• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 8, 2006
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 484 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 484

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DewittS.
    Aug 8, 2007
    4
    I admit slicing and bashing through hundreds of zombies was fun at first, but then it got extremely boring after a while so i did the storyline which they didnt give u enough time between each case to get to the next one, it took me forever to finish the 72 hour mmode then i had to do overtime which took even longer. also the achievements are really hard to get and they are all worth the I admit slicing and bashing through hundreds of zombies was fun at first, but then it got extremely boring after a while so i did the storyline which they didnt give u enough time between each case to get to the next one, it took me forever to finish the 72 hour mmode then i had to do overtime which took even longer. also the achievements are really hard to get and they are all worth the same gamerpoints so the ones that took forever like zombie genocider and eat all types of food and change into every outfit are worth the same as the easiest one so i think the game is a total waste of time. Expand
  2. KelR.
    Aug 12, 2006
    4
    Do I have your attention? This game is quite amazing, the graphics are great, the physics, music, mechanics, and premise are all really good. The developers really thought out of the box to bring a truely innovative game to life. However, it's a real shame that it's all ruined by the timed missions and the impossible "save" situation. I've never seen anything like it, Do I have your attention? This game is quite amazing, the graphics are great, the physics, music, mechanics, and premise are all really good. The developers really thought out of the box to bring a truely innovative game to life. However, it's a real shame that it's all ruined by the timed missions and the impossible "save" situation. I've never seen anything like it, honestly it just boggles my mind at how un-user friendly the whole thing is. If you like a game that quickly becomes a job, and stops being fun after a few hours, this is your game. (This is the closest I've ever come to throwing my game controller through the t.v.) Expand
  3. AdrianC.
    Aug 14, 2006
    1
    If you are an adult that doesn't have time to be a fanboy, this game just sucks. Great idea, good fun for about an hour....250 plus weapons? You won't care after a while. The AI and Save system are the worst I have ever seen or ever will see I am sure. I am going right back to the store and demanding my money back. I don't care that they won't accept refunds on opened If you are an adult that doesn't have time to be a fanboy, this game just sucks. Great idea, good fun for about an hour....250 plus weapons? You won't care after a while. The AI and Save system are the worst I have ever seen or ever will see I am sure. I am going right back to the store and demanding my money back. I don't care that they won't accept refunds on opened merchandise...I will fight until I get my money back because the game is THAT BAD... A lot of you that havethis game will disagree and that is okay, but I have to put my two sense in to warn those that don't have the game. I am not exaggerating when I say that the save system makes it THE worst game I have ever played. Stay away unless you like doing the same thing over and over again...And I don't mean killing zombies...I mean playing the first hour over and over again...I don't often comment on these boards, but this game made me so angry that the programers thought they could waste my time with this drivel that I had to warn people away from it. This game is pure HYPE. We all waited so long and got taken...Capcom is lauging at us and whoever is responsible for this atrocity is sighing with relief that they can keep their jobs because obviously some reviewers are being bought. okay i am done flaming. some of you will disagree, like I said. some of you will thank me. Expand
  4. 5kepticalplayer
    Aug 18, 2006
    1
    Boring, boring, boring. Graphics: Great! Killing zombies: Great (for a little while) Archaic Save System: AARRRH! What a stupid way to make the game more challenging. I'm completely un-egaged with the story because of the necessity to repeat sections for no real good reason. Terrible Control System: AAAARRRGGHH I'm giving this a one because I'm so disappointed in the game play.
  5. ListenU.
    Oct 7, 2008
    3
    This game showed promise, and in theory should be fun. But the CONTROLS are terrible. Really, among the worst I have ever seen in a game. Plus the uber-tiny type made it impossible to read the text. I don't get how so many people like this game... I got so frustrated with the horrid control scheme (specifically combat and guns) that I traded it in after a few hours.
