Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 2: Severed contains two new single-player chapters and new Achievements.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Mar 29, 2011
    77
    Severed is not bad for a $6 DLC, but I can't shake the feeling that this (severed) piece is just to whet our appetite for bigger things to come.
  2. Mar 14, 2011
    75
    As it stands, Severed falls a little short of the DLC value proposition and doesn't have the depth of gameplay to boot.
  3. 70
    This repetition, combined with Severed's short runtime(two chapters beaten in around two hours), keeps it squarely in the realm of diehard devotees. [May 2011, p.75]
  4. Mar 10, 2011
    60
    For your seven bucks, you get an extra hour of content that adds a new layer of mystery to the Dead Space universe and a rather shocking ending that would've been compelling if the campaign had been long enough to build up any emotional ties.
  5. Mar 22, 2011
    60
    As exciting as it may be to watch the story of Gabe and Lexine after their escape from Ishimura, the extremely short length of their new adventure, along with the overuse of areas we've already seen in Dead Space 2, canʼt help but create a strong feeling of disappointment.
  6. Mar 11, 2011
    50
    This DLC is like canned espresso: small, disposable, and absolutely forgettable.
  7. Mar 4, 2011
    25
    If you're following all the marketing promotions and tie-in products, you might enjoy seeing Gabe and Lexine in the game and the Oracles might mean something to you, but for all but the most diehard fans this is definitely a download to skip.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    Short and sweet, and by that I mean an hour of intense violence and paranoia. This was the short story equivalent to Dead Space 2's main game. They brought back almost all of the necromorphs from the main story and added one of my favorites from the first game as well. The game continues to keep me on my toes with the necromorphs surprising me. The action was intense and the story was good, but the bread and butter of this add on was the end. I won't spoil it, but believe me the ending good although it does hit a bit close to home of one of the Dead Space animated movies... Like I said in the beginning; my opinion is that the add on is short and sweet. Expand
  2. May 25, 2011
    8
    I found this piece of DLC to be pretty good. A good story and fun gameplay. The only problem is taht it is a little short. If it were an hour longer, it would have gotten a 9. Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Severed is good but not great. It's about 3 hours, maybe less but its overall a alright experience. The thing that was disappointing was that u never get to see to much new places (going all the way back where dead space 2 begins), and that there is only 1 new weapon. The positive things about the DLC is that it's $7 bucks, a fun enemy to fight that was in the first dead space (the twitcher), the main character Gabe Weller (even though u don't get to know him that well) he was still pretty badass, and the best thing i like about the DLC was the ending. It was eventful and they put my 2 favorite enemy's together to fight against at the same time: the stalkers & the pack, but also there's a last stand part that was epic. Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2011
    7
    The story follows Gabe Weller's adventure on the Sprawl as he tries to reunite with his wife while fighting off the many necromorphs that block his path. Don't expect many new features with this DLC - it is more of the same goodness as found in the main game which is not a bad thing. I was glad to see the twitcher return as he is one of the more startling necros. I played through on normal difficulty and must say that it is a bit more challenging than the main game which I was OK with. The voice acting and graphics were top notch as we've come to expect with the DS series. I completed the game in about 2.5 hrs - it goes by very quickly with constant battling all throughout. I do feel that $7 is about $2 too much for this particular DLC although I know most DS fans are willing to pay it. Overall I was left with a positive impression but feel that non-hardcore fans may want to wait until the price is discounted at some point. Long live DS! Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2011
    6
    Most of us would be excited-horrified to return to the Sprawl. Sadly, it will only be a short visit, and as DS2: Severed shows us, its not long enough for a good storyline to be presented to us, and while playing it, my pants were clearly less stained then in Dead Space 2. The focus has shifted away from horror, and this was clearly made to make cash, not to please fans. The short trip, however, is still memorable, and unless you hated Dead Space 2, this is [almost] a good buy. Collapse
  6. May 23, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is, by far, the most disappointing DLC I have yet to purchase. It isn't bad by any means, but it doesn't quite impress. Why would that be, you may ask? Well, let's take a look.

    In this spin-off pack to the actual game, you play as Gabe Weller, a character from the Wii-released Dead Space: Extraction, as he looks to find his young wife Lexine, who also happens to be pregnant with a child. The necromorphs aren't the only threat that you face, however, as a group of individuals are trying to stop Gabe from reuniting with his wife. Why? To be honest, I don't know. I haven't played Extraction, so I feel that maybe I can't judge this properly until I do, but I didn't feel that this held up with the rest of Dead Space 2. Which, let's face it, had it's flaws. The main gripe I had with Severed is that I had hoped it would lengthen the main game. I mean, 8 hours? Really? Unfortunately, this pack lasted around 1 hour. I got more time out of Witch Hunt, for crying out loud. As for gameplay, it's pretty much the same, but it was also disappointing to note that they ripped some of the more nteresting moents from the main game onto this. Remeber when you had to fight off oncoming necromorphs while hanging upside down? It's in here, too. Come on, Visceral, try something different.

    In short, this add-on disappoints. It was promising enough, but unimpressed in almost every category.
    Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    Although game was cool DLC is bad.Story is unbalanced and has too many potholes.Youve seen all this before in the real game.There is nothing new or exciting here.Not the DLC you want to buy so dont. Expand