is no way they couldn't have known; the creators just got lazy for the sake of pushing a potentially great sequel through the pipelines before it was ready.

    Oh, one last final note... I stand corrected, driving a car feels much more enjoyable in Riptide... However this is not because they improved upon the horrible handle controls reminiscent of a hover boat. It is more due to the fact that mowing down hordes of zombies actually grants a successful kill MOST of the time... Rather than reversing and driving back and fourth over the same zombie 20 times to secure the kill.
    Expand
  11. Apr 23, 2013
    4
    this game should have never been sold as a new game, this is an DLC being sold at full blown price disguised as a whole new game, but new? this is a copy paste of the previous game, bugs and glitches that we all hated are back, the story was never great but was ok on the fist game but on this one story well...... theres barely nothing to hold on. no innovation, technically plagues by issues, dull and two steps backwards from the first game. my advice, buy the FIRST GAME, its cheap by now and better!! Expand
  12. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Let's just get it out of the way of why critics hate these games, t hey are pretty repetitive in some aspects, but honestly I don't mind it.
    The graphics and gore aspect remains cool and fun from the original game.
    The only issue i have is that the first level is the same exact island, with like very little detail changed except that it's flooded now and your headed to some new area (I'm
    still playing it so i'm not 100% sure where i'm headed.. Started with an H I believe, I apologize.)
    I don't see much changes in weapons yet except the nailgun (which is hilarious), since i'm not too far.
    My score will fluctuate as I progress, either increase or decrease. as of right now I'm giving the coop experience a 7, i haven't had any problems with the online features.
    Expand
  13. Apr 25, 2013
    1
    Poorly optimized for consoles, micro stuttering, lag, slow downs, bugs, game breaking glitches, unbalanced characters and skills, too much camera sway to give someone a headache, slow sluggish movements, rigid collision meshes means getting stuck on simple planks of wood or small steps and areas that should feel smooth not stop you every 3 seconds from running, combat is sluggish and unresponsive, coop players cant run through each other so players get blocked and stuck then killed, outdated visuals and graphics, story and voice acting is terrible, same with the 3d models and animations the only thing that makes this game fake a good look is the post process effects...the list can go on further.

    This is a pure example of developers not caring about QA of a game and for the time it took to make...not even a full game, this is complete garbage and indy developers put dev's like this to shame.

    for those reasons above, I'm sure you would also give this game a 1...and that's being generous.
    Expand
  14. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    I really had fun with the first game and I completed it to 100%. The thing is, Riptide is just a crappy version of the original. Game is a buggy mess that runs and looks worse than the first game. I just dont have the time or patience to waist on this mess.
  15. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    This game is fun, just like the original. and people don't see that, It's the fun in video games, where it mostly on depends, and in the case of Dead island: Riptide, that certainly is true.
  16. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    I love this game. It has everything that made the first game great and fixed several of the inconsistencies and polished the entire thing up. This is a VERY hit or miss game though. You will either love it or hate it.
  17. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    Something very important is missing from this sequel; the setting of the first game. The Resort setting in the first game led to a great adventure. It made Dead Island stand out from other 'Zombie' games. There were other areas to explore in the game too but the Resort stood out. Riptide is missing that great set piece. Now you're on a random island that lacks any unique setting. When you take away that fun and unique set piece, you're left with an okay zombie killing game full of fetch quests on a largely uninhabited island. Expand
  18. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. yo recomiendo este juego, no les den importancia alas malas calificaciones que le ponen, en verdad esta buenisimo. ofrece muchas horas de diversion. bueno yo le puse 10 de calificacion para justificar las malas calificaciones que le ponen los demas usuarios, pero en realidad merece un 90, tiene nuevas mejoras de bugs que tenia el anterior. Expand
  19. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Just like Dead Island, this game is a lot of fun to play and gets better with friends, But Just like Dead Island it's also plagued with little annoying issues, Like the scarily low FoV, Causes some serious motion sickness unless i'm playing on my 42" in my living room, Sitting at my desk I get really disorientated playing this, when will developers realize it's not just PC gamers that need a fov slider, ironically Dead Island Riptide doesn't have one on PC either, So it's a fail all round in that regard. As for the game, there isn't much new from the original, there's some new mods, new weapons and a new class, But it feels like your starting this game half way through, kinda means you need to play the first one to get all the benefits of this, So it's difficult, I wouldn't recommend this to new users, Get Dead Island 1 First, it's a great game, Then wait for this to be about 10 Pounds, as it's exactly the same features wise, Apart from a touched up HUD, nothing is really new with the engine, The zombies can still hit through most of your moves and knock you over REALLY easily, Weapons still cost $30000 to repair and get damaged WAY to quickly, but despite all this, I am really enjoying it, It is a good solid game, if you liked Dead Island, Get this, you will be satisfied! Expand
  20. Jun 23, 2013
    3
    I am just disappointed with this one. The reason I give this game such a low score is because it is the SAME EXACT THING AS THE FIRST. Almost nothing changes with this game, Its almost even the same plot, the first games plot: stuck on an island, trying to get off. Second games plot: stuck on an island, trying to get off. There is nothing new with the combat either except for different variety in weapon upgrades. All they added was a new character and this rage mode where your attacks are stronger and faster. Also the game just feels depressing overall with some gloomy music in the background, and you know how long games are good, playing this made me wish it was over with, and it went on for such a long time that it annoyed the out of me. I just don't like this game, way too similar to the first game, should of been some kind of expensive DLC. Expand
  21. May 27, 2013
    6
    I can say I've thoroughly enjoyed this game after playing it for 3 days without changing game, however it is really only a fixed version of the original. Sure there is changing weather but really the environment hasn't changed, it runs smoother but I don't see many changes really. My advice: if you enjoyed the first one, this is for you!
  22. Apr 26, 2013
    7
    Not to sound like a broken record buuut, if you liked the original, you'll like this. And hey, next to The Walking Dead Survival Instinct, this looks brilliant.
  23. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    Like the old sayings goes, if it ain't broke then don't fix. To me the first one was great, realllllly great. Sure It had its moments with glitches but what game does not. All in all, if you liked the first one then this one will be what you are expecting with some new weapons and new zombies thrown into the mix. If you did not like the first one then you won't like the second one either.