  6. TylerS.
    Aug 15, 2006
    3
    I wasnt sure if i wanted to buy this game. I was at first thinking of renting it but i decided that it sounds good and i should go ahead and buy it. I am very upset with Capcom coming up with such a ridiculous save system. I have saved that old couple on the roof lyk 8 times now and decided I am done playing this stupid game. The weapons get boring and some of the neat sounding weapons I wasnt sure if i wanted to buy this game. I was at first thinking of renting it but i decided that it sounds good and i should go ahead and buy it. I am very upset with Capcom coming up with such a ridiculous save system. I have saved that old couple on the roof lyk 8 times now and decided I am done playing this stupid game. The weapons get boring and some of the neat sounding weapons like CD's dont do any real damage and are lame and dont even fly stright. It is a extremely difficult game also. For some reason these guys on this jeep can hit me from very far away were i cant even see the jeep. I have only been able to complete 1 escort mission *the first one* it is super difficult and I would strongly suggest to rent this first and buy resident evil 4 instead. The bright side of this game is the ability to take out you hatred for the save system by killing zombies with weapons ranging from samurai swords to toy dice. Expand
  7. YarghD.
    Dec 12, 2006
    2
    So incredibly frustrating. Saving times are terrible and I didn't life know how to save people without them getting killed. I didn't really know how to do anything in this game.
  8. Apr 21, 2012
    4
    I agree with some positive reviews given, but this game is very frustrating, repetitive movements, in spite of not having time to solve some secundary missions, the victims that you rescues are very idiots, having that be repetitively by pressing the y button to call them, aiming is horrible, I do not recommend.
  9. KarlL
    May 16, 2008
    4
    Probably the most frustrating game I have ever played. The game forces you along at its own pace and if you don't go along with it you will miss out on parts of the storyline. Weapons break quickly and without warning and the game then equips you with the next item in your inventory, very annoying when your beating zombies with a bat and when suddenly your character switches to a Probably the most frustrating game I have ever played. The game forces you along at its own pace and if you don't go along with it you will miss out on parts of the storyline. Weapons break quickly and without warning and the game then equips you with the next item in your inventory, very annoying when your beating zombies with a bat and when suddenly your character switches to a magazine and gets torn apart. Friendly AI is as brainless as the zombies and loves to get itself killed. Terrible save system that makes you replay huge segments of the game. And cheating boss fights. In the first battle when your shooting your enemy he will simply ignore the fact he is being shot and fire back at you, But when you get shot you stumble around like a retard unable to do anything. Why doesn't this happen to him too? And when attempting to aim with your gun the game will suddenly snap your view to a completely different place then where you were looking, meaning you have to very slowly turn your crosshair back to where it is you wanted to fire. Expand
  10. WyattG.
    Oct 22, 2007
    4
    A game where you run around killing zombies with a huge variety of weapons...how can you possibly go wrong ? Well this statement must have read like a challenge to the game developers, because they have magnificently managed to suck the enjoyment from what should have been a brilliant game. So how have they managed to do this ? Well their first mistake was having a time schedule that you A game where you run around killing zombies with a huge variety of weapons...how can you possibly go wrong ? Well this statement must have read like a challenge to the game developers, because they have magnificently managed to suck the enjoyment from what should have been a brilliant game. So how have they managed to do this ? Well their first mistake was having a time schedule that you have to religiously work to. In simple terms you are a reporter who is trying to piece together why a town (in particular the shopping centre) has been overrun by zombies. To finish the game you need to do ALL the cases, and to do a case you need arrive at a set location at a set time (I would like to meet the reporter who operates in this way !!!). So what happens if you miss a case time ? You can either restart the whole game (screaming and abuse will follow) or you can reload your last save.....well that's not a hard decision, just reload your last save and try again. One problem, well in fact it's a HUGE MONSTER of a problem. You are only allowed 1 save at a time, so if you were unlucky enough to save at a point whereby it is impossible to ever be able to get to the next case then you will have no choice but to restart the whole game (more screaming and abuse is acceptable at this point !). Why the developers could not have had a multiple save system like Bioshock is beyond comprehension. ... and their second mistake ? A horrible antiquated control system. Most of the action is in the 3rd person view which works quite well, but it is when you have a gun and you need to accurately shoot that the controls become so frustrating to use. You squeeze the right trigger, the view changes to first person and a little aiming reticule comes on the screen. Whilst in this mode you can move the reticule but for some strange reason you can not move yourself, which means you are open for attack from zombies. If you release the trigger to move you then need to go through the whole process again to re-aim at your target who has a horrible knack of moving just at the wrong time. What makes all of this worse is that the game itself and the act of killing zombies is really fun, and it would seem that these 2 big problems the game has would not have been hard to fix. If they had been done better then the game could for me have been an 8 or even 9 out of 10, but with the problems as they are the game is just way too frustrating to really enjoy. Expand
  11. MikeB
    Feb 10, 2009
    2
    Graphics great, but everything else pretty shocking. Cutscenes, time limits, pathetic AI, frustrating bosses, abysmal controls, terrible save scheme and hopeless weapon / inventory logic. I can't stand it when developers fall in love with their own engine or gimmick, and lose sight of making their game easy and fun to play!
