User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2014
    5
    It's story is really short and the fact that this DLC tries tell the events leading up to Dead Space 2 and fails, is just sad. It fails because it starts out with the outbreak already happening. The DLC on it's own is not terrible, but as a prologue it's pretty weak. I would say only get it for you're Gamerscore, most of the achievements are very easy to get and it offers new items for theIt's story is really short and the fact that this DLC tries tell the events leading up to Dead Space 2 and fails, is just sad. It fails because it starts out with the outbreak already happening. The DLC on it's own is not terrible, but as a prologue it's pretty weak. I would say only get it for you're Gamerscore, most of the achievements are very easy to get and it offers new items for the actual game. Dead Space 2: severed is a massive disappointment to an excellent video game. Expand
  2. May 25, 2011
    8
    I found this piece of DLC to be pretty good. A good story and fun gameplay. The only problem is taht it is a little short. If it were an hour longer, it would have gotten a 9.
  3. May 23, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is, by far, the most disappointing DLC I have yet to purchase. It isn't bad by any means, but it doesn't quite impress. Why would that be, you may ask? Well, let's take a look.

    In this spin-off pack to the actual game, you play as Gabe Weller, a character from the Wii-released Dead Space: Extraction, as he looks to find his young wife Lexine, who also happens to be pregnant with a child. The necromorphs aren't the only threat that you face, however, as a group of individuals are trying to stop Gabe from reuniting with his wife. Why? To be honest, I don't know. I haven't played Extraction, so I feel that maybe I can't judge this properly until I do, but I didn't feel that this held up with the rest of Dead Space 2. Which, let's face it, had it's flaws. The main gripe I had with Severed is that I had hoped it would lengthen the main game. I mean, 8 hours? Really? Unfortunately, this pack lasted around 1 hour. I got more time out of Witch Hunt, for crying out loud. As for gameplay, it's pretty much the same, but it was also disappointing to note that they ripped some of the more nteresting moents from the main game onto this. Remeber when you had to fight off oncoming necromorphs while hanging upside down? It's in here, too. Come on, Visceral, try something different.

    In short, this add-on disappoints. It was promising enough, but unimpressed in almost every category.
    Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    Although game was cool DLC is bad.Story is unbalanced and has too many potholes.Youve seen all this before in the real game.There is nothing new or exciting here.Not the DLC you want to buy so dont.
  5. Mar 6, 2011
    6
    Most of us would be excited-horrified to return to the Sprawl. Sadly, it will only be a short visit, and as DS2: Severed shows us, its not long enough for a good storyline to be presented to us, and while playing it, my pants were clearly less stained then in Dead Space 2. The focus has shifted away from horror, and this was clearly made to make cash, not to please fans. The short trip,Most of us would be excited-horrified to return to the Sprawl. Sadly, it will only be a short visit, and as DS2: Severed shows us, its not long enough for a good storyline to be presented to us, and while playing it, my pants were clearly less stained then in Dead Space 2. The focus has shifted away from horror, and this was clearly made to make cash, not to please fans. The short trip, however, is still memorable, and unless you hated Dead Space 2, this is [almost] a good buy. Expand
  6. Mar 4, 2011
    7
    The story follows Gabe Weller's adventure on the Sprawl as he tries to reunite with his wife while fighting off the many necromorphs that block his path. Don't expect many new features with this DLC - it is more of the same goodness as found in the main game which is not a bad thing. I was glad to see the twitcher return as he is one of the more startling necros. I played through onThe story follows Gabe Weller's adventure on the Sprawl as he tries to reunite with his wife while fighting off the many necromorphs that block his path. Don't expect many new features with this DLC - it is more of the same goodness as found in the main game which is not a bad thing. I was glad to see the twitcher return as he is one of the more startling necros. I played through on normal difficulty and must say that it is a bit more challenging than the main game which I was OK with. The voice acting and graphics were top notch as we've come to expect with the DS series. I completed the game in about 2.5 hrs - it goes by very quickly with constant battling all throughout. I do feel that $7 is about $2 too much for this particular DLC although I know most DS fans are willing to pay it. Overall I was left with a positive impression but feel that non-hardcore fans may want to wait until the price is discounted at some point. Long live DS! Expand
  7. Mar 3, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Severed is good but not great. It's about 3 hours, maybe less but its overall a alright experience. The thing that was disappointing was that u never get to see to much new places (going all the way back where dead space 2 begins), and that there is only 1 new weapon. The positive things about the DLC is that it's $7 bucks, a fun enemy to fight that was in the first dead space (the twitcher), the main character Gabe Weller (even though u don't get to know him that well) he was still pretty badass, and the best thing i like about the DLC was the ending. It was eventful and they put my 2 favorite enemy's together to fight against at the same time: the stalkers & the pack, but also there's a last stand part that was epic. Expand
  8. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    Short and sweet, and by that I mean an hour of intense violence and paranoia. This was the short story equivalent to Dead Space 2's main game. They brought back almost all of the necromorphs from the main story and added one of my favorites from the first game as well. The game continues to keep me on my toes with the necromorphs surprising me. The action was intense and the story wasShort and sweet, and by that I mean an hour of intense violence and paranoia. This was the short story equivalent to Dead Space 2's main game. They brought back almost all of the necromorphs from the main story and added one of my favorites from the first game as well. The game continues to keep me on my toes with the necromorphs surprising me. The action was intense and the story was good, but the bread and butter of this add on was the end. I won't spoil it, but believe me the ending good although it does hit a bit close to home of one of the Dead Space animated movies... Like I said in the beginning; my opinion is that the add on is short and sweet. Expand
  9. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    Although game was cool DLC is bad.Story is unbalanced and has too many potholes.Youve seen all this before in the real game.There is nothing new or exciting here.Not the DLC you want to buy so dont.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Apr 11, 2011
    60
    Good atmosphere as expected, but old levels and only a few hours of gameplay brings this down a bit.
  2. 70
    This repetition, combined with Severed's short runtime(two chapters beaten in around two hours), keeps it squarely in the realm of diehard devotees. [May 2011, p.75]
  3. Mar 29, 2011
    77
    Severed is not bad for a $6 DLC, but I can't shake the feeling that this (severed) piece is just to whet our appetite for bigger things to come.