    Sure it does feel like a big expansion but at least it is marketed at $49.99 only.
    Expand
  24. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    Ok first off I have to say I now prefer this and left 4 dead over how resident evil is nowadays as a zombie game.
    The bad reviews are laughable and I hate it when people talk down good games for no reason.
    I admit that there can be improvements (hence the 8/10 I'm scoring it) but just simple things like voice acting/a more in-depth story however with that said its the same as the first
    (gameplay wise) so people who enjoyed the first and say they hate this I can't understand, I actually think that the graphics are good!
    Yeah it's no MGS4 graphics but its no bubsy 3D either.
    I think the first part of the game looks worse graphically (mission that lasts 10 minutes) and then it's good again.
    People who call this DLC are just being stupid its a whole new island not just an add on!!!

    Please don't be swayed by the fools and just try it if you like the first, no I don't work for deep silver before any moron claims that either just don't let people make you doubt your own opinion.

    Like someone else said, like the first then get it if not then don't.
    Expand
  25. May 29, 2013
    4
    I don't understand why publisher's these days get to keep releasing games for $50-60 and they're not done, polished or QCd. After playing this game for a few minutes the sound completely dropped out. Dashboarding helped that problem, but when my friend who was playing had the same thing happen at the same point that seems to be a glaring problem. Also zombies respawn in thin air, if you're fighting in the water the game slows down to a crawl and I could go on and on. Expand
  26. May 6, 2013
    7
    Dead Island Riptide is a mixed bag; this sequel has glossy new graphics and plenty of fun gore with great new mods on weapons and improvements on combat including slightly less annoying depth problems. But this new instalment has a dull story less interesting than its predecessor and has plenty of bugs and glitches. If there is a new Dead Island game, I think that they should equally focus on improving the story as well as gameplay since interviews with the game's creators revolving this instalment implied that they were focusing more on gameplay in this instalment. Take it this way; Dead Island Riptide technically improved version of more of the same, but it is narratively weak. In other words; if you liked the first you will like this, if you hated the first, you will hate this. Expand
  27. Jun 15, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Only two zones to explore this time also no sewer systems. The Devs couldn't figure how to make the game better so they just made it harder in a ham fisted way. Prepare to be spammed at the start by faster stronger zombies in larger groups. Personally I found the most dangerous Zombie in the game was not a special type but a low level type who could hurl a knife and get a instant kill no matter how high you levelled up WTF!? Their are special events that occur in the game which you can tell are designed for online MP teams. I SP these type of games and I found those events to be a boring frustrating grind.