  12. JimM.
    Aug 13, 2006
    3
    I cannot believe this game is getting great reviews. It is SO repetitive, confusing, the interface sucks, its a mess. This game deserves like a 50 at best - I guess none of these reviewers have the balls to slag off Capcom or something. The graphics aren't great, the interface isn't intuative, the fight control sucks, no aiming system for the pistols, it goes on and on. And on I cannot believe this game is getting great reviews. It is SO repetitive, confusing, the interface sucks, its a mess. This game deserves like a 50 at best - I guess none of these reviewers have the balls to slag off Capcom or something. The graphics aren't great, the interface isn't intuative, the fight control sucks, no aiming system for the pistols, it goes on and on. And on top of that, no multiplayer or even 2 player. Trust me, this game SUCKS! Expand
  13. DavidM.
    Aug 15, 2006
    3
    Aweful save system. Tedious and boring boss fights. Lame story. Lacks any real control config. Text size is too small to read on anything less than a 32" TV.
  14. Jan 19, 2012
    2
    One of the most frustrating games ever created. The idea starts out so well. Stuck in a mall with all sorts of weapons to kill ZOMBIES. HOW did Capcom RUIN such a simple concept? Let's see the list: Horrible human A.I. (The zombies are smarter. SERIOUSLY.), unfair psychopath battles (Who are immune to zombie attacks), a horrible save system, a horrible melee system, worthless story, aOne of the most frustrating games ever created. The idea starts out so well. Stuck in a mall with all sorts of weapons to kill ZOMBIES. HOW did Capcom RUIN such a simple concept? Let's see the list: Horrible human A.I. (The zombies are smarter. SERIOUSLY.), unfair psychopath battles (Who are immune to zombie attacks), a horrible save system, a horrible melee system, worthless story, a frustrating timed aspect, bad vehicle control, strange and awkward animations, a cult group that appears later and kills the feel of the game, the list goes on and on and on. It gets a two for impressive graphics and the gameplay can be enjoyable at times, but it is all ruined by so many things. Expand
  15. MiguelG.
    Oct 6, 2006
    1
    I wish I had listen to the guys in here that said "Do Not Buy This Rubish", and many other places that warned about the obnoxious implementation of the gameplay in this game. The game is almost unplayable! It's very, very, very hard!, at leat in the first 20 attempts, until one leveled enough, but even then don't think it's ever enjoyable, it's still a huge pain! - I wish I had listen to the guys in here that said "Do Not Buy This Rubish", and many other places that warned about the obnoxious implementation of the gameplay in this game. The game is almost unplayable! It's very, very, very hard!, at leat in the first 20 attempts, until one leveled enough, but even then don't think it's ever enjoyable, it's still a huge pain! - huge amount of escort missions, you spend like 80% of the game nursing other NPC's, you don't empatize with your character, you "live" to escort others, it's an escort NPC's game at heart. - These NPC's are the most dumb creatures that appeared in the video-game systems. They just need constant nursing, and talking, you'll play a shrink most of time. - Aiming system is from ZX Spectrum age - stand still to shoot, WTF!? Learn with GTA, Saint's Row, every contemporanean game!!!!, Capcom!!!! - The mix of real-time + one save + about 20 minutes-walk-to-get-to-a-save-spot place really don't go together. I just can't believe no one at QA's Capcom realised this ? Were you asleep ? This issue, per-se, kills the game! Unless someone would like to quit play any game for the next 6 months, and replay this piece of s**t 50 times - I've done my share, I'm in my 17th try... - I know the dialogs by heart now. How sad is that ? I never went "over the top" in criticizing a game, but this..., this...!!!! I even wrote a letter to Capcom, not an email, a real letter! And I promised them I would not buy a game from them in these couple of years, or least until I remember this. Was it so hard to do a regular comtemporanean save-system ? I can even purpose that they could use the Achievements to do this freakiness, like 200GS to achieve "True Ending in Capcom's 'weirdos only' mode". 1 point for the idea, and plot, but the game's "Dead Buried" Expand
