• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 8, 2006
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 455 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 455

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2012
    2
    One of the most frustrating games ever created. The idea starts out so well. Stuck in a mall with all sorts of weapons to kill ZOMBIES. HOW did Capcom RUIN such a simple concept? Let's see the list: Horrible human A.I. (The zombies are smarter. SERIOUSLY.), unfair psychopath battles (Who are immune to zombie attacks), a horrible save system, a horrible melee system, worthless story, a frustrating timed aspect, bad vehicle control, strange and awkward animations, a cult group that appears later and kills the feel of the game, the list goes on and on and on. It gets a two for impressive graphics and the gameplay can be enjoyable at times, but it is all ruined by so many things. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2011
    2
    So whats good about this game? Absolutely nothing. I bought this game because I am a zombie game fan, but this game is just plain corny and dumb. I thought 10 bucks for the game was a good deal. Now I see why it goes for 10 bucks. Because it sucks....For one, its EXTREMELY hard to save the game. At the beginning of the game, there is one save point that you have to go to. Within the first 5 minutes, you are up against a gun battle with some guy who is extremely hard to kill, jumping all over the place, and throwing bombs at you, all while you are trying to get the aiming set up to shoot the guy...which, by the way, the aiming SUCKS too....meanwhile this cell phone in the corner is constantly rining while youare trying to kill the guy which is totally annoying...by then you are dead from a bomb.....then you lose all progress and have to start from scratch all over again. The plot is rediculous, the animation sucks, the characters suck......there is nothing good about this game. Yeah picking up random things to hit at zombies, thats about the most fun you will have in this game. After dieing about 5 times in a row, after having to go through the process of starting from scratch, since its almost impossible to save....I gave up.....what a waste of 10 bucks. Sad excuse for a zombie game Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2012
    4
    I agree with some positive reviews given, but this game is very frustrating, repetitive movements, in spite of not having time to solve some secundary missions, the victims that you rescues are very idiots, having that be repetitively by pressing the y button to call them, aiming is horrible, I do not recommend.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    This game was really fun when I first got it because I liked hitting zombies with baseball bats and bowling balls, but then it got really boring really fast. The storyline is weak, kill zombies and find survivors for 3 days, then get picked up by a helocopter. The bosses are extremely difficult to defeat and they should've had a difficulty setting. Dont buy this game it only entertained me for around 24 hours. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2013
    4
    I wanted so badly to love this game because I think I can see what the developers were trying to do. I struggled and hung in there to get as much out of the game as I could but I was afraid to save for fear of being stuck without enough time to get to the next mission and sure enough at the very end of the game I didn't leave enough time and had to start all over again. I am going to try one more time but I am not having fun and am mad as hell. You have been warned. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    4
    I found this game fun for the first week but it went downhill from there. Forgetting to save was a BIG problem especially after of hours of play, which led me to think that they (the developers) never had enough time to implant an auto save after each mission. Good game but gets boring after a while after you get used to the cheesiness.
  7. Jan 11, 2014
    4
    I'm not sure how to take Dead Rising, I will start by saying I didn't complete this game, I found killing zombies gets a little boring after a short time but saying that I do remember this game, I remember it for zombie killing being fun unlike left 4 dead or dead island, also I recently bought the second game with no intention of completing it, I bought it just to have fun killing zombies. I don't really understand modern pop cultures obsession with zombies, between Dawn of the Dead and Shaun of the Dead all the story that can be had out of the zombies has been extracted. So the story was something I was not interested in from the start, also I found the boss fights incredibly hard but maybe I'm just crap. At the end of the day I see saw real potential within this game and I think it can appeal to a wide audience who would be more patient with it than me and enjoy the story. I do recommend having a Dead Rising title in your 360 collection (for the right price, like under £5) even if it's just to pick up now and then just to cave in some zombie skull but despite the game being memorable and fun it's all very short lived and is only worth playing in 20 minute spurts every blue moon so I can't say it belongs with any gaming greats, I can't even say it's good just average. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. 80
    A relentlessly inventive game worth the price of entry...The experience is flawed -- some might say hampered -- by the save system and curiously designed game structure. But whether you 'get it' or not, Dead Rising nevertheless provides a wealth of secrets and mysteries for both eager gamers and the adventuresome.
  2. A unique, inventive, and fun game that youll most likely want to play and own due to its huge amount of replayability from random slash-a-thons to side quests and item discovery; you can spend a whole lot of time in this game. Then again if the save system and RPG leveling system turn you off you might be better off renting it first.
  3. The astounding level of variety that is packed into the game is wonderful to see.