    The first game felt like an epic SP adventure with optional MP. The second game is more geared to co-op and plays like a DLC that's been bloated up so it can be released seemingly at a full price. Rip Tide, nawh more like RIp Off,
    Expand
  28. Jun 6, 2013
    7
    A continuation of the first dead island, anyone who loved that game will find more enjoyment here. There are some changes and new things but nothing of major note. It is still a solid zombie rpg
  29. Aug 6, 2014
    6
    This game is definitely not a DLC to the original dead island. It is a copy/paste game which is long enough to be called as a standalone game (more than 10 hours for me) if you want to finish all the quests and collect everything. The story and game setting , however, is even dumber than the original game. Although I enjoyed the gameplay, I despise deep silver to release such a "zero effort" game as a retail game. Expand
  30. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Well this game is alot better than the last one the weapons last alot longer which i like and the island is much better too and the weapons have improved alot.
  31. May 7, 2013
    7
    This is more of the same game. I personally love the combat and atmosphere, and they really upped the ante with this sequel, the environments are beautiful and intricate. It's a work of art, only held back by rough story and flat characters. The action is the centerpiece here, but I can only wonder what these games would be like if they had a gripping story to go along with it.

    The
    game gets an 8 from me, but loses a star due to semi-freuent stuttering and in one case really annoying crashes. If you didn't play the first one, consider picking this one up, it's even better. Expand
  32. Jun 1, 2013
    7
    Dead Island Riptide is a step up from Dead Island 1 to a certain extent...

    Firstly, the map... One of the biggest disappointments of this game, it is so dull and generic with 1 main road leading to around 3 or 4 little villages which are very similar to one another. It focuses on more of the forest type surroundings in what we saw in Dead Island 1 later on in the storyline and quite
    frankly it's not good, not good at all. Yes the lakes and rivers are a nice addition but most of the map consists of driving a boat and every now and again a Drowner (new infected) will attack you but this becomes very repetitive. All in all the map is just not very good, it looks nice and the environment is very little satisfactory but it does not make up for the poor size and overall layout of the map.

    However, the new additions are brilliant, if you have played Dead Island 1 and are tired of the same weapons and infected then this game is perfect. Dead Island Riptide introduces a new character by the name of John, new infected such as the Drowner and Boss type enemies such as QuickDeath and Ogre, who are substantially harder than your original infected or walkers. Dead Island Riptide also introduces a variety of new weapons and mods, there are so many I can't possibly name them all.

    Lastly the Co-Op. Although there are 5 playable characters the game is not 5 player co-op, I feel 5 players would be too much and that 4 is a perfect number. The Co-Op gameplay is very similar to Dead island 1's co-op. Slice, Dice and Destroy any zombies that cross your path. With friends.

    Overall, Dead Island Riptide is an average sequel and is let down by the disappointing map but the gameplay still maintains that zombie killing fun we all experienced in Dead Island 1!
    Collapse
  33. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    This is almost too awful. I am bewildered with this high rating this has received. Dead Island was a half ass game with many bugs and an awful story, but it was filled with enough action to make it a kinda game. I wanna ask what they were thinking when they were beginning for part two. I didn't buy Riptide for a couple months because I wasn't interested and I had other games to play, but eventually I got to it. I played this with a friend and it still was god awful. With all the bugs and animations in the world in this one game, you could tell I wasn't having fun. Plus most of the action was gone. Now the zombies seem like more of a distraction from getting a f***ing boat engine. Basically no new or unique weapons and we get a s****y map compared to an alright one in the original. This game must have taken a week to make because I see no effort here. I have never given a 0 before but this game takes the cake for worst game of 2013 so far. Expand
  34. Jul 6, 2013
    5
    I wasn't a fan of the first and this game is a copy and paste of it with nothing too new to offer which is a shame, but it's not a bad game. It's extremely addictive and found myself sitting there in the morning until the evening non stop. Shame there isn't much variation in mission rather than "fetch" quests. I thought the ending was kinda poor, but I love the level up system.
  35. Apr 29, 2013
    7
    If you liked the original Dead ISland game, chance is you'll like this one less. I'll be honest, it's no masterpiece of a game, but it's still fun to play, and the graphics in the game look much much better than the original. Thing is, it's nearly the same thing as the first Dead Island. That's the letdown of the game, and why critics have bashed it so much. While I don't think it deserves the bad ratings it got, Dead Island Riptide balances beautiful graphics and fun weapons, with a sadly bland storyline, ceaseless gameplay and a few hilarious glitches here and there. It's not horrible. It just could have been better. Expand
  36. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    This game is not meant to have a gripping and thrilling story, it is more for the entertainment of kicking zombies in the face and watching them hurl away doing back flips, driving straight into zombies and watching them splat all over your windscreen and mowing down zombies on your boat that helplessly try to climb on board.