  16. GusW.
    Jun 18, 2007
    1
    I found this game completely dull and repetative. Sure there are a ton of ways to kill zombies, but thats essentially all the game seems to have going for it. Theres no eeriness in the game and nothing to make you think. The only feeling of tension, or should I really say pressure, comes from the race against the clock.
  17. AlyxS.
    Jul 8, 2007
    0
    Let's seek repetive boring gameplay, horrible aiming system, dumb as a stump npc and an archaic save system. Nothing about this game is good all it is, is running around hitting zombies with stuff over and over and over. Oh also you can pictures of the zombies to quite invigorating once your brain stem detaches from your spinal cord. If you're the kind of person who has fun Let's seek repetive boring gameplay, horrible aiming system, dumb as a stump npc and an archaic save system. Nothing about this game is good all it is, is running around hitting zombies with stuff over and over and over. Oh also you can pictures of the zombies to quite invigorating once your brain stem detaches from your spinal cord. If you're the kind of person who has fun running around picking up teddy bears and hitting the x button over and over while running through groups of zombies then dying and getting to do it over again then I advise seeking medical attention. Trust me don't even rent it despite the apparent mass appeal. it's not even one thing after another it's one thing then that thing again and again and again. So in summary boring repetitive gameplay and horrible atmosphere make for this horrible zombie game. Expand
  18. ColeS.
    Sep 16, 2006
    3
    I went into this game expecting at the very least a mindless brawler that would occupy the weekend. What I got was frustration at every turn! Because of the awful survival AI and terrible aiming system I was constantly doint portions over and over again trying to get the survivors back to the safe area. And why am I dealing with all of these idiots? Because I have to wait six hours before I went into this game expecting at the very least a mindless brawler that would occupy the weekend. What I got was frustration at every turn! Because of the awful survival AI and terrible aiming system I was constantly doint portions over and over again trying to get the survivors back to the safe area. And why am I dealing with all of these idiots? Because I have to wait six hours before I can continue the story. If you have to try it, rent it. Expand
  19. BlisterfishCafe
    Sep 18, 2006
    2
    Uh, er, ahem. You wander around a mall and smash zombies with various items. I owned this game and returned it after giving it a reasonable run through. This game sucks. The "save" points are horrible. Most of all it's incredibly boring!!!
  20. BrainT.
    Apr 6, 2007
    3
    The controls just didn't work for me - and the pacing of the game was off - not to mention the frustrating save system. Dead Rising...Forget about it.
  21. CommandoDude
    Jul 4, 2008
    3
    This. Game. Sucked. Unless you REALLY like zombie games, you will be disappointed. Or at least, I was. At first, it was an interesting game concept, stuck in a mall with zombies, taking pictures of them, trying to uncover some conspiracy. I was quickly disappointed however, by the sheer unrealistic nature of the game, with an endless army of zombies, and stupidly insane combat moves. Not This. Game. Sucked. Unless you REALLY like zombie games, you will be disappointed. Or at least, I was. At first, it was an interesting game concept, stuck in a mall with zombies, taking pictures of them, trying to uncover some conspiracy. I was quickly disappointed however, by the sheer unrealistic nature of the game, with an endless army of zombies, and stupidly insane combat moves. Not to mention that more then half of the survivors in this mall are somehow deranged psychopaths, and pretty much everyone else is useless. Don't get me started on how hard it is to use guns. I got so fed up with this game I just stopped playing. Expand
  22. JJNuzzo
    Aug 23, 2006
    2
    Well, let me just start by telling everyone that anyone who rates this game as amazing and the best is just a Capcom's lap dog. I went to the store determined that this was a great game by the way everyone talked about it, boy I was wrong. What a waste of $60. The camera angles suck, it's all over the place. The wepons suck, if you hit someone so many times with something the Well, let me just start by telling everyone that anyone who rates this game as amazing and the best is just a Capcom's lap dog. I went to the store determined that this was a great game by the way everyone talked about it, boy I was wrong. What a waste of $60. The camera angles suck, it's all over the place. The wepons suck, if you hit someone so many times with something the wepon breaks and sometimes your just left with nothing. The guns suck, it doesnt give you the option to run and aim so if you aim you have to stay in one spot and shoot, and if you run around and shoot your not going to hit anything that you want. The fact that the only dialog in the game is the short video is so stupid. Everything else is just words printed on a small screen. Way too many load screens. If you ever played the original Resident Evil for the original Playstation then you know what I mean. I didnt really mind it that much with that game because it rocked!! Maybe Capcom should take notes from Rockstar since Rockstar provides us with an undisapointment level every game of this nature. TAKE NOTES!!!! Please for all of us who already got scammed 60 bucks, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!!! I am so frustrated and mad at Capcom right now I just want to pee myself. Expand
