Dead Space 3 Xbox 360

Dead Space 3 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 705 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 focuses on Isaac Clarke and merciless soldier John Carver who embark on a journey through space to discover the source of the Necromorph outbreak. Crash-landed on the frozen planet of Tau Volantis, Isaac searches the harsh environment for raw materials and scavenged parts. HeDead Space 3 focuses on Isaac Clarke and merciless soldier John Carver who embark on a journey through space to discover the source of the Necromorph outbreak. Crash-landed on the frozen planet of Tau Volantis, Isaac searches the harsh environment for raw materials and scavenged parts. He then puts his engineering skills to the test to create and customize weapons and survival tools. The ice planet hides the key to ending the Necromorph plague forever, but first Isaac needs to withstand avalanches, treacherous ice-climbs, and the violent wilderness. Facing deadlier evolved enemies and the brutal elements, Isaac can choose to team up, not only for his own survival, but for that of mankind’s. Play together with a cohort or do it alone as Isaac Clarke using the seamless new drop in, drop out co-op functionality. Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Visceral Games
  • Genre(s): Action, Action Adventure, Shooter, Shooter, Linear, Third-Person, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • Special Controllers: Kinect Compatible
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dead Space 3 - Pre-Order Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    98
    Dead Space 3 evolves the winning formula into a title not only befitting of the fantastic series, but also one of the best games of this generation.
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    86
    Even if this episode has turned the series into a action game – even though there's many survival horror fans out there – we must admit it's a very good game. It provides great closure for the trilogy: long, spectacular and relatively different, but keep in mind that terror is not the main theme any longer.
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    80
    This is a game rife with options and flexibility, building on the strengths of the franchise with clever new ideas that let you tailor the experience to your liking. It hits a few sour notes in its story and struggles at times when it steps away from the core combat, but Dead Space 3 is a thrilling and worthwhile sequel.
  4. Feb 9, 2013
    78
    Dead Space 3 is a roller coaster ride. In Space you’ll find interesting missions, a nightmarish atmosphere and a brilliant sound design. But as soon as you land on the ice planet, not only do the temperatures drop, but also the motivation. The further you progress the more irrelevant and run-of-the-mill the game design gets.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    Mar 12, 2013
    70
    Could've used touch-ups in existing areas, but hey. [Apr 2013, p.64]
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    50
    Dead Space 3 is a let down because it’s not a very good action game, and a really substandard horror game. It is devoid of ideas, hung up on laborious combat and obsessed with making even the exciting seem boring. In truth, it’s a bit of a shocker.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 165
  2. Negative: 30 out of 165
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    So what its not as focused as the "survival horror" as the others it still and incredible game with a great story that will keep you on theSo what its not as focused as the "survival horror" as the others it still and incredible game with a great story that will keep you on the edge of your seat. the boss battle thingys can be annoying but its still easily up there as one of the best games to start 2013 so, if you like dead space or third person shooters pick it up!!! Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    I think the scores are too low. I'm a picky, hardcore gamer like many of you, and I believe they improved the game. Sure, they didn't give usI think the scores are too low. I'm a picky, hardcore gamer like many of you, and I believe they improved the game. Sure, they didn't give us the goose bump feeling from the first game, but that's hardly because the game is worst we just now what to expect. So instead, they gave us more action to compensate and the co-op is a bonus. It's fun and worth buying. Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    Great game. Better than the 7/10 some people are giving it.
    Found this to be a great addition to my co-op games which is my preference with
    Great game. Better than the 7/10 some people are giving it.
    Found this to be a great addition to my co-op games which is my preference with great graphics and exceptional sound. Die hard fans probably wont like the co-op as it definitely takes the scare out of the game but for a shooter excellent. Found the making up guns fun and always having to go back to a bench and changing my new gun after finding my new colossus to be a squib. Give it a try as its miles ahead of Aliens colonial marines which is dire.
    Expand
  4. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Game Looks Promising and Great, The Weapon Bench System Looks Great and the game Looks Bigger Than the previous 2 games. While a Great Horror Game, It a Less Horror and Kinda Less Darker. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2013
    7
    dead space 3 is a great experience it definetly feels like dead space but it tries to be a third person shooter like gears of war but I founddead space 3 is a great experience it definetly feels like dead space but it tries to be a third person shooter like gears of war but I found the cover mechanic to be close to useless and I did not like that it focuses on more action but I still had fun with the game, once again electronic arts nailed the atmosphere of the game, I also love this universe, however I prefer the second dead space over the third, nevertheless dead space 3 manages to tell a good story and have good gameplay even though with that cover mechanic, this game is a good experience from beginning to end, if you are a fan like me you should pick this one up! Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    6
    Let me start off by saying, Dead Space 3 is NOT a bad game. It's graphics are top notch and the combat system and enemies are extremely wellLet me start off by saying, Dead Space 3 is NOT a bad game. It's graphics are top notch and the combat system and enemies are extremely well done. The game is also very strong in the sound department, bringing back the classic dead space atmosphere. The gun customization is cool and the possibilities are pretty endless. That, however, is where the good ends. There is also a lot of bad in Dead space 3. Brace yourself. The enemies are too predictable, I shouldn't be able to expect when and where they will pop out but it becomes easy after a while. The plot is flimsy, and never really amounts to anything in the end. It becomes increasingly obvious that the devs were scrambling to finish this game because the levels feel barren and you feel like you are running through an unfinished game. Then, when you feel like the plot is going somewhere, they pull the rug out from beneath you and send you to credits.

    That is, unless you buy Dead Space 3: Awakened (or should I call it Dead Space 3: Ending we forgot to include DLC). They give you an embarrassing 2 hours of gameplay filled with mind trips that should have been spread out throughout the game instead of all at the end. Compared to other DLC like say, Mass Effect: Citadel, you are not even coming close to getting your money's worth with this.

    EA obviously cut their budget, and forced them to include a ridiculous amount of stupid dlc that doesn't do anything useful in game. It sucks, because they marred what could have been a goty release but instead what we got was a whole lot of backtracking through shoddy scary environments.

    Let's just say I won't be trusting EA with a preorder of Dead Space 4, if they even decide to make it after this.
    Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    0
    Gears of War/Halo/Doom.... all games this one copies, no originality, everything happens in threes, you spend more time running aroundGears of War/Halo/Doom.... all games this one copies, no originality, everything happens in threes, you spend more time running around scavenging for on the other side of the level because you need it to open some door or fix something.... Frustrating and forgettable... should have saved my money Expand

See all 165 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.