    This game entertainment!
  37. Jun 29, 2013
    3
    Dead Island was a decent game, Deep Silver thought that they could re-use the old half decent formula and get a good product, let me tell you, this is by far way worse than the original game.
    - Overpriced
    - Repetitive
    - Boring
    + More Dead Island
  38. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    Same game as the original. it is not a sequel and never says that. it is a stand alone exspansion
    has good combat story is a bit bad but it works. if you liked the original you will like this.
  39. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    It would have been a better score if they added new scenerys but this time its only the island and the city.

    While the first had THREE huge open areas to explore the island, city and jungle. Plus all the small areas like supermarket, police station, prison etc.

    so Riptide is less than half the size of Dead Island 1 and so its a fair 6/10. Its not a bad game (1/10) but its pretty
    LAME to be honest (i would give it a better score if i would receive advertisement-money from them as all the other reviewers).

    Hope I could help you with your decision if you should cancel your pre-order or not. If you liked the first and love to get ripped off with the same engine but less content, you need to buy this TODAY.
    Expand
  40. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    O jogo narra a continuação direta no (fraco) roteiro de "Dead Island". Contêm mecânica e gráficos semelhantes ao seu antecessor, 'Dead Island Riptide' inova pouco, porém ainda agrada aos fãs de jogos de zumbis. Com um gráfico bonito, porém simples, consegue passar a atmosfera de sobrevivência necessária, pegando novamente no enredo fraco e lento.

    Praticamente tudo do jogo anterior foi
    mantido, tendo apenas pequenas alterações como novas armas e upgrades, novo sistema de side-missions (além do tradicional, conta com um novo a partir de um menu específico) e novos 'perks'. Mesmo assim demais chamar o jogo de apenas uma DLC.

    O jogo começa lançando os personagens em uma ilha e deixando a história transcorrer lentamente. Este jogo tudo que "The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct" deveria ter sido, mas não conseguiu. Talvez faltou um pouco mais de áreas internas e com suspense, porém o jogo muito sincero ao retratar o que seria um holocausto zumbi, que na vida real seria isso mesmo, correr, recolher comida e acertar zumbis com o primeiro objeto que estiver mão.

    Há muitas análises criticando o jogo, mas sinto que isso vêm de pessoas que não entenderam seu intuito que demonstrar o cotidiano no holocausto. Se no roteiro existissem reviravoltas incríveis, super poderes e tudo o mais, perderia o sentido do jogo...aconteceria o que aconteceu com Resident Evil muito provavelmente.

    Obviamente o jogo tem seus defeitos, como alguns golpes que parecem ter atingido o adversário mas não causam dano, alguns bugs no andar nos companheiros e uma coisinha ou outra. Da inteligência artificial nem há o que comentar...são zumbis, não professores de física quântica! Para este jogo tornar-se nota 10, a Deep Silver poderia ter 'colado' de "The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim" algumas coisas que melhorariam a imersão no jogo e a sensação de simulação e realidade como: O transcorrer do tempo, entre 'dia e noite' e 'chuva e sol', adotando um sistema de tempo corrido; 'Safe houses' pessoais, onde fosse possível customiza-la e guardar todos os itens; Um medidor de peso máximo a se carregar.

    Para quem procura um bom, longo e (quase) simulador de zumbis, este um jogo muito indicado, juntamente com o anterior (que aliás temos a opção de importar o personagem do primeiro jogo para este, mesmo sem ter terminada a campanha principal).

    Ainda o mais divertido quebrar uns osso, e cortar uns membros foras da 'zumbizada'! hehe
    Expand
  41. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have no idea why people are judging this game so harshly. First of all, if you love killing zombies, you'll love this game. If you liked the first Dead Island, you'll like this one as well. I played the first one, and I have to say this game met most of my expectations. I'm 24 hours into the game, and have completed 62% of it.