  23. Jan 22, 2011
    2
    So whats good about this game? Absolutely nothing. I bought this game because I am a zombie game fan, but this game is just plain corny and dumb. I thought 10 bucks for the game was a good deal. Now I see why it goes for 10 bucks. Because it sucks....For one, its EXTREMELY hard to save the game. At the beginning of the game, there is one save point that you have to go to. Within the firstSo whats good about this game? Absolutely nothing. I bought this game because I am a zombie game fan, but this game is just plain corny and dumb. I thought 10 bucks for the game was a good deal. Now I see why it goes for 10 bucks. Because it sucks....For one, its EXTREMELY hard to save the game. At the beginning of the game, there is one save point that you have to go to. Within the first 5 minutes, you are up against a gun battle with some guy who is extremely hard to kill, jumping all over the place, and throwing bombs at you, all while you are trying to get the aiming set up to shoot the guy...which, by the way, the aiming SUCKS too....meanwhile this cell phone in the corner is constantly rining while youare trying to kill the guy which is totally annoying...by then you are dead from a bomb.....then you lose all progress and have to start from scratch all over again. The plot is rediculous, the animation sucks, the characters suck......there is nothing good about this game. Yeah picking up random things to hit at zombies, thats about the most fun you will have in this game. After dieing about 5 times in a row, after having to go through the process of starting from scratch, since its almost impossible to save....I gave up.....what a waste of 10 bucks. Sad excuse for a zombie game Expand
  24. DanI.
    Feb 3, 2007
    0
    I honestly don't have any problem with the save system. The best single-player experience I've had in years. Maybe the best game I've ever played. The weapons kicked a** too. Buy this game.
  25. Aug 7, 2013
    4
    I wanted so badly to love this game because I think I can see what the developers were trying to do. I struggled and hung in there to get as much out of the game as I could but I was afraid to save for fear of being stuck without enough time to get to the next mission and sure enough at the very end of the game I didn't leave enough time and had to start all over again. I am going to tryI wanted so badly to love this game because I think I can see what the developers were trying to do. I struggled and hung in there to get as much out of the game as I could but I was afraid to save for fear of being stuck without enough time to get to the next mission and sure enough at the very end of the game I didn't leave enough time and had to start all over again. I am going to try one more time but I am not having fun and am mad as hell. You have been warned. Expand
  26. BrettS.
    Sep 17, 2006
    2
    So, here we go again. Another awesome, spectacular, fabulous failure for the revelutionary gaming system xbox 360. Where to begin...hmmm..so many places, well let's start with the subtitles were small to read, the voice overs were inaudible, the game play boring, and annoying side quests that made no sense. Visually, the game was nice but not as revelutionary as some of the other So, here we go again. Another awesome, spectacular, fabulous failure for the revelutionary gaming system xbox 360. Where to begin...hmmm..so many places, well let's start with the subtitles were small to read, the voice overs were inaudible, the game play boring, and annoying side quests that made no sense. Visually, the game was nice but not as revelutionary as some of the other games for the 360. While playing this game i couldn't get over the feeling of something was missing from the game. Maybe i was too busy comparing it to the supremely well done resident evil, oh wait, that must be it, it trys too hard to be like resident evil, but fails miserably. The story line for this game is kind of cool, in that choosing different doors or pathways leads you to different parts of the story line. However, the storyline seemed thrown together from our favorite zombie take over the world movies, and lacked the luster and essence of resident evil for which it tried so hard to measure up to. This would be a fun game for someone with nothing to do on a weekend, and who enjoys mindnumbing button mashing fun, that is pathetically repetitive and...hmm...oh yah BORING!!!!. Well done xbox 360, if you keep this up you will eventually game yourself out of buisness. Personally, if the next salvo of games is as bad as the last one, i will be putting my 360 up for sale. Expand
