Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 187 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Deadlight is a cinematic action puzzle platformer from Tequila Works set in the American west coast in an apocalyptic world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 79
  2. Negative: 5 out of 79
  1. Aug 1, 2012
    90
    The quality of content is amazing, and when you combine the psychotic storyline with the fluid gameplay and top it off with amazing use of the Unreal engine for graphics and a soundtrack that will drive suspense deep into your soul, Deadlight is easily one of the best Xbox Live Arcade games to come out this summer or arguably this year.
  2. Jul 30, 2012
    84
    Deadlight is a fantastic game with wonderful platforming segments and magnificent art direction. It is a bit short, but is probably one of the best downloadable titles on XBLA right now.
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    80
    It's inevitably going to be lumped together with other "zombie games" in the minds of some, but it actually does something fresh and unique both with the theme and with the inspirations it pulls together from games as disparate as Another World and Mirror's Edge, and it puts them together with enough aplomb that – for my money – it's certainly worth the asking price.
  4. Jul 31, 2012
    70
    Part of that fault lies in the game's dialogue. Some of it's rather cheesy, about on the same level as Resident Evil, while other lines just drag out the usual examples of poorly exploited horror. It just doesn't add up in spots.
  5. Aug 27, 2012
    65
    Drawing inspiration from games such as Limbo and Prince of Persia, but also from TV Shows like The Walking Dead for the storyline, Deadlight doesn't actually propose an original zombiefied experience. Because despite a pleasant art direction, Tequila Works' title suffers from a classic gameplay and a terrible game length that only some players who are not very particular about this kind of details. will enjoy for a short afternoon.
  6. Aug 8, 2012
    60
    Deadlight shows a lot of promise but ultimately falls short.
  7. Jul 30, 2012
    40
    A beautiful intro does not a great game make, and the full product is a disappointment to say the absolute least. Tequila clearly has a lot of talent and an ability to craft genuinely intimidating, memorable environments -- Deadlight demonstrates the wealth of inventiveness the studio possesses. Yet it feels squandered on lazy design in the second chapter and mistreatment of player trust in the third.

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 37
  2. Negative: 10 out of 37
  1. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Went against the reviews, played the trial, bought the game. Great atmosphere, solid story, amazing visuals. Having a blast with the game. Worth checking out! Collapse
  2. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    This is definitely the best arcade game of the summer! Amazing visuals, challenging puzzles and complex and strategic gameplay, Deadlight is a game that os worth your time! Expand
  3. Apr 24, 2014
    9
    I got this game from Games with Gold membership and it was very nice game. I liked the graphics, atmosphere and gameplay. It could be more longer. I did not enjoy all my weapons and skills at such short gameplay. Anyway still very good game... Expand
  4. Aug 2, 2012
    6
    Cool, original game concept, great atmosphere, very immersive, but game is too short. Could have been fleshed out a lot more.
  5. Aug 2, 2012
    6
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME..... YET! Deadlight has been released as part of the xbox live summer line-up for 1200 microsoft points.... and that's the problem! 1200 yes 1200 points for a game that provides approximately 2 and a half hours of gameplay from beginning to end. The game itself is great. It's Limbo style platforming with a dash of zombie shooting added to the mix, but that price is outrageous. The only reason you'll go back to this game after finishing it is for collectibles you might of missed, or if you're into the speed run thing. Otherwise 2 and a half hours and that's it. Do yourself a favour and wait until the price drops to 800 points (even then I think you're paying top dollar). Good game, terrible rip off price. Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2012
    5
    I'll start off by saying that it's not a terrible game, and a 5 by my standards is only moderately below average. I often enjoy games that I would call a 7, or even a 6. There is some enjoyment to be had in this game, but not much in my opinion. First off, the I didn't find the story compelling in the slightest. This is for several reasons. The whole zombie apocalypse has been done to death, and the "spin" they put on it just didn't do it for me (i.e. calling zombies "shadows" doesn't add much). While the art itself was solid, I didn't care for the cutscenes. The comic book-esque, still-frame visual style clashed with the straightforward dialogue and it came off as a little cheesy. Also, I just didn't care for the main character; it couldn't sympathize with his plight, and his constant whining about his family annoyed me more than it instilled sympathy. The secondary villains weren't explained; they just seemed to be there for no real reason other than to give some variety to the enemy types and set pieces. A lot of the story felt like filler; it didn't really feel like a logical string of a events (save a few). Much of the game just seemed like a series of placeholders that the developers filled in hopes to change up the gameplay. And the story element suffered for it. Finally, I thought that the twist ending was laughable, but I'll spare the spoilers. I could live with that, though. I've enjoyed plenty of games where I didn't care about the story; my biggest qualm is the gameplay and design. For starters, I didn't care for the controls. They weren't necessarily broken; they were just unintuitive. For instance dropping down from a ledge in pretty much every game that I've ever played has been down and jump... not this game. That, by itself, doesn't seem like a huge issue, I know, but many things like that began to compound. Another thing is that ledge-grabbing was treated more like a prompt, rather than actually jumping and grabbing a ledge. In some instances, I would end up jumping underneath a ledge because I pressing a direction instead of standing right below it and just pressing jump. When you are hanging on a wall, you press jump to climb up, unless you are just switching to the other side, then you press right (or left). Again, this may seem benign, however there are parts in the game where that distinction is not always clear, and your life literally depends on knowing that. There are countless instances where I didn't feel my deaths were my fault, but rather because of an unintuitive, and slightly sluggish control scheme. I would like to preface this next section by saying there are a few clever puzzles and design choices, but it seems like for every one thing they did right, they did two things wrong. Something that annoyed me until the end of the game was the prompts and indicators. Everything from ledges, to doors, to almost everything you could interact with was highlighted in some way, even in some areas where they didn Expand
  7. May 3, 2014
    0
    No problem giving this a zero. Zeroes are earned, and this game definitely deserves it. Most people bump games for visuals, sound, story(if there is one) and other pointless crap, but I have two criteria: is it fun and would I recommend it. Nothing about deadlight is fun, and I can't think of any circumstances under which I'd recommend it to anyone. Hence, Zero. Top off no fun with bad graphics/sound/gameplay/story/acting... I don't know how anyone could give this trash a high score. Except xbox magazine, since they have little choice (and no credibility). Expand

See all 37 User Reviews