    There are new weapons and mods, although not as many. s I would have liked. Of course every game can use more weapons, right? However, the amount and variety of weapons was satisfactory (7/10). One new feature they added, was the ability to lvl. up your skill in each weapon class (bladed, blunt, fist, firearms) based on how much you use weapons in that class. With each skill lvl you gained, you also gained a benefit for that class of weapon, such as extra dmg. or crit. (8/10)

    Some of the new weapons include mines of different sorts, along with throwable bombs and knives, harpoon and stun guns, a few new melee weapons, and some unique weapons. Some new mods include AoE attacks amongst a few other mods. Like I said earlier, every game can use more weapons. But they did implement some new ones. (7/10)

    Combat is much of the same, but each character has their own unique fury weapon they use when you go into fury mode. Skill trees are different, but not as choice oriented as I would have liked them to be. Like the first game, you eventually fill up all the trees. So the only real choice presented regarding skills trees is what you would like to be proficient at early on in the game. (6/10)

    Graphics are much better than in the first game. Yes, there are some gliches, one of them being a very rapid change from clear weather to rain in the blink of an eye. But being a game this size, graphical gliches should be expected. (Just look at skyrim.) Combat is smooth, except for when you skull stomp a zombie underwater, the game suddenly slows down for a couple seconds, then resumes as normal. It's nothing that's awfully inconveinient, and it's not going to cause the game to crash. More than likely, these issues will be fixed next patch. (8/10)

    Continuing on combat, you can also get assisted targeting for limbs, which is a nice addition. I don't know why people are saying combat is slow. To me, it's realistic and you can "feel" weight behind the weapons. It's not like Halo where the rocket launcher is as manuverable as the pistol. Weapons swing at different speeds and have different effects based on if they are one or two handed or bladed or blunt. I think combat for as far as weapon "feel" is top notch. However, I wish there were more moves you could have via button combinations or unlocked via skill tree. Which in turn could be improved by larger, more expansive skill trees. (9/10)

    Voice acting and voice animations were mediocre. Sometimes the voice animations were slightly off. However, most of the script was good. Given the setting, most of the script seemed to be appropriate. (7/10) Maybe it's just me, but i find the story much more interesting than in the first one. You are with a larger group of survivors, and some are at odds with each other, which makes things interesting. (7/10)

    One feature I thought was a great addition was zombie "dungeons". Some of which you're required to go into for certain quests. They have special zombies inside with unique names, not to mention a horde of zombies with enhanced and rare loot laying around. There are a multitude of these "dungeons" throughout the game, but they are somewhat small, usually only 2-6 rooms. Great new feature. (9/10)

    Maps are decent, with changing environments in different areas. You change areas a few times, but there are only 2-3 sizable areas that really make you explore. You become familiar with them, enough to know your way around just like the first game. Graphics are great for environments. (8/10)

    Aside from me wanting "more of everything" from this game, it did meet my expectations. It is a Dead Island game. I'm not sure what else people expected. It's definifely better than the first one, but only marginally so. Still a great game, not perfect, but it's worth buying for 50 bucks, and definitely worth renting if you're not much into zombie killing. For zombie killing fans, it's a must have. If that's not your thing, you'll probably get bored after a few hours of play. I've enjoyed every second of the 24 hours I've played. They could have done a few things better (more weapons, bigger skill tree, more combat moves, bigger maps, better voice acting/animations), but almost every game can improve on those catagories in some way. To me, it's very fun, very replayable, and well worth the money.
    Expand
  42. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Dead Island was a good game and what it lacks voice synchronization and lacking dialogue it makes up for in playability. Even though this has not been worked out in Dead Island Riptide it still had the playability and replay ability and for those zombie fans who want to survive you will definitely love this series. If they continue the series the only thing that deep silver will have to work on is the voice syncing and dialogue. Expand
  43. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    The game is great. Story is a bit short and predictable, but it's a fun game of zombie slaying. It's a great thing that Deep Silver puted in new zombies/
  44. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    If you loved the first game, borderlands or fallout, you'll love this, if it doesn't mean I have to wait 6 years for a brand new massive zombie game I'm happy, loving riptide and will continue too, too many reviews seem to have forgotten the developers have come out and said it was more of the same from the first announcement.
    If it ain't broke don't fix it!
  45. Jun 3, 2013
    7
    Once again, game with lots of potential fails miserably but don't get me wrong this game is actually really fun especially if you play with your friends and that's the way you should play this game, with friends. Let's talk about the game, in my opinion dead island riptide should be a DLC for the original dead island because nothing is really improved in this game, everything is the same except for couple new zombie types and one main character. Dynamic weather mechanic is broken, one second weather is rainy but sometimes it immediately changes and it looks quite hilarious. If you have played the original you won't see any changes. As for the story, it's the same as in the original, nothing innovative really.
    Judging by the ending they are making another dead island. Overall, dead island riptide is a fun co-op game with generic story and decent gameplay.
    Expand
  46. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    Loved the first one. Love the "second." Have not encountered any glitches yet and I'm over halfway through.