  27. JohnG.
    Jan 6, 2007
    2
    All I have to say is that this game sucks! The save system sucks! A.I. sucks! Dialogue sucks! Everything sucks! I am so glad that I rented this game before buying it. I about threw the disc out of the window it sucked so bad. For those who read this don't buy OR rent this game because it SUCKS!
  28. Moneyman
    Aug 25, 2006
    1
    Just played this game and I am glad I rented it... The controls and targeting system really really need improvement. Stick with what works Halo...Call of Duty 2 style movement. The game story seemed good at first....but you have to repeat the same scenes over and over and over again. This game is way over rated it gets a one from me.
  29. colinp
    Mar 5, 2007
    4
    i really wanted this game when i saw the previews , but when i got it it wasnt as good as i imagined. the save system is retarded and the bosses are just ridiculous to beat. it pissed me off when i couildnt beat that faggit clown and the fag in the gun store. oh yah and the dick sucker in the hardware store who tyhinks the guy is fucking korean. i did like killin the zombies and havingi really wanted this game when i saw the previews , but when i got it it wasnt as good as i imagined. the save system is retarded and the bosses are just ridiculous to beat. it pissed me off when i couildnt beat that faggit clown and the fag in the gun store. oh yah and the dick sucker in the hardware store who tyhinks the guy is fucking korean. i did like killin the zombies and having some fun weapons, except for the guns u cant move when u shoot if ur aiming and if ur not aiming and shooting u are shooting att random zombies and mostly missing. Expand
  30. LeeG.
    Apr 4, 2007
    2
    This could have been a such a good game. I disagree with the save system but thats not my real complaint about this game. the real let down for this game is the time restriction, forever looking at the watch, not being able to fully enjoy the games environment which did look cool totally ruined this game. For me I want to be able to freely explore a game and engross myself in the This could have been a such a good game. I disagree with the save system but thats not my real complaint about this game. the real let down for this game is the time restriction, forever looking at the watch, not being able to fully enjoy the games environment which did look cool totally ruined this game. For me I want to be able to freely explore a game and engross myself in the environment at my own leisure, sure put a couple of timed missions in, but the whole game, what a way to ruin a perfectly good game! Expand
  31. DaveW
    May 12, 2008
    0
    Need more of an incentive to kill the zombies, escort missions are boring. Save system is stupid, time system is stupid. Zombies are too uniform. Controls are terrible.
  32. MikeH
    Feb 19, 2009
    0
    you know what........this game just plain sucks. all of these people giving it good reviews, WTF! the graphics suck! yes, for a next gen system, they suck! the character you control (frank) moves like his tampon is about to fall out. the game save system is designed to F@#$ you in the A$$. hope you like starting the game over, from the begining! but hell, you get to carry your stats over, you know what........this game just plain sucks. all of these people giving it good reviews, WTF! the graphics suck! yes, for a next gen system, they suck! the character you control (frank) moves like his tampon is about to fall out. the game save system is designed to F@#$ you in the A$$. hope you like starting the game over, from the begining! but hell, you get to carry your stats over, big F@##ing deal! the aiming system in the game......hell there are games for the ps2 that put this game to shame. as for the ai.......there is no ai, at least for the survivors. last but not least, you have a time limit to play the game in. oh, the fun of time limits. how about i just re-take the sat about 20x times! bottom line, if have a short attention span, like to hurt small animals, this game is for you :) if you are playing this game for a story and to actually finish the game, this game sucks! Expand
  33. Ed
    Aug 15, 2006
    1
    This game looks awesome, however after playing for about five minutes you'll want to find something else to do with your time. The weapons are poor and you can only hammer on the buttons to kill surrounding zombies for so long (approx 5 minutes) before the repitition gets silly.
  34. RedXIII
    Aug 19, 2006
    3
    This game was all hype. I was really pumped up to get this game it looked like it was going to be awesome, but it fell short of anything even close to greatness, the save system sucks, you do not know what you are doing most of the time because you can't read the text dialogue, the camera sucks, its all around just a bad game, the only reason that it gets a 3 is because it is fun for This game was all hype. I was really pumped up to get this game it looked like it was going to be awesome, but it fell short of anything even close to greatness, the save system sucks, you do not know what you are doing most of the time because you can't read the text dialogue, the camera sucks, its all around just a bad game, the only reason that it gets a 3 is because it is fun for 1/2 an hour hacking and slashing in a mall full of zombies, I didn't even play it for more than 30 mins before i returned it, a major disappointment, if you feel the need though RENT do not waste $60 on this mediocre game! You will thank me. Expand
  35. JohnA.
    Aug 29, 2006
    1
    What does everybody see in this game. Its garbage. I dont get how this could get over a 3. Shooting in this game is terrible. This game is way to overhyped. Way to overhyped. What garbage. Just sold my copy 2 days later.
  36. RichardS
    Jun 23, 2008
    0
    Wow what a bad game. Easily the worst I have played on the 360, perhaps in any console. The controls are appalling and completely unintuitive. You use different buttons to move the camera and the gun, you cannot move when shooting, the buttons are all wrong. HORRID. Gameplay is boring and repetitive. After the first dozen killed zombies it is boring. WORST GAME EVER.
  37. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    This game was really fun when I first got it because I liked hitting zombies with baseball bats and bowling balls, but then it got really boring really fast. The storyline is weak, kill zombies and find survivors for 3 days, then get picked up by a helocopter. The bosses are extremely difficult to defeat and they should've had a difficulty setting. Dont buy this game it only entertained meThis game was really fun when I first got it because I liked hitting zombies with baseball bats and bowling balls, but then it got really boring really fast. The storyline is weak, kill zombies and find survivors for 3 days, then get picked up by a helocopter. The bosses are extremely difficult to defeat and they should've had a difficulty setting. Dont buy this game it only entertained me for around 24 hours. Expand
  38. Jan 2, 2014
    4
    I found this game fun for the first week but it went downhill from there. Forgetting to save was a BIG problem especially after of hours of play, which led me to think that they (the developers) never had enough time to implant an auto save after each mission. Good game but gets boring after a while after you get used to the cheesiness.
  39. Jan 11, 2014
    4
    I'm not sure how to take Dead Rising, I will start by saying I didn't complete this game, I found killing zombies gets a little boring after a short time but saying that I do remember this game, I remember it for zombie killing being fun unlike left 4 dead or dead island, also I recently bought the second game with no intention of completing it, I bought it just to have fun killingI'm not sure how to take Dead Rising, I will start by saying I didn't complete this game, I found killing zombies gets a little boring after a short time but saying that I do remember this game, I remember it for zombie killing being fun unlike left 4 dead or dead island, also I recently bought the second game with no intention of completing it, I bought it just to have fun killing zombies. I don't really understand modern pop cultures obsession with zombies, between Dawn of the Dead and Shaun of the Dead all the story that can be had out of the zombies has been extracted. So the story was something I was not interested in from the start, also I found the boss fights incredibly hard but maybe I'm just crap. At the end of the day I see saw real potential within this game and I think it can appeal to a wide audience who would be more patient with it than me and enjoy the story. I do recommend having a Dead Rising title in your 360 collection (for the right price, like under £5) even if it's just to pick up now and then just to cave in some zombie skull but despite the game being memorable and fun it's all very short lived and is only worth playing in 20 minute spurts every blue moon so I can't say it belongs with any gaming greats, I can't even say it's good just average. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. 80
    A relentlessly inventive game worth the price of entry...The experience is flawed -- some might say hampered -- by the save system and curiously designed game structure. But whether you 'get it' or not, Dead Rising nevertheless provides a wealth of secrets and mysteries for both eager gamers and the adventuresome.
  2. A unique, inventive, and fun game that youll most likely want to play and own due to its huge amount of replayability from random slash-a-thons to side quests and item discovery; you can spend a whole lot of time in this game. Then again if the save system and RPG leveling system turn you off you might be better off renting it first.
  3. The astounding level of variety that is packed into the game is wonderful to see.