    If you're an unapologetic zombie enthusiast like me living in and loving the golden age of everything zombie, then you should definitely at least give it a go. Far grittier and survival-centric than most zombie games, and the attention to detail in some things (surprisingly
    common-sense at times) is a breath of fresh air for the genre. Expand
  47. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    Riptide is the sequel that dead island needs.

    I had mixed opinions of the first game some things were bad some were good but Riptied is brilliant and it fixes some of the things that weren't that good about the first.

    There is not texture problems like in the first, less lag ,weapons are more balanced guns and headshots do more damage and zombies are a bit more easy to kill not
    like the first game. plus the game has some good replayability.

    The bad things are the health and stamina is still not the best and there were a lack of beaches one thing I liked about the first was the beautiful beaches and the story got a bit rushed at the end the final boss was not that good.

    Over all Riptide is a brilliant game and I hope to see more of the dead island franchise.

    9/10
    Expand
  48. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Dead Island is one of THE best video games EVER created. Dead Island: Riptide, thank the lord, continues in the same brilliant fashion. Everything that I loved about Dead Island made it through to this amazing game. So yes, I am very happy to confirm that if you loved the first then this is a must-have. You need this game, ASAP. It is, same as the first, a masterpiece. Perfection. Techland and Deep Silver, thank you very much, Riptide is exactly the follow-up that I wanted. Your game rocks! Expand
  49. May 2, 2013
    8
    This game is great. As a huge Left 4 Dead fan, I always wished they'd go open world with that franchise. Dead Island Riptide is currently the closest you can get to get to that reality: open-world zombie co-op at its finest (plus vehicles!).

    As much as this is a bit of a copy/paste job from the original Dead Island, the map is huge with lots of diverse environments. My favorite of
    these are the tunnels. The developers have done great work with lighting (or darkness I should say), making the flashlight necessary to see anything. Firing up flares from right-D-pad when you've got to dig in and fight the horde is both epic and satisfying. The tunnels make me feel like I'm playing a co-op Fallout level (another dream of mine). There's just nothing more fun than exploring new areas, closing doors as zombies bear down on you, and scavenging like a fiend.

    The combat is completely fun too. I use the alternate control scheme, which uses left trigger to plant your feet and the right stick then controls your melee weapon, swinging it in whichever direction you swing the stick. I highly recommend this. It takes some getting used to, but once you get the hang of it, it is very intuitive. It brings a whole element of knocking zombies off-balance and exploiting their weaknesses. I honestly would love it if the Elder Scrolls were to adopt these controls, as I think they are ideal for hand-to-hand first-person combat. My buddy is rocking the gun-focused character, and his setup is ridiculous. He packs his weapon wheel full of guns except for the last slot, in which he has his machete. The kid throws down! He never reloads, just switches to the next gun with RB until he has run through his entire weapon wheel and he enters the fray with his blade. It's a sight to behold.

    In short, I love this game. It's simple fun, sure. It has it's shortcomings (namely the over-use of the X button: it's used for so many things that pressing X to slurp down an energy drink for some much needed sustenance can result in you jumping off of a safe landing onto a zombie in an infested ditch, turning a bad situation into a worse one). But the game is GOOD. I recommend it to anyone who games with friends, anyone who loves exploring an expansive map from a first-person perspective, or anyone who enjoys the sound of a sledgehammer making contact with a zombie skull.
    Expand
  50. May 5, 2013
    5
    everything dead island was, only a little better. the story is predictable and boring, but is a fun game when with friends. the biggest thing i hate about this game is the ending, which is total crap.
  51. May 11, 2013
    9
    This is the best zombie game you can buy now ,this is what the first game should have be from the start
    if you like zombie splatter blood this is the game for you. love it
  52. May 11, 2013
    7
    I gave this game a 7 because it was good, fun while it lasted... I believe people voted poorly because they bought this game and i rented it knowing it would be a short and fast zombie slaying campaign fun, i did a lets play on my channel check it out http://www.youtube.com/user/YixsXBL
  53. May 16, 2013
    10
    This game takes every thing the first one was and turns it up to 11! If you loved the first one the Second one is a no brainer to get. New Weapons? Check. New Zombies? Check! The visuals are amazing and the island is beautiful. And the multiplayer set up is amazing if you have a blutooth! Do it, get it!
  54. May 27, 2013
    9
    I was wary about buying this, as even though I loved the first game, this had really bad reviews. Have been so glad I purchased this, spent a lot of time playing this game, doing the side quests, the achievements etc and had nothing but a blast.

    As other people have said, if you were a fan of the first, you will love this, if you didn't, you wont.
  55. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    Dead Island Riptide brings a fresh and exciting new adventure to fans, which feels more polished while adding some new fun gaming mechanics. Although their are some gaming issue e.g. freezes and sound issues it rarely takes away from the experience. Walking around a graphically improved island killing Zombies NEVER gets old, especially with a group of friends. One down side is Dead island riptide has a small map compared to the massive original dead island, along with the campaign. I believe Dead island Riptide tells a better story and has more intense crisis points which makes the game more exciting, leaving you compelled to complete the lengthy game. Overall I would recommended this game to dead island or zombies fans, you will get your moneys worth! Expand
  56. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    If you liked the first Dead Island you'll enjoy this game. It is pretty much the same game with a new side mission system. The graphics are good and it is fun roaming the island curb stomping zombies with the new CQB specialized character. The missions get repetitive after a while but we do them anyway because we get to kill lots of zombies in the process. The leveling system felt accelerated to me; i maxed out 2 skill trees in a matter of a few hours. Coop returns and is still fun. As a fan of zombie games I recommend this game. Expand
  57. Jun 8, 2013
    6
    This game........ oh.........This game is just, just. I don't know what to say. I thoroughly enjoyed this game at times, and then at other times i just HATED it. All of my friends have the same thoughts on Dead Island: Riptide. Good at times, Crap at others. For the most part i liked the game, fun combat and a large range of quests to do. Even though these quests and combat can be buggy at times. The story is what really ruined this game, it was jaded and i had no idea what was going on at times and i did not like the story at all. 6/10 Expand
  58. Jun 12, 2013
    3
    Okay this game is basically like the first one same concept just a slight change in missions still an okay game but i recommend the first one this is just boring
  59. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    Dead island has a unique gameplay style to it. It offers great hours of fun with up to 4 players, witch is awesome because I love co-op. The story is pretty gripping, I wouldn't say it kept me up at night but its a good plot overall. But there are some characters witch p*ss me off, like that man in the warehouse, his daughter. I've forgotten her name but she was a nuisance. But, I guess that what makes a good game, having the characters you like and dislike. I like how you choose your character, it gave a more open choice for the player, and what they specialise in. I like that. But, again every game has a negative. Dead island negative is the frame rate. It drops like a b*tch much to often. I try to ignore it but, it always makes me notice and I comment on it. Unfortunately that's not the only negative. The graphics could be better, but there's not more to go on there. The gameplay. You pick up a stick and whack a zombie a few times, and it's done. It feels empty. And to mention, the zombies are hard as f*ck, it's ridiculous. And I hate..HATE the fact that zombies punch on this game. Why? Zombies don't punch. And gruesome as it is zombies want to rip the skin of your body and eat it, piece by piece. So why do the zombies come at me like Mike Tyson? I have no idea. The weapon customisation is pretty good I don't really have a problem with that, if I did it would only be that the resource to find them is a b*tch, but that's what makes it good and realistic, you wouldn't find it easily in a zombie apocalypse. So overall it's a good game, I found that I was playing it for about 1 month before I got bored of it. But, I do occasionally go on it because it kills time and is fun. So I would pick up dead island, not dead island riptide, it is exactly the same as this one. Expand
  60. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    okee so. I gave it a 8 because I loved the first dead island and liked this one. I just wish there was some more change between the two and the amount of glitches aren't acceptable in my opinion. being able to have a "home base" and interact with your allies is pretty cool. just wish your allies could actually come with you and help you out a bit more. would also be cool if you could upgrade your home base more than just putting up a fence and electrifying it. pretty easy to find good weapons and upgrade them. cool that you can do favors for your allies and make they're weapons better but doesn't really matter because they still suck at fighting and cant help you except for the main base battles. none the less I will always be a dead island fan so thumbs up. will be excited for the next release. Expand
  61. Jul 4, 2013
    6
    I loved the first dead island and I like this one too but it really hasn't done anything different. Adds one character, new weapons and missions but all around the same game.
  62. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    This game is a great improvement over it's predecessor from 2011. The developers have fixed most of the bugs that have carried over from Dead Island 1 however some still remain but do not effect the complete game.

    This game is amazing, I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in Zombies.
  63. Sep 15, 2013
    8
    Dead Island is one of those series where I don't want anything different in the sequels, as far as gameplay is concerned at least. The only significant differences in Riptide is that it takes place around water and that you have a new character to play as. The rest is the same or highly similar to the original. My only complaint is that I wish the game had taken place in a different kind of environment, I'm a bit tired of jungles by now. A desert or northern wintry area would have been more interesting. Apart from that great fun. If you loved the original you will like this one too. Expand
  64. Sep 9, 2013
    6
    Dull repetitive game play that is very similar to the first one. They haven't changed much or added anything however it can be fun on multiplayer at times but I still couldn't call this a good game.
  65. Oct 24, 2013
    3
    I was really looking forward to Riptide as Dead Island was a real blast for me. Sadly the sequel is woeful in every way possible. The controls seem more cumbersome, the environments are dour and the missions are beyond tedious. A significant and surprising step back from the original in which Riptide wouldn't even be satisfactory for a DLC add-on.

    This is one of the worst sequels in
    videogames I've seen. I'd skip this and wait for Dying Light on the next gen. Just don't waste your time or money on this shambles. Expand
  66. Nov 28, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. WARNING: SPOILERS
    The game had many more glitches than the original, and not much love put into it.
    My personal recommendation is to just rent it with a friend, everyone has a different opinion, mine of this game is not high although the beginning was sort of good, but again this is just my opinion. i thought the ending could have been much more thought out and the ending was the biggest flaw of the whole game. It was almost impossible to survive without a partner. Though the game did not appeal to me as the first one did there was some good moments, i just think the main bad guys death should of been a bit more intense then a few zombies glitchily knocking him down and then very poorly eating him, the other main upset was the fact that yo go through so much and become a awesome zombie killing machine and your character just dies that upset me very much, all in all the game could have been better but i can never hate any game!!!
    Expand
  67. Aug 16, 2014
    7
    Is a vicious game but has a lot of bugs, is repetitive
    The game is fun if played with friends but is a game to play one time and its over
    But waiting for Dead Island 2
  68. Jun 21, 2014
    5
    There isn't much improvement from the predecessor and this game feels more like an expansion pack with exactly the same story. But zombie killing is zombie killing and zombie killing is fun, right? 5/10
  69. Jun 1, 2013
    0
    Dead Island Riptide is a step up from Dead Island 1 to a certain extent...

    Firstly, the map... One of the biggest disappointments of this game, it is so dull and generic with 1 main road leading to around 3 or 4 little villages which are very similar to one another. It focuses on more of the forest type surroundings in what we saw in Dead Island 1 later on in the storyline and quite
    frankly it's not good, not good at all. Yes the lakes and rivers are a nice addition but most of the map consists of driving a boat and every now and again a Drowner (new infected) will attack you but this becomes very repetitive. All in all the map is just not very good, it looks nice and the environment is very little satisfactory but it does not make up for the poor size and overall layout of the map.

    However, the new additions are brilliant, if you have played Dead Island 1 and are tired of the same weapons and infected then this game is perfect. Dead Island Riptide introduces a new character by the name of John, new infected such as the Drowner and Boss type enemies such as QuickDeath and Ogre, who are substantially harder than your original infected or walkers. Dead Island Riptide also introduces a variety of new weapons and mods, there are so many I can't possibly name them all.

    Lastly the Co-Op. Although there are 5 playable characters the game is not 5 player co-op, I feel 5 players would be too much and that 4 is a perfect number. The Co-Op gameplay is very similar to Dead island 1's co-op. Slice, Dice and Destroy any zombies that cross your path. With friends.

    Overall, Dead Island Riptide is an average sequel and is let down by the disappointing map but the gameplay still maintains that zombie killing fun we all experienced in Dead Island 1!
    Collapse
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43
  1. May 30, 2013
    59
    Serviceable co-op romp which goes out of its way to irritate. [July 2013, p.72]
  2. May 29, 2013
    65
    The combat and weapons are fun and the levelling systems keep things interesting and give an air of replayability to the title if your Xbox is starting to get a little dusty. If we see a third instalment though, the game needs to step up a little to keep up with the competition.
  3. May 24, 2013
    50
    Dead Island: Riptide is an unnecessary addition to the franchise and it has nothing to offer when compared to the first title of the series. Two years was a long time for a company like Techland to improve upon the experience of Dead Island, but nothing